You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Greenland villagers moved to higher ground as vast iceberg threatens flooding

There are fears it could flip or that sections could break off.

Greenland Iceberg This shot of the iceberg looming over Innarsuit was taken last Thursday. Karl Petersen Karl Petersen

LOW-LYING AREAS OF a village in northwestern Greenland remain evacuated today as villagers and local authorities monitor a vast iceberg for signs it could move closer or break apart, threatening the remote settlement.

Kenneth Elkjaer, a journalist with Greenland public broadcaster KNR, said today the iceberg is about 500 – 600 metres offshore and “everybody is waiting to see what happens to the weather”.

On Friday, 33 of Innaarsuit’s 169 residents had to move to higher ground due to concerns the iceberg could flip or chunks of it could break off, causing a large wave that might flood parts of the village.

Elkjaer said that “police and local authorities will evaluate the situation again tomorrow”.

Lina Davidsen, a security chief at the Greenland police, told Danish news agency Ritzau on Friday that authorities fear it could “calve and send a flood towards the village”.

Only those living closest to the iceberg have been evacuated, Ritzau reported.

Susanne K. Eliassen, a member of the village council, told the local newspaper Sermitsiaq that it was not unusual for large icebergs to be seen close to Innaarsuit.

“But this iceberg is the biggest we have seen… and there are cracks and holes that make us fear it can calve anytime,” she said, adding that the village’s power station and fuel tanks are close to the shore.

Nobody is staying unnecessarily close to the beach and all children have been told to stay in areas that are high up.

The incident comes weeks after scientists at New York University shot and released a video of a massive iceberg breaking free from a glacier in eastern Greenland in June.

An expert warned that extreme iceberg events will become more frequent.

“Iceberg production in Greenland has been increasing in the past 100 years as climate change has become stronger,” William Colgan, senior researcher at the Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland, told AFP.

He said the rising number of icebergs are in turn “increasing the tsunami hazards” which occur when they break away from a glacier and trigger a tidal wave.

Last year, four people died and 11 were injured after an earthquake sparked a tsunami off another island settlement called Nuugaatsiaq, sending several houses crashing into the sea.

- Reporting from AFP and Associated Press 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

18 Comments
    Mute Damo.f
    Favourite Damo.f
    Mar 13th 2019, 12:53 PM

You’d have to have sympathy for Theresa May in the whole scenario. She’s been left to sort out the whole mess while the main instigators have gone into hiding.

Mute Mushy Peas
    Favourite Mushy Peas
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:25 PM

@Damo.f: i respect her, for sure, but have zero sympathy.

In addition to being an extremely honorable and well paid job (plus pension), she volunteered for this job in full knowledge of her own views, and the array of views about Brexit.

She will also not have to live with the potential consequences of her actions and mistakes, like the average person.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 13th 2019, 2:05 PM

@Damo.f: sure she’s playing a game. She’s denying NI and Scotland European membership – its those you should have sympathy for.

Mute Ooby Dooby
    Favourite Ooby Dooby
    Mar 13th 2019, 12:41 PM

UK: We are leaving the 29th of March OK??
    EU: Ok.
    UK: OK??
    ……………….

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Mar 13th 2019, 8:00 PM

@Ooby Dooby: ‘Acknowledge my importance dammit’

Mute Fergal Pigat
    Favourite Fergal Pigat
    Mar 13th 2019, 12:34 PM

….and the Horror Show continues :-(

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Mar 13th 2019, 12:45 PM

Fair play to Coveney “This parliament will meet if it has to,”

Mute George O Neill
    Favourite George O Neill
    Mar 13th 2019, 3:52 PM

@Aidan Dorney: Direct rule would brake the Good Friday Agreement, serious own goal in the making

Mute Peter Carroll
    Favourite Peter Carroll
    Mar 13th 2019, 7:11 PM

@George O Neill: In the absence of a functioning government in Stormont, who should rule?

Mute Eugene Doyle
    Favourite Eugene Doyle
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:44 PM

We love a drama in this country, there’s nothing crucial about tonight’s vote, it’ll be voted down and then there’ll be an extension, following that a possible general election and a possible referendum and ultimately the U.K. will vote themselves back into Europe with their tails between their legs. Germany 1 – United Kingdom 0. The brexiteers missed their golden opportunity last night to leave the EU and give the two fingers to the bloc.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Mar 13th 2019, 2:16 PM

@Eugene Doyle: unless the EU refuse to give them an extension, which I know is unlikely

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Mar 13th 2019, 3:08 PM

@Eugene Doyle: I like your comment Eugene.

Mute Ooby Dooby
    Favourite Ooby Dooby
    Mar 13th 2019, 3:39 PM

@Eugene Doyle: Just imagine all the “EU is a dictatorship” trolls if that happened!

Mute Beircheart Breathnach
    Favourite Beircheart Breathnach
    Mar 13th 2019, 2:17 PM

Please,
    Please,
    Please,

Leave without a deal – then start dealing from a position of strength rather than the groveling tactics adopted so far.

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Mar 13th 2019, 3:24 PM

@Beircheart Breathnach:
    A position of strength ????
    That’s deluded

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Mar 13th 2019, 5:59 PM

@Beircheart Breathnach: They have zero leverage, no skilled negotiators and the US and Japan are already lining up to screw them. The ex colony and soon to be world superpower India will do them no favours. Apart from the likes of this, they’ll be grand

Mute Ned Flanders
    Favourite Ned Flanders
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:06 PM

Honest question. Does this vote matter if the EU says no we already negotiated a deal, feck off.

Mute Ooby Dooby
    Favourite Ooby Dooby
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:45 PM

@Ned Flanders: Good question.

It’s really just a precursor to the extension vote.

Unless they vote in favour of no-deal…. then it’s all over on the 29th.

Mute Seán Kinsella
    Favourite Seán Kinsella
    Mar 13th 2019, 3:19 PM

The report that “Sinn Fein are having their say” gave me a good laugh. They have no place saying anything about this if they are not willing to participate in working on a solution i.e taking up their place in Westminster and getting their asses back into to Stormont.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Mar 13th 2019, 6:12 PM

@Seán Kinsella: yeah like their seven votes would have done so much to counter the loss by 150 votes.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Mar 13th 2019, 6:47 PM

@Seán Kinsella: I don’t vote Sinn Fein but I cannot for the life of me understand how people can consistently post comments like yours. When running for election they specifically tell the electorate they will not take up their seats. It’s part of their mandate. If they took up the seats they would be breaking an election promise. Don’t we have enough parties doing this?

Mute Martin Hession
    Favourite Martin Hession
    Mar 13th 2019, 7:49 PM

@Niallers: could say the same for DUP

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Mar 13th 2019, 12:50 PM

Be no shock if no deal is off the table after today. Brexiteers will pee themselves

Mute Ben Jamen
    Favourite Ben Jamen
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:12 PM

Would it be too much of a stretch at this point to get a representive(s) from

The EU i.e Michel Barnier
    The UK Parliament i.e Theresa May
    The DUP i.e Arleen Foster
    The Irish Government i.e Simon Coveney and Leo Varadkar

and get into a f*cking room and sort this clusterf*ck once and for all. Stop the trips over to Brussels every 2 weeks and get to a decision between them.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:54 PM

@Ben Jamen: it is sorted except UK dup don’t like the result

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:56 PM

@Ben Jamen: they, with the exception of Arlene, are not the problem. the problem is the large Brexiteer wing of the Tory party who are still stuck back in the heyday of empire

Mute Simon Connolly
    Favourite Simon Connolly
    Mar 13th 2019, 5:15 PM

What is becoming blindingly clear every day is that the vast majority of MP’s and cabinet ministers have no idea how the current border works…you have the Government saying they’ll be no checks and a Secretary to the Treasurey saying that checks already exist??!! What checks? Where are they carried out? Its It’s unbelievable…..the British really are the definition of “cutting your nose off to spite your face”!!

Mute Fred Cahill
    Favourite Fred Cahill
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:49 PM

Has anyone noticed the Irony of yesterdays vote, if the 75 Brexiteers had voted for the Deal they would have gotten Brexit passed without the Need of DUP votes. Looks like their vote has ruled any possibility of them getting a Brexit now, or a very Soft Brexit.
    https://ichef.bbci.co.uk/news/624/cpsprodpb/431B/production/_105997171_optimised-mv2_breakdown_chart-nc.png

Mute Fred Cahill
    Favourite Fred Cahill
    Mar 13th 2019, 2:00 PM

**Correction** ‘ruled any possibility’ should have said ‘ruled out any possibility’ and the vote would have been 317 to 316, would have just passed by 1 vote if they had stuck with party vote.

Mute LARRY SNEEG
    Favourite LARRY SNEEG
    Mar 13th 2019, 2:11 PM

@Fred Cahill: No it simply rejected a very bad deal, tonight’s vote is meaning less, Eu and UK law still states that they part company on 29th, with or without a deal.

Mute Fred Cahill
    Favourite Fred Cahill
    Mar 13th 2019, 3:18 PM

@Larry Sneeg: The vote for No Deal Exit is going to fail tonight, the extension is going to pass tomorrow meaning UK is not leaving on the 29th. With the extension the only possibilities are a Soft Brexit by working with Labour, 2nd Referendum, or a General Election.

Mute David Guiney
    Favourite David Guiney
    Mar 13th 2019, 3:38 PM

@Fred Cahill: if tomorrow’s vote passes then they have to ask the EU for an extension so there’s no guarantee. The EU will bluster about the point of this right up to midnight of the 28th but will more that likely give a short term extension in the hope that the Torys are turfed out, Labour get in and there’s more chance for a second referendum. I know Corbyn is ambivalent about the EU but I reckon he will cave to pressure to hold a second vote.

Mute LARRY SNEEG
    Favourite LARRY SNEEG
    Mar 13th 2019, 4:14 PM

@Fred Cahill: the EU have to grant an extension, and with the EC elections coming up, the EC won’t want Farage back,

Mute Fred Cahill
    Favourite Fred Cahill
    Mar 13th 2019, 7:48 PM

@Larry Sneeg: I can tell you the Majority of MEP’s do not give a hoot about Farage and whether his back or not. That fool is going to be ignored. They will grant a delay and UK will not be leaving on the 29th unless Theresa Mays Plan passes via a third vote. It could have all been taken care of last night if the Conservatives stuck together.

Mute Fred Cahill
    Favourite Fred Cahill
    Mar 13th 2019, 7:50 PM

@David Guiney: They will grant a delay as there is too much to loose.

Mute tottkingham
    Favourite tottkingham
    Mar 13th 2019, 5:12 PM

This is like watching a country play Russian roulette and knowing its gonna get very messy, very soon.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 13th 2019, 1:07 PM

omg what a surprise another crucial Brexit vote … I cant wait … guffaw chortle.. sneer ..

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Mar 13th 2019, 7:29 PM

No Brexit deal averted by FOUR votes!

A split tory party, parliament and country! It’s hard to see who is actually good enough the fix the place, drag them through Brexit and into success.

Mute Diarmaid O'Riordáin
    Favourite Diarmaid O'Riordáin
    Mar 14th 2019, 12:44 AM

@Paul Furey: no that was an amendment to the main vote, which passed by about 50.
    The amendment was that there would never be a no deal. The original was just taking no deal off the table until the deadline of Article 50.

So essentially they voted that they can never accept no deal.
    But it doesn’t matter if they don’t do a deal with the EU none of that matters and they crash out.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Mar 13th 2019, 4:27 PM

What is “direct rule in Northern Ireland”?

Mute John kane
    Favourite John kane
    Mar 13th 2019, 5:12 PM

@Peter: ruled from London

Mute White Rabbit
    Favourite White Rabbit
    Mar 13th 2019, 7:07 PM

One brexit in the hand is worth 2 in the bush I always maintain

Mute Andy mc Laughlin
    Favourite Andy mc Laughlin
    Mar 13th 2019, 7:27 PM

That vote was too close for comfort. But I for one am glad that a no deal brexit is off the table. That would be a disaster. Looks like we are heading for an extension to article 5o which was prematurely triggered in the first place in my opinion. I know people here in Ireland are sick of hearing about brexit but the impact it will have on Ireland if the right deal is not found is massive. And the worse thing is we have very little control of it, other than the same control that any of the other eu member states have which is ridiculous. Let’s hope we are not collateral damage in this mess.

Mute miju irl
    Favourite miju irl
    Mar 13th 2019, 6:00 PM

This has to be one of the most dangerous comments I’ve heard from a UK politician during the whole Brexit debacle.

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Favourite Tim McCormack29
    Mar 13th 2019, 10:56 PM

DUP voted against ruling out No Deal Brexit..

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Mar 13th 2019, 7:47 PM

This complete shit show makes me so glad I moved back from the UK!

Mute Den O'Con
    Favourite Den O'Con
    Mar 13th 2019, 2:07 PM

I’ll tell you how ready we are. I’m sure everyone agrees that second hand imports of cars are a huge part of the Irish car business. Rang NCT centre who register imports and are paid the VRT. They do not know if VAT will be payable as UK will no longer be in EU. There said ring revenue. Rang three different numbers and as well as no one knowing, I was passed onto other sections who did not know either. Told to ring NCT twice. NCT then said they do not know why revenue are saying to ring them. Ring your local tax office. Did. Told to contact t NVT