You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
LANDLORDS IN DUBLIN and other cities and areas who raise the rent by more than the legally allowed limit could face criminal charges under new measures being proposed by government.
Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy today secured Cabinet approval for the general scheme of the new Residential Tenancies Bill.
Providing it passes through the Oireachtas, the Residential Tenancies Act will bring into force a host of new measures designed at increasing protections for tenants in the private rental market.
These include making it a criminal offence for landlords with properties in designated Rent Pressure Zones (RPZs) to raise the rent above the legally allowed 4%.
Rent Pressure Zones were introduced by government in late 2016 to combat spiralling rents. All of Dublin, Cork city, Galway city and various other areas are designated RPZs.
Despite the threat of sanctions, there have been widespread reports of landlords breaching the rules and raising rents above the limits. Government hopes that the threat of criminal sanctions will make landlords more compliant.
“What we’re bringing now is a sanctions regime making it a criminal offence, that we’ll follow with a number of measures that will be allowed to be implemented by the RTB (Residential Tenancies Board) including fines,” Murphy told reporters today.
He said at the moment the fine being considered would be in the region of €15,000.
He also that government was “exploring” options of jail time for non-compliant landlords.
Murphy said he hoped that the Bill would pass quickly through the Oireachtas and be made into law before the summer recess.
Other measures
Other measures in the bill include strengthening the power of the RTB to go out and proactively investigate private rental dwellings and landlords when they feel there may be an issue.
Currently a complaint needs to be made by an existing tenant before it can investigate.
The Bill will also allow for a public register of rents in a certain area, so that tenants will know what they should be paying.
It will also contain measures to increase the notice periods for tenants facing eviction, to give them a longer time in the property before they have to leave.
While the measures have been welcomed by people working in the housing not-for-profit sector and opposition party members, there is criticism that they don’t go far enough.
“The legislation should go further,” said Sinn Féin housing spokesperson Eoin Ó Broin.
The government needs to revisit the Focus Ireland amendment which would prevent buy-to let landlords who benefited from tax breaks from seeking vacant possession when they are looking to sell.
There are currently 1,739 families with 3,755 children homeless and living in emergency accommodation in Ireland – an unprecedented number.
Homelessness charity Focus Ireland said that about 500 children could have been prevented from becoming homeless last year if laws were brought in that prevented tenants from being evicted in cases where a house is being sold.
The current Bill will not introduce these laws, with Murphy telling TheJournal.ie today that he will speak to Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe about this to see what incentives could be brought in during negotiations for October’s Budget.
Fianna Fáil
Murphy also took the opportunity today to respond to comments from new Fianna Fáil housing spokesperson Darragh O’Brien, who told the Sunday Independent that Murphy and Taoiseach Leo Varadkar were “too elitist” to fix the housing crisis.
“What I would ask them is to get out into the real world to actually look at how this housing crisis is affecting people,” O’Brien said.
Murphy today branded O’Brien’s comments as “useless”.
“I couldn’t think of a more useless contribution to the national debate on housing and homelessness,” he said, and accused Fianna Fáil of having broken the housing market when they were in power.
He criticised the “personal attack” from O’Brien.
Sinn Féin today said that it would be holding off on tabling a motion of no confidence in Murphy, after it had signalled that it would do so. Party leader Mary Lou McDonald said that it was delaying the motion due to the importance of the upcoming referendum campaign.
She was strongly critical of government, today saying that “the clock was ticking” on Murphy’s time as minister.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
110 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Tim: what do you mean the Private Sector? Do you mean people in full time paying jobs trying their hand at being a landlord?
There are too many greedy part time parasitic landlords out there benefiting from other peoples’s wages.
@Bat Daly: nope, it’s not a lucrative way to get one up on your “impoverished” mates. It’s a real noose around the neck of hard working people in Ireland.
Yes. You pay tax at highest rate for income earned
No. You will never cover your mortgage.
And yes. Lots of people with multiple properties are stuck in negative equity. Just a relative term yes, but most people are not willing to pay the banks 100k to get rid of their home.
@Bat Daly: You can say the same for nurses, doctors, shop keepers…..basically anyone providing a service?
You comment regarding landlords, who have other full time employment, being parasitic is ironically enough just the reverse. They are trying their best to not to be parasitic by having a job and therefore providing for their own families and have to be a, “parasite”, on other members of society by going onto the dole. This particular type of landlord normally uses their property as a pension pot, again, so as not to be a “parasite” on society…..
@Bat Daly: No one is forcing anyone to use landlords – go away and purchase your own house or build one or get one of the many social homes that the government isn’t building!
@Tim: Someone has to be held to blame for the government’s lack of any meaningful action on the whole housing issue. First it was blaming the homeless on being homeless, then it was mortgage holders in trouble as looking for an excuse not to pay their mortgage. Now it’s private landlords.
How long will it take for this proposed legislation to take effect. Will it only effect private landlords and give the vultures another free ride.
Private landlords have their place in the housing market. But any legislation should provide a level playing field for both landlord and Tennant, giving security to both parties.
As long as the government continue to look after the banks and vultures, we will only ever see sticking plaster solutions, and blame being applied
Affordable and social housing is the answer to the whole debacle. The government have no interest in either.
@B9xiRspG: Great the way you can just jump to conclusions. I have my own house. I had a business. I was brown bearten by friends into to buying an investment property 15 years ago. I did it because every Tom Dick and Mary was doing it. After a year, I lost interest and preferred to concentrate on my business and work for a living instead of trying to scab the wages of the young couple renting from me who thought they would never get on the property ladder so I sold the property.
I know many people who have many properties and see themselves as business people. They are not. They are parasites who dont care that they are controlling the supply and demand of houses to people who just want a home, not an investment property. Just a home.
@Gavin Scott: I don’t own a house and never will on a carers allowance, I am renting from a private landlord and they are second to none. I agree that we cannot blame people for making a living including landlords. However, there are some landlords that are going way above the odds in charging a fair price for their rental properties. I was actually looking at daft.ie this morning and I seen a house for rent for €1,000 per month that same house two years ago was €550 a month that is a big increase in the rent, people like myself couldn’t afford to rent anything above €550 and there’s nothing available under €900 in my area. And I live in fear everyday of having to find a new place to rent when my landlords look for their house back.
@Danny Rafferty: Where did I say its morally wrong?
You must think it is. I don’t think its morally wrong in itself but it was the crazy culture in the 00′s where you were no one if you didn’t have a property portfolio. Property speculation caused the property sector to overheat and subsequently go bust.
@Eamonn Kiely: An accidental landlord. As soon as Im out of negative equity, Im selling. Ive no interest in being a landlord. Current rents are still around €300 a month less than celtic tiger mortgage repayments….
By the way, can you tell me what is wrong with someone being a landlord, who rents out housing for a fee, as oppossed to a doctor, who will charge for saving your life or relieving pain, or a funeral director who provides funeral services, or a shop keeper who sells food, which we all need to stay alive, or vet who tends to sick animals? ….. All are essential goods/services provided by profit……
What would our country be like if every single landlord left the industry? Chaos is the answer
@Bat Daly: How noble of you batt. Did you sell your property at a knock down rate to that poor couple trying to get on the property ladder? You did in your eye.
@Niallers: some landlords will leave and more professional landlords will replace them. There is no housing stick being taken out of the market. Someone will buy or rent the properties.
Rents are high at the moment. Rent yields are extremely high. There are plenty of landlords to enter the market if other landlords want to exit.
No landlord is being forced to stay in the market. They can easily sell and exit.
@Michael Lang: the landlords that replace them might be better at meeting the minimum requirements, but they’ll also be better at squeezing every penny out to cover their investments. Cold maths will dictate how they act (as it does in most big businesses).
Most private, or accidental landlords are willing to take under the market rate for a good long term tennant that pays rent on time and didn’t give them any hassle.
@Michael Lang: easily known you know very little or nothing about the rental sector Michael. Yes, when the landlord sells up no private landlords in their right minds will buy. The fogging vultures will continue to squeeze their grip on the rental market, and unlike the private landlords, will charge whatever rent they feel like charging while paying no taxes into the economy and are not answerable to anybody including the rtb. As regards Minister Murphys recent announcement, he clearly shows of his desperation and total lack of solutions to this housing emergency which was clearly created by successive governments and not the private landlord
@Michael Dowd: yes Eoghan Murphy has bought into the myth that clamping down on LLs is the answer despite the colossal tax take being the reason why LLs can’t turn a profit. Can’t be long left for Eoghan now! Alan Kelly had some similar strong interventions some years back and they have hindered and not helped. Eoghan Murphy’s attempts are similarly also destined to founder. The definition of insanity is pursuing the same policy and repeating the same mistakes as the past but expecting a different result.
@Niallers: as an accidental landlord I’ve my rental property on the market. Selling as I just can’t be dealing with revenue & the amount of tax I pay every year on it. I’ve had 3 great tenants live there but enough is enough. I don’t over charge my tenants and if there was ever a problem I got it sorted ASAP. The govt wonder why there’s a housing problem, when you treat the people supplying the houses like crap, then it’s time to go.
30 initiatives later, and the problems are only getting worse. FG still tinkering around the symptoms rather than tackling the causes of the housing national emergency/rental crisis.
So if this is the case, can the proposed new bill also have a public register of Bad Tenants who won’t pay their rent, over-hold a property and completely damage & destroy a property. Can they be criminally prosecuted too!! Fair is Fair now.
@Karrie: that is another issue. The primary problem is affordable rental accomodation and the role of a minority of predatory landlords who are engaged in rent gouging.
@Michael Lang: Landlord A rents out a house he has inherited for 1,000 E a month. The Tennant stops paying after 6 months. The landlord gets roughly 3,000 of that after tax.
The landlord then has to go to try and get the Tennant evicted so that’s another 6 months.
Landlord finds house in wrecked after the year and needs to find 10,000 quid to fix it.
Landlord is left with choice up the rent, Air BnB or sell up. Instead of putting a cap on rents bring the tax down on rental incomes to 30%.
@Kal Ipers: plus the damage they can do to the property. Gardai wouldn’t get involved, solicitors will tell you its a waste of time chasing them in court because it would cost the landlord more.
@Kal Ipers: the problem is rent gouging by a small minority of landlords who are using scarce supply in a predatory and opportunistic manner. This is having a desperately adverse impact on the lives of some tenants.
Landlords are very well represented in Ireland and have a highly effective lobbying group. If there is a small minority of tenants not paying rent, that is a separate issue requiring separate measures.
The immediate priority is to control the predatory landlords. Good, decent and responsible landlords have nothing to fear. The predatory ones will oppose such a measure in case they might get caught and suffer consequence, however unlikely this may be.
@Michael Lang: I don’t understand rent gouging. Surely any service provider from hotelier to taxi driver, from barber to prostitute should be allowed to charge what the market will support? If prices are too high the solution is to increase competition in the sector by incentives to existing landlords to stay and incentives for new landlords to enter. Markets find their own equilibrium. Once the Government intervenes in the free market well then they hold the reins and are responsible for presiding over the dysfunction that is the current housing market.
And this is supposed to help? And still new houses built? As if people in danger of losing their house are going to get involved in a campaign against landlords! Cop on Murphy! Build!
@gowfc@yahoo.com W:
FG bull Snighten.
Planning permission should be granted on condition that 2o% of new builds are affordable houses and 20% are social houses.
How about make it easier for a Landlord to evict non paying Tennant’s and start the wheels in motion on evicting the 20,000 or so people who have been living rent free dodging the banks for over 5 years.
That would instantly free up 20,000 homes for people to move into. As for the 20,000 evicted I’m sure of having not paid a Rex off their mortgage in over 5 years they have a nice little stash somewhere.
@Lie Smeller: Nice in theory but plenty of the ‘poor, stricken landlord’ will simply use such a measure to boot out any tenants who arent willing to pay ~3000/Monthly on a one bed sh*tbox.
Ive been renting for years and I have yet to meet the ‘noble landlord’ that is so often spoken about in these comment sections
How about (1) re-instating mortgage interest relief for the purpose of calculating taxeable income – FG cut that by 25% (2) Get rid of the USC Tax on rental income (7%) (3) Get rid of PRSI (4%) tax on rental income. Items (1) thru (4) were introduced by FG bring effective income tax on rental income to around 60% – more in Dublin if you factor in the (new) LPT tax. LL’s used to pay 40% tax. That’s a 33% increase in the effective tax rate on rental income. No wonder LL’s are staying out and selling up. At this stage the only ones we’ll have left are International culture funds who pay no tax, and buy these mortgages at heavily discounted rates.
@gregory: I know of several LLs in the last year even who have called it a day. The interesting thing is that the RTB can tell you how many registered landlords it has on its books but LLs remain considered as active for four years even if they have sold up within that period. It’s a really important missing statistic – how many LLs are leaving the sector year on year?
@Sean: Good point. One of the biggest problems with the RTB is that it was not set up to be a neutral body between landlords and tenants. It has always fulfilled a political function in helping the tenant and punishing the landlord. It’s worth remembering that in the aftermath of the crash when landlords and rents were crashing, there were no efforts by the government to intervene in the market as thousands of landlords went to the wall. Intervention was only deemed necessary when the tide started to go the other way and demand started to outstrip supply. Now you’ve got a situation where Threshold et al have a hotline to Wonderboy Murphy who then instructs RTB to implement their latest request. This is why there is no demand on RTB to publish stats that might contradict the FG Threshold coalition.
If you aren’t building social housing by the next election. I will for the first time, not be giving FG a vote.
This is window dressing and a smoke screen to the real reason that we aren’t buildings enough new homes and building nearly zero social @finegael
@Greg Mumble: How can you save money for a deposit when the incrrase in house prices wipe out the value of any deposit saved.
This happened in the last boom. Have learned nothing?
Currently, the price of houses and rent is at an unaffordable level. Can there is some initiatives for creating jobs outside The Pale, so people can afford to live outside County Dublin and still afford a place to live, without adding on the costs of commuting great distances.
‘could face criminal charges’ just like the ‘could face criminal charges’ if landlords passed on there property tax to tenants. But not even one case brought before any court so we must assume all landlords never mistreat tenants or ‘could face criminal charges’ means nothing. All this is doing is wasting time until this minister gets reshuffled and washes his hands just like Simon before him.
My landlord raised my rent by €300 per month two years ago, and tried to raise it again by another €350 per month this year. I live in Dublin. Some landlords simply don’t care about these laws.
@Trish: don’t forget that half of that rent increase goes directly to the Government as tax so you could say that your (indirect) tax has increased with no benefit to the landlord whatsoever on this portion. This tax is then used to pay the rent of other tenants and if you are receiving rent supplement then you are effectively receiving this money back into your own hand so you can’t complain about that.
Firstly the Government need to build houses for rent or sale to make it possible for people to have a home,a state owned construction firm,non profit in competition with private construction firms,secondly they need to stop putting landlords and tenants against each other ,legislate properly to protect landlords and tenants from bad landlords and tenants,give the RTB some real teeth to decide,enforce and fine landlords and tenants for the breaching etc of their contracts,not enough affordable houses ,too many dodgy landlords who do what they want and too many tenants that dont pay and trash houses without any consequences thats the problems we have today , if the ministers dont realise that now then they need to move aside and let someone with some cop on to do the job.
Now the blueshirts want to make criminals out of landlords.
Of course, if the blueshirts hadn’t stopped the construction of social housing, (as is the norm in every other first world country), in 2011, there wouldn’t be so much pressure on the private housing sector.
These muppets cannot see the wood for the trees.
Every scam they pull, such as the €20k first time buyers scam, the RAS scam and the HAP scam, makes the problem worse.
There are the joys of having privileged blueshirts in office.
@Willy Malone: The masses will still give them their votes or they’ll get back in again because: the people who benefit from FFG will go out in droves to see them continuing in power.
A huge portion of people who bemoan and lambast their frankly horrendous policies and elitism wont bother casting a votes because ‘they are all the same/ whats the point’ and then surprise surprise the vermin stay on.
Also; there is no credible 3rd party or option in Irish politics: SF would raise us to the ground; SD are space-cadets, Labour (hahaha) or Eamon ‘yer man’ Ryan… and thats not including the radical (somewhat commendable but VERY flawed) Socialist Left who dont have any notion of numbers or practicality…
@Tom Sawyer: What people who may think about their futures by investments in property so they are not relying on the state to fund their retirements ? That’s what the majority of landlords are. Your also forgetting the thousands of people who just want to rent in the city and when the time is right buy a house.
@Lie Smeller: Why not just work and pay your pension and not rely on someone else to pay your mortgage and retirement for you? The greed is beyond belief in Ireland.
@Citygal: The choice is rent or buy. To buy you need a hefty deposit. For which you have to work in a job. Of course you need to live somewhere to hold a stable job. Hence you have to rent. High rent prices, particularly in areas where the jobs are in Ireland, lead to very little or perhaps no savings to put towards a deposit to buy.
The people who make the argument that “Just save and buy” are elitist fools. They are already either the privileged few who inherit sums of money from parents or whole properties (then rent them for exacerbated prices to supplement their income) or are on high income jobs in which saving for a deposit is a realistic goal. Or maybe they’ve moved home with their parents, which again isn’t an option for everyone for a multitude of reasons.
You have to rent to live somewhere. At some stage everyone will have to rent a home. A free market economy only works where those who demand of goods and services have options. It is increasingly apparent that this is not the case as people are running out of options for places to live.
Renting isn’t a choice. It’s a 21st century necessity. In the UK they are actually trying to face that problem head on. 33% of people in their 20s and 30s are predicted to never be financially able to buy a house. Which is insance. But tenancy laws over here are far more robust and protect both the tenant and landlord well. Which is what the RBT should be doing. Giving power to both sides to protect their needs. Not the standard half assed legislation Fine Gael have been serving up as government just so they can say “Look we did SOMETHING”. But that’s not good enough.
So in summary, shove your priveliged “Renting is a choice” back into your drawer of inflammatory first world comments. Hundreds of thousands of people in Ireland are facing the reality of a poorly regulated housing market and a government that gave up on the idea of a decentralised economy years ago. We’re becoming the UK. The UK the government acts in ways that really only benefit England. In Ireland, the government acts in ways that really only benefit Dublin.
Back to the dail today after their Easter break for possibly the most incompetent underqualified bunch in the country! First order of business, should they create an independence day! The agri minister, bloated and ready to burst with self importance, was exposed as being totally lost during the recent fodder crisis. The Galway hospital had to hide the queue/crowd in the a&e on the taoiseachs recent visit because to him, there is no health crisis. Where on earth would you get such idiotic behaviour from such a shower of incompetent idiots.
When you fine the landlord, who gets the money, as a results of the fine. Why not give the old tenant 50% of the maxim fine so they can have the finance to relocate to a new accomidation of their choice.
And everyone in the Dáil doing the usual placing blame finger pointing at each other, all while the homelessness numbers continue to rise. It is no wonder the problem will never be solved; this, and because of a general lack of will.
@Patty Cullinane: There was no homeless crisis in 2010.
Noonan’s vulture mates along with the various FG scams (HAP, RAS etc) have created this problem.
In fairness, they were backed in this for 5 years by the ultra right wing ‘labour’ party.
@VeeryDrink: I don’t disagree with the finger pointing. The problem is that it never gets anywhere. And quite frankly….Eoghan Murphy’s attempt to finger point back made him sound like a pratty school boy. But FG is a minority govt. who are not living up to the Confidence and Supply Agreement…and i am waiting for FF to do more about it than fingerpoint.
@keano: Except you can’t do that. I left my rented apartment in Carrickmines when my lease was up. I was offered a 2nd lease I turned it down. I moved out the property was up on daft for the same money I was paying.
I think it’s very wrong landlords can use your rent/wages to get a mortgage yet you can’t. More land should be zoned affordable the units can only ever sell times the minimum wage.
What this means is their will be less landlords registering their properties-illegally letting and tenants will take it as they are so desperate to have a roof over their heads! What about those of us who have already lost our rental homes Eoghan and are in temporary accommodation?!?!
What if some tenants in the list wants to pay more to secure property. There is always a loophole. Landlords will ask the tenants that if they offering more money than advertised on daft they will get it.
The problem: lack of rental properties causing rent prices to increase
Solution: disincentivize investment in rental properties
Great. The stupidity of our politicians know no bounds.
It costs, on average, €1,000 a week to keep a single family in a dodgy hotel, that’s €4k a month.
A massive social house building programme would cost a fraction of this amount per family.
Yet Paddy would rather blame the people who need an affordable roof over their heads than the FFG gombeens who’ve created this mess.
Dumb as rocks!
@mike scott: if you are operating legally nearly half goes to the government ,that’s why the they will do as little as they can to interfere.I think if a Tennant is a regular payer of rent for a set time the bank’s should lend him the money or her ahem ahem also I think the bank should own the house until it is paid for or up to a certain point on and if the purchaser runs into trouble and fail’s to pay ,he should be able to walk away and consider it as a rent . The bank can sell the house for the value that is current and if is exceed’s a given amount they have to share it with purchaser/ Tennant .Would that work
Everything but to tell us when one can sell the property next. Blame landlords for their own incompetence. Why would they fix the issue when the tax landlords pay on these properties is the gift that keeps on giving.
I had no option but to recently sell a rental property. Having dropped the rent during the recession I was subsequently caught in the rent control trap with a cost to me of the shortfall in mortgage payments.
Good tenants had to move out as I needed vacant possession in order to sell.
The property was recently advertised for rent at an 80% increase. The PRTB say they can do nothing unless new tenants make a complaint to them.
What about the tenants sitting in properties NOT paying rent – takes years to remove them – owners have to try and pay mortgage on same and at the same time they still have to legally repair or replace electrical goods etc while tenants are recking the property ! The whole system is totally ridiculous here at the moment. 36,000 landlords left the market last year and loads more are giving up its getting to the stage that it’s impossible to do business here now with TD telling tenants to break the law. It’s the shortage of houses not high rents thats the problem.
Simple solution build high speed rail links linking all major cities and towns, making it quick and affordable to commute, doing this people won’t need to live in Dublin to work in Dublin , would also make it easier for people living in Dublin to work elsewhere boosting economies outside Dublin. Obviously it would cost billions but would sort so many issues.
'Did he just say Prevost?’: St Peter’s Square stunned by first American Pope, Leo XIV
Diarmuid Pepper
in Rome
Updated
10 hrs ago
The Morning Lead
'Utterly shameful': Irish MEPs slam EU offer to assist Israel in replacing Gaza aid agencies
David MacRedmond
8 hrs ago
As it happened
How the day played out as US cardinal Robert Prevost became Pope Leo XIV
Updated
11 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 184 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 123 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 163 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 127 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 90 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 91 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 44 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 41 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 148 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 69 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 87 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 93 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 40 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 56 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 29 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 105 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 109 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 79 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 60 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 99 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 82 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say