You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo Shutterstock/narongpon chaibot

Here is how to wear a face mask or covering properly

Many people are wearing face masks in an effort to help prevent the spread of Covid-19.

THERE HAS BEEN an increase in the number of people wearing face masks recently in a bid to stop the spread of Covid-19, but there is confusion about how to use them properly.

Some people have been wearing masks since the start of the pandemic but there has been another surge in demand since the government last week advised that face coverings be worn on public transport and in crowded places.

Wearing a face mask is not mandatory but many people are opting to in an effort to help prevent the spread of the virus.

There are are opposing views on the effectiveness of masks, but – if worn properly – they could help to stop Covid-19 from spreading.

Speaking at a government briefing last Friday, Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan warned that people “cannot regard face coverings as some kind of magic shield in relation to this disease”, adding that good hand hygiene and social distancing are still essential.

‘Not a magic bullet’ 

Holohan said he is “concerned” the advice about face coverings could be “interpreted in a way by people that meant that maybe we don’t need to worry about washing our hands as much or, if we wear a face covering, we can we can disregard the requirement in terms of social distancing – that is not the case”.

“So this is an additional hygiene measure. It’s not a magic bullet for this disease, and that has to be understood,” Holohan said.

Speaking at the same event, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar reiterated this, saying: “We really need to emphasise that it’s an additional hygiene measure, it’s not a substitute for social distancing and for other forms of hygiene.”

Varadkar said people are encouraged to wear face coverings, rather than masks, to ensure masks can be saved for healthcare workers.

“That’s really important when it comes to surgical masks and when it comes to respiratory masks. While there is no shortage of them at the moment, if we had millions of people using them every day there’s a risk that it might lead to a shortage for healthcare workers.

“We don’t want that to happen so that’s why we’re advising face coverings in preference to face masks,” Varadkar stated.

When and how to wear a face mask

The Health Service Executive (HSE) has advised people to wear a face covering in the following circumstances:

• When staying two metres apart from people is difficult – for example, in shops, shopping centres or public transport
  • in an enclosed indoor space with other people

The HSE has said cloth face coverings are not suitable for children under the age of 13 and anyone who:

• has trouble breathing
  • is unconscious or incapacitated
  • is unable to remove it without help
  • has special needs and who may feel upset or very uncomfortable wearing the face covering

In terms of wearing a face covering, the HSE said it should cover a person’s nose, mouth and under their chin and:

• fit snugly but comfortably against the side of the face
  • be secured with ties or ear loops
  • include at least two layers of fabric
  • allow for breathing without restriction

Here is the HSE’s advice on how to put on a face covering properly:

DO:

• Clean your hands properly before you put it on
  • Practice using it so you are comfortable putting it on and taking it off
  • Make sure it is made from a fabric you are comfortable wearing
  • Cover your mouth and nose with it and make sure there are no gaps between your cloth face covering
  • Tie it securely
  • Carry unused face coverings in a sealable clean waterproof bag – for example, a ziplock bag
  • Carry a second similar bag to put used face coverings in

DON’T:

• Do not touch a face covering while wearing it – if you do, clean your hands properly
  • Do not use a wet or soiled face covering
  • Do not share face coverings
  • Do not lower your face coverings to speak, eat and smoke or vape – if you need to uncover your nose or mouth take the face covering off and put it in the bag for used face coverings
  • Do not discard face coverings in public places

If you wear glasses, advice on how to stop them from fogging up while wearing a face mask can be read here. 

More advice from the HSE, and guidance on how to make your own face covering, can be read here.

The World Health Organization (WHO) has issued similar advice in terms of wearing face masks.

World Health Organization (WHO) / YouTube

The WHO’s advice is as follows:

• Before putting on a mask, clean your hands with alcohol-based hand rub or soap and water
  • Cover your mouth and nose with the mask and make sure there are no gaps between your face and the mask
  • Avoid touching the mask while using it – if you do, clean your hands with alcohol-based hand rub or soap and water
  • Replace the mask with a new one as soon as it is damp and do not re-use single-use masks
  • To remove the mask: remove it from behind (do not touch the front of mask); discard immediately in a closed bin; clean hands with alcohol-based hand rub or soap and water

The WHO has stated that masks are only effective “when used in combination with frequent hand-cleaning with alcohol-based hand rub or soap and water”.

“If you wear a mask, then you must know how to use it and dispose of it properly,” the organisation noted. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute Fergal O'Hagan
    Favourite Fergal O'Hagan
    May 18th 2020, 12:02 PM

Don’t leave in shopping trolleys

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    May 18th 2020, 12:32 PM

@Fergal O’Hagan: correct. Best to leave the same way you arrived.

Mute Trish Ryan
    Favourite Trish Ryan
    May 18th 2020, 3:11 PM

@Fergal O’Hagan: or your gloves

Mute Jurga Moylan
    Favourite Jurga Moylan
    May 18th 2020, 12:43 PM

Here we are with a news headline teaching people how to wear a face mask properly and we thought they’d have flying cars in the year 2020.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    May 18th 2020, 12:47 PM

@Jurga Moylan: Irish people are pretty woeful when it comes to wearing them. Upside down, inside out, not covering the nose, its a PSA that needs to be spread around even this long into corona.

Mute Tom Fitzgibbons
    Favourite Tom Fitzgibbons
    May 18th 2020, 1:32 PM

@Paul Cunningham: they are also pretty woeful at researching and not believing everything the media wants them to believe.

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke
    May 18th 2020, 12:05 PM

The Who also states,

If you are healthy, you only need to wear a mask if you are taking care of a person with COVID-19.

Conflicting advice from the WHO and governments around the world I reckon

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke
    May 18th 2020, 12:06 PM

@Henry Clarke: the who! Aw man, great band, shite for medical advice methinks.

WHO.

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    May 18th 2020, 1:03 PM

@Henry Clarke: You can think you’re healthy and be asymptomatic.

Mute Tom Fitzgibbons
    Favourite Tom Fitzgibbons
    May 18th 2020, 1:21 PM

@Henry Clarke: just like you are shite at comedy.

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke
    May 18th 2020, 1:22 PM

@Michael O’Neill: the WHO’s advice is that asymptotic people should not wear them either.
    The point I’m making is that these mixed signals from those in charge will cause confusion.

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke
    May 18th 2020, 1:22 PM

@Tom Fitzgibbons: who’s being funny?

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke
    May 18th 2020, 1:23 PM

@Tom Fitzgibbons: gob shite

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd

At last, an excuse to wear my Bane mask in public.

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    May 18th 2020, 12:40 PM

Show you compliance, Stay scared. Wash your hands.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 18th 2020, 12:52 PM

@Dave Nomates: Do you know what a Bane mask is?

Mute Mark Byrne
    Favourite Mark Byrne
    May 18th 2020, 1:07 PM

@Logan Shepherd: you think darkness is your ally? ;)

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 18th 2020, 1:09 PM

@Mark Byrne: Now is not the time for fear, that will come later :-)

Mute Marie McG
    Favourite Marie McG
    May 18th 2020, 1:33 PM

@Logan Shepherd: “You’re a big guy” “For you”

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    May 18th 2020, 1:38 PM

@Marie McG: Nicest thing that’s ever been said to me. How you doin :-) .. oh sorry, I lost the thread for a minute ..

Mute J
    Favourite J
    May 18th 2020, 5:42 PM

@Marie McG: Was getting caught part of your plan?

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke

How effective are the masks when the wearer has a magnificent beard? They won’t seal correctly against the face. Asking for a friend.

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    May 18th 2020, 12:20 PM

@Henry Clarke: people who have to wear masks, on the frontline etc, had to shave their beards off as the mask does not fit securely to the face.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 18th 2020, 12:21 PM

@Henry Clarke: it’s literally better than wearing nothing. All we’re trying to do is control the spread here, you see, every time you exhale you release tiny droplets into the air and then that’s how ultimately the virus spreads from person to person. So if we can limit that we can limit the spread. Make sense ?

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke
    May 18th 2020, 12:22 PM

@Michael Byrne: thought as much. They won’t be as efficient of effective for the gemeral public so.

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke
    May 18th 2020, 12:24 PM

@Wayne Connor: as long as those wearing the masks aren’t wearing the ones with vents that aren’t medical grade. Shedding water droplets everywhere.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    May 18th 2020, 12:53 PM

@Wayne Connor: if you’ve any stubble at all, it’s pointless, air finds the path of least resistance. People should YouTube face fit testing to pick up a few pointers on correct methods of usage.

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 18th 2020, 5:17 PM

@Derek: so instead of breathing out 100 percent of your germs, you’re breathing out significantly less with a mask on. That’s all we can do to contain the spread unfortunately. Why do people insist on being obstinate about this ?? It’s like trying to convince a child to put his coat on before he goes out

Mute Wayne Connor
    Favourite Wayne Connor
    May 18th 2020, 5:21 PM

@Henry Clarke: yeah , cos I heard the ones with the vents shoot the droplets like a water pistol straight up other people’s noses. They’re lethal. They should be banned. Somebody online said that

Mute Henry Clarke
    Favourite Henry Clarke
    May 18th 2020, 7:05 PM

@Wayne Connor: don’t be a t wat. You’re leaning over the veg in the supermarket to get something and dropets fall onto other veg. That’s just one example. They’re industrial masks. For dust, fumes etc. I Suppose you’re one of those folks that wear gloves and damp masks round all day every day. I’m not against masks. I’m not against gloves. But wearing the wrong mask and using incorrect technique is as good as wearing nothing. Worse in my eyes. Fortunately for you this is just my opinion.
    Also as per the WHO guidelines “Healthy and as-symptomatic people shouldn’t wear masks unless they’re caring for those with the virus,”. Seems there are plenty of information sources out there with contradictory but correct advice.

Mute Virus-free Turkey
    Favourite Virus-free Turkey
    May 18th 2020, 12:08 PM

Havin a bit of trouble gettin de mask to cover me nose Tony…

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    May 18th 2020, 1:40 PM

Thanks had been putting these on around the back of my head until I read this article

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    May 18th 2020, 12:06 PM

Quite a check list there, who knew it would take all that planning just to wear them!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    May 18th 2020, 12:23 PM

Is there any reason why a face mask would be more likely to attract infected droplets compared to a jacket or any sort of outer clothing layer?

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    May 18th 2020, 1:45 PM

@Rochelle: it’s at mouth level

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    May 18th 2020, 1:47 PM

@ihcalaM: which is important re: other people sneezing/coughing etc. unless there is a significant height difference

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    May 18th 2020, 2:26 PM

@ihcalaM: But would be unimportant if everyone wore one. That’s the point.

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    May 18th 2020, 12:32 PM

Your immune system is your mask .. dont cover your mouth you’ll get sick

Mute Carol Oates
    Favourite Carol Oates
    May 18th 2020, 12:41 PM

@james r: Good luck with that. Tell it to your medical team if you ever need surgery. I’m sure they will be happy to go without masks and trust your immune system to protect you.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    May 18th 2020, 2:09 PM

@james r: utter nonsense

Mute Rosa Lopez
    Favourite Rosa Lopez
    May 18th 2020, 5:01 PM

@james r: another me, me, me…unless you have N95 masks you are not wearing a mask to protect yourself, you are wearing a mask to protect OTHERS.

Mute Peter Bell
    Favourite Peter Bell
    May 18th 2020, 12:08 PM

Not a great choice of words from Holo, MAGIC BULLET.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    May 18th 2020, 3:20 PM

Dirty yokes,no help ,only lowering peoples immunity ,should only be worn by helthcare workers at necessary times…

Mute SC
    Favourite SC
    May 18th 2020, 6:24 PM

@Gerry Campbell: Mine aren’t dirty. I bought a load of cotton ones and they go in the high temp laundry cycle like teatowels or anything else. I use a fresh one every time I need to use one. I keep a clean one in my handbag as well because I’m inclined to forget them.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Jun 14th 2020, 5:49 PM

N95 Builders masks better than surgical masks …

Daft not to mandate masks in a virus pandemic … Daft!

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4868605/

Wrong to say masks don’t protect the wearer … of course they do!
    That is why all industrial workers wear masks in risk environments – N95 or EU equivalent FFP2.