You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Axl Rose, 1992. PA Archive/PA Images

Gardaí step up security for Guns N' Roses Slane gig

Guns N’ Roses make their return to Slane after 25 years.

OVER 400 GARDAÍ will be on duty at the Guns N’ Roses Slane gig as security measures are beefed up in wake of the tragic terrorist attack in Manchester this week.

A total of 22 people were killed in a bomb attack at an Ariana Grande concert on Monday evening. Over 60 people were also hospitalised, many with life-threatening injuries.

With the Slane holding up to 80,000 people, the gardaí and MCD promoters said there are “extensive arrangements” in place regarding safety, security and the traffic management plan for the concert.

400 gardaí

The 400 members on duty include specialist units, who will be supported by an additional 1,200 fully licensed security teams and stewards.

Doctors and medical teams will also be on hand at the on-site hospital. There will also be an additional five first aid posts.

In a statement the gardaí said: “The Event Control Management Team overseeing this event have over 25 years experience within their fields of expertise. Please co-operate fully with gardaí and stewards and follow any loudspeaker announcements as this will help ensure the safety and enjoyment for all concerned.”

There is an extensive list of items that are not permitted at the event. These include:

gnr

All the above items will be confiscated and will not be returned, advise the gardaí.

While pocket-sized cameras are permitted for personal use only, cameras with detachable telephoto lenses will not be allowed through arena entrances.

If you fancy a drink and a bite to eat, best do it before entering the arena, as food, alcohol, glass containers and cans are banned.

Guns N' Roses in concert - Chicago Axl Rose and Slash at Chicago gig 2016. Daniel DeSlover Daniel DeSlover

They also ask concert goers to note there is a four drink per person limit on all on site bars and ID will be “rigorously” checked.

It’s been 25 years since Guns N’ Roses performed at Slane – but they’re back with their ‘Not In This Lifetime’ European tour.

The band did return to play at the Point in 2010, but it didn’t go too well, with fans left disappointed when Axl Rose stormed off the stage.

RTÉ - IRELAND’S NATIONAL PUBLIC SERVICE MEDIA / YouTube

However, the 1992 concert went down in history as one of the best Slane gigs.

For the first time ever, it’s understood that Lord Mountcharles is to miss the event due to illness.

Slane Rock Concerts 1992 Guns N Roses fans in 1992. RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

As it was before the time of the mobile phone cameras, there is little quality footage of the event. But this number they did in Wembley shortly before the Irish concert captures the mood at their gigs in the 90s.

Nacho Rose / YouTube

If you want to refresh their memory or get some singing practice in, here’s a playlist based on their recent Dubai set list. Enjoy!

Read: Fake news, Facebook and Donald Trump: Why do just a quarter of Irish people trust the media?

Read: ‘We’re privileged to be electing the next party leader and the next Taoiseach’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute Carol
    Favourite Carol
    May 27th 2017, 6:32 AM

Hope everyone has a great day, would’ve loved to have been able to go. Stay safe

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    May 27th 2017, 7:14 AM

Who’d have known you wouldn’t be allowed bring a Trident into slane good job I seen this, best leave it at home so

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    May 27th 2017, 10:16 AM

@Jamie:

No Light Sabers either, that’s may force me not to attend. Although, I can do the Jedi mind trick…..

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    May 27th 2017, 11:25 AM

@John Smith: I’d rather get hit wit a child’s toy than a trident to the head

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    May 27th 2017, 11:39 AM

@Jamie:

The Light Saber is no childs toy, it is only given to those who are one with the force. Well, that and the Dark Side, but those guys are dodge.

Mute Ian Moloney
    Favourite Ian Moloney
    May 27th 2017, 6:48 AM

No mention of bombs there I see.

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 10:06 AM

@Ian Moloney: You can bring bombs but not light sabres seemingly

Mute Fergal Barry
    Favourite Fergal Barry
    May 27th 2017, 6:58 AM

Tridents? No one can bring an ageing nuclear submarine.. that’s reassuring.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    May 27th 2017, 9:55 AM

@Fergal Barry: T

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    May 27th 2017, 9:56 AM

@Crocodylus Pontifex: Trident is the missile system on the Vanguard class submarine. I think it’s a fair restriction.

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    May 27th 2017, 8:07 AM

No backpacks or food ! It’s going to take hours to get in and out. When it rains you won’t have your waterproof cloths in your backpack. It’s going to be a long hungry day.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    May 27th 2017, 8:17 AM

@Martin Sinnott: wear your waterproofs or get wet. Buy food. Crazy thinking i know. In light of recent events no backpacks is a small concession for security. The reason its such a list is that people think that the rules dont apply to them. They only have their bags etc and they’re grand. Then these are the people who delay everyone else unnceessarily arguing with stewards and gardai about access.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    May 27th 2017, 10:20 AM

@filthypete:

It’s not a small concession though, no backpacks is ludicrous. Are we coming to a time where we are not allowed to transport our items in the most easy of ways? They can get 70,000 people into Electric Picnic with bags, tents, alcohol, etc, so a backpack should be zero problem. They say they have 25 years experience in doing this, so it shouldn’t be an issue.

Mute Dub_Right
    Favourite Dub_Right
    May 27th 2017, 10:32 AM

@John Smith: In order to protect your freedom we must first remove it….

Mute Michael Hayden
    Favourite Michael Hayden
    May 27th 2017, 10:39 AM

@John Smith: there’s wasn’t a bombing the week before EP. This bombing happened at a concert and was consealed in a backpack. And you wonder why there not allowed

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    May 27th 2017, 11:33 AM

@Martin Sinnott: hand bags are allowed, so carry a large shoulder bag…

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    May 27th 2017, 11:37 AM

@Michael Hayden:

So what? There have been numerous traffic accidents in the last week, do we now ban cars from traveling to it? There was a fella stabbed a while ago by a guy that carried a knife in his pocket. Do we ban pockets? The bombing didn’t even happen in this country. It’s utter nonsense and not a world we should want to inhabit. Banning bags, it’s nuts.

Mute George Roche
    Favourite George Roche
    May 27th 2017, 6:33 AM

No lightsabers?

Mute Honeybadger197
    Favourite Honeybadger197
    May 27th 2017, 6:38 AM

@George Roche: #boycottslane

Mute Joseph whaley
    Favourite Joseph whaley
    May 27th 2017, 6:54 AM

@George Roche: tridents are also a big no no.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    May 27th 2017, 7:06 AM

Most of the recent terror attacks have been on the 22 of the month. U2 will be playing here on July the 22. Might be total nonsense, but worth keeping in mind.

Mute Niall Martin
    Favourite Niall Martin
    May 27th 2017, 7:23 AM

@Ladude: There’s no pattern. Stockholm was the 7th of April, the Nice attack was the 14th of July, the Bataclan attack was the 13th of November. I saw that 22nd claim before, but it’s selective to say the very least.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    May 27th 2017, 7:25 AM

@Niall Martin: look not saying there is, but it’s something to keep on mind for sure man.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    May 27th 2017, 8:19 AM

@Ladude: Hey Frank….is that the new you?

Mute Ken Hayden
    Favourite Ken Hayden
    May 27th 2017, 9:21 AM

@Ladude: @Ian , I have done my own extensive research into these attacks and have realized that they all occur on days ending in a Y , just saying .

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    May 27th 2017, 10:21 AM

@Paul Furey: Paul its not Frank, and by the way if you think that blowing ones self up is crazy, making up dates that relate to passages in the qoran, and blowing your self up on that date is not that nuts.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    May 27th 2017, 10:23 AM

@Ken Hayden: Haha think your on to something, look I really just want every one to be safe. I know it’s a little out there, but just trying to make sense of it and try and see if there is a pattern.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 27th 2017, 10:48 AM

@Ladude: there’s not. Guess what, there are more than 31 passages in that book so every date is significant

Mute Free comment ratings
    Favourite Free comment ratings
    May 27th 2017, 11:05 AM

@Ken Hayden: Every day will end in Y so that’s irrelevant.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 1:45 PM

@Ladude:
    “Most of the recent terror attacks have been on the 22 of the month.”

No, they haven’t. Why are you lying?

Mute Negan
    Favourite Negan
    May 27th 2017, 10:47 AM

Best Slane concert ever was Red Hot Chili peppers in 2003, with one of the best bassist at the time, the best guitarist since Jimi Hendrix, and that beautiful Californication intro….oh it was a magical night

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 10:58 AM

@Negan: Jimmy Page was there?! Damn I should’ve went.

Mute Alison Maguire
    Favourite Alison Maguire
    May 27th 2017, 11:02 AM

@Negan: agreed fantastic concert. I got complimentary tickets from Lord Henry mount Charles because I had gotten a petition together with thousands of names wanting rhcp to play. I was on 2fm with dave fanning about it. Oh how embarrassing when I look back at the neck of me. Good times though

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 12:08 PM

@Matty Kineven: Jimmy Page, lol. Useless sloppy & overrated.

Mute Dan Smith
    Favourite Dan Smith
    May 27th 2017, 12:08 PM

@Negan: Foo Fighters, Queens of the Stone Age and PJ Harvey as warm-up acts too. Wish I was 10 years older so I could’ve gone to that!

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 12:25 PM

@Conor Hall: Who’s the best guitarist since Hendrix then, in your opinion? The Edge? *snicker snicker

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 12:56 PM

@Matty Kineven: Greg Howe or Scott Henderson.

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 1:20 PM

@Conor Hall: Greg Howe is a legend alright. More of a Jimmy Page and Mark Knopfler fan myself though. Each to their own I guess.

Mute Negan
    Favourite Negan
    May 27th 2017, 2:03 PM

@Matty Kineven: John Frusciante God himself :)

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Negan: I’m a musical polytheist so I believe there are many gods. Mr. Frusciante is on the list :-) I actually was at that gig. They were phenomenal.

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    May 27th 2017, 11:35 PM

@Negan: Was at Slane 2003.. chilli peppers were pretty brutal (and later the same year in landsdone too)

Mute Matty Kineven
    Favourite Matty Kineven
    May 27th 2017, 11:11 AM

I am Neptune, God of the Sea. My mate Luke and I are very annoyed that we can’t bring our toys with us. See you in court lord henry

Mute Vinny O'Shaughnessy
    Favourite Vinny O'Shaughnessy
    May 27th 2017, 9:43 AM

I got an email from MCD and they said that small backpacks would be allowed.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 12:07 PM

@Vinny O’Shaughnessy: really? I got one this morning but it didn’t say that.

Mute Jeff Jefferson
    Favourite Jeff Jefferson
    May 27th 2017, 1:41 PM

@Conor Hall: I sent them an email for clarification, and this is the response I got:
    Many thanks for your email. We do understand your request and can advise therefore that small bags and small back packs will be permitted but we advise to bring as little as possible with you to the event because it makes searching at entrances quicker and easier.

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 1:47 PM

@Jeff Jefferson: cool thanks.

I assume shoulder/record bags are okay either way? I’m just worried some mongo garda will try to say it’s a backpack.

Mute Michael Hayden
    Favourite Michael Hayden
    May 27th 2017, 10:14 AM

Ah sure it’s a great day for it too

Mute Conor Hall
    Favourite Conor Hall
    May 27th 2017, 12:01 PM

So can you bring a normal shoulder bag? It just says no waistbags or backpacks.

Rules are unclear and inconsistent – I’ve seen 1 version where it says no bottles, and another that says bottles of water are allowed 500ml and under but they’ll take the lids.

WTF?

Mute Terry O'Callaghan
    Favourite Terry O'Callaghan
    May 27th 2017, 9:08 AM

Who would waste a bomb on that lot…

Mute iMoan Brutal
    Favourite iMoan Brutal
    May 27th 2017, 11:36 PM

Wonder did they play “Crest of a wave” …nice that Slash always credits Rory on every visit :)

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 28th 2017, 12:59 AM

No Tridents? The only tridents I know is to do with nukes lol.