You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fianna Fáil candidate Gráinne Seoige Alamy Stock Photo

Gráinne Seoige has failed to make an impact as a FF candidate in Galway West

Independent Catherine Connolly said the decision to run her was “daft”.

FIANNA FÁIL CANDIDATE and former TV presenter Gráinne Seoige has not fared well in her first election, according to a final tally in Galway West where she garnered just 5.1% of the vote. 

One of the so-called ‘celebrity candidates’ – a term Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin has said he does not like – Seoige announced her intention to run for one of the constituency’s five Dáil seats in August this year. 

With Seoige out of contention, Fianna Fáil now have to pin their hopes on her party colleague John Connolly, whom the final tally had on 12% behind Sinn Féin’s Mairead Farrell (13.2%). 

The Galway West race is tight at the top, independent TD Noel Grealish on 11.5%, independent TD Catherine Connolly on 11% Fine Gael’s Hildegarde Naughton on 10.1% and Independent Ireland’s Noel Thomas on 9.9%.  

Micheál Martin has said Seoige is “a substantive person” who “ran a very spirited campaign”. 

He also said she had “very big shoes to fill” after the retirement of Fianna Fáil’s Éamon Ó Cuív. 

Martin added that the party was happy “on one level” because John Connolly is in the running for a seat. 

Independent Catherine Connolly, who is on course to be re-elected, responded to the poor performance of Seoige this evening, telling Virgin Media the decision to run her was “daft”.  

Connolly called the decision “an insult to people on the ground” and said she would leave it to Fianna Fáil to do “their own post-mortem”.

Mairead Farrell (SF), John Connolly (FF), Catherine Connolly, and Noel Grealish (IND) are on course to take the first four seats in the five-seater.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

80 Comments
    Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:35 PM

What did she expect pointless candidate

Mute Des Quinn
    Favourite Des Quinn
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:48 PM

@Trump24: In fairness to her Micheál Martin asked his party to seek out “popular” candidates as runners, instead of trying to get the finger out and increasing quality of effort, sounds like his hairbrained plan backfired.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:51 PM

@Trump24: a silly vein cow

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Ted Daly
    Favourite Ted Daly
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:53 PM

@Trump24: irony. You’re “hero” is a multiple sexual assaulter of women. A draft dodger. A serial cheat. A user of escorts. A multiple bankruptee. Golfed 1/3rd of his shambolic presidential term and told over 30,000 provable lies.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:58 PM

@Ted Daly: ye dems STILL CRYING????

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:15 PM

@Basildon Joe: I don’t know her personally but I highly doubt she deserves this level of abuse from someone cowering behind a pseudonym. She’s a fellow citizen who hasn’t done anything worse than put herself forward in an election. I can absolutely guarantee you she can spell ‘vain’ though! Whatever your silly and irrelevant troll thoughts are about her, she’s not a blood carrying bovine tube..’lol’.

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:17 PM

@Basildon Joe: I don’t think it’s spelled like that Jim

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:19 PM

@Trump24: Why did Martin think that a celebrity would make a politician? Grainne is better suited to renting property to the FAI. Anyone could see that this was an unwise decision, with an inevitable outcome.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:21 PM

@SerotoninWars: well said

Mute Michael Carr
    Favourite Michael Carr

You are indeed

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:26 PM

@SerotoninWars: Going well bud till I looked up and saw your Pseudonym, ah well ,but anyway I totally agree .

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:28 PM

@Kevin Kerr: Thanks Kevin :) I had a nice day. Met some people, did some weekend stuff. Went and lived some life. Checked in on some articles 15 minutes ago… and he’s still here! All day, every day, with no break. Does he sleep? Is insomnia to blame for the bitter and unhinged takes on every subject going?! Apart from the minor annoyance of every article being flooded with the same multiple accounts, it’s the textbook definition of sad. Imagine this was your entire life…

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:30 PM

@Gerry Campbell: I’m not here abusing women behind a handle. Details matter! :)

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:38 PM

@Ted Daly: Aka a winner

Mute Trump24
    Favourite Trump24
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:40 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: Dont know ask him

Mute James Carolan
    Favourite James Carolan
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:54 PM

@Basildon Joe: Jealous Joe

Mute anthony davoren
    Favourite anthony davoren
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:06 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: what makes a teacher a good politician? I don’t think celebrities are the problem, more like the type of celebrity. I wouldn’t have thought Grainne was ever that popular with the public despite being on television.

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:59 AM

@Basildon Joe: vein? Haha

Mute Nerb
    Favourite Nerb
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:33 AM

@Des Quinn: don’t mention the hair …

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Dec 1st 2024, 11:18 AM

@Ted Daly: That’s a lie.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 8th 2024, 11:42 PM

@SerotoninWars: accidentally thumbed you up !! It’s nice to be nice but prove to us that Seoige is nice? She ran an arrogant campaign for an arrogant mean party. She claimed on rte in a defensive way that her campaign was spirited. Nah, it’s nice to be nice… TO nice people! It’s BETTER to be honest about others like Grainne or that dope Cynthia ni mhutchu!

Mute Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Favourite Marcus Maher - Triskellion Films
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:37 PM

Depressing, 4 years on from the last debacle of a FG/FF coalition and guess what, more of the same…there’s no hope changing the mindset and mentality of people in this country.

Mute Michael o Dwyer
    Favourite Michael o Dwyer

@Marcus Maher – Triskellion Films: I didn’t vote for them but jesus christ obviously most people don’t share your views or mine for that matter. Get over it. It’s like you and you alone are right. A lot of people are obviously doing fine the way things are.

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:26 PM

@Marcus Maher – Triskellion Films: the people have spoken. It’s a democracy.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:36 PM

Oh its been a great day….. the greenies got more or less eradicated, Ireland won the rugby & now THIS??? is Christmas early or what?????

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:47 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: ‘What did she expect pointless candidate’….you could of just said that in one comment without changing your name from trump24. XD

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:54 PM

@HisMastersAlibi: ‘could of’ yep, sums you up & everything you say is pointless when you don’t understand basic grammar.

Lack of education is obvious

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:55 PM

@Jim: yawn

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 8th 2024, 11:44 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: it hasn’t been a great day. The portion of Ireland celebrating any return of FFg are not good people – theyre bad people and they despise decent people.

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:37 PM

She’s no Gerry Hutch!

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:57 PM

@Dan The Man:

At least she isn’t a crook like Gerry Hutch.

Mute Meatball Martin
    Favourite Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:09 PM

@John Deane: very debatable lol

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:10 AM

@John Deane: How do you know? Maybe she just hasn’t been caught

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:39 PM

Sush a shame she didn’t make it 4 the people of Galway I had the privilege of working with her in sky news here in dublin back in the day she’s such a lovely genuine lady and very plesent to be with even back then

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:44 PM

@liam ward: zero interest in my tax euros paying for wannabe ‘pretend’ TD’s… regardless of how nice they may be

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:17 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: ironically with a degrees in sociology and political science she’s more qualified than most of them

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:35 PM

@Dermot Blaine: It’s always fun when there’s some good old fashioned facts to throw in the mixer! Not a FF voter but she’s as qualified as anyone to give it a go. In this climate it’s not easy for anyone to put themselves forward.

Mute Colm Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Colm Mac Diarmada
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:23 PM

@liam ward: Christ. Working with someone that mentions her favourably years later in a Journal post doesn’t even qualify her to work in my local shop.

Mute Olivia Cheevers Cooke
    Favourite Olivia Cheevers Cooke
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:53 PM

I think Michael Martin picket the WRONG PERSON to Run. What work did she do for the party…. NOTHING. I AM OVER THE MOON.

Mute Noel Byrne
    Favourite Noel Byrne
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:30 PM

@Olivia Cheevers Cooke: that would explain the grammer. Signal from the moon can be weak at best.

Mute William O leary
    Favourite William O leary
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:50 PM

shows how out of touch mehole is

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Dec 1st 2024, 9:16 AM

@William O leary: Shafted the local Councillor put forward seemingly.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 8th 2024, 11:47 PM

@SV3tN8M4: Meehole Is a creature and shame on those who elected him again.

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterfo
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:52 PM

Thanks be to God for small mercies. Thank you, Galway West

Mute Bernard Connolly
    Favourite Bernard Connolly
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:30 PM

Another so called celebrity who probably hasn’t a clue about working class people’s problems not getting in is a result

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:40 PM

Another one bites the dust…Queen

Mute burrito girl
    Favourite burrito girl
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:58 PM

Eye candy out of date

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:00 PM

@burrito girl: you’re thinking of her sister– Sile??

Mute SerotoninWars
    Favourite SerotoninWars

@burrito girl: Actually, she’s a human being who is immeasurably more successful than you, a troll, whose head she is living in rent free. And she’ll never even know who you are :(

Mute Conor McNamara
    Favourite Conor McNamara
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:13 PM

Good news. I didn’t know that Eamonn O’Cuiv had big feet

Mute Rochelle Hart
    Favourite Rochelle Hart
    Dec 1st 2024, 12:08 AM

It shows what FF think of the electorate if they believe drafting in a celebrity at short notice is the way to win votes.

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:08 PM

Unlike FF to make an FG move and run with a so called “celeb”

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:09 PM

@Jack: especially one with zero empathy and likability!

Mute Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:10 PM

@Jack: but this is about FF?

Mute Jack
    Favourite Jack
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:49 PM

@Meatball Martin: your point??

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:34 PM

@Jack: same party jack,so no surprise at all

Mute Stephen McGrath
    Favourite Stephen McGrath
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:14 PM

Back on tv in no time I bet

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:27 PM

@Stephen McGrath: back presenting TG4′s election coverage tomorrow, I hear

Mute Stephen McGrath
    Favourite Stephen McGrath
    Nov 30th 2024, 10:44 PM

@Ian McDonald:

Tg4….another waste of taxpayers money

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:35 PM

@Stephen McGrath: TG4 certainly is not a waste of taxpayers money

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 8th 2024, 11:49 PM

@Stephen McGrath: rte is a waste of taxpayers money. It’s a blatant propaganda outlet for ffG. Tg4 tries and is a relatively decent reflection of our culture

Mute Sergej Simonov
    Favourite Sergej Simonov
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:10 PM

Coalition of FG/FF/Monk becomes a reality despite Michael Martin said that Monks election campaign is not going to mterialize.

Mute Ian McDonald
    Favourite Ian McDonald
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:25 PM

Looks like we learnt from sending a jockey to Europe

Mute Dermot Blaine
    Favourite Dermot Blaine
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:10 AM

@Ian McDonald: yeah, there’s no place for a first past the post system?

Mute Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:08 PM

Interesting to see Mary Toilet Mcdonald on TV not ruling out a coalition with FF, she is Fianna Fail and so is Pearse

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Nov 30th 2024, 9:17 PM

I’m delighted she’s nothing besides being a journalist

Mute Ben F
    Favourite Ben F
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:56 PM

G0b$h1t€

Mute Hayagriva
    Favourite Hayagriva
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:02 PM

Cad é ‘womp womp’ as Gaeilge?

Mute Magnificent Mongoose
    Favourite Magnificent Mongoose
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:26 PM

How is she a celebrity? What is there to celebrate about her? Run away back to South Africa.

Mute Robert M
    Favourite Robert M
    Nov 30th 2024, 11:31 PM

Entitled aul bint

Mute Mark Gaffney
    Favourite Mark Gaffney
    Dec 1st 2024, 8:31 AM

Notions pure Notions what a dose

Mute Padraig O'Brien
    Favourite Padraig O'Brien
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:01 PM

Re-joyce!

Mute Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 7:46 PM

So sad

Mute Fergus O'Donnell
    Favourite Fergus O'Donnell
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:48 AM

Ride.

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Dec 1st 2024, 3:18 PM

@Dave G Doe: Momma Doe would love Grainne, I think ye would make a lovely couple. In fairness Dave, you have no shortage of best men on here. The only thing is she might want you to change your name to as gaeilge, Daithí G Dó, there is another one for you

Mute Meatball Martin
    Nov 30th 2024, 8:06 PM

Fools did not vote for her

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Dec 1st 2024, 1:05 AM

Move on the reality is people are not stupid they choose not to elect a party whose policy and direction is given from outside this state.

Mute S Suilleabhain
    Favourite S Suilleabhain
    Dec 8th 2024, 11:40 PM

Awful conceited candidate. Then again, Maria walsh got in alongside fellow parish pumper Nina carberry in the Europeans. Seoige claimed she ran a spirited campaign – hilarious!

Mute Green Masquerader
    Favourite Green Masquerader
    Dec 1st 2024, 2:54 PM

I would give her 1