You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here’s how much the Seanad received in expenses last year

The figures for Senators’ expenses for December allow us to build a full picture of the payments made to each member last year.

THE 60 MEMBERS of the Seanad were paid over €1.3 million in expenses last year, new Oireachtas figures have shown.

Data published by the Oireachtas this week, detailing how much each member was given in December, have enabled us to construct a full picture of what each member claimed last year.

Fianna Fáil senator Mark Daly was paid the highest expenses, being given €32,058 to cover the costs of travel, accommodation and to run his local office – though his expenses are explained by the length of his commute to Dublin from Kenmare, Co Kerry.

Donegal-based FF senator Brian Ó Domhnaill and Connemara-based Sinn Fein member Trevor Ó Clochartaigh received €31,029 each in expenses, as did Fine Gael’s Tom Sheahan.

Fianna Fáil’s Denis O’Donovan, who is the Seanad’s Leas-Cathaoirleach, receives the fifth-highest payment, though his allowance is greater because of his official Seanad duties.

Although the Seanad’s Cathaoirleach, Paddy Burke, is entitled to higher allowances than ordinary Senators, the details show that Burke waives this extra allowance and receives only the amount to which ‘ordinary’ senators from his area receive.

‘Part-time’

At the other end of the scale, independent senator Fiach Mac Conghail claimed the least expenses of any member, receiving exactly €3,000 between his appointment as a Taoiseach’s nominee in mid-May and the end of the year.

Another Taoiseach’s nominee, Martin McAleese, received €5,117.77. The husband of former President Mary McAleese, the senator declined any wage or expenses from his Seanad appointment until November 11 when his wife’s tenure ended.

The commuting distance for the three Sinn Féin members meant they had the highest average expenses, at €29,646 each, while the geographical spread for Fine Gael, Fianna Fáil and Labour meant that those parties’ senators received an average of around €24,100 each.

The 12 non-party members received an average of €11,829 – largely thanks to the fact that the five independent members elected to the two University panels are based in Dublin and have lower limits for what they can receive.

Unlike the TDs’ expenses covered at length in the Dáil yesterday, an overwhelming majority of the members of the Seanad – which is constituted as a ‘part-time’ chamber – opt not to vouch for the expenses they receive.

This means that although they are entitled to the reimbursement of less expenses, their expenses are not subject to audit by the Oireachtas authorities.

10 of the 11 members nominated to the Seanad by Enda Kenny opt not to vouch for their expenses, with Mac Conghail the only member who vouches for the reimbursements he receives.

All the expenses come on top of each Senator’s basic annual salary of €65,621.

What you should know when reading the figures:

The total expenses for each Senator is in the furthest right-hand column of the spreadsheet. However, before you judge the individual member’s claims, there are a few important factors to bear in mind:

• The maximum amount a Senator can claim can be affected by whether they vouch (provide receipts) for their expenses or not. In our spreadsheet, those who vouch expenses is marked with a ‘Y’. Those who claim unvouched expenses are marked with a ‘N’. Those who choose to vouch for their expenses are entitled to a higher rate of expenses.
  • The geographical distance a member lives from Leinster House will affect the amount they can claim. Those further from the Dáil can, naturally, claim more. That is why most Dublin-based members are in the lower end of expenses claims. The band number which is marked on our spreadsheet beside members’ names (eg, ‘D’ for those who state their residences are in Dublin, nos. 1-12 for the rest) show how far their residences are from the Dáil. The higher the number, the further they have to travel and the more they are entitled to claim. More data on the allowance can be found here.
  • Note: The figures released by the Oireachtas do not allow for the possibility that members may have returned some expenses which they did not actually incur. The Oireachtas intends to release “reconciled” figures, showing the extent of any refunds, in March.

In full: Our interactive spreadsheet of Senators’ expenses, from May 25 – Dec 31, 2011>

Read: Taoiseach, Noonan, Howlin among ministers claiming unvouched TDs’ expenses

More: Meet the only TD in Ireland who claims NO expenses

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute Frank Bourke
    Favourite Frank Bourke
    Feb 4th 2012, 6:50 AM

So much for abolition, it’s more an incubation chamber for the parasitic practicing all manner of ways to extract the citizens money, a breeding ground for the self righteous entitlement hunters. Shame on you all. Go now and stay gone and return the money. Services need it, you do not.

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Feb 4th 2012, 7:37 AM

All expenses should be abolished,its only fair.

Mute Neil Kettles
    Favourite Neil Kettles
    Feb 4th 2012, 8:06 AM

That’s it! Enough’s enough!! I’m off to fight for Palestine! Ireland’s a lost cause!

Mute Peter 66
    Favourite Peter 66
    Feb 4th 2012, 8:11 AM

Here we go again, another day & another day further in debt. I’m going to treat myself to a sausage & white pudding sandwich ( so bold ), watch the original wuthering heights & the original witness for the prosecution, then who knows, some news might break that lifts me.

Mute Jan King
    Favourite Jan King
    Feb 4th 2012, 8:53 AM

All expenses should be vouched.

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:32 AM

No they should bring back butter vouchers for them…

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:38 AM

Anybody can pick up a receipt FAIL…

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Feb 4th 2012, 4:37 PM

No I dont think that expenses should be vouches – they should be done away with altogether
    There are thousands of people living on this rock that travel long distances to get to work. They have to put their hand into thier wage packet and pay for transport be it car, bus, train or plane – so why should fat cats get to board the gravy train for free. They should all be given an annual travel ticket and there are plenty of cheap B&Bs in Dublin if they have to stay the night. Or better yet – let the government come up with a deal with Jurys to provide cheap overnight accomadation for TDs & Senators, let the greedy fuckers pay for it themselves like the rest of society has to do!

Feb 4th 2012, 8:21 AM

With the focus shifting to expenses, what are we missing? This is no more than a smokescreen. While we ‘rage’ about this, focus is off the fiscal treaty. Refocus people. Don’t be suckered all the time.

Mute Neil Kettles
    Favourite Neil Kettles
    Feb 4th 2012, 8:45 AM

Who’s raging John? The Senate’s a total farce! How it’s still tolerated in these times is laughable!

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:14 AM

As I said in many of my posts,they are all at it.Thats why fuck all had been done to the potholed roads here.All the road tax goes to line their pockets.They shoud have no expenses,just like everyone elsr

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:37 AM

here here.

Mute Shneak
    Favourite Shneak
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:58 AM

When I worked as a contractor I couldn’t claim for travel to and from work so why can these jokers claim for it? 4 legs good 2 legs better!

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:08 AM

They are even getting expenses for the seanad,and thats only a part time job.It should be abolished.Waste of money.

Mute Jerry Slattery
    Favourite Jerry Slattery
    Feb 4th 2012, 11:25 AM

love the way Sinn Fein spend half there time outside the dail picketing and protesting with the poor but are the 1st to go inside and claim outrageous amounts of expenses for doing so

Mute Cian McAlone
    Favourite Cian McAlone
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:05 AM

Fianna Fail maintain the same money-grabbing attitude!

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:50 AM

It’s a job for the boys gig.
    Ivana balack maybe the only labour candidate in the last general election not to get elected. The Irish people who live in her area said they didn’t want her to represent them, so what does Gilmore do give her a job representing all the people.
    Money for nothing expenses for nothing, even heating the senaed is a waste of money.
    Disband dissolve disappear

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:51 PM

well said i have said the same some time ago. as far as i can see there is no differance between them all. SO WHAT CAN THE PEOPLE DO

Mute Stephen Lowe
    Favourite Stephen Lowe
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:49 AM

Direct Democracy Now! Independent of a sitting representative Government. We have the technology. Let’s get the will power. With the Occupy protests around the world, there has never been a better time. Come on people!

Mute Justin Moffatt
    Favourite Justin Moffatt
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:17 AM

Every time I hear the word Seanad,my stomach twists slightly & I think of this joker -

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RaNqMzVIE0

The leader of the house eh…….

Mute micktwatter
    Favourite micktwatter
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:29 AM

“with kitchens and all” Donie Cassidy. Gombeen politician.
    Abolish the Seanad. Just think of Cassidy , Ivor callealy and the likes taking our money.

Mute Jimmy O Callaghan
    Favourite Jimmy O Callaghan
    Feb 4th 2012, 12:02 PM

I almost forgot,thanks for reminding me…

Mute Paul O' Hanlon
    Favourite Paul O' Hanlon
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:09 AM

In fairness Dermot, this article shows that two people received what seem to be more realistic sums for expenses (although I’m no expert) with one claiming none at all until his wife stopped being President, which I think is admirable.

That said those two don’t make up for the disgrace that is the rest of them, especially seeing as the basic salary for a Senator is quite high. The company I work for is, much like Ireland, not to healthy financially. While we can claim expenses the small office staff usually don’t as we know that every penny counts and I think it’s a joke that this ideal is being waived to such a high degree here.

Mute Kieran Gallagher
    Favourite Kieran Gallagher
    Feb 4th 2012, 12:15 PM

his wife stopped being president and became one of the best paid pensioners in Europe

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Feb 4th 2012, 4:01 PM

Its because you all have morals Paul.The lot in power have no morals,and no shame.They dont give a damn about their people as long as they can rake in the money

Mute Angela Barrett
    Favourite Angela Barrett
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:38 AM

And mr harte claimed over 30k. 1 and half times what magda gets on the dole, and thats outside of his astronomical pay for prob 2 days a week. Its gut sickening

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:33 AM

The Irish Senate is very similar to our American College Social Fraternities that one can voluntarily join while attending college. Today’s fraternity, allows a bunch of lads the ability to party, act like fools, discriminate and segregate for survival and sometimes involve themselves in illegal actions that are often seen as college high-jinx, all under the cloud of secrecy! The Fraternity benefits no one accept the member!

Mute Amers Considine
    Favourite Amers Considine
    Feb 4th 2012, 11:03 AM

Why is the Seanad still not abolished? It’s a farce!

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:03 AM

Local Senator?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:05 AM

Hi Chris – we know that shouldn’t be the perception, but we felt it appropriate given that members claim expenses based on their distance from Leinster House, even though they don’t have geographical constituencies.

Mute Pat Murphy
    Favourite Pat Murphy
    Feb 4th 2012, 11:56 AM

Unvouched expenses are taxed in the private sector. And are frowned upon by revenue. Why are publc sector not treated in the same way? Sickening

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Feb 4th 2012, 10:53 AM

Justin many thanks for that stomach churning reminder. However the real problem with the Senate is the means by which people like Donie Cassidy got elected. A more representative Upper House where for example the Trade Union movement could directly elect one member who would receive a nominal payment. You could benchmark that payment at a level that could be slightly higher than Board membership of a State Company. Other Bodies such as Universities could elect a member (rather than the three from Trinity at the present time ) and this could be repeated through all of the cultural and arts bodies to achieve the desired number. The Taoiseachs nominee could be personally chosen but must come from a specific category including the unemployed and pensioners.
    Unlike the present system this Upper House would be substantially apolitical and debates on legislation could be substantially better informed. Our Democracy does need this balancing House of the Oireachtas and particularly where the Lower House can have such a narrow focus with SinnFein trying to pick off Fianna Fail and huge Government numbers reducing the contributions from back benches.
    So my position would be anti abolitionist right now.

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Feb 4th 2012, 2:19 PM

Pat if you read my comments about the restructuring of the Senate you will see that attendance monies and expenses would disappear while the membership would change enormously and thus be more representative of society at all levels. At the moment it is a retirement home or a training ground for Dail membership.
    Just to be more inflammatory I would introduce Regulations to ban senior members of the trade union movement from being appointed to the boards of State owned Companies. This an appalling conflict of interest that has gone on for too long and when added to the already bloated salaries of people representing ordinary workers renders the Unions impotent!
    Even without any new regulations ordinary trade unionists should be horrified that their leaders are ” enjoying” income from employers!
    Back to the bunker for me!

Mute Pat Murphy
    Favourite Pat Murphy
    Feb 4th 2012, 2:27 PM

And on this I thoroughly agree. Mark!

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Feb 4th 2012, 2:49 PM

This should be closed and if they wish to continue let it be totally voluntary. No expenses or allowances. The same should apply to the councils. We are broke and borrowing money to pay these people while sick kids get sicker.

Mute Andrea Galgey
    Favourite Andrea Galgey
    Feb 4th 2012, 4:06 PM

Why are Senators and TD’s being paid to go to work?? I have to make my own way to work, pay car tax, insurance, petrol, parking out of my own pocket. If I said to my employer that I wanted travel expenses to get to work I’d be fired! So we should fire the lot of them because we pay their expenses!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Ciaro
    Favourite Ciaro
    Feb 4th 2012, 1:56 PM

Parasitic leeches, the lot of them

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Feb 4th 2012, 2:54 PM

choo choo , the parliamentry gravy train rolls on and on .

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Feb 4th 2012, 4:03 PM

Only because we supply the fuel for the choo choo

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Feb 4th 2012, 11:56 AM

All Members of the European Parliament receive expenses to ensure that so called local MEP’s do not become the quorum for all debates and votes . This makes complete sense as it would not be logical to suggest that a person elected to represent Munster would have to fund their own travel and accommodation costs?
    Assuming there is no argument to that position then there is little difference in the idea of compensating Members of Dail Eireann under the same headings. The Senate if restructured under the proposals I have made on this discussion would see the need for expenses abandoned.
    Unfortunately any thing that seems to support the status quo on these pages has generally resulted in
    foaming at the mouth and personal threats of violence delivered to me by email.

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Feb 4th 2012, 12:40 PM

Pat that’s not correct……….unvouched expenses are also called allowances and there are a large number available across all sectors that are treated as non taxable by the Revenue.
    Daily allowances of sixty Euros to include overnight accommodation and luncheon allowance of up to fourteen Euro if you are at least five miles or five hours from your working base can be claimed without receipt. Mileage claims for all sorts of workers do not require receipts. Allowances can be claimed for uniforms and clothing as well as Union membership fees are permitted without receipts on the basis of agreed fixed sums.
    We should be careful as to where our stones land when indiscriminately thrown!

Mute Pat Murphy
    Favourite Pat Murphy
    Feb 4th 2012, 1:47 PM

Are you saying Mark, that I can pay my employees approx € 1300 per month (unvouched and untaxed) to attend work, as in the case of Dublin Senators?
    I would think that Leinster House would be regarded as the working base for all Senators?
    In the real world revenue are quite stringent regarding this. I would have to prove that my employees were actually away overnight and why. And regarding your second comment, employers who allow 5 star accommodation for their employees are thin on the ground.

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Feb 4th 2012, 1:01 PM

I should also add that if ordinary workers while in business for their organization or company claim expenses by way of receipt…………….vouched expenses………as many commentators are screaming for …..there is really no limit to what can be claimed………..in other words you could stay overnight in a five star hotel and have that sum reimbursed without any tax implications or claim the smaller unvouched sixty Euros.
    The frenzied attacks on Senators and Members of the Dail should perhaps be seen in this context.
    To be really inflammatory it is my understanding that someone claiming First Communion expenses from Social Welfare is not required to produce receipts.
    I have just retired to my bunker now!

Mute Mark Rodgers
    Favourite Mark Rodgers
    Feb 5th 2012, 12:55 AM

Dermot you’re just a cynical and cold faced whingere,who has nothing good to say about anyone.
    That ok in normal times but we are clearly a far distance from normal times…..Dermot shut up!

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Feb 4th 2012, 9:59 PM

There must be some clause in the irish law books to get them out for their lies alone.