You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

In numbers: Thousands more drivers caught speeding

Almost 100,000 drivers have been given penalty points so far this year after new speed cameras were introduced.

THE NUMBER OF drivers caught speeding has risen sharply since last year, with almost 100,000 motorists receiving penalty points in the first six months alone.

Figures provided by Minister for Transport Leo Varadkar show some councils penalised more drivers in the first six months of the year alone than in the whole  of 2010. It’s believed the rise is due to the introduction of ‘GoSafe’ speed cameras – see here for a map of their locations – which were reported in April to have led to a tripling in the number of speeders caught.

The statistics were given in response to a parliamentary question from Fine Gael TD Joe McHugh. Here are some of the key numbers:

• 95,640 drivers penalised in the first half of this year – already almost three-quarters of the 2010 total of 131,214
  • 3,708 drivers caught in Clare to June this year
  • 2,817 drivers caught in Clare over the whole of 2010
  • 19,985 drivers caught in Dublin this year
  • 2,944 drivers caught in Leitrim, Sligo, Monaghan and Longford combined

However, the totals did not increase everywhere. In Sligo, just 856 motorists have been given penalty points so far this year, whereas 2,699 were caught out during 2010. There was a similar situation in Leitrim, which penalised 489 drivers to June against 1,127 last year.

Mr McHugh told the Irish Times he welcomed the increase in penalty points handed out. However, he raised concerns about the locations of some cameras, saying: “There has been a few at entrances of towns and villages that are causing consternation.”

See our interactive map of speed camera locations across Ireland >

Read more: More drivers caught thanks to private speed cameras >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

26 Comments
    Mute willy pearse
    Favourite willy pearse
    Aug 5th 2011, 10:05 AM

Stealth taxation.

Mute Emma Tydings
    Favourite Emma Tydings
    Aug 5th 2011, 10:15 AM

This is great and making the roads safer. Easy solution if you don’t want to be caught-don’t speed!

Mute Feargal Garvin
    Favourite Feargal Garvin
    Aug 5th 2011, 10:24 AM

Let’s wait and see if there’s a corresponding drop in accidents and deaths.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 5th 2011, 12:19 PM

How exactly is it stealth tax?

Speeding is against the law, this is fact.
    The penaltys for doing it are clearly outlined.

If can’t do the time then don’t do the crime, slow down if you don’t want to get points and a fine

Sorry lads you don’t get to pick and choose laws just because you think speeding is ok.

Mute Pat Duffy
    Favourite Pat Duffy
    Aug 5th 2011, 11:29 AM

Some if the speed limits are too slow it’s like shooting fish in fish tank easy targets

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 5th 2011, 12:21 PM

Too slow? Come on if your incapable of keeping a car moving at 50km/hour or even 30 then you can’t drive.

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Aug 5th 2011, 9:45 PM

The speed limit is higher on a tiny back road near where I’m from than it is in the section of the dual carriageway bypassing that tiny backroad. And don’t even get me started on the 30km limit in Dublin!

Mute Alan Hayes
    Favourite Alan Hayes
    Aug 5th 2011, 11:04 AM

Guaranteed that the only people complaining about the cameras are those who speed. As for it being called a stealth Tax? No, the vans are brightly colored and you can see their possible locations, how is that stealth?

Mute Alan Hayes
    Favourite Alan Hayes
    Aug 5th 2011, 11:32 AM

oh, and all the thumbs down people are speeders too. Comment, don’t hide behind your negative vibes speeders.

Mute Bob Go
    Favourite Bob Go
    Aug 5th 2011, 2:05 PM

Just as guaranteed as the people giving thumbs up are most likely those that potter along in the middle lane of a motorway, cross hashed lines and can’t merge!

Mute Alan Hayes
    Favourite Alan Hayes
    Aug 5th 2011, 2:39 PM

G’wan the thumbs down speeders, G’wan, more red, let me see more red. How many of you are out there every day, risking the lives of other road users. Because you think the system is against you.

Mute Colin Hunt
    Favourite Colin Hunt
    Aug 5th 2011, 4:30 PM

They were meant to be put at accident black spots or where people have been killed on the roads in order to make these areas safer. If this is the case why do I see them on the recently opened parts of the new M3?? I figure it’s because it brings in extra money. I would go as far as calling a stealth tax either but I do think it’s about money

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Aug 6th 2011, 1:33 AM

or those representing the dependent mindset who expect to get everything for free, paid for by taxpayers, without consequences or personal responsibility?

Mute Patrick Kenealy
    Favourite Patrick Kenealy
    Aug 5th 2011, 10:48 AM

Yes well said Emma and I think you can already see there is a reduction in deaths on the roads.You don’t hear of them in the news every day anymore!

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Aug 5th 2011, 11:17 AM

Depends on what the “news” thinks is newsworthy. This year alone we’ve had elections and countless debt and IMF related reporting. Stuff like road deaths doesn’t get as much coverage.

As of March 2011, road deaths are UP on 2010….. Those speed cameras are really doing a great job alright!

http://www.rsa.ie/Utility/News/20111/RSA-and-Gardai-Issue-Joint-Road-Safety-Appeal-as-Road-Deaths-Rise/

Mute damian
    Favourite damian
    Aug 5th 2011, 11:23 AM

http://www.rsa.ie/en/Utility/News/20111/9-REDUCTION-IN-ROAD-DEATHS-TO-DATE-IN-2011/

As of July they are slightly down, but not by much. 99 people in 2010, 90 people in 2011….

Interesting though: 2 in 5 of all road deaths took place between Friday midnight and Sunday midnight.

Mute Tommy Harper
    Favourite Tommy Harper
    Aug 5th 2011, 10:30 AM

Well said Emma

Mute Brian Ward
    Favourite Brian Ward
    Aug 5th 2011, 11:02 AM

Can anyone tell me where the money goes from these fines? I’ve been told that it go’s to the Gardai, the RSA, County Councils etc but no-one seems to know what happens to it.

Mute Peter Andrew Stone
    Favourite Peter Andrew Stone
    Aug 5th 2011, 11:53 AM

I don’t see any improvement in driver behaviour, except in the vicinity of speed cameras. If any thing driving is getting worse. If i treated people in the same manner as i am by other drivers on the public highway i would be locked up.

Mute Peter Andrew Stone
    Aug 5th 2011, 12:45 PM

Ah yes the thumb downers, i know ur sort. And i know the trouble ye cause.

Mute Pat Duffy
    Favourite Pat Duffy
    Aug 5th 2011, 12:57 PM

Barry I am driving since you were in your pram well able to drive than you. Even my local TD agrees and he is getting one of the routes into the city increased as it’s causing problems it’s more dangerous then safe. I have no problem with 100km on main routes but when the change from 100 to 50 and road conditions the very same well that’s a different story. If you want to drive like a granny and hold up e everyone else at 30 kph that makes you the one that can’t drive!!!

Mute Antoinette Murphy
    Favourite Antoinette Murphy
    Aug 5th 2011, 12:42 PM

The areas for these mobile safety cameras are clearly marked by road signs and I’ve only seen the vans a couple of times where I hadn’t been warned by drivers going the opposite direction flashing headlights. It’s a wonder anyone gets caught at all! What we really need is for the garda out there on our roads to open their eyes. 2 days ago I was driving from Ashbourne to Navan at rush hour, watching a foreign reg car dangerously overtaking repeatedly until he found himself behind a garda van. Just before balrath cross, the van moves over into the hard shoulder to let him past. I was sure the guards were about to pull him for his dangerous driving, but no, they just continued on behind him.

This sort of dangerous driving, people driving dangerously slow (causing other drivers to dangerously overtake), or driving without due care and attention has to be causing more accidents than people driving 10-20 km over the speed limit.

What I also don’t understand is how the N3 which is littered with speed camera zones, is now an 80km/hr speed limit most of the way to navan since the M3 opened, yet before that it was 100 km/hr. I don’t understand how this road has gotten less safe and the only explanation I can think of is that they lowered the speed limit to encourage people to use the new toll road.
    It’s difficult not to suspect the whole idea was more to raise revenue than for safety.

Mute Peter Andrew Stone
    Aug 5th 2011, 1:00 PM

Too true Antoinette, There is no logic or common sense applied to road management.
    IMO the rsa haven’t a clue.

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Aug 5th 2011, 10:38 PM

I know, I got stung there! Pulled over on my way to work :(

Mute Lenny Sloane
    Favourite Lenny Sloane
    Aug 6th 2011, 5:39 AM

Same thing happened to the old N4 when the M4 was opened. The road was downgraded to a regional road and therefore from 100km to 80km to force road users to use the toll road. It failed and traffic volumes are high on this road. It should still be 100km and most people still drive at that speed on it.

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Aug 5th 2011, 6:34 PM

Could they please put the cameras on the back country roads where there are a lot of accidents due to speed…although the limits on those roads are the same or more than many dual carriageways (including where I got caught on my way to work *facepalm*)