You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's What Happened Today: Sunday

Dominic Cummings and his 260-mile lockdown trip dominated the headlines today.

NEED TO CATCH up? TheJournal.ie brings you a round up of today’s news.

IRELAND

coronavirus-sat-may-23-2020 Two men train in St. Stephen's Green. PA PA

• A further 4 people have died from Covid-19 in Ireland, the Department of Health said.
  • An Irish teenager died in Australia after he fell from an apartment complex while trying to flee a group of armed robbers, police have alleged.
  • Here’s how a pocket of north Dublin comprising Coolock and Darndale has become a hotspot for lockdown violence
  • Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has said there will be no change to the two-metre social distancing guidelines. 
  • The number of people attending emergency departments across the country is slowly increasing as Covid-19 is suppressed in the community.
  • Trócaire has launched an urgent appeal for supporters to return donations from their boxes online or over the phone.

WORLD

coronavirus-sun-may-24-2020 Dominic Cummings leaves his north London home today. PA PA

#U-oh-K?: British Prime Minister Boris Johnson is under renewed pressure to sack his closest aide after allegations that Dominic Cummings broke lockdown rules for a second time – but has backed his actions to the hilt, as “sensible and defensible”.

#HONG KONG: Police fired tear gas and water cannon at thousands of Hong Kong pro-democracy protesters who gathered today against a controversial security law proposed by China, in the most intense clashes for months. 

#USA: As the US approaches 100,000 Covid-19 deaths, The New York Times marked the grim milestone with a stark memorial on its front page – one-line obituaries for 1,000 victims.

#CHINA: The Chinese virology institute at the centre of US allegations that it may have been the source of the Covid-19 pandemic, has three live strains of bat coronavirus on-site, but none match the new global contagion according to its director. 

PARTING SHOT

The news was a bit full on today, so here’s a picture of some seagull chicks spotted in Dublin city. 

baby seagulls 346 Sam Boal via RollingNews.ie Sam Boal via RollingNews.ie

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:01 AM

We could do with building a few roads and houses now too lads.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:58 AM

Great news (cue the begrudgers..)

We don’t need roads, half the country has been tarmaced.

Housing, education and health should be the priorities…

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Jan 20th 2016, 12:46 PM

We don’t need a Cork/Limerick, Cork/Ringiskiddy, Macroom bypass?

Considering these 3 are in Cork alone I would believe that there would be requirements in most other counties, outside Dublin region

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:38 PM

Its underground rail in Dublin we need lads, and lots of it.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 21st 2016, 1:53 AM

Nah the underground for Kerry is on tge Healy-Rae shopping list. Dublin will be 2nd invtge queue.

Mute Timmay Timeo
    Favourite Timmay Timeo
    Jan 21st 2016, 8:52 AM

Job announcements should be graded based on quality and likelihood, a low being a poorly paid job with low likelihood of being filled and low chances of being sustained long term. A lot of jobs have been stripped to the bones and barely provide a living. Ask anyone under 30 what their working conditions are like.

Mute Donna Moss
    Favourite Donna Moss
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:02 AM

Good news at last. It’s nice to see Mayo getting something. Enda needs to get his county on side.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:05 AM

The headline is a bit of an exaggeration, are they not to be spread out over 5 years?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:18 AM

Good point Paul, the majority of the jobs being announced won’t be filled until 2019 so there’s a good chance that they won’t materialise for whatever reason.

A very good idea for an investigative piece would be to look at how many jobs are announced like this compared to how many the companies actually hire in the end.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:29 AM

“There’s a good chance they won’t materialise for whatever reason”
    Any chance you might expand on why they wouldn’t? Sound like you pulled that statement out of your ass with nothing whatsoever to back it up. If I didn’t know better I’d swear you are disappointed these jobs are announced, or maybe you are?

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:36 AM

It’s actually quite funny, as it shows the level of understanding journal commenters have about enterprise and job creation. Big companies creating jobs by the hundred don’t wake up one morning and go “right lads, let’s hire 400 people tomorrow”!
    Expansion plans are often years in the making. The announcements like this for jobs ye were whinging about in 2014 are probably only coming on stream now, the key is continuity. You can’t agree with the facts, unemployment almost halved in the last 4 years. Someone’s doing something right.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:45 AM

Anything else to say Fine Gael spin man?

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:51 AM

@ Jason

One question –

Is today’s news good or bad for the country?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:52 AM

Pepper, despite your clearly antagonistic attitude I’ll humour you with an answer.

The jobs could be cancelled or deferred for a variety of reasons. Change of leadership in the business, issues with acquiring skilled workers, financial difficulties or a change in the marketplace could all result in a freeze or cancellation of the plans. If your business starts to struggle or your market starts to suffer a slow-down, you can be guaranteed that the plan to take on 500 new employees would be the first one to go out the window.

As the majority of these jobs will be created in healthcare, you can be guaranteed that a shortage of skilled labour will be their primary issue and will likely result in them seeking foreign labour.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:54 AM

Barry, it’s lukewarm. While it’s great to hear that there will be a growth in jobs it’s also important to note that the majority could possibly never materialise due to the timescales mentioned.

It’s always important to take these announcements with a grain of salt.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:02 AM

@ Jason

Lukewarm? 500 new jobs today – 50,000 new jobs this year – and you are lukewarm? It is exceptionally positive news for people who want the best for the country.

But of course the “patriots” on here hate any good news because they mistakenly believe that continued good news will hurt their party’s chances in the next election.

I don’t care who you support – 500 new jobs today and 50,000 new jobs this year is brilliant news for Ireland.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:10 AM

Barry.. Hook line and sinker.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:17 AM

Barry, you seem to be misunderstanding my point.

In 2012, Enda Kenny himself publicly stated that job losses in the period between 2007 and 2011 were around 220,000. The CSO released the actual figures and it was closer to 330,000 job losses. When the government were claiming that it was great news that the unemployment rate had dropped to 10% the EU was quick to release their own report which highlighted that the actual figure, when adjusted to also include underemployment, was actually around 30%.

I’m not trying to say that the creation of 1,000 jobs is a bad thing and if it does in fact happen I’ll be pleasantly surprised. I’m merely taking this information with a lot of salt as there’s no guarantees that they will materialise and the people who announce them have a proven record of ‘adjusting’ the numbers for press releases.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:19 AM

Pepper Brooks, you’re commenting on The Journal, the pit of Irish internet ignorance. The people commenting here are in the main buffoons that think they’re smart but are actually massively stupid. Blah blah blah, Irish Water, blah blah blah, immigrants, blah blah blah, Fr Ted quotes, blah blah blah, Muslims, blah blah blah Enda Kenny. I mean, Jason Culligan actually lives in Holland, but spends a vast amount of time on an Irish news site commenting. Don’t get upset by these people.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:24 AM

Good man John,fair play talking about yourself again I see.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:25 AM

John, you say that as if it’s some big secret which you discovered. I never made it a secret that I’m an Irish citizen with an Irish passport and Irish family living in Ireland who happened to emigrate due to the economic crisis. If anything I’d say that gives me more of an insight into these topics than an anonymous Facebook account.

How about you provide an actual counter-argument instead of your ad hominem contributions?

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:52 AM

That’s it John, you keep lashing out with the personal stabs. Not only does your opinion have little impact on me, it also goes to show how little you actually have to say about the topic at hand. I will continue to post my opinions supported by facts and statistics safe in the knowledge that I’ve annoyed another person who is unwilling to put their name to their opinion.

Now, do you have anything at all to say about the current topic or are you just here to sling mud?

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Jan 20th 2016, 11:53 AM

Jason, I’d say you’d have to actually look and feel to be convinced that your aunt is not actually your uncle.

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Jan 20th 2016, 12:31 PM

Err… didn’t Brian Cowen announce Fianna Fail’s intention to create 300,000 jobs over five years, Fine Gael dismissed the plan at the time as a “repackaged jobs plan along with one more quango”, Leo Varadkar said it was “a PR joke that no unemployed person will be laughing at as it contains no funding, no new policies, no new programmes.” “Two months ago, the Government announced a revised National Development Plan which they claimed would create 270,000 jobs. Today, Brian Cowen and his colleagues announced a separate plan they said would create another 300,000 jobs.”
    “That’s 570,000 new jobs over five years or 110,000 jobs a year. That works out at 2,000 new jobs a week every week or twice the number that were created at the height of the boom. What a farce,” he concluded.
    All the parties made ridiculous announcements like this at various times, if we made a list of the promises Fiana Gael and Labour made over the past few years – and then promptly broke, instead of those they’re making now it’d be hilarious. Instead of listening to them say ‘I will, I will’ ask them ‘why didn’t you, why, didn’t you?’

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Jan 20th 2016, 3:40 PM

Deleted comments….But it was a boring argument with ill-informed people.

Mute The Destroyer
    Favourite The Destroyer
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:00 PM

@Jason, dont rise to them.. People read what they want and talk shite then if anyone says anything they dont agree with.. All you did was take the release with a pinch of salt, as anyone with even a normal level of intelligence would do.. If more and more jobs are being created, sure its good for the country, what we really should be demanding is to know where will the extra tax revenue go.. will it just vanish into the ether as normal.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 21st 2016, 1:54 AM

Enda needs ti f o back 2 Mayo

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 21st 2016, 1:58 AM

Yeah great news for Ireland. Meanwhile are graduated are being exploited by companies & paid pittance. Are these jobs also hoing to pay pittance – giving our children little prospects apart from buying a few cloths, a few drinks & being unable to afford to rent never mind buy a home. Cheap Labour.

Mute Bren MC
    Favourite Bren MC
    Jan 21st 2016, 2:39 AM

@pepper i realise that you only just opened your account. The journal is full of idiot anons.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:04 AM

No there is 1000 jobs to be created in the next 5 years. That’s the headline.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:25 AM

In early with the negative spin, littleone. Jobs are bad, m’kay.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:28 AM

Where is the spin Barry? Are all the jobs going on line this year? No. It will be 2019. 3 years away. A lot can happen in 3 years. These are not jobs set in stone.

Mute james comiskey
    Favourite james comiskey
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:33 AM

@littleone before 2019 means within three years

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:42 AM

@ Littleone

Firstly, the spin is the immediate focus on the perceived negative rather than the real and actual positive. Jobs are being created. 500 extra this year. Instead you focus on the time-frame and lament that they are not all immediate.

Secondly, the spin is in ignoring the huge upward trend in job creation. There are 1,000 jobs being created in the next five years. There are actually 1,000 jobs being created here per week.

Employment is up 140,000 over the last 3 years.

Unemployment is down from 15.1% to 8.8%.

But instead of greeting the news of further jobs postively – you choose to focus on the timy negative.

That’s the spin.

Thirdly, there is your is from your other comments here on this story-

“Last week 140 people lost jobs from bulmers , c& c in Tipperary. Jobs are still being lost in their hundreds.”

But net jobs are being created. There are far more jobs being created than being lost.

Spin Spin Spin.

Why can’t you just accept that today has brought good news for the country?

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:53 AM

Barry. It’s easy to make announcements about what’s going to happen over 5 years. Actually producing is what mstters Tell that to the people who lose jobs by the hundreds every week and entire areas are being destroyed that it’s just spin spin spin. Gross employment has risen by 140,000 over the last 3 years but the three years before that saw over 330,000 jobs lost. That’s not even including the jobs lost in the last three years while these 140,000 were being created.
    Haha good news for the country 1000 jobs over ,5 years . are you mad.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:06 AM

Mad that there are jobs being announced?

Mad that employment is up?

Mad that we have fewer people claiming social welfare and more earning wages?

Why would that make me mad?

It only makes you mad if you don’t want the best for the country.

Jobs are good. Job announcements are good.

The constant negative spin from so called patriots here is sickening.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:17 AM

Barry any jobs are good news , if these jobs materialise. But let’s be honest , the only way was up . but losses are still happening and these people will now be unemployed. This new job announcement works out on average at 250 jobs a year over the 5 years. Almost that amount was lost last week between bulmers 140 jobs and another 80 in galway.

Mute The Destroyer
    Favourite The Destroyer
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:03 PM

@littleone, youre dead right.. its a good announcement sure.. But when its set in stone and the people are paying tax, then and only then is it good news.. How many people emigrated because of no work.. What if these people had all stayed at home, would our unemployment figures be so “rosy”.. its all spin and ye are all stupid if you believe it.. We will have taken in more immigrants over that time that will be bumming than these jobs create so all the one really

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Jan 21st 2016, 1:59 AM

Ireland is dependant on the world wide economy doing well. Certain countries which we rely on are very shakey so when it comes to job predictions you must remember that is all they are. Forecasting the future is a difficult thing to do and all decisions are subject to change. I know id a few upcoming @ decisions which will cost jobs not only in cork but around the world.thats the game though,ups and downs.

Mute Rob Mills
    Favourite Rob Mills
    Jan 21st 2016, 2:50 AM
    Mute Rob Mills
    Favourite Rob Mills
    Jan 21st 2016, 2:52 AM

My reply was fer Barry Flanagan

Mute Al-Right
    Favourite Al-Right
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:12 AM

FG.Lab Desperate to get as much spin out there before the election..

Headline should say “A few hundred jobs will come on online this year….” hardly anything to get excited about!

Mute Robert Emmett Birrell
    Favourite Robert Emmett Birrell
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:22 AM

Yes, particularly when they will probably only replace job losses that will surely occur in the same time period.

Mute Robert Emmett Birrell
    Favourite Robert Emmett Birrell
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:24 AM

If anyone can’t see that this is nothing more than pre-election spin is surely a top class clown.

Mute Pepper Brooks
    Favourite Pepper Brooks
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:05 AM

Great to see the job friendly policies of this government bearing fruit. Well done to all involved. No doubt some clowns will soon start spoofing here about zero hour contracts or jobbridge or some other nonsense. This is great news for Ireland and for people who want to work for a living.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:08 AM

200 jobs a year for the next 5 years… Uber excited

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:11 AM

Job friendly policies. Last week 140 people lost jobs from bulmers , c& c in Tipperary. Jobs are still being lost in their hundreds.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:19 AM

Yet again the doom merchants are out to tell us why this is not actually good news. How patriotic. The upward trend is what’s important. Employment has risen by 140,000 over the last three years. Unemployment is down from 15.1% to 8.8%. But please continue with the negative spin.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:25 AM

I wish they would give all the facts though. Who is on schemes like jobs bridge, doing courses, how many jobs created vs lost.. Simple stuff. It’s too easy to fudge figures these days to look good.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:26 AM

There is no doubt that things are getting better. I don’t know if that’s down to the government or external improvements.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:32 AM

@ Stephen Devlin

It’s very easy to get those figures Stephen.

Go to the CSO Website. Link is here –

http://www.cso.ie/en/releasesandpublications/er/lr/liveregisterdecember2015/

Per the official stats, the number of people on “activation programs” (i.e. Back to Work/Jobbridge/Gateway) is down from 16,500 to 15,500 over the last year.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:36 AM

You’re being disingenuous with your figures. Gross employment has risen by 140,000 over the last 3 years but the three years before that saw over 330,000 jobs lost. That’s not even including the jobs lost in the last three years while these 140,000 were being created.

We only started to see a net growth in 2014 and even still it’s a long way away from pre-crash levels and doesn’t factor in emigration levels.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:49 AM

@ Jason

Where did I claim that things were back to 2007 levels?

All I’ve said is that things are much, much better, and that the trend is upward. Of course there is still a way to go, but in 2007 we had full employment. We’re nowhere near that yet but we’re in a far better place than we were.

It is disingenuous to pretend that things aren’t getting better.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:58 AM

You’re being disingenuous by not providing the full picture. You’re selecting the one figure which looks positive and pushing only that figure when the reality is there’s a lot more statistics and figures involved which show that the situation at the moment isn’t all sunshine and rainbows.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:11 AM

Never said sunshine and rainbows, Jason.

And I’m not selecting one figure. I’m focusing on the massively upward trend over the last three years – not one outlying statistic.

When it comes to employment in Ireland the last three yeas have been very positive.

That is the fact.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:21 AM

Not entirely, in fact only 2014 and 2015 saw a net growth in job creation as 2013 still saw more jobs being lost than being created. This was accompanied by a mild growth of about 20,000 net jobs in 2014 and an ‘abnormally’ high net growth in 2015. The trend was upwards for a period but it hasn’t been upwards the entire way. In fact the last 3 months of 2015 saw no net job growth and this could continue into 2016.

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:25 AM

Barry CSO figures are too broad in terms if I get 6 contracts this year that’s counted as 6 new jobs the “government” has created

Mute Nigel Ganley
    Favourite Nigel Ganley
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:42 AM

Great news in fairness but I find it unbelievable that there has been absolutely no mention in any media outlet about the closing of the Oracle office in Galway last week with the loss of 70 jobs. You’d know an election is looming.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:31 AM

Didn’t Oracle announce 500 new jobs the other week? Granted, in Dublin, but they are a private company and locate wherever they like.

Mute Nigel Ganley
    Favourite Nigel Ganley
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:42 AM

Ready my comment again. I never questioned the motives of Oracle, I simple pointed out the lack of reporting on job losses in our media.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:50 AM

When the 500 new jobs were announced, i’m pretty sure the 70 losses in Galway were also mentioned. But if a net 430 jobs are created by a private company, that would generally be framed in a positive manner, don’t you think?

Mute Charles Williams
    Favourite Charles Williams
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:47 AM

A Labour Minister Kathleen Lynch welcoming the continued privatisation of the health sector with the creation of 800 jobs by Nua Healthcare disabilities services. Says a lot about Labour and the shocking neglect in investment in all areas of the health service including disabilities and mental health. Can we expect the Ambulance and ED services to be privatised next.?

Mute Richard McCarthy
    Favourite Richard McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2016, 12:50 PM

,Yea terrible news,just terrible,800 new jobs in a private heath care company,the state should have a complete monopoly because they have been such a shining light in hospital care and where the powerfull vested interests put their own welfare first,its not hard to figure out why 50% of the population plan to pay for private health care themselves,its because they are more efficient with modern up to date facilties and where the only waiting times on trollies is out on the golf course.

Mute Barry Flanagan
    Favourite Barry Flanagan
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:14 AM

Fantastic news for the country and great to see a small geographical spread at least.

Mute Declan J Walsh
    Favourite Declan J Walsh
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:15 PM

This is really wonderful news for Nenagh. 300 jobs for a town like Nenagh is equivalent to thousands of jobs being announced for Dublin or Cork.

Mute Dee Mullins
    Favourite Dee Mullins
    Jan 20th 2016, 4:39 PM

@ Anthony,

I’m starting with them as a Social Care Worker. I was made redundant on 10th December 2015. Nua are expanding and I for one, am very very grateful that I was able to get a job with them.

So these jobs are very, very real……try looking on jobs.ie, irishjobs.ie and you’ll see all the jobs Nua are advertising.

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:33 AM

We’re back baby!

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:28 AM

Back to the future?

Mute Nigel Davis
    Favourite Nigel Davis
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:19 AM

It is great news. However, many of these jobs will go people outside Ireland. Our education system is failing students when it comes to languages.

We really need to introduce foreign languages in primary school level.

But one issue that we really need to debate is

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:41 AM

We have a foreign language in primary school.. Irish, and when you finish secondary school you might be able to string a few sentences together. Then a few years later BOOM all you remember is how to ask is..can I go to the toilet or I like sweets..

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Jan 20th 2016, 11:21 PM

So Stephen, what is the Polish for may I go to the toilet.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:36 AM

Who pays for the jobs? Disability centres are a cost to the bottom line. Subsidised by taxpayers.

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Jan 20th 2016, 9:51 AM

300 jobs at Veolia…

I wonder are they in Veolia Transdev.

Hopefully that fresh talent to run at least a reduced Luas service when the glorified button pushers start going on a ridiculous strike demanding a 40% raise to match CIE train drivers.

Jan 20th 2016, 5:13 PM

How many jobs be promised before the election in total or is that my scepticism…

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 20th 2016, 11:12 PM

Government spin,all in the next five years, and veolia,privatising our water,no,no,no.

Mute Anthony Whelan
    Favourite Anthony Whelan
    Jan 20th 2016, 1:57 PM

Funny when you try to click on sites to see about these so called jobs all I ever seem to get are links that lead to nowhere. Advertise them for the public to apply so we know they real for a change

Mute DoReMi
    Favourite DoReMi
    Jan 20th 2016, 11:26 AM

I got a few potholes outside my house how about the government adding jobs to the list and get people off the dole

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jan 20th 2016, 12:56 PM

People ask me why I think I’m better than the trolls who whinge about good news on sites like thejournal.ie.
    I just visit the site, sigh and gently say “I don’t know”.

Mute Anne Kerins
    Favourite Anne Kerins
    Jan 21st 2016, 12:43 AM

Great election timing, but cynical people like me dont believe any of this dribble

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Jan 20th 2016, 11:07 PM

Fantastic election jobs, delighted for those that will “eventually” get a placement, its amazing to see all this good news being released in dribs and drabs just before the election.

Mute John Moloney
    Favourite John Moloney
    Jan 21st 2016, 12:30 AM

Apple computers laid off 30 today no publicity

Mute John Moloney
    Favourite John Moloney
    Jan 21st 2016, 12:22 AM

While this is good news apple computers laid off 30 staff in cork today

Mute david mc nally
    Favourite david mc nally
    Jan 21st 2016, 12:12 PM

Great more “ghost jobs” and in an industry where only a small percentage are even qualified and most of these jobs will more than likely be filled internally as always,…while jobsites have a worse selection of jobs available than ever

Mute Virtual Architect
    Favourite Virtual Architect
    Jan 21st 2016, 9:32 AM

I love the irony that socialists (K Lynch) celebrate these new jobs when they aren’t possible without the incentives of profit and (free market) capitalism.