Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Remains of the car which housed the IRA Hyde Park car bomb in which killed four soldiers . PA Wire

Peter Robinson threatens to leave Government over Hyde Park case

The Northern Ireland First Minister has said that there are “people going around with letters stuffed in their pockets” which mean they can’t be arrested.

FIRST MINISTER OF NORTHERN Ireland Peter Robinson has threatened to resign unless there is a full inquiry into agreements made by the British Government over ‘on the run’ suspects.

Robinson has also said that he wants the British Government to rescind any agreements made that mean that suspects of attacks carried out during the The Troubles cannot be prosecuted.

The First Minister was speaking after the UK courts dropped the case against Donegal man James Downey for the 1982 IRA Hyde Park bombing because of a deal made by the British Government after the Good Friday Agreement.

In an interview with BBC, Robinson said that if had he and his predecessor Ian Paisley been aware of the agreements they would not have entered Government and added that he will not remain as First Minister unless all the information comes to light:

I have to say quite frankly that I’m not prepared to be kept in the dark about matters that are relevant, very relevant to what we are doing. I have spent the last number of months speaking about the Haas talks. The Haas talks were about getting justice for people who those who had terrorist attacks carried out against them or their families.

“Now we find out that they they would never get justice because there are people going around with letters stuffed in their pockets which says that even if someone fingers you you’re not going to jail. I think that’s an outrage in any democratic state,” he said.

Robinson says that he wants ” a full judicial inquiry into who knew what and when they knew”.  He says that he and his colleagues are “incandescent with rage” and want the “letters rescinded” of the reported 187  ’on the runs’ who may be covered by the deal.

The DUP leader says that  before his party entered devolved Government in Stormont they asked the British Government about the issue of the so-called ‘on the runs’ and he now feels his party was “lied to”.

Read: Gerry Adams says Hyde Park bomb accused should never have been arrested >

Read: Man accused of Hyde Park bombing cannot be prosecuted because of secret deal >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

133 Comments
    Mute T Beckett
    Favourite T Beckett
    Feb 26th 2014, 3:55 PM

Seeing how Peter Robinson was a former loyalist terrorist who once planned to invade the Republic.

Does he consider himself an “on the run”?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ulster_Resistance

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:06 PM

Wikipedia – :D

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Favourite Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:01 PM

are you ecstatic that you could actually read the word “wikipedia” paddy ??? go maih buachaill

Mute Thomas Francis Meagher
    Favourite Thomas Francis Meagher
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:32 PM

As tinman, that’s where you’re gone to, there’s still a raging debate on the other article which you ran away from.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 4:34 AM

Unfortunately shinners are incapable if debate everyone knows that, mindless glorifying of murder is all they care about.

Mute Ger Elwood
    Favourite Ger Elwood
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:14 PM

Don’t think for a minute that the DUP ‘did not know’. These deals were done with them in attendance. If this was supposed to be deal breaker for them during the GFA negotiations then it still is. Will they then pull of of Government and walk away from the political institutions in the north now we know? Somehow I don’t think so. Anti-agreement Unionists will now engage in crass electioneering to get one over their friends in the DUP. Robinson & Co are going to be shouting louder now this has become public.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:03 PM

Ger – you are spot on .
    Peter Robinson is totally aware of the deals that were done by his then Boss , Ian with Gerry Kelly and Martin McGuinness with the Westminster Government , which involved letters of forgiveness to both Loyalist and Republican “On The Runs”.
    It was all part of the strands of The Good Friday Agreement .
    This ensured that there was such a tiny stream away from both Organisations , which has benefited the Peace process and saved so many lives .
    Utter hypocrisy on the part of Peter and hid DUP !

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:20 PM

Can’t see Robinson quitting. The DUP jeered from the sidelines while the Ulster Unionists signed up to the deal, and then, having stitched up the Ulster Unionists,
    proceeded to sign up to the deal themselves. Total hypocrites. Having got this far, Robinson is unlikely to relinquish power that easily. Thank God there’s peace, and long may it laty, but politically it’s sinking deeper into the quagmire.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:28 PM

No Paisley didn’t do the deals the Ulster Unionists did the dirty work

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:58 PM

If they pull the rug on this deal they have to jail the members of the British army they were involved in the Bloody Sunday massacre from privates to generals, the secret service that murdered unarmed IRA in Gibraltar, the members of the police that entered fake evidence in the Birmingham six case.
    Can’t have one rule for British subjects and another for the Irish.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:25 AM

On that criteria Paul you would be as well young up all nationalist and just shoot them/ we would have a better island if we removed the inbred shinners

Mute Tony Duncan
    Favourite Tony Duncan
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:18 PM

Cynical electioneering going on here, in the memoirs of Jonathan Powell, who was Tony Blair’s chief of staff he writes about Paisley, Dodds and Robinson saying
    “They could accept the implementation of the unpopular undertakings we had made under the Joint Declaration on OTR’s as long as Tony wrote to Paisley making clear that these concessions have been agreed during David Trimble’s watch not theirs’

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Favourite Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:39 PM

100% – but what concessions will he gain… the mistake in all this was the duplicity of Ahern and Blair doing anything and i mean anything to protect their legacy as peace makers… along with Clinton they railroaded the mainstream and promised everything in side deals and agreements to SInn Fein and the Unionists… this is only the beginning of a very long piece of string… Blair/Ahern made sure they got their name in the book… Ahern convinced the Irish people to give up their sovereign right in favour of Sunningdale light and Blair convinced the Unionists the union was safe and SInn Fein that a United Ireland was a generation away both can’t be right… they institutionalised sectarianism… and made side deals with all and sundry… what next is the real question.

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:04 PM

hound of cooley thats an astounding piece of perception and insight,very well put

Mute cillian32
    Favourite cillian32
    Feb 26th 2014, 3:51 PM

Peadar is getting worried that Marty is going to be first Minister come what May …lol

Mute Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Favourite Liam Ó Séicspéir
    Feb 26th 2014, 3:59 PM

Marty is already effectively First Minister. They’re actually equals even though Martin is deputy First Minister.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:45 PM

Marty eh? – another fool you know if the DUP pull out the dark of cards comes down yeah? – now that may be inevitable if ‘Marty’ became first minister..Sinn fein delusion where they try to quell their guilt in serving in ‘her majestys’ parliament in a sectarian state. Squabbling over the scraps they are thrown by Whitehall.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:05 PM

Good news from a unionist for a change

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:32 PM

You’re an idiot. Who replaces him if he resigns?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:17 PM

Nobody. The assembly collapses and an election is called.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:54 PM

You think Unionism will sit with a Sinn Fein head of state?

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:01 PM

If a Sinn Fein head of state is elected, unionism will have to suck it up and grow up. That’s how democracy works.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:24 PM

@white fang – that’s the problem – the six counties is not a democracy. Its a lurid system of government that effectively encourages people to vote along lines of whether or not they are British… nothing about social justice and democracy. All unionism will do is run one candidate in areas where there is a doubt… and if SInn fein do get into power you think loyalism will sit back. I’d say sit back and enjoy the ride… you should be careful what you wish for. Once upon a time Robinson was the most hardline … who comes after him? Jim Allistair perhaps?

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 4:35 AM

Ah bless the shinners they actually think they are in a real government in the north, ah you have to laugh at their stupidity

Mute Daniel Gill
    Favourite Daniel Gill
    Feb 26th 2014, 3:53 PM

“Even if someone fingers you you’re not going to jail” sure that might happen to them there as well..

Mute Ciaran Fridge O'Dowd
    Favourite Ciaran Fridge O'Dowd
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:17 PM

That line reminded me of Iris and her previous dalliance!

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:40 PM

Did robinson not read the GFA?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 26th 2014, 3:50 PM

Every cloud……

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:14 PM

Why didn’t Adams condemn the bombing as opposed to the arrest of the “suspected” culprit? Would you want to share government with persons of that pedigree?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:22 PM

KKK
    Come on we all know when the time comes you will be voting SF
    Just out of curiosity have you a man crush on Gerry Adams you are always talking about him

See 49 more replies ▾
    Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:26 PM

Kris – I am no fan of either man, but this thread is about PR, a man who classes homosexuality as an abomination. There have also been several issues surrounding his finances.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:29 PM

Kris – in fairness to you, I should state, that yes, Gerry Adams should have condemned the bombings, which were an absolute outrage.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:30 PM

Ah Glen, I do enjoy a bit of banter. I can assure you of one thing, I will never vote SF. I told my local “Representative” the same thing when he appeared beside me as I was putting down a foundation for a new garage. He asked, why? I told him, I don’t trust them, I don’t believe them and the fact they have literally blood on their hands just doesn’t appeal to them. I did say it was nothing personal and if he was any other party or independent I would consider it, but not SF. I cannot stand Gerry Adams. He is a liar at best and a conniving murderer at worst.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:42 PM

I agree Paul, Peter Robinson is no angel and has a few skeletons of his own…including when he along with a Loyalist mob staged a quasi “invasion” of Clontibret in 1986 attacking two Gardai along the way. In saying that, I am pretty sure he was never the leader of a paramilitary organisation that killed thousands or shielded a paedophile. I just find it amusing that Adams condemns the arrest as opposed to the bombing which killed and injured many people.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:46 PM

KKK
    I’m still waiting to see this proof of yours that Adams was the head of anything other than SF

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:52 PM

Come on Glen. There is none so blind as he who will not see. The dogs on the street know he was head of the IRA. Just because he claims he wasn’t doesn’t mean he actually wasn’t. He is a pathological liar. Come here wasn’t it great to watch him squirm and his beard twitch as the awkward questions were put to him on that TV3 Documentary about his IRA past, Jean McConville etc…..quality viewing.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:59 PM

Well I live in a world that views people innocent on till proven guilty but with that said I’m sure if he was head of the IRA he will be excused under the agreement so bottom line Kris your beating a dead horse

Mute Hibernicus Exul

kris do you know what literally means ?? hahahah :-)

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay

Well you see Glen, if and when it does come out that he was in the IRA, it will be pointed out that he always vehemently denied any involvement….therefore proving the point that the majority of people on this island always believed, that he is/was a pathological liar.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:09 PM

DING!!!!!!

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:13 PM

But the whole argument of was he in it or not is counter productive to moving forward as a country your hatred for Gerry Adams is spread across the spectrum of SF and that’s a shame because there are some decent young educated politicians coming up thru the ranks

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:17 PM

I like the way you used the word “ranks” Glen….very clever. That may very well be the case but until Adams and the rest of the leadership own up to their past you can talk about moving forward all you like. You will always stand still.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:22 PM

Yes Hibernicus I do, do you? But we know you do as you have already stated that Police Officers and Soldiers are fair game for being targetted by paramilitaries. Yet you support a British football team according to your Twitter account (Great result in Greece last night by the way). I have no doubt now it was you standing in a Celtic jersey outside Croke Park with a “No foreign games” poster while wearing a Celtic jersey….

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:25 PM

what ?????? take a big deep breathe,count to ten or as close as you can get and the go look up “literally” in the dictionary like a good a little boy,i am goning educate you one word at a time :-)

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:29 PM

Kris , you ran away last time I asked you this question, so I’ll try again.

You claim that your opposition to SF is rooted in opposition to murder of any kind. So, are you morally consistent and condemn the murders carried out by the British army and UVF with equal furore, or are you a partisan hypocrite?

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:30 PM

Unfortunately Hibernicus, what you post online…stays online. A valuable lesson right there comrade. With your reference to educating me, you should try and educate yourself first….”goning”

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:33 PM

im confused do you or do you not know what “literally” means ?? its a very simple question kris,maybe get your minder in on this one if you are struggling,thats what they are paid for after all :-)

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:40 PM

No Fang, I didn’t run away. I’ll answer your questions. Honestly, I probably didn’t check back last time. My opposition to SF is firstly their sordid terrorist past. Their economic policies are bonkers. I think they are populist to the extreme and if it came to the crunch would fall well short on the bonanza they promise if they ever got into power. They have links with terrorist groups around the world admire despots from North Korea to Venezuela. The charade with the ANC at Nelson Mandelas funeral was laughable….but anyway, on to your other query. I absolutely condemn all murders whether they were carried out by Republicans, Loyalists, British Army or whoever. Murder is murder, no matter who carried/carries it out. I stand by the theory that SF and the Republican movement are the single biggest threat to democracy on this island. Does that answer your questions?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:41 PM

Kris
    I think you should answer White Fangs Question this time

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:43 PM

Sorry Hibernicus, if you have lost me completely. I know exactly what literally means, do you? A definition to peruse at your leisure.

http://www.oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/literally

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:44 PM

I just did Glen

Mute Marc
    Favourite Marc
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:44 PM

He is looking for an excuse to jump ship. He knows the game is up in the north.

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:50 PM

now now kris being patronizing and talking down wont get you out of this :-) tell me in your own words what does it mean ???

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:54 PM

Personally Kris I think it was a stupid question from Fang … Seriously what did he expect you to say !

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:56 PM

Mmm maybe I missed out on something but the article is about Peter Robinson not Gerry Adams I think KKK has a bit of a man crush on Mr Adams.

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:00 PM

hahah very true paul he seems to spend a large part of each day thinking solely about him,be careful though paul maye its the beard he likes :-)

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:01 PM

Kris
    People are starting to take notice of your ” Adams Thing “

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:15 PM

Oh, please.

It was the Official IRA that has links to Pyongyang. The OIRA had no links to SF. The only connections to Venezuela and the IRA that have been confirmed came after the GFA and, once again, SF had no involvement. Sinn Fein, the political party, have defended Chavez in the past. What’s wrong with that? The man was democratically elected time and time again. I reckon the Thatcher government’s support for actual despots like Pinochet, Pol Pot and Saddam is more morally ambiguous.

What charade at Mandela’s funeral would that be? Mandela was a staunch supporter of SF and an ally of Adams. Adams was selected for a part in the guard of honour, and was applauded by those in attendance. Charade?

You show up on every article possible to twist it into SF bashing. You have an unhealthy fixation with them. You can claim that you deplore all acts of murder equally, but your history of commenting suggests otherwise.

The irony is probably lost on you, but your obvious bias and selective view of history only increases the credibility of SF, when everyone on here can see just how intransigent the ‘other side’ is.

Finally, how exactly are SF the single greatest threat to democracy on this island of our’s? I’ll need specifics. You have to quantity a statement like that.

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:25 PM

jesus i never realized adams was selected for part of the guard of honor !!! jesus KKK must have have cried all day at that news,serious vote of confidence for adams and irish republicans with that move

you are right too white fang,he may say he condemns all murders but what few negative posts have been up on loyalism and the british army he is no where to be found but even if its is only tenuously connected to gerry adams he is on here giving it socks ,he is most likely paddy lyons because in fairness as much as their “culture” is backwards,stupid and archaic they dont usually like to troll and listen to irish news sites

Feb 26th 2014, 6:30 PM

Sooty Kris. Can you summarise please.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:32 PM

I agree Glen, it was obvious what my response was going to be…still if I’m asked something, I’ll answer it.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:40 PM

Em Hibernicus…I don’t really know what to say to you at this stage. I’ve posted a link from the Oxford Dictionary with it’s definition…yet you keep asking me the sane question. Do you want me to explain over the phone, in person..or maybe write it in braille?

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:41 PM

Fang. You asked me your questions. I gave you my answers and reasons behind them. What response were you expecting?

Feb 26th 2014, 6:50 PM

Kris. There’s an article shout a sinkhole in kilkenny that you haven’t blamed the Shinners for yet. But you hurry there is till time to get your spake in.
    You could blame it on DeChastelain not supervising the concrete pour properly.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:56 PM

I wasn’t expecting any specific response, how could I predict what you would say? Fair play for answering though, most dodge that question.

I’m looking at you, Patrick Lyons.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:03 PM

You should answer my other question now, how exactly are SF a threat to democracy in Ireland?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:12 PM

Fang has you there Kris
    It is a valid question

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:44 PM

Firstly I’m not Patrick Lyons or anyone else. One pseudonym is enough. Now onto your question…Why are SF a threat to democracy?

Have a read of this link…it sums up Sinn Fein and the IRA quite well

http://markhumphrys.com/sfira.tyranny.html

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:46 PM

Whose culture Hibernicus? I’m an Irisman born and bred and living in the Republic of Ireland…believe it or not, it’s your ilk that’s the minority not mine.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:47 PM

No Thomas, I think you’ll find that recent flooding, mining in the area and cavities close to the surface were the cause.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 8:06 PM

I went to your link KKK – its utter propaganda its like the anti-an phoblacht… so you’re obviously the author? Using straw men as arguments and the nutcases in Éirigi as the republicans… the author is a liberal-right pro-israeli atheist – how does that work? The author must have a serious moral dilemma when he thinks that Israel was created purely because of religion…

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 8:10 PM

Ah come on now Kris that’s propaganda at best
    Why don’t you try answering Fangs question in your own words

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 8:14 PM

That link isn’t an answer. Sure, the IRA supported some bad guys. So did the British. Think Augusto Pinochet, Pol Pott, Saddam Hussein, the UVF, Bahrain, apartheid South Africa, Hosni Mubarak, Yemen, Hugo Banzer, and many, many others.

By your logic, the UK is a threat to democracy.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 8:14 PM

Also, I never claimed that you were Lyons. I was complimenting you for answering a direct question, something Lyons never does.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 8:22 PM

It’s worth mentioning that the UK are much more pro-active in their support of tyrants and despots. The IRA cozied up to such, hoping to be financed and supplied with weapons.

The UK actually does the arming and financing.

Mute Kris O Kay Kay
    Favourite Kris O Kay Kay
    Feb 26th 2014, 8:35 PM

Fair enough, I read it wrong. There are many truths in that article, also a lot of it is far fetched but anyway, I firmly believe that SF if they ever got into power would turn the country into something resembling Venezuela, Cuba, Belarus or some such dictatorship. Civil liberties would be eroded in order to protect the movement…those working would be taxed into oblivion in order to pay for an ever expanding social welfare class. SF tentacles would become more entwined into people’s everyday lives and Government departments. Would they recognise the defence forces? Their version of democracy isn’t compatible with liberal democracy.

Feb 26th 2014, 8:48 PM

There used to be fella hanging ’round these parts who would link articles from Mark Humphrys a lot. What did he go by, Kevin Niazi, and then Kevin N… anyway dunno where he went.
    You should be able to make your own argument instead of linking some biased headbanger.

Mute Nosmo King
    Favourite Nosmo King
    Feb 26th 2014, 11:17 PM

Kris, ” TV3 ” and ” quality viewing ” in the same sentence. I think you’re hallucinating, my good man !

Feb 27th 2014, 4:55 PM

But are you sure….I mean, if you look at the photo, that car is never going to start

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:37 PM

Here is a question for Mr Robinson. How many Loyalist OTR’s have gotten the same letters and did he know about them? Why is he in government and sharing office with an admitted former member of an outlawed paramilitary organization? Why has he stopped using the the term SF/IRA now that he has a cozy seat in Government?

The only thing that Robinson is doing is trying to cover his own arse by pretending that he didn’t know about the OTR deal. With elections coming up this is political posturing at it’s worst,

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:29 AM

If child rape us your thing then SF are the party for you

Mute OGGIE3rd
    Favourite OGGIE3rd
    Feb 27th 2014, 1:11 PM

I’s am very tired of seeing your repetitive bullsh1t ..lol I’s swear it’s brutal ..lol I’s would imagine to wipe the bullsh1t from your mouth , ones would need a tree ..lol lol

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 26th 2014, 3:57 PM

The grip is tightening in this vile organisation. We as decent members if society must demand justice action the disgusting actions of the shinners. Sticking two fingers up to the public at any turn. We must never stop our fight for justice

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Feb 26th 2014, 3:58 PM

Who’s that,the U.D.A??..

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:03 PM

Ironman must be very upset by this news , poor chap is crying into his pint telling anyone who will listen how he and his ilk have been wronged boohoo

Feb 26th 2014, 6:37 PM

Tinman. You sound like lord haw haw,
    norn iron calling, norn iron calling.
    Ve are vinning the war. Ve have defeated the shinners and are now encircling Dáil Éireann. Mein fuhrer, Peter is alive and well and with his lovely concubine enjoying their wedding night.

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:05 PM

Wouldn’t it be great if we could just chop off northern Ireland and move out to another part of the world, preferably somewhere far far away. I would say wouldn’t it be great if we could all just live in peace, but I think there is a better chance of the former.

Mute mos
    Favourite mos
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:09 PM

We’re happy were we are thankyou.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:11 PM

Ben
    If your not happy hitch a boat to the back of your car and drive strait in any direction

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:16 PM

Even better if freestate partitionist clampits like yourself would move to another part of the world, Ben.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:32 PM

I’d rather stick you on a boat to somewhere. I’m sure others agree.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:42 PM

Why is that Fang ?

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:19 PM

Because I have no time for the cowards who would like to wall of the north and let it burn, simply because they were lucky enough to have been born on the republic side of this island. The north is more important to the culture and identity of Ireland as a whole than Ben. If we had to lose one, I know what I’d choose.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:31 PM

Fang when did I say I wanted to wall of the north please provide a link

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:56 PM

@Tir eoghain – the biggest partionists in the ‘free state’ are SInn Fein – they got (encouraged) articles 2 and 3 out of the constitution here removing all claim on the six counties and they sit in a parliament rubber-stamped by the British monarch… no other political party in this part of Ireland can claim that.

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:59 PM

Glen, are you Ben? Because I wasn’t talking about you. That’s quite the slip up, if you’ve forgotten which account you’re posting on.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:05 PM

Fang
    If you read back over the thread you can see why I’m asking ” I’d rather stick you on a boat to somewhere ” that was the point I was making to Ben ” hitch a boat ”
    Anyways and no I’m not Ben

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:09 PM

Oh, I see how the confusion arose. Sorry about that. My comment was directed at Ben.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:31 PM

So the only party to operate on both sides of the border are also the only partitionists? Gotcha.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 9:44 PM

They have ribberstamped partition have they not?

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:19 AM

We are happy enough with having the animals caged on the north

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:21 AM

Ha ha tyrone ye would still e begging to join us and we would still swat you away as the rodents you are. Why test chemicals on animals when you could do it on shinners

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Feb 26th 2014, 10:37 PM

For some perspective in all this talk of prosecutions:

In 1972, 79 Irish people were shot dead by the British Army in Ireland. The vast majority of these were civilians. In July 1972, a strategic government and security meeting at Stormont Castle was held, involving the Secretary for State William Whitelaw MP, the North’s most senior British Army officer the General Officer Commanding (GOC) General Ford, the Deputy Chief Constable of the RUC, plus Lord Windlesham the British government’s representative in the House of Lords, British MP’s, and senior civil servants from the NIO.
    The victims group ‘Relatives for Justice’ recently unearthed a document from this meeting which proves that the British state policy was that no british soldier should have to go no trial for murdering innocent people in Ireland. The document stated that:

“The (British) Army should not be inhibited in its campaign by the threat of court proceedings and should therefore be suitably indemnified.”

As mentioned, this meeting took place in 1972. That year 79 people were shot by the British Army. The meeting took place in July. That month the British Army killed 20 innocent civilians. Not one British soldier faced a conviction for ANY of these killings throughout 1972.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:40 AM

Ha ha ya have to love the shinners and their delusion. Anyone see the photos of the stickers on terrorist bobby sands grave? A certain weight loss company :D

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:59 PM

Now’s our chance mobilise the troops! Seriously though I think now is the time for join rule from London and Dublin. The executive has failed and it’s time for change.

Mute Jamesy Boy
    Favourite Jamesy Boy
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:13 PM

Are you suggesting Dublin has some kind of right to NI?

Mute Jamesy Boy
    Favourite Jamesy Boy
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:13 PM

Are you suggesting Dublin has some kind of right to NI?

Feb 26th 2014, 6:41 PM

So good he said it twice

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Feb 26th 2014, 6:44 PM

Well as part of the GFA the ROI does get a say in NI. However I think now is the time for joint rule from London and Dublin. The executive is a farce. Robinson is continually using political issues to further his support base which is dwindling dramatically. SF on the other hand is reinforcing the partition of Ireland, which of course was done against the wishes of the people of Ireland. So yes, ROI should now have a formal role in NI. It will happen inevitably anyway so why not phase it in gradually so the paranoid unionists can warm to the idea.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 7:15 PM

Jamie -.you’re correct that Sinn Fein is reinforcing partition… but the trappings of power proved yet again too much of a lure for them to turn away… they have participated into institutionalising sectarianism and a whole new generation of loyalists are growing up thinking the south and sinn fein are one in the same… that catholics/nationalists get all the stuff while they get nothing (which is untrue) – their ‘leaders’ stoke up these emotions at election time to get votes – sectarian politics feeds from this. Loyalism has no leaders, Unionism has dinosaurs leading them and Sinn Fein are just better at the spin and realpolitik… SDLP were shafted by Blair and Ahern; and Sinn Fein took their clothes as the nationalist party.

Its like the Catholic Church saying their is no god and its all a myth – its about keeping the pretense going to maintain power… a United Ireland is as close away as the Kingdom of God is.

Mute Jamesy Boy
    Favourite Jamesy Boy
    Feb 26th 2014, 11:00 PM

The GFA doesnt state that Dublin has some say in NI. Show me where in the GFA it states that.

You are thinking on the Anglo-Irish agreement which became obsolete when the GFA came about.

Dublin has dropped its claim over NI from its constitution.

Feb 26th 2014, 11:04 PM

What is a “United Ireland” ? Is it 50.1 percent of the 6 Counties voting nationalist in a border poll? Is it all of the people being happy, free and contented together on the same small, wonderful and beautiful island? It is the latter, the dream of the rebels of 1798. Led largely by Protestant men like Wolfe Tone, this uprising had one aim; to unite the people in equality, tolerance and brotherhood. The essence of republicanism. This is still the way forward, Catholic, Protestant and Dissenter. There is really very little that separates us, if we could only see the potential for this magical little island. Progressive leadership needed and regressive fear-mongering not wanted.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 11:32 PM

Jamie those ideals are true.. However sinn fein gave away the game.. 30 years of war and what do we get thus far? Reinforced partition and sectarianism more pronounced now than ever.. Never more has Tones ideal been far away… Catholic and protestant are miles away and dissenter belives that an independent northern state is more preferable.

The problem is those ideals are the anti-thesis to the present arrangement and sinn fein are in plum jobs.. The likes of Adams and Mcguinness are coming to the end what replaces them is careerist politicians whose ideals are about power… A united ireland will not look like those who signed 1916 envisioned it will be a british state beside an irish state under a euro banner… That ideal was lost when the gfa was signed. Peace is great but it will turn again it was a pryhic victory.. No equal rights.. No cherish the children equally no common irish indentity…the project has failed and were left with a powder keg waiting to ignite. Sectarianism is now embedded.. The country that was envisioned by Tone is dead its with o leary in the grave.

As

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 26th 2014, 11:36 PM

If unionist leaders begin a conversation with people on the shankill that there interests as people are served economically and politically by Ireland inc it would be better.. Not going to happy because elections are won by a head count of how british you are… Thats the reality.

Feb 27th 2014, 12:01 AM

It’s actually not religious, it’s territorial and tribal.. hence the flying of flags and the painting of kerbstones. The planted don’t have the power they once had, the Tories don’t rely on unionist votes anymore, the natives are on the comeback. All religions welcome, foreign flags that signify oppression, not so much.

Mute Hound of Cooley
    Feb 27th 2014, 8:17 AM

Pie in the sky… they always painted kerbstones – and jamie religon is tribal it’s not an issue of whether or not transubstantiation exists – so you can call it tribal or religious it comes down to the same thing as i’m sure you well know.

Mute Andrew Dunne
    Favourite Andrew Dunne
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:27 PM

I always feel uncomfortable know that an ex IRA member can serve in government, soon well be hearing all about a unified Ireland

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:31 PM

You obviously know shag all about history then. De Valera, Collins,……….

Mute Thenaked Goose
    Favourite Thenaked Goose
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:50 PM

Bluff should be called. Let their be an election. People sick to back teeth of the so called ‘NI Government’. It may once and for all shut up those mouth pieces such as Bryson and Frazer, who despite having no electoral mandate, currently get disproportionate media coverage, if they stand and are shown to be unwanted. With regards DUP / Sinn Fein, it will be interesting to see how more moderate parties like Alliance and the new NI21 fair – personally, I believe majority of people (if they got off backside and voted) would like see back of this farcical government. Who ever heard of a real government without an official opposition. DUP are stuck with 40 year old rhetoric, Sinn Fein, bunch of champagne socialists who cause anything they get their hands on (look at the ministries they controlled in North) turn to cr@p. (might be a warning for those thinking of giving them any power in South?)

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:37 AM

Laughable from the kiddy fiddlers yet again

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:06 PM

The terrorism empire is falling on all fronts :)

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:04 PM

i thought you liked the british ????????? :-)

Feb 26th 2014, 6:38 PM

Lord haw haw again. Ze Russians have been defeated. Ve have Von the var.

Mute Paddy Lyons
    Favourite Paddy Lyons
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:34 PM

Terrorists use the Journal as their playground.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:40 PM

Yea the ones of a loyal kind !

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Feb 26th 2014, 4:55 PM

“Terrorists use the Journal as their playground”, says poster on the Journal.

Mute Hibernicus Exul
    Feb 26th 2014, 5:05 PM

true paddy but sure you are entitiled to be here despite you coming from a terrorist “culture” that the world finds despicable

Feb 26th 2014, 6:40 PM

But of course Dear boy. But of course.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 2:28 AM

Well said paddy it’s where they swap their kiddy fiddling notes. If your into taping children then SF is the party for you

Mute Roland 303
    Favourite Roland 303
    Feb 26th 2014, 10:35 PM

Peter Robinson knew. He’s just trying to save face and save votes by this fake act of disgust.

Mute ironman
    Favourite ironman
    Feb 27th 2014, 4:39 AM

Mad this is a British matter, they should simply overrule these disgraceful ‘free murder cards’ they gave to terrorists and round them up and lock them up. The Irish government and people would fully supporting the caging of these animals

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Feb 27th 2014, 9:54 AM

Off ya go so peter. Se ya