You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
Kin Cheung / PA Images
Kin Cheung / PA Images / PA Images
LARGE PROTESTS HAVE taken place in Hong Kong over a proposal to allow extradition to China, leading to police clashes with protesters as they tried to clear demonstrators from the city’s parliament.
In what has been described as the biggest public backlash against the city’s pro-Beijing leadership in years, over a million people marched through the streets of the financial hub’s main island calling on the government to scrap its planned extradition law.
The city’s leaders are pushing a bill through the legislature that would allow extraditions to any jurisdiction with which it does not already have a treaty – including mainland China for the first time.
Critics fear the law would entangle people in China’s court system, which they say is poltiticised not impartial, and say the government is using the Taiwan case as a Trojan Horse.
Many protesters said they no longer trust the Hong Kong government to stick to its commitments that Beijing critics would not one day end up getting sent to the mainland.
Violent clashes
Protesters hurled bottles and used metal barricades as police moved in on a small group who had vowed to stay outside the legislature overnight, an AFP reporter on the scene said.
At least one police officer could be seen with blood streaming down his face.
The melees began shortly after midnight following a day that had seen a huge peaceful protest make its way through the city without incident.
Organisers said more than a million people marched in blazing summer heat through the cramped streets of the financial hub’s main island on Sunday in a noisy, colourful demonstration calling on the government to scrap its planned extradition law.
SIPA USA / PA Images
SIPA USA / PA Images / PA Images
Small groups of young protesters had planned to stay outside the city’s legislature until Wednesday when the extradition bill is due to have its second reading.
But police moved in on them after their permission to protest expired at midnight local time.
Within minutes scenes of chaos unfolded as protesters fought with officers who were soon backed by riot police.
Live television images showed officers deploying pepper spray hoses to push the crowds back.
Momentum
In recent weeks lawyers have held sombre marches dressed in black, anonymous senior judges have given critical media interviews and the city’s two main legal groups – the Law Society and the Bar Association – have urged a rethink.
Online petitions have been gathered by various groups including students, nurses and horse racing fans.
Students wore chains as they marched to protest against the extradition bill in Hong Kong. Kin Cheung
Kin Cheung
Political leaders have said the law is needed to plug loopholes and stop the city being a bolthole for mainland fugitives. They say dissidents and critics will not be extradited and have urged quick passage of the bill in order to extradite a Hong Kong man who is wanted in Taiwan for murdering his girlfriend.
The city’s administration has already made some concessions, removing nine economic crimes from the list of extraditable offences. It also changed the proposal to state that only crimes that carry seven years or more in jail will be considered.
The proposed law has been fast-tracked through the city’s legislature which is dominated by pro-Beijing members for its second reading on Wednesday.
The government says it plans to have the law on the statute book by late July.
AP / PA Images
AP / PA Images / PA Images
One man who attended the march, 26-year-old coffee shop owner Marco Ng said he had closed his store to protest.
“Our city matters more than our business,” he said. “If we don’t speak out, then there’s no way that the government will listen to our concerns.”
“The people’s voices are not being heard,” added 18-year-old student Ivan Wong. “This bill will not just affect Hong Kong’s reputation as an international finance centre, but also our judicial system. That has an impact on my future.”
- With reporting from AFP.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
33 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
I love when Trump tells his joke about pardoning Hilary – directly after he looks as if he is about to put his baby finger into his mouth – ala Dr Evil.
Yes Mr.Magoo, Denis O Brien is such a fan of Hillary that the journalists and presenters at Newstalk have debased themselves and their professions by continuously attacking and ridiculing Trump while ignoring the avalanche of verifiable wrongdoing by Hillary.
Really scary stuff but the brain washed masses seem to be falling for it. What I as a woman find particularly hard to swallow is Clintons hordes of female followers who think she is some kind of womens champion. She set herself up as a womens right/feminist type person and yet she stood behind a man who is a rapist and had numerous sexual liasons while he was PRESIDENT and then she throws dirt at Trump about allegations about groping 20 years ago.?? Totally weird. She also defended a child rapist and is on tape laughing about how she got him off but knew he did it ?? What the fck is wrong with people ?
@mr magoo: at this stage and I am deadly serious – I think you may seriously need to ask yourself if you might need some counselling for your own mental health – you seem to have an unhealthy obsession with getting onto every Trump related thread and constantly making up stuff , constantly in denial with the realities ( such as your posts about how fantastic the polls are for Trump when all the evidence was showing the opposite) – then your propensity to spout endless conspiracy theories and hate speech about Clinton – it’s not a normal adult behaviour and conversation – you should definitely ask yourself if you think you may have some behavioural problems because I can tell from all your posting this past week there is definitely an underlying issue that you should face up to.
Couldn’t put your personal agenda aside could you lads, not even for one minute for the impoverished children….
I hope they went for the gold leaf trim flat-wear this year, $200 steak looks so cheap on plain china. You know because the children have suffered enough.
The night is appalling anyway, disgusting to see rich people pretend to care about the poor kids. In regards his comments, if you read it in context he raised the point of her comments about catholicism at a catholic themed party yet that isn’t relevant. Journal you are disgusting also
@Gone Feisin: well if the rich are being brought together for events you may as well raise 6 million dollars for the poor ffs do you have to be such a toole all the time
All Irish media have decided that we the Irish people should believe that Trump is the Devil and Clinton is good. Have you not being informed of this yet ?
It’s funny how the evil Irish media has managed to brainwash most of us, but yet, somehow, the great and brilliant Magoo managed to not get brainwashed. How is that? How is it he managed to make up his own mind, but everybody else who disagrees with him didn’t? Could you be any more arrogant?
Magoo thinks this is Breitbart where his tale of heroic defender Trump battling through the enchanted forest of paranoia and fear to defeat the evil fem- bot and triumph for the little guy would be believed.
The funny bit is he thinks he is making a difference. Like he is a campaigner for Trump. Hes is out here in the trenches fighting the good fight. Crazy auld hoor.
Ah old Knobby Johnson methinks you have more than one account ? Sean your personality then ? You get terribly upset by me. You don’t want anyone to break free from the sheep pen and think for themselves because it threatens your security. If you are so sure you are right and you are in the majority, and you are, what are you so worried about ?
@mr magoo: He gets upset by me too mr. magoo. He called me racist the other day during a conversation about election fraud. He doesn’t like to offer his own opinions he just likes to verbally abuse those that do. It’s pathetic. I wouldn’t worry too much about him.
When a presidential candidate, who rightly or wrongly has a reputation for lying and cheating, sets up a narrative days before the election, which demands from her opponent that he accept the outcome of the election, without question, without suspicion, without diligence; I’d be very suspicious. I’d want to check the counts. I’d look for fraud. I’d expect the worst behaviour from my opponent, especially if that is her reputation, win at all costs. But who is the bad guy, the prudent person. The one who has called you a cheat and a liar throughout the campaign, should never suspect you would raise the dead to vote, you would have placed dubious officials within the counting system. Someone who has sold themselves as the experienced politician would know nothing about political fraud! He is set up to be the anti-democracy, mean, wild haired, baddie; while she waits for the cash registers to clang, again.
The billionaires love cheering for Clinton. That tells me Trump must be doing something right. Clinton is willing to start WW III to get in but when she wins she’ll be looking over her shoulder a lot more because of Donald Trump and thats one thing he has achieved. Crooked Hillary and her crooked foundation in the spotlight more than she might have liked
@ @ Sean I’d never worry about been on the winning or loosing side of any vote. I’m always just concerned with justice, the right to life, right vs wrong. There is only one judgement I care about, and loosing a few along the way, will place me in good shape for the last one. @ dublinlad And when has “everyone” ever been correct.
Did either of the two cast even a split second thought for why they were there and what the purpose behind the dinner was?! Neither possess a shred of empathy for the less well off. They are simply too far removed from it because the class divide is just so immense.
Christ we should all suffer like good little pilgrims, even when raising money for good causes. Why were they not self flagellating instead of eating dinner, and walking on broken glass in penance instead of making speeches? We need more moany, preachy, self righteous piety in the world, that’ll make it all go away….
OK, slightly off topic but how about this. It certainly puts Hillary’s claims about sources in a different light.
“l can tell you with 100% certainty that it is not any Russian state actor or proxy that gave DNC & Podesta material to WikiLeaks.” – former UK Ambassador Craig Murray @CraigMurrayorg (after visiting Julian Assange) “
Has anyone even watched the speeches? Hillary’s speech was as drab a a damp sponge. Donald got boos because he won the room, was funny and can actually give a speech. Hillary never won the crowd to lose it and never got any boos because she never got enough cheers in order for people to be brave enough to actually boo.
The story of Alfred Smith’s presidential campaign is very interesting, would make for a good article some time. He had to deal with vicious anti-catholic feeling in the south. Sad!
Doubt cast over when 'Grace' case report will be made public but minister commits to publication
2 mins ago
oranmore
Motorcyclist (20s) killed in collision on N67 in Galway
15 mins ago
trade war
China slaps extra 34% tariffs on US imports as Trump vows his 'policies will never change'
Updated
14 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say