You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA

President Higgins to meet UK's Charles ahead of tomorrow's coronation

Michael D Higgins will become the first Irish head of state to attend a UK coronation.

PRESIDENT MICHAEL D Higgins will meet the United Kingdom’s King Charles  tonight before becoming the first Irish head of state to attend a coronation.

Higgins and his wife Sabina will be guests at a reception at Buckingham Palace on the eve of the coronation ceremony in London.

It will be the ninth occasion the two heads of state have met and continues a long-standing friendship between the two.

Higgins and his wife will then attend the coronation tomorrow at Westminster Abbey. 

embedded219512138 The king and Michael D Higgins have met on numerous occasions PA / John Stillwell PA / John Stillwell / John Stillwell

To mark the event, the president and his wife requested the Tree Council of Ireland to plant a native Irish oak tree in the woodland forest of Aurora in Co Wicklow.

The gesture was to acknowledge the King’s commitment to environmental sustainability.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar is also expected to attend the coronation.

Political leaders from Northern Ireland have also been invited.

Among those who will attend is Sinn Fein vice president Michelle O’Neill in another demonstration of the markedly improved relations between the republican movement and the royal family since the peace process.

24 Comments
    Mute Relevent?
    Favourite Relevent?
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:15 PM

Keegan is a nightmare, has his own agenda, tried to leave a legacy in Dun Laoighre / Rathdown in the shape of a unwanted new library building, he battered the local economy there, was a big party when he left for DCC. He is also trying to ruin ambulance service in Dublin, to save a few quid instead of life’s

Mute Brian Mc Truck
    Favourite Brian Mc Truck
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:00 PM

Lets just hope that Dublin City Council have no hand, act or part to play in Irelands proposed bid to stage the rugby world in 2023…they’d make a complete balls of it and mess it up for everyone.

Mute David Higgs
    Favourite David Higgs
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:33 PM

Exactly, he has an agenda. I’m not quite sure how the anti-country music agenda ties in with his cycling agenda, but it’s all an agenda.

Who does he think he is, building libraries (who uses them??), and enforcing the planning law. Doesn’t he know that laws are flexible things, to be bent as the crowd/money wants.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jul 18th 2014, 5:02 PM

Yes. It is scandalous that a civic figure should not bend to pressure. Timmy Dooley is right. FF may have been put out of office but that doesn’t mean that their modus operandi has to be jettisoned too.

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Jul 18th 2014, 5:13 PM

It looks like Keegan is going to be the scapegoat for this when he was only doing his job, and doing it correctly. Dodgy dealings have become the norm in Ireland today and refusal to conduct business in that way, as Keegan did, can result in you losing your job. It’s ironic when you think of the people who were taking backhanders being allowed to walk away with huge pay offs.

Mute Relevent?
    Favourite Relevent?
    Jul 18th 2014, 9:25 PM

Was a perfectly good library there already, the money €37 million, could have been used for other local amenities.

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    Jul 19th 2014, 8:45 AM

Patrick st in dun laoighre is like a ghost town with his carefull planing 50% of the shops are closed down but we have nice bollards cycle lanes but no room for parking

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:08 PM

DCC need to admit they bottled it at the last minute and decided to only give 3 instead of 5. The question is why!

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Favourite Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:13 PM

They didn’t bottle it….they gave permission for 3….Brookes thought he was bigger when he demanded 5….promoter pushed ahead and sold for 5 because he thought he was bigger too….in the end the council was the biggest because they have the power

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:41 PM

He didn’t demand 5. He was offered 5 by Aiken and he wanted to stick to that. DCC said they were supportive if it but the DCC had made up their mind that it was 3 instead of 5 in Feb. DCC said nothing for 6 months and have admitted in their first hearing that they didn’t think it would matter if they said it then or 6 months later. DCC are a bunch of clowns. You should pay more attention to what has actually happened.

Mute LornaConsidine
    Favourite LornaConsidine
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:15 PM

I think we all know now whose fault this really is…………….One Direction!!!!

If they hadn’t had their 3 concerts we’ed have been sorted ;)

Mute Michael Roughan
    Favourite Michael Roughan
    Jul 18th 2014, 7:27 PM

Down in Clare, when the hospital was been down sized and Shannon was losing its London flight , there was no sign or word from Dooley at all, he just disappeared. Now, he is awful worried about poor Mr Brookes in Dublin !

Mute phil
    Favourite phil
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:32 PM

If it’s true he has family living in the area. The decision not to grant the license is a blatant conflict of interest. My guess is that Aiken didn’t throw enough of a backhander his way.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:51 PM

Maybe he wouldn’t accept a backhander.

Mute Steve Tracey
    Favourite Steve Tracey
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:05 PM

Phil
    He owns a house close to Croke which (I believe) his son rents from him. So yes he does have a vested interest, no matter how small.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:08 PM

Is that not libellous?

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:14 PM

Ted, yes it is but I doubt if Phil will volunteer his isp address.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:51 PM

Keegan doesn’t own that house – it was his senior planner who did

Mute Mr Spok
    Favourite Mr Spok
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:17 PM

Ahh Jaysus James,

Don’t let the facts get in the way of a Journal rant

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:17 PM

May I enquire as to why these alleged “public representatives” are “grilling” the City Manager for a second time? I can think of a few folk who might benefit from a so called grilling, and they ain’t him. These people are transparent attention seekers and should be truly ashamed of themselves. With what is going on in the world, and this country, at the moment THIS is what they concern themselves with. KICK THEM OUT.

Mute andyh
    Favourite andyh
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:37 PM

Notice that the journal and other publications now tend to use the expression “grilling” for those appearing in front of oireachtas committees. That use of language suggests a degree of guilt or wrongdoing and plays into the direction such committees have taken of late. Once again I breathe a sigh of relief that the referendum last year was voted down as I have doubt that those invited to appear will adopt a more defensive approach to the political grandstanding thereby rendering redundant the potential efficacy of the committees.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:51 PM

Didn’t notice Aiken or the GAA being subjected to a ‘grilling’ wonder why?

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:11 PM

Possibly because they are not paid from the public purse. Their attendance was elective.

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:43 PM

They were already given a “grilling”. the DCC are up for another one as it’s apparent that they are the ones who screwed up

Mute Terry McMahon
    Favourite Terry McMahon
    Jul 18th 2014, 6:05 PM

Probably because like all TD’s they pander to the will of the mighty GAA… Sure didn’t they decide to push ahead with all this crap knowing full well that there would be objections from residents. Objections that the GAA assumed DCC would ignore…

Came back to bite McKEnna and Co squarely in the backside… Don’t see O’Mahony or Dimmy Tooley demanding those sleeveen FCUK’s back in…!!! God forbid they’d upset them for fear of not being able to hit them up for a few tickets to crap like in Croker

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 18th 2014, 6:19 PM

So now if we even think that there might be objections we just shouldn’t bother?

So now we allow less than one per cent dictate to everyone else?

By jaysus we’ll be going places then.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 18th 2014, 6:22 PM

And they can’t ‘demand’ McKenna or Aiken in at all. They are private citizens who accepted an invitation.

Mr. Keegan, being paid from the public purse is someone who can be required to attend the committee and on both occasions he obfuscated before attending. In my opinion that says it all about his attitude towards those who pay his wages and those elected to represent them.

Mute Ivan Ó HAonasa
    Favourite Ivan Ó HAonasa

Enough already we’re all sick to the teeth of it now

Mute Tony Collis
    Favourite Tony Collis
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:29 PM

Why are you taking the time to read the article and leave a stupid comment if your so sick of it???

Mute Eamonn Morrissey
    Favourite Eamonn Morrissey
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:33 PM

I’m sick of people being sick of it

Mute Mr Spok
    Favourite Mr Spok
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:57 PM

Martin phoned in this morning to say he wouldn’t be in ’cause he’s sick. I said how sick? He said I’m in bed here with me sister. Now that’s sick

Mute Dec smith
    Favourite Dec smith
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:17 PM

Im sick of people who say they are sick of listening to people about been sick :)

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jul 18th 2014, 6:39 PM

I’m sick of people telling us all that they are sick of being sick of it. (Sic!!!)

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:58 PM

every concert that is advertised in advance of actually taking place alwys includes the proviso of securing a licence…These concerts were not any different..So the process is a irish joke as you cannot gauge the market demands for tickets until they go on sale and you cannot look for a licence for more than one concert until the demand of fans is determined by the number of tickets sold.joke absolute joke and should not be surprised that it is public sector unelected city managers that set the rules

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:22 PM

I wonder is he a very mean person? Cyclists generally are mean. Wouldn’t spend a cent on bus fare or petrol. He may even delight in the fact that taxes from petrol are paying his huge wage and pension. Does he get milage? I bet he claims the maximum. It is certainly mean spirited to cause so many people such heartache but a mean person wouldn’t mind. He might even be a right wing catholic who thinks people should suffer and not have too much pleasure.

Mute Richard McCarthy
    Favourite Richard McCarthy
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:10 PM

All cyclists are mean,really,i cycle to keep fit and because i enjoy it so much,saving money is not a priority for me,in fact i travel a lot and quite enjoy spending lots of it,and comparing them to the Dublin city manager is just plain stupid.

Mute Mr Spok
    Favourite Mr Spok
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:20 PM

@ Minfulirish,

You need help

Mute Myles Duffy
    Favourite Myles Duffy
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:50 PM

Mr Keegan needs to cycle off and end his career in some primitive, backward kingdom that needs a city manager, who is a killjoy with little capacity for either lateral or creative thinking and the faster that he pedals in that direction, without looking over his shoulder, the better.

Mute Seb Lotus
    Favourite Seb Lotus
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:05 PM

If I didn’t know any better, I’d swear Alan Shatter wrote Owen Keegan’s opening statement.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jul 18th 2014, 5:25 PM

Who really is telling the PORKIES ?.

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:30 PM

He granted 3 concerts above what was planned for in that year exposing himself and DCC to legal problems to other applications for planning in the future that may have been turned down. Brooks et al threw their rattles out of their prams. No concerts, no money into the economy and the countries over reaction makes us look like idiots.

It’s over FFS.

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:57 PM

When planning regulations weren’t followed tribunals resulted. Now when we have good honest public officials doing their jobs and following the law of the land people don’t like that !! Bizarre. Either we follow the rules or we don’t we can’t pick and choose that just wouldn’t work and would leave it open to corruption once again. The performer and promoter thought they could ride roughshod over the regulations and got the shock of their lives when the regulations were upheld. A compromise was offered remember and that compromise was rejected.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:10 PM

The problem is Mr. Keegan did not follow regulations. If he had done he would have rejected all five concerts wen the application was made in early April as the three concerts that are apparently all that are allowed per year had already been allowed.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:19 PM

Alan the planning attached to Croke Park allows for 3 without a licence any more than that a license has to be applied for, the GAA, Aiken and Brooks should have been cognisant of resident opposition and their right to object.Thats what happened they objected 5 concerts sold DCC weighed up the rights of residents and the need for the gigs 3 granted a licence. Brooks threw a hissy fit now no concerts.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage

@alan, damned if you do, damned if you don’t and screwed in the national media if you attempt the middle ground

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:25 PM

Roughly 300 objections, some faked. There are 27000 houses inside the Croke Park cordon. So that’s about .1 per cent of residents who objected.

Democracy in action alright.

Keegan made a total mess of this. An it’s not the first time he’s ridden roughshod over the people he is supposed to serve.

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:40 PM

once again…. As mike said there were no laws broken in the granting of licences. Unlike what mike said Aiken and the GAA had received reasonable assurances from DCC that the licences would be granted, as all promoters must do because of the cockamamie way we insist on doing concert licencing. DCC then went back on their word and only grand 3 at the behest of a vast minority of objectors and one pillock who lives in castleknock. They bowed to a minority of vested interests (including keegans own) and call it a victory for democracy. Someone tell me what more they GAA or Aiken could have done, there was demand for 5, no laws preventing 5, they asked for 5 licences were told they’d get them, they sold tickets on that basis. What could they have done differently?

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:07 PM

Ciaran I suggest you listen to Mr Keegan’s answers to the Dail committee about assurances. He states he didn’t give any.

Mute Ciarán
    Favourite Ciarán
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:11 PM

He’s splitting hairs, he admits telling them he would support 5 concerts, how is that not effectively an assurance. If they were required to sign some form of assurance form then that would be them basically granting the licence there and then.

Mute Seamus O'ceadagain
    Favourite Seamus O'ceadagain
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:14 PM

Alan O’Connor….keegan serves the law….the law serves the people….if people exercise their right to access the law (by objection) then Keegan is duty bound to act upon the law….seems to me he did his best to compromise but he hit against a stonewall

Mute Gwen Denny
    Favourite Gwen Denny
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:15 PM

Which residents are these mike ?? The real ones that objected or the 100 or so fake ones ????????? . Plus in my opinion Garth Brooks is damned if he does and damned if he doesn’t . If he had played any 3 nights the people on the other 2 nights would have been disappointed so he is right , how was he expected to pick and choose who to disappoint . I for one was so looking forward to the concert on the Friday but would have felt guilty for the people missing it and the fun was taken out of it for me personally .

Mute TheLoneHurler
    Favourite TheLoneHurler
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:19 PM

Mike Hunt must be Keegan’s right-hand man.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:24 PM

Lone just someone with a different opinion than the mob.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:28 PM

There’s NO law that says he is duty bound to act. Merely to take into account. Now what sane person would upend the plans of 160000 people because less than one tenth of one per cent of people living in the affected area objected (and it’s accepted that at least some of these objections are fake.

Mute Stephen Earle
    Favourite Stephen Earle
    Jul 18th 2014, 5:21 PM

Thats one percent not .1 percent

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Jul 18th 2014, 6:16 PM

Apologies.

Mute John McGovern
    Favourite John McGovern
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:08 PM

Did anyone notice how many times Owen Keegan touched his nose, ear or head during his presentation? If you check out characteristics of “nonverbal behaviour on most sources, you will see something similar to the following from http://www.blifaloo.com/info/lies.php

Signs of Deception:Body Language of Lies:
    • Physical expression will be limited and stiff, with few arm and hand movements. Hand, arm and leg movement are toward their own body the liar takes up less space.

• A person who is lying to you will avoid making eye contact.

• Hands touching their face, throat & mouth. Touching or scratching the nose or behind their ear. Not likely to touch his chest/heart with an open hand.

I counted 19 touches during his presentation.
    Interesting!!!

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:21 PM

Did you analyse the GAA and Aiken when they made their presentation also.

Mute John McGovern
    Favourite John McGovern
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:24 PM

I did, and they didn’t!!!

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:05 PM

And the way he never finished his tea.

Mute Mike hunt
    Favourite Mike hunt
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:10 PM

Didn’t tell the full truth either, you’re right.

Mute BelaFairCity
    Favourite BelaFairCity
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:23 PM

So Metallica & seagulls are too loud, thank you Fianna Fail for this week’s contribtuion to the countries major issues.

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:57 PM

Owen Keegan appears to have given contradictory evidence over the last few days. His version of events is becoming more shaky and dubious as the inquiries continue.

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:59 PM

When dealing with public servants don’t forget the golden rule.

Always get it in writing.

Mute Galwaybay
    Favourite Galwaybay
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:49 PM

Well someone is telling lies. My betting its the DCC manager.

Mute Colin Forbes
    Favourite Colin Forbes
    Jul 18th 2014, 6:41 PM

Insufferable prat. Destroyed Dunlaoghaire

Mute Dorothy Kavanagh
    Favourite Dorothy Kavanagh
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:08 PM

I watched the majority of this meeting today as DCC would be attending. The concensus of the majority in attendance was that this fiasco could have been avoided. DCC in February were aware but hadn’t agreed to 5 only 3 as that is the agreement in their procedures.

I do not know why they didn’t get it all resolved in February when the tickets were sold and not an the eleventh hour when the 400k had made the necessary travel & accomodation arrangements.

There was a TD in attendance that I didnot see his name. He is from Tipperary South. The chairman kept interupting him. The TD has a document from 1993 when there was a planning fiasco by DCC and our friend Owen that cost the city €1M.

We will be talking about this for the next 20 years but will the country’s international reputation be repaired by then?

The Garda are investigating the fraudulent signatures.Will we see the outcome of this. I think not.

I hope that the planning, license & procedures are reviewed and altered for the future.

A huge lesson learned for all. Eh Owen?

Mute Vinny Murphy
    Favourite Vinny Murphy

Yawn….

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:55 PM

Massive yawn!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:34 PM

Jeez, I previously thought Timmy Dooley was merely a fool. It now transpires he is an absolute cretin.

Mute David Higgs
    Favourite David Higgs
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:29 PM

leave poor Dimmy Tooley alone.

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Jul 18th 2014, 5:04 PM

Well it has to be said that Timmy Dooley is 100% correct here, I don’t know what party he’s with , what kind of nonsense is it to say I said it would be ok but I didn’t give any assurance ?

Mute Killian Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Killian Fitzpatrick
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:41 PM

How out of touch are our TD’s, “You weren’t talking about Metallica here. It wasn’t going to be a massive rave.It could have been fairly assumed that it wasn’t going to be a drunken bash for five nights” –
    (1) Metallica don’t play the type of music you would hear at a rave
    (2) Most people are not drunk at a rave
    (3) I’ve a very funny feeling, if the concerts went ahead, it would have been a very drunken bash.

Mute tom stamp
    Favourite tom stamp
    Jul 18th 2014, 9:39 PM

The lva said they would lose income equal to 7.5 pints per person attending the concerts if they were cancelled. No drunkenness there!

Mute Derry Dillon
    Favourite Derry Dillon
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:25 PM

Pointless.

Mute Thors Big Hammer
    Favourite Thors Big Hammer
    Jul 18th 2014, 5:22 PM

Keegan followed protocol and didn’t use his head so typical of bosses these days

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:10 PM

Yea enough of this, someone give us a good joke (just for a change!!)

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:39 PM

What do you call a fly with no wings?
    A walk

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:14 PM

Wanted 400,000 people to buy a pig in a poke with refund guaranteed …isn’t that what this is all about really ..

Mute Martin Smith
    Favourite Martin Smith
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:54 PM

this has all the signs of 5 gigs taking place………

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:18 PM

Really, how?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:49 PM

Dimmy Tooley’s just browned off that he doesn’t get to be Gart’s BFF this time around.

Mute Natalie O'Brien Hughes
    Favourite Natalie O'Brien Hughes
    Jul 18th 2014, 7:21 PM

I think one of the lessons from this whole fiasco is that any notions we had of representative government and citizens having any sort of say in how their city and country operates are out the window. Each of the major political parties seemingly supported the concerts, the elected councillors of Dublin City Council supported the concerts, it seems that the majority of Croke Park residents either supported the concerts or were reluctantly willing to endure them, and all of these opinions could be negated by one unelected man whose name most of us had probably never heard of before.

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Jul 18th 2014, 5:56 PM

Play play to Keegan. We take powers away from politicians because based on past experience, they can’t be trusted. Now the politicians want to dump on the Council Official that has been entrusted with that power. I am glad that Keegan had the integrity to stand-up to the vested interests that wanted to railroad these concerts through with little regard to local residents.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti

No, Joe. You have drawn the short straw, and that is your problem. I have no wish at all to ‘join you in your journey’, and I resent efforts being made to force me so to do.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Jul 18th 2014, 3:20 PM

Oops, wrong thread – sorry :-D

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Jul 18th 2014, 7:28 PM

The only looser here is Ireland an international laughing stock! He certainly left a legacy alright! Sure we really didn’t need any of the money that would have been made from the gigs, we’ve enough to go around, perfect balanced economy! No debts, everyone’s rich, isn’t that right ted

Mute Peter Lawless
    Favourite Peter Lawless
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:10 PM

Meh…..

Mute Peter Lawless
    Favourite Peter Lawless
    Jul 18th 2014, 2:09 PM

Meh

Mute Patrick Doherty
    Favourite Patrick Doherty
    Jul 18th 2014, 6:29 PM

With hundreds of family members mourning their loss from the plane crash in Ukraine and the mounting death toll in Gaza, millions going without food, is the cancellation of a concert really that important!
    So you won’t get to go to the concert, I think we should all start to get our priorities right here folks.

Mute Mairead Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mairead Mc Carthy
    Jul 18th 2014, 4:54 PM

Hey I like Metallica !

Mute Steve Watson
    Favourite Steve Watson
    Jul 19th 2014, 1:16 AM

190000 a year. For this pr!ck

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    Jul 19th 2014, 8:49 AM

There will be millions paid out in compo . Over this and it’s me and you who will end up paying for it. Not keegan and Co with his 200k per year

Mute Timmay Timeo
    Favourite Timmay Timeo
    Jul 18th 2014, 9:22 PM

How many of these Fianna Fáil boyos are also members of the GAA? Still rotten to the core

Mute Julie Cross
    Favourite Julie Cross
    Jul 20th 2014, 10:46 PM

Its all been legal mess from start to finish.
    Even if Keegan had followed correct procedures, he knew that at this late stage the consequences for thousands of people around the world were unacceptable. He
    was given a chance to put things right in light of policefinding of fraudulent
    signatures by not contesting. He woud have maintained his respect for considering the city businesses interests and people who were about to lose a lot of hard earned income from non refundable expenses. His response was that he wouldnt do that because he thought he would have to resign and lose his job. His priorities were obviously not for the people he is supposed to represent..I hope he gets sacked for that alone!!

Mute Christy Bhoy Doyle
    Favourite Christy Bhoy Doyle
    Jul 18th 2014, 7:32 PM

Who give a flying FCUK