You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. PA Images

'I found myself googling Woodies': Some schools were forced to close today over the hand sanitiser recall

The Department of Agriculture had warned that the product was recalled, citing possible public health concerns.

SCHOOL PRINCIPALS HAVE outlined how they were forced to close today after the Department of Education issued a notice last night that a brand of hand sanitiser being used in schools had been recalled.

It was warned that prolonged use of such a sanitiser – containing methanol rather than ethanol – may cause dermatitis, eye irritation, upper respiratory system irritation and headaches.

Principals around the school weren’t told until late last night about the issue and, for those schools that had a significant supply of this product – and no immediate access to an alternative – they were not able to open today.

Speaking to RTÉ Radio 1′s Today with Claire Byrne, Professor Anne Looney who chairs St Patrick’s Boys National School in Drumcondra said she had found herself googling Woodies last night to try source an alternative supply.

She said: “I knew that probably local schools would be able to help. They’d been in touch this morning but there was too much uncertainty and this was actually dress up day in school so there was a slightly higher level of risk and the importance of having the sanitizer in place for every boy and every staff member coming in so getting that certainty – we couldn’t give that.

“Then on balance given the level of risk and the need to give certainty we made the decision to close.”

Schools were asked to follow the advice of the Department of Agriculture to cease using the hand sanisiter last night. The supplier of this product was one of 11 suppliers on the multi supplier framework for PPE for education settings. 

“On Friday, 23 October, schools that are impacted by this can make local arrangements to purchase stocks of hand sanitisers and can maximise the use of hand washing to support necessary hand hygiene,” the Department of Education said. 

“If a school that is impacted judges it necessary to do so, they can choose to close for the day or close early on Friday, 23 October,” it said. 

If a school has difficulty sourcing replacement hand sanitiser, they are being asked to contact the Department on the Covid-19 helpline and email address supplied to schools. 

The Department of Agriculture had this week issued a product recall ViraPro hand sanitiser, citing “possible public health concerns”. On its biocidal product register, the department said it had set a date of Tuesday 20 October for the remaining product to be used or withdrawn from use.

Also speaking to Claire Byrne today, Tim Ó Tuachaigh from Gaelscoil Ros Eo in Rush said he was informed of the situation just before 11pm last night. 

“It seems that everything we use in the school is going to be affected by this,” he said. “To get something in for [8.30am] in the morning… because we were using this product in the school you can actually smell it in the air. I couldn’t get that out of the school in time for opening.”

He said he was aware children’s hearts would be broken as they would have turned up to school dressed up for Halloween in school. 

TheJournal.ie has asked the Department of Education how many schools did not open today as a result of this product recall. No response was received at the time of publication. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

47 Comments
    Mute David Lee
    Favourite David Lee
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:08 PM

Second lockdown with no exit strategy, bogus & dangerous hand sanitiser recalled after being given to school children for 2 months, Tracing system collapse, mother & baby home records being hidden away. When does the revolution begin?

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:41 PM

@David Lee: slight over reaction

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:49 PM

@David Lee: when they shut the off licence!

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Oct 23rd 2020, 2:52 PM

@David Lee: when you change out of your boxers and put down the bowl of coco pops

Mute Critical Thinker
    Favourite Critical Thinker
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:15 PM

Surely there were options other than closing. Like asking children to bring their own sanitisers or using soap and water which is meant to be more effective.

Mute Sally
    Favourite Sally
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:41 PM

@Critical Thinker: schools want to hammer home the case now that they should close and couldn’t be bothered with a common sense approach

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:03 PM

@Sally: They were told to close by the Department, Ireland is a litigious society. Schools are already broke, a claim is something they don’t want. There is no common sense when mammy is going to sue because little darling has sore hands. Give it a bloody rest with the school and teacher bashing, no one wants the schools to close.

Mute Critical Thinker
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:21 PM

@TheHeathen: that’s interesting and as a pragmatic, solution-focused person, I didn’t think of litigation. So, once more, measures being taken are due to underlying systemic failures in society.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:37 PM

@TheHeathen: yes they do. Anyone who thinks there’s no link between higher cases and schools opening are either very naive or very stu-pid.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 23rd 2020, 2:00 PM

@Franny Ando: I never said there was no link, I just said that people involved in education want the best for the students and don’t want to close. Shut down was a disaster for everyone involved in the education sector… students, teachers, parents, other staff, everyone. We want proper, consistent advice on close contacts and tracing, we do not want to shut down. No spokesperson for educators has ever said this, no matter what commentators say on here, we just want consistent advice and procedures from the HSE.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 23rd 2020, 2:05 PM

@Critical Thinker: That’s a gracious response. I can tell you so many issues in schools, from falls, slips, wet floors, cuts, grazes, burns, equipment, all sports, you name it, there is sadly always litigation hanging over us and what we do. To the detriment of the students and having fun.

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Oct 23rd 2020, 2:30 PM

@TheHeathen: They weren’t told to close by the Department they were told they could close if they had to.

How hard was it to take the existing sanisiters out of use by taping them up or something similar and getting down to the nearest supermarket to buy enough sanisiter to get them through the day like many other schools did?

Then they’d have over a week to sort the issue out long term.

Sorting the issue out short term today was going to have zero affect on whether someone is going to sue or not as any damage is already done.

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 23rd 2020, 2:46 PM

@Stanley Marsh: The product was recalled on Tuesday, schools were only told last night at 11. Fair play if you could have sorted that out by eight in the morning, we were lucky to have many different products. As for litigation, we have had calls from parents about hands and headaches, if damage is done after issue is highlighted, solicitors are called.

Mute Critical Thinker
    Oct 23rd 2020, 2:59 PM

@TheHeathen: A really sad indictment of what we have created. And before people start pointing fingers at a cohort they believe are milking this, remember how members of fg recently tried to profit from this both as claimants and legal advisors.

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Oct 23rd 2020, 3:17 PM

@TheHeathen: Many schools did sort it out by this morning and opened.

If they could do it….

And how could damage be done after the issue is highlighted if the sanisiter has been taken out of use, again as it has in the schools that have opened?

For some there’s a solution to every problem but for others there’s a problem for every solution.

Mute Nan
    Favourite Nan
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:26 PM

Talk about drama, one more day wouldn’t have done them any more harm, they have been using this for months, the disappointment to the children was uncalled for.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Oct 23rd 2020, 8:44 PM

@Nan: disappointment !!! Its one day they are starting mid term. I think they just might survive:)

Mute FluffyGoFluffy
    Favourite FluffyGoFluffy
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:03 PM

This country is an absolute joke!

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:05 PM

@FluffyGoFluffy: yet people are happy enough to pump alcohol into their system. Calm yourself down, it’s precautionary and extremely unlikely to do any harm

Mute Colin
    Favourite Colin
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:06 PM

@FluffyGoFluffy: it’s a fair synopsis that things are going to only get worse

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:10 PM

@FluffyGoFluffy: why? Who produced it? Who recalled it? What do you think they should have done instead?

Mute FluffyGoFluffy
    Favourite FluffyGoFluffy
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:10 PM

@ChuckE: my children don’t pump alcohol into their system. This hand sanitiser should have been checked to be safe before it was pumped into our schools.

Mute Cian Martin
    Favourite Cian Martin
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:23 PM

@FluffyGoFluffy: checked by whom?

Mute Darren Mulligan
    Favourite Darren Mulligan
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:31 PM

@ChuckE: My sons hands are in bits cracked bleeding etc we told him last week not to use the hand sanitizer in school anymore so yes it can harm some people.

Mute FluffyGoFluffy
    Favourite FluffyGoFluffy
    Oct 23rd 2020, 3:15 PM

@Cian Martin: the FBI or the CIA

Mute Peadar O'Comain
    Favourite Peadar O'Comain
    Oct 23rd 2020, 11:44 PM

@ChuckE: the problem is methanol. We drink ethannol. They are different chemicals. Methanol can cause harm

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:11 PM

Soap?

Mute MHK
    Favourite MHK
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:34 PM

I suggest people look up Methanol Safety data sheet provided by manufacturers of the methanol before use. Here is a quick summary of the chemical safety data sheet:

It belongs to: Category 2 – Highly flammable liquid and vapor
    Acute toxicity (oral) Category 3 – Toxic if swallowed
    Acute toxicity (dermal) Category 3 – Toxic in contact with skin
    Acute toxicity (inhalation) Category 3 – Toxic if inhaled
    Specific target organ toxicity (single exposure)

Its a health hazard category 1
    Causes damage to organs (liver, kidneys, central nervous system, optic nerve)
    (Dermal, oral)

Most important symptoms and effects, both acute and delayed:
    Poison. Toxic by ingestion, absorption through skin and inhalation, potentially causing irreversible effects. Irritating to eyes, skin and respiratory tract. May be fatal or cause blindness if swallowed. Cannot be made non-poisonous. Toxic: danger of very serious irreversible effects by inhalation, ingestion or ABSORPTION THROUGH SKIN. experiments have shown reproductive toxicity on lab animal. May cause adverse kidney and liver effects.

Once I saw methanol as an ingredient on one of the hand sanitisers in the shop – I put the product down and from there on I refuse to use shop provided hand sanitisers if I can’t see the ingredient list. Methanol is a teratogen making it very dangerous for pregnant women as the molecules can cross the placenta and damage the fetus.

So please be aware of methanol based hand sanitisers. Carry an ethanol based one with you when going out. A message to the shops, please provide ingredients of the santisers on the dispensing stations so people can feel safe using it. This is serious.

Mute Gerard Kellett
    Favourite Gerard Kellett
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:19 PM

This product got approval here for use. Now how about checking what exactly was in the product when it got approval and checking what is in the product now that it shouldn’t be used. I’m sure that there is a difference due to the increasing prices of ethanol.
    If this is found to be the case then the government are not to blame. They approved a correct product at the time. If the ingredients are changed by the manufacturer and the manufacturer / supplier does not request re-approval then the government are not to blame. Blame the manufacturer and make them take the product off the market and compensate all those involved.

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:27 PM

@Gerard Kellett: methanol in it instead of ethanol I think?

Mute Sommer Church
    Favourite Sommer Church
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:07 PM

You couldn’t make this bs if you tried! Why can’t they use soap and water like WHO advise?

Mute Nan
    Favourite Nan
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:19 PM

Crazy,using it for one more day wouldn’t have made a difference, the disappointment to the kids was uncalled for.

Mute Billy
    Favourite Billy
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:42 PM

The fact that schools can order hand sanitiser in bulk without having a clue what they’re buying is ridiculous. Why isn’t the department of health telling the department of education what hand sanitiser schools should be using? Or even better sourcing it for them?

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:06 PM

@Billy: ‘The supplier of this product was one of 11 suppliers on the multi supplier framework for PPE for education settings.’ …. Did you even read the article?

Mute Billy
    Favourite Billy
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:36 PM

@TheHeathen: I spent more time reading the article than the department of education spent reading the ingredients on hand sanitiser.

Mute Niamh Hand
    Favourite Niamh Hand
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:08 PM

My daughters school was informed like them all at just before 11pm. We were given the option to take her out early xx

Mute eoin carroll
    Favourite eoin carroll
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:23 PM

@Niamh Hand: thanks for the kisses

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:53 PM

@eoin carroll: Sure it’s the only safe way to kiss now xx

Mute Jeanette Dunne
    Favourite Jeanette Dunne
    Oct 23rd 2020, 4:00 PM

@Niamh Hand: I appreciate the kisses too, nicer than some of the abuse you can get on here. Oooooo

Mute Katie O'Riordan
    Favourite Katie O'Riordan
    Oct 23rd 2020, 1:57 PM

Products get recalled all the time it’s a manufacturing issue no ones else’s. They could have just used soap and water and had the kids wash their hands more today instead of cancelling their halloween fun.

Mute Justin Hanley
    Favourite Justin Hanley
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:34 PM

Where else would you get it, you couldn’t make this up. The whole thing and government is a joke .

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Oct 23rd 2020, 2:10 PM

I googled Woodies…we all have our kinks

Mute Jeanette Dunne
    Favourite Jeanette Dunne
    Oct 23rd 2020, 3:58 PM

Today was dress up day in school and a
    Party in their little pod, having to tell my daughter that their was no school today caused about 4 hours of melt downs, I was half delighted…half! That she really understood she was having a dress up day, unfortunately trying to explain to her why they decided to shut the school was too complicated. I think it could of been avoided, she could of brought her own, used soap. That’s an extra day on mid term, I’m left feeling they will pull a fast one and not reopen.

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Favourite Anne Busher Collins
    Oct 23rd 2020, 2:41 PM

Ah sure it did the job. And what about soap and water. Storm in a teacup.

Mute Ruaidhrí Maxwell
    Favourite Ruaidhrí Maxwell
    Oct 23rd 2020, 3:18 PM

The only enzyme in your body that can process methanol is found your retinas. Once processed it changes it yo formaldehyde. Formaldehyde plus eyes equals blindness.

Mute I Speak My Mind
    Favourite I Speak My Mind
    Oct 23rd 2020, 6:07 PM

Methanol is used to denatured the alcohol so that people cannot drink it to get sloshed. It is allowed up to 5% by the EU but it seems Virapro had much higher levels than this.

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Oct 23rd 2020, 5:08 PM

http://www.sanitycares.com Irish made and certified.

Mute Michael Brack
    Favourite Michael Brack
    Oct 23rd 2020, 12:15 PM

So Glad that my kids school had the cop on to just go to tesco & buy new hand wash .
    Any excuse is been used by some teachers to get schools closed