You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

In pictures: Defence Forces' 21-gun salute to the Tall Ships

The 40-strong international fleet has left Dublin.

HUNDREDS OF THOUSANDS of people gathered along the Dublin Docklands as well as Dun Laoghaire and Howth to greet the Tall Ships on their departure today. At one point, the crowds had swelled so much in the city that organisers warned that some festival events would be curtailed due to the unexpected surge in demand. The huge crowds also led to some delays on the Luas. As the ships left Dublin today, they were treated to a 21-gun salute by the Irish Defence Forces:

Salute
1 / 5
  • Salute

• Salute

• Salute

• Salute

• Salute

In photos: the Tall Ships Festival in Dublin >

Pictures: The Tall Ships in Dublin from the sky >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

33 Comments
    Mute DubDon
    Favourite DubDon
    Aug 26th 2012, 10:50 PM

Abi the world is full of countries with non aligned armies. You don’t have to be a member of an army fighting a war to be a soldier. I’ve served as have thousands of my comrades served in conflict zones all over the world unfortunately not on all occasions did everyone come home. Your mindless comment is an insult to the memory of any member of the Irish Defence Forces who gave the ultimate sacrifice in the service of peace, their lives. I’d like to see you face down any member of their families and call their loved ones a coward.
    Now p1ss off you troll

Mute Karl O' Neill
    Favourite Karl O' Neill
    Aug 26th 2012, 9:22 PM

Great 21 gun salute performed by true professionals. Well done lads.

Mute robscanlon
    Favourite robscanlon
    Aug 26th 2012, 7:53 PM

As a tax payer, I am thrilled to see they now wear ear protection!

Mute Mick Byrne
    Favourite Mick Byrne
    Aug 26th 2012, 8:10 PM

I am sure they are glad of it too

Mute Ghandi O Hagen
    Favourite Ghandi O Hagen
    Aug 26th 2012, 9:27 PM

Funny you don’t see the Brits doing that.I wonder why?

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    Aug 26th 2012, 6:55 PM

Brought my kids in on Friday evening, the Mexican ship and it’s sailors were outstanding! Had a ball!

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Aug 26th 2012, 11:02 PM

Out standing on the deck?

Mute Steve McNally
    Favourite Steve McNally
    Aug 26th 2012, 7:46 PM

Congratulations and well done to everyone involved in Dublin Tall Ships 2012. It was a fantastic weekend, despite the weather, and really showed the best this city has to offer. If only we could big festivals of this size and quality more often in the summer months.

Mute Alan Smyth
    Favourite Alan Smyth
    Aug 26th 2012, 11:32 PM

@abi you are a tool. Cop on to yourself and grow the fick up

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Aug 26th 2012, 6:20 PM

No pictures of the ships leaving? :(

Mute Abi Lally
    Favourite Abi Lally
    Aug 26th 2012, 9:27 PM

THEY ARE COWARDS BECAUSE IRELAND IS A NEUTRAL COUNTRY. IF THEY WANT TO GO TO COMBAT THEY SHOULD ENTER SERVICE WITH BRITAIN WHERE THE REAL ACTION IS, BESIDES STAYING IN IRELAND AND SHOOTING AT BIRDS BECAUSE WE’RE A SOFT TOUCH. IF WE WERE EVER ATTACKED WE FALL UNDER BOTH THE U.S. AND BRITTISH DEFENCE UMBRELLA.

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Aug 26th 2012, 9:58 PM

The Defence Forces from Ireland do a excellent job in many countries around the world with UN peace keeping and providing humanitarian aid and are respected and trusted by many countries in volatile regions. They have done a great service in many countries over the years like the Congo, Cyprus and the Sinai, Lebanon, Iran and Iraq, Somalia and Eritrea, Bosnia and Kosovo, East Timor, Liberia and Chad. There is more to war than fighting. Oh and lose the cap lock on when making a comment, i find one that leaves cap lock on to make a comment, tend to be very angry people.

Mute Eugene O'Rourke
    Favourite Eugene O'Rourke
    Aug 26th 2012, 10:32 PM

@Abi, The best thing about our Defence Forces is the fact that they have never fired a shot in anger at another country and the name says it all DEFENCE FORCES i.e. defend the country on attack if it should happen. What they have done by not firing their weapons in anger is more then a single round fired in anger. We also need them for other reasons such as defusing bombs (too much lately), extreme weather conditions such as the snow a few years ago helping people and floods recently in Cork etc. Also they have done so much positive work in the world with the UN I think it is a brilliant legacy that the Irish Defence Forces are known as Peace Keepers in the world. Terrible to think you only consider an army/defence forces required by the way you are talking is by there body count.

Mute Pat Reilly
    Favourite Pat Reilly
    Aug 27th 2012, 11:11 AM

They were taken from the air and forwarded to the press. It’s up to the individual media sites to use them.

Mute Richard Griffin
    Favourite Richard Griffin
    Aug 26th 2012, 8:50 PM

There tax payers too you clampet…

Mute Ray Toomey
    Favourite Ray Toomey
    Aug 26th 2012, 6:24 PM

Last time that unit will fire its being disbanded.

Mute Louise Lowe
    Favourite Louise Lowe
    Aug 26th 2012, 6:23 PM

Poor seagulls.

Mute Greg O'Keeffe
    Favourite Greg O'Keeffe
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:41 AM

What do you mean “poor seagulls”? Only blank rounds were used, as far as I know noise doesn’t account for all that many bird deaths…

Mute Greg O'Keeffe
    Favourite Greg O'Keeffe
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:41 AM

@ Louise Lowe. What do you mean “poor seagulls”? Only blank rounds were used, as far as I know noise doesn’t account for all that many bird deaths…

Mute stephen deegan
    Favourite stephen deegan
    Aug 27th 2012, 12:08 AM

@Eugene, thanks for the glowing support but the DF have been involved in a few (quite a few) scrapes overseas. None without good reason I have to add, because they involved either self defense or defense of civilians. As far as our friend ANGRY ABI is concerned, maybe she might walk a mile in my boots sometime.

Mute Amy Ní Caithláin
    Favourite Amy Ní Caithláin
    Aug 26th 2012, 7:00 PM

There’s one ship remaining in port until 9pm tomorrow

Mute Kieran Crosbie Staunton
    Favourite Kieran Crosbie Staunton
    Aug 26th 2012, 10:24 PM

The Italian ship leaves tomorrow at 5pm. This comes from the head of the event organisation. it has to be turned 180 degrees so should be a great sight.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Aug 26th 2012, 11:04 PM

Hope that’s not 180 degrees the wrong way! ;-)

Mute Mark Larson
    Favourite Mark Larson
    Aug 26th 2012, 11:11 PM

I thought the one remaining ship was mexican?

Mute Dave Rooney
    Favourite Dave Rooney
    Aug 26th 2012, 9:00 PM

Well done to everyone!

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Aug 27th 2012, 1:09 AM

Thanks Dave.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Aug 26th 2012, 9:12 PM

I assume they managed to miss these Tall Ships.

Mute gingerman
    Favourite gingerman
    Aug 27th 2012, 12:01 AM

This thread should be closed. It displays all the worst traits on offer in this country. You should all be ashamed of yourselves spouting personal abuse at each other over feck all. Get a life please.

Mute Joey Costello
    Favourite Joey Costello
    Aug 27th 2012, 9:03 AM

@ Gingerbread: Closing the thread fixes nothing! Take the good comments with the bad and understand you’ll never find this 100% perfection you are looking for! It’s also worth realising that some individual write nonsense to upset the likes of yourself! Thy sadly get a buzz off it

Mute Jonny California
    Favourite Jonny California
    Aug 27th 2012, 1:38 AM

Easy with them guns and don’t sink the tall ships .

Mute Ross Wainer
    Favourite Ross Wainer
    Aug 26th 2012, 10:49 PM

Now now Charlie!!!

Mute Alan Smyth
    Favourite Alan Smyth
    Aug 26th 2012, 11:32 PM

Ha. Ross you no better than to wind him up lol

Mute Jane Bresnan
    Favourite Jane Bresnan
    Aug 29th 2012, 5:13 PM

Great pics