You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
File photo of Alan Kelly at the emergency homeless summit in December. Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland
renewed effort
Three years on from the death of Jonathan Corrie, another homeless summit takes place today
Homelessness in Ireland is at its worst stage in recent history, with numbers rising all the time.
6.21am, 8 Sep 2017
WHEN A HOMELESS man died just a few feet from the Dáil close to three years ago there was a huge public outcry.
The death of Jonathan Corrie on the morning of 1 December 2014 came at a time of a spike in homeless numbers. A record number of rough sleepers had been counted on the streets just a few weeks before.
Christmas was just around the corner and the public reaction and anger was palpable.
Sensing an imminent political crisis, then-Environment Minister Alan Kelly convened an emergency homeless summit, inviting all stakeholders to the table.
Opposition party members, charity heads and officials from across the housing and homelessness sectors met to discuss the growing crisis.
A number of short-term and long-term commitments were made: there were additional beds made available for homeless rough sleepers; 50% of all future social housing allocations would go to long-term homeless; the government reaffirmed its commitment to ending long-term homelessness by the end of 2016.
“Our ambition is that there will be no need for anyone to have to sleep rough in Dublin this Christmas unless they make that choice themselves, for whatever reason,” Alan Kelly said in a statement following the summit.
Almost three years later, four homeless people have died in the past 10 days and there are more homeless people than ever before in the state’s recent history.
In response to the growing crisis, current Housing Minister Eoghan Murphy (who is now in charge of the homeless brief) will today convene an emergency housing summit in order to try to find solutions.
Housing Summit
Murphy will today host an emergency housing summit in Dublin with the heads of the 31 local authorities of Ireland.
The purpose of the summit is, in Murphy’s words, “to explore new options and to see how we can better join up our response across local authorities but also across health and social care supports” in order to tackle the housing crisis.
The summit differs from the one held in 2014 in that it focused on all of housing, rather than solely homelessness.
Back in December 2014, charity officials and those who had been working for years with homeless people responded positively to Kelly’s swift affirmative action in convening the homeless summit.
A 20 point plan was drawn up to tackle the issue. However, as the months progressed the number of homeless people increased significantly, and that good sentiment turned sour.
Figures released yesterday for July show that there were 5,187 adults staying in state-funded homeless accommodation as well as 2,973 children.
This is almost double the number of adults (2,858) who were in the same situation in December 2014, around the time of Jonathan Corrie’s death.
The number of homeless children in December 2015 was 880 – meaning it has close to quadrupled in fewer than three years.
File photo of a hotel corridor. Shutterstock / Banet
Shutterstock / Banet / Banet
Plans
A number of commitments have been made by this and the previous government since the summit on homelessness in 2014.
In many cases these commitments have not been realised.
First, the goal of eliminating long-term homelessness by the end of last year was not met, with the government silently dropping that promise.
Since then, former Housing Minister Simon Coveney repeatedly promised to end the use of hotel and B&B accommodation for housing homeless families by July of this year.
Coveney said that the use of hotels to house homeless families would be ended by July of this year. Marc O'Sullivan
Marc O'Sullivan
That target was also not met, with Eoghan Murphy rowing back on the commitment when he took ministerial office in June.
Figures for July showed 753 families staying in commercial hotels in the Dublin region, which is down from the peak but up on recent months.
The commitment to end hotel use was contained in the government’s Housing Action Plan – Rebuilding Ireland - which was launched to much fanfare last year.
However, the plan has come under strong criticism in recent months, as homelessness has continued to worsen.
Minister Murphy instigated a review of the plan when he took office in June, which is due to be completed this month. He has said on a number of occasions that the plan “is working” but that additional measures were needed to increase housing supply.
Eoghan Murphy took over as Housing Minister in June. Leah Farrell / RollingNews.ie
Leah Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie
Murphy said that the number of people exiting homelessness was significant, but that more people continued to enter all the time.
He said that last year over 3,000 sustainable exits from homelessness were achieved, as well as 900 in the first quarter of this year.
He pointed towards the delivery of new group home “family hubs”, which when fully complete will provide more suitable accommodation for over 500 families at an estimated cost of €25 million.
He also said that extra beds were on the way and that new solutions to the crisis would be announced in the coming weeks.
There have been numerous calls across many sectors and from opposition politicians to increase local authority social housing supply, and opposition politicians have criticised government for what they say is its failure to do this.
“The housing and homeless crisis needs action, not words. The time for summits and gestures has long since passed,” said Sinn Féin TD Donnchadh Ó Laoghaire.
If Minister Murphy is to be taken seriously on the back of this week’s summit, actions must follow; not in the form of yearly plans, or kicking the can down the road for another few months; we need to see action immediately.
The purpose of today’s summit is believed to be for Murphy to stress to local authorities the importance of treating the housing crisis with urgency and to come up with viable solutions to address it at a local and national level.
The summit will be held in Custom House in Dublin tomorrow at 11. Minister Murphy is expected to address the media at about 4pm after the event.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
These are nothing more than the devils spawn. Rest in peace to those who died today and that poor man in France what a way to die. And now news of bomb in a shiite mosque in Kuwait. Rest in peace for all those who died there also.
Makes me sick to stomach.
@charlie – Extremists are only people who act on what moderates believe in theory. As that old adage says: we judge ourselves by our intentions and others by their actions.
No. I wouldn’t let two sc#m bag terrorists put me off visiting a wonderful country like Tunisia. An event like this could happen in any city or country in the world. tragic though. rip
@ pat o dwyer i dont think any of the innocent people caught up in all these events today can see a ” brighter side” as you put it! really pat the brighter side of ISIS!
@Charlie Figarty.
The ‘Moderates’ are the ones who go to the mosque,pay their ‘ZAKAT’( donations to charity)-8% of which goes to The Jihadders’ and then go home without a bother on their conscience.
Extremists have been using religion as an excuse since time began ! The westbouragh church used Christianity as a means of hatred on a daily basis ! Does this mean all Christians are bigots ? Open your mind
@Pat
“The ISIL Takfiri terrorist group was created by the US and does what exactly Washington wants it to do, says political activist Seth Rutledge.”
“ISIS, in my opinion, is largely a creation of US intelligence and is basically doing what exactly the US wants it to do,” Rutledge told Press TV on Thursday.”
So a ‘political activist’ (what does one have to do to qualify as one of them?) has an ‘opinion’ on something, which is quoted on Press TV (you do know that the whole raison d’etre of Press TV is to spew out anti-western propaganda right?). Well that’s it then – definitive proof….
Are you so gullible that you’d also take as gospel anything that some random bloke you met down the pub told you was his ‘opinion’, as his opinion would be every bit as valid as that of a random ‘political activist’ on Press TV!
Its perfectly accptable for religions to have a place of worship that is a freedom affforded in modern democratic societies.
It is not acceptable to resort to violence.
This is Ireland , its not perfect but its a damn site better than many parts of the world .
We sholud not accept radicalism from anymore be it, Islam, Christian, or other.
We should judge people not ont heir religion or the colour of their skin but the content of their charector to paraphrase Dr Martin Luther King.
yep there was half a million people killed in iraq and over one hundred and fifty thousand were civilians all killed by american and british forces while they looked for weapons of mass destruction and all they found was a bottle of white spirits…hence the birth of isis….very sad what happened today and its happening often now..
Was in Tunisia in the 90s armed police and military everywhere even then. Poor woman her family must be devastated. We really need to think when we book a holiday to these countries now it’s not safe anymore for westerners. There is a war being waged against us now. All non Muslims. May she rest in pease.
Up to your comment on 9/11 I actually understood and felt you were making some really good points. What is this “greatest lie in human history” that you speak of?
most certainly not killed by other iraqis albeit some where but the vast majority were murdered by the coalition forces when they invaded the country for no reason and have since admitted they made a mistake…at the expense of five hundred thousand iraqis..
No doubt a few will be along shortly to tell us how it is us westerners who are to blame. They’re already swarming over the French article. It must be a hard job when every day an atrocity is committed in the name of this disgusting religion.
And about how we deserve it really, and how its fair enough because of what we did to them during the crusades, and how its our own fault being attacked, yada yada yada…
Since you guys asked for it, THE U.S. HAS TRAINED, FUNDED AND ARMED ISIS! There is a reason the EU is allowing droves of migrants in. They will attack us, with permission and assistance of course and then we’ll have military on the streets while the Eurozone collapses. These are not random acts of terrorism, this is a meticulously planned strategy to take our rights from us. The U.S. started its “War on Terror” almost 15 years ago. How do you all think its going?
Precisely my point Bill.
My other personal favourite line from the apologists is “this has nothing to do with religion”…
Yes it f*ckin does – it has everything to do with religion!
@Scipio. With the dual purpose of blaming the westerners as you rightly point out but also to deflect away from the Horrific events in Tunisia and France and to try to ‘control the narrative’- just like one would imagine professional paid Muslim Brotherhood internet shills try to do.
Crusades launched after 400 years of muslim attacks, raids, rapes and enslaving of Christian pilgrims to the holy land as well as muslims then attacking Christian territories in the middle east, north Africa and muslim attacks on the Byzantine empire.
ISIS/ISILs plan, the same with destroying all the old art is to trick the west into blundering in again like in 2003, committing more war crimes and thus getting them more support, they hope they can bleed an occupying force dry (which they would ) and eventually public pressure would force it to leave again (which it would) leaving a weak government in place (as happened in Iraq) which they can take over.
If there is no intervention they feel they can still make a run at overthrowing the govt, their real goal is Saudi Arabia thats the crown jewel in their plans.
They WANT the tourism to go away, they want the youth to not have any contact with the outside world. They don’t want their youth to have any contact with westerners who might tell them what having actual freedom is like and they might like it too.
Destroying the heritage of Syria and Iraq has noting to do about ‘tricking the West into invading’. It’s a product of the Wahhibism that the likes of Isis and others espouse. The Saudis have being demolishing their ancient monuments fkr decades. Little of their heritage remains. And who can forget the Buddhist statues in Afghanistan.
If these people ever gain control of Egypt they’d destroy the Pyramids.
Scipio since the goals of tricking them in came from their own recovered documents by news crews I’m gonnna go with what ISIS says is their goal while ye know…figuring out what ISIS wants is concerened.
It happens to coincide with their “my sky god hates idols” philosophy but they don’t need to FILM the destruction and send it to the news networks to satisfy God, that’s about getting the ”international community” and the US to do what they do best – blunder into a quagmire using poor dumb hicks from the red states as cannon fodder
@Ann Glasgow. In Mohammed’s time the Faithful had to take their chances robbing the ‘trade caravans”. But that’s no longer necessary as all they have to do is walk into our welfare offices and the
psychophants will take good care of them,-until they’re numerous enough and strong enough to show good old Mohammedan gratitude by tearing our society apart.
Totally agree Dave, isolated terrorist attacks shouldn’t stop you from travelling. It was only 30 years ago that we saw bombs going off in Dublin, am I going to avoid Dublin, nope.
Death knell for the Tunisan tourist industry. These savages have no shame.
Tunisia is one of the more democratic and progressive North African countries. ISIS clearly carry out these attacks to destabilise the country’s economy. Hideous, vile people.
I think the photos will bring the reality home for a lot of people, this is the kind of thing that happens around the world.
Jerry the fact is you’re not safe from Islamic extremism wherever you and they reside, be it New York, Madrid, London, Paris, Nairobi etc, but once you venture into a predominately Muslim country the risk is much greater, Turkey Egypt and Indonesia are also regarded as fairly secular Muslim countries but they too have had their fair share of attacks on Western tourists, Luxor and Bali the two most notable ones.
Horrendous attack but I’m surprised tourist companies were still operating there since the last brutal terrorist attack only happened in March and was obviously part of an attempt to deter tourists and hit the economy..
The world would be a better place without these extremists, but it’s not a war that can be fought and won like wars in the past. It’s only a matter of time before something similar happens in Ireland as the liberals continue to welcome in migrants with open arms and no idea of their backgrounds.
It’s says warning graphic! Also it’s a story of a shooting.. what did u think was going to be in the photo? It’s important we don’t wash over this stuff and we see it in its horrible truth. If we don’t see extreme things like this, it’s too easy for the world to ignore and forget
It’s not a bit much it’s the REAL WORLD and whats really happening.
Maybe if people saw more of this kind of thing they’d not be as quick to support wars or terrorist groups so eagerly as they are now. I wonder if the people above could see what a nuclear blast does to a human beings body at various points along the blast zone would they still be clapping loudly for a load of them to be dropped
Its not so much the scene thats a bit much but the victim in the pic is easily identifiable to anybody who might know him. Thats my problem. Also I do believe that exposure to images of terror do help to harden resistance to such acts.
You see it on this site every day, people are too quick to support bombing this or shooting that , see it right up the top comments there. They are removed from it because the media does not show what actually happens. They don’t show limbs blown off, disfigured kids, they don’t see the fear in someones eyes when it dawns on them they have minutes or seconds to live.
The Gulf War, while it was the ‘good’ Gulf war because it was doing what the UN was meant to do (correct an invasion as opposed to starting one) , what it did in Korea, should have been shown for the war it was, but it was portrayed on CNN as this video game almost. So naturally when the 03 war came up people thought it would be the same…
There’s a photo of the gunman with his head blown off if it makes you feel better? That’s the reality of what these people are doing. Best to face up to it rather than going on with your perfect lives with heads stuck in the sand.
“6Degreesbelle”, A photo of what happened does not have to be brandished around for people to be informed about what happens in this world. And I’m sure the family of these people certainly don’t need to see it
To be honest everyone was complaining last week about the star’s front cover of the body bags of the students who died in Berkeley so why is there double standards just because these people aren’t Irish?
Tiarnan there is no purpose in showing the bodies of the victim of an accident, it’s just rubbing salt in the wounds of their friends and family.
Showing the victims of terrorism and war is another matter, people tend to support political violence (as you can see from the top rated comment on this very forum, by people supposidly outraged at violence, ironically) because they are removed from it, they say “yeh they should die” and stop thinking about it, they are not forced to SEE it, to look at it, if they are , less of them will be inclined to support it
No need for pictures. And as a Muslim I wholeheartedly condemn these attacks as any normal sane Muslim would. These monsters do not represent my Islam.
They might not represent you but the likes of ISIS et al do represent the legacy of the warrior founder of your religion. There is no getting around that fact.
There is most certainly a need for these pictures to be printed, news and media actually have an obligation to show us the reality of what is going on.
It was the graphic photos and news reels which came out of Vietnam that helped sway public opinion against the war there. There is a strong argument to say that if the previous 10+ years of conflict in the ME had been properly reported on it would have turned our western stomachs a long time ago and we’d have be up in arms by this stage, but due to what happened in Vietnam media outlets have been highly restricted in what they can and can’t report on.
Think of the collateral murder video from wikileaks and the outrage following. This is just one instance where the public hadnt known what was actually happening on the ground until the information was actually stolen from US servers.
If you don’t want to see it, if you don’t want to know what is actually going on on the ground, if you don’t want to be fully informed that’s fair enough, don’t click the article.
But by calling for censorship you are actually effecting my and others ability to be fully informed and aware of the pure ugliness of what is going on.
A picture paints a thousand words, it’s important people see them and realise that this is what these people are capable of doing without any conscious whatsoever.
In Islam it is called the Month of Victory and Conquest.
Welcome to the new world, they’ll do their best to collapse Tunisia and they will succeed and they will turn it in to an Islamic State in time to come. It provides the most foreign fighters to ISIS.
Your comment concerning Ramadan shows how little you know about Islam. It is a month of peace, a month of mercy, a month of reflection. ISIS are disgusting individuals, but genuine Muslims they are not. They will burn in hell for what they have done.
Islamic community very quiet as usual. What’s the story lads, do you not think it’s time all decent Muslims stood up and condemned these s#umbag members of their religious brotherhood.
@Michael Reilly. Qatar and SA fund and thus control the Muslim Brotherhood whose Mouthpiece is Al Jazeera. The MB is behind ISIS/Al Queda/Hamas and other terrorist groups. The Spiritual Leader of The Global Muslim Brotherhood is Yusuf Al-Qaradawi who operates the European Council for Fatwa and Research out of Clonskeagh,Dublin,Ireland. His role is comparable to Third Reich propaganda minister Joseph Goebbles.
“It was Al-Jazeera that created the “Arab Spring” by twisting a story about a Tunisian fruit-seller, who set himself on fire because he could not get a work permit, into a story of Tunisian oppression. The station ran the story again and again, whipping up Tunisians to overthrow their secular leaders and bring in Islamist leaders. To the Tunisians’ credit, like the Egyptians, after a few years of Islamist rule, they also threw the Islamist leaders out. http://www.gatestoneinstitute.org/5241/eu-qatar-turkey-terrorism
i dont believe they can or will to be honest. Most of them are badly influenced by our kids muahaha
On top of that they cant fart without someone smelling it. I went for a job and knew no one but they knew my whole family. Its like throw the stone and you will hit someone who you know or know someone you know.
On top of that we have two different groups on our shores. And any underground group would not be able to move or set up without them catching wind of them. So doubtful.
Colin I can guarantee you one thing , we will take in more Muslims , we will house , feed , educate , medicate them while our own do without , we will bend over backwards to accommodate their culture , we will not criticise because that would be Islamaphobia and in PC Ireland you can’t have that , my advice to you is to put up and shut up because the Country you though of as your own will in a generation resemble the worst of Britain
Oh look yet another terrorist attack committed by Muslims. The apologists will be along shortly to assure us that it’s ALL world religions we really need to worry not just the lads slaughtering infidels by the dozen aka Muslims.
Tunisia, Egypt, Morocco wouldn’t of taken a free holiday there 12 months ago. The prices are through the floor for a reason. nobody going there because it’s too risky.
I am in total agreement. Issues within these countries are very well flagged and for some time . Yes it is a sad state of affairs for the countries involved as it is their life line , but tourists also need to look at the choice of destination on multiple levels and consider the geo-political situations and ergo their safety before booking these holidays . Of course there could be a terrorist attack in more politically stable countries but these countries are particularly volatile and risks are substantially higher
Best way to face down these fascists is to become more secular,, total separation of church and state.. Scrap ludicrous blasphemy laws.. Enlightenment against year zero, dark age knuckle draggers like Isis.
Why not show the picture??? You all just want the figures of how many dead, without seeing the real horror!!! Watch sky news if that’s what you want. About time we in the west seen the real horror of war. These people have to.
Why not?!?!? Are you for real??? Here are some of many reasons: Relations need to be informed. Respect for the dead. Humanity towards the family of the deceased. Journalistic standards.
Surely the journal has a policy for publishing extremely graphic images of violence? If they want to provide a link with a warning ok, but showing images of people recently murdered lying in the street just below the headline is plain wrong.
More like Stalanist, ye libtards are their best friends in the west. Just look a the highly incompetent Obama. You think the world would be suffering with the threat of isis if there was a republican in the White House or that your comrade Putin would be allowed to get away with his antics.
buzz words Glenard. isis taliban Al qaeda. it’s like a relay team… when one fades the other is thrown into the spotlight to continue the fear. appalling stuff.
I am finished with the Journal after this ‘article’. What a disgrace publishing this image not only here, but also on your twitter feed. It’s slowly turning into the Sunday World. Show some respect!
There’s an argument to be made that such images play an important part in Journalism. The war photographers during the Vietnam war took many shocking images that helped turn public opinion against the war. I understand the objections to publishing such an image but not doing so in a way sugarcoats the reality of what happened. Pictures say more than words can.
Nostalgia? The photos came long after the high school grads body bags had turned the public mood..fan of Tubridy and his nostalgic view of the US too perhaps..bowing to the man who instigated hell fire foreign policy in Central America and the legacy is there today in homocide rates because he’d Irish ancestry! Our blastards are equally guilty, colour or creed doesn’t discriminate that!
Irish media including journal are blind and corrupt. Essentially all are tabloids. On the day of Charlie hebdo murders 1500 were slaughtered by boko harem In Nigeria.Yezidi christians are being ethnically cleansed and dehumanised presently.Irish media stopped reporting on Ukraine, dont bother with africa or south America. Irish media is insular and all but ignores world affairs breeding ignorance.
You clearly don’t understand how the media works then. TheJournal.ie is not a public service that your tax euros pay for. Don’t know what you work at, but I’m sure that you’re not obliged to cater to the remote amazon tribes of the rainforest just because someone says you should. Want reporting on every news story on the planet, create a news site yourself. See how much you can cover with limited staff. See what the ROI is on a story that your readers don’t care about. Sorry to sound harsh, it just never ceases to amaze me how many people think that a private media company is a public service. I blame the TV license.
We should be shown more photos like the previous one that was up. Had the mainstream media (I hate that expression) shown us real footage of what the American and British were up to at the start of the invasion of Iraq and Afghanistan things might be different. We may not have had as many idiots turning up on college green to great a murderer like Obama or Clinton. We need these strong pictures but we need them followed by strong honest words not edited press statements. We can’t just rely on Robert Fisk, Amy Goodman, John Pilger, Gideon Levy etc for good journalism.
How many of these fanatics will use the current refugee influx to Europe as cover to enter the West & cause havoc? That’s the question which bothers me. Let’s not be careless enough to allow these use the influx as a Trojan horse. Let’s hope that Europe will be able to screen those who wish to enter and send back those who may be Islamist fanatics. Hopefully the EU will not be influenced by do gooders who are urging that hundreds of thousands and even millions be allowed in.
The West really let this genie out of the bottle when they started messing in the Middle-East and surrounding countries of Asia and Africa – supporting the war crimes of Israel and fighting the Russians by proxy by supplying the Taliban. That sort of blew up in their faces, did nt it. Then they just could n’t wait to get invading Iraq to remove Sadaam Hussein and put pressure on their old enemy Iran. They even manufactured false reasons about weapons of mass destruction as an excuse to get doing so. Next was Libya – the French led the charge followed by the Brits – now they wonder why they have so many refugees, and worse, on their doorstep. Wars and refugees sort of go together, don’t they. A few years ago, the British were just bursting to get into Syria. Pity the Westminster parliament narrowly voted the proposal down or they would now really be up to their necks in the mess. While I don’t condone for a minute the barbaric religious maniacs of Isis, etc. the West have only themselves to blame for their interference in other people’s countries.
The hatred for Westerners predates all the the incidents mentioned above and was certainly obvious to those of us who worked in the Persian Gulf area in the late 1950′s and early 60′s.
Because we are the Kuffar and the hatred I mention is well documented from a long time before even the times I mentioned. The loss of the Caliphate which once took in much of Europe is still fresh in the culture of Islam even if youngsters in Ireland never even heard of it.
When you change the headline can you you just write a new article, otherwise the headline, the article and the comments don’t relate. Amateur journalists at the journal.
Nah, that would be anarchy. A hundred articles on a single developing story. It would be much better if updates were added to the bottom of the story, not spliced in. Agreed though, it’s confusing as hell. TheJournal.ie don’t use their own product, so they don’t think like the average user. If they won’t spell check, they sure as hell won’t usability test.
I’m not bothered by graphic violence but maybe you should move the photo a little further down the page rather than right underneath the disclaimer as it’s the first thing you see before reading a word
I see you took down that shocking image of the dead woman lying facedown in the street. You obviously made a thought-out decision to publish it but have now backed down and removed it due a negative response in the comment section. I think you should have left it but it’s an interesting debate to have. Care to elaborate on the reasons you thought you should publish it in the first place and on whether you took it down merely to appease some of your readers or because you believe you actually made a mistake?
This is what happens when government officials from different country’s decide to sit and talk on plans to eradicate Isis. LESS TALK MORE ACTION This attack could of been PREVENTED. Isis is accountable so should the government’s
A strange day, given the context of the announcement of the extension of marriage rights in the US. A couple of hours can sum up the very best and very worst of what humans are capable of.
Out of respect would you take down or at least have the decency to edit these pictures. God only knows where these people have family living, that might see this picture. Would you like your murdered family members photos on a “Journalisitc page”
Could this be history repeating itself. Over a period of 200 years the followers of Islam extended their power until they controlled Southern Spain. With the help of modern technology and weaponry they are destabilising the states of the Maghreb. Next stop could be Spain.
What is happening in this world!!Why kill innocent people?if you feel that much hatred why not just go out into a middle of a field and kill each other instead of innocent people
Because nobody will care unless they know they are being targeted. The reason terrorism is so effective is because it isn’t just those in the military who have to fear for their lives.
There is no command to kill each other, there are hundreds of commands in the faith to kill all disbelievers or those who stray from it.
“And fight with them until there is no more persecution (fitnah) and religion should be only for Allah; but if they desist, then surely Allah sees what they do “[Quran 8:39]
Hundreds of more commands and sayings and examples of Mohammed demanding this.
It is strange to read all the ridiculous and hysterical comments regarding the journal.ie using photos of the current spate of atrocities as these are news photos in use by all the on-line newspapers and not exclusive to the journal.
lorna was a nurse at the practice where my husband is working in Navan. May she rest in peace and may the Lord be with her family in these difficult times
This is shocking, 3 terrorist attacks in one day, ISIS behind all 3. Ramadan for them rather than show peace and preach they go extra violent for that period.
Terrible terrible atrocity. Carried out by a brainwashed animal. You have to question how anyone could condone this. Not very good to see that people are bashing Islam in the comments though. In case you hadn’t noticed, most of the people being killed by Islamic fundamentalists are Muslims.
National Parks manager says there was a ‘sinister element’ to Co Mayo fires
1 hr ago
Drew Harris
Garda Commissioner's contract extended until replacement is found
13 mins ago
beaufort
Boy killed after being struck by tractor in Co Kerry this evening
16 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say