You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A protest outside Leinster House this week. Sasko Lazarov/RollingNews.ie

Health Minister extends €100 pandemic grant for student nurses as McHugh report published

Sinn Féin spokesperson David Cullinane said that the measures announced don’t go far enough.

THE MINISTER FOR Health has announced that Government has approved proposals to provide €12 million in additional supports for student nurses and midwives on placements, following a protest held outside Leinster House this week.

As part of this, the Pandemic Placement Grant of €100 per week will be extended to all eligible nursing and midwifery students on placement for this academic year, and backdated to September.

Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said: “Government is also providing additional support to students needing overnight accommodation away from their normal place of residence in order to attend some of their clinical placements. We are doubling the cap on the vouched accommodation allowance to €100 per week of placement.”

Student nurses and midwives undertake 45 weeks of placement in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd year of study, and the first semester of 4th year.

These students are not included in the staffing complement, and instead are there to learn under supervision of a registered nurse or midwife and are not accountable for patient care.

Student nurses who spoke to The Journal raised concerns about not being able to learn properly because they are carrying duties that don’t fall under the terms of their placements, and for which they don’t get paid.

One example of how student nurses are put under pressure during their placements, is that they should be looking after three patients at a time, but often are looking after six.

The Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) had said that they were waiting for the independent report relating to student nurses and midwives’ pay, carried out by Seán McHugh, which had been submitted to Government in August.

Up until this week, the organisation had not seen the report – though details were leaked to the Irish Times this week.

The report has been published this evening, along with a Government statement announcing new measures for student nurses and midwives.

The report found that the rate of pay for student nurses and midwives on 36-week paid internship placement be changed, with an increase to 80% of the first point of the staff nurse or midwife pay scale.

The temporary interim measure concerns an additional payment of €50 per week (equivalent to 50% of the Pandemic Placement Grant) to all student nurses on their 36-week paid internship placement, worth an extra €1,800.

This proposed interim measure will be put in place while work is underway to develop those detailed proposals to give effect to the recommendation relating to intern pay.

Response from the Opposition

Sinn Féin health spokesperson David Cullinane  said that the actions brought forward by Minister Donnelly on student nurse and midwife pay “do not go far enough”, and is not a long-term solution.

Cullinane called for a permanent bursary scheme for student nurses and midwives of €3,000, which would be nearly double the existing pandemic €100 a week payment for weeks on placement, which is currently only available to the end of this academic year.

He welcomed the moves to restore intern pay and a limited increase in the vouched accommodation allowance but said that the overall package falls far short of a fair allowance.

Cullinane said: “These proposals do not form the basis of a fair allowance by any means.

“The restoration of intern pay to pre-cut levels is welcome as is the minor increase in the vouched accommodation allowance however this should be backdated to October 2020 to reflect pay restoration more generally in the public service.

“However, the overall package does not do justice to the work that student nurses and midwives do, and it will not act as a morale booster to retain nurses and midwives who are graduating into full-time employment.

“They do not feel valued, and this announcement will be disappointing to many.

“The Minister should have pursued the INMO’s very reasonable proposal of a €3,000 bursary for student nurses and midwives with fair allowances to meet additional costs related to placements.

Irish nurses and midwives will continue to leave shortly after graduation unless we treat them fairly while they are working as students.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:30 PM

Remember after this is over who those pubs who stayed open were. Please don’t go back they are nothing more than collaborators with the enemy who made it worse for all of us.

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:43 PM

@John Horan: Some pub owners are also politicians and if their pubs were open during this Pandemic they should suffer more than losing their license and seat in the Dáil

Mute Daithi De Roiste
    Favourite Daithi De Roiste
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:55 PM

@Ossi Fritsche: ah they hardly have their pubs open

Mute talksense
    Favourite talksense
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:58 PM

@John Horan: name and shame them

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Mar 22nd 2020, 5:25 AM

@John Horan: I know of one in my home town that has been opening to “regulars” behind closed doors. They will struggle to stay open after this is all over due to the outrage among locals. Plenty of people have vowed to never set foot in it again. Any pub breaching the government request should lose their licence.

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 6:22 AM

@John Horan: Just order a shut down like other nations. Asking nicely is a cop out, shut down and pay wages.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:23 AM

@John Horan: Any workplace not making essentials in this situation should close. It’s not just pubs. Multinationals employing 1000+ working 7 days a week to stock up before closures become inevitable. And employees work beside each other. Maybe 4 ft apart.

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:58 AM

@Ger: You’re anonymous. Name the pub!

Mute Johnsinker
    Favourite Johnsinker
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:48 AM

@John Horan: a lost should be compiled and distributed

Mute Kate Myra Loughnane
    Favourite Kate Myra Loughnane
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:08 PM

@Ger: report them

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:40 PM

Corona viruses cannot survive in real world for more than a few days
    they can only survive with our bodies
    without our bodies – it will die-
    stay away from each other – do not spread the virus – instead of us dying – let it die – it has nowhere to go without a human to infect

Mute Dizzy
    Favourite Dizzy
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:47 PM

@GO GREEN: But some outlets saying it can survive on a hard surface for 7 days and maybe even longer. I’m very worried right now about vulnerable people. I hope people will keep up the great work they are doing. We will get out the other side of this. May the force be with you all.

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:44 PM

@Dizzy: IPA liquid will kill any virus it touches… same stuff is used in hand sanitiser in diluted form… problem is the price has rocketed because ethanol has become so scarce since the manufacturers who had stocks are all out of it…

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:26 AM

@Dizzy: Thanks, yes I did post a good link a few days ago, about how long this virus survives on different surfaces but it was deleted by Journal ie. I thinks it said plastic 3 days and cardboard 1 day. Anyway I hope you and us all get through this and it will be a lot easier if people just stay away from each other.

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Mar 22nd 2020, 6:04 AM

@Dizzy: it’s detectable in or on aerosols for up to 3 hours, copper for up to 4 hours, cardboard for up to 24 hours, and plastic and stainless steel for up to 2 to 3 days. Glove up! Source: https://www.infectioncontroltoday.com/covid-19/asymptomatic-carriers-covid-19-make-it-tough-target

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:38 PM

@EdmundOrlando: fun fact, most shampoos and shower gels work as soap, surprised to see shelves empty of soap and plenty of shower gel right nest to the gap

Mute Gerry Gleeson
    Favourite Gerry Gleeson
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:32 PM

Why could be closed using special powers. Shut them take licence away for ever. Fine the owner take all the stock and taps

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:56 PM

@Gerry Gleeson: problem solved instantly precident set…too much logic….it’ll never happen..

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:01 AM

@Gerry Gleeson: See RTE: Gardaí do not currently have a legislative basis to enforce pub closures but, under the Intoxicating Liquor Act, one of the conditions for holding a pub licence is that the holder is a responsible person.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:24 AM

@Gerry Gleeson: many workplaces still operating, not just pubs. Multinationals flat out, employing thousands.

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:42 PM

Sure what about all the public places that have been packed the last few days?? Glendalough was full of people today queuing for coffee and ice cream. I live in Wexford and the amount of D reg cars down here since the schools closed with people going to caravan parks and holiday homes. It’s ridiculous. These people are putting the lives of people who may have remained safe in small rural communities at risk. All because they want to get out for a break. I have my mother who is 73 yrs old with ovarian cancer receiving chemotherapy to look after and up until the last week our village was relatively quiet enough to venture to the local shop and washing hands, sanitising hands when I came back. Now I’m afraid to go near the village. Selfish people who don’t care about anyone but themselves.

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:44 PM

@Irisheyes: they are entitled to go to their holiday homes or anywhere else as long as they follow HSE guidelines regarding social distancing etc.

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:54 PM

@Caddyshack: they need to stay at home, didn’t you read that this was one of the main reasons for the catastrophe that Italy are experiencing. The schools closed and they all headed off to the beaches and resorts on holidays which brought the virus even more widespread. Currently Wexford have less than 5 confirmed cases, Dublin have over 300. They are coming down here and other places potentially infecting people who otherwise might have been alright. I don’t care if they have a right to go where they want. They should use some common bloody sense and try to keep it contained as much as possible. It’s not forever.

See 26 more replies ▾
    Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:01 PM

@Caddyshack: this is part of an rte article about how things got so bad in Italy and it’s going to happen here if people don’t stay in their own home

Did movement not stop when schools were shut?

Professor Della Giusta, who is originally from the Piedmont region in the northwest of the country, said many people did not take self-isolation measures very seriously when schools were first closed in northern regions a few weeks ago.

“When schools got shut in Lombardy a lot of people just took their kids and went off on holiday to their holiday homes in the mountains and at the seaside in the other regions.

“They thought they were making their kids safe by taking them away, but this kind of behaviour is really very damaging

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:12 PM

@Irisheyes: I agree with your points particularly about families treating it as a holiday and not as a serious public health crisis – we have all experienced this recently. My point is simply that people are entitled to go to Wexford or wherever else and adhere to social distancing. They need to restrict their movements wherever they are staying

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:17 PM

@Caddyshack: they may be entitled to go but they shouldn’t, people could argue they have a right to go to the pub but they shouldn’t. We need people to stay put to prevent this becoming like Italy. They had a right to go away also and look where it got them

Mute Nelius Byrne
    Favourite Nelius Byrne
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:28 PM

@Irisheyes: couldn’t agree more. This isn’t holiday time. What part of “stay at home” don’t they understand. Morons.

Mute The Exhibition Guy - Stephan Murtagh
    Favourite The Exhibition Guy - Stephan Murtagh
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:33 PM

@Irisheyes: Yea of course they are D Reg cars because only us dubs break the law.

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:33 PM

@Irisheyes: they don’t have a right to go to the pubs as the government has ordered them shut. Simply follow HSE & Government advice. If the rules change and people are not allowed leave one county and go to another then people should conform to that.

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:42 PM

@The Exhibition Guy – Stephan Murtagh: yes they are D Reg cars because they are the ones that have most of the mobile homes down here.

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:44 PM

@Caddyshack: some people would say they have a right to a pint, it’s a free world, I do this every week. Just because you can doesn’t mean you should. People need to stay at home. Use a bit of common sense, have a bit of compassion for vulnerable people they may compromise. They shouldn’t need the HSE or government to tell them what to do. Take responsibility for their own actions and decisions.

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:58 PM

@Caddyshack: idiot

Mute veronica kenny
    Favourite veronica kenny
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:01 PM

@Irisheyes: They,we do not need to stay at home . We do however need to limit our trips.
    Yes they have the right to go for a drink but shouldn’t as the Government has advised not to. However the Government as of yet has not advised people they cannot go for a walk. On the contrary they has recognised the need for this. Once social distancing is adhered to. Walking in a wood or beach once not over crowded is more than acceptable according to most health officials. You may pass a person and be within 2 meters for a couple of secs. All advise suggests 15mins needed . Having said that I understand someone could cough etc when in vicinity on another,however the chances are remote of catching anything if just passing by someone

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:04 PM

@Caddyshack: that’s the thing – government hasn’t ordered them shut. It has advised for them to shut in conjunction with the LVA and the VFI. 99% have adhered to this and have shut. Some have remained open, as is currently their right, and people still have the right to go to these pubs. It’s still wrong, though. And, it’s because of those pub goers that all pubs, cafes, restaurants etc will be forced to close by government. Likewise, it will be because of these people travelling to the likes of Wexford that we will have a total lockdown. Simply because people can’t listen to the authorities. Stupid, stupid people.

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:13 PM

@veronica kenny: have you seen the photos of the wicklow mountains, Glendalough and the beaches?? There are more people out now than there does be during a normal weekend. It’s ridiculous. There isn’t room to swing a cat between people never mind keep 2 meters apart.

Mute James Hayes
    Favourite James Hayes
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:13 PM

@Irisheyes: couldnt agree more. I’m from limerick living in Dublin, I’d love to see my family but we have to be sensible about this. Running about from county to county is moronic at best. We are in the middle of a crisis here. The less we do as in going out the better for everyone. I got kids, I’d love to be in Limerick or even Wexford! I’m climbing the walls here and its only week one of the shut down, but I’d rather be climbing the walls at home,then be in ICU gasping for air. Really cop on people, you might think you’ll be fine, but this time IT’S JUST NOT ABOUT YOU. There are real lives at risk here.

Mute Pauline Mulvey
    Favourite Pauline Mulvey
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:16 PM

@Irisheyes: I agree with you 100%. Well said

Mute veronica kenny
    Favourite veronica kenny
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:24 PM

@Irisheyes: Which is why I was saying once not busy. I don’t agree with the people going to packed areas.They actually should increase the price of the car park in Glendalough to discourage people going. However, plenty of places that are not as busy. Many beaches along the Wicklow ,Wexford coastline that go for miles and have wide sandy beaches that means social distancing can be adhered to easily. Just don’t go to the best known places. We have hundreds of walking trails in Ireland if people look and don’t just use the best known ones

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:40 PM

@Irisheyes: as I said I agree with most of what you say. We have a difference of opinion on dubs going to Wexford to their second home, they can still practice the same correct social distancing there provided they have no symptoms – as I said different opinion. Lockdown will inevitably come as part of this process

Mute Maria Mcphillips
    Favourite Maria Mcphillips
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:55 PM

@Irisheyes: there is no danger if following HSE guidelines…

Mute Maria Mcphillips
    Favourite Maria Mcphillips
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:00 AM

@Irisheyes: playgrounds on mobile sites are closed. I haven’t seen any children on sites and very few adults in part of Wexford I am in.

Mute Delboy79
    Favourite Delboy79
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:14 AM

@Irisheyes: how do you know glendalough was packed ? Are you one of those people who goes out and then moans about other people being out ?

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:28 AM

@Delboy79: I seen the photo online, taken by someone who lives there. No I am not going out. I live on a boreen that happens to lead to the beach. We have about 10 houses on our road and we have all agreed designated times to walk our dogs or get a bit of fresh air without meeting one another. My time is between 1pm and 2pm.

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:29 AM

@Maria Mcphillips: that’s ok in an area that can handle an influx of hundreds of people safely not small rural villages with caravan parks

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:30 AM

@veronica kenny: there are plenty of beaches but they still can’t handle the social distancing if you have crowds converging on them.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Mar 22nd 2020, 10:22 AM

@Caddyshack: but that’s the thing. Those Dubs going to Wexford require milk, tea, coffee, bread, etc. This time of year is usually quiet so the shops are geared to that level of volume. This means, in order to cater for those Dubs visiting their second homes, that shops need more deliveries. That means more trucks, more drivers, more surfaces with possible contaminants on them, more footfall into the shops, etc. This all greatly increases the risk to the locals. Sorry, but it’s not just a “shake of the head” situation. Those Dubs are putting local lives at risk and risking the shitting down of the entire country.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Mar 22nd 2020, 10:49 AM

@Caddyshack: No theyre not. They are overcrowding a coastal town so social distancing out the window for the people who live there all year round. They are congregating on beaches and walkways. They are probably not adhering to any guidelines, because guidelines are to stay at HOME, not go on holidays. I dont care if they own the caravan or holiday home, they shouldnt go near it until this is all over

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti
    Mar 22nd 2020, 11:44 AM

@Irisheyes: so hoe do you know when the photo was taken.
    Please stop, people like you are part of the problem with your sensationalising and scaremonging
    Close your curtains and log off till this is over, thats the best way you can help.

Mute Irisheyes
    Favourite Irisheyes
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:16 PM

@Bain triail aisti: have a look at the news idiot, Glendalough is closed now with Garda barriers across it so are the slieve bloom mountains. The hell fire club is inundated with cars at the moment as is sally gap. Why don’t you go and bury your head in the sand. It’s not scaremongering these are real issues. Your obviously ignorant to the potential damage that all of this can do to people with underlying health conditions.

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack

Take away the pub licence. Surely that’s a suitable & legally enforceable penalty with the new legislation- time to get tough & firm with people not conforming during this crisis

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:30 AM

@Caddyshack: multinationals allowed operate as usual? Employing thousands, plus now working weekends to stockpile in case of closure. Why target pubs and not everywhere?

Mute Shane Barry
    Favourite Shane Barry
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:51 AM

@Kath Noonan: They were even open on Patrick’s day.

Mute Paul Cahoon
    Favourite Paul Cahoon
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:37 PM

And at the same time still allow flights to land and ferries to Dock with no checks…. No where near good enough

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:50 PM

@Paul Cahoon: that will change in next week when 80% of Ryanair flights are been grounded but there are irish people abroad who need to get home some left before it all kicked off and never expected it to kick of so quick my niece went on holidays to viatnam 2+1/2 weeks ago and was supposed to be anther week but hopefully she be home tmw after embassy helped get them flights because the other countries want them out including Spain yet Ireland not asking anyone here to leave

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Favourite Jeremiah A Craic
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:04 PM

@nelliekel: just flew into Dublin an hour ago from dubai. Not even random checking for high
    temperatures. We had this done when connecting through Nairobi in February. If they can do it, why can’t we. Shocking.

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:07 PM

@Jeremiah A Craic: We were the same on Thursday but I’d say it’s because it’s here now and they’re advising on how to prevent the spread so if you have it you have it but you’re told to self quarantine for 2 weeks. That’s my guess anyway

Mute Richie Corrigan
    Favourite Richie Corrigan

@Jeremiah A Craic: Flew home early from Boston through New York, last Wednesday, same thing, HSE had a stand handing out bloody leaflets but not a check to be seen… took it upon myself to self-isolate, called my employer to let them know and find out about any new protocols since I had left, was astounded to be told that if I wasn’t showing any signs of having the virus that I must return to work Monday morning.
    Most Multinational companies couldn’t care less about the welfare of their employees. Their shareholders tucked up safely in their homes while they force the working class to keep working through a global pandemic… for nothing other than PROFIT. Putting the lives of 800 employees, their families and everyone associated at risk

Mute Richie Corrigan

@Jeremiah A Craic: Flew home early from Boston through New York, last Wednesday, same thing, HSE had a stand handing out bloody leaflets but not a check to be seen… took it upon myself to self-isolate, called my employer to let them know and find out about any new protocols since I had left, was astounded to be told that if I wasn’t showing any signs of having the virus that I must return to work Monday morning.
    Most Multinational companies couldn’t care less about the welfare of their employees. Their shareholders tucked up safely in their homes while they force the working class to keep working through a global pandemic… for nothing other than PROFIT. Putting the lives of 800 employees, their families and everyone associated at risk.

Mute Delboy79
    Favourite Delboy79
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:19 AM

@Richie Corrigan: ah but a lot of people take the piss re work . I’m sure if you are a trusted employee with a good sick record and highly thought of and you felt genuinely at risk or presented a risk to others your company would understand

Mute Richie Corrigan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:57 AM

@Delboy79: I have an exemplary record at work as I would say have 99% of the staff that I work with. Regardless of that you seem to be condoning that a multinational in this country has the right to risk employees health and lives and that of their families on the grounds that some people take the piss regarding work,,,it’s logic like that from people like you that scares me more than anything,,,go read a few books man instead of talking out of your hat here

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:44 PM

I want to know is the Healy-reas pubs closed or is it just going on behind closed doors, after all they don’t think drink driving laws apply to them

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:47 PM

@nelliekel: they are definitely closed. They wouldn’t do that as they are members of the Dail. Behind closed doors might be a different…..

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:48 PM

@nelliekel: ring it and ask to speak to “Nellie Kel”. If they go looking, you know they’re open…

Mute Georges Dessaint
    Favourite Georges Dessaint
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:47 PM

Can anyone explain why coffee shops are still opened. ? My local one was very busy and another cafe nero beside was opened too and a lot of people could socialise inside. Rules should be same for all.

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:52 AM

@Georges Dessaint: what rules ?

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Mar 22nd 2020, 10:54 AM

@Georges Dessaint: two coffee shops at the square in Dundalk are still open. I assume this new legislation is going to force their closures soon. Hopefully. The amount of morons sitting at the window with their friends not a care in the world. That was Friday.

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:51 PM

Name and shame

Mute Kay Murphy
    Favourite Kay Murphy
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:18 PM

Hey we could do with a hand here in CUH to reposition COVID19 sufferers in their beds. Send in the clowns who are keeping their pubs open and their patrons. We will tog them out and keep them busy. After that you can jail them, fine them and take away their liquor licence

Mute Joey Roche
    Favourite Joey Roche
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:37 PM

The longer this goes on the less I fear the virus, and the more I fear stupid people.

Mute Niallman
    Favourite Niallman
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:43 PM

@Joey Roche: So true, how this all pans out depends on the behaviour of the boards of stupid out there.

Mute Niallman
    Favourite Niallman
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:09 PM

@Niallman: *hoards

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:26 AM

@Joey Roche: u should fear ur govt. they’re allowing borders open and all multinationals are operating as normal, employing thousands.

Mute David O'Rahilly
    Favourite David O'Rahilly
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:34 PM

Who would someone report them to?

Mute Liam McDonald
    Favourite Liam McDonald
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:36 PM

@David O’Rahilly: The Guards?

Mute David O'Rahilly
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:40 PM

@Liam McDonald: local gaurds knowing its going on…def wudnt do anything about it.

Mute nelliekel
    Favourite nelliekel

@David O’Rahilly: probably some of them drinking there after hours

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:45 PM

@Liam McDonald: The guards went to a pub in Newbridge last night and couldn’t do anything about it as it’s not illegal to open. Shame on the pub owners and the selfish greedy punters who went there.

Mute David O'Rahilly
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:49 PM

@nelliekel: there should be a name and shame but could end up like advertising for the open pubs

Mute SFAnkleTapper
    Favourite SFAnkleTapper
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:50 PM

@nelliekel: you got proof or just making up stories?

Mute David O'Rahilly
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:11 AM

@SFAnkleTapper: are u trying to say that never happens???

Mute Fergus Doyle
    Favourite Fergus Doyle
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:57 PM

I drove by Witherspoons in Carlow and it was open today

Mute Paul Crudge
    Favourite Paul Crudge
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:14 PM

Just revoke their license and fine them per person in their premise. Fines go directly to the HSE.

Mute skip 84
    Favourite skip 84
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:38 PM

Shut the country down!

Mute Mac Eoin
    Favourite Mac Eoin
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:57 PM

These Publicans and clients are the new enemy of the State.
    If they want a drink that badly well then go to the off licence

Mute GO GREEN
    Favourite GO GREEN
    Mar 21st 2020, 9:55 PM

Anyone who is curious why this virus is happening and why future viruses are on the way and how we must act now to stop them,should read this article – its long but well worth a read https://www.thenation.com/article/environment/coronavirus-habitat-loss/

Mute Rhona Wallace
    Favourite Rhona Wallace
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:55 PM

Name and shame its really unfortunately the only way so it can save lives

Mute MrJohne
    Favourite MrJohne
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:06 PM

we can be a model for europe-BUT we must unite together! lets show Europe how a country can unit and deliver!!! The sooner we unite the sooner we get through this and get back to our lives

*if other countries are careless-another wave could be a possibility; but a united front will win again.

Mute talksense
    Favourite talksense
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:37 PM

@MrJohne: we’re f_cked as there are too many stup_d people in this country, parents can’t even control themselves not to mention their kids

Mute Maureen O'Mahony
    Favourite Maureen O'Mahony
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:17 PM

Is it the case that, like restaurants, if they’re ordered to close by the government then they can collect on insurance??

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:31 AM

@Maureen O’Mahony: hahahahaha insurance pay out? I doubt it. They’ll cal it an act of god.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:42 PM

Hope the Dail bar remains closed.

Mute Tom Hickey
    Favourite Tom Hickey
    Mar 21st 2020, 11:31 PM

Just remove their licence, less talk and more action otherwise why don’t they all just open again. Also would be good to name and shame, we’re either all in or not…

Mute thomas mckevitt
    Favourite thomas mckevitt
    Mar 21st 2020, 10:35 PM

Shut them down now!!!

Mute Sean O Callaghan
    Favourite Sean O Callaghan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:35 AM

There was no directive to close the pubs, it was suggested they should close after the eejits in Temple Bar made a holy show of themselves. It is not currently illegal for a pub to be open

Mute Laura Ni Hearga
    Favourite Laura Ni Hearga
    Mar 22nd 2020, 6:25 AM

Proper order, they’re an absolute disgrace. My husband is a healthcare worker and they’re all exhausted and scared. For people to continue in this selfish manner is so upsetting and disrespectful. Not just to healthcare workers but to all the other heroes working in shops, delivering goods etc. Come on people we can do this!

Mute thenewguy
    Favourite thenewguy
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:38 AM

I got tackled on here for calling for the off licenses to be closed.

Last night in my town, a large group of young men and women took it upon themselves to go camping in the local park, numbers in excess of 10. Doing damage to the park, sleeping on top of each other no doubt. Early hours of the morning our much needed Garda had to go out and deal with this. Not good enough.

If they want to go to ‘black market’ and get “risky” alcohol, let them play with fire. Refuse them free medical care. If we get as bad as Italy, we will not have the privilege of being worried about how safe the drink these people are getting from the back street. Time to priorities now.

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:17 AM

Just withdraw their licence simple.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:20 AM

Pubs? What about multinationals that employ 1000+ and are doing overtime to stock up before employees get ill????

Mute stephen keane
    Favourite stephen keane
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:15 AM

Just name and shame them in the name of God

Mute Jason Byrne
    Favourite Jason Byrne
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:29 AM

Any pub caught open should be closed instantly. All the stick confiscated. Licence revoked. Licence holder fined €250,000 and given jail time. Any patrons caught on the premises should also be given massive fines and jail time. Set a precedence. This pandemic isn’t a joke. Also, those teenagers hanging around and clearly not giving a damn about it and hanging around causing trouble should also be heavily fined and locked up.

Mute Paula Mackie Senior
    Favourite Paula Mackie Senior
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:46 AM

And the people flouting the advice are the very ones who’ll scream *police state* and rant about the unpreparedness of the nation. Bring back the stocks. They’re the ones endangering the others who are self isolating.

Mute June Kennedy
    Favourite June Kennedy
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:58 AM

Can we please have a government to govern. You have emergency powers….use them. Close all non essential business. Enforce self isolation and allow the spread of this virus to slow down until we have antidote.

What we have now is half a**ed and is prolonging the misery for those in self isolation. Schools and colleges are ordered8 closed, not on holiday, so any students found socialising should be charged. Cafes, restaurants and pubs should be ordered to close with immediate effect. Elderly to self isolate.

No more -”pretty please” from Simon and Leo……… GOVERN

Mute Ali Ryan
    Favourite Ali Ryan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:44 AM

‘We could be closing them’. This warning is ineffective as everyone knows that the Irish state doesn’t do enforcement…except when it comes to misdemeanours, typically by those less well-off. I hope I’m wrong.

Mute Diarmuid Walshe
    Favourite Diarmuid Walshe
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:08 AM

Emergency swallows.

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:45 PM

It depends on the definition of “open”…our local is open but only as a food takeaway service in the evenings. We’re trying to support them even though we rarely eat out….it’s one thing we can actually do to help our “neighbours” in these really difficult times.

Mute Hughie Lynch
    Favourite Hughie Lynch
    Mar 22nd 2020, 9:55 AM

Take their licenses away from them

Mute eddie horgan
    Favourite eddie horgan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 11:57 AM

If the authorities don’t take action quickly someone will…

Mute eddie horgan
    Favourite eddie horgan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 11:48 AM

Why delay then?, do it

Mute Tim Oleary
    Favourite Tim Oleary
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:12 PM

Pubs have their own laws. Close when they like when cash is flowing.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 11:21 AM

Name and shame the pubs? I hope legislation has been brought in to give them these powers – we don’t want the taxpayer sued by businesses, tribunal and more money wasted.