You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Grandmother launches hunger strike at Dáil gates in protest over Ireland's climate policies

Patricia Devlin (73) is taking on the four-day strike in hopes of meeting Environment Minister Richard Bruton.

A 73-YEAR-old grandmother is going on hunger strike to protest against the country’s climate change policies.

Patricia Devlin – who is originally from Australia, but has lived in Monasterevin, Co Kildare, for 20 years – is taking on the four-day strike in hopes of meeting Environment Minister Richard Bruton and calling on him to implement tougher policies to tackle the climate emergency.

Launching her hunger strike outside the gates of Leinster House today, Ms Devlin kicked off a week-long global action by Extinction Rebellion, which campaigns against the current government’s climate polices, which they say will not meet environmental targets.

Ms Devlin, holding photos of her two grandchildren – Ollie, four, and baby Liam – said she has been an environmental activist off and on for 40 years, and was sparked back into action after becoming a grandmother.

“Since my grandchildren, they have just awakened in me a whole wonder at life. Being a parent is great but being a grandparent is just amazing,” she said.

“You’ve got time to reflect on life in these little people and, knowing what’s happening with climate change, I really fear for what kind of life will my grandsons have. Will they have a chance to have grandchildren like me?

“My emotion is wrapped up in fear that they won’t enjoy the same blessings that we have.”

Ms Devlin said she is blessed with good health for her age, and has done 48-hour fasts before.

“I think sometimes it’s meant to be, maybe I’ve been blessed with good health so that I can do this action at 73,” she said.

“I looked at the tradition of hunger striking, which dates back to pre-Christian times, particularly in Ireland, and that’s why it appealed to me.

“This particular action is a really classic way of the vulnerable speaking to power, so I’m hoping I can speak to Minister Bruton and it might be a good way to get him out of the little hermit shell he might be in.

bruton Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment Richard Bruton. PA Images PA Images

“I’m going to be here until Sunday afternoon but if Minister Bruton wants to meet me before then I’ve achieved my goal.

“To go through with him the aims of Extinction Rebellion, and tell the truth, we need a lot more explanation and truth telling. I don’t think our climate change plan is going to be able to meet the targets, the aims are too low.

“We need a just transition, we need to make sure we bring everyone with us.

“Usually the poorest and most marginalised have an unfair burden to carry, and we’ve seen that with the closure of the Bord Na Mona bogs.

So far only six million euro has been set aside for climate change. They gave 16 million euro to the greyhounds, so it’s not hard to see where we’re at, really, it’s not good enough.

Much of this year’s climate activism has been sparked by children and young people, and Ms Devlin said she believes older generations also have a duty to protect the planet.

“One of my regrets is that I didn’t keep it up. Maybe if I did this 20 years ago and did it seriously then maybe I wouldn’t need to be here today,” she said.

“Again, in the Christian tradition fasting has been used for atonement, and maybe that’s worth thinking about for my generation.

“I think they should do it if they see the sense in it, I think all grandparents must be worried.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 58 comments
58 Comments
    Mute Lien Lynch
    Favourite Lien Lynch
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:11 PM

Covered in plastic! The irony

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:52 PM

@Lien Lynch: not really. What would be wrong would be to dump what is already in existence and replace them with more products. Any CO2 used to make the raincoat has already been released. The correct process is Reduce, Reuse, Recycle. Note how recycle is last. She is at stage 2 – reusing.

Mute Levante Dublin
    Favourite Levante Dublin
    Nov 20th 2019, 4:55 PM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: you’re wrong there Brian

Mute Jason Ebbs
    Favourite Jason Ebbs
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:04 PM

@Levante Dublin: instead of just saying he’s wrong, pray tell us what is the right way. She is re-using what already is there.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:54 PM

@Jason Ebbs: looks pretty new to me

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:54 PM

@Levante Dublin: no, it is you who is wrong. Time to make amends.

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:35 PM

Too much Sun gone to her head

Mute Greg Daniel
    Favourite Greg Daniel
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:00 PM

‘Man-made’ CO2 amounts to 3% of all C02 in the atmosphere.

So the 3% is the big bad boy that people are in frenzy over.

Of that 3% – China contributes 28% & Ireland contributes 0.12%.

Ireland could be wiped off the planet tomorrow and it would have no impact on the earths climate.

Mute Craig Clancy
    Favourite Craig Clancy
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:13 PM

@Greg Daniel: oh but we have to set a good impression for our friends and tax tax tax to save the planet!!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:21 PM

@Greg Daniel:

And China is already ahead with its climate targets whereas ireland (with its minuscule amount to reduce) is struggling to even make an impression.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Steven Moens
    Favourite Steven Moens
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:45 PM

You see the difference is when the Chinese government says we’re going to close twenty coal fired power stations and build a nuclear one to replace them and in addition double the power generation capacity they do it. Same with windmills and solar. If Ireland wants to take a few bold steps the local TD’s seat and a horde of screaming banshees that has to be appeased is always the prime concern and as a result we just plod on and nothing changes bar our tax bills.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:45 PM

@Greg Daniel: Pre-industrial levels of CO2 averaged ~280ppm, 2018 averaged at ~410. That is an increase of ~45%. It is correct that manmade CO2 is a small percentage but what you fail to mention is that naturally occurring CO2 is part of a CO2 cycle that was kept relatively stable by natural sequestration. This natural sequestration is able to absorb about 40% of manmade CO2 but the rest stays in the atmosphere. That 60% of manmade CO2 keeps building up, hence the 280ppm growing to 410ppm. As CO2 levels rise not only does natural sequestration start to falter but in fact more CO2 and Methane are released from former sinks, such as artic tundra and rainforests. Manmade CO2 is not the be all and end all, it is just the first domino to fall and push the others.

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:47 PM

@Tim Pot: thats a rubbish statement? Ever been to Bejing? See the smog there on a daily basis? And, theyre building even more coal powered stations. You’re like a propogandist for Extinction Rebelion anytime there’s a related thread on the Journal.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/fortune.com/2019/11/20/china-coal-power-plants-pipeline-climate-change/amp/

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:49 PM

@Greg Daniel: Just to clarify, your 3% figure is post 40% absorption, it is 7% before some of it is sequestered.

Mute Thomas Sheridan
    Favourite Thomas Sheridan
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:54 PM

@Steven Moens: China is building nuclear and coal power electricity generation station. So all thar rant for nothing.
    https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.ft.com/content/c1feee40-0add-11ea-b2d6-9bf4d1957a67

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Nov 20th 2019, 4:04 PM

@Da Vid:

Was there a couple weeks ago actually. They have massive changes building a vast metro network in just over a decade. I particularly liked how nearly all the mopeds you see are electrified and running on dedicated roadways. I have also lived in London and I felt the air quality was comparable.

Mute Joey Roche
    Favourite Joey Roche
    Nov 20th 2019, 4:50 PM

@Greg Daniel: Co2 is released from the melting ice caps, which are melting exponentially quicker due to human pollution. A small rise in Co2 may not seem to be a big deal, but a small rise is all that is needed to unsettls the pH of the ocean, brings stronger acid rain, etc. Ireland is a small part of the world, but regardless of size we are missing every mark when it comes to controlling climate change.

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:26 PM

@Tim Pot: its much easier to meet targets when the bar is as high as it is for china, their targets are knowhere near as tough as Ireland’s.

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:30 PM

@Joey Roche: we CAN’T control climate change, when are ye greenie alt left going to get that into your minute little brains? We are too small to have impact whatsoever yet we would wreck our economic competitiveness so iur politicians can be seen to be good when visiting their international friends.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 20th 2019, 6:03 PM

@Dino: If every nation has the same attitude then you’re right. Everyone needs to play their part, big nations and small nations alike. Others’ inaction is not a good enough reason for our inaction.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 20th 2019, 6:05 PM

@Dino: Do you understand why the likes of India and China have a lower bar?

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Nov 21st 2019, 4:52 PM

@Steven Moens: I’m in tears laughing at your notion that our taxes will magically be halved if our government were to take bold steps and actually save the country any money. Taxes aren’t going to go down. USB isn’t going to vanish. Politicians are in it for the money. Maybe we should try halving their salaries and see if we attract a better quality of public servant. We seem to be using the wrong incentives.

Mute Declan Gilsenan
    Favourite Declan Gilsenan
    Feb 13th 2021, 2:22 PM

@Fiona Fitzgerald:

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:21 PM

She has great spirit, a reverse Greta, but ultimately nothing Mr Bruton can do here. We are simply too small even by example. Over population, big business profit is our destiny, enjoy the ride

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:15 PM

@Chewey Bacca:

It is not beyond ireland to be responsible and do it’s part in the global fight against climate breakdown.

The I’m only one person what difference will I make attitude is well past its sell by date.

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:56 PM

@Chewey Bacca: no, their is lots he and we can do. Unfortunately many lack the will to do so.

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:47 PM

This will make absolutely no difference even if you do get to meet a minister.go home and bake me a cake it would do more good.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:19 PM

@Seriously stunned:

It’s already made a difference by making the news…

If she can inspire you to make a nasty comment then it’s very likely she will have inspired others to do good.

Mute Sequoia
    Favourite Sequoia
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:21 PM

And extinction rebellion will be responsible if a 73 year old woman has any medical difficulties because of this nonsense???

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:25 PM

@Sequoia: what??

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:32 PM

@Sequoia: she’s a grown adult who is responsible for her own decisions.

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra

Slow news day.
    A four day hunger strike is called a detox in some health circles.
    Her family will use this as ammo to put her into a home and sell her house.
    G’Luck, ya need it love.

Mute mary finn
    Favourite mary finn
    Nov 20th 2019, 6:48 PM

@Madra: sure she said she will have a light breakfast if needed it was on the radio earlier. Therefore that’s not a hunger strike.

Mute Damien Mc Padden
    Favourite Damien Mc Padden
    Nov 20th 2019, 8:50 PM

@Madra: She should emulate our man in Cairo – didn’t he strike for nearly 4 years?

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:22 PM

I’d strongly advise her to stay away from this comments section for a start…

Mute Dan2078
    Favourite Dan2078
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:32 PM

Ridiculous, will someone get her a Big Mac

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:39 PM

@Dan2078: she’s wearing one -a big PLASTIC one !

Mute Dan2078
    Favourite Dan2078
    Nov 20th 2019, 4:33 PM

@Eric Davies: boom boom, response of the day. That made me chuckle, thanks

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 20th 2019, 6:04 PM

@Dan2078: Really? How does it invalidate her protest?

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:59 PM

An activist off and on… Is today an on-day or an off-day?

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Nov 20th 2019, 7:00 PM

@John Considine: comedian on day for you?

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Nov 20th 2019, 2:33 PM

Fair play to her, really hope she gets the interview.

Mute Frank Mc Caffery
    Favourite Frank Mc Caffery
    Nov 20th 2019, 4:50 PM

Got bored at home. Fancied a walk. “I know I’ll do one of those protests thingys…..now what will I protest”?

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:06 PM

Why is she calling of a ‘Hunger Strike’? It is only for four days so it is a ‘Fast’ !

Mute Mary Murray
    Favourite Mary Murray
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:57 PM

Ridiculous the amount of people who support this false ‘human caused’ climate change rubbish, that silly child Greta is one thing, but, this lady at her age should know better. The climate has always changed & it always will, in spite of the alarmists say.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:22 PM

@Mary Murray:

Science, not everyones cup of tea it seems.

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Nov 20th 2019, 7:20 PM

@Mary Murray: It’s so easy to reject what you cannot comprehend. Denying a scientific fact which all the evidence supports is not a very credible position. Are you saying that you are so much more qualified than the scientific community that you can overrule the scientific consensus? If so link to your publications and accreditations. Or maybe you have some credible reasons for doing so. Religion maybe? , A belief in the literal truth of the Bible and that the Earth is 6000 years old. God’s promise to Noah. Or perhaps you like to indulge in pseudo scientific and pseudo historical nonsense conspiracy like flat eartherism, moon landing denial and Holocaust denial. You see the only silly one here is you. There is no evidence for your position but the evidence backs Greta and this lady.

Mute Damien Barton
    Favourite Damien Barton
    Nov 21st 2019, 6:31 AM

@SteoG: not all scientists agree on climate change just depends on which ones you choose to believe

Mute Phillip O'Brien
    Favourite Phillip O'Brien
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:27 PM

I think her grandchildren would far appreciate if she didn’t put her health at risk for this “cause”.

Mute Patricia Thomond Sarsfield
    Favourite Patricia Thomond Sarsfield
    Nov 20th 2019, 7:07 PM

If she falls ill, our beloved ‘journalists’ will immediately search for (and find) the individual who’ll say “Leo Varadkar could have stopped this tragedy… what kind of government allows this to happen… “. Then they will run that muck as a headline.

Mute Martin Scaldbag
    Favourite Martin Scaldbag
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:31 PM

Brave woman, this type of protest is only going to increase

Mute Councillor Bill Clear
    Favourite Councillor Bill Clear
    Nov 20th 2019, 6:36 PM

Well done Patricia fair play.

Mute Robert Dungan
    Favourite Robert Dungan
    Nov 20th 2019, 3:00 PM

Another useful idiot.

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Nov 20th 2019, 8:17 PM

Well meaning, but hunger strikes don’t work unless you were in the Ra

Mute Gino Brancato
    Favourite Gino Brancato
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:51 PM

I admire this woman’s get up and go. However, if she really believes that our Noble Minister Bruton will do anything on the foot of her protest she is seriously deluded. Bruto may well meet her (complete with media) and promise her the sun moon and stars but she will be skin and bone before Bruton will step up to the mark. Maybe someone should remind this admirable lady that there are 4 by elections imminent and a general election not far behind and Fine Gael will put their self interest first , saving the planet will have to wait.

Mute Larry Roe
    Favourite Larry Roe

fair play fcuk the begrudgers

Mute Em Gee
    Favourite Em Gee
    Nov 21st 2019, 10:53 AM

If she decides to take a walk in the evening to Grafton Street she will see people for whom hunger is no choice. She should put down her banner, do something useful and volunteer at soup kitchens because she seems to have a lot of time on her hands.

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Favourite Gerard Casserly
    Nov 20th 2019, 5:15 PM

Foolish woman.