You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Chair of the 24 No More Campaign, Dr John Donnellan. Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

IMO: 'The HSE is finally accepting that they have to move on this issue'

The IMO say they welcome the “belated engagement” of the HSE on the issue of junior doctors’ working hours.

THE DOCTORS’ UNION representing junior doctors said it will meet tomorrow to consider a series of proposals negotiated between the union and the HSE on the working hours of NCHDs.

The Irish Medical Organisation (IMO) is demanding an end to shifts for NCHDs running in excess of 24 hours. They also want the HSE to bring in a plan aimed at achieving compliance with an EU directive on working hours.

Strike suspension

Following negotiations between the two sides, the IMO agreed to a one week suspension of industrial action, which was scheduled to take place on Wednesday.

The IMO has said that the strike threat remains on the table.

In a statement today, the IMO said it was now up to the NCHD Committee to consider the next steps in this dispute.

A spokesman today said that the IMO would not have agreed to the Labour Relations Court request to suspend the day of action if the proposals that were negotiated were not significant.

Next steps

“Ultimately the NCHD Committee will decide on the next steps but we believe that the proposals we have negotiated are significant and go a considerable way to addressing our deep concerns on the working hours issue and on other important issues for our NCHD members,” said the spokesperson.

The spokesman said he welcomed what he described as a “belated engagement” on the part of the HSE to acknowledge the problems of NCHD members and their own failures on this issue over many years.

He added:

Clearly the HSE is finally accepting that they have to move on this issue and therefore we have an obligation to give the negotiated proposals real and serious consideration.  The committee will do that tomorrow.

Read: Doctors’ strike called off for a week as IMO considers deal>

Read: Strike threat still on the table as doctors and HSE resume talks>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:38 PM

Remember kids, D’s get degrees.

Mute Seagoat returns
    Favourite Seagoat returns
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:42 PM

@Sean Fahey: superb, thanks Sean

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:27 PM

@Sean Fahey: and Fs?

Mute Cat Stapleton
    Favourite Cat Stapleton
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:39 PM

@Sean Fahey: I got E lol

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:40 PM

@Optimus Prime: Remember Bill Gates,when he said he didn’t pass all subjects in his exams, his friend did and became an engineer,working for Microsoft, Bill just owned the company.

Mute lelookcoco
    Favourite lelookcoco
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:02 PM

@Honeybee: Now Bill’s a world leading virus expert

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:01 AM

@lelookcoco: I believe he’s anti virus now.

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:56 AM

@Sean Fahey: I got dismal, but when there are questions are about the 2nd best or 3rd largest/smallest, it’s just click bait and yes, I clicked with the best of them..

Mute Peter Gavin
    Favourite Peter Gavin
    Mar 31st 2020, 2:12 AM

@Optimus Prime: F all

Mute Edward Fitzgerald
    Favourite Edward Fitzgerald
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:32 PM

@Sean Fahey: and AS get honours degrees

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:01 PM

I left school at 12 went back when I was 24 did my junior cert and was taught by the most amazing lady ever sandy you are one in a million i got 6 right not bad for me

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:04 PM

@Marty Lawless: fair play, takes a lot more to do that when you are older, but it’s also more rewarding….great stuff

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:03 AM

@Marty Lawless: that was some lie-in.

Only joking, fair play Marty.

Mute Marty Lawless
    Favourite Marty Lawless
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:40 AM

@Dan: just to let you know I was a junkie at 12 to 17 and got free from it I couldn’t read nor write but this remarkable lady called sandy from sligo kept pushing me on telling me that I was able for more my life meant more I owe this lady so much I’m drug free years now and I can read and write

Mute Now or Never
    Favourite Now or Never
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:38 AM

@Marty Lawless: that’s just genuinely superb. Well done dude and keep it up.

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:21 AM

@Marty Lawless: That is so good, Marty. You are a great example to the people who write off anybody who has had difficulty in their life. Your post is more literate than 90% of the people on this forum. Keep it up; you’re a winner!

Mute Rathminder
    Favourite Rathminder
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:34 AM

@Marty Lawless: Give yourself a pat on the back as well, Marty. She was fantastic but you supplied both ability and motivation!

Mute Micheál
    Favourite Micheál
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:24 PM

Correction:
    The County Town of Waterford is Waterford not Dungarvan

Mute Micheál
    Favourite Micheál
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:25 PM

@Micheál:
    Phil Hogan amalgamated the City and County in 2015

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:26 PM

@Micheál: Thanks

Mute nicknack
    Favourite nicknack
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:52 PM

@Micheál: are you by any chance an avid south Kilkenny person that calls Waterford a town and Kilkenny a city!!

Mute Brian Purcell
    Favourite Brian Purcell
    Mar 31st 2020, 2:30 PM

@Micheál: Waterford is a City not a town

Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:42 PM

I got the Lough Allen question correct, but Galway which is in Connaught has a shoreline on Lough Derg in around Portumna.

Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:45 PM

@Val Doyle: I might just point out that it’s Connacht and not Connaught as stated in the quiz.

Mute Aonghus OReilly
    Favourite Aonghus OReilly
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:50 PM

@Val Doyle: shuddup val ya bleedin lick

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:57 PM

@Val Doyle: With the positioning of the lakes in the question, I would say it’s Lough Derg in Donegal.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:25 AM

@Val Doyle: and lough derg is in Connacht ,unless they moved it ?

Mute Nick Caffrey
    Favourite Nick Caffrey
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:23 AM

@Aonghus OReilly: Mind your manners. Val is right. ‘Connaught’ is the British colonial spelling. Were you in the RIC?

Mute Grainnewhale
    Favourite Grainnewhale
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:24 PM

Why is Dungarvan the county town of Waterford – when the Council offices are in Waterford?

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:05 AM

@Grainnewhale: cos it is, that’s why.

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:31 AM

@Grainnewhale:

Dungarvan has blaagin’ rights on that one, Grainne!

Mute thesaltyurchin
    Favourite thesaltyurchin
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:39 AM

@Grainnewhale: Waterford’s a city.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:49 PM

got them all wrong!

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: it’s ok. Me too.

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:35 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: Don’t worry Pauline, horses for courses as my mother used to tell me and remember strong people don’t put people down,they lift them up .If you didn’t get them right first time round..you’re normal, try again and I bet you get an A.

Mute Bob Dalchan
    Favourite Bob Dalchan
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:17 PM

Second biggest county is Cork 7500 sq km. Galway is 6149 sq km. So The answer Galway is wrong.

Mute Mary O' Shea
    Favourite Mary O' Shea
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:18 PM

@Bob Dalchan: Cork is the biggest county

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:29 PM

@Bob Dalchan: 2nd biggest was the question. That is why you got an F..hahahha.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:31 PM
    Mute Bob Dalchan
    Favourite Bob Dalchan
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:32 PM

@Mary O’ Shea: I selected cork and it showed Red. Galway simultaneously went green.

Mute Shane Brigdale
    Favourite Shane Brigdale
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:37 PM

@Bob Dalchan: that’s because Cork is the biggest and galway second and the question was the second biggest

Mute Mary O' Shea
    Favourite Mary O' Shea
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:40 PM

@Bob Dalchan: because galway is the right answer. It’s the second biggest. Cork is the biggest. You just misread the question.

Mute Fergal O'Hagan
    Favourite Fergal O'Hagan
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:52 PM

@Bob Dalchan: always take your time and read the question!!!

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:00 PM

@Mary O’ Shea: Donegal is the biggest

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:31 PM

@Aaron Jones: only 4th I’m afraid!

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:40 PM

@Joe Kennedy: since when?

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:44 PM

@Joe Kennedy: na Donegal is the biggest county and Galway 2nd then Cork

Mute HuffnPuff
    Favourite HuffnPuff
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:57 PM

@Bob Dalchan: yes, the second biggest county is Mayo or it was when I was going to school. Maybe Galway is after leaking a bit into Roscommon, all that flooding etc

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:01 AM

@HuffnPuff: cork is the biggest county in Ireland now use to Donegal was it not?

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:07 AM

@Joe Kennedy: your right:-/

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:42 AM

@HuffnPuff: well it’s 3rd now so it must have shrunk since you were in school! Maybe some of it fell into the sea there up around Belmullet?! Wild country up there!

Mute Bob Dalchan
    Favourite Bob Dalchan
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:15 AM

@Bob Dalchan: My mistake! Read the question wrong. I’ll stick to geography of the Caribbean.

Mute Frank Dwyer
    Favourite Frank Dwyer
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:50 AM

@Aaron Jones: Donegal is only the biggest county when the tide is out

Mute Gerard Moroney
    Favourite Gerard Moroney
    Mar 31st 2020, 2:16 AM

@Optimus Prime:
    I opted for Tyrone. …but it wasn’t there

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:26 AM

@Frank Dwyer:

Nice one Frank!

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:28 AM

@Bob Dalchan: cork is the biggest,galway 2nd,thats what was bet into us ?

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:36 AM

@Gerry Campbell: I thought donegal was the biggest for years and years done a wee google nearly fall of me chair when the answer came back it wasn’t to be!

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:40 AM

@Frank Dwyer: yeah really so the biggest county differs on the tide interesting fact mmmmm

Mute Seagoat returns
    Favourite Seagoat returns
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:39 PM

Primary school? are ye bleedin messin’ bud? Ah here….

Mute Richard
    Favourite Richard
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:57 PM

Don’t feel bad folks I’m a mechanical engineer but according to this quiz I’m a bit of a dim wit. I’m actually happy with a two Haha.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:36 PM

5/10 Brother Carberry would have cut fcuk out of me for that.

Mute Dizzy
    Favourite Dizzy
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:40 PM

@Patrick Agnew: Br. Patrick would have given me a kick in the whole 7/10

Mute Macus Mc Mahon
    Favourite Macus Mc Mahon
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:47 PM

@Patrick Agnew: what would he do if you got them all right?

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:56 PM

@Dizzy: better than a fist

Mute Mike McGann
    Favourite Mike McGann
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:10 AM

@Macus Mc Mahon: ignored you

Mute Gearóid Ó Tuama
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Tuama
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:51 AM

Woeful spelling of Inis Mór, Inis Meáin and Inis Oírr

Mute Vid Co
    Favourite Vid Co
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:28 PM

Share the results with friends,,,, Not a chance

Mute Ken Fitzsimons
    Favourite Ken Fitzsimons
    Mar 31st 2020, 1:17 AM

Everyone should be given full marks

Mute Paddy Reid
    Favourite Paddy Reid
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:57 PM

Spelled Connacht wrong twice.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:35 PM

@Paddy Reid: it’s TheJournal. Beyond the M50 may as well be Khartoum for all they know or care.

Mar 30th 2020, 10:59 PM

It’s like been a teenager again, got a E

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:08 AM

@: how much?

Mute Fred the Muss
    Favourite Fred the Muss
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:44 PM

5.. that’s all I need.

Mute AA Brady
    Favourite AA Brady
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:04 PM

B, not too shabby for someone who left Primary in 1977

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:15 PM

@AA Brady: your no spring chicken

Mute AA Brady
    Favourite AA Brady
    Mar 31st 2020, 5:30 AM

@Aaron Jones: shurrup, ya wee pup

Mute AA Brady
    Favourite AA Brady
    Mar 31st 2020, 5:34 AM

@Aaron Jones: Maybe not,but I know the correct use of your/you’re, ya pup

Mute Clare Ryan
    Favourite Clare Ryan
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:30 AM

@AA Brady: I left primary in 1976 and got a B also, I did better than you really on age grounds but I’m not boasting.

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 31st 2020, 9:47 AM

@AA Brady: yeah I see that!

Mute Alan Lynch
    Favourite Alan Lynch
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:54 PM

Last one was way to easy. Come on, who the hell would want to live in Leitrim

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Mar 30th 2020, 9:58 PM

@Alan Lynch: me! I would. Lived there for 7 months. Would love to go back.

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:18 PM

@Alan Lynch: Would live there in a heartbeat. One of the most beautiful places on earth and filled with equally beautiful people.

Mute CoraG
    Favourite CoraG
    Mar 31st 2020, 10:07 AM

Malin not loop head is the most northern point in Ireland

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 31st 2020, 10:39 AM

@CoraG: true the tide most of been out tho,I call for this competition to be null and void

Mute kevin mc cormack
    Favourite kevin mc cormack
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:05 PM

35 years ago and still got 6 yeppe

Mute James Pelow
    Favourite James Pelow
    Mar 31st 2020, 7:15 AM

Bonus point for the writer of the article: What is the correct spelling of Connacht?

Mute Aaron Jones
    Favourite Aaron Jones
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:53 PM

5 outa 10 a D

Mute Aaron92utd
    Favourite Aaron92utd
    Mar 31st 2020, 3:31 AM

I got a B. 7 of 10. I expected 5. So im happy

Mute Edel O'Dea
    Favourite Edel O'Dea
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:53 PM

Great idea

Mute Soeren Kuehling
    Favourite Soeren Kuehling
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:36 PM

not irish, got 3/10 but most of this knowledge is useless anyway once you leave school

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Mar 30th 2020, 11:23 PM

@Soeren Kuehling: yes, knowledge in general is useless Soeren!! And no value whatsoever in knowing the geography of one’s own country!

Mute Micheál
    Favourite Micheál
    Mar 30th 2020, 10:28 PM

Oh you’re welcome Gráinne!

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:02 PM

just got the Dublin 1s right didn’t know there was anything outside Dublin. I thought the roads just stopped once they got outside the big capital

Mute Oliver Curley
    Favourite Oliver Curley
    Mar 31st 2020, 4:43 PM

That is incorrect, Lough Derg opens at Portumna

Mute Ní Cheapim
    Favourite Ní Cheapim
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:33 PM

County Athlone wasn’t on the list!!

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Mar 31st 2020, 8:15 PM

5/10, got half of them wrong!

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Apr 1st 2020, 9:13 AM

When I was in primary school, Loop Head was in Co. Clare… I suppose they must have moved it…

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Apr 1st 2020, 9:14 AM

@Colm de Cleir: aaggh sorry about the dupe, it looked like it didn’t work the first time

Mute Colm de Cleir
    Favourite Colm de Cleir
    Apr 1st 2020, 9:12 AM

When I was in primary school, Loop Head was in Co. Clare…. I suppose they must have moved it or something…

Mute Lady Jane Wilde
    Favourite Lady Jane Wilde
    Mar 31st 2020, 12:09 PM

Zero.