You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Ha'penny Bridge this morning - sans banner. Nicky Ryan

Dublin's Lord Mayor defends placing massive 'Up the Dubs' banner on Ha'penny Bridge

The hanging of the banner is now being reviewed by the council.

DUBLIN’S LORD MAYOR has defended placing a huge banner on the Ha’penny Bridge supporting the Dublin footballers despite it being labelled “cheap” and “tacky” by those opposed to it.

The banner, which extended across the railings of the entire bridge, was erected days before Dublin’s league final match against Galway on 1 April. It had remained in place for more than a week after, drawing the ire of many including the Green Party’s Eamon Ryan.

Speaking on Morning Ireland, Dublin Lord Mayor Micheal Mac Donncha said he was fully supportive of continuing to place the banner on the bridge.

He said: “I’m fully supportive of the practice. It brightens up the city. They went up for the league final. It has been removed now and it did only go up for a period to wish the players well.

“It’s something that the citizens look forward to and celebrate. I have never heard any objections. Most citizens welcome them and they mark a great achievement.”

However, this view was not shared by Eamon Ryan. Speaking on the same programme, he said the huge banner was bringing down the tone of the city.

He said: “I’m very happy the Dubs are winning and that we celebrate it but I don’t think we need to do that by defacing what is one the most iconic places in Dublin. It’s not very stylish for what it is an iconic piece of architecture. It doesn’t need banners and I think it should be left alone.

“It’s not going to damage the structure, I just don’t think it looks good. Let’s fly a massive flag off City Hall by all means. But the banner is a bit tacky.”

The council is now reviewing the banner practice.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

123 Comments
    Mute ktsiwot
    Favourite ktsiwot
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:21 AM

I suppose people have to be offended by something.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:42 AM

@ktsiwot:

Who said anything about being offended?

It’s not possible to believe that covering up one of the few attractive landmarks that we have with cheap, tacky plastic should be re-thought?

Mute Jamie Jj Tobin
    Favourite Jamie Jj Tobin
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:48 AM

@ktsiwot: I’m offend that you think that some people are easily offended. Now hang your head in shame…please.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:57 AM

@ktsiwot: don’t think anyone’s offended, they just want ugly tack removed. Simples

Mute owen kirwan
    Favourite owen kirwan
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:50 AM

@ktsiwot: Amen

Mute owen kirwan
    Favourite owen kirwan
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:53 AM

@Jamie Jj Tobin: I’m offended that your offended by a comment you made that offended someone who has a right to be offended by the inoffensive comment.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:42 PM

Fair play to them for putting the flag up, a show of support for Dublin’s brilliant football team. I saw many tourists having their photo taken beside the flag and enquiring as to why it was there. They learned a little bit of culture about one of our national sports. I’ll bet half those against the idea are not true Dubliners.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Apr 9th 2018, 1:28 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: And another thing, that Flag is nothing compared to electioneering posters, the biggest eyesore we see prior to a GE, pics of numpties everywhere you look that always stay up longer than permitted. This debate is so petty its not even newsworthy.

Mute Mairtin Cathbhar
    Favourite Mairtin Cathbhar
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:15 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Dublin football represents only a small portion of a Dublin society. Recently their brand of football has reduced that further. Hence the growth of Rugby. Completely agree this ugly rag is removed from our city.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:25 PM

@Brinster: The flag only goes up for a few days before a big match in which Dublin are involved, you must have very delicate eyes.

Mute Gary Foster
    Favourite Gary Foster
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:29 PM

@Mairtin Cathbhar: the growth of rugby?
    Over 2,300 gaa clubs and 200 rugby clubs in ireland.

71 rugby clubs in Leinster, 854 GAA clubs.

Take your eletist sport and shove it Mairtin.

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:36 PM

@Gary Foster: Well said Gary, that flag brings a big smile to my face on big match days. It’s not as if it’s there permanently.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Apr 9th 2018, 4:10 PM

@Gary Foster: Because the council give over 90% of land allocated for pitches to GAA.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Apr 9th 2018, 4:15 PM

@Mairtin Cathbhar: Nonsense and snobbery rolled into one. Your a Rugby head, I like rugby too. Your point about the brand of football Dublin play made me chuckle as you obviously haven’t a clue about the game.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Apr 9th 2018, 4:18 PM

@Barra O Brien: Its our National sport, would you rather see our culture continue to dissolve? Besides I’d like to see a link to your ‘stat’ if you don’t mind.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Apr 9th 2018, 4:40 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: hurling is our national sport , gaelic football is a compromise madey uppy game to get people away from playing soccer

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Apr 9th 2018, 5:05 PM

@Seán O’Sullivan: pmsl, GAA hurling is our National sport along with Gaelic football. Kerry won the centenary final in 1984. I don’t think there were tellies around in 1884 to use as propaganda for GAA to be played by the populace instead of other sports. Gaelic football is part of our culture and tradition whether you like it or not. Personally I like Gaelic football, soccer, rugby then hurling in that order. Dublin council only put the flag on th Ha’penny bridge prior to a big match in which the Dubs are involved. They also put blue flags on lamposts around the county, not only in the City-centre but in the suburbs as well. Fair play to them.

Mute Lamb
    Favourite Lamb
    Apr 9th 2018, 5:16 PM

@ktsiwot: Anywhere else in Ireland would have no issue hanging banners to support their local team. It doesn’t look bad either..maybe it obscures a landmark and some thought should have gone in there.. but to be fair, a Dublin banner is a minor issue..unless you are from Mayo

Mute Sean Gordon
    Favourite Sean Gordon
    Apr 9th 2018, 5:16 PM

@ktsiwot: Let’s stick to Palestinian flags on City Hall.

Mute Damien Gill
    Favourite Damien Gill
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:22 AM

So the snowflakes are not even allowing people support / celebrate it’s own county now?

Jesus wept

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:43 AM

@Damien Gill: i don’t think it has anything to do with supporting Dublin, the point is that covers up a land mark and looks like something a four year old put together. Oh and well done if your use of “snow flake” how very grown up

Mute Damien Gill
    Favourite Damien Gill
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:59 AM

@ChuckE: if this is their biggest problem then a snowflakes is exactly what they are

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Johnny Bellew
    Favourite Johnny Bellew
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:11 AM

@Damien Gill: It is not a big problem at all. It just looks ridiculous. Imagine tacky banners draped across the great pyramids or the taj mahal? Mind you, I am not saying that the ha’penny bridge is quite at that level.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:21 AM

@Damien Gill: Bit of a “Snowflake” yourself, most over used buzz word in recent years!

Mute Kavo
    Favourite Kavo
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:24 AM

@Johnny Bellew: then why compare them?

Mute Stephen Kennedy
    Favourite Stephen Kennedy
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:30 AM

Yeah and the Sistine Chapel too while your at those comparisons

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:36 AM

@Johnny Bellew: If they want to stick up tacky sports banners then it should have been attached to the side of Liberty Hall, anything that covers that eyesore is a good thing…

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:00 AM

@Kavo: You can compare two different things. Comparison is an exercise in analysing both similarities and differences.

Mute Johnny Bellew
    Favourite Johnny Bellew
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:01 AM

@Dotty Dunleary: Agreed.

Mute Johnny Bellew
    Favourite Johnny Bellew

@Kavo: Just for the craic, Kavo, just for the craic.

Mute John drennan
    Favourite John drennan
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:35 AM

@Johnny Bellew: the leader of one of Ireland’s political parties is talking about it on national television. If it’s not a big problem maybe he should be focusing on the many big problems the country has instead of this petty nonsense over a sign supporting a football team. Maybe the people sleeping rough on or near that bridge might be chief among them?

Mute Johnny Bellew
    Favourite Johnny Bellew
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:51 AM

@John drennan: Is it not possible to tackle the homeless crisis, support your county team, and ask for the removal of tacky banners, all at the one time?

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:58 PM

@Johnny Bellew: Leo & Simon, aka Ernie & Bert, seem to find tackling the homeless crisis an impossible task. Leo shouldn’t be getting involved with trivialities about a county flag when the rest of the country is falling to pieces around him. Unless of course they plan to rename the bridge after uncle Dobbie.

Mute ChuckE
    Favourite ChuckE
    Apr 9th 2018, 1:07 PM

@Damien Gill: I’d say global warming would be a snow flakes biggest problem. Any other easy buzz words you wanna get in today ?

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Apr 9th 2018, 1:42 PM

@Johnny Bellew: Probably not for some people :)
    Easy to distract.

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:22 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: good man Neil

Mute Chris Hammond
    Favourite Chris Hammond
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:28 PM

@Damien Gill: You seem to be mentally ill.

Mute Mr. H
    Favourite Mr. H
    Apr 9th 2018, 4:09 PM

@Damien Gill: well it does look pretty awful, you gotta admit

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Apr 9th 2018, 4:12 PM

@Damien Gill: It looks like you drew it with crayons and it covers a landmark. That’s the problem, it’s not anti Dublin sentiment.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:22 AM

Surely Eamon Ryan could utilise his ‘talents’ in a more productive area like tackling the pollution caused by this continuous outpouring of his own voice?

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:39 AM

@Matt Donovan:
    Eamon who?

Mute Philip Mulville
    Favourite Philip Mulville
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:38 PM

@Matt Donovan: Eamon Ryan is a complete numpty.

Mute Anton Dec
    Favourite Anton Dec
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:20 AM

If the Lord Mayor in his infinite wisdom do something about it 24/7 presence of beggars on the bridge then I could get behind that. Two American friends of mine crossed the bridge every day last week at various different times and asked me was it an art installation.

Mute ..
    Favourite ..
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:44 AM

@Anton Dec: your American friends are obviously idiots.

Mute Anton Dec
    Favourite Anton Dec
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:05 AM

@..:
    Obvious? To whom?
    I thought that it was a depressing observation made by detached and unbiased visitors to Dublin. They were staying on the Northside and crossed the bridge every day for a week. One of them described the journey as “full on from Parnell Street to South William”.
    I was surprised that it was that bad. Living in the city center myself I tend to cycle more.

I truly love encountering abusive trolls like yourself. Dazzle me with another breathtakingly witty comment.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:55 AM

@Anton Dec: They’ve obviously never been to a US city. The degree of homelessness there is horrendous. And, a bugbear of mine, why do we always frame issues in a ‘what will the neighbours think?’ discourse? Who cares what the tourists think. We should tackle homelessness because it is not acceptable to us!

Mute Anton Dec
    Favourite Anton Dec
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:15 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin:
    I didn’t use the word homeless once.
    Begging. From the door of the hotel on Parnell Street to the Powerscourt Center. They encountered 6 beggars on the first day in under 20 minutes. Accosted three times as they walked from Moore Street to Temple Bar. Beggars on the bridge, under the Central Bank. Beggars.
    As tourists in the city it’s inexcusable and disingenuous to compare it to anywhere else.

Mute Ben Dunne
    Favourite Ben Dunne
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:29 AM

@Anton Dec: Your friends saw a homeless guy in a major city everyday for a week and thought it was an art installation?Which magical American city has homeless people as art installations?Your friends are idiots.

Mute Alan Murphy
    Favourite Alan Murphy
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:24 PM

@Anton Dec: maybe the council should round up all the beggars and lock them away so your American friends aren’t offended or think their walk is too full-on.

Mute Thought Criminal
    Favourite Thought Criminal
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:21 AM

Ryan doing his best to remain relevant.

Mute Minom Pnnomm
    Favourite Minom Pnnomm
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:29 AM

@Thought Criminal: I just hear Teletubby sounds when he speaks.

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:52 AM

@Thought Criminal: It’s funny you think he was relevant.

Mute Ruadhán MacEoin
    Favourite Ruadhán MacEoin
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:27 AM

Eamon Ryan is right. It’s a real pity that the city centre has been let get so tacky and shabby in recent years by the proliferation of banners and cheap advertising – many of which are unauthorised / illegal. It doesn’t happen in other European capitals. Dublin City Council should not be leading the way downward by tacking on shabby banners onto our iconic structures, but instead it would be better if they used their powers to enforce the law – and prevent further deterioration of the historic city centre.

Mute Shane Farrell
    Favourite Shane Farrell
    Apr 9th 2018, 1:27 PM

@Ruadhán MacEoin:
    Well let them start in O Connell St, the number of fast food eateries there is beyond comprehension.

Mute I get things wrong
    Favourite I get things wrong
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:31 AM

Tourists should be able to photograph the bridge unbannered

Mute Thought Criminal
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:36 AM

@I get things wrong: Agreed, the banner obscures the junkies.

Mute Chris
    Favourite Chris
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:50 AM

So did they get planning permission? Totally agree with Eamon Ryan, support the county by all means buy don’t deface one of the few iconic landmarks that we have.

Mute Thought Criminal
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:56 AM

@Chris: The state of the rusty piece of shit.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.

@Thought Criminal: What are you on about? It was fully renovated just a few years ago and has never looked better.

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Apr 9th 2018, 7:34 PM

@Thought Criminal: You should have went to specsavers!

Mute Deirdre Doherty
    Favourite Deirdre Doherty
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:02 AM

I fully support our Lord Mayor support our team .i love the banner well done Michael. Up the dubs it brought colour to the city we are Dublin

Mute Peter White
    Favourite Peter White
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:37 AM

If it was any other county in Ireland playing in a final, there’d be banners and flags everywhere. It took DCC long enough to support the Dubs with flags etc so leave it alone.

Mute Róisín M
    Favourite Róisín M
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:49 AM

Has Eamon Ryan nothing better to give out about?
    It’s a temporary banner not graffiti.

Mute iBob101
    Favourite iBob101
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:40 AM

Move over Clare, there’s a new Banner County

Mute Michael Lang
    Favourite Michael Lang
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:59 AM

@iBob101: as Vincent Browne would say, “ahh very good, that’s very good.”

It’s actually a cracker. Good one.

Mute Insider at RTE
    Favourite Insider at RTE
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:21 AM

Little to be worrying about. Be proud of your GAA county team.

Mute Pavel Shipilov
    Favourite Pavel Shipilov
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:30 AM

What really brings down the tone of the city is vomit, trash and drunks every sat-sun morning in Temple Bar which is steps away from the bridge.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:40 AM

@Pavel Shipilov: Dublin isn’t just the city- there are hundreds of towns in Dublin. It’s the place in the world. Up the Dubs.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:41 AM

@Fabio Dillon: best **

Mute Del Boy
    Favourite Del Boy
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:55 AM

@Fabio Dillon: Best place in the world? Jaysus, you need to get out more if you think that.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:03 AM

@Del Boy: I live in the Caribbean.

Mute Hakaman
    Favourite Hakaman
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:45 AM

Jesus, all fine supporting your country with flags and banners on the streets, but that is just sheer manky!

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:27 AM

Complete waste of Taxpayers money, council staff time to attach that eyesore of a banner too!
    As mentioned previously, would the Mayor of Paris attach a banner to the Eiffel tower supporting the local Pétanque team?
    Maybe the Mayor of Copenhagen will put the sport shirt of the local Lacrosse team on the bronze Mermaid statue?

Mute Thomas Devlin
    Favourite Thomas Devlin
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:13 PM

@Dotty Dunleary: eamonn ryan is a complete waste of taxpayers money!

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Apr 9th 2018, 2:31 PM

@Thomas Devlin: No more than any other politician! No need to single him out, he represents his constituents well.

Mute Oliver Francis
    Favourite Oliver Francis
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:42 AM

Eamon Ryan’s desk must be very clear if he is complaining about a banner on a bridge -

Mute @UK
    Favourite @UK
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:04 AM

The bridge is a piece of architecture that belongs to the Irish people not just the Dubs!
    GAA followers would want to get over themselves and see the bigger picture.
    Remove the banner. It’s just plain ridiculous

Mute Thomas Devlin
    Favourite Thomas Devlin
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:01 PM

@@UK: it should be okay to put a kerry flag patricks bridge in cork then?after it belongs to us all!

Mute ManUtdMan
    Favourite ManUtdMan
    Apr 9th 2018, 9:41 AM

Yawn. Get a grip on yourself man. Up the Dubs!

Mute madabot
    Favourite madabot
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:11 AM

Absolutely ridiculous comment by Eamon Ryan. Nothing tacky about it. Does he think the various costumes on the Mannekin Pis bring the tone down in Brussels?? If this was a rugby banner he’d be all for it, I’m sure. Long time since he was in Croker I’d say (if he ever was)

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:03 PM

Meh. 4 in a row coming up inanyways.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:07 PM

fill the flagpoles up the quays, or hang it on the boardwalk, but the ha’penny bridge is one of the most photographed sights in Dublin. You’d hardly drape St Patricks or Christ Church with it, or the Molly Malone or statue of Daniel O’Connell.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:40 PM

Fair play to dublin city council ,why would they not ,for christs sake,are we living in a society where this sort of thing offends someone ?we are not irish anymore if that is the case .from donegal to cork we love raising our banners .ryan has always been one big green tomato ,how he get elected is beyond me .good luck to the dubs .

Mute Johnny Bellew
    Favourite Johnny Bellew
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:06 AM

Did Dublin City Council actually grant planning permission for this eyesore?

Mute Anthony Clark
    Favourite Anthony Clark
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:14 AM

I think they were pushing it this year – having that poorly drawn plastic advert for gaa for over a week on pretty much the most famous photo opportunity in Dublin.
    Let them put it on one of the many new horrible buildings we put up in Dublin City in recent years.

Mute John Brennan
    Favourite John Brennan
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:34 PM

Mayo for Sam

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 9th 2018, 2:18 PM

@John Brennan: LOL!

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 9th 2018, 1:53 PM

So, a banner in Dublin supporting the Dublin GAA team was put up for a week and is now taken down again, and the perma-offended are up in arms again?
    Some people…..

Mute sue
    Favourite sue
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:32 PM

Hang the banner anywhere but not there. You can’t see the bridge properly….

Mute Thomas Devlin
    Favourite Thomas Devlin
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:11 PM

Maybe it will unduly influence referees?

Mute Michael Lang
    Favourite Michael Lang
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:57 AM

This debate reminds me of the remark about disputes between academic staff.

Such disputes are especially vicious because there is so little actually at stake.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:06 AM

Were back to the old, the Shinners did it……

Mute Danny Llama
    Favourite Danny Llama
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:03 PM

The only thing that looks bad near the bridge is the Liffey. It’s a dirty looking kip the whole way along! Clean that up and don’t mind the banner.

Mute John Rownano
    Favourite John Rownano
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:53 AM

Maybe its ok to have UP the PLO on a landmark

Mute Fearghal Snow
    Favourite Fearghal Snow
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:01 AM

Can we leave the locks on it? Every city has similar very popular in France

Mute Darren Byrne
    Favourite Darren Byrne
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:18 AM

@Fearghal Snow: No they don’t, the bridges weren’t designed to hold the weight of all those locks. Cities in Europe remove them now as they’re a safety hazard.

Mute Sean Patrick Donnelly
    Favourite Sean Patrick Donnelly
    Apr 9th 2018, 2:29 PM

@Fearghal Snow @Darren Byrne: Just because they are popular doesn’t mean they are good. Maybe there was a time when this was cute but in an era of mass tourism that’s not the case.

Consider, at what point do they get removed? Who does the work? Who pays for it? Where do the old locks go? Who pays for the clean up? What about repairs? – Corrosion? New paint? Repair corrosion? New paint?

By all means hang nice blue flags along the promenade to bring some colour to the place for tourists and cheers to Dublin GAA fans. As for the bridge, it’s the capital city and this is a tourist site. It should be for everyone, not just Dubliners (I am a Dubliner). Don’t hide it behind a gaudy banner.

Mute Adrian O'Farrell
    Favourite Adrian O'Farrell
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:52 PM

Brought to you by those wonderful people who agreed with Bob Geldof so much that they wouldn’t return his Freedom of the City (with or without tacky banners covering up popular tourism photo opportunities)

Mute Brian Birkett
    Favourite Brian Birkett
    Apr 9th 2018, 4:26 PM

Hi Folks May I just say im very well to seeing on every bridge on the m4 all the way up to Dublin signs that say ,Good luck yo,Offaly,Galway ,Kildare even Kerry or Cork.but never Good luck Dublin,so well done Lord Mayor,thats a sickener for them and why they want a little moan about it.we may have sold out the land in Ireland but molly is still boss here.Up The Dubs.always.maybe Oconnell bridge next time.lol

Mute eddie horgan
    Favourite eddie horgan
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:15 PM

“It’s something that the citizens look forward to and celebrate. I have never heard any objections. Most citizens welcome them and they mark a great achievement.”

“The Citizens” indeed. Are we living in Orwell’s 1984? Typical sinn fein speak

Mute Joe O'riordan
    Favourite Joe O'riordan
    Apr 9th 2018, 1:37 PM

Have to agree but the general disrespect in this country to our flag is even worse . Hanging out of pub windows all hours of day and night and in all weathers …

Mute Dotty Dunleary
    Favourite Dotty Dunleary
    Apr 9th 2018, 2:33 PM

@Joe O’riordan: We love our Flegs!

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Apr 9th 2018, 6:06 PM

The city belongs to the Irish people, not just the Dubs

Mute Aidan Boran
    Favourite Aidan Boran
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:36 PM

Just move it down the river to the Corporation offices and cover that eyesore up with the banner……

Mute Frank Duffy
    Favourite Frank Duffy
    Apr 9th 2018, 8:25 PM

As a cork man living in Galway and having passed this at the weekend and i thought it was great!

Mute Johnhunky Dory
    Favourite Johnhunky Dory
    Apr 9th 2018, 7:11 PM

Heard some US tourists giving out last week that they couldn’t get a photo of the haaaaalllfpennnny bridge because of it. They’re spot on it’s a landmark and the council should be ashamed of themselves covering it with tack.

Mute Ronan Perry
    Favourite Ronan Perry
    Apr 9th 2018, 1:22 PM

Best compromise – we can all support tacky signs on iconic buildings and iconic signs on tacky buildings.
    Maybe only tacky signs on tacky buildings? Iconic signs on iconic buildings?

Mute thomas mckevitt
    Favourite thomas mckevitt
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:05 PM

Ryan had his chance while in power .I wouldn’t take anything he said seriously .when in government he done nothing . little sheep.time to shut up . people don’t forget what you done

Mute Shirley Moran Breslin
    Favourite Shirley Moran Breslin
    Apr 10th 2018, 1:49 AM

@thomas mckevitt:
    I wonder has ER ever cycled down near the h’penny bridge? Can’t you just hear him sing…

“I want to ride my bicycle bicycle bicycle
    I want to ride my bicycle
    I want to ride my bike
    I want to ride my bicycle
    I want to ride it where I like”

Mute Chris Hammond
    Favourite Chris Hammond
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:28 PM

It looks ridiculous and cheap plastered across what is a very pleasant landmark. Put it on liberty hall or something, or that ugly rail bridge. Hopefully they do up a Leinster rugby one before the semi final too!

Mute Lottie Skinner
    Favourite Lottie Skinner
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:47 PM

How many election posters will will be strewn across the country displaying Ireland’s most useless !!!!!

Mute Austin Rock
    Favourite Austin Rock
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:17 PM

A crass shabby tacky defacing of a national monument

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:25 AM

I wish these pathetic snowflakes would just f**k off and never come back or just go and live in your own tragic world where you can all offend each other and leave normal people to it, absolutely tragic.

Mute Johnny Bellew
    Favourite Johnny Bellew
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:07 AM

@Jonny: You seem to be offended by the snowflakes? There is some irony in there.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:29 AM

@Johnny Bellew: they are freaks

Mute League of shadows
    Favourite League of shadows
    Apr 9th 2018, 3:47 PM

In the words of John Cleese ‘everybody has the right not to be offended’

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Apr 9th 2018, 10:15 PM

It is harmless. Pity though it was not in Irish too.

Mute Stipe Miocic
    Favourite Stipe Miocic
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:18 PM

My issue with the banner is the wording. “Dublin City supporting The Dubs” Who else would Dublin support? Stupid

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 9th 2018, 12:40 PM

@Stipe Miocic: “Dublin City” Council………..

Mute VeeryDrink
    Favourite VeeryDrink
    Apr 9th 2018, 1:57 PM

@Stipe Miocic: Dublin county?

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Apr 10th 2018, 10:19 AM

Una Mulalley wants it taken down so that’s as good a reason as any to keep it up.

Mute Robot
    Favourite Robot
    Apr 9th 2018, 7:53 PM

Hang it up on Matt molloys pub in Westport
    Grand spot for it

Mute Gavin Gray
    Favourite Gavin Gray
    Apr 9th 2018, 11:47 AM

F**k the Dubs

Mute Cllr Ciaran O Moore
    Favourite Cllr Ciaran O Moore
    Apr 10th 2018, 12:09 AM

All the rubbish over the Banner annoys me , you know Mannix is the main offender for illegal offenses in Temple Bar