You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'I walk the streets every day while heavily pregnant because I have nowhere to go'

Christina was married with a daughter. She had a law degree and a good job, but was made redundant.
I HAD MY own home, I was a homeowner and I was quite happy. I had a job and a decent income. I was able to pay my mortgage when I was working, but unfortunately I lost my job in 2012. Prior to that I had a fairly comfortable life … but unfortunately when I lost my job things really, really took a turn for the worse.

Christina was married with a daughter. She had a law degree and a good job. Her life changed dramatically after she was made redundant. Her 11-year marriage broke up and the bank repossessed her house. Her eight-year-old daughter is now being cared for by someone else.

In an interview with Valerie Cox on Today with Seán O’Rourke, Christina said she has been looking for private rented accommodation for two years but can’t find anywhere she can afford because many landlords will not accept rent supplement.

She has a bed in Regina Coeli Hostel, but she cannot be there from 12-7.30pm every day. As a result she walks the streets of Dublin city for hours every day.

shutterstock_150533702 File photo Shutterstock / Coffeemill Shutterstock / Coffeemill / Coffeemill

She is six-and-a-half months pregnant and fears her baby will also be taken into care if she can’t find accommodation. Children cannot stay in the hostel when she currently sleeps.

“Basically I roam the streets. I go out window shopping, I go to libraries … I’ve absolutely nowhere to go … I can’t be just annoying people or knocking on people’s doors.

Lately it’s really taken its toll on me. I suffer very, very badly with varicose veins, I was supposed to have them operated on, I’m supposed to be resting my legs. My bladder is really weak. I get days where I’m very, very week and I need to sit down for a few hours.

“I’m not going to be a layabout and sit around doing nothing all day … I’ve gotten to a stage where I’m actually frozen. I’m speechless because I know nobody is going to help because I’ve been to every organisation … there are no resources available.

“So, what am I supposed to do? I have to walk the streets every day while heavily pregnant because they can’t give me somewhere in a supported accommodation scheme,” Christina said, through tears.

She is receiving some support from Anew – an organisation that helps homeless pregnant women.

Not an isolated case 

Deirdre Delaney, Christina’s social worker, said pregnant women becoming homeless is getting “more and more” common.

“We see many qualified women coming through here,” adding that many women are not in a position to receive support from their families.

Women who are pregnant and homeless are not entitled to hotel accommodation, you only become entitled to hotel accommodation as a family.

Delaney said Christina is “believe it or not … lucky”.

“For many pregnant women they’re in a one-night only hostel , which means that they have a different room every night if they’re lucky and they have to leave early every morning and walk the streets.”

Christina said the father of her baby is “not able” to give her any support.

Her ultimate goal is to find accommodation so she can keep her baby and be reunited with her daughter.

*Not her real name.

Read: The number of children in homeless accommodation in Dublin has DOUBLED in a year

Read: Homeless families told that they have to leave accommodation by the end of the month

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

97 Comments
    Mute Mary Maher
    Favourite Mary Maher
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:31 PM

This article is far too vague on details to be convincing. Is this woman an Irish national? Obviously a lot of money was spent on her education and she is well qualified, so why does her family turn their back on her now? Why was her child taken from her – who is looking after it? Why has she sunk to this level? She is not the first to be made redundant – very few with her qualifications would end up homeless. Is she a foreign national? I just don’t believe this story.

Mute Jorge Thompson
    Favourite Jorge Thompson
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:54 PM

\if she is a ‘single’ person she should be able to get a house share.

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:19 PM

Have a listen to this Mary. Skip though and it’s revealed that there is yet another emerging charity organisation helping out, exclusively for pregnant women that are homeless. ‘Christina’ is a Dublin woman seemingly, who went on the Sean O Rourke show with Valerie Cox to highlight her story and promote the charity.

https://soundcloud.com/rte-radio-1/todaysor-homeless-and-pregnant

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:28 PM

I have a feeling that this ‘story’ is just that a story, fairy tale that is…..

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:02 PM

Well you cannot buy that type of emotional advertising, unless you’re an established charity

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:10 PM

Its hard to imagine anyone with a good education & good job can end up in such a dire situation, & on top of that, not having any family or good friends to put you up for a few months while you get back on your feet. It just goes to show this can happen to anyone!

Mute Chris Mcdonnell
    Favourite Chris Mcdonnell
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:44 PM

Why can’t we force the fathers to pay for the care and upkeep of these children

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:44 PM

It’s not too difficult to imagine when you think about the fact it has happened to thousands of people here over the past decade.What i find hard to imagine is that someone with a good education would go and get pregnant again and then go on national radio expecting an outpour of public sympathy

Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:46 PM

I know it might not be a simple fix but why doesn’t she move out of Dublin. Move to Leitrim the best value in rental and a very nice County also.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:36 PM

I have to agree with Shane why don’t they move from Dublin or where ever they are to a different area where the rent is less. If the family can’t help then why get pregnant again, stay in an area you can’t afford the rent. With your education there have to be jobs out there. I don’t know Leitrim at all but has to be better than walking the streets all day

Mute Josephine Sweeney
    Favourite Josephine Sweeney
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:27 PM

upskill

Mute Sean Tynan
    Favourite Sean Tynan
    Mar 4th 2016, 12:29 AM

We’re all a paycheque away. Surely, there must be some solution to this. Especially, for someone who has worked, paid a lot of tax in to the system, there should be a safety net for this kind of thing. Is it beyond our ability, or do we just have poor governance?

Mute michael o brien
    Favourite michael o brien
    Mar 3rd 2016, 3:56 PM

Maybe the father of her first child or her next child could help her out.

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:14 PM

Doesn’t sound like it, and intentionally so. Think they were trying t close that angle of with “not able” quoted.

Begs the question though. Now we have another homeless charity, and this time for pregnant women?

Unless we have a unified approach to homelessness where everyone is equal, then so many individual charities can only frustrate matters imo.

Mute michael o brien
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:23 PM

Not able,not willing,not on the scene,in jail,dead, surely the article should clarify the situation.Maybe it’s time the hard questions were asked and a bit of personal responsibility brought to the situation.Getting pregnant while homeless isn’t fair on her unborn baby.

Mute Shane O.
    Favourite Shane O.
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:56 PM

@ Michael : Maybe the father of her first child is looking after that child. The article doesn’t rule that out.

Mute michael o brien
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:05 PM

Quite possible,but surely instead of saying”being cared for by someone else” it would say being cared for by its father.If he is taking responsibility for the child at least give him some credit for that.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:50 PM

The whole article is quite vague and throws up a lot of unanswered questions, but, having said that, the crux of the matter is that this lady is pregnant and homeless, such a thing should not be happening in this so called ‘recovering’ economy. A dreadful situation to be in.

Mute michael o brien
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:59 PM

I would just like to broaden this a little.I know being homeless isn’t a choice,but surely getting pregnant could have been avoided.I have a lot of sympathy for the poor children born in to this situation,people need to be held accountable for their choices,mothers and fathers.Can’t blame everyone else,only the two people involved are responsible for the pregnancy.

Mar 3rd 2016, 7:07 PM

But is she presenting herself as homeless in order to get a house though ?

Mute michael o brien
    Mar 3rd 2016, 7:16 PM

If it wasn’t an advantage to be either pregnant or a single mother to get a council house,maybe people would stop being so irresponsible when it comes to birth control.Can you imagine the pressure that would be taken off housing,health welfare etc.The state can’t stop people having children they can’t support but put your future children’s welfare first,

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Mar 3rd 2016, 7:38 PM

@Suzie Sunshine, not sure if it would make any difference, the housing lists are as long as a mile, and then some. Pre recession maybe but not now.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Mar 4th 2016, 3:25 AM

These articles always raise more questions than they answer because the agencies are not allowed give their side of the story as it would mean commenting on individual cases.
    Given the version above, this sounds terrible, but when the public outcry reaches fever pitch there is always more to it. Like the guy that died homeless but refused a house the week before. Or the other homeless guy with buckets of money in the bank. Or the family that got kicked out of their house but had rental properties. Or the one that refused several houses and kept her kids in the car for a few nights to load up public opinion.
    Not saying there aren’t sad cases out there – just would like the agencies involved to comment on each case brought public also

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 3rd 2016, 3:56 PM

Why can her partner not help?????

Mute Luke Kelly
    Favourite Luke Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:03 PM

It should say why in the interests of transparency. Otherwise it’s not the full picture. Is he financially responsible for her her though, pregnant or not?

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:18 PM

She may not have one

Mute JimmyMc
    Favourite JimmyMc
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:04 PM

Instead of consent classes in Uni’s why not family planning and personal responsibility with economics included

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Mar 3rd 2016, 3:50 PM

….. and how much did we piss away on IW again?

By the people, for the people indeed.

Mute TTIP McGowan
    Favourite TTIP McGowan
    Mar 3rd 2016, 3:55 PM

This is what I’m seeing on twitter now. People who didn’t campaign for homelessness at all, on the news of Irish Water, shouting ‘WHAT ABOUT HOMELESSNESS? WHY ISN’T THIS FRONT PAGE?’

Had they done their research to see the de-funding of water funds, and the pumping of over a BILLION into IW, they might change there tune.

Had they of been to a march they would of seen a range of topics being discussed on stage, all in relation to austerity and how it effects the country.

Mute Alfonso Armenta
    Favourite Alfonso Armenta
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:04 PM

*affects

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Mar 3rd 2016, 3:58 PM

One of many in the same place, now we will get to posters well get a job, where is her husband has she no family, well not everyone makes it in life all the time, some help is needed at some stage, nobody wants to be like that, not even the so called spongers,

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:07 PM

I agree with you Mick but unfortunately there are too many people in this country whos first port of call when they get into difficulties is not ‘what can I do to fix this’, ‘can my family or friends help me out until I get back on my feet’ its ‘what can I get off the government for free’ or ‘someone else should help me out’.

Everyone has problems, people deal with them in different ways. Only the weakest and vunerable in society should be helped out, not just anyone who wants a quick and easy fix

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:21 PM

Would you prefer we reopened the Magdalene Laundries Beano?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:28 PM

No ones asking for that James. Just wish people took more responsibility for their actions. This may come as a shock to you but you know what.sometimes, its not always someone elses fault.

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:39 PM

Sorry don’t agree, this can happen to anyone, even the strongest of people, sometimes life just dumps on you for a while and there never seem or you can’t see a way out,

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:00 PM

Precisely Mick

Mute Mary Ward
    Favourite Mary Ward
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:33 PM

well said Mick

Mute Kelly Sandy
    Favourite Kelly Sandy
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:51 PM

I can sliiightly see where Beano is coming from but not entirely. The fact that she has a law degree and had a husband and was able to buy a house at one stage removes her entirely from the typical ‘handout’ types you’re talking about.
    If you were fired and had spent your savings on a house you no longer have, would you claim the dole?

Mar 3rd 2016, 7:12 PM

While that’s true in some cases Mick , in this case though I don’t believe that there is no family member at all that she can stay with , no family or friends would see a pregnant woman on the streets like she’s claiming .

Mar 3rd 2016, 7:18 PM

Beano , totally agree with you !

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:11 PM

You see Kelly, I make the point here a lot and that is – we have a blanket system here that has been abused for decades, we have people with a sense of entitlement who think “I have a baby” now give me the house of my choice, in the area of my choice and give it to me now.

When we accede as we have always done to these demands from healthy people who can work, who can move a little further out and who can do more for themselves, then when people like this lady present, then they are the losers – because it is always those in genuine need that suffer most.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:15 PM

Suzie, in this instance I think this woman’s situation is a genuine case.

We hear the single mothers day after day, who never worked and were on the housing list even before they had kids – and while waiting they had more kids.

This is someone who worked hard, bought a home and through misfortune ended up on the street, her 8 year old is being cared for and this is why I admire her – she is not dragging the child with her.

These are the people who should be helped and with a little help could get a job and improve their situation.

Mar 3rd 2016, 9:49 PM

Patlyndo , you may be right but I always have doubts when i hear that there is no family or friends there for her . that’s the part I find hard to believe

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:39 PM

Me too Suzie, but I do think that on what has been put here, that this is a woman who is really down on her luck and it could be that she is ashamed of her situation and too ashamed to seek support. There’s a psychological aspect of this as well. What I do see is that she has made provisions for her 8 year old, that child is not on the street or in a hostel and I admire that.

Mute Kelly Sandy
    Favourite Kelly Sandy
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:38 PM

You’re dead right Patlyndo. The way I see it, I’d never begrudge genuine candidates to essentially claim back what they put in to PRSI when they need it. I had to do it myself for a few months and even then the people in the welfare office treat you like you’re one of the tracksuit types

Mute Sean Tynan
    Favourite Sean Tynan
    Mar 4th 2016, 12:35 AM

I agree Kelly. We pay a lot into tax when we’re working, that should be available to us when we are out of work. Sometimes moving on costs more than mere survival.

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:03 PM

Did she get pregnant after she was made redundant or homeless? Would be interesting to know

Mute Alfonso Armenta
    Favourite Alfonso Armenta
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:07 PM

She is into BDSM and likes the smell of vanilla.

What the heck, Beano, why is that interesting? You are just looking for information that you can then use to say, well, that’s her own fault, now, isn’t it?

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:32 PM

Why Beano?

There’s a businessman thats been hailed as a hero here on the Journal, several times, yet this boyo FIRES all the women that get pregnant. He hides behind endless monthly contracts and generally hires only foreign nationals who dont know their rights.

Is having a child now the preserve of the well-to-do’s now?

Planning on forced sterilisations next?

This is why we have a social system: To protect the vulnerable. And a homeless pregnant women, for what ever reason, is about as vulnerable as one gets.

Many moons ago, a politicians son, or a rich businessman could impregnate a poor young girl, and so off to a Laundry with her.

Did we not, as a country, move past this backwards mindset that you still seem to have occupying your brain???

Mute Techguy.ie
    Favourite Techguy.ie
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:08 PM

sad situation to be in – can i just ask is she irish or a foreign national ? i cant see how someone who was doing quite well previously now finds herself with no family or support here so thats why im wondering if she is from outside of ireland and may not have family here

Mute Fail Gael
    Favourite Fail Gael
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:24 PM

Her family could well have all passed on, or she could be estranged from them, it does not state anywhere.

She needs help and now

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:48 PM

How can we help her? Serious question.

Mute Shaunagh McCafferty
    Favourite Shaunagh McCafferty
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:21 PM

wow this awful – but why does it feel like something in this story doesn’t quite add up?This can not be the best offer for a single mum with another on the way

Mute Martina Flynn Fitzgerald
    Favourite Martina Flynn Fitzgerald
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:06 PM

Joan has a lot to answer for! Minister for social protection…my arse!…if she has an ounce of dignity She should resign and build a homeless shelter with her pension money

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:18 PM

Eh?

Did Joan make her redundant?
    Did Joan make her homeless?
    Was Joan the cause her marriage breaking up?
    Is it Joans fault none of her family or friends are helping her out?

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:20 PM

Yeah, this woman’s plight is all Joan’s fault….yer spot on.
    Oh, I am trying to figure out how Joan got her pregnant but, never mind the details, I know Joan did it. Maybe with her iPhone.

Mute Fail Gael
    Favourite Fail Gael
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:25 PM

Beano have a look at what that tramp Joan did to the people who needed most…Another right wing vulture

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:16 PM

Not Joan Martina, the people who have abused the system did this.

Mute Fail Gael
    Favourite Fail Gael
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:22 PM

For all you right wing vultures out there…Listen up not everyone who gets social welfare is a sponger or a non contributor.

This woman deserves accomodation,help and money to help her, not the thousands of refugees or people that never did any type of work…

Mute Fail Gael
    Favourite Fail Gael
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:59 PM

Jesus the amount of right wing red thumbing whats in it for me vermin around here is sickening

Mute Geraldine Griffin
    Favourite Geraldine Griffin
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:10 PM

i am genuinely shocked too. Ye won’t have the right to abortions in this country, ye won’t prosecute the bankers, the builders the developers, all the cute hoors who shafted us all, ye won’t hold the government to account when it pisses away all our children’s futures,ye won’t prosecute the kiddy fiddlin priests ah but ye will slag off a homeless pregnant woman. Ah now, tell me that lovely story again about how we won our independence.

Mute Lynne Anthony
    Favourite Lynne Anthony
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:24 PM

sad situation for anyone to be in, let alone a pregnant woman.

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:18 PM

Getting her self pregnant whilst homeless was not the most intelligent thing she could have done.

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:19 PM

the father is ‘not in a position to help’…… so we should pay ???? Maybe it would have thought of this before she got pregnant

Mute Colette Koll Fogarty
    Favourite Colette Koll Fogarty
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:22 PM

Well you’re paying Enda to go on holiday to the United States for Paddy’s day aren’t ya!! And you’d begrudge helping a homeless pregnant woman!!! That’s the kind of mentality that has this country in the mess it’s in! Where is your compassion? This is a human being we’re talking about…who knows why/how she ended up in the devastating position she’s in..fact is…she’s in that position and with little help!

Disgusted with some of the comments on here.

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:46 PM

@ Peter Buchanan

No mention of why or when this became the cae but it it is enough for you to cast of the care of a pregnant woman in Irish society. Classy.

Mute Fail Gael
    Favourite Fail Gael
    Mar 3rd 2016, 7:01 PM

Peter lets see if it happened to you losing eveything and we would all see you screaming..You are the type of person society does not need…Another Pig eating out of the trough

Mute Shane Brady
    Favourite Shane Brady
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:11 PM

Reading the comments on this story, I’m glad I left Ireland. So many heartless, cynical comments. So many people who’s impulse it is to pick holes in a tragic story. I won’t be rushing back.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:31 PM

Yep 30 comments really represents the entire country. Good logic shane!

Mute Gwen Boyle
    Favourite Gwen Boyle
    Mar 3rd 2016, 10:04 PM

The people who spend all day commenting on the Journal are not representative of the rest of the country, thankfully…

Mute michael o brien
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:11 PM

I don’t want to be unsympathetic to this lady but the article has made a point of pointing out that she is well educated etc,yet here she is 6 months pregnant,homeless and no sign of the new babies father.Anyone can fall on hard times,but if people used a bit of cop on and stopped making there situation worse by adding in an innocent,presumably unplanned child maybe we would be able to give them more assistance,

Mute Grace Jeaney
    Favourite Grace Jeaney
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:03 PM

It’s shocking that in 2016, a pregnant lady has to walk the streets, saying she is lucky to have a bed for the night is insulting. Could you imagine walking around for hours every day knowing the next day will be the same for you. It’s dire that is the situation for many who have no place to call home. A bit of compassion and kindness isn’t much to ask for.

Mute Tomasz Kuchnik
    Favourite Tomasz Kuchnik
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:33 PM

Father not able to give any support? What about “other” father? Even if my marriage split I cannot imagine leaving woman on her own if she was in situation like this, never mind if we had a child… This is just sad situation. Is there way to help her?

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:05 PM

Yeah….. “why can’t [someone else] help!!”

The attitude that will no doubt save us all if we’re ever unlucky enough to find ourselves in a tight spot.

Mar 3rd 2016, 7:03 PM

Amazing how this poor girl has not one member of family , no siblings , not parents , no cousins , aunts , uncles , not a single friend who she can stay with or at least stay with during the daytime . it must be terrible that she has to walk around all day . is the girl not getting SW allowance and children “s allowance ? Where’s that money going ?

Mute Breda Kelly
    Favourite Breda Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 7:25 PM

Law degree+ homeless = bullshit.

Mute Tomasz Kuchnik
    Favourite Tomasz Kuchnik
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:11 PM

Well there are too little facts, ie. if she’s foreign then law degree may not mean much in Ireland where is different law…then she may as well suffer some kind of mental illness for example depression… I agree it’s weird situation and maybe not very common but quite possible. She needs help that’s for sure.

Mute Pete Ryan
    Favourite Pete Ryan
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:31 PM

I would take you in give you a room and one for your daughter if you can’t get somewhere proper to live. I’m not a landlord just live with my wife and daughter in finglas. it’s not right what’s happening to you

Mute Colette Koll Fogarty
    Favourite Colette Koll Fogarty
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:37 PM

A lot of ppl are paying Enda to go on holiday to the United States for Paddy’s day!! And you’d begrudge helping a homeless pregnant woman!!! That’s the kind of mentality that has this country in the mess it’s in! Where is the compassion? This is a human being we’re talking about…who knows why/how she ended up in the devastating position she’s in..fact is…she’s in that position and with little help!

Disgusted with some of the comments on here.

Mute Eddie Grady Grady
    Favourite Eddie Grady Grady
    Mar 3rd 2016, 4:15 PM

Sad place to be in you would really see a foreigner homeless..

Mute Anne Kelly
    Favourite Anne Kelly
    Mar 3rd 2016, 11:47 PM

I actually heard a bit of this woman’s interview today, but did not hear the back story, ie the Law Degree, previous marriage etc etc. With all due respect, she did not sound very educated, she was being very vague & there were a lot of important un-answered questions. Tbh, when I first tuned in I thought she was one of the people being evicted this week from Mountjoy Sq. coz it was the usual
    “I wanna house, they won’t give me a house”, interview mantra we sadly hear every day now. But…..WHERE is all this Holy Grail of housing gonna come from? There are NO houses to be got, and no plans to start building houses any time soon, either.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Mar 4th 2016, 11:49 AM

Last I looked there were loads of ex-Celtic Tiger ghost estates left rotting but still more than half finished and salvable up and down the country and We The People supposedly ”owned” the largest property entity in the world ie NAMA well it was setup in our name and our money used by it to buy up vast tracts of property. And yet we have 5000 people homeless in this so-called State tonight with the freezing rain and the gales and thousands of them kids. I think there’s quite a lot that could be done given all the above Anne Kelly. Just that it’s not being done is all.

Mute joeythelad
    Favourite joeythelad
    Mar 3rd 2016, 7:06 PM

why did she get pregnant in the first place these people think the state owes them, how dare they that’s what has the country the way it is people like her

Mute Laura Nì Fhalliùn
    Favourite Laura Nì Fhalliùn
    Mar 3rd 2016, 5:25 PM

The legacy of ff labour and fg ladies and gents

Mute ohmadge85
    Favourite ohmadge85
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:05 PM

Kind of insensitive KBC ad at the bottom of this article, of a couple dancing in their sitting room. Terrible situation for this lady, truly hope she finds some help

Mute Carolyn Byrne
    Favourite Carolyn Byrne
    Mar 3rd 2016, 9:59 PM

Where are the family ,mother sister brother friend surely to God someone can help in some way while pregnant at least ….

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:20 PM

Not to judge the father but can’t imagine any sort of a man letting a woman carrying his child walk the streets if he knew about it at all. God help her because it seems in the 21st Century our grand old Republic still can’t make the grade in the cherishing all the kids of the nation equally

Mute Mel Mcintyre
    Favourite Mel Mcintyre
    Mar 3rd 2016, 6:18 PM

we had tens of thousands of houses to many built around Dublin during the Tiger, mass emegration also, so where did those sneeky little houses go ,,,,? would our new “BOOM” have somthing to do with it , mass migration from other European countries filling them ,,,,,possibly ,, putting ourselves in problems again ,,,,likely ,, WE NEED A NEW STYLE OF DEALING WITH OUR PROBLEMS ,,,,,,, government as it is has failed ,seems to only create problems and never solutions

Mute Andreas Blignaut
    Favourite Andreas Blignaut
    Mar 4th 2016, 5:16 AM

Keeping her legs shut while unable to support the first child would have been a good start towards responsible behaviour?

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Mar 4th 2016, 5:34 AM

So people can’t have sex if they are not in a good position financially? Get back will you!

Mute Con O Sullivan
    Favourite Con O Sullivan
    Mar 4th 2016, 1:07 PM

I thought That The Labour Party were very interested in Womens rights. We heard lots of talk about their rights before the election by Ivana Bacik a Maybe Bacik and her rich friends could help there miss fortunate sister out. Remember action speaks louder than words.

Mute Patlyndo
    Favourite Patlyndo
    Mar 3rd 2016, 8:56 PM

Can you not John, sorry I know plenty.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Mar 4th 2016, 11:46 AM

I used the word ‘man’ there in several senses not just the chromosomes some may carry though their actions or non-actions betray them as unworthy of being called men Patlyndo. There may be many valid reasons for not wanting to be with a woman (and vice versa) but there are none for not wanting to protect one’s child.

Mute Gary Pullen
    Favourite Gary Pullen
    Mar 6th 2016, 8:08 AM

So sad there should be some sort of decent accomadation set up for these poor women.

Mute Sarah Strain
    Favourite Sarah Strain
    Mar 6th 2016, 6:30 PM

This article is misleading because just last year I was in the exact same position as this girl. I was in the Regina Coeli too throughout my whole pregnancy and they were brilliant.. I was allowed to stay throughout the day to rest, as was another pregnant girl. And was also offered one of the units that allowed children. I didn’t accept their offer as I wanted my partner with me and they don’t allow men but they do 100% allow children.

Mute Brrapp
    Favourite Brrapp
    Mar 4th 2016, 11:16 AM

thanks be to god for abortion!