You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock

355 guns stolen in Ireland last year - and 53 reported lost

Latest garda figures on guns show that almost 170,000 guns licenced in Ireland last year.

A TOTAL OF 168,597 firearms certificates were issued last year, according to the latest annual review of gun licencing in Ireland.

Published today by the Justice Minister but compiled by Acting Garda Commissioner Nóirín O’Sullivan, the report says that an additional 3,121 certs were granted and issued to persons not ordinarily resident in the state in 2013.

These certs are only approved for the duration of one year, whereas firearms certs to Irish residents have to be renewed every three years.

The Commissioner’s report says:

• 168,597 firearms certs were issued in 2013.
  • 4 new shooting ranges were authorised last year. This authorisation lasts for five years, unless revoked.
  • 20 rifle and pistol clubs were authorised as of the 31 December 2013 – the same amount authorised at the end of 2012. This authorisation also lasts five years unless revoked.
  • 1,134 guns were reported stolen in the four years of 2010 to 2013
  • 355 of those were stolen last year
  • 159 guns were reported lost between 2010 and 2013, 5s of which were last year

The report notes that it is the gun owner’s responsibility to ensure that their firearm remains secure and does not “fall into the hands of criminals”.

The Commissioner’s report also says that while every effort is made to process each application within a three-month window, further enquiries are occasionally required which may delay the process.

Under the Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009, the Garda Commissioner must carry out an annual review of the operation of the Firearms Acts 1925 to 2009 and “shall submit a report to the Minister [for Justice] specifying the number and classes of certificates and authorisations” issued.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

19 Comments
    Mute Ole dan tucker
    Favourite Ole dan tucker
    Nov 1st 2019, 7:20 AM

Ya right

Mute The long walk home☘️
    Favourite The long walk home☘️
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:16 AM

@Ole dan tucker: Whatever about him the Garda and police have allowed this get to where it is. They allowed signs be posted that defame and send threatening messages to staff, was any poster dusted for Fingerprints or DNA, no because nobody wanted to move them. 70 incidents in the last few years and no arrests. Quinn is a gambler that’s problem caught up with him.

Mute Dow Dubrov
    Favourite Dow Dubrov
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:22 AM

@Ole dan tucker: He’s getting a bit of heat from his actions and is trying to tone it down temporarily. He hasn’t gone away, you know.

Mute SF Knee Knockers
    Favourite SF Knee Knockers
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:01 AM

@The long walk home☘️: ye it’s the Gardas fault. Border area has always been peaceful and law abiding. Police need evidence and witnesses, the local community know who these criminals are and are the only ones who can provide the Garda with the information needed to lock them up.

Mute Kyle
    Favourite Kyle
    Nov 1st 2019, 7:34 AM

Ye Sean, we believe ya

Mute Mark Johnson
    Favourite Mark Johnson
    Nov 1st 2019, 7:56 AM

@Kyle: I notice there has been no statement from or interview with his son on this, Sean Jnr

Mute Levante Dublin
    Favourite Levante Dublin
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:12 AM

@Mark Johnson: or his wife or sisters. Or the postman, or the priest

Mute James Douglas
    Favourite James Douglas
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:23 AM

@Mark Johnson: I’d say you love Cluedo, Mark?

Mute Mark Johnson
    Favourite Mark Johnson
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:30 AM

@James Douglas: just stating the obvious: Interview the young son, not the father pensioner. @Levante Dublin what has the postman and priest got to do with this?

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:41 AM

@Mark Johnson: the one who ran away?

Mute The long walk home☘️
    Favourite The long walk home☘️

If he really was contrite he would stop blaming banks, regulators and everyone else and apologize to his staff for his gambling that almost led to the loss of their jobs, to the taxpayers that had to bail out his underfunded insurance company and thank the management of his former companies that got the finance together to save local jobs, and be grateful he still lives in a mansion and still has a sh*t load of money for a man that was bankrupt.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 1st 2019, 12:40 PM

@The long walk home☘️: he still has an awful lot for a man who ‘lost everything’ CAB should be on his case.

Mute John Killeen
    Favourite John Killeen
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:55 AM

Any chance of an apology to all the people in Ireland who have to pay a levy on insurance to pay off his gambling debts?

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Favourite The Great Unwashed
    Nov 1st 2019, 7:27 AM

It’s inconceivable that these threats and attacks could take place in that part of the country without the direct involvement of or consent from paramilitaries.
    The question is who is the ‘paymaster’ the QIH directors keep referring to?

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Nov 1st 2019, 7:30 AM

An ‘ordinary decent criminal’ can’t even sneeze there without permission from paramilitaries.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:43 AM

@The Great Unwashed: that would be some other lad, like.

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin

Sorry, Sean. Don’t believe you.

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:08 AM

Perhaps the directors are standing up to racketeering. I’d say Quinn paid a hefty amount to gangsters in his day and nurtured a nice easy income for some nasty people. These directors are brave men and should be protected at all costs.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Nov 1st 2019, 11:18 AM

@2thFairy :Maybe the nub of the problem!

Mute Bass demon
    Favourite Bass demon
    Nov 1st 2019, 10:45 AM

Interesting that when Quinn Holdings rehired SQ for a year all the intimidation stopped .We saw what happened in Cherry Orchard recently where CAB went after 2 goughers who had a protection racket going on against a construction company I wonder was something similar going on here.

Mute Tom McHugh
    Favourite Tom McHugh
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:02 AM

Ahh the Badlands again. The narrative has been written in such a way that these areas feel they have been completely neglected and must look after their own. The criminals can act with impunity flying under the flag of convenience of “republicanism” etc. This is just a magnifying glass on the vagaries of life from which those living in cities have been protected. Instead we are worried about same sex marriage…

Mute Keith Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Keith Mac Suibhne
    Nov 1st 2019, 10:07 AM

Pull the other one!

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:27 AM

Two faces ?

Mute Irish big fellow
    Favourite Irish big fellow
    Nov 1st 2019, 11:16 AM

Godfather – Mafia – Omertà
    Sounds familiar! These instigators go around pretending to be pillars of society. Misguided people look up to them.
    Big mansions no mortgages – send in CAB to flush out the person(s) behind the attacks on the Directors.

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Nov 1st 2019, 11:31 AM

Sure cause you’re a stand up guy! As transparent as my window so he is.

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Nov 1st 2019, 12:05 PM

If it’s this bad now I wonder how many small businesses got strong armed and intimidated by certain big businesses over the years

It would be great if these people rang joe Duffy and put an end to this fraud pretending to be an angel

Mute Noel O Sullivan
    Favourite Noel O Sullivan
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:35 AM

A boycott of businesses and services in these areas should begin.

Mute Denis Logan
    Favourite Denis Logan
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:05 PM

@Noel O Sullivan: why?

Mute Olive Whyte
    Favourite Olive Whyte
    Nov 1st 2019, 9:10 AM

He was abducted the 17th September, not 23rd.

Mute Elizabeth Sheehan O'Reilly
    Favourite Elizabeth Sheehan O'Reilly
    Nov 1st 2019, 12:13 PM

@Olive Whyte: irrelevant. He was abducted

Mute Olive Whyte
    Favourite Olive Whyte
    Nov 1st 2019, 5:45 PM

@Elizabeth Sheehan O’Reilly: it’s not irrelevant. If you write a news article you have to have your facts correct. Basic rules of journalism, that I’m not sure those who write for the Journal understand.

Mute Robert Hand
    Favourite Robert Hand
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:36 PM

Golden Rule: Follow the Money
    Criminals won’t work without reward. Risk is so big, the Reward must be BIG. Who has pockets deep enough. Who has grievance big enough. Clearly, only ONE answer

Mute Jp Murray
    Favourite Jp Murray
    Nov 1st 2019, 5:55 PM

Sean Fitzpatrick and David drum are the root cause of this. They are the ones that manipulated the Anglo share price by there unlawful activity.Sean Quinn along with many others were buying shares in a bank that had false accounts.
    The Irish state should also hang there head in shame for having him put in prison for something that was not his fault.

Mute The Great Unwashed
    Nov 1st 2019, 6:20 PM

@Jp Murray:
    Quinn bankrupted himself with Contracts for Difference, not Anglo shares. I’m certainly no great supporter of Sean Fitz or Drumm, but they were horrified when they learned what he had done.

Mute Denis Logan
    Favourite Denis Logan
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:00 PM

@Jp Murray: you’re speaking rubbish.. Seán Quinn gambled with people’s insurance premiums and lost. Now we’re all paying for his gambling. He belongs behind bars. You sound like a sneaking regarded for these murderous thugs. You should be ashamed of yourself

Mute Denis Logan
    Favourite Denis Logan
    Nov 1st 2019, 8:04 PM

@Jp Murray: he should still be in prison for gambling with the insurance premiums. You sound like a sneaking regarder of these murderous thugs.

Mute martin hayes
    Favourite martin hayes
    Nov 1st 2019, 1:56 PM

This is too little to late front the head honcho. People are so involved in this now they will not have the desire to pull back .

Mute Eleanor Dowd
    Favourite Eleanor Dowd
    Nov 1st 2019, 10:23 AM

Not before time ,too little too late for Mr Lummey and his family.