You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

How I Spend My Money: A bank employee on €30,000 saving to buy her first home

She has moved back home to squeeze every penny.

WELCOME TO HOW I Spend My Money, a new series on TheJournal.ie that looks at what people in Ireland really do with their cash.

We’re asking readers to keep a record of how much they earn, how much they save, if anything, and what they spend their money on over the course of one week. Want to take part? Details on how to do it are at the bottom of the piece.

To kick off the series, we’re publishing diaries by people saving for a mortgage – a tall order for anyone these days due to the acute shortage of housing.

First up, a woman working as a customer advisor in a bank walks us through her week.

MoneyDiaries-Banner-950x170v3

Location: Wicklow (living with parents and commute to Dublin)
Salary: €30,000
Monthly pay (net): €1,998

Monthly expenses
Rent: €0
Household bills: €160
Transport: €160 on petrol. We drive to the Luas and have found some cheeky free parking. I have a bus and Luas tax saver ticket that runs at about €95 a month.
Phone bill: €25
Health insurance: €0
Groceries: €200 (approximately)
Subscriptions: Netflix (€10.99), Apple Music (€9.99)

We’re currently trying to save for a deposit for a mortgage and luckily in a position that we can live with my parents. It’s rent free, but I think they’re trying to get rid of us faster. Collectively we’re saving around €1,600 a month, about €700 from myself and the rest is covered by my other half.

Monday

5:15 am – I do shift work and this week I am working 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, so we have the joy of a 5:15am alarm. Being totally honest, I would say my alarm actually goes off at about 5:00 am and I actually drag myself out of bed somewhere between 5:15 am and 6:00 am depending on how deep into the week we are. I have a six-year long shower to try to make myself human. Not much one for breakfast – coffee is my meal. We were given a coffee machine for Christmas, so I make coffee in the morning at home and leave the house at about 6:15 am.

6:30 am – That last bit was a lie, it’s almost always closer to half past when we make the 20-minute drive to the Luas stop in Saggart. We park there and get the Luas the rest of the way. Total journey is about 1 hour 15 mins.

1:00 pm – I usually try to make a big batch of food on a Sunday to bring in with me, but I was too much of a hungover gremlin yesterday to manage to go to the supermarket. So, I run around to the shop at lunch to get something. I grab some eggs and soda bread so I can make myself microwave scrambled eggs for the week. €4.67

4:30 pm – I’ve finished work, but because myself and himself work slightly different hours, I’m in the lurch for about an hour. Usually I spend the time finishing up work or reading my book.

5:30 pm – We hop on the Luas and by 7:00 pm we’re home. Quick stop in the supermarket on the way home to buy something for dinner and some milk. €10.67

7:30 pm – We take turns making and buying dinner between the four of us in the house. My other half is up tonight, so I’m off the hook. I finally admitted defeat last month and gave up my neglected gym membership on the premise that myself and my mum would start doing a couch to 5k together. We’re on week three here and our initial spurt of enthusiasm is gone, but off we go all the same.

8:30 pm – We have dinner and then lounge about the place till 10:30 pm and it’s off to bed.

Today’s total: €15.34

Tuesday

5:30 am – I’m already on a slow slide towards being late. I eat a yogurt in the car on the way in but other than that it’s business as usual.

1:00 pm – Have the makings of lunch from the day before. I like making easy lunches in work, it prevents my laziness from getting in the way the night before.

5:30 pm – Back on the Luas. I spend most of my commute either reading or listening to podcasts, but a good few return journeys turn into uncomfortable naps – this is one of those journeys.

7:00 pm – I’m on dinner duty tonight so we pop into the supermarket again on the way home. Had I been more organised, or less hellish, on Sunday I’d have saved myself a few trips and euro. I’m in a bit of a dinner rut lately so we’re having a fairly bog standard Jamie Oliver pasta yoke. I also get some more yogurt and coffee. €9.23

10:30 pm – Off to bed. 

Today’s total: €9.23

Wednesday

5:30 am – More yogurt, more coffee, more My Favourite Murder on the Luas.

8:00 am – We have tea and coffee facilities in work, which is good or I’d be broke by Tuesday, and we also have fruit delivered on a Monday. So if I snack, it’s usually on that, which saves a good bit.

1:00 pm – If you came here for exciting lunch suggestions you came to the wrong place, I’m still on the scrambled eggs train.

4:30 pm – It’s my sister’s birthday next week and she’s away on holidays during it so I offered that we go get our nails done. It’d be rude to send her alone. €60

7:30 pm – Only just leaving town so we grab a pizza on the way home. €15

10:30 pm – Bed time.

Today’s total: €75

Thursday

5:45 am – I’m up. This is where we start verging on being late.

1:00 pm – I have finally run out of eggs so I grab two pots of soup for my last two lunches of the week. €4.50

7:00 pm – We’re both off the hook for dinner tonight and one solitary rain drop fell from the sky so we’re not going for a jog either.

11:00 pm – Bed.

Today’s total: €4.50

Friday

5:30 am – We need the car this evening, so we’re driving in this morning. We get an extra few minutes in bed and it means I can put on my makeup in the car. It takes about an hour to drive depending on traffic, but we need to get in early to get the car parked in a free spot in work.

8:00 am – It’s Friday, so I get myself nice coffee. €3.20

1:00 pm – Soup, again.

5:00 pm – I finish up work and drive to the north side as we’re heading out for dinner tonight. We have family home, so we’re heading to the Washerwoman in Glasnevin. Dinner and wine works out about €25 each.

10:00 pm – Little pint in the Gravediggers on the way home. €4.00.

Today’s total: €32.20

Saturday

7:00 am – I’m working this Saturday for my sins. I generally feel like I should take any overtime going. And Saturday overtime is good overtime, it’s only from 9:00 am till 1:00 pm. I treat myself to a coffee and a pastry on the way in cause I’m feeling a little worse for wear. €5.20

1:00 pm – I finish up and meet with himself so we can go for a little adventure. We head to the National Press Museum in Beggars Bush. The exhibit is free, but accepts donations. So we donated €5.00 each. After a wander around there, we head into the café for some lunch. €10 each.

5:00 pm – We head home and chill out for the rest of the evening.

Today’s total: €20.20

Sunday

11:00 am – Bit of sleep recovery this morning.

12:00 pm – We get up and make a bit of breakfast – scrambled eggs, for a change – and tea. Then we head down to the supermarket and do a bigger shop for the week. €47.20

2:00 pm – We head off for a nice Sunday amble up a hill with more tea after and a good, honest-to-god ham sandwich.

3:00 pm – I make a giant pot of chilli chicken that should do for dinner for the lot of us and also lunch for at least Monday and Tuesday. Takes a little while to cook, but it’s delicious and it goes a long way.

7:00 pm – Dinner with a desert of homemade apple pie, courtesy of my mother.

10:30 pm – Sleep and start again tomorrow.

Today’s total: €47.20

Weekly subtotal: €203.67

Are you a spender, a saver or a splurger? We’re looking for readers who will keep a money diary for a week. If you’re interested send a mail to money@thejournal.ie. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

62 Comments
    Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Oct 2nd 2018, 7:43 PM

Can we for one please have a realistic article about someone saving for a deposit who isn’t paying ZERO rent, or received an inheritance????? How about someone who actually pays their own way and tries to save a deposit after rent, bills, pension contributions etc.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Oct 2nd 2018, 7:58 PM

@Mark: Literally read the first line and saw €0 household bills and stopped reading.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:02 PM

@Mark: I think they will have difficulty finding that person who was successful in buying a house in such circumstances.
    It’s just not feasible under the current situation.

Mute Fergus
    Favourite Fergus
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:12 PM

@Mark: Its the first article in a series pal, patience.

Mute Cllr. Martin O Reilly. BA PME
    Favourite Cllr. Martin O Reilly. BA PME
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:16 PM

@Mark: Amen. Wish I could move back in with parents to live rent free to save up that deposit.

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:39 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: rent was €0. Household bills was €160. But I see your point, im just being pedantic :)

Mute Anthony Reilly
    Favourite Anthony Reilly
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:57 PM

Bought a 3 bed semi last year in north wicklow aged 29. Daughter in full time child care costing €1000 a month and renting in bray for €1100 a month. Stopped smoking and drinking for 2 years that’s how it’s done!

Mute Anthony Reilly
    Favourite Anthony Reilly
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:58 PM

@Mark: Bought a 3 bed semi last year in north wicklow aged 29. Daughter in full time child care costing €1000 a month and renting in bray for €1100 a month. Stopped smoking and drinking for 2 years that’s how it’s done!

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:49 PM

@Mark: something that is really getting to me is that we are limited to borrowing 3&half times our salary plus 10 % deposit which would be around 240, 000 for myself and my partner but if we continue paying the rent we’re paying now for 30 more years we’ll have spent nearly 450,000. Where’s the 3&half times limit on my rent?!

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Oct 2nd 2018, 10:16 PM

@Cllr. Martin O Reilly. BA PME: That’s the smart thing to do, no shaming of 30 or 40 year olds living with their parents, that sort of crap went out the window with ridiculous rents.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    Oct 2nd 2018, 10:23 PM

@David McShite: I did. Back in June. Took 5 years but managed it.

Mute Laura Farrell
    Favourite Laura Farrell
    Oct 3rd 2018, 12:25 PM

@Mark: Fair point. Good luck finding anyone though. Having been a tenant for nearly 20 years, most of the time its been a struggle to make ends, meet, nevermind save.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:08 PM

@Shane Carroll: where’s your tax breaks and rent control? Employees and tennant’s have little or no rights in Ireland, it’s disgusting how people are being treated ..

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:53 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: me too.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Oct 2nd 2018, 7:47 PM

The article started off well but then turned into a diary of non events that all of us do but instantly forget.
    To be honest I stopped reading after breakfast on monday, however if somebody tells me there is some graphic between the sheets action when the parents were out I might revisit it.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:04 PM

@David McShite: Actually, let me rephrase that…… The article started off badly and……

Mute Gulliver Foyle
    Favourite Gulliver Foyle
    Oct 2nd 2018, 10:17 PM

@David McShite: as someone who is saving for a house, that’s a lot of unnecessary spending each week – take aways, meals, nails, gifts, every week! €10k lost every year having a social life – and pay your parents at least something nominal in rent and housekeeping. how do they feel keeping you, and song you eating and drinking it every week without any contribution to your own upkeep.

Mute Dave Martin
    Favourite Dave Martin
    Oct 2nd 2018, 7:51 PM

I stopped reading after rent €0!

Mute Niamh Carroll
    Favourite Niamh Carroll
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:34 PM

How much did her night out cost (other than in loss of grocery shopping time). Does she go out often? What does she spend on make up? Other toiletries? What about car insurance, motor tax? I kind of maybe understand what the journal is trying to do with this series, but this “article” is just a diary entry of food costs. It’s very hard to have any sympathy for her situation when it seems that all she has to spend her money on is eggs and soup.

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:44 PM

@Niamh Carroll: Mmmm, eggs and soup!

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:35 PM

Can’t wait to hear about 26year old, single Jamie who works in Sales. €100 PaddyPower, €100 UFC Box office, €100 haircuts, €100 escortireland, €100 cocktails.

Mute Jamie Heffernan
    Favourite Jamie Heffernan
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:54 AM

@Stevie Doran: are you my accountant?

Mute Lisa Byrne
    Favourite Lisa Byrne
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:10 PM

Why are people it is the FIRST ARTICLE in a series, alot of people who live with their parents are saving for mortagage. You all need to just calm down, jesus wept.

I like how people moan about how uneventiful the article is but has to tell everyone “I stopped reading at such a point.

I am sure there will be articles that might relate to your own situation but this article does relate to people who find themselves living with their parents in their late 20s trying to save up.

Mute Seán J. Troy
    Favourite Seán J. Troy
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:18 PM

@Lisa Byrne:

Hello author.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:18 PM

@Lisa Byrne: I’m sure your comment was great but I stopped reading after you used CAPITALS.

Oct 2nd 2018, 9:05 PM

@Lisa Byrne: next article should suit most in here, it’s title is…..moany hole b##tard carrying the whole country on his shoulders and earning 18k.

Mute Slim Shady
    Favourite Slim Shady
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:11 PM

@John: Sorry John, I’ll stop moaning about my low wages. I’m actually a happy person and it doesn’t get me down. :)

Oct 2nd 2018, 9:36 PM

@Slim Shady: I started out with really low wages(cleaning pots in a kitchen)and thankfully I decided early on that moaning to my friends in the pub would get me nowhere( no journal then)and I went back to school and finished it, then went to night college and thankfully now I am in a decent job with decent wages.life is very short,I know people who are still waiting for things to happen and for someone to do it for them and we are in our late 40s.

Sorry, this is not aimed at you.its just a little rant.

Mute Padraig
    Favourite Padraig
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:40 PM

She needs to go back and review her budget. She’s earning 2k net a month, spends 665 but only saves 700.Where is the rest going or did I miss something.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:36 PM

@Padraig: I’d imagine the figure of 700 is set because it needs to be something that she can sustain every month.

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:40 PM

That’s one cheap week for living, probably would not reflect every week, like having to buy cloths, pay car insurance, car tax, new tyres, car service, hair color, facial creams, make up, etc, there is no way that girl gets away with so little each week, God love her when she gets the mortgage and has to pay it and bills and everything else that living costs, oh and maybe a baby,, she will be down to bread and water for all meals,

Mute Shannon Mcg
    Favourite Shannon Mcg
    Oct 2nd 2018, 11:31 PM

@Mick Hannigan: this is a weekly journal, not an annual. Also why assume she wears make up at all? Or dyes her hair? Or uses facial creams?

Mute Aileen Byrne
    Favourite Aileen Byrne
    Oct 3rd 2018, 12:31 AM

@Shannon Mcg: well she does mention putting her make up on in the car….

Mute Shannon Mcg
    Favourite Shannon Mcg
    Oct 3rd 2018, 8:34 PM

@Aileen Byrne: you don’t buy new makeup each week regardless. Doesn’t make sense.

Mute niamh ryan
    Favourite niamh ryan
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:28 PM

Why is everybody up in arms because she lives at home? Your parents are probably mortgage free and hand the room to accommodate them so why not? They pay money towards the bill and food, have their own television subscription. When our child comes of age and needs help and we are in a position to give it I would do it in a heartbeat. They are working hard and saving and trying to set themselves up for a life together. I don’t see what the problem is

Mute Terrence Edwards
    Favourite Terrence Edwards
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:29 PM

@niamh ryan: People don’t have a problem with it, it’s a very sensible option for many. It’s just that this series purports to be about how people save for a mortgage (presumably to help others looking to do so), and ‘move in with your folks, problem solved!’ isn’t a great start.

Mute purple rain
    Favourite purple rain
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:31 PM

Minute I seen 0 rent. I stopped reading. Thanks for putting it at the top of the article, saved me the anger.

Mute Kieran
    Favourite Kieran
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:05 PM

@purple rain: so someone else not having to pay rent makes you angry…..I’d get that looked at if I were you

Mute Good Early
    Favourite Good Early
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:42 PM

@Kieran: No, we just think these sorts of articles are divorced from reality. Most people now have rent 800-1200 per month on 30000pa
    This is what people expect to see.

Mute Delboy
    Favourite Delboy
    Oct 2nd 2018, 7:38 PM

A “6 year long shower” on a Monday?? If water charging had been brought in you’d be screwed saving for that mortgage.

Mute Lisa Byrne
    Favourite Lisa Byrne
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:11 PM

@Delboy: to be fair there are days when you do want to have a long hot shower to wash away the day.

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:08 PM

Shame she just didnt cut her lip when in playschool.

Mute Liam Collins
    Favourite Liam Collins
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:18 PM

@Dermot Foley: 30k that’s some pay out

Mute Frank Dowling
    Favourite Frank Dowling
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:26 PM

@Dermot Foley: spot on,

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:29 PM

@Liam Collins: Check out the earlier stories.

Mute Liam Collins
    Favourite Liam Collins
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:30 PM

@Dermot Foley: I did ,shocking that pay out after slight split lip.increase insurance cost and then increase in child care costs then

Mute Don Juan
    Favourite Don Juan
    Oct 2nd 2018, 7:36 PM

20 months you’ll be grand…

Mute Paddy Downey
    Favourite Paddy Downey
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:26 PM

It’s the first article folks – chill. Not everyone lives at home, so I’m sure they’re building it up.

Mute James Fox
    Favourite James Fox
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:24 PM

How the hell does someone live on a €200 monthly grocery bill

Mute Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Favourite Siobhán Ni Mhurchú
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:31 PM

@James Fox: the bank of mammy and daddy , living rent free and cooking their dinners etc

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Oct 2nd 2018, 8:34 PM

@James Fox: Easy when Mammy provides breakfast, dinner and tea.

Mute ED
    Favourite ED
    Oct 2nd 2018, 11:27 PM

Title is a little misleading when her partner is contributing most of the savings yet we don’t know how much he’s earning.

A couple earning circa 60+k with zero rent or bills are in a good position.

Mute Liam Carlin
    Favourite Liam Carlin
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:51 PM

What’s going to happen when she gets this mortgage and has to pay ? I mean is it realistic for her to put herself in such a position for 25 maybe 35 years ?

Mute Pl Ster
    Favourite Pl Ster
    Oct 2nd 2018, 10:10 PM

Is this girl nuts !! Just sign on have a few kids and get the rest for free .Happy Days

Mute Ciara McCormack
    Favourite Ciara McCormack
    Oct 2nd 2018, 9:35 PM

This article makes no sense! Ye need to find someone and be realistic! What about people who have rent and bills to pay and not share the cooking with Mammy and Daddy!

Mute Marty Murphy
    Favourite Marty Murphy
    Oct 2nd 2018, 10:36 PM

Her take home pay is wrong. On 30k a year monthly take home is €2,116. Hmmm

http://services.deloitte.ie/tc/Results.aspx

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Oct 2nd 2018, 11:13 PM

@Marty Murphy: you’re wrong. How the hell do you know what tax credits she has etc.

Mute Marty Murphy
    Favourite Marty Murphy
    Oct 12th 2018, 2:23 AM

@John Murphy: A where to start? She is does not say she is married and if she is the credits are too low if not and too high if she is married. Wow try to help someone…. Also its pretty simply tax law on credits and cut off.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Oct 2nd 2018, 11:56 PM

These articles are a decent idea but too much irrelevant info. We don’t need to hear about make up in the car etc. Kinda written in a way outlining how to save time etc. That’s not what the article is meant to be about

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Oct 2nd 2018, 11:57 PM

Sadly these people seem to accept that this is the way it is and at the next election they will vote for the very people who have them where they are. But sure anyone else bar the usual suspects would ruin the country now wouldn’t they?

Mute Soeren Kuehling
    Favourite Soeren Kuehling
    Oct 3rd 2018, 2:22 PM

Lets call him Joe. Joe started with a salary of ca 20000 and saved everything what was left at the end of the month. Joe had a car, health 8insurance, broadband and oaid rent of between 450 for a room sharing in a house w8th 5 other people. Joe changed places over the years but always kept sharing with others to keep costs low and increase savings. Joe did not go to fancy restaurants or cinema etc but d8d the odd holiday once a year. Long story short, joe saved his ass off and was able to save between 500 and 1000 eur every month over the course of around 14 years. Joe started looking for apartments and finally found one sold by the bank in a price range which didn’t require mortgage. So there you have it. Real world example.

Mute David Daly
    Favourite David Daly
    Oct 4th 2018, 2:37 PM

@Soeren Kuehling: great, sounds like Joe had a really interesting and fulfilling 14 years there. When did Joe make friends or find a partner? Or did he knuckle down again to save for the next 28 years to afford a house? What a stupid suggestion. I’d rather be broke and happy. You only get 1 shot at this like

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Oct 3rd 2018, 3:35 PM

I gave up at Wednesday where she splashed out & got her nails done and bought a pizza , was kinda boring to be honest, nice of her family to allow them to live rent free whilst saving for a house.