You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Quite a few of us would like to see 'a character like Charles Haughey' as Taoiseach

Arise and follow, etc.

Aidan Gillen Niall Carson / PA Niall Carson / PA / PA

NINE YEARS AFTER his death, a new opinion poll has found that some fifteen per cent of voters would support “a character like” Charlie Haughey as Taoiseach.

The figure is contained in the latest Red C survey, carried out in conjunction with Paddy Power.

Although the number might appear surprisingly high — a closer look at the breakdown of the stats perhaps sheds a little more light on the finding.

1,002 adults were surveyed by the polling company this week, on both landlines and mobile phones. The question…

Recently RTE has been airing a TV programme about the former Taoiseach Charles Haughey. Based on what you know, would you like to see a character like Charles Haughey as Taoiseach if he were alive today?

23 per cent of 18- to 24-year-olds said ‘yes’ to that query — with the figure dropping only slightly among 25- to 34-year-olds.

In other words, although people might be developing a sneaking regard for Aidan Gillen’s portrayal of the ex-Fianna Fáil leader — the more likely you are to remember living through the Haughey era, the less likely you are to support a Haughey-like Taoiseach.

For instance, approval drops to just one-in-ten amongst those aged 65-plus (ingrates… Does the free travel pass count for nothing?).

Polling figures for Tommy Carcetti and John Boy Power weren’t available at the time of publication (you’re welcome, Gillen fans).

Charles Haughey and Stephen Roche The actual Charles Haughey, alongside Ireland's Tour de France winner Stephen Roche in 1987. Michel Lipchitz Michel Lipchitz

Read: Fianna Fáil TD thinks Charlie is ‘dreadfully unfair’

Read: Mary O’Rourke was ‘a bit troubled’ by Charlie’s depiction of Brian Lenihan

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

53 Comments
    Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:48 PM

That’s the mistake we always seem to make – confusing personal charisma with the ability to run a country equitably and fairly. Just because we currently have a leader with zero personal charisma or ability is no excuse to yearn for the return of a Haughey type

Mute Free Gaza
    Favourite Free Gaza
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:55 PM

We could do with a character similar to Lloyd George. Tonnes of personal charisma, as well as the ability to compromise, straddle left, right and centre, and run a country effectively. Not exactly him, of course, but something along the same lines (also without the elements of corruption like the Marconi Scandal)

Mute Juninho
    Favourite Juninho
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:32 PM

Such a thing sadly does not exist

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:53 PM

But we have Enda…..

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jan 14th 2015, 10:46 PM

And Enda thinks he has leadership skills and a personality similar to that of C.J. Haughey.
    As we saw last year, the buck stops with everyone before it gets to Enda, but I think in 2015 the buck will stop only after running him over several times.

Mute thomas scully
    Favourite thomas scully
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:02 PM

Pity honesty wasn’t part of his “Character” . Great legacy he left us as well – showing that dingbat Ahern how to be just as bad. What a pair of useless parasites.

Mute Stockchaser
    Favourite Stockchaser
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:15 PM

Holy god! you sometime wonder why things never change in this country. 15% of those survey would like some like Haughey back. A guy who over the course of his political career received the modern equivalent of €45 million in donations from a variety of sources. When you read things like this I despair for this country.

Mute Cathal Healy
    Favourite Cathal Healy
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:27 PM

To be fair, Fianna Fail are getting about 18% in all the polls so I’d say a lot of it comes from that. Probably a lot just want someone who would stand up for Ireland and the Irish people, preferably without all the theft and corruption but I suppose €45 million is a drop in the ocean if he was to bring in billions in investment.

As much as I dislike the man and hate the party, he was probably the single most influential figure in bringing about the massive economic growth in the years after his government.

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:50 PM

Not to mention the unemployment and emigration.

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:04 PM

85% say no and that’s what matters!

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:22 PM

I can’t understand why CAB never moved in on the families wealth

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:31 PM

Brian, every State Agency was stuffed with cronies. Better the blind eye than no job.

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:37 PM

Did Jock Haughy not end up running (a) CAB!?!

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:46 PM

Irish politics is musical chairs between FF and FG, you think CAB will risk biting the hand that feeds.

Mute Cillan32
    Favourite Cillan32
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:48 PM

So basically nearly all of FF supporters … They will never change .

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:47 PM

Obviously patients on the labotomy ward

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:55 PM

Haughey had a set of balls and people like that in a leader . The same can be said for Thatcher . There s nothing worst then having a leader who is a total wimp . They had guts and that’s why they lasted so long in politics .

Mute Free Gaza
    Favourite Free Gaza
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:58 PM

FDR also lasted very long in politics, 35 years in fact, but he was a much much better leader than Thatcher and Haughey

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:07 PM

@tommy or he surround himself with eunuchs

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:31 PM

Tommy, the only balls Haughey had were those eyeballs between his two ears which never missed an opportunity to screw and cheat everyone else. The cute hoor lined his own pockets from money he screwed out of property developers, cheated on his wife and pretended under oath in court that he never had a bank account. The guy was a serial liar and it was well proven.

Mute CreditTiger
    Favourite CreditTiger
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:35 PM

A neck like Jamie Osbornes bollix morelike……bird guts for supper!!

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:05 PM

Chris he was completely corrupt but he had a strong character and people like that in a leader . Don’t get me wrong I never like the guy . The fact that he was a evil b.stard was the reason he went so far in politic .

Mute Richard Mccarthy
    Favourite Richard Mccarthy
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:15 PM

The tribunal also confirmed he took up to £8 million in illegal corrupt payments,he was also responsible for a lot of the politicial corruption that this country is still paying for,the trouble with some very talented and clever people is as Haughey stated himself,he has done the country some service, they can also use their talents for personel gain to the detriment of everybody else.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:39 PM

Tommy, I think that we are both in agreement on most points, however in Haughey’s case you are mistaking stregnth of character for what he really was as an arrogant bully. His strength was in getting re-elected time after time, but he was proven to be corrupt. I don’t blame him for trying to secure beef deals with Saddam Hussein even though it nearly broke the country when those deals wern’t honoured because of the Iran/Iraq war. I was working in the food industry at the time and saw a lot of the dodgy trading that went on including the building of a cheese factory in Cavan that never went into production and the breakup of a viable cooperative. You would not believe how badly the country was being run at that time. Des O’Malley tried to put a halt to Haugheys mismanagement through the introduction of the beef tribunal but there were to many crooks in high places even for him to take on.

Mute Rory O'Duiginn
    Favourite Rory O'Duiginn
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:52 PM

The IMF and irish banks would not have gotten away with so much as they have now

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:52 PM

I think I would rather see Johnboy run the country.

Mute Gary Gary
    Favourite Gary Gary
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:14 PM

Charlie was a hero
    We need a leader like him today more than ever.
    He might have lined his own pockets but he stood up fir the irish nation

Mute Stockchaser
    Favourite Stockchaser
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:25 PM

@gary gary so,all,the corrupt planning decisions of that period were standing up for the Irish people?

Mute judy burke
    Favourite judy burke
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:54 PM

Lining his own pocket with a ‘ sizable portion ‘ of the money that was meant to go to the medical fund of his friend Brian Lenihan for treatment in the US ?
    Give me a break ..

Mute Liam Ó Séaghdha
    Favourite Liam Ó Séaghdha
    Jan 14th 2015, 2:57 PM

As and and all he was he was the only Taoiseach since Dev that actually fought for the 6 counties. Other Taoiseachs did nothing and capitulated to the British. He was a rotten politician but I’ll never forget his efforts to help out brothers up North.

Mute why?
    Favourite why?
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:10 PM

just shows the power of a well timed TV series.

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:23 PM

id prefer him to Bertie or cowen.any day

Mute amos brearly
    Favourite amos brearly
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:49 PM

Moronic voters like that puts the country in the toilet, then they wonder why. Pathetic.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:12 PM

Irish people like the “cute hoor”

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:42 PM

Or in other words: 15% of Irish people are completely doolally

Mute Rory Patrick
    Favourite Rory Patrick
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:31 PM

I don’t think people are yearning for a leader as corrupt as Haughey but perhaps one who has his backbone and balls. It is a damning indictment of the current shower of spineless toads grovelling at the feet of Angela Merkel and our “friends” in Europe. Haughey would never have been as servile nor would he have let Europe humiliate us like they have.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:30 PM

I was at a talk a while ago and leadership styles were being discussed. Garret Fitzgerald knew his limitations and surrounded himself with people who had proven abilities to provide expertise that he was lacking. Charlie Haughey also knew his limitations – but surrounded himself with idiots who wouldn’t outshine him.

Mute Conor Neville
    Favourite Conor Neville
    Jan 15th 2015, 2:23 PM

That’s great and all but I thought the historical consensus was that Garret’s 1982-87 government was one of the worst in the history of the state. What was it Leo Varadkar said about him?

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:43 PM

Apart from the arms running, philandering, corruption, tax dodging and the blatant hypocrisy of living the high life at the public expense when forcing austerity on ordinary people, what did Haughey ever do to hurt the Irish.

Charles Haughey and Liam Cosgrave make a full circle. Haughey send explosives up to the north, Cosgrave helped bring explosives down.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:50 PM

Haughey destroyed Irish army captain James Kelly’s carreer, hung him out to dry over the arms for the north business. Kelly spent the rest of his life trying to clear his name over who gave him the order to supply arms, Haughey’s lies had stitched him up.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 14th 2015, 7:38 PM

Both Kelly and Haughey should have spent most of their lives in Portlaoise Prison, I’ve no sympathy for Kelly, he wasn’t the fall man he was a co-conspirator.

Mute edward gallagher
    Favourite edward gallagher
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:30 PM

man was a corrupt git in a team of corrupt gits. this country baffles me at times!

Mute Mark Andrew Salmon
    Favourite Mark Andrew Salmon
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:54 PM

The only time Charlie did any good for the country was when its interests coincided with his own or the needs of his rampant ego and delusions of grandeur. Remember he was only “Charlie” at election time otherwise C.J. Haughey to you!

Mute John Cooke
    Favourite John Cooke
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:56 PM

I know plenty of characters like Haughy who had a great charisma and also used to like to get people to sign blank checks for them…unfortunatly they are all in jail so it might be hard to bring back somebody like the c.nt himself

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:45 PM

Guess what party them 15% support. Mmmmmm tough one

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jan 14th 2015, 4:33 PM

Imagine that’s how bad Fine Gael and kenny in particular are performing, people would prefare Charlie…boggles the mind

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:17 PM

Should the headline to this article not be 85% of people DONT want another Taoiseach like Charlie.

Mute Robert Donohoe
    Favourite Robert Donohoe
    Jan 14th 2015, 3:37 PM

He had some good points but in the whole it’s a no.

Mute Jon Bon Jovi
    Favourite Jon Bon Jovi
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:21 PM

Most countries in the world can point to a leader who helped shape their country with foresight and vision – some are lucky enough to expect these characteristics- we have comely maidens followed by gangsters and then the IMF

Mute Aoife Clar Ni Chairnain
    Favourite Aoife Clar Ni Chairnain
    Jan 14th 2015, 11:50 PM

Get ready to tighten yer belt so…

Mute Paddy O'Reilly
    Favourite Paddy O'Reilly
    Jan 14th 2015, 5:35 PM

I’d vote for Charlie for toaiseach but not for Taoiseach

Mute Michael Kelly
    Favourite Michael Kelly
    Jan 14th 2015, 8:28 PM

He suis Charlie

Mute Bill ORourke
    Favourite Bill ORourke
    Jan 14th 2015, 9:28 PM

je suit charlie