You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File Photo Sam Boal via RollingNews.ie

Thanks to Facebook and Apple, the IDA says it's just had the best year ever

IDA client companies created 18,983 jobs on the ground during the past year.

IDA IRELAND HAS announced the greatest level of employment in its client companies in the agency’s 67-year history.

The government body responsible for attracting foreign direct investment says 187,056 people are now employed by overseas companies - ”the highest level on record”.

The total payroll is estimated to be about €9 billion.

IDA client companies created 18,983 jobs on the ground during 2015, up from 15,012 in 2014.

Net jobs were 11,833, compared to 7,131 in the same time period last year, representing a year-on-year rise of 66%.

Facebook’s plans for a new data centre in Clonee, county Meath and Apple’s €850 million investment in Athenry, Galway were among the leading investments secured during the year.

Last year, 53% of all jobs created by IDA clients were based outside of Dublin, compared to 49% in 2014.

Jobs Minister Richard Bruton hailed the work and the results, claiming the Action Play for Jobs put together by his government was replacing an economy model “based on property and debt which collapsed”.

It has been truly an export-led recovery, and multinational companies have played a massive role in this.

In the annual report, IDA Ireland claim that its clients “are major contributors to Ireland’s corporation tax receipts, representing approximately 65% of all receipts in 2014″. The Department of Finance has put this year’s bumper corporation tax figure at €6.87 billion.

Read: Kildare man wins appeal in Supreme Court and won’t be forced to sell his family home to the IDA>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

23 Comments
    Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:02 PM

Eamon Ryan is a bit of a Nugget himself.

Mute Fergus Murphy
    Favourite Fergus Murphy
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:48 PM

@Brian: A nugget short of being a full Happy Meal

Mute neuromancer
    Favourite neuromancer
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:57 PM

@Fergus Murphy: 5 nuggets short you mean.

Mute Ruth Colbert
    Favourite Ruth Colbert
    Apr 28th 2021, 6:21 PM

@Brian: an insult to nuggets everywhere

Mute Daniel Finucane
    Favourite Daniel Finucane
    Apr 28th 2021, 10:39 PM

@Brian: a poo nugget.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:08 PM

Everything I’m reading or hearing from the government says to me that there will only be outdoor service for the hospitality sector during the summer, at best open by end of June. Which to me doesn’t correlate with the amount they’re planning to have vaccinated by June.

Mute Colleen
    Favourite Colleen
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:11 PM

@John Egan: apparently outdoor hospitality will resume on May 24th.

Mute Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Favourite Dara Mac Fhionnain
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:14 PM

@Colleen: where did you hear that?

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:20 PM

@John Egan: Nphet and the buffoons in government must be expecting one hell of a summer weather wise. Awnings and heaters aside, I’ve got almost 45 Irish summers under my belt and a good 30 of them have been washouts.

Mute aidanshaw
    Favourite aidanshaw
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:40 PM

@John Egan:the north, scotland, wales, uk, will have indoor and outdoor up and running in a few weeks.. July or august is a long wait here for indoor especially if weather poor.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:40 PM

@Robert Clifford: haha, as last years was terrible after April theres a chance this years could be good (never do we get 2 in a row). But just find it annoying/confusion. The vaccinations and level of restrictions are not matching, restrictions look to be 1 or 2 behind.

Mute Ron
    Favourite Ron
    Apr 28th 2021, 5:09 PM

@Dara Mac Fhionnain: it has to the North is opening the 24th May if not loads heading up the North me included

Mute Colleen
    Favourite Colleen
    Apr 28th 2021, 5:44 PM

@Dara Mac Fhionnain: on the rté news website. Apparently they are discussing it tonight.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Apr 28th 2021, 8:34 PM

@Dara Mac Fhionnain: they were doing their – ‘we don’t want to create uncertainty’ with ‘kite flying’ ahead of announcements – by erm – kite flying ahead announcements.

Mute Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Favourite Ciarán O' Donoghue
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:11 PM

If outdoors is safe, and they know everyone is meeting up having cans at this stage, why won’t the open the bloody pubs for outdoor sittings so.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Apr 28th 2021, 5:37 PM

@Ciarán O’ Donoghue: Hush now with that kind of talk.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Apr 28th 2021, 7:48 PM

@Ciarán O’ Donoghue: They’ve said (leaked) that they will. So much ado/anger about nothing then

Mute Alex Marquis
    Favourite Alex Marquis
    Apr 28th 2021, 5:22 PM

How about the féicin hairdressers? I’m starting to look like the love child of Enda Kenny and a 1980’s rock star at this stage.

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    Apr 28th 2021, 9:53 PM

@Alex Marquis: Either that or put up a couple of short documentaries explaining how to mind ‘crazy’ hair for lads. I haven’t a clue, not a bull’s notion about hair products or conditioners. Googled it there, first step it said was do something with a comb. Sure I don’t have a comb.

Mute Valentine Kane
    Favourite Valentine Kane
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:33 PM

I would rather catch the virus than eat the chicken nuggets in some pubs,

Mute The Kev in Kevlar
    Favourite The Kev in Kevlar
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:04 PM

More of a tenders guy myself

Mute The Firestarter
    Favourite The Firestarter
    Apr 28th 2021, 5:59 PM

How does outdoor dining work with hotels, do you eat and drink in your car, honestly we are governed by Muppets.

Mute Eoin Fitzgerald
    Favourite Eoin Fitzgerald
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:47 PM

Took them long enough to realise

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Apr 28th 2021, 7:49 PM

@Eoin Fitzgerald: Realise what? You think they should have recommended outdoor dining in winter?

Mute Eoin Fitzgerald
    Favourite Eoin Fitzgerald
    Apr 28th 2021, 10:40 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: they should have let pubs serve from last June/July outdoors

Mute Seán
    Favourite Seán
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:49 PM

The content of the article kind of contradicts the headline. If ministers are pushing for “outdoor dining” that means they’ll have to enforce the 9 euro substantial meal carry on again because that implies that “outdoor dining” will be allowed while “outdoor drinking” won’t be and so that demands there be a distinction between gastro pubs and “wet pubs”.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Apr 28th 2021, 7:50 PM

@Seán: Outdoor drinking will be , so no problem.

Mute Cat Reid
    Favourite Cat Reid
    Apr 28th 2021, 5:02 PM

You

Mute The world outside the M50
    Favourite The world outside the M50
    Apr 28th 2021, 9:39 PM

What part of the Chicken does a nugget come from ? – The mechanically separated of what is left over.
    People say “I love animals” – No – you love pets – if you love animals you would stop eating them…

Mute Seán
    Favourite Seán
    Apr 28th 2021, 4:51 PM

The content of the article kind of contradicts the headline. If its understood some ministers are “pushing for outdoor dining” that means they’ll have to enforce the 9 euro substantial meal carry on again because that implies that “outdoor dining” will be allowed while “outdoor drinking” won’t be and so that demands there be a distinction between gastro pubs and “wet pubs”.

Mute Simon Spellman
    Favourite Simon Spellman
    Apr 28th 2021, 5:51 PM

@Seán: and will gastro pubs even bother opening for outdoor dining only, might not be worth their while and may wait till they are allowed indoors too
    Also may not want drinking tables only, not enough money from that, they will want to keep their tables for ppl having food&drink, better return off them

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Apr 28th 2021, 8:41 PM

@Seán: no i think they are finally realising that the public have moved ahead and the days of garda or health officers being expected to be checking up on premises this summer is just not gonna work – honestly if people could see the level of social activity already along canals and parks at weekends – its crazy busy and they really should reopen the more controlled environments with toilet facilities etc even this bank holiday weekeend – actually disgraceful the lack of toilet facilities last weekend in places like Howth head – people just trying to do what they were allowed outdoors but they shut toilet facilities – honestly we are a shambles at offer decent services to the public – still 25% capacity on transport and yet telling the public to get outdoors creating backlogs and crowds at places like howth dart station – we are seeing the worst of both worlds – our abundance of caution is not whats happening in the the real world – its nonsense