You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Tony O'Brien Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

HSE boss: We never asked parents to prove children still had lifelong conditions

“I am saying questions were asked that were not those questions, but which may have been interpreted as that.”

THE DIRECTOR GENERAL of the HSE is insisting parents of children with life-long conditions or illnesses were not asked to prove whether they had that condition.

It follows the long-running controversy surrounding the review of discretionary medical cards, which was halted entirely by the Government last week.

It was announced yesterday that an expert panel is being appointed to examine how medical need should be taken into account when the cards are being granted.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Morning Ireland today, Tony O’Brien said there had been individual incidents “where we have already acknowledged we got it wrong” and that the HSE had already apologised to the people in question. 

“But I also have to say there are many incidents put into the public domain recently that are not true characterisations of the facts,” O’Brien said

I think that’s a feature of the general climate of fear that has existed.

Asked whether he was referring to cases where it was reported parents had been asked to prove whether children still had a particular condition, O’Brien said:

I am saying questions were asked that were not those questions, but which may have been interpreted as that.

“We are obliged, for example, to ensure that we take full account of any costs that a family may have that arise from a change in their circumstances — perhaps an exacerbation of an illness or a secondary illness.

“When we ask has there been any change in circumstances, that’s what we’re asking. We’re not asking does the person still have the particular life-long condition that they’ve had.”

O’Brien said he accepted misunderstandings had taken place and that people would be given an opportunity “to review the tapes of those recordings to satisfy themselves”.

“We certainly would never wish to cause that kind of concern,” O’Brien said.

Review 

On the subject of the options facing people who had already lost their medical card, O’Brien said it would be difficult for the HSE to reissue them “because individuals who have already lost their medical cards had been assessed and found not to qualify”.

However he added:

Minister Reilly and Minister White are working on arrangements that will enable us or authorise us to reissue those medical cards and government has committed to examining that very quickly.

He said the process was expected to be completed in “a matter of weeks”.

The HSE announced yesterday that an expert panel of 23 medical professionals will examine which medical conditions should automatically qualify a person for a medical card. A public consultation process also gets under way today.

O’Brien said the panel was facing into “a challenging task”.

Read: Noonan: Some people will get their medical cards back>

Read: People who had medical cards revoked could now have them restored>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

73 Comments
    Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:24 PM

They should keep off those porn sites, nothing but trouble………..

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:33 PM

You seem to be very familiar with those sites!

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:34 PM

I was until I caught a virus……..

Mute Jester VonDoom
    Favourite Jester VonDoom
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:39 PM

its those genuine girls in your area who always trick you

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:44 PM

Better to get a virus from the promiscuous ladies on your computer than a virus from the promiscuous lady on the street

Mute Stephen Brady
    Favourite Stephen Brady
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:59 PM

Was it blue flu?

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Aug 7th 2016, 5:16 PM

I thought the same Sean?

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Aug 7th 2016, 7:24 PM

Roses are red,
    Violets are blue,
    I have Chlamydia,
    now you have too……

Mute Paddy Lynn
    Favourite Paddy Lynn
    Aug 7th 2016, 8:49 PM

Swine flu, no?

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:43 PM

No point catching the virus, he will get suspended sentence. They need to eliminate it completely.

Mute Elma Phudd
    Favourite Elma Phudd
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:52 PM

The virus had 142 previous infections, but was a mutation from a troubled virus.

Mute Ciarán Mac Domhnaill
    Favourite Ciarán Mac Domhnaill
    Aug 7th 2016, 7:59 PM

Hahaha

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Aug 7th 2016, 9:01 PM

I’m not confident in the integrity of the security of Garda IT systems.

Mute Apu Mohammed
    Favourite Apu Mohammed
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:32 PM

Rumour has it the virus refused to start working unless it got a pay rise

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:36 PM

It was the blue flu virus.

Mute ijlester
    Favourite ijlester
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:53 PM

I’ve long suspected that Garda Management have been infected by malware planted by the Government that affects their ability to represent the best interests of the force, and of the public and allows them sit idly by and let their numbers, resources & morale be decimated- telling us all the while that they are adequately resourced.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:09 PM

Our police force is unfit for purpose. A shower of scruffy, unwashed money grabbers. A national embarrassment

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:13 PM

Was in a shop last week, when a female police officer was buying a breakfast roll. Christ her tie was still covered from yolk from her previous roll. Her hair was u kept, trousers looked like she’s slept in them, and her shoes looked like they’d been lying in a big. Disgusting

Mute Marty Borgnine
    Favourite Marty Borgnine
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:24 PM

You really are the biggest tool who posts on the Journal. You should invest some of that spare time in learning the English language.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:32 PM

Are you one of that disgusting police force Martie?

Mute Paul Whyte
    Favourite Paul Whyte
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:45 PM

Maybe she spent her night dealing with calls from your filthy riff raff housing estate.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:48 PM

Nothing like a girl in uniform, then add a breakfast roll into the equation. Happy Days!

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Aug 7th 2016, 3:13 PM

God no! I don’t live in a housing estate. I only voice my opinion on the state of our police force. No one can deny how scruffy and uninterested they are! It’s all well and good to be patriotic, but some things have to be said.

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Aug 7th 2016, 7:03 PM

Dirtbag

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Aug 7th 2016, 7:04 PM

Waster

Mute Motherofdivinejebus
    Favourite Motherofdivinejebus
    Aug 7th 2016, 7:25 PM

Tell us how you really feel John……..

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:53 PM

Even the computers are infected along with everything else in the AGS

Mute twit
    Favourite twit
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:54 PM

So Gardai are claiming they found a Zero day? If so, that is really good cyber Forensics work on their part!

Mute Just Himself
    Favourite Just Himself
    Aug 7th 2016, 11:30 PM

I highly doubt it was their detection, more likely something triggered them to bring in a third party to analyse the affected system.

Mute Shaun Wright
    Favourite Shaun Wright
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:39 PM

No doubt there will be rumbles of “well maybe we should update to Win 10″ now that it’s no longer free

Mute Seamus Corcoran
    Favourite Seamus Corcoran
    Aug 7th 2016, 3:12 PM

You couldn’t update from xp which the gardai use.

Mute Just Himself
    Favourite Just Himself
    Aug 7th 2016, 11:27 PM

It wasn’t free for commercial companies to upgrade and if they did upgrade they could be in for some fines if a Microsoft audit ever takes place.

Mute Shaun Wright
    Favourite Shaun Wright
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:24 PM

Good aul An Garda Siochana and their Windows Millennium Edition…what hacker would want to write code to infect their outdated systems

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:31 PM

Somebody opening those penis enlargement emails.

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:07 PM

How else are the guards supposed to download Taylor Swift, after she deleted from Spotify.

Mute Sean Callan
    Favourite Sean Callan
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:50 PM

Keep taking the ‘tablets’!!!!

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Aug 7th 2016, 5:17 PM

Have the ex TD’s given the tablets back yet?

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 7th 2016, 1:25 PM

If you’ve been hacked you’ll never know it. unless the inch hacked are released to the public media.

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:01 PM

information*

Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    Aug 7th 2016, 5:47 PM

Probably using free AV software

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Aug 7th 2016, 3:44 PM

They might have found info on ambassadors and politicians selling Irish passports. They may even have people apply and then look after their application.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Aug 7th 2016, 4:29 PM

Garda.ie is being redesigned, finally!

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Aug 7th 2016, 6:17 PM

With all the Garda cutbacks and underfunding, it’s more ‘Heartbeat’ than PULSE. I’d really hate to think anything bad happened to the Operation Mizen files though..

Mute fitzer
    Favourite fitzer
    Aug 7th 2016, 11:18 PM

Hope pulse doesn’t spit out all those speeding fines, Especially the supers.

Mute Joey_Westland
    Favourite Joey_Westland
    Aug 7th 2016, 2:43 PM

…….

Mute Danny Ward
    Favourite Danny Ward
    Aug 7th 2016, 11:06 PM

Malwarebytes.

Mute stefanovich
    Favourite stefanovich
    Aug 8th 2016, 10:57 AM

Do the guards actually have a clue these days when it comes to computers? I remember back in the day. The internet a playground for the mischievous and the guards barely knew what a computer was.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Aug 7th 2016, 7:24 PM

Yeah the virus is called the blue flu!