You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fine Gael TD Helen McEntee. Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Helen McEntee describes first day in Dáil as “emotional”

The 26-year-old said it was “an honour” to take up the seat left vacant by her father, Shane.

ON HER FIRST day in the Dáil, Fine Gael’s newly elected TD, Helen McEntee said it was an “emotional day for all the McEntee family”.

Taking up her late father Shane McEntee’s seat she said: “It is a huge honour today to take up the seat left vacant by my Dad’s untimely death.”

The 26-year-old also said she owed a huge debt of gratitude to her family and Fine Gael supporters who knocked “on doors in Meath East for three tough weeks, through the hail, sleet and snow”.

Deputy McEntee said she will continue to so the “good work” of her father but that she also wants to chart her own course, and develop her own causes, in particular, she said she wants to work on behalf of the young people in Meath East.

McEntee was elected in the Meath East by-election at the end of March.

Read: FG’s Helen McEntee retains father’s seat in Meath East by-election>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

103 Comments
    Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:42 PM

OK well done and all that, but I was concerned when I saw her and the other major party candidates on Vincent Browne’s show before the election. I’ll get the facts out of the way first. The electorate of Meath East is 64,164 with only 38.3% turnout. Helen McEntee scored 9,356 first preference votes or 38.5% Low voter turn out is no big deal.

Now to Vincent. He asked Ms McEntee why should voters preference her above Mr Byrne (FF), Mr O’Rourke (SF) or Mr Holmes (Lab). Her response basically was because she was qualified due to completing a degree in Economics, Politics and Law in DCU (and a masters in Media and Communication) and her family connections. Vincent asked her if she had actually been in the workforce to which she replied she worked for Citibank for a year but it wasn’t really for her, so she started working for her father in Leinster House.

OK fair enough so far if you’re happy with the nepotism connotations. What really stuck in my craw though was she allegedly said words to the effect of being a TD was a ‘good career choice’ And who could argue it isn’t? Nice salary of €92,672 benefits, pensions etc.

Now, correct me if I’m wrong (or red thumb away) but isn’t the point of being a TD that you want to represent your electorate? Stand up for issues and policies? Or contribute your experience and knowledge to the betterment of the country? Far fetched maybe, but when someone becomes a career politician virtually straight out of college because it’s a ‘good career choice’ then I despair. More so when we vote them in.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Apr 16th 2013, 6:25 PM

Very well put Glen

Mute Tim O'Sullivan
    Favourite Tim O'Sullivan
    Apr 16th 2013, 7:53 PM

Totally agree Glen,
    It was Garret Fitzgerald who said that we might get a better class of politicians if we paid them less, since it would not attract people who were solely interested in money.

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Apr 17th 2013, 1:15 AM

Glen… government of the gombeens, for the gombeens, by the gombeens! Unfortunately you get what you vote for and as long as there is a sizeable section of the Irish (sheep) population who continue to vote, like lowly peasants in deference to their feudal and nepotistic political overlords, the venal political dynasties then nothing will ever change! Long live the nepotist, Theocracy of Ireland where the national motto is “not what you but WHO you know” Same old crap, nearly a hundred years of so called independence and it’s still a backward parochial basket case run by the same old gang of political dynasties, 3rd world tin pot politics! McEntee ‘snouts in the trough’ part 2, a new dynasty in the making!

Mute Seán O' Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O' Sullivan
    Apr 17th 2013, 3:31 AM

fair and well assessed Glen

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:26 PM

“… she said she wants to work on behalf of the young people in Meath East.’ Forget the people of east Meath. This is not the county council, you’re working for all of us now as is every other TD.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Favourite Kevin O'Sullivan
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:33 PM

She was elected by the people of Meath East so she will serve her own constituency and raise their issues as a national issue, just like every other TD does in addition to making decisions for Ireland as a whole.

Mute Rocky Raccoon
    Favourite Rocky Raccoon
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:40 PM

Are ya a relation Kevin?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:47 PM

She will do what she is told.

Mute jim melia
    Favourite jim melia
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:52 PM

Careful adebayo, I already said that but my comment was removed.

Mute jim melia
    Favourite jim melia
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:53 PM

And Higgins had a few comments removed too, he must be gutted. I reckon he might take it up with the student council.

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:57 PM

where’s did my comment disappear too? :-(

Mute Eamonn Bolger
    Favourite Eamonn Bolger
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:58 PM

@Rocky Racoon: no, Kevin’s an “ex-member” of young FG doncha know.

Mute jim melia
    Favourite jim melia
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:00 PM

Sure did joe, it’s obviously a very sensitive subject. That’s exactly what happened adebayo. I’m so disappointed for young Higgins. Bless his cotton socks

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:03 PM

We’re fooling ourselves if we expect TDs to ignore local issues when we elect them through a constituency system.

The first step must be a proper system of local government and proper devolution of power so that local issues can be resolved through the councils. Many constituents have no choice but to contact their TDs on local issues because councillors don’t have the power. Most of the power is tied up with the county manager and Phil Hogan needs to press ahead with his proposed changes in this regard.

An alternative system would be a list system which meant that parties would be elected on a national level however this has its disadvantages. It removes politicians from contact with ordinary people. Instead of keeping in close contact with constituents and their concerns, politicians have to keep in closer contact with party members to ensure their place is kept high on the party list.

Mute jim melia
    Favourite jim melia
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:08 PM

Is that straight from your exercise book David?

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:25 PM

Amy, why did you delete my comment regarding insults and profanity. Enough people saw it and agreed that nobody wants to see insults or an agenda from the media. So please, I’d love to know.

Mute joe dangermouse
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:26 PM

I think you are just fooling yourself david.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:33 PM

kevin – no wonder this country is in the mess it is when national parliamentarians still engage in parish pump politics. Time they got their priorities right. Local stuff needs to be left at the door. Local government can deal with most of it.

Mute Diarmuid Danger Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Danger Lenihan
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:35 PM

She’s practically won the lotto, I’d be emotional too. How will this last before its deleted I wonder.

Mute Gary dunn
    Favourite Gary dunn
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:05 PM

Ahhh poor higgins

Mute Gary dunn
    Favourite Gary dunn

What higgins

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:12 PM

Doesn’t matter, Amy. I figured it out for myself.

Adebayo 1 Amy -0

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:58 PM

Rocky; Never met the girl.

Brian; Well seeing as most elections have a huge dominance of local issues, parish pump politics wont be leaving anytime soon. As long as people vote based on what their local rep did or didn’t do, tds will focus on local issues alongside national issues.

Mute Amy Croffey
    Favourite Amy Croffey
    Apr 16th 2013, 9:48 PM

Aaaadddeeeebbbbbbayo, check the comments policy like a good lad.

Aaaaaaaaaaammmmmmyyyyy!

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Apr 16th 2013, 10:34 PM

Put a screen dump of the comment on your twitter account and ill leave it at that. Let the people decide.

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Apr 16th 2013, 10:35 PM

I checked the comment policy a long time ago. I have always been aware of it.

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Apr 16th 2013, 11:13 PM

Amy mo here but you can call me red thumb number 8 why do you have a comments box if you delete the opinions you don’t like, except bad language I don’t see why you have to delete anything you guys put the comments box there it’s the comments box that makes the journal popular. leave the opinions up I would like to read them!!

SOON TO BE DELETED!!

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Apr 16th 2013, 11:23 PM

Amy mo here but you can call me red thumb number 8 why do you have a comments box if you delete the opinions you don’t like, except bad language I don’t see why you have to delete anything you guys put the comments box there it’s the comments box that makes the journal popular sorry to burst your over sized ego! Don’t be a coward leave the opinions up I would like to read them!!

SOON TO BE DELETED!!

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Apr 17th 2013, 2:39 AM

Enough of this dumbassery!

Is this still here?

Jjjiiiiiiiiiiiiimmmm.

Mute Lord Darkseid
    Favourite Lord Darkseid
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:24 PM

I watched her on Vincent Browne she didn’t seem like a well prepared or qualified candidate and only for nepotism and a sympathy vote she gets elected Completely pathetic.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:41 PM

Kevin nice sentiment,but party whip she’ll vote with the rest when she’s told and which way to vote.Nothing will change that.

Mute Kevin O'Sullivan
    Apr 16th 2013, 6:01 PM

Oh I know but I still hope she continues the good work her Dad was known for and still makes representations on various issues. But every party has the whip system so its not like any party are in a hurry to scrap it and give more powers to back benchers (what I would prefer).

Sinn Fein are the latest party to prove that, eg Abortion issue.

Mute Anne Clarke
    Favourite Anne Clarke
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:27 PM

Typical nepotism! Isn’t great to walk onto a top paying job of 100K with no experience. What a country. Got to love it!!! Joining the rest of the bench that haven’t a clue!

Mute Leigh Power
    Favourite Leigh Power
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:48 PM

I seem to recall a vote.

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:12 PM

she’d need to learn to leave those emotions at the door just like the rest of them have!

Mute The Almighty
    Favourite The Almighty
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:38 PM

Enjoy your short stay! FG and FF please people of Ireland do not vote for them in the next election , we need serious change in this country. New ideas and have people who stand up for all the people making decisions

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:05 PM

Good luck to her and all, but didn’t the whole “inheriting the seat from your father” thing get us Enda?

Mute Adrian Nolan
    Favourite Adrian Nolan
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:49 PM

Lucinda might be getting jealous……

Mute Ray Andrews
    Favourite Ray Andrews
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:09 PM

are the politicians not on their summer holidays yet

Mute joe dangermouse
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:58 PM

Mine did not brake any of those policies.Its not my problem that Kevin doesn’t have a sense of humour,or any sense at all.

Mute joe dangermouse
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:00 PM

Whoops,down below this comment should be.

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Favourite wierdo varadkar
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:32 PM

amy is this a thread for pro government supporters as any time I comment its taken down
    whats going on?

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave

Yes very emotional . I am rich FUC@@@g rich . I tell you made for life so i am .

Mute The Brass Rat
    Favourite The Brass Rat
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:55 PM

Story with reasonable comments being removed? I saw several that removed.

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:16 PM

@ DublinCity.. something like that I’d say…!

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:39 PM

Following in her dads footsteps alright. Emotional me …

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:56 PM

Didn’t take the journal long to change colour.

Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:42 PM

I cant help but think you might not have a problem if her father was a member of any of the left leaning parties. All for democracy as long as its in line with what you want.

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:59 PM

give me the name of any other fine gael candidate that would have got elected in meath east?

Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:02 PM

Bitter misguided hate filled rhetoric. The people of Meath have voiced who they want representing them. You journal lunatics seem to have serious difficulty getting your heads around the fact that the whole country doesnt agree with your crap.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:04 PM

Give me the name of somebody else the people in Meath voluntarily gave the majority of votes to?

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:31 PM

snooch
    your the only lunatic here
    it was a cynical ploy by fine gael and she just scraped in past a candidate whose party nearly wrecked this country

Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:48 PM

In fairness she won by a margin of nearly 2k votes where around 25k voted. Thats pretty substantial, and a clear indication of the democratic choice of the people there.

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:57 PM

2000 sympathy votes
    well played enda!!

Mute wierdo varadkar

actually
    probably half were sympathy votes

Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch

I absolutely stand by my point that you cant handle ths fact the democratic vote went against what you wanted and so you rubbish it. Its sickening.

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O

We’ll see democracy in full working order in the next general election FG will be wiped out.

Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:09 PM

Thats fine with me Ryan. You wont see me on here whingeing about how they were sympathy votes or a fix or nepotism or whatever suits my agenda.

And for the record I vote independent not FG, so I would love to see some changes. Just not as a result of victimising and unnecessary nit picking and abuse.

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:18 PM

do you know what sickens me snooch
    gombeen parish pump politics

Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:22 PM

Unless it benefits the parties you support

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:26 PM

complete crap
    again I ask
    name me another fine gael candidate other than Helen McEntee who would have taken the seat for fine gael?
    simple question

Mute snooch
    Favourite snooch
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:36 PM

How can I answer that question? I dont deal in hypothetical imaginary situations, I deal in facts. Have a look at the facts of her election. They don’t agree with your twisted views on politics, therefore you rubbish them. Im gonna stop replying now because you are literally one of the most frustrating bullsh*tters ive ever had the displeasure of having to listen to.

Im sure ill see plenty of your comments next time a vote or election or referendum doesnt go your way and you feel like venting like a whiney spoilt little brat who hasnt got his way.

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:58 PM

the answer is that there isint anyone who would have taken that seat
    you know it, i know it and so does everyone else
    and by the way im just as entitled to give my opinion as you are weather you like it or not
    so get over yourself you muppet!

Mute Galwaybay
    Favourite Galwaybay
    Apr 16th 2013, 6:33 PM

I’d say the first thing she learn is how to fill in an expense form.

Mute Rose
    Favourite Rose
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:34 PM

When will the jobs come that she promised for the young people

Mute Don Colvin
    Favourite Don Colvin
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:51 PM

They won’t, local promises to get elected to a Dáil that operates on a national level. Nepotism at its highest. Sit there & say yes.

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:32 PM

She promised jobs for young people? Seems she’s the only one who got one.

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:53 PM

If she had any reapect for the people she would resign straight away instead of getting into bed fully the bastards that are FG

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Apr 16th 2013, 6:14 PM

I don’t think she earned her money today, circa €500. We got nothing for it.
    Why was her pay not cut by 20% like it is for graduate nurses?

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Apr 16th 2013, 7:07 PM

she’ll be told sit there, press the button and shut up! Enjoy the short career, things are about to get nasty?

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:30 PM

Beautiful comments as always i see… consistent to a fault… Its such a happy place….

Mute Kevin Beakey
    Favourite Kevin Beakey
    Apr 16th 2013, 11:06 PM

The family snout burried deep in the trough…..
    Only in Ireland!!!!

Mute Mad Taoiseach
    Favourite Mad Taoiseach
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:59 PM

Once again, you get what you vote for.

Apr 16th 2013, 7:48 PM

Back to business the usual shite, scratching backs, jobs for the boys (girls this time). Kickbacks, Brown envelopes screwing the working man and woman, sure it’s only a few quid a week shite extra to pay. Back to FF politics . We need a revolution here. Line them all up against a wall a sell people bullets to shoot them with, I wonder how much that would bring to the exchequer ;-) . We need a Hugo Chavez here, someone who puts the people before big business.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:15 PM

Folks, we’ve had to delete a number of comments on this article already because they broke the terms of our comments policy, particularly in relation to personal remarks.

Here’s the policy: http://www.thejournal.ie/comments-policy/. Keep it in mind when making further comments.

Mute DublinCity
    Favourite DublinCity
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:20 PM

Seriously what was wrong with my comment??

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:21 PM

“Because she was the best candidate for the job…nothing to do with family dynasties, sympathy vote or the fact that no one bothered their (black void) to go out and vote”

Now explain why it was deleted.

Mute wierdo varadkar
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:33 PM

an absolute joke

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Apr 16th 2013, 7:09 PM

Are the girls sticking together?

Mute Real Betis
    Favourite Real Betis
    Apr 16th 2013, 9:19 PM

Amy,
    This an interesting point. The ‘noteworthy’ Minister for Communications….the self confessed practitioner of economy of truth, Mr Rabbitte, has stated that in future there will be a broadcasting tax to replace the T.V. licence. That is to say that we pay tax for the dubious benefit of enjoying ‘broadacsting’ incl ‘the journal’. If this is the case and it seems to be, when will the journal’s policy be accountable to the Oireachtas so that we the consumers may have a right of appeal.

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Apr 16th 2013, 3:47 PM

I dont live in Meath but if I did I would have voted for her

Mute jim melia
    Favourite jim melia
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:03 PM

Why?

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Apr 16th 2013, 4:49 PM

Jings, lads. The journal is not obliged to leave your comments alone. This is a privately owned site, you are allowed to be here rather than entitled to be here.

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis

So much for freedom of speech which journalist harp on about for themselves.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:03 PM

There’s no such thing as an absolute freedom of speech.

The best you can hope for is when you’re alone. Unless you’re likely to label what you say as hate speech and set the Garda on yourself. Be careful, you might be bugging yourself, check yourself for wires before you start.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:06 PM

Y’know how I’ve said a few times that this place gets more like the DT? OK, well I have.

And here’s this, it was written about the DT but it seems to be applying here too:

http://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2011/09/01/ere-what-about-my-freedom-of-speech/

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:17 PM

Often when reading someone comments it can be taken out of context and it can be taken depending on your mood a different way too.

If I call Enda Kenny a bastard does that mean I hate him or I want to do harm to him or other things?. For me my comment means frustration annoyed etc nothing else.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:21 PM

Every encoding … David Lodge … blah de blah de blah … http://damoclesbda.wordpress.com/2011/10/05/every-encoding-has-another-decoding/

Sorry, I just blog things so I don’t have to write them out again and again and again.

You have to phrase out the ambiguity as the visual and tonal clues aren’t there in straight text.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Apr 16th 2013, 9:04 PM

Hu-f*ckin-rah! Another passenger on the gov. gravy train soon to disappear into the mists of having her PA send pointless letters ‘making representations’ to various other government departments on behalf of her constituents while she figures out ways to get even wealthier.

Mute Andrew Martin
    Favourite Andrew Martin
    Apr 16th 2013, 9:48 PM

Just what the country needs, an apprentice politician…

Mute D.j. Kelly
    Favourite D.j. Kelly
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:15 PM

Mute Lord Loverocket
    Favourite Lord Loverocket
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:35 PM

Well said!

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Apr 16th 2013, 5:57 PM

The contents of Enda’s thought bubble?

Mute Seán O' Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O' Sullivan
    Apr 17th 2013, 3:35 AM

Politics is gas such a popularity contest.

Mute Patrick O'Brien
    Favourite Patrick O'Brien
    Apr 17th 2013, 12:02 AM

Guys this is a job she has been elected to do what has emotion to do with it leave it at home if you are going to focus on the job come n a touch of reality here

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Apr 17th 2013, 12:59 AM

I hope she hasn’t packed away all the election posters yet, might need them sooner than she thinks if Labour go all wobbly knee’d.

Mute Brendan Wall
    Favourite Brendan Wall
    Apr 19th 2013, 11:13 AM

Am I mistaken or did I hear her mutter that Enda was her hero??