You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Dignitas clinic in Zurich. Keystone Switzerland/Press Association Images

Massive rise in 'suicide tourism' to Switzerland

From 2008-2012, two Irish people went to Switzerland for an assisted suicide.

‘SUICIDE TOURISM’ TO Switzerland has doubled within the space of four years, according to a major study published today.

The number of individuals travelling to the country, where assisted suicide is legal, to die at clinics such as Dignitas, rose from 86 in 2009 to 172 in 2012.

Between 2008 and 2012, a total of two Irish residents engaged in what is known as “suicide tourism,” according to the study published today in the Journal of Medical Ethics.

Who and why?

Significantly, researchers found that nearly half (47%) of those who travelled from abroad for an assisted suicide had neurological conditions such as ALS/motor neurone disease or Parkinson’s disease.

Among the 611 individuals who had an assisted suicide at a Swiss clinic from 2008-2012, ages ranged between 23 and 97 years, and 58% were women.

Residents of Germany and the UK alone made up nearly two thirds of the numbers, while in total, people from 31 different countries went to Switzerland for an assisted suicide in this time period.

All bar four of the cases reported were handled by Dignitas, the group which operates assisted suicide clinics in Switzerland.

AScountries Pg 3, Journal of Medical Ethics paper Pg 3, Journal of Medical Ethics paper

The researchers, led by Dr Saskia Gauthier at the University of Zurich, suggest that the availability of assisted suicide in Switzerland, and the phenomenon of suicide tourism that results from it, is changing how other countries debate the issue.

Dr Charles Foster from Oxford University, speaking in an English context, laid out two ways in which the sharply increasing use of Swiss clinics was leading to even more talk about legalisation of assisted suicide abroad.

The first is the liberalisation of public opinion that comes naturally, if irrationally, with familiarity.
And the second is the slowly growing public acknowledgement that there is something intellectually, if not morally, uncomfortable, about getting another country to do your dirty work.

Tom Curran, partner of right-to-die campaigner the late Marie Fleming, revealed in March that he was drafting legislation that would legalise assisted suicide in Ireland.

In an interview with TheJournal.ie, Curran said he had set up a working group of four barristers to draw up the planned bill.

In April 2013, the Supreme Court dismissed a case brought by Fleming, who has multiple sclerosis (MS), which sought to establish a constitutional right to die.

She died just before Christmas last year.

Scroll down to read today’s study in full.

WATCH: “The whole thing really started before Marie died..”: Tom Curran on his Wicklow council bid>

Poll: Do you think the law should be changed to allow for assisted suicide?>

http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2014/08/jme102091.pdf

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Kevin Hill
    Favourite Kevin Hill
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:42 AM

Seriously, do these storms only work weekends!!! I know it hasn’t exactly been lovely weather during the week days too but it seems every weekend comes with a risk of events being cancelled due to storms lately.

Mute heavyhits
    Favourite heavyhits
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:46 AM

@Kevin Hill: yeah, they looking for some leisure over weekends.

Mute Ashley Rowland
    Favourite Ashley Rowland
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:54 AM

@Kevin Hill: that’s the great thing about the weather. It loves to annoy the weekend snobs who think work is only Monday to Friday.

Mute munsterman1
    Favourite munsterman1
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:04 AM

@Kevin Hill: they get double time for weekends..

Mute Darrell O'Donnell
    Favourite Darrell O'Donnell
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:08 AM

@Kevin Hill: yep.. can’t be damaging the economy too much,eh?.. same with the first confirmed corona virus case.. hehe.. IN NORTHERN IRELAND! but the person landed in Dublin..

Mute Kevin Hill
    Favourite Kevin Hill
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:15 AM

@Ashley Rowland: Fair enough but that doesn’t take away from the fact the majority of sporting/social events are scheduled for weekends.

Mute Trish Ryan
    Favourite Trish Ryan
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:12 PM

@Kevin Hill: i wonder does a red *wind warning mean business are expected to close like a ‘regular’ red

Mute David Daly
    Favourite David Daly
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:14 PM

@Ashley Rowland: snobs? Wouldn’t go that flar

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Feb 29th 2020, 4:25 AM

@munsterman1: do you really

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:50 AM

“Emergency” “Storm” “Covid 19” “Crisis”
    Just a few of words from some of today’s headlines,, it’s almost like the media is trying to keep us in perpetual fear,, for or own good of course ;) I’ll get my tin foil hat….:)

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:03 AM

@devils avacado: I think there is too much news in general, they milk the sh*t out of everything.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:29 AM

@Laughable: agree I think it started with rise of 24 hour news channels,at the end of the day they have to fill them with something.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:31 PM

@ed w: same with “Breaking News” on Sky … you sit up and become alert only to find that joe soap was fined €5 for throwing away his chip bag ! ..

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:45 PM

@devils avacado: ha there is a serious side to your post ……increasingly as more and more media shifts online – their business models increasingly are driven by the numbers of clicks – so stories that are ‘trending’ on twitter or of a more sensationalised nature increasingly get published – at least in the more traditional media even if papers went more tabloid or populist there was room for travel features or sports stories in greater detail – now we have a cocktail of media constantly pushing for the most clicks mixed with an over americanisation hence we get plenty of Trump Trump Trump and ‘How does the Iowa Caucuses work ‘ and not enough real life reporting about whats happening in Ireland ( especially outside the M50 ) – the fear mongering format / model ( american news TV / Fox news style ) crept into the narrative years ago but the shift tom online shows a real decline as media increasingly descends into clickbait battles for attention – and it ain’t for the better IMO.

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Feb 29th 2020, 4:37 AM

@Laughable: agree but I think people are starting to wake up to MSM and the fact the plolical establishment are controlling said media organisations.. MSP is what we see & the P for propaganda & arrogance = power – elections + p1ssed of people of all ages = failed government

Mute Simon O Flaherty
    Favourite Simon O Flaherty
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:59 AM

Never get the garden done thanks to Ciara, Dennis and Jorge. Will just have to tidy the garage now. Feck sake.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:43 AM

@Simon O Flaherty: grass needs cutting again already!

Mute Damien Mc Padden
    Favourite Damien Mc Padden
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:10 PM

@Simon O Flaherty: What happened to E, F, G, H and I?

Mute fintolini
    Favourite fintolini
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:37 PM

@Damien Mc Padden: this one was named by the Spanish, don’t we will get to use those Letters soon enough :-)

Mute Mark Fields
    Favourite Mark Fields
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:01 AM

Just a little breeze to spread the Corona virus around a bit.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:51 AM

I think the met office should stop using county boundaries for weather warnings.. like east Galway and Sligo are orange but Roscommon is only yellow despite most of it being further west than two orange (coloured) counties. This means little until warning go to red and offices and shops close when maybe they did not need to.

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:32 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: One of the prime factors in issuing a warning is that people understand easily and quickly the areas likely to be hit and whether or not they are affected.

Despite it’s obvious faults which you point out, counties are by far the easiest way of doing this.

Any other geographical subdivision such as Baronies, Parishes, Electoral Divisions or townlands would be nightmare to administer.

Regardless of what you use you would have to ensure that everyone knew for sure whether it affected them so using terms like the west of Ireland, east Galway or north Munster isn’t a runner as a large proportion of people wouldn’t be sure whether it affected them or not.

Just drawing a line on a map wouldn’t work either as how do you explain that on a radio broadcast?

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Favourite Spartacus Ireland
    Feb 28th 2020, 1:48 PM

@Stanley Marsh: Yes, but Niall’s comment is spot-on…I’m sure the populous could handle something like (West Roscommon – Orange: Eastern Roscommon – Yellow)…Met Eireann did something similar last time (though I can’t remember exactly) but I think poor auld Leitrim was yellow and Sligo and Donegal were orange for a while (before the whole country turned orange)…:-)

Mute Spartacus Ireland
    Favourite Spartacus Ireland
    Feb 28th 2020, 1:49 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: Or sure go the whole hog and if part of the county should be orange just make the whole county orange :-)

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 28th 2020, 2:48 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: I’d say most people would use their heads and would know that crossing a county border does not mean an instant change in the weather.

Mute Stanley Marsh
    Favourite Stanley Marsh
    Feb 28th 2020, 2:56 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: You can’t do that because there is no defined area called ‘west Roscommon’.

You’d have to pre-define on a map exactly what areas are included in such a division.

If you didn’t Met Eireann would be leaving themselves open if something major happened in any ‘grey’ area between west and east Roscommon.

One of the main defining features of this storm is the potential severe winds on west Atlantic coasts but Limerick doesn’t have an Atlantic coast so it’s not included even though if you look on the wind map the inland winds will be as bad as anywhere.

Mute Kenneth Finnerty
    Favourite Kenneth Finnerty
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:52 PM

@Stanley Marsh: ah here stanley, your confusing ppl with reason and logic. Down with that sorta thing :)

Mute Angela Lavin
    Favourite Angela Lavin
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:20 PM

@Spartacus Ireland: and there should be a dedicated working group set up to define what areas are included in west Roscommon & south Sligo etc etc…… any chance of common sense being used

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Feb 29th 2020, 2:22 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: I think you are referring to the Met Éireann chart they released on Thursday …

.. as of Friday afternoon the weather chart for tomorrow Saturday is Orange Status Wind Warning for the entire country starting @7AM …

Galway and Care have additional RED Wind Warning which is commencing @1PM Saturday lasting until at least 4PM

Red is effectively > 130 KPH .. which sustained Hurricane force winds ..

This is now the 4th storm to hit the Atlantic coastal counties in less than 3 weeks
    Ciara , Denis , Ellen and now Jorge ….
    Ellen was not so windy but it dropped a huge amount of Rainfall .. hence all flooding around the country ..

We lost power during Ciara and Denis …pretty certain it will go tomorrow as well

already starting to get very windy here in Galway..

Mute Laughable
    Favourite Laughable
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:04 AM

True west of Ireland going to have bad weather, who would have thought it.

Mute DK Innovation
    Favourite DK Innovation
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:14 PM

@Laughable:
    It has been dire down hear… curagh line looks like a road threw a lake…
    Another bloody weekend gone

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:51 PM

@Laughable: hahahaha I know – what used to be a ‘soft day in Belmullet’ is a Met Eireann Status Red Warning nowadays ;-)) I lived in Florida a few years back and when they closed down towns for a hurricane warning and honestly we had been windsurfing in Belmullet in Mayo only a month before in stronger wind conditions hahaha

Mute Cosmological
    Favourite Cosmological
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:53 AM

Well blow me (no, not like that) but these storms are starting to put the wind up me now.

Mute Suzanne Dorgan
    Favourite Suzanne Dorgan
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:20 AM

Serious pain in the hole with all this rain. Grr.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Feb 28th 2020, 9:09 AM

Maps of Ireland with an orange western half and yellow eastern half seem to be standard recently. At least all the loose stuff has blown away by now. Will have to start giving us weather warnings for days that are not wet and windy.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:31 AM

@Conall: the last orange warning barely blew a branch off the trees. carnage a couple of nights later with no warning.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:29 AM

@ed w: It actually did enough damage in the west. Google it.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Feb 28th 2020, 1:37 PM

@Paul Furey: Don’t you know that if it didn’t happen near ed w them it didn’t happen at all!

Mute Etherman
    Favourite Etherman
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:46 AM

Is there anything to be said for some wag to say ‘is there anything to be said for another mass Ted’? They will anyway

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Feb 28th 2020, 2:31 PM

I haven’t worked out all the details yet, but it’s clearly Sinn Féin’s fault, right?

Mute Paul Shepherd
    Favourite Paul Shepherd
    Feb 28th 2020, 4:55 PM

@jamesdecay: you’re mistaken. It’s hot air they blow, not the sort that’s on the way unfortunately!!!

Mute Carpentoza
    Favourite Carpentoza
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:36 PM

@Paul Shepherd: take a bow sir!

Mute Scott Mcgarry
    Favourite Scott Mcgarry
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:03 AM

I’m glad for the rain coming, my garden badly needs it.

Mute Stephen Sweeney
    Favourite Stephen Sweeney
    Feb 28th 2020, 1:24 PM

Do the storms not come in alphabetical order, have i missed a few after storm Denis!?

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Feb 28th 2020, 1:39 PM

@Stephen Sweeney: Jorge was named by the Spanish MET office so our (Ireland, Denmark and UK) naming system doesn’t apply.

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Stephen Sweeney: There was a storm Ellen after Denis.

Mute Derek Gannon
    Favourite Derek Gannon
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:10 PM

corona virus comments blocked.. i read in the new york post it was a lab leak.. and guess which city the only bio lab in china is in

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:47 PM

@Derek Gannon: oh dear

Mute Jeremy Finn
    Favourite Jeremy Finn
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:14 PM

I’m still waiting for Storm Mary Lou

Mute Just Some Guy
    Favourite Just Some Guy
    Feb 28th 2020, 11:58 PM

@Jeremy Finn:

Storm Gerry

Mute Condorcanqui
    Favourite Condorcanqui
    Feb 28th 2020, 5:11 PM

Nothing has changed except the naming of storms and the introduction of traffic light warnings. The weather has just been it’s lousy self. These names and colours rarely reflect the reality they represent. Met Éireann should discontinue this practice and class it as no more than a failed experiment.

Mute Derek Gannon
    Favourite Derek Gannon
    Feb 28th 2020, 6:58 PM

corona virus = germ warfare leak..

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Feb 28th 2020, 8:46 PM

@Derek Gannon: from a tinfoil factory invented on social media.

Mute Paul Brierley
    Favourite Paul Brierley
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:21 PM

Can we call the next storm “Kalamity”

Mute Marie Louise Ryan
    Favourite Marie Louise Ryan
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:19 PM

I blame the virus

Mute Derek Gannon
    Favourite Derek Gannon
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:08 PM

corona virus comments blocked ..

Mute John Mc Donough
    Favourite John Mc Donough
    Feb 29th 2020, 12:25 AM

Well done Paul Dolan, you relax for your weekend while many Esb employees will be out constantly because of people who wouldn’t allow trees to be cut and flying debris ,look across Europe and see restoration times then come back with your uneducated remarks

Mute Liz O'Neill
    Favourite Liz O'Neill
    Feb 28th 2020, 10:54 PM

This storm is almost as difficult to pronounce as ‘ Eyjafjallajökull’.

Mute bozharry
    Favourite bozharry
    Feb 28th 2020, 7:25 PM

How come Northern Ireland gets away with all this shite weather?Still looks very grey up there.

Mute Jane Alford
    Favourite Jane Alford
    Feb 28th 2020, 12:00 PM

Power out? Well that’ll make a change…

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Feb 28th 2020, 12:16 PM

@Jane Alford: yes, all due to a poor ESB network. You think after all this time, they can strengthen their network but no, they would loose their overtime if all these faults stopped

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 28th 2020, 2:49 PM

@Paul Dolan: they must have the same system in the UK and elsewhere…..imagine that!!

Mute John Mc Donough
    Feb 29th 2020, 12:33 AM

@paul Dolan why a poor network how often do you lose power in non storm conditions ?

Mute John Mc Donough
    Feb 29th 2020, 12:29 AM

@ Paul Dolan idiot

Mute Anthony Christoper Mc Garth
    Favourite Anthony Christoper Mc Garth
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:54 PM

A Fart in the wind