You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

HSE 'disappointed over completely avoidable doctors' strike'

The IMO has refused an invitation to the Labour Relations Commission.

HOSPITAL DOCTORS WILL go on strike on Tuesday, a move that has disappointed the Health Service Executive (HSE).

The IMO refused an invitation to attend more LRC talks earlier today.

In a statement this evening, the HSE described the industrial action as “completely avoidable” and urged for the IMO to re-ballot its NCHD (non-consultant hospital doctor) members.

The agency said the action should be “immediately deferred” so union members could vote on its latest proposals, adding that the strike will have “serious patient care and ethical implications”.

The HSE believes it has dealt with all but one of the issues raised by the hospital doctors in ensuring that their shifts will not exceed 24 hours from the end of next month and that it will comply with an EU directive on working hours by the end of next year.

“The only outstanding matter is a claim by the IMO that NCHDs should receive an additional payment/paid leave, to the order of 2.5 times the standard rate, as a sanction for hospitals that do not comply with the measures,” the statement continued.

The HSE is proposing an alternative measure that involves a financial sanction against the hospital in cases of non-compliance.

“The request for additional payment to NCHDs is a cost-increasing claim and prohibited under the terms of the Haddington Road Agreement and one HSE management has absolutely no discretion to negotiate,” said National Director for Human Resources Barry O’Brien. “The HSE and the IMO are both signatories to the agreement, both parties are required to be fully compliant with public pay policy.”

The IMO, however, has said that if the HSE sticks to its promises to end 24-hour shifts then there will be no extra money required.

The doctors will go on strike for 24 hours on Tuesday, 8 October.

The HSE said it will make its proposals public on its website this evening.

Read: Hospital doctors say they do not want triple pay

More: ASTI teachers start industrial action from today

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Noddy Mooney
    Favourite Noddy Mooney
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:30 PM

So the HSE “promises” to cut shifts to 24 hours (still outrageously dangerous) but will not accept sanctions if it reneges on it’s promise (which it has done before). You couldn’t make this shit up.
    Maybe if the doctors went on indefinite strike it might focus the HSE’s minds. They would have my full support.

Mute rodrigo detriano
    Favourite rodrigo detriano
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:36 PM

The HSE are breaking the law. Plain and simple. They’ve had years to implement this, but are only trying to appear interested when it’s too late. They’re a disgrace of an organisation, which is in the news every other day over some scandal or other.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:59 PM

I agree. If they stick to their word it’s a non issue

Mute Alan Cunningham
    Favourite Alan Cunningham
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:31 PM

I bet they are disappointed. Running our junior doctors into the ground and not complying with the EU working time directive was working well for them. I’m sure they would be more than delighted to keep this unsafe practice in place.

Mute Andrew Smith
    Favourite Andrew Smith
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:54 PM

It is clear the HSE never had any intention of actually engaging and attempting to ameliorate the danger to patients, and doctors, caused by these working conditions. Their actions over the past few days have led to active and angry mistrust in the HSE rather than a mere lack of confidence.

Mute Eoin Moynihan
    Favourite Eoin Moynihan
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:34 PM

Completely avoidable alright…if the HSE hadn’t been breaking the law for years!

Mute Andrew Taylor
    Favourite Andrew Taylor
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:38 PM

Typically passive-aggressive language from the HSE. Disappointed? Not as disappointed as the NCHDs, I’ll bet. Trying to spin this as doctors looking for more money is typical of an organisation who have done nothing meaningful to solve this issue and now dare to remind doctors of their responsibility to the patients.

Mute N o toole
    Favourite N o toole
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:41 PM

Really? The HSE disappointed ? Cause guess what HSE, thousands are disappointed by your inefficiency, bureaucracy and incompetency on a daily basis. Start treating your frontline staff like human beings and then you mightn’t be disappointed. I’m not a doctor, nurse or health professional by the way.

Mute Jeanniejampots
    Favourite Jeanniejampots
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:33 PM

The HSE are making things up again. Their proposal was put to the IMO NCHD committee who turned it down as it was nothing more than ” sure we will change the hours trust us” exactly what they have been saying for the last 10 years. The committee asked for the sanction to ensure they kept their word this time and they said no. If they are so sure they will keep their word then they know there will be no need for sanctions so won’t cost them a penny. This campaign has always been about safety for patients and doctors not money. This is HSE spin to try and pretend its about money. Total rubbish.

Mute Naisrín Elsafty
    Favourite Naisrín Elsafty

HSE: absolute shower of lying c-u-next tuesdays. I cannot believe their carry-on. Galls me to work for this abusive unscrupulous, joke of a health service. Enough is enough.

Mute Noddy Mooney
    Favourite Noddy Mooney
    Oct 2nd 2013, 10:55 PM

I think you guys could easily up the ante with this dispute right from the off. If the Journal readership is any to go by, you have overwhelming public support (unusual in Ireland). I understand there are ethical constraints but it’s clear the HSE are not taking you seriously. It would be very apt it was the doctors of this country to be the ones who finally stood up and said no more.

Mute Mark Ruddy
    Favourite Mark Ruddy

There needs to be a punishment if they do not meet their promises…I don’t care what it is..money to charity , towards the new children’s hospital , whatever, but they need to be hit in their pocket….they promised the sun , moon and stars by June 2013 and nothing…..might head back to Australia

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:53 PM

Such spin from the HSE. After finishing two 70+ hour weeks just now (including a 50hr weekend two days ago) hearing this rubbish only adds fuel to the fire to finally get this sorted. If only they put as much effort sorting out rostering & organising their staff as they do generating spin & manipulating the media.

Mute Ryon
    Favourite Ryon
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:35 PM

Now now HSE,stop with the fibs. Doctors of Ireland, come and join me in the UK!!! The NHS is far from perfect but I miss the craic & I’m not going home to work for the HSE

Mute celtic lady
    Favourite celtic lady
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:58 PM

Yes the strike is totally avoidable. Just observe the EUWTD ! Protect your staff. Allow them time to have a life outside of work. It will cost less in the long run. I remember working those hours in the 80s. We were close to strike then we were promised it would be solved. Stick with it this time , NCHDs. I don’t think there is anyone who thinks you should give up.

Mute Eamonn Dunne
    Favourite Eamonn Dunne
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:23 PM

Hope they go on strike and finally force the HSE to obey the law, I don’t know about yous but I would not like to be treated and diagnosed by a doctor who is angry, tired, mentally and physically drained. Even truck drivers in the EU are not allowed go over driving 9 hours a day due to health and safety.

Mute Ryon
    Favourite Ryon
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:46 PM

I agree. Only the FAI employ Ruud Dokter(s)……ok I’ll leave quietly now…..

Mute Brian O' Connor
    Favourite Brian O' Connor

Who advises the HSE, the same spin doctors that advise the Government. What the HSE is doing is illegal?

Mute Hippocrateeth
    Favourite Hippocrateeth
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:49 PM

Pardon my French but FUC.K the HSE in this case.

Mute Catherine Keogh
    Favourite Catherine Keogh
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:59 PM

Cant see the hse putting in 24 hour shifts like the staff do

Mute Sinéad Ní Chonghaile
    Favourite Sinéad Ní Chonghaile
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:00 PM

I wholeheartedly agree that this strike is avoidable: if our employer stops breaking Irish and EU law immediately.

Mute Nick Goddard
    Favourite Nick Goddard
    Oct 2nd 2013, 6:27 PM

Well if hse and hospital compliant. Then surely cost neutral or am i missing something. And again a fine surely not cost neutral??

Mute Eimear Smith
    Favourite Eimear Smith
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:27 PM

So glad the NCHD’s are standing strong. Keep the faith- I really hope you get the changes to which you are entitled and deserve.

Mute Janette Kelly
    Favourite Janette Kelly
    Oct 2nd 2013, 7:53 PM

The H.S.E! over rated and micro managed by a pack of incompetent people to many chiefs all which seem to walk around trying to look important time for change.

Mute Shahram Shirazi
    Favourite Shahram Shirazi
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:39 PM

ThThis situation is hurting Ireland big time – most of all the public who rely on good medical care. Ireland has a massive brain drain in this industry with the highest percentage of nationally trained junior doctors leaving to practice elsewhere than any other country in the OECD. I think the figure quoted for last year was over 47% of newly qualified doctors. You dont get that level of mass migration unless there are some serious problems.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Oct 2nd 2013, 8:32 PM

I went without sleep for 23hrs ONCE, and drove home. Long periods of sleep deprivation are unsustainable. It was extremely dangerous for me and other motorists. I fully support Junior Doctors and the IMO. Not going to turn this into a HSE-bashing, they have their faults. They should fix the Health Service, it’s the very least we deserve. I’d have no qualms paying for it if it worked.

Mute Eilís Murphy
    Favourite Eilís Murphy
    Oct 2nd 2013, 11:21 PM

It’s really heartening to read these supportive comments from the public. Shifts of 34 hours are unfortunately part of my regular working week and I have definitely had enough of them! Striking is going to be difficult for us to do – there are patients will not get the procedure or outpatients appointment they’ve been waiting months for that day and as a doctor, it’s really hard to walk away from that. This is not something we want, and it’s definitely a complex process, but it’s essential for patient safety (as well as ours!) in the longer term. I hope the HSE start to fully engage with this campaign to bring about an immediate end to shifts in excess of 24 hours so we can put an end to the industrial action and resume working in a safer health system, for both doctors and patients.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Oct 2nd 2013, 9:12 PM

Serious question. Could the HSE be sued or taken to court over this?

Mute WanderArch
    Favourite WanderArch
    Oct 2nd 2013, 9:52 PM

Not by the doctors – there’s a clause in current contract that forbids it until some time in the future.
    The EU however can start (if it hasn’t already, I’m not sure), fining the HSE for non compliance.

Mute Gillian Judge
    Favourite Gillian Judge
    Oct 2nd 2013, 9:53 PM

In 2010 the IMO took a high court case on behalf of six doctors and won. The 2010 NCHD contract states we won’t work more than 24 consecutive hours. It’s European law… The HSE seem to write their own law.

Mute Gillian Judge
    Favourite Gillian Judge
    Oct 2nd 2013, 9:55 PM

As part of the ruling in the 2010 high court case the IMO were prohibited from taking another case for two years (2012) but what’s the point in taking another case when despite a high court ruling the problem persists.

Mute Sinéad Ní Chonghaile
    Favourite Sinéad Ní Chonghaile
    Oct 2nd 2013, 11:20 PM

To clarify, the HSE are flouting a high court ruling, the current contract under which all NCHDs are employed, Irish law, and EU law. They are the monopoly employer- either you put up with 36 jour days and 90 hour weeks, all of which are wholly illegal, or you leave. The sensible 47% leave. Those remaining have no choice but to fight.

Mute Heather Knowles
    Favourite Heather Knowles
    Oct 3rd 2013, 10:04 AM

Fully support the NCHDs in striking. The HSE is a disgrace. It is blatantly breaking the EU laws in place for safe working hours.The health of patients ands doctors is at stake and we are losing so many talented and caring doctors to other countries. If this doesn’t change just how much worse will things get?

Mute Cathy Quinlan
    Favourite Cathy Quinlan
    Oct 4th 2013, 3:50 PM

Please don’t give in to this BS. Please don’t believe it. Patients deserve to be treated by doctors working humane hours, able to make a decision and able to stay in Ireland. I heard all the arguments not to strike in 2005, and since then, but patients will be better off once this is sorted. And the medical cover during a strike will be better than your average bank holiday weekend.