You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

Over 2.3m journeys made on public bike schemes so far this year

That’s almost 13,000 journeys a day, across five locations.

SOME 2.3 MILLION JOURNEYS have been made via five public bike schemes across the island of Ireland in 2016.

A total of 2,344,193 journeys were taken via the services in Dublin, Belfast, Cork, Galway and Limerick.

On average, that’s almost 13,000 journeys a day.

Coca-Cola Zero dublinbikes, operated by Dublin City Council and JCDecaux, saw 2,083,821 journeys taken between January and June of this year, and 15,495,774 journeys in total since the scheme launched in 2009.

The Dublin service is one of the most successful bike schemes in the world, with almost 62,000 subscribers and 3,667 more registrations in the first half of this year.

The regional city schemes, established by the National Transport Authority (NTA) in early 2015, have been well-received in Cork, Galway and Limerick, with 164,014 journeys taken across the three cities during the first six months of 2016.

Nearly 97,000 journeys were made via the Belfast scheme during the same time period.

‘A healthier option’ 

Anne Graham, CEO of the NTA, noted the momentum that has been generated through the schemes.

It all comes back to giving people what they want – the appetite is certainly there among the public for schemes which make it easy for people to go about their day by enhancing the transport options for citizens and visitors alike.

Brendan Kenny, chief executive of Dublin City Council, praised the scheme for promoting “a healthier, affordable and environmentally-sustainable transport option”.

Read: Petition set up to ‘formally compliment’ Sydney Rose for abortion comments

Poll: Do you think school holidays should be shorter?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Cian Martin
    Favourite Cian Martin
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:28 PM

It’s a fantastic service, and a steal at only €20 a year. I know they’re increasing to €30, but I’d happily pay €40, Pity the expansion is on hold, it would be great to get even a few extra stops north towards Cabra and south around the Aviva and Rathmines.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Aug 25th 2016, 5:11 PM

The bikes are far too heavy.

Mute Matt Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Matt Fitzpatrick
    Aug 25th 2016, 5:26 PM

Ah, they’re not built for speed really. More of a reliable bruiser that will last outside in the elements.

Mute Ciadhra
    Favourite Ciadhra
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:28 PM

Would be great to see it rolled out further towards Blackrock and Dun Laoghaire.

Mute luke sarpish
    Favourite luke sarpish
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:22 PM

I think it’s a great scheme but in Cork City there is far too many knob heads who use the footpath.

Mute Dotrice Altrium Hollohatch
    Favourite Dotrice Altrium Hollohatch
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:26 PM

People – even those from Cork – are entitled to use the footpath.

Mute Kirk Van Houten
    Favourite Kirk Van Houten
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:34 PM

No the footpath is for pedestrians the road is for vehicles it’s a pretty standard rule to be fair

Mute luke sarpish
    Favourite luke sarpish
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:35 PM

Eh,no they’re not. You drinking?

Mute Dotrice Altrium Hollohatch
    Favourite Dotrice Altrium Hollohatch
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:44 PM

Only diesel…☺

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:07 PM

Ok I get it now Luke: the footpath is for knob-heads on bikes

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:13 PM

Footpath for pedestrians, not bikes. Cycle paths for bikes, not joggers, vans, cars. Roads for cars and bikes. That’s the way it’s supposed to work, but we live in Ireland, we don’t like rules.

Mute Aoife Griffin
    Favourite Aoife Griffin
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:10 PM

Footpaths are for pedestrians, not cyclists.

Mute RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Favourite RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Aug 25th 2016, 5:28 PM

It is not an offense for cyclists to cycle on a footpath. — Former Transport Minister Paschal Donohoe made a last-minute decision to omit cycling on footpaths from the penalties list. If you fell unsafe cycling on the road. you have every right to use the footpath. The offenses are;

1. Cyclist driving a pedal cycle without reasonable consideration. €40
    2. No front lamp or rear lamp lit during lighting-up hours on a pedal cycle. €40
    3. Cyclist proceeding into a pedestrianised street or area. €40
    4. Cyclist proceeding past traffic lights when the red lamp is illuminated €40
    5. Cyclist proceeding past cycle traffic lights when red lamp is lit. €40
    6. Cyclist failing to stop for a School Warden sign. €40
    7. Cyclist proceeding beyond a stop line, barrier or half barrier at a railway level crossing, swing bridge or lifting bridge, when the red lamps are flashing. €40

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Aug 25th 2016, 7:00 PM

That’s 7 offences the Gardai don’t enforce so.

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Aug 25th 2016, 7:28 PM

It is an offence, just not a fixed penalty one. You don’t have any right to use the footpath, no matter how unsafe you feel.

Mute Stephen McManus
    Favourite Stephen McManus
    Aug 25th 2016, 7:43 PM
    Mute William O' Connor
    Favourite William O' Connor
    Aug 25th 2016, 7:48 PM

It is an offence to cycle on the footpath! Gardai use 1. Cyclist driving a pedal cycle without reasonable consideration. €40 to impose the law. I have seen them apply it too. According to the newspapers at the time the minister stated that cycling on a footpath was covered under the Road Traffic act 1993?

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Aug 25th 2016, 8:21 PM

Stephen, the minister omitted it from the fixed-penalty scheme but it is still an offense. You just go to court instead of getting an On The Spot fine. The new scheme didn’t legalise footpath cycling.
    http://www.galwaycycling.org/dont-cycle-on-the-footpath-obvious-right/

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:30 PM

There’s a bit of spinning in saying the regional schemes have been well received. It’s bundling figures together to hide the bad ones

There may have been 164,014 journeys, but that breaks down as

Cork – 140,660
    Limerick – 16,478
    Galway – 6,876

On that basis, it’s been well received in Cork, but has been a complete and utter failure in Galway, where there aren’t even 40 journeys per day.

Mute t
    Favourite t
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:39 PM

Galway is a student city and they rely on mummy and daddy to come and pick them up every Friday evening.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:54 PM

Galway city counsellors have made a balls of their scheme.

Mute Elisa O'Donovan
    Favourite Elisa O'Donovan
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:00 PM

Galway, like Limerick, has little to no cycling infrastructure. Barely a cycle lane anywhere in the city. That, coupled with one way traffic system and poor location of bike stations, ensures that its usually quicker to walk than cycle in Limerick and Galway.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:36 PM

Galway’s figures are actually moving completely the wrong way.

If we look at figures for a similar period last year ( http://www.irishtimes.com/news/environment/galway-bikes-users-make-less-than-one-trip-a-month-on-average-1.2423293 ), usage is down almost a third. Granted these figures miss July and August, when there may have been extra tourists using the scheme (although according to that article, only 141 three day passes were sold), but that’s still very substantial.

Dublin, which is by far the biggest scheme is up 4% and Cork, which accounts for 85% of usage outside Dublin was up 7%. It’s misleading to use this fact to distract from where things aren’t working.

Mute Aoife Griffin
    Favourite Aoife Griffin
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:11 PM

The cycle lanes shocking in Galway, it’s not safe to cycle there. They need investment in better cycle lanes.

Mute Munsterman
    Favourite Munsterman
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:24 PM

In the case of Limerick, neither of UL, LIT or the Crescent are being served which is scandalous. The figures would double at least if they expanded to these areas.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:52 PM

For whatever reason, they are resistant to the idea of rolling out to the suburbs. UCD, DCU and CIT are not served either. That said, I would have thought LIT is far enough in that it wouldn’t be too much of a stretch to serve it.

Mute Poppyclogs
    Favourite Poppyclogs
    Aug 25th 2016, 4:09 PM

But it has lots of footpaths that users of these schemes seem to enjoy cycling on.

Mute Aoife Griffin
    Favourite Aoife Griffin
    Aug 25th 2016, 4:48 PM

I would of thought setting up the city bikes in these areas would be a given!! It would of been great to have this in UL when I was there!

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Aug 25th 2016, 7:01 PM

The reason in Galway is the bike parks r to close together

Mute Kieran Finn
    Favourite Kieran Finn
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:16 PM

Drivers have bad attitude , cyclists have a bad attitude, everyone else has a bad attitude, every time something about roads come up the bitching starts

Mute SensibleCyclingDub
    Favourite SensibleCyclingDub
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:57 PM

In Dublin at least, people on Dublin Bikes seem to make up a disproportionate amount of those cyclists behaving moronically (cycling on footpaths, pedestrian streets, going the wrong way on a one-way street and ignoring traffic lights). It would be nice to see them funding a national awareness campaign of rules of the road for cyclists.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:18 PM

What abut cars? They have to learn the rules of the road but they still don’t follow them, so what good is training? Even the possibility of penalty points, higher insurance and loss of license doesn’t stop drivers, so why would it work with bikes?

Mute David Healy
    Favourite David Healy
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:27 PM

Its infuriating when you’re stopped at traffic lights waiting for a green light and someone on a Dublin Bike coasts along through a red light without a care for pedestrians or traffic.
    They should be stopped and fined by Gardai on the spot more often.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:34 PM

David you think cars don’t break red lights? I see it happen literally every day of the week

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:54 PM
    Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:04 PM

Jimmyjoe, there is a HUGE difference between going through a light which is just gone red (which all cars and cyclists do) and coming up to a red light and ploughing on through regardless.
    Being a pedestrian in Dublin is a occupational hazard as a result.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Aug 25th 2016, 10:42 PM

John what’s the difference? Going thro a light that’s just gone red in a car is totally illegal and far far more dangerous than a bicycle going through a red light.

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Aug 26th 2016, 8:54 AM

Jimmyjoe Wallace, are you really stupid enough to not see the difference?

A light just gone red the priority has not changed to any other road user (pedestrian, other lane, etc)

Stand on any bridge on the canal some day and tell me a cyclist going through a red light when the light is green for another direction is not dangerous. I almost took one of these braindead idiots out of it in Rathmines one evening, lights are there for everybody (pedestiran, cyclist, cars, vans, etc) to obey.

Is it not “totally illegal” for a cyclists to go through a red light then? Do you on a regular basis see cars going across junctions when the light traffic is moving from another direction?

(Note I am a cyclist too and absolutely hate the reputation wreckless cyclists have caused)

Mute Jack Reilly
    Favourite Jack Reilly
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:19 PM

Motorists pay for the privilege of using the roads, id be in favour of some sort of licencing scheme for cyclists, perhaps a proficiency test and a colourblindness test.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:36 PM

@Jack Gobshìte.The roads are paid for out of general taxation so any cyclist that pays vat or income tax pays for the roads the same way as you do, assuming you’re working and paying tax.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:55 PM

He’s right about one thing, driving is a privilege, people need to be aware of that and act responsibly.

Mute Gavan Quinlan
    Favourite Gavan Quinlan
    Aug 25th 2016, 4:35 PM

Assuming then you’d be totally supportive of a tax rebate for motorists who choose to opt out of chronic congestion and cycle to work? That’s part of the issues on our road – motorists sense of entitlement above all others.

Mute Sean Gill
    Favourite Sean Gill
    Aug 25th 2016, 4:21 PM

€20 for Dublin bike for the year. Great value. You’d spend that on buses in 1 week!

Mute Alan Cooke
    Favourite Alan Cooke
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:36 PM

13K journeys? I wonder how many rules of the road are broken by the 13k cyclists? 26K? 52K? At €50.00 fine for each the authorities are losing a fortune.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:52 PM

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. As if cars don’t do it too. What an obviously boring comment.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OWC8sT06Zi0&list=PLjoDEyzcH26Z7dJX0yNbok_pbqhW0ZIR0&index=1

Mute Rouzert
    Favourite Rouzert
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:55 PM

I drive in town on a daily basis. Zero adherence to rule of the road for cyclists. I’ve no problem with cyclists using the roads as they do get treated awfully but at this stage a motorist is responsible for themselves, cyclists, pedestrians on their phones and anyone else who decides to walk out in front of them. Motorists are the also the only ones who are held liable should an accident occur. If motorists have to wear seat belts then cyclists must wear helmets, no ability to fly through red lights as I’ve seen two pedestrians smacked by bikes. Neither stopped either. All I’d ask for is a level playing field. Not that a motorist will be held accountable but cyclists have carte blanche. I’d also advocate J walking finds to be enforced. The amount of people who walk out in front of cars on their phones.

Que the abuse from cyclists !

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:01 PM

Shup you

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:05 PM

And I cycle on a daily basis and have nearly been killed by cars on numerous occasions. There isn’t a single journey where a car doesn’t drive too close. The issue is that cars are the most lethal thing on the road, driving one is a privilege and a responsibility. Whatever about bad pedestrians and cyclists, cars are the danger. Your attitude is one of “me vs them” when it should be one of “I need to keep extremely safe and aware of those around me because the enclosed ton on metal I am moving on the road has the capability to seriously hurt or actually kill people”. All types of road users break the rules, but the consequences of a car/bus/truck in an accident are far worse. Ever cycled a bike with a bus an inch from your back wheel? It’s incredibly intimidating to have a vehicle of that size right behind you. Dublin is terrible for cycling, cycle lanes aren’t honoured and drivers attitude is downright dangerous.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:11 PM

Helmets are not anywhere near as effective as seat belts to compare the two is simply ignorant. Cars drive closer to people with helmets actually making it more dangerous to wear one.

Mute Rouzert
    Favourite Rouzert
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:16 PM

I’m ignorant yet you believe that cars drive closer to people with helmets so it’s safer not to wear one. Wow!

Mute Partysauras Rex
    Favourite Partysauras Rex
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:18 PM

Yawn.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:21 PM

You are ignorant because studies by non ignorant people have shown this to be true. In fact the safest way for a cyclist to cycle is by looking like they are not being safe at all, cars will give them a far wider berth. Which, in fairness, is nuts. You have to look out of control for a car to notice you.

Mute Rouzert
    Favourite Rouzert
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:21 PM

If you read my post I agree that cyclists aren’t treated well on Irish roads. I never disputed that at all. It still doesn’t give a road user free reign to break rules as and how they see fit.

I don’t dispute that a car is far more dangerous than a bike but if that is the case cyclist shouldn’t break red lights. If as a driver I have a green light and have to watch for cyclists shooting out from a red light wouldn’t that an unfair responsibly to put on a driver? Same goes for cycling into one way systems.

I’m not doubting as a cyclist it’s dangerous but there should be some sort of two way street on this. Like how dangerous is it to cycle and txt which seems to be a new thing.

Do you think that cyclists should b allowed do as they wish regardless of rules?

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:26 PM

Rouzert, several studies both in the UK and the US have shown that drivers leave less room when passing cyclists wearing helmets than those without.

Mute Colm McCann
    Favourite Colm McCann
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:49 PM

Zero adherence to the rules of the road means no one obeys them? Are you sure you’re not exaggerating? I cycle and sometimes I even obey them :D

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:58 PM

Cyclists shouldn’t break the rules, but sometimes it is so dangerous the only option is to break them. Better to break a rule than a car to break you. It is insanely dangerous on Dublin roads, mainly due to cars being unaware or aggressive, both of which have no place in someone in control of a large lump of high speed metal. Drivers should forget what others do and concentrate on their own driving.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:15 PM

Rouzert> As pointed out studies show that wearing a helmet makes drivers over confident that they can drive closer to them as they feel it is safer. Other studies show helmets are virtually useless when hit by a car as they are for much slower speeds than the actual impact. Enforcement on all road users is the issue but as that wont happen the best that can be done is to highlight the dangers of behaviour. I do not break lights when cycling not for safety reasons you think. Drivers attacking cyclist for perceived slightly such as breaking lights is a much bigger issue. Downright aggression towards cyclists is what I see as the biggest danger. Intentional stopping in front and swerving at cyclist is incredibly common now. Then it is not be aware of other road users. Standard turning seems to be turn, indicate then look. Driver behaviour is the biggest threat.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:26 PM

There’s a brand new kerbed cycle path in Tallaght with a ramp to get on. They’ve been building it for a year. The problem is cars park on the access ramp meaning if you can’t access the path there you can’t at all because of the kerb, especially on a road bike. The track is about a kilometre and 90% you have to cycle on the road, meaning the cycle path is useless because drivers use it as a car park so they can go into the chippers and buy food. Cars then pass me on the road shouting out their windows and swerving at the back of my bike. If anything, it is now far more dangerous than before. It’s so bad that even the Gardai park in the cycle lane.

https://twitter.com/dogstandard/status/677851165506301953

Mute Steven Cee
    Favourite Steven Cee
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:29 PM

It always makes me laugh the attitude and arrogance of cyclists in Dublin ..giving everyone the finger ..banging on car doors ..they have a opinion on everything. .when the red light gamble finally fails you .. it’s the cyclists who will be shoveled off the road into a bin bag ..while mostly likley the motorist just has a bill for car repairs…worth thinking about that.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:46 PM

Pretty gross statement there Steven, shoveling cyclists off the road into bin bags, what a disturbing thing to say. I hope you aren’t allowed to drive, because you sound like something from a Saw movie.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Aug 25th 2016, 4:18 PM

Steven> What would you do when somebody nearly killed you? I must admit I am guiltily of banging on a car or two after they nearly ran me over. It wasn’t arrogance it was a fright turned into anger. Shouldn’t do it but I the heat of the moment I just reacted. I have seen drivers threaten people with their cars for a lot less.

Mute Rouzert
    Favourite Rouzert
    Aug 25th 2016, 4:22 PM

That statement is wrong but I also think you’ve failed to acknowledge that cyclists can be at fault for anything. You talk about aggression to cyclists yet you and another poster who I assume is a cyclist called me ignorant even though I agreed that it’s dangerous for a cyclist and all I’m saying is there should be allowances from all sides. The fact of the Matter is that rules of the road are as such and should be adhered too. A cyclist can flatten a pedestrian by breaking a red light or get clipped by a car of they shoot out in front of it. Neither the pedestrian or driver are doing anything wrong but have to be vigilant to a cyclist who feels it’s there right to smash through a red light for their perceived safety. If a driver is seen doing. Something wrong they should be penalised. Same as any road user.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Aug 25th 2016, 5:44 PM

Rouzert> You were called ignorant because you made a comment about helmets that was ignorant of actual facts. I never said cyclist weren’t dangerous, like all road users there are bad and good. All for enforcement on all road users.

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Aug 25th 2016, 7:02 PM

Yep but motorists get punished at least twice per offence ie €80 fine plus penalty points.

Mute Lukey
    Favourite Lukey
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:07 PM

TAXI MEN love them i’m sure

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:33 PM

What sweetener do they use in coke cola zero is it aspartame and acesulfame potassium. They are not very good for you.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 25th 2016, 6:19 PM

I drink a can of Coke Zero every few months and I’m grand. Don’t think there are any soft drinks that are part of a recommended daily diet tho!

Mute Mark Johnston
    Favourite Mark Johnston
    Aug 25th 2016, 10:19 PM

It’s a brilliant scheme, use it quite a lot, however would use it more if the stations weren’t full every morning by 8:45am in the usual hot spots!

Around the Central Business District for example! If they don’t make the stations bigger, then they should have a few of the trucks on standby emptying the stations pronto and redistributing the bikes. And I know, I’ll be told they do do that, but they need more trucks then!

But all round, excellent scheme!

Mute Mad Mike
    Favourite Mad Mike
    Aug 25th 2016, 1:41 PM

13K? Thought they were limited to the City Centre?

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 25th 2016, 3:14 PM

how is cycling around smog healthy?

Mute Conor Ryan
    Favourite Conor Ryan
    Aug 25th 2016, 10:18 PM

dunno….how is driving whilst smoking healthy?

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Aug 26th 2016, 8:13 AM

Politicians, guards and courts have no interest whatsoever in seeing the law enforced with respect to poor behaviour by cyclists. Try a visit to Dublin for proof ( and we’re cyclists!)

Mute Irish Cottage Rental
    Favourite Irish Cottage Rental
    Aug 26th 2016, 8:10 AM

Ireland is indeed an island!

Mute O'Callaghan Stephen
    Favourite O'Callaghan Stephen
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:44 PM

They should tax the cyclists and give the money to small farmers. Farmers have lost a lot of subsidies over the years yet cyclist get the work-bike scheme

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Aug 25th 2016, 2:59 PM

They should tax farmers who get subsidies and give the money to the homeless. If we are talking ridiculous scenarios.