You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Herbert Park Hotel via Google Maps

Woman awarded over €55,000 after slipping in Ballsbridge hotel

The judge said, “It was an accident waiting to happen”.

A 69-YEAR-OLD business woman, who suffered a triple fracture of her left ankle after she slipped and fell in the Herbert Park Hotel in Ballsbridge, Dublin has been awarded €56,250 damages in the Circuit Civil Court.

Circuit Court President Mr Justice Raymond Groarke said he was satisfied the entrance hotel floor had been impeccable and maintained to the highest standard, but Delia Manning should not have been allowed to enter the hotel through the emergency exit doors without a mat.

Judge Groarke said engineering evidence showed the floor became slippery when moisture was carried under people’s shoes. He said there was no mat at the emergency doors to trap any potential moisture.

“It was an accident waiting to happen,” the judge said.

Manning, of Assumption Terrace, Kinsale, Co Cork, told the court that she had stayed at the hotel with her son and grandson in August 2014 to attend the RDS Horse Show.

She said the last day of the show, August 10, was a wet day and the show ended early. They had decided to go home and had been leaving the hotel car park but the barrier would not lift. She had gone back to the hotel to check that the ticket had been validated when she slipped and fell forward.

Manning told her barrister, Eamon Shanahan, that she felt pain in her ankle. She had been attended to by hotel staff before being taken by ambulance to St Vincent’s Hospital in Dublin, where x-rays revealed a fracture in her ankle.

She said she underwent surgery and had needed to wear a plaster cast for several weeks. The court heard she was no longer able to walk long distances and she may develop arthritis in the future.

She sued Hebert Park Hotel Limited, which trades as Herbert Park Hotel, and Sheelin McSharry (Ballsbridge) Limited, of Embassy House, Herbert Park Lane, Ballsbridge, for negligence.

The defendants had denied liability and had alleged that Manning had used the emergency doors because the main entrance was crowded with a group of tourists and she had been rushing when she slipped.

Judge Groarke said he accepted that Manning, who suffered a “very nasty and extremely serious” injury, may have been distracted. Initially awarding her €75,000 damages, he reduced her award by 25% for contributory negligence.

Read: 35 homeless people slept in Apollo House last night (and there are plans to increase that number to 60)>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 28 comments
28 Comments
    Mute Tomasz Kuchnik
    Favourite Tomasz Kuchnik
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:29 PM

Brillant, let’s summarise some of 2016 big insurance payouts, dozen of toddlers with some tiny injuries to their heads and fingers (I’d be millionaire now if they paid me for that when I was kid), then some people tripping while hiking the hills (extraordinary thing to happen who would have known…), then some people tripping on the birds shyte while serving customers at Heuston (sue these pigeons right away), then someone else tripping over wet supermarket floors (unheard of near the freezers) and now this gem to end the year, missing mat caused massive catastrophe worth 55K. Great work guys, so when is my car or house premium going up again so you can recuperate your loss?

Mute Mercurial One
    Favourite Mercurial One
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:14 PM

@Tomasz Kuchnik: Not to mention the Garda who was so traumatised by seeing an actual crime taking place!

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:18 PM

Well done Judge Groarke. You must love your job

Mute Simon Moore
    Favourite Simon Moore
    Dec 19th 2016, 5:02 PM

@Mary Murphy: a quick search on here shows a huge amount in compo given out by this specific Judge this year. http://www.thejournal.ie/search/Groarke/ #mindblowing

Mute Hugh Mannatee
    Favourite Hugh Mannatee
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:19 PM

I fell into some money.

Mute TDV
    Favourite TDV
    Dec 19th 2016, 6:26 PM

@Hugh Mannatee: fell forward with wet shoes on a shiny floor, how the hell did that happen?

Mute Leisha
    Favourite Leisha
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:56 PM

This is totally her own fault for using an emergency exit in the first place because “tourists” (god forbid you find a few in a hotel) were delaying her entry?! Ridiculous. These claimers must not suffer an iota of embarrassment at how greedy they are because as far as I’m concerned naming these claimants and addresses is naming and shaming. Sickening! And shame on the judge.

Mute Gary Keegan
    Favourite Gary Keegan
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:23 PM

€56K will probably cover her parking and Wifi costs in that rip off hotel.

Mute Ana Nonymous
    Favourite Ana Nonymous
    Dec 19th 2016, 6:07 PM

I was involved in a claim very recently, my medical bills had reached over €10K it only turned into a claim because the body at fault had refused to cover my medical costs via their insurance, when we met at the courts I asked for my medical bills and an apology. They refused ended paying a lot more including my legal bills and being found 100% negligent.

Mute Nucky
    Favourite Nucky
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:55 PM

What’s this ? CSI Bollo* ! It was an emergency exit ??? Not Entrance !!

Mute Anthony John Cotter
    Favourite Anthony John Cotter
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:53 PM

Moisture madness, never step on anything other than a mat on a wet day.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Dec 19th 2016, 6:04 PM

Normally there’s a bit in there about the injured party not being in a position to attend bridge classes or something in future due to their ‘disability’. Will this lady be with the rest of the horsey set in the RDS next Summer I wonder. These claims are becoming more comical by the week.

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:19 PM

A clear case of negligence on the part of the hotel resulting in a tripe fracture, a severe and problematic injury.
    The award was fully justified.

Mute Alex Falcone
    Favourite Alex Falcone
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:20 PM

‘triple’
    (no need to go about it)

Mute David Dickenson
    Favourite David Dickenson
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:39 PM

@Alex Falcone:go ‘on’ about it.

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Dec 19th 2016, 9:41 PM

@Alex Falcone she caused it herself. Should have lost and had costs awarded against herself. Pure sick of that bloody judge giving away money like that

Mute Neal, not Neil.
    Favourite Neal, not Neil.
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:22 PM

The people who complain about the size of some of these “awards” have clearly never seen a hospital bill.

Mute Patricia Ellis Dunne
    Favourite Patricia Ellis Dunne
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:38 PM

Is it not €100?

Mute Ana Nonymous
    Favourite Ana Nonymous
    Dec 20th 2016, 12:36 AM

Nope it’s not especially if you get admitted. I needed MRI injections €389 each x6 over 8 months, then I have €4,500 worth of physio over 3 years, €185 for consultant first visit and €85 every visit thereafter. I could go on but I won’t. My health insurance wouldn’t cover it because they consider my injury to be somebody else’s fault and I then had to issue proceedings against them or my .

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Dec 19th 2016, 4:18 PM

Ballsup Hotel

Mute Val Martin
    Favourite Val Martin
    Dec 19th 2016, 9:22 PM

There won’t be a bother on her when she gets the money

Mute Mercurial One
    Favourite Mercurial One
    Dec 19th 2016, 8:06 PM

Think I ‘Better call Saul’, next time I accidentally slip on ice outside a public building. €12k minimum payout even before it goes to court!

Mute Ana Nonymous
    Favourite Ana Nonymous
    Dec 20th 2016, 12:31 AM

People don’t understand that if you have an injury caused by the fault of somebody or what could be perceived as the fault of somebody else your health insurance won’t cover the costs and will peruse you for anything they may have paid out.

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Dec 19th 2016, 11:22 PM

@Mercurial One: is that the garda that saw a prisoner eat his own shite?

Mute Dublin 7
    Favourite Dublin 7
    Dec 20th 2016, 8:20 AM

No mention of what the woman’s legal costs were in the case! Most likely more, but that’s an embarrassing shadow headline which will not be published. Name the Solicitor and Counsel !

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Dec 19th 2016, 11:37 PM

I slipped on a banana skin last week. I wonder…