You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Alamy Stock Photo

Poll: How much money do you give as a wedding present?

Have your say.

IT’S THE MIDDLE of summer, which also means wedding season is in full swing.

The summer months are the most popular time for weddings in Ireland, which prompts the age-old question: How much should I give as a wedding present?

Depending on your financial situation and how well you know the couple your answer may vary, but a UK survey earlier this year found that 30% of people said you should pay £100 (€118) if it’s someone you’re close to.

So today we’re asking: How much money do you give as a wedding present (per person)?

Poll Results:

€100 - €149 (5737)
€150 - €199 (5179)
Over €200 (5004)
€50 - €99 (1318)
I prefer to give an actual present (943)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 51 comments
51 Comments
    Mute well done to all the rescue teams
    Favourite well done to all the rescue teams
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:14 PM

remember when it was ironing boards,dinner sets,and bed linen,toasters etc!!

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:41 PM

@well done to all the rescue teams: You would be creased with them if you gave that now.

Mute Ger Whelan
    Favourite Ger Whelan
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:45 PM

@well done to all the rescue teams: That was back in the days when the majority of people didn’t live together before getting married and they needed that kind of stuff. So gifts like that needed back then. In today’s society couples are living together for years before they get married and have all the things you mentioned.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:02 PM

@well done to all the rescue teams: yup, back before couples were living together before being married

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Jul 8th 2024, 2:56 PM

@well done to all the rescue teams: don’t forget the Royal Tara Clock………..

Mute ChrisF
    Favourite ChrisF
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:34 PM

€100 per person max (unless they’re your son/daughter). Weddings are expensive enough to attend nowadays anyways. Between suits/dresses, accommodation, drinking money and gifts you’re looking at up to €1000 per couple in some cases if it’s in another county. If the bride/groom are getting the hump over gift money, they’re probably not the kind of people you want to be friends with anyways. If you’re having a fancy wedding that you can’t afford, getting into debt and hoping to “make your money back” on gifts then you’re doing it wrong.

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Favourite gordon o loughlin
    Jul 8th 2024, 2:06 PM

@ChrisF: don’t forget the hen night/weekend and the stag too.
    They’re often trips abroad. Or. If not they’re weekends away in Ireland with activities etc..

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Jul 8th 2024, 8:28 PM

@gordon o loughlin: my stag was 2 days on the batter in Galway, great times

Mute Eileen Kelly
    Favourite Eileen Kelly
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:15 PM

The price of weddings is so outrageous including the price of meals so giving a present of less than 200 euro is not recognising the reality of cost, indeed if the bridal couple are close family then doubling the 200 is not unreasonable if you can afford to do so, it is so hard for couples starting out, the wise ones should consider a small family wedding and not put themselves under this financial stress.

Mute Sinead O'Neill
    Favourite Sinead O'Neill
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:23 PM

@Eileen Kelly: Wedding guests shouldn’t feel under pressure to cover the price of a meal. If the couple getting married choose to do so at a really expensive, exclusive venue, the cost shouldn’t fall onto the guests. We got married 7 years ago and some of our guests didn’t give us anything, we didn’t care as we decided to get married and have a big wedding, I much rather everyone we wanted was there than people not coming because they were afraid they couldn’t give us a present.

Mute Louise Marie
    Favourite Louise Marie
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:50 PM

@Eileen Kelly: This is a bit of nonsense. People who willingly spend 20,30,40 grand on a wedding should in no way expect a couple to fork out 400 cash for the privilege of attending the party (often on top of travel and accommodation costs). Even if they can afford it. It’s ridiculous. Just no.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jul 8th 2024, 5:06 PM

@Eileen Kelly: Hard for couples starting out, my Arras. Spend tens of thousands on a stupid wedding and start your married life tens of thousands in debt ( good old credit union).

I’ve never understood people wasting money on hugely expensive weddings.

Me, got married in City Hall two witnesses, went on a very nice holiday and when we returned threw a house party. Cost a couple of thousand and had the best time. Started married life with a mortgage debt only.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jul 8th 2024, 5:34 PM

@Eileen Kelly: Are you serious?? The amount of couples who decide to have destination weddings, be it at home or abroad, expect their guests to fork out for one or two nights in a hotel, have no consideration for their guests. Getting married is NOT about getting gifts and it wasn’t that long ago that the couple didn’t expect their guests to pay for their own meals. Between taking time off work, paying for hotels, new clothes and a wedding present, your talking at least a grand. So if couples expect their guests to give them, at the very least the price of their meal, then they shouldn’t invite them because not everyone has a spare grand lying around but the couple who are getting married, don’t consider that. When I got married and it wasn’t that long ago, I didn’t care what people wore or whether or not they gave a gift. Our day was about having everyone we love with us to celebrate out special day. And that’s not to mention that a lot of parents either pay for or contribute to the cost of the reception.

Mute Jo H
    Favourite Jo H
    Jul 8th 2024, 5:52 PM

@Eileen Kelly: this argument always bothers me. Couples shouldn’t be expecting (or be dependent upon) their guests buying their own dinner. If you expect your guests to cover the dinner that you chose for them, then maybe you need to consider reining in your wedding spend. It is absolutely wrong to have a headline figure on what a guest should give you, it’s the equivalent of selling tickets to the wedding. Can’t afford it on your own, downsize your plans and spending!

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:47 PM

I got married in earlier this year and we had no expectation that guests should cover the cost for us. We budgeted for what we could afford and were really thankful of gifts of any amount. While cash was great, it was lovely to get gifts like artwork, hotel/restaurant vouchers etc. from close friends and family.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Jul 8th 2024, 8:32 PM

@Sarah O’Sullivan: the nice thing about a gift is that you can look at it years after and remember who gave it to you, cash has no sentimental value.

Mute Alexa Reborn
    Favourite Alexa Reborn
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:26 PM

Going to a small family wedding this weekend, it’s in another county so we will have to stay overnight.
    Present. €350.
    Overnight stay, €195
    New clothes for my wife plus hair and makeup € ????.
    Travel €50
    Drink money €200/300 depending on the crack or boredom.
    Just in case money €100.

It’s not just the cost to the couple getting married it’s the overall cost to everyone attending that’s outrageous in ireland.

Mute gordon o loughlin
    Favourite gordon o loughlin
    Jul 8th 2024, 2:07 PM

@Alexa Reborn: the real winners are. The hotels

Mute Stephen Campbell
    Favourite Stephen Campbell
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:04 PM

A wedding invite.. Sorry I’m busy that weekend..

Mute Mike Finnegan
    Favourite Mike Finnegan
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:13 PM

@Stephen Campbell: sorry, no ; maybe next time…

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:14 PM

Depends on your relationship with the couple…daughter/son then a substantial sum….niece/nephew. €150 – €200 .. neighbour, friend etc….dependant on how close you are to them.

Mute qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Favourite qffaffaf affrafrfraf
    Jul 8th 2024, 12:50 PM

Nothing, my presence is the present

Mute Stephen Heffernan
    Favourite Stephen Heffernan
    Jul 8th 2024, 2:07 PM

@qffaffaf affrafrfraf: I’d say you’re real sound.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:29 PM

Living in sin without any wedding ceremony is the cheapest option.

Mute Philip Gallagher
    Favourite Philip Gallagher
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:25 PM

I was at a wedding in England a few years ago. The couple had a wedding gift list and a link to purchasing the gift. It was very handy and they got all the gifts they wanted for moving into their new house. Unfortunately for me the towels were already gone and I ended up getting a more expensive gift on the list lol

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jul 8th 2024, 5:01 PM

@Philip Gallagher: I’ve honestly been fairly worried in that situation until I figured out that a gift list means they have a wishlist for that store. So I’d buy a gift card directly from the store for what I can afford. They can put it towards whatever else they might need. It’s costly enough to travel to a wedding and stay over. I worry about money enough without trying to work out how I could singlehandedly buy someone a new oven!

Mute Hilary H
    Favourite Hilary H
    Jul 8th 2024, 5:57 PM

@Philip Gallagher: This is the norm in the States. I was a wedding/bridal consultant at two different retails chains and my job was specifically to help the couple set up their registry then help their guests either purchase off the list or get a gift card for the couple to use after the wedding. If the couple is just starting out and they need the essentials to get their life living together started, this is the best way to go. Plus it makes it so easy for the guests who wish to give a gift. That being said, nothing annoyed me more than having a guest request a couple’s registry and then say “Oh, I don’t like what they have chosen” and buy something THEY like. That is the definition of selfish!!

Mute Benny Mchale
    Favourite Benny Mchale
    Jul 8th 2024, 4:24 PM

I’m at an age where I’m going to a lot more funerals these days than weddings.
    You don’t have to buy a present.
    You don’t have to dress up.
    You can leave when you want.
    You bump into old friends that you haven’t seen since the last funeral.
    There’s always a good session. Much better craic.

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:17 PM

A gift is a gift whether an iron or €5, thank you lucky stars some people think of you!

Mute AnthonyK
    Favourite AnthonyK
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:38 PM

Weddings are expensive, but divorce more so. Save the money just in case.

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:54 PM

I have never given money as a wedding present. And I never will. I give an actual gift.

Mute Thom Thumb
    Favourite Thom Thumb
    Jul 8th 2024, 4:16 PM

As a taxi driver I meet people that kinda dread wedding invites. Some people have 5/6 or more a year. And nowadays many weddings are 3 day affairs with pre wedding party and afters barbecue.. so therefore costs can really escalate.. with accommodation etc. And then Stag/Hen nights etc. It can be a ridiculous amount of money to come with.
    Usually my advice is to be ‘accidentally ‘ overheard saying ” jaysus her backside looks big in that” Thus guaranteeing you no futher invites

Mute Patrice Ahern
    Favourite Patrice Ahern
    Jul 8th 2024, 4:59 PM

@Thom Thumb: Brilliant. :-)

Mute P. V. Aglue
    Favourite P. V. Aglue
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:11 PM

It’s funerals all the way at the moment. The lunch is free

Mute Louise Marie
    Favourite Louise Marie
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:52 PM

@P. V. Aglue: The Journals next poll: Should funeral guests give money to the bereaved family?

Mute Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Favourite Mr “JonnieBoy” Johnson
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:27 PM

Normally a bag of cans is sufficient and really appreciated

Mute Magnificent Mongoose
    Favourite Magnificent Mongoose
    Jul 8th 2024, 6:38 PM

100 if on my own, 200 if there as a couple.

Mute Injustice Cop
    Favourite Injustice Cop
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:34 PM

Giving money is a racket and picking stuff off a list is almost if not a racket too.
    If that’s all people want, let’s just all agree not to give each other presents otherwise, I’ll chose what I wish to give.
    If the weddings guests are expected to be the main source of income to fund the wedding, then I’d quote the Indomitable Chevrolet Shirt Wearer and state that that couple living outside their means.
    I appreciate that there are those whose weddings may be in hard to reach places or out of the country. From a moral perspective, attending and making a holiday out of it should be present enough along with perhaps, some token gift.

Mute Costigan Family
    Favourite Costigan Family
    Jul 8th 2024, 4:48 PM

@Injustice Cop:
    Don’t you mean the Charvet shirt wearer?

Mute F Fitzgerald
    Favourite F Fitzgerald
    Jul 8th 2024, 5:09 PM

@Injustice Cop: Mostly agree with you, except that I’m always relieved to see a gift list so I have several ideas on what they’d like or need. Especially if people are moving to a new place, & you’re not sure what they have in storage, or wouldn’t use. As far as I’m concerned, pile on the small items in colours you’d like & I’m much happier than taking a guess.

Mute Sean Money
    Favourite Sean Money
    Jul 8th 2024, 1:55 PM

500 not a penny more unless family.

Mute Sean Parker
    Favourite Sean Parker
    Jul 8th 2024, 2:12 PM

@Sean Money: they don’t call you money for nothing.

Mute Louise Marie
    Favourite Louise Marie
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:47 PM

I give at least 6 weeks wages!

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Jul 9th 2024, 9:58 AM

So nearly everyone gives cash nowadays? I am genuinely a bit shocked. I have never given cash as a wedding gift.

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Jul 8th 2024, 3:53 PM

Divorce agenda for both just in case in case

Mute morgan crowe
    Favourite morgan crowe
    Jul 8th 2024, 4:00 PM

Well the meal could cost 90 euro on average these days. So give that and the price of a present on of top of it..

Mute Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Favourite Sean O'Dhubhghaill
    Jul 8th 2024, 4:14 PM

@morgan crowe: A mass produced meal for €90??

Mute morgan crowe
    Favourite morgan crowe
    Jul 9th 2024, 12:12 AM

@Sean O’Dhubhghaill: u could have 5 courses at a wedding.ask someone who got married recentley what they had to pay a head to the hotel

Mute Anonymous User
    Favourite Anonymous User
    Jul 9th 2024, 10:27 AM

I do not see an option to contribute to the divorce :)