You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dublin architecture firm wins contest to design €125m building for London School of Economics

Grafton Architects saw off tough international competition.

AN IRISH ARCHITECTURE firm has been chosen to design a £100 million (€125m) London School of Economics (LSE) building.

Dublin-based Grafton Architects saw off tough international competition to be named as the design team for LES’s Paul Marshall Building, which will house accounting, finance and management, and research departments.

Arch Daily reports that Grafton Architects are “absolutely delighted to be given this opportunity to build in this unique location in Lincoln’s Inn Fields, across from the wonderful Sir John Soane’s Museum, for a visionary client such as LSE”.

Professor Craig Calhoun, LSE director and president, chaired the panel that made the final decision after presentations from the six shortlisted teams, which included architects from London, New York and Switzerland.

Clahoun said Grafton’s “creative design is formal but also fun, and I have no doubt will further enhance LSE’s status as a university with an estate that matches its global academic reputation”.

One of a kind: How Prince broke all of pop’s rules and became an icon

Seanad Debate FactCheck: Did David Norris really once get 1,000,000 retweets?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute Mary Lou McDonald
    Favourite Mary Lou McDonald
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:35 PM

Of course, it’s worth mentioning that Sinn Féin Councillor Críona Ní Dhálaigh is the current Ard-Mhéara (Mayor) of Dublin and she resides in the Mansion House. Garrett failed. Just saying.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:57 PM

Doing a great job Mary Lou, keep up the good work, a credit to your party and the citizens of this country. Somebody at last who will stand up for equality and fairness in society.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:08 PM

Why so bitter john?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:10 PM

Oh please. Syriza anyone?

No thanks

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:11 PM

Well said Mary Lou, I will be voting for the current mayor of south dublin Sarah Holland.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:13 PM

If you had a proper understand of what happened in Greece you would know they faced destruction via grexit or destruction via further austerity forced upon by the troika. Syriza are still the majority party and as such they have called time and time again for other eu countries to start talking about debt, of which all economists aknowledge Greece still needs a write down. We would do well to argue ireland deserves a write down having had taken such a large brunt of the austerity over the past years.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:28 PM

Any idiot who can read can understand what happened in Greece. They borrowed and spent like drunks to the tune of over €200 Billion and then wanted yet ANOTHER bail out from the Germans. And then screamed about democracy. Ironic that no one on the left even attempted to understand, never mind defend, the German nation’s democratically elected government when they stopped playing ball

Dec 31st 2015, 9:35 PM

Mary Lou buzzing off the Journal? Happy days.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:33 PM

Great to see Mary Lou isn’t bitter.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:42 PM

To which was done by Pasok and New Democracy, none of whom are in Syriza. Syria got elected in 2014 & they do not deny the mistakes of those before them but equally they cannot manage their own economy as the troika do. I fully understand the german position, if Greece get debt write downs then others will request the same and it will shun german growth in favour of other nations. Problem is in their denial they choke the Greek people. Putting aside the fact you blame syriza for stuff that was caused by right wing parties before them I would enjoy hearing what alternative you would offer the Greek people?

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Favourite Cornelius Talmadge
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:00 PM

Sinn Fein abandoned their abstentionist policy, ended up supporting the GFA and the end to IRA violence and are now helping to administer British rule in NI. I’d say Garrett and Maggie got exactly what they wanted. Just saying.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:16 PM

The Greek people voted for Pasok etc. Be careful what you wish for.

There is no alternative for the Greek people. S/He who pays the piper etc.

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:39 PM

Great to see Mary Lou interacting on social media.

At least she is interacting unlike our Taoiseach who had to be publicly ridiculed and embarrassed before going to visit parts of the country that have been decimated over the past 5 weeks with flooding. Of course our Táiniste thought she would get in on the PR as well re the floods. How embarrassing for her when she fell out of a boat only to stand up in water that was only ankle deep.

Mary Lou showing the way forward again

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 1st 2016, 12:48 AM

Good to know you offer no alternative, except syriza which you’ve been trying to bash do and it’s a good one. Give us a better deal on the debt so we can growth and thus pay back the money faster. It’s a fiscally responsible and workable thing to do. Let the troika name it whatever they want for image purposes but you won’t find an economist who will tell you that debt is sustainable.

Mute Codology
    Favourite Codology
    Jan 1st 2016, 12:50 AM

The way forward to the chipper perhaps. But that’s about it.

Jan 1st 2016, 1:02 AM

SF on the rise, establishment becoming increasingly uneasy.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:10 AM

Jamie – do you read the polls. SF and the drainpipe have something in common.

Mute Mark Jones
    Favourite Mark Jones
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:18 AM

Anybody who votes for sinn fein,know nothing about politics.There is no substance in any of their policies and they only say what people want to hear. The country is in a bad enough state without those clowns getting into power.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:23 AM

Bah humbug, happy new year you grumpy git

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:28 AM

Oh ye of little faith. Sinn Fein/Right to change are a legitimate alternative. I’ve had enough of the Denis the Menace/ Fine Gael/ Labour coalition brand of cronyism politics.

Jan 1st 2016, 1:31 AM

Powerabbey SF are about to surf the crest of a huge wave. Nationlism and defending minorities is next.

Mute Michael Wall
    Favourite Michael Wall
    Jan 1st 2016, 3:13 AM

Mark. What exactly do you know about politics? All politicians say what they believe people want to hear it’s why FG promised reform and produced none. It’s why they promised to fight for a better deal for Ireland and then didn’t bother instead they destroyed 2 billion this year to pay off illegal promissory notes that they made sovereign while destroying all public services especially health. It’s why labour are the party of “sure isn’t that what you do in an election” anyone that votes for the same corrupt muppets of FF FG LAB knows nothing about politics.

Mute David Doyle
    Favourite David Doyle
    Jan 1st 2016, 11:00 AM

On Election Night 2016, I’m going to take a moment to sit back, crack open a bottle of beer, toast the Irish nation and reflect on how the people of our Republic used the ballot box to remind Mary Lou and Sinn Fein of the contempt in which they are held and their place in Irish society, languishing on the peripheries- making lots of noise but never, ever next nor near power.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:37 PM

Mary Lou McDonald.

Jealous that Fitzgerald achieved recognition from the UK that the Irish had a stake in the north for the first time in 185 years?

And he didn’t have to bomb innocent civilians to achieve it….

Just saying.

Mute Carlovian77
    Favourite Carlovian77
    Jan 1st 2016, 5:10 PM

And it’s also worth noting that she declined to open a book of condolence for murdered Garda Tony Golden. Just saying……

Dec 31st 2015, 8:30 PM

Garret Garret Garret, Maggie Thatcher’s Parrot. SF really didn’t like FG either.

Dec 31st 2015, 10:01 PM

Only decent Taoiseach we’ve had so far was Sean Lemass.

Dec 31st 2015, 10:36 PM

Mary Lou may well become both the first female and Sinn Fein Taoiseach of this State, a warrior queen who fights for her people. I’d be up for that, instead of the usual back scratchers.

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:40 PM

A warrior what? Its not feckin’ Riverdance or Lord of the Rings!

Dec 31st 2015, 10:50 PM

It is though, politics is drama.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:16 PM

Mary Lou. Taoiseach?

Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha.

Mute Carlovian77
    Favourite Carlovian77
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:46 PM

Oh Jamie, please tell me you’re joking – that one can’t make an independent decision or give her own opinion without first seeking sanction from ‘he who must be obeyed’. And if alI else fails she can have a hissy fit in the Dail and get it suspended. If any of that shower get into Government it’ll be a sad state of affairs for this country. It’s bad enough that Gerry Adams gets to stand and spout drivel in the Dail – I find it quit appalling actually that so many people have been hoodwinked by him – it’s a damning indictment on their intelligence or lack thereof.

Dec 31st 2015, 11:52 PM

Tiocfaidh Ar La.

Jan 1st 2016, 12:20 AM

Our day has virtually arrived. It’s only a matter of fine tuning from here on in. Loadsa work to be done.

Jan 1st 2016, 12:23 AM

We won, and will continue to win.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:01 AM

This year 2016, Dublin, Belfast, Derry and Cork have a Sinn Fein Mayor. How times have changed and continue to change.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:08 AM

You guys are living in cloud cuckoo land. The next government will be a single party FG government. Many thanks to SF, AAA and FF who will divide the electorate in smithereens.

Show your support by giving red thumbs. Now don’t get confused!

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:16 AM

You will be joined by your buddies in FF, just like in a lot of the county councils around the country in which they are in partnership together.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:34 AM

People need to realise that if they do not use their vote wisely this will happen. FG / FF in together and God help us all. Sinn Fein/ Right to Change IS the alternative.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:30 PM

SF siding with their fellow sectarian counterparts: the Unionists.

Fitzgerald achieved more with the Anglo-Irish Treaty than SF/PIRA achieved in 40+ years of bombing innocent civilians.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 1st 2016, 4:55 PM

Fine Gael and the Unionists have a shared interest in trying to suppress the rise of Sinn Fein but it is not working.

Mute Carlovian77
    Favourite Carlovian77
    Jan 1st 2016, 5:07 PM

Thankfully Watersedge, Sinn Fein are doing a fine job of suppressing themselves and let’s hope they continue.

Mute Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Favourite Freebetcitydcom Mike
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:21 PM

I really hope sinn fein get in. I never would have been a supporter but this country needs something different. If only to see an alternative to dob/developer owned minions running things into the ground. Ill vote for you once sinn fein, up to you to make me do it twice.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:27 PM

Wow! I am sure that all rational intelligent people will be swayed by your reasoning. We do not need a government that is capable of delivering economic stability and growth. What we need is a party that supported/s murder, mayhem, bombs and bullets. A party that lent its support to unimaginable heinous crimes against man and nature.

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:28 PM

It’d be nice so see an alternative to the usual crowd but it would only take one term for SF to destroy the economy.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran

Tap/Pat, we all know no rational intelligent people are swayed by you.

Ian
    Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian

Like FF and FG did 90 odd years ago??

Ian
    Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:31 PM

Like Fianna Fail did???

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:39 PM

This whole sf not being good at the economy stuff, where did it come from? There last budget had costed measures and was within the fiscal compact which lead to them equaling the money spend of fine gael. SF policy for self employed and SMEs are brilliant if anyone would bother to give them a read. They didn’t crash the country nor have they ever been given the chance to make it better.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:46 PM

There – A place (e.g., I want to go there). Hint: you’ll find the word “here” inside of “there.” Both of these words are places. If you can swap out “here” for “there” in your sentence, you need this t-h-e-r-e form.
    They’re – A contraction meaning “they are.” Why do contractions continue to baffle us? The world will never know.
    Their – A possessive pronoun (e.g. That was their dog). Hint: you’ll find the word “heir” inside of “their.” And an heir has lots of stuff to possess, right?

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:56 PM

What are you Tap…? A Grammar terrorist

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:57 PM

So this country needs a lot of lying, murderous, bombastic (Thats just the McDonald one in fairness) Stalinists in power? Yeah, the present lot haven’t been perfect by any stretch but I’ll take them over Sinn Fein.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:04 PM

*What are you Tap…? m o ist

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:09 PM

Yeah tap a whole rant about grammar and no substantial response to the post.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:11 PM
    Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:14 PM

Poor old Tap, are you still smarting from looking like a bigger fool than usual when you ranted on about “them” being elected on an article about a “disappeared” woman in NI only to realize too late that it was Loyalists that had committed the crime? Your buddies in the DUP and FG must have been shaking their heads at such a stupid mistake. Not even your comrade Wee Willie “who’s fleg is that?”Frazer would have been that stupid!

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:15 PM

Ok so far nobody has addressed the question. I’ve been convinced by SF policy that it will bring great employment, sustainability and progress regarding the economy and if anyone is able to convince me otherwise please do try, I’m all ears

Dec 31st 2015, 10:10 PM

I have a modest striploin in the fridge which I’m going to cook shortly along with a rake of skinny fries and a fried onion and a small tin of baked beans. Salt and vinegar on the chips and red Aromat and salt on the steak. I can’t wait but yet I am so hungry and lazy.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:11 PM

Vote for change I am

Jan 1st 2016, 12:03 AM

Most important thing is to vote.

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Jan 1st 2016, 2:13 AM

@ Tap, that was almost 100 years ago, let it go, we celebrate it now. And anyway, the Brits did as much as us, we’ll obviously not you, you’d have been hiding under someone’s skirt till all the rough nasty business was over.

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Jan 1st 2016, 2:18 AM

@Tap, what about placing a “w” between the “T & a”, then swapping the “p” with “t”, what would that give you !

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Jan 1st 2016, 10:06 AM

I don’t think so!

Ian
    Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian

The Anglo-Irish agreement was in his words to “stop the rise in Sinn Fein” Another major fail. The Indo/Sindo keep repeating the same mistake in vain. Up the Shinners

Mute Isaac Smyth
    Favourite Isaac Smyth
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:24 PM

Damn the Shinners and their murderous ilk.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:35 PM

Great speech by McGuinness. Still there thirty years later. A real leader.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:42 PM

Fine Gael and their’ dirty tricks, still at it today. Only difference is we have social media now and don’t have to rely on the Independent, we can source the real news elsewhere.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:38 PM

Lol. Like in you “An Phoblacht” rag, Shinnertroll?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 1st 2016, 3:19 PM

SF/PIRA has no right to criticise the media, when it has its own propaganda wing.

(For the record, I hate the Indo)

Jan 1st 2016, 9:43 PM

The pen is mightier than the sword Diarmuid.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:36 PM

This happens with every gov, even the media are like this with the spindo being a prime example.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:26 PM

Funny that…I still cannot stand them in 2015!

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran

I despised FG in 1985. I still despise them.

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:31 PM

You need to be sent on a re-education programme. I am sure that there is a suitable camp near you that you could contact. If elected you might not need to make contact as they will contact you.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:37 PM

I was born in 1994, I like sinn fein and hate fine gael.

Dec 31st 2015, 9:52 PM

I was born in 75, great year to be born. I hope to see a govt that isn’t led by FF/FG some day, just to see if anything changes. A left-wing govt for once, not one that is in the pocket of wealthy capitalists.

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:42 PM

If you were born in 1994 you probably have no idea what life in Ireland was like in the 80s. The economy and unemployment situation then made the more recent crash seem like a mere bump in the road. Meanwhile the IRA were murdering people on an almost daily basis – and not just British soldiers, but random civilians and even Guardai – and carrying on a massive organised crime operation to sustain their activities. Sinn Fein at the time openly supported all of the above, and refused to play any part in normal political institutions or processes. That’s the party you’re expressing support for – and in many cases the same individuals are still there. If you think you’ve changed their ways, I’d suggest you are very naive (but to be fair, most of us were the same when we were in our early 20s).

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:46 PM

I’ve read extensively about events up north and how it also effected the south and UK. All I can say is stormont needs more independence, sinn fein were and are key to peace and to suggest only one side was at fault is a distortion of history.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:53 PM

I know a few people very well who grew up in the North during the troubles, were not involved in the armed struggle and they support Sinn Fein 100%. Everybody can’t be wrong.

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:54 PM

I’m not suggesting only one side was at fault – I actually lived through it and was at the direct receiving end of some nasty stuff from “the other side”.

However, Sinn Fein is the only party in the Republic that was at fault. The same people who are in charge now openly supported (a) murder of innocent people and (b) organised crime, while refusing to even do the jobs they were elected to (and paid to) do. And although some of them try to pretend that they just *supported* those activities, as opposed to actively partaking in them, I don’t believe them. But either way, their track record makes them completely unfit for any kind of public office.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Jan 1st 2016, 12:56 AM

Only party that was at fault.. You mean only party that lived through it up north? Their track record shows world class diplomacy, a great vision for Ireland and a consistent strive for peace. People seem all to quick to forget about the occupying force, although they still occupy financially and that’s something sinn fein will fix while FF/FG hide away from the 6 counties. I posses no nationalism but Westminster treat NI like dirt & SF are the only major party up north trying to help.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:02 AM

Have a look at the thumbing above. SF/IRA have become expert at using their multi-aliased accounts in Parnell Square. Jammin, Supernova and the others must be worn out!

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:08 AM

Bull Powerabbey, I can’t even dislike your comment, it’s been disabled but I will get to the bottom of it. Three emails I have sent to the journal today and will continue to do so until I find out what is going on.

Mute conri
    Favourite conri
    Jan 1st 2016, 2:26 AM

@ Cornelius, IRA never murdered anyone in the Guardian, they were murdered by the FG blueshirts at the same time the were murdering spanish women and children, remember, when they were helping their friend Franco, he was also helped by his other friend Hitler, do you not rember, how far back do you want to go ?, we can even bring the church into it, although they mostly raped and murdered children, still though, we can include them if you like, tell me do you go and show your support for them every week ?

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Jan 1st 2016, 6:28 AM

Not The Guardian Conri – Guards – ie police officers. The IRA most definitely did murder Irish guards. Going on about the Spanish civil war is a bit odd, considering it happened before any current politicians were born. The IRA’s campaign of murder and organised crime was in full swing while numerous current senior Sinn Fein figures were in charge – ie they personally supported/participated in it.

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Jan 1st 2016, 6:32 AM

@ “No 2 FF/FG/LAB” – ever heard of the SDLP?

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:15 PM

Aye Damian. Garret was an intellectual and a gentleman but he personified the whole pro Brit slavishness of the Free-state at that time, and indeed now, and he got treated like a toe rag by Margaret Thatcher. They had nt the balls to spit it out and support their Northern fellow citizens who were being murdered by State collusion as they were legally obliged to do by the Constitution. In fact, they themselves colluded with the British and covered up for their crimes in the State such as the Dublin bombings. Even yet, they will not admit to the Irish people what they know privately about this. May he rest in peace. He was indeed an intellectual and a gentleman but we needed people with balls and backbone and the Republican Movement were the only ones not to blink when dealing with the British. Roll on 2016.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:37 PM

78 years since we were called a “Free state.” We are the Republic of Ireland or Ireland.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:40 PM

Don’t start on murders. I and many others can give you a list of those murdered by the IRA. Yes, murdered, not people killed while the IRA protected their areas or ghettos, but murdered. Stop with the revisionism, too many of us have lived during those times to know the difference.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:53 PM

Yes Damian, some of us are even old enough to remember that there was more than one side killing people during the troubles.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:17 PM

Yeah, but we are talking about “our ” shower of murdering bas….s not theirs.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:33 AM

No Republic yet, Damian. At least not the one declared in 1916.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:31 PM

“For Connolly” the SFHQ IT expert… hacking the green thumbs as ever….

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:53 PM

Garret Fitzgerald really was a good judge of character. He saw through Sinn Fein just as he saw through Haughey. One of our best.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 8:59 PM

Oh the Shinners are busy tonight.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:16 PM

Its a myth that garret fitzgerald was a good taoiseach, perpetrated by the media, rte and the indo. He was in truth one of our worst ever leaders and im old enough to remember him and dont need to rely on the media for my view of him and we were a fg family but didnt vote for him.

Mute NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Favourite NO 2 FF/FG/LAB
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:17 PM

And what did he see with the stardust victims? judging from the reports he saw F all

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:17 PM

All of the YFG kiddies were probably sent to bed early in case they heard the fireworks and thought that the Big Bad Fenians were starting the Rising early!

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:32 PM

Garrett Fitzgerald was a terrible Taoiseach, sure even Leo Varadkaar said this a few years ago. His woolly thinking and ‘intellectualism’ prolonged the 1980s recession unnecessarily.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:15 PM

You are a naif. That was Haughey.

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:39 PM

Ah go away with your Fine Gael “gravy train”, “what’s in it for me” politics.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:11 PM

Take off your blinkers damian

Mute Brendan Walsh
    Favourite Brendan Walsh
    Dec 31st 2015, 11:22 PM

Garrett began a liberal crusade that took Ireland out of dark ages and iron grip of Catholic Church. FF and SF were still in awe of church in the 80s.

Mute michael walsh
    Favourite michael walsh
    Jan 1st 2016, 4:33 PM

He spent 4 years dithering while our economy crashed in the 80′s,all he was good for was taking no action

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:20 PM

Fine Gael always sided with the Unionists, turned their backs on their own people, the greatest crime of all.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:34 PM

Sorry, first off, the majority in the Republic couldn’t care less about the six counties. Sided with the Unionists? They hated him because of the Anglo Irish Agreement. You do realise Garret Fitzgerald did what no FF administration could manage? A say in Northern affairs. Jesus there is some amount of revisionism going on here this evening.

Greatest crime of all? I have nothing in common with people from the North, green or orange, After almost a century apart we are different. We share an island, thats all.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:55 PM

Sorry damian, must have missed the ceremony where you were sworn in as official spokesperson for ‘the majority in the republic’.

Hope you had a nice day.

Mute Damian O'Brien
    Favourite Damian O'Brien
    Dec 31st 2015, 10:14 PM

What, you don’t like the truth? You know we couldn’t give a fiddlers f..k especially if its going to cost. Don’t be like Connolly and be naive.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:46 PM

SF/PIRA sided with the Unionists in their opposition to the Anglo Irish Treaty and Sunningdale.

SF/PIRA now share power with the Unionists.

Hypocrisy much?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:18 PM

Credit where its due, He could sign his name very well considering his head was wedged up Thatchers jacksie….

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:41 PM

Convincing Thatcher to cede some UK sovereignty on Northern Ireland to this State?

How did SF/PIRA get on in that regard? Reckon it didn’t murder enough civilians?

The jealousy much be eating you up Shinnerbot.

Tom
    Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Dec 31st 2015, 9:25 PM

Garret didn’t like SF? Well, they were murdering a few folks at the time.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jan 1st 2016, 1:06 AM

My concern is the the use of words such as “unfortunately”. You guys are supposed to be unbiased journalists. Your reporting has more often than not shown where your allegiances lie. That was blatant! I’m no Sinn Fein supporter, but if I were a journalist I would never use such biased language.