You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
The President was asked for his opinion on the issue by reporters in the Oval Office, after greeting Martin at the White House this afternoon.
He said: “Do you know why they have a housing crisis? Because they’re doing so well. The can’t produce houses fast enough. That’s a good problem, not a bad one. Everybody should have that problem.”
In response, Martin said: “That’s a pretty good answer, Mr President.”
The Taoiseach and the US President fielded questions the media for almost 30 minutes this afternoon. Alamy Stock Photo
Alamy Stock Photo
The Taoiseach’s response to the question was met with laughter from others in the room attending the meeting, which included US Vice President JD Vance and Irish Ambassador to the US Geraldine Byrne Nason.
Trump and Martin fielded questions from US and Irish media for almost 50 minutes this afternoon before they began their private meeting ahead of the traditional St Patrick’s Day celebrations.
On housing, Trump said: “I know this gentleman [Martin]. He’ll get it solved.”
‘MIGA’
The topic of the shortage in housing stock came up again when controversial political commentator Brian Glenn asked Martin what his priority would be if he were to launch a platform, similar to Trump’s, to ‘Make Ireland Great Again’, using the acronym ‘MIGA’.
The Taoiseach said: “The number one issue in Ireland is housing. To be honest – and I think was correctly pointed out – we’ve got to build more houses.
“We’ve got to build them faster to give the young people of Ireland an opportunity to afford to buy a house or to afford to rent a house. We have a lot of very good things happening. That’s my number one priority.”
Estimates from the Housing Commission, included in a report last year, estimate that there is a shortage of quarter of a million homes in Ireland. Under the Programme for Government, the coalition has committed to building 300,000 homes by 2030.
Martin sat quietly during a number of questions, as reporters from outlets in the US quizzed the President about the domestic issues of the day, including a recent report on inflation rates and proposed changes to the American Department of Education.
Trump said European countries, including Ireland, take advantage of the US markets. In response later, the Taoiseach described the trade relationship between America and Ireland as a “two-way street”.
Martin said that not only has Ireland allowed American companies, particularly pharmaceutical firms, to grow financially, but the country has also provided an educated and diligent workforce and access to the European market.
Martin said that that investment has been paid back with the announcement by major multinationals to reinvest those earnings into the US through the construction of manufacturing plants and local development.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
73 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Exactly Kardia, could you imagine the outrage if people had floats declaring “straight and proud”. You would have people giving out that they are exclusionary of gay people, yet you have gay parades and gay bars. Could you imagine bars advertising themselves as straight bars.
I couldn’t care less if people are gay or not but why the outrage that they can’t have banners declaring they are gay. Straight people don’t see the need to have banners declaring their sexuality so why do gay people feel the need to bring their sexuality into a St Patricks day parade.
Straight people don’t feel the need to have all the things you have pointed out above because they have not been oppressed and bullied for their orientation – maybe do a little research on the gay rights movement before opening your mouth
Do you know that person? Do they act that way towards gay people? If you don’t know then why oppress their opinion? They said nothing hateful and in all likelihood are on your side for equality. Think before you judge.
Do you know me? no you don’t.
What gives you the right to oppress my opinion? – I’m tired of people being “outraged” because gay people are fighting for equality and being told that they can’t express themselves.
And you’re having this argument with someone who supports gay rights why? I’m just saying there’s no need to be so judgemental and snotty towards someone for no reason, I’m not oppressing anyone’s opinion…
who’s arguing? I responded to a post which I found insulting.
Do I not have the right to point out that when someone states ” straight people don’t see the need to have banners declaring their sexuality” etc it belittles everything the gay rights movement stands for.
If he said I don’t see why black people should be banging on about their rights would you be so forgiving?
Why not have a fat contingent too?
Or an underage drinkers slot?
Or perhaps an non- Irish contingent?
I am sure there are many more disgruntled groups to clog up the streets on that day.
The parade is a platform for many, many groups marching behind their respective banners. Apart from the 130 marching bands and the Irish cultural groups, there will be contingents representing banks, corporations, local businesses, charities, schools, nations and ethnic groups, and clubs. Do you suppose Wells Fargo Bank has a lot to do with Saint Patrick? How about the United States Marines? The New York Police Department? Gays are a segment of society, not a “rights group.”
Wheres Wally goes to New York well at least we will know where he is on St Patricks day unlike most of the year when our Leader is missing in non action.
It is nothing short of outrageous the way Irish politicians prostrate themselves before Irish-American money; no matter how backward and reactionary the source.
Fair play to deBlasio for boycotting. Pity are own representatives are such spineless gombeens.
Why should anyone be boycotting? Not every parade has to be a gay parade. Theres already a gay parade each year in new york. The St Patricks day parade hasn’t banned gay people from walking in it. Just a case of some over sensitive people takin offence to f all and making a song and dance about nothing.
Deisecelt & Foxys – religious leaders and military personnel march as part of their organisations in dress/dresses, so why should gay members of the Irish NY community not be allowed to March as a celebratory group?
Paul because the parade has nothing to do with sexual lifestyle choices
I have been to the parade and every year the gay community hold a protest before and cause trouble
They need to except that this parade had nothing to do with a lifestyle choice and that they will NEVER march in the parade and get on with their lives
Let me tell you what is going to happen if they march
They run the chance of being attacked by neo nazi / homophobic knuckledraggers
I don’t want to see that happen and the gay community know there is a strong chance of this sort of vile attack on them yet they still want to march is it for attention or is it just selfishness do they want to disrupt the day for everyone else
I don’t want to know what they do in their bedrooms and I’m not looking to broadcast my lifestyle choice to the world
What’s the point
Petr
Tell me this
What has being gay or straight got to do with the paddys day parade
And if they want to take on a few fascist bullies I’m sure there is an out of the way place to do it
But I would like an answer if you would
Foxy – that is not what I asked you. Please explain why military personnel and religious organisations are allowed to march in full dress/dresses, but the NY Irish gay community are not. By your own standard of acceptance, what has the military got to do with St. Patricks day?
Paul
The parade is led always by the 69th Infantry Regiment
Are you going to tell me that has nothing to do with Irish don’t embarrass yourself lad that’s why I didn’t answer your question the first time
Sexual lifestyle choices??? here we go again ..when did you choose to be straight??
Is it so hard to understand that sexual orientation is NOT a lifestyle choice?
I understand
People are born gay or straight
You choose to live gay or straight
You can choose to never have sex so therefore it is a lifestyle choice and nothing to do with paddys day either way gay or straight
Now do you understand
Foxy – i am far from embarrassed, but I fail to see how a military presence is representative of St. Patrick; don’t care if they are known as the “fighting irish” or whatever. Pleas explain their relevance to St. Patrick that makes them more representative of the current Irish community in NY than the gay community.
However, if I shared some of your views on people and their “lifestyle choice” I would be embarrassed.
So i choose to live gay..LOL no I don’t. Do you choose to live straight?
If I never have sex with a man or woman I am still Gay. It has nothing to do with the act of intercourse.
So therefore is not a lifestyle choice.
Now do you understand?
I’m not a fascist bully, I don’t give a shit what parade they are or aren’t in as long as they make equal amounts of noise as everyone else, I’m all for equality so be equally inconspicuous. Legalise gay marriage already so we don’t have to listen to this crap every day of the week. I’m sorry to say but it reminds me of the “I’m the only gay in the village” sketch from little Britain, the people who make the biggest deal out of it are the lgbt community (which I have friends from). Truth is most people don’t care if they marry but it gets tiring listening to it over and over so just legalise it so its not a thing at every single event everywhere and then everyone can get on and be happy.
Let me guess, now I’m homophobic? Too much political correctness these days, its ridiculous. You can’t say anything without having a label slapped on you. Yeah I’m the big homophobic with lgbt friends who I get on very well with and support… Such bs…
who said you were Homophobic? No one. but to say that the people who make the biggest deal out of it are the LGBT community is incorrect. There is a campaign against granting gay people equal rights by groups such as Iona etc..who for some reason it is a big deal. So I’m sorry if you find all of this crap but it’s a big deal to people like me and my straight friends who support me.
I just saw the red thumbs flowing in and presumed that was why. As it so happens two of my closest friends are black and my favourite actors are black, my favourite chat show host is gay and one of my favourite comedians cross dresses. I’m not sure what you mean by that but I’m just making an observation of how overly politically correct everyone has gone that’s all..
As said above its a St paddy’s day parade. I just think every single thing doesn’t need to be a stand for gay rights. Of course you have to fight to get your referendum which is badly needed but sometimes just give it a rest and don’t bring it into every single thing. With so much inequality in the world today sometimes its nice to have a break from it.
Well I agree 100% my friend the sooner the better. Best of luck and when the day comes (and it will) I’ll be sure to show my face at the polling station :)
Yes Foxes your right it has not to do with being gay or straight. So answer me this why can other communities March proudly with there banners and flags celebrating who they are and the community they belong to you know football clubs cheer leaders business flots ect. But gay people can’t March with there banners and flags celebrating who they are as a community. Yes we are a community. If you can stop opcessing about what happens between the sheets for a minute you might understand that we are also a community. But yet we are band from marching as a community. And before you start banging on about how straight people don’t March as a community just because there are straight the difference is you can if you so chose to there is no rule to stop you where there is a rule to stop the gay community. Now that is discrimination end of story.
Foxy, Honest to Jaysus! Your comments are ridiculous….not just on this story, but all your comments on all stories.
This last one about it being a choice takes the biscuit.
It’s because of people like you that I can only take the comments section on this site in very small doses. Narrow minded, begrudger.
Ok …. People are born gay , it’s not a lifestyle choice it’s the way people are ……………but why do I have to have it rammed my throat with banners and flags
Totally off topic Shane .
Stop promoting the the gay movment.
The beatniks in the 50s
the Mods n rockers in the 60s
the Hippies in the 70s
the punks in the 80s
the Yuppies in the 90s
and the “Gays” ever since …
Who is the most vocal?
Only one of the above is belly aching about wanting to March- and destroy the Patricks Day Parade and turn it unto a Homosexual Mardi-Gras.
Shame on them , go have your own march.
Ya but the two you just mentioned are as I’d personally perceive as being in the ‘public service’ category..not lifestyle choices! It’s true for the commentator above there’s already a gay pride march…calm down like!
It’s not a lifestyle choice. And show me a movie or TV programme that doesn’t shove YOUR lifestyle down my throat. Keep your sickening bigotry to yourself, foxy
You are wilfully ignorant
You haven’t explained what military garb is doing in a parade to mark irish pride . You know we’ve a tradition of neutrality, don’t you?
People DO care if we marry. They sue about it. They have ads in the paper about it. Sorry if you’re tired of hearing about it – let me promise you though, this is just the start. We will continue to make noise until people like you stop referring to us as ‘they’. Deal with it.
And sexuality has nothing to do with respect, which is PRECISELY what people who are gay are trying to get across.
I personally don’t care about such a pointless parade and I don’t thing a specifically gay attendance is useful or relevant – except insofar as it brings a few more bigots out of the closet and onto the comments boards of The Journal.
I’m just saying it doesn’t bother me who marries who that’s their choice. I refer to many groups of people as ‘they’ as do many others it doesn’t mean anything so don’t read into it too much, I’m on your side leave it at that. And by the way I don’t need to ‘deal with it’ the issue to me is that I’m still hearing this issue weekly when it should have been dealt with years ago, I’m sure you don’t like hearing it weekly either… I’m sure you’d rather it was dealt with. The LGBT community should remember this in the next election and use their vote wisely, hard done I know but that’s my advice.
Because there is prejudice and bigotry and hate and violence and suicide – it’s a reaction. Expect to hear a whole lot more until anachronisms like you are silenced. I’m happy that you’re sick of hearing from us. I’m delighted.
Excuse me but silencing people isn’t very equal rights now is it? I don’t want anybody silenced, I think a St.Patrick’s day parade should be something that can forego the whole rights thing seeing as that issue has nothing to do with that day. Parade up and down outside daíl eirann all day for all I care, but gay rights doesn’t need to be involved in everything that happens festival and event wise.
Zozimus, as you just said , you will march until nobody notices, ( That’s what it’s all about isn’t it?).
When nobody notices- that’s when everybody will be Homosexual -is that your aim?
The way sex education is about to be thought in the schools – heterosexual sex will appear to be the abnormal one.
Putin is right to put a stop to the PROMOTION of Homosexuality.
If you Gays are embarrassed about you preferences, that’s your problem , stop trying to make the rest of the community embarrassed by being Hetro.
The Gay community have successively hijacked every other media service, way over represented from tv chat shows, talkback radio,cooking shows, and family entertainment. I’m sure by now the casting couch in Hollywood is coloured pink.
Equality today, Privilege tomorrow
John – it’s great to see people like you get that kind of prejudice fear and ignorance out into the open. That’s the only way we will defeat it. I hope you change soon, it must be a burden to carry around that much hate.
I see john that you’re not brave enough to use a real twitter account. Big man. Anyway – you’ve deliberately misinterpreted. When I say that one day nobody will notice gays it’s because people like you will have grown up. There will still be 8% or 10% of the population who are gay – that’s fairly stable, what will have changed is the ignorance.
Before that though , and trust me on this pal, we will make sure that no law, no organisation treats us as different or less.
Most people support this view – at least 80% – and growing.
In general, I think it’s fine for the Taoiseach to march in a St. Patrick’s parade in the USA. It just doesn’t have to be the particular parade that bans a group from marching under its own banner.
why give this idiot bill de blasio a headline. probably the one time I agree with enda, everyone is equal. “F” the church and their homophobia, bigotry and sexism. imagine if there was a political party that was homophobic, hid child abuse, didn’t allow women and didn’t want people in Africa to wear condoms to stop the spreading of aids, would you support them??
This continued gay onslaught is so ridiculous, I am sure that those offended people in New York can spend time with the Mayor and have a gay old time. Then everyone’s happy!
I have absolutely no problem with people’s sexual preferences, gay, straight, trans-gender or whatever. What you do or how you live your life Is your own god dam business…. But what the F has it got to do with the St Paddies day parade?? Why would he boycott it? That’s an insult in itself to Irish people gay or straight. St Patricks day is a celebration about being Irish and about our patron saint…. Is there not a whole other parade and celebration about gay lifestyle and/or pride???
The catholic faith organisation that organises the parade created the issue decades ago by banning a gay group. If they had banned electricians it would an electricians issue.
”President Mcaleese did boycott the parade when in office
” Irish President Mary McAleese has turned down an invitation to be grand marshal of the New York City St. Patrick’s Day parade in 2011, the historic 250th anniversary of the event.
The turn down is said to be connected to the issue of gays being refused the right to march in the parade under their own banners, and McAleese’s strong relationship with gay and lesbian organizations in Ireland.”
-
- also if there are signs saying ” England get out of Ireland ” – as reported yesterday – then LBGT should be allowed promote themselves .
The whole country of ireland should boycott paddy’s day as an act of protest against our government whom ripping the country apart , looking after the mega rich , at the expense of the rest.
Gay people are not looking to March for gay rights. They just wanted the right to March as a community with there banners and flags. There is nothing to stop straight people from marching as a community with banners and flags if they so wish to. So why are gay people band for doing so? It is homophobic discrimination. The mare is not marching to hi light this fact.
That’s fair enough, but the “straight” people marching are not carrying banners that state their sexual preference, they are carrying tri-colour flags to celebrate the day that’s in it! OUR day (Irish, gay or straight, black or white)
Dean you are not getting the point.gay people are not looking to March with banners stating their sexual orientation or preference as you call it. They mealy want the right to March as a community with banners and flags that represents their community. The point is there is a rule that prevents the gay community from doing so. Where no such rule exists to prevent straight people from marching as a community. So the logical thing to do would be to introduce a rule that prevents straight people from doing so or drop the rule that prevents gay people from doing so. It’s double standards.
we need proper gays? question who is the first gay to go into space? who is the first gay to climb everest?
surely these things more important than marraige.
theres a ‘supergay’ state of resonance that they must aspire to
'Some indications' Jewish groups have pulled out of planned meeting, Taoiseach admits
Jane Matthews
Reports from Washington DC
6 mins ago
Russia
Putin backs US truce proposal for Ukraine war but says 'serious questions' need to be discussed
Updated
7 mins ago
As it happened
The Taoiseach invited Trump and Vance to visit as Washington celebrated Ireland
Updated
17 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 156 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 106 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 137 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 39 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 45 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 89 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 96 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 71 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 52 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 66 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say