You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Investigation after body of man found in Stephen's Green

Gardaí have said that they are not treating the death as suspicious.

3551156275_f15d71b3ab_o Tim Weeks Tim Weeks

Updated at 4.55pm

GARDAÍ ARE INVESTIGATING the discovery of a body of a man in Stephen’s Green on Monday.

Gardaí confirmed that they were called to the scene at about 9.30am and that they discovered the body of a 30-year-old man.

They are carrying out an investigation into his death, but it is not being treated as suspicious.

A sleeping bag was discovered next to the man’s body.

Discovered

It is believed that the man had come to Dublin from Limerick for an event at the weekend.

He had been encountered on Sunday night by the Dublin Regional Homeless Executive (DRHE) volunteer team, who were performing a rough sleeper count and was given a sleeping bag by the team.

The man who discovered his body, Jay, said when he got into the middle of Stephen’s Green he “noticed somebody looked like they were asleep on the ground”. He spoke to Drivetime about what occurred.

“I noticed that people were looking at him and just moving on,” he said. “As I got closer to him I just realised you could see a bit of his face, he didn’t look right. I sat down on the seat and I kept looking at him. I had this feeling there was something wrong, I was calling at him asking him was he ok and I didn’t get a reply out of him.”

He didn’t notice the man breathing, so moved his foot with his own foot, which didn’t budge. He then rang 999. When he touched the man’s hand and it was cold, he “got an awful shock” and then began calling for help.

He said that people were “just looking and kept walking”. CPR failed to revive the man.

Jay said he got upset afterwards thinking about people passing by and not helping.

- Additional reporting Aoife Barry

Read: Man jailed for six years for raping roommate in homeless shelter

Read: Emergency hostel set to close with loss of 100 beds for the homeless

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

83 Comments
    Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:33 PM

Poor guy, we need to do more to help our own people

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:54 PM

We can help our own and Europe as a collective can help others. Another needless death!.. Devastating.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:06 PM

We need to do more to help people.

Mute Sciathán Ceart
    Favourite Sciathán Ceart
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:21 PM

You are so right on Phil.

Mute whereisspace
    Favourite whereisspace
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:06 PM

Rod the loony pc brigade would say that your statement is racist

Mute TonyD2469
    Favourite TonyD2469
    Apr 29th 2016, 7:20 PM

@whereisspace it obviously is if he is advocating helping people based on their race. As Phil says above lets do more to help people, doesn’t matter where they are from.

Mute Kate Flaherty
    Favourite Kate Flaherty
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:42 PM

Sounds like this poor soul was lost in society like so many more gone before him, hope he has finally found a place to rest.

Mute Awkward Seal
    Favourite Awkward Seal
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:20 PM

Eh he’s dead

Mute decky smith
    Favourite decky smith
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:09 PM

Is mick wallace crying

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:51 PM

No he is crying for the migrants

Mute decky smith
    Favourite decky smith
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:01 PM

Crying into his pension pot

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:35 PM

Was that the park where enda kenny sat on a bench with a homeless bloke for 20 minutes explaining how FG were ‘securing the recovery’(tm)?

Mute Léargas
    Favourite Léargas
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:05 PM

You really revel in others misfortune don’t you, any opportunity to score points

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh

Id say you are delighted with this poor man death so you can spew your bile

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:07 PM

You’re bitter sad case Jamming

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:13 PM

No reply to my comment for half an hour, then 3 of the usual suspects post within 2 minutes of each other.

Looks like my post rattled the right cage.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:22 PM

You’re truly despicable. Politicising a death like that. Maybe you should take a look at yourself.

Mute Léargas
    Favourite Léargas

Why don’t you respond to the substance of the point rather than deflect, avoid and dodge, your post was even worse than what you normally post here, it is just low points scoring drivel, this is a tragedy, a man has died, have some respect

Mute Sciathán Ceart
    Favourite Sciathán Ceart

At least have the compassion to allow people to mourn his death before you start using it as a stick to beat your political opponents with. Truly insensitive behaviour, somethings transcend party politics.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:27 PM

@ leargas: Revel? No. Disgusted at repeated propaganda and photo ops by FG/Labour reacting to homeless tragedies and crises, only for them to then go back to ignoring the issue, yes. Remember kenny and alan kelly all over the news meeting the homeless after Jonathan Corries death? The empty promises which they never kepy, or I would wager, intended on keeping?

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:29 PM

I’m glad people are calling you out on your disgusting comments, have you any morals at all shinnerbot?

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:31 PM

where do you get your kicks spamming, A&E?

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:34 PM

@ Sciathán Ceart: You talk of ‘compassion’ for a homeless man who has died tragically, yet your twitter account is named ‘RightWingIRL88′, successive right wing governments being the cause of our homelessness national emergency.

Nice to see you all out of the woodwork with your faux outrage lads. As sincere as a brazzers kiss the lot of ye. Get back to me when you attend meetings and protests on homelessness.

Mute Léargas
    Favourite Léargas
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:36 PM

‘@ leargas: Revel? No. Disgusted at repeated propaganda and photo ops by FG/Labour reacting to homeless tragedies and crises, only for them to then go back to ignoring the issue, yes. Remember kenny and alan kelly all over the news meeting the homeless after Jonathan Corries death? The empty promises which they never kepy, or I would wager, intended on keeping?’

Propose a solution then, you may be disgusted but you have yet to propose anything of substance, you used the tragic death of this man to simply score points. It is very easy to be a hurler on the ditch, if you really are disgusted stop trying to score points off tragedies and suggest ways to improve the current situation and help end the crisis

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:46 PM

morally bankrupt is the only way to describe the shinnerbots

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:15 PM

@ leargas: “Simply scoring points”? Hardly.

I remember thingking at the time our seannachi-in-chief told us about him spending 20 minutes in a park sitting on a bench talking to a homeless man that he may well regret that little fable if a homeless person was found dead in a park while he was still in office.

Incidentally, seeing as though you were all too busy ‘revelling’ in your faux outrage to answer my question, I went back and checked myself, it was Merrion Square Park rather than Stephens Green.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:30 PM

@ For Connolly

This is a new low – even for you.

“I remember thingking at the time our seannachi-in-chief ….”

Translation – I bitterly stored up this tragedy to exploit for political points scoring in the future.

The death of a person is a tragedy – not fuel for your anti Kenny bile.

And by the way, homeless deaths aren’t exclusive to southern Ireland, unfortunately. They also happen in the North, where SF are in power, but I don’t recall you using their deaths to bash a political opponent.

http://www.sundayworld.com/news/northern-ireland/calls-for-action-as-another-homeless-man-is-found-dead-in-belfast

Hypocrisy of the highest order.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:42 PM

“The death of a person is a tragedy ”

I agree. In the case of the deaths of the homeless I have a track record of supporting partys which help the homeless rather than cause the crises in the first place.

How about yourself?

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:48 PM

You have a history is supporting parties who help the homeless? How come you work for and support Sinn Fein so?

Mute Léargas
    Favourite Léargas
    Apr 30th 2016, 12:25 PM

Faux outrage? Your comments are all the more disgusting and opportunistic now, you have no regard for anyone or anything except scoring points, this is a tragic case which you have tried to politicise, you should be ashamed!

Mute Right Human
    Favourite Right Human
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:46 PM

Issues with homelessness. Lack of housing. Lack of jobs for youth employment. No care for mental health in the Dail. But it’s okay we’re in the EU now! Let us help the refugees first.

Mute TTIP McGowan
    Favourite TTIP McGowan
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:47 PM

Yes. Make this about other people seeking help rather than the ones not providing any help.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:56 PM

Exactly… You don’t need to bring other crises into this. Facts are this can be fixed and the government are choosing now to!

Mute Patrick Hurley
    Favourite Patrick Hurley

We now seem to have degrees of homelessness. Families priced out of rental market, classic homelessness, and refugees stealing homes from one and two.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:18 PM

What has the EU got to do with this? This is a national issue which the government could address properly if they wished to, but they don’t because they’re too busy pi__ing about pretending they’re useful and securing themselves a job for the next four years, because homeless people don’t vote and because nobody gives a s–t about them anyway.

A little bit of perspective wouldn’t go amiss before you go and start using a tragic avoidable death like this to grin the gears of some unrelated political bugbear you hold.

Mute Keith Healy
    Favourite Keith Healy
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:35 PM

Might help even a little to focus minds in Trinity today. Awful end to a life

Mute Liam Sheahan
    Favourite Liam Sheahan
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:40 PM

Site of part of 1916 rising.How sad now site of homeless man found dead.Something radically wrong.

Mute Leo Lowe
    Favourite Leo Lowe
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:50 PM

Yes, if 1916 had not happened countless thousands would not have died needlessly.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:01 PM

Countless thousands?! Yeah, OK. A lot more wouldn’t have died needlessly through the centuries if the English had stayed out of Ireland.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:07 PM

Grow up.

Mute Nathan Wheeler
    Favourite Nathan Wheeler
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:19 PM

The English had stayed out of Ireland? Well we weren’t a state at the time nor has Ireland ever been a state until 1949.

In terms of the times that the “invasion” took place Normans arrived and set up shop just like they didn’t across the rest of Europe.

What came after that was a continuation of rule by the winners of consecutive wars.
    To say that the English intentionally invaded us and subjected the Irish people and attempted to mass murder them is an untrue statement built on a need to feel nationalistic rather than realistic.

The Welsh and Scots and the English all suffered during these times, the elites who were as a majority ethnically Irish perpetrated most of your atrocities you claim happened. Just like in England many of the atrocities were done by English people.

I wonder when the Irish people will get over the whole “the English did this and are evil” malarkey and just move on and accept bad things happened in the past to everyone. If we go about holding onto those grudges we will all be war with one another.

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:23 PM

Wheeler is a surname of English origin. I rest my case.

Mute Nathan Wheeler
    Favourite Nathan Wheeler
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:45 PM

And my Great Grandfather fought in Boland’s Mill beside the volunteers and my other Great Grandfather Defended Belfast during the Blitz.

What’s your point?

I cannot have an informed opinion because of my past or do you dislike that an Irish man can retain a degree of compassion and forgiveness and a modicum of foresight to say proudly, let the past go and let’s move forward together.

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:08 PM

Everyone’s great grandfather fought in Boland’s Mill.

Mute Nathan Wheeler
    Favourite Nathan Wheeler
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:29 PM

@Phil Are you suggesting that i am fabricating my family history in some vain attempt to sound “cool” or “interesting” ?

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:46 PM

Not at all, Sure my Ma met your Ma at U2′s first gig at the Dandelion Market.

Mute Regi Galvin
    Favourite Regi Galvin
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:56 PM

I suggest the editor deletes this article. It’s completely false and full of misinformation. The person involved was from a very well respected North Kerry family and had travelled to Dublin to attend the National League final.

Apr 29th 2016, 9:22 PM

Regi , you are correct and I don’t know why the journal hasn’t changed it .

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:20 PM

What a terrible tragedy for a young man.

Mute Keith O'Sullivan
    Favourite Keith O'Sullivan
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:34 PM

It’s Friday, it happened on Monday. Slow news day?

Mute doubleO
    Favourite doubleO
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:52 PM

He was buried today. Have a bit of compassion

Mute Keith O'Sullivan
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:54 PM

I do have compassion for him. It’s a terrible thing to happen but my point was that this happened earlier in the week and has been reported elsewhere. My issue is with the journal only picking up on it now.

Mute doubleO
    Favourite doubleO
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:59 PM

In fairness to the journal, It wasn’t reported in any media outlets for certain reasons. Sometimes there are things going on behind the scenes that aren’t for public consumption.

Mute Keith O'Sullivan
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:03 PM
    Mute doubleO
    Favourite doubleO

The devils in the detail though, as it wasn’t made known where he was originally from, or his identification. Members of his family had not been notified at that point and as such he was ‘only missing’ to them.

Mute Keith O'Sullivan
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:14 PM

I understand that. But I feel like I could be going around in circles here. I am simply stating that the journal are a bit slow to pick up stories that is all.

Mute Anthony
    Favourite Anthony
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:41 PM

Your wrong Keith

Mute Keith O'Sullivan
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:41 PM

You’re*

Mute Regi Galvin
    Favourite Regi Galvin
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:23 PM

Delete this article immediately. It’s completely false and full of misinformation.
    It’s hugely disrespectful to the family involved, who are a well known, well respected North Kerry family.
    Research your articles properly before you publish them.

Mute Jennifer Kelly
    Favourite Jennifer Kelly
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:37 PM

Should be treated as murder.. the goverment have blood on their hands not looking after their own.. more worried about who should be leader.. stop fighting over water.. look after the people.. very sad lonely way to die..

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:41 PM

It is very sad Jennifer but suggesting that it is murder is a bit silly

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan

Jenny faux outrage does nothing for any cause…

Mute Jennifer Kelly
    Favourite Jennifer Kelly

Yea i see that now.. just so so sad that they are left there to die lonely and scared.. when there can be something can be done..

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:38 PM

Jenny I have worked with the homeless, and you would be surprised how many people make the decision to sleep rough or live outdoors. I know I was shocked by it.

Mute Fiona Ní Chormaic
    Favourite Fiona Ní Chormaic
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:09 PM

For whatever reason, this man did not access any services in Dublin. We don’t know the circumstances that lead up to him becoming homeless, we don’t know how he died! But saying he was murdered seems a little over the top! No one in homeless services even knew he was here, how could they help him!

Apr 29th 2016, 9:29 PM

The man up from Kerry with his mates for the weekend to watch the finals .. he was not homeless .

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:04 PM

Very sad

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:42 PM

Condolences to the man’s family. Another unneccessary death, only minutes away from our seat of ‘government’.
    Why are we sending our Naval personnel out to the Mediterranean to look for ‘refugees’ (at great cost to the taxpayer)? We could just get the crew to walk through Dublin’s thoroughfares, rescuing the numerous sick and dying members of our indigenous population, lying in the gutters. However, it wouldn’t quite generate the same kudos on the world stage as the melodrama of pulling fake refugees and economic migrants out of unseaworthy boats.
    When Ireland moves beyond third world status, providing shelter, food and a PROPER healthcare system to her citizens, we can start feeding and providing free accommodation in Hotels and Holiday camps to welfare tourists and maybe even one or two genuine refugees if any are to be found.

Mute Tordel Back
    Favourite Tordel Back
    Apr 29th 2016, 9:12 PM

Couldn’t we do both? It’s not like we helped the homeless before the navy went to Med. It seems to me that Dublin streets not 100m from St Stephen’s Green are awash with money, cafes full all day, pubs all evening. Instead of moaning about what we do do, wouldn’t it be nice if the average city-centre worker or student had maybe one less Starbucks latte, seed-garnished yoghurt, kronut or craft beer per day and funded essential services both nationally and internationally?

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:57 PM

Awful way to die.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:50 PM

What exactly are you saying is awful? We don’t know what killed him. He may have died peacefully in his sleep. He may have chosen to sleep outside as many do because they can’t stick to the rules. Over simplification of the issue is often worse than ignoring it because bad ill conceived plans get put in place due to public reactions

Mute Phil Blanc
    Favourite Phil Blanc
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:16 PM

Yup, dying along on a cold night on a park bench in the middle of Dublin is certainly my chosen way to go. Just slightly above surrounded by family and surrounded by a harem of beautiful women.

Mute John Clark
    Favourite John Clark
    Apr 29th 2016, 3:27 PM

@Phil your comments get weirder and weirder.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:07 PM

again was he on a park bench? Maybe he was high as a kite and had a sudden heart attack. Some people don’t want to slowly back into their graves and prefer to go at speed through life. Assumptions on what happened aren’t helpful, most people sleeping rough chose not to go to hostels as they can’t drink or take drugs. They won’t let you in if you are too high or drunk.

Apr 29th 2016, 9:26 PM

Lads , this guy wasn’t homeless at all ..

Mute Jason Pigott
    Favourite Jason Pigott
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:26 PM

Desperate, we need to start looking after our own with some sort of quality of life condolences to his family

Mute Regi Galvin
    Favourite Regi Galvin
    Apr 29th 2016, 4:18 PM

Delete this article immediately. It’s completely false and a disgracefully disrespectful piece. Research the story properly and then publish your article.

Mute Les Behan
    Favourite Les Behan
    Apr 29th 2016, 2:51 PM

“Fastest growing economy in Europe!”

A.C
    Mute A.C
    Favourite A.C
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:23 PM

Where’s Mick Wallace now? Too busy trying to look good getting upset over other nation issues. Its fcuking time we looked after our own people and our own nations problems. Thst tulip Alan Kelly should also hang his head in shame.

Mute Kevin Mc Donnell
    Favourite Kevin Mc Donnell
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:04 PM

God help him Rest in Peace

Mute Donie Keyes
    Favourite Donie Keyes
    Apr 29th 2016, 5:18 PM

Don’t forget @oneforireland today or text ‘one’ to 50300 for a donation of €2 to homeless in Ireland. Time to start looking after number 1……no one else will. We shamed the world into acting during Band Aid and we hadn’t an arse in our trousers at the time! We still donate millions every year to countries all over the world and our own are dying. Its not good enough any more and it’s so sad so many of our citizens ,that worked hard in the UK for years, have been abandoned and forgotten as well. Shoulder to the wheel time.

Greg
    Mute Greg
    Favourite Greg
    Apr 29th 2016, 1:43 PM

Really sad again to see more people dying on our streets , around the corner from so called government buildings , Trinity collage shame on the so called irish government trying to cut a deal and people dying on our streets and parks