You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fintan McCarthy and Paul O'Donovan, gold, on the podium for the Lightweight Men's Double Sculls PA

'A tremendous achievement’: Ireland sends congratulations as Skibbereen pair take gold in Tokyo

President Michael D Higgins congratulated the pair on their “tremendous” achievement

MESSAGES OF CONGRATULATIONS are pouring in for Paul O’Donovan and Fintan McCarthy who were crowned Olympic champions in Tokyo this morning after winning the men’s lightweight double sculls final. 

President Michael D Higgins has led the messages of congratulations to the Skibbereen pair on winning Ireland’s first-ever rowing Olympic gold in Tokyo.

“After the magnificent success in women’s rowing yesterday, today we celebrate Ireland’s first Olympic gold medal in rowing, won so deservedly by Paul O’Donovan and Fintan McCarthy in the lightweight double sculls,” said President Higgins on Twitter.

“Theirs is a tremendous achievement, which gives great inspiration to young people and aspiring athletes all over Ireland.”

Germany, who had dominated the first half of the race, took second after a final surge from O’Donovan and McCarthy in the last 500m was enough for the pair to take gold.

“The Germans and Italians always have a quick start, so for the first time we had a quick start as well, not for lack of effort,” O’Donovan said after the race.

“It was a bit of a surprise that it paid off and we weren’t totally dropped in the first 500m, so that was good. And then we put the heads down and ploughed on so it was good.”

Reacting to the win, McCarthy said:

“It feels pretty good. We can’t complain! We had a really good race – but a tough one. The Germans were flying so it was hard. I was really excited when we first crossed the line and there was a bit of relief as well.

We have had a good time all week, so we are a bit sad that it is all over. We hadn’t had too much time to think about it but it feels pretty good and hopefully it will be that way for a while.

The pair told Morning Ireland their success was down to a combination of hard work and luck. 

“You need a bit of luck. We were born into the place we were born into and there’s a rowing club nearby,” O’Donovan said.

“Fundamentally, we did a whole lot of training – that’s the main ingredient,” he said.

Fintan’s mother Sue told the same programme that pride doesn’t cover how the family are feeling, “it is so much more than that.”

“We hope beyond hope that they would [win]. They were on form, they’ve been on form all season, and it seemed that no one could touch them. So, we just hoped that would be the case again today. They didn’t let us down.”

Taoiseach Micheál Martin offered his congratulations to the pair this morning, saying it will “inspire generations to come”.

An outstanding gold medal for Paul O’Donovan and Fintan McCarthy. Breathtaking victory in the lightweight double sculls – a race that will live long in history.

“A special day for Irish rowing and the Irish people,” he tweeted

“I’m so happy about it – I think the extraordinary commitment is something to behold. This will inspire generations to come,” Martin also told Newstalk Breakfast.

“To the people of Ireland, it’s a proud moment.”

Tánaiste Leo Varadkar tweeted: “Gold!!! What an outstanding result for Fintan McCarthy and Paul O’Donovan. World champions and now Olympic Gold!”. 

Fianna Fáil TD for Cork South West Christopher O’Sullivan said the win was the “proudest ever moment in West Cork’s sporting history”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute thenightmancometh
    Favourite thenightmancometh
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:46 PM

Moorooned

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:33 PM

No bull there, it was the magic mushrooms that done it..!!

Mute Daiga Klindzane
    Favourite Daiga Klindzane
    Oct 1st 2014, 4:14 PM

if u read it all than u seen that it sed two months old calf and the cow was missing for two months…cows expecting for 9 months just like humans…so think agen about ur magic mushrooom!!

Mute Eileen Charters
    Favourite Eileen Charters
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:47 PM

Ah poor moo cow. The udders didn’t like her!!!

Mute Dirk Diggler
    Favourite Dirk Diggler
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:46 PM

I’m delighted she was rescued the steaks were high.

Mute Dirk Diggler
    Favourite Dirk Diggler
    Sep 30th 2014, 6:10 PM

The weathers nice now but in another few weeks she would have been friesian.

Mute Máirtín
    Favourite Máirtín
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:33 PM

Amoozing!…… I’ll grab my coat.

Mute Gravel Pitt
    Favourite Gravel Pitt
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:42 PM

Baaaaaah

Mute Stephen Ring
    Favourite Stephen Ring
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:56 PM

I’d say the farmer creamed himself when he found her

Mute michael collins
    Favourite michael collins
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:20 PM

Milking this story…..only been told calf of it …..

Mute Shaunagh Hickey
    Favourite Shaunagh Hickey
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:42 PM

So the others wanted rid of her… Bunch of cows!!

Mute Marguerite Lynch
    Favourite Marguerite Lynch
    Sep 30th 2014, 8:12 PM

thats great, they should have her on the late late.

Mute Rosanne Donovan
    Favourite Rosanne Donovan
    Sep 30th 2014, 8:35 PM

Great idea !!! Bet she would make more sense that the 2 legged mad dog that was on it last week!

Mute Astrid Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Astrid Fitzpatrick
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:41 PM

lucky cow

Mute Gavin Duff
    Favourite Gavin Duff
    Sep 30th 2014, 6:03 PM

“She was pushed into the lake by other cows while they were drinking.” A typical student night out then really…

Mute colin power
    Favourite colin power
    Sep 30th 2014, 3:51 PM

What a mooving story… Sorry.. Couldn’t resist

Mute Ablitive
    Favourite Ablitive
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:07 PM

Moderators, can you please give this thread the hoof.

Mute Gary Guilfoyle
    Favourite Gary Guilfoyle
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:09 PM

Well I’ll beef hooked

Mute Craig Colley
    Favourite Craig Colley
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:07 PM

Who are these people that don’t turn their camera’s sideways!

Mute Silver Fox
    Favourite Silver Fox
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:17 PM

Celebrity survivor moooove over. Survivor – Meath style is coming.

Mute Darren Mullen
    Favourite Darren Mullen
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:07 PM

Wish some of the cattle in the dail would go missing.

Mute Powerful Sayings
    Favourite Powerful Sayings
    Sep 30th 2014, 6:37 PM

I don’t think there is cattle in the dail.

Mute Ciarán O'Connell
    Favourite Ciarán O'Connell
    Oct 1st 2014, 2:05 AM

the island the cow is on is the site of an old crannog. its fairly possible she walked over. In summer months you can walk to the island in waders

Mute Rosanne Donovan
    Favourite Rosanne Donovan
    Sep 30th 2014, 8:30 PM

What a load of bullocks !!!

Mute Paul Radford
    Favourite Paul Radford
    Sep 30th 2014, 6:40 PM

Great story but did anyone notice that farmer thick nor his young companion were not wearing life jackets while out on a lake.
    We wonder how these accidents happen when hear of lives lost on small lake to drowning.

Mute Stephen Earle
    Favourite Stephen Earle
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:35 PM

Load of bull ?

Mute Ollie
    Favourite Ollie
    Oct 1st 2014, 12:33 AM

Awh I’m glad they found her and her baby :-)

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:19 PM

Why are cattle being allowed access to a lake! With all the talk of septic tank inspections to protect groundwater, would it not make sense to keep cattle covered in faeces from wading in a lake! The farmer should be prosecuted and forced to protect the lake.

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:34 PM

Looks like a lot of people have developed a taste for e coli.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:46 PM

Well you’re obviously not from the country and know nothing about farming or the countryside in general. It’s a very rare thing that cattle out in fields are covered in faeces. Cattle usually only get dirty when they are kept indoors during the winter or when they are corralled for an extended period of time in yards due to being medicated, awaiting milking, etc. Anyway, lots of other animals urinate and defecate into rivers and lakes, including badgers, foxes, rabbits, hares, fish, and pretty much every other animal we have in this country. On top of that, no one in Ireland uses water directly from a river or lake for any domestic use. It’s always treated unless you have your own well, in which case the water has been a long time removed from rivers and lakes and cleansed naturally by the surrounding rock. Oh, and maybe we can let the cows do what’s natural until we humans stop pumping billions of gallons of our own excrement and waste into our own water supplies.

Mute Eileen Charters
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:10 PM

Well said Brian…

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:21 PM

I am 50 yards from a herd of cattle right now. They in turn are fenced off from a stream 100 yards in the other direction. Thanks for the lecture though.

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:23 PM

You, sir, are a fool

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:24 PM

Btw, aside from the faecal contamination of groundwater, which in no way compares with natural levels, there is the additional risk of spreading bovine TB by allowing cattle access to grounwater in this manner. Even farmers organisations acknowledge the need to keep cattle out of our waterways. The debate was whether 10m was sufficient or over the top.

Mute Startled Sapien
    Favourite Startled Sapien
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:56 PM

Lake water is surface water Colin C.

Mute Ted Crilly
    Favourite Ted Crilly
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:34 PM

Hoof Hearted!

Mute galway2007
    Favourite galway2007
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:28 PM

Mad cow is still about so

Mute Edmond O'Donovan
    Favourite Edmond O'Donovan
    Oct 1st 2014, 1:45 PM

The island on Lough Breakey is a Crannog that has now become overgrown with trees. The cow is likely to have waded out onto the ‘island’ to calf, cows are naturally forest animals and instinctively seek the cover of woodland if available, particularly when calving.
    As an aside, cows do not as a general rule push other cows into lakes, that’s more of a human trait!

Mute Jim bean
    Favourite Jim bean
    Sep 30th 2014, 4:01 PM

The young male cow went in search of a female as they are highly sexual creatures at this time of season,as you can see his skin is brown from the green grass he eats..
    David Attenborough will be back in 5..

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:21 PM

Male cow? It’s not, by any chance, looking for a female bull? Let’s just say, if you ever decide to milk a cow, let me know. I’ll bring a chair, some popcorn and something to calm me down after the inevitable bout of side-splitting laughter. Oh, and I’ll have the ambulance on speed dial for you…

Mute Eileen Charters
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:54 PM

I’ll go along for the craic too Brian!!
    No popcorn for me though. Gets caught in me throat ..

Mute Peter Mccabe
    Favourite Peter Mccabe
    Oct 9th 2014, 5:03 PM

Congratulations to my Grand daughter Niamh Carolan, Lossett for starting all the story of the cow and calf on Breakey Lake as I always called it when fishing there rather than Lough Breakey. That was in the good old days of the 1950′s. I did notice that she got very little comments or good wishes for her efforts. She posted the original video after using her Iphone when visiting the shore of the lake. Well done to her Dad Kevin who also.appears in the video link. You became famous overnight Niamh so well done from Grandad Peter

Mute Ciaran Rogan
    Favourite Ciaran Rogan
    Oct 1st 2014, 5:26 AM

(insert cow pun here)

Mute Gavin Duff
    Favourite Gavin Duff
    Sep 30th 2014, 6:05 PM

“She was pushed into the lake by other cows when they were drinking.” A typical student night out really…

Mute PAUL NICHOLSON
    Favourite PAUL NICHOLSON
    Oct 1st 2014, 8:42 AM

Was Wilson ok.

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Sep 30th 2014, 5:01 PM

Bet ya enda put the cow there

Mute Frankie Pyburn
    Favourite Frankie Pyburn
    Oct 1st 2014, 10:13 AM

I don’t think the farmer put a lot of effort into the search at any time the animal was after all able to walk onto the island due to very dry summer anyway he had free grazeing

Mute Anita Aspill Davidson
    Favourite Anita Aspill Davidson
    Oct 1st 2014, 11:03 AM

Don’t bother watching the video. 3min 47 seconds of boring.