You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Photocall Ireland!

Suspicious device found at Harold’s Cross declared a hoax

A section of Harold’s Cross Road was closed to traffic.

Updated 9.45pm

GARDAÍ AND THE Defence Forces bomb disposal team were called to a site in Harold’s Cross this afternoon following the discovery of a suspicious device.

Harold’s Cross Road was closed in both directions between Kimmage Rd Lower and the canal, creating traffic delays for motorists in the area during rush hour.

The package was found near the hospice in the area but was soon declared a hoax.

Read: No further action from Central Bank over Anglo following tapes controversy

Today: Girl dies after getting trapped in sofa bed

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

33 Comments
    Mute Dee wilson
    Favourite Dee wilson
    Sep 24th 2013, 4:52 PM

Have to say fair play to the people that de-activate the bombs, when do you ever hear of them going off, you only ever hear of them being found and destroyed!

Mute Steo Brady
    Favourite Steo Brady
    Sep 24th 2013, 4:54 PM

It’s not a person who de-activates the bombs…. It’s a robot, the photo may be a big hint

Mute Anthony Moran
    Favourite Anthony Moran
    Sep 24th 2013, 4:56 PM

R2D2 actually

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Steo Brady
    Favourite Steo Brady
    Sep 24th 2013, 4:57 PM

Yes as I said a robot

Mute Alan Kelleher
    Favourite Alan Kelleher
    Sep 24th 2013, 5:04 PM

@steo. It’s not always the robot. Depends on the device and terrain. Much of the time they have to get hands on.

Mute Sinéad McManus
    Favourite Sinéad McManus
    Sep 24th 2013, 5:36 PM

A magical robot who knows exactly what to do, nothing to do with any real people whatsoever! :)

Mute Shane Walsh Pics
    Favourite Shane Walsh Pics
    Sep 24th 2013, 5:42 PM

And who controls the robot? …

Mute Steo Brady
    Favourite Steo Brady
    Sep 24th 2013, 5:46 PM

A remote control maybe?

Mute bordsohereiam
    Favourite bordsohereiam
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:14 PM

They usually don’t go off because its usually someone’s shopping in a backpack left at the bus stop…
    Unfortunately if it’s the real thing it’s usually not found in time (exceptions of course).
    Now check out iraq or d like to see how many actually go off… now those lads are brave

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:27 PM

My cousin does actually

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:28 PM

my cousin Controls the robot I meant!

Mute Steo Brady
    Favourite Steo Brady
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:40 PM

Ciara…. You deserve a parade

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:43 PM

Why’s that Steo? I was simply stating a fact

Mute Alan Kelleher
    Favourite Alan Kelleher
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:43 PM

Steo….you deserve a slap :-)

Mute Ciara McCorley
    Favourite Ciara McCorley
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:44 PM

Well said alan!

Mute Michelle Mc Loughney
    Favourite Michelle Mc Loughney
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:55 PM

The master.

Mute Carmel Tormey
    Favourite Carmel Tormey
    Sep 24th 2013, 9:30 PM

Well this wasnt someone’s shopping in a backpack, it looked very real to me.

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps
    Sep 24th 2013, 9:59 PM

It was an empty coke can. Put that litter where it belongs folks.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Sep 24th 2013, 10:28 PM

I heard one went off a while back and a soldier was injured it while it was being defused. And what about that poor innocent young lad who lost his hand last year? Yeah, someone’s shopping bag alright

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Sep 24th 2013, 11:30 PM

Another know it all who actually know’s nothing.

Mute Janet Coyle
    Favourite Janet Coyle
    Sep 24th 2013, 5:39 PM

Was de activated by the Robot was just at the bin outside the Hospice and facing St Clare’s School where the Children usually cross with the Lollypop Lady Thank God nobody was hurt

Mute wongstie
    Favourite wongstie
    Sep 24th 2013, 4:39 PM

Dildo?

Mute Adam Power
    Favourite Adam Power
    Sep 24th 2013, 7:33 PM

mate was walking his dog in Harold’s Cross and stumbled upon a WMD a few weeks ago (http://redditpics.fpapps.com/?thingid=t3_1kcb9z&url=http://i.imgur.com/qPSJMIR.jpg)

I lold so hard

Mute Ronan McGrath
    Favourite Ronan McGrath
    Sep 24th 2013, 10:06 PM

Your mate needs a new pair of runners

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Sep 24th 2013, 4:48 PM

Unexploded Grandad. Beans and old people just do not mix. When will we learn people…

Mute Ally
    Favourite Ally
    Sep 24th 2013, 5:22 PM

Why couldn’t they do it when I was on the way to work. Ara for flip sake.

Mute Janet Coyle
    Favourite Janet Coyle
    Sep 24th 2013, 10:36 PM

No it wasn’t a bomb it was a Hoax

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:05 PM

So was it a bomb or what? Sick of this game of cat and mouse.

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Sep 24th 2013, 6:35 PM

I want answers. Was it a bomb????

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Sep 24th 2013, 7:21 PM

Ahhhh HELLO, IS THERE A FECKING BOMB INVOLVED??? Quite a pertinent question I would imagine.

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Sep 24th 2013, 9:50 PM

Ridiculous. You guys have a lot of growing up to do.

ridiculous.

Mute Montys Moonshine
    Favourite Montys Moonshine
    Sep 24th 2013, 10:32 PM

Hahahaha, you must be so frustrated right now.

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Sep 24th 2013, 11:06 PM

I’m grand again now.