You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Claire Whitehead

New law needed to get indoor dining reopened in pubs and restaurants by the end of July

It is hoped indoor dining can resume on 26 July, and it’s likely to only apply to those who are vaccinated.

LAST UPDATE | 8 Jul 2021

PRIMARY LEGISLATION WILL be needed to operate the indoor dining system, the Taoiseach confirmed this afternoon. 

It is understood that indoor hospitality will likely only be available to those that are fully vaccinated, as per the public health advice.

The emergency law will need to be rushed through the Dáil and Seanad next week before the summer recess.

Micheál Martin would not confirm what date indoor dining might resume, but government sources have indicated that it is hoped indoor hospitality can resume on 26 July, subject to Cabinet approval on Tuesday.

It is understood that the EU Digital Green Certificate will be used as an indoor dining pass.

A letter will shortly be issued to fully vaccinated people ahead of the return of non-essential travel from 19 July, so they can avail of the EU Digital Covid Certificate.

Talks resumed this afternoon between government and representatives from the hospitality sector as part of efforts to bring about the return of indoor dining.

A Government spokesperson said this evening that discussions mostly focused on “operationalising NPHET advice, including necessary legal underpinning and updating of operational guidelines, with a view to ensuring the safety of workers and customers in the sector”.

“The Government is to consider the possible options discussed in the coming days,” the spokesperson said. 

A statement from the Restaurant Association of Ireland (RAI) said “while the protocol of vaccine certification is not perfect, more work is required over the weekend in order for legislation to be brought forward to put the reopening of indoor hospitality on a legal footing”. 

“There will be a phased approach to reopening with ventilation, CO2 monitors, work safety protocols and reopening guidelines developed for indoor hospitality. 

“The Restaurants Association of Ireland is pushing for the 19th July as the date to restart indoor dining,” said the RAI boss Adrian Cummins.

The RAI states that gardaí may play a role in regulating and inspecting the new protocols, as will environmental health offices and the Health and Safety Authority, although this has not been confirmed.

The used of antigen and PCR testing will be investigated in a view to rolling out the use of testing for hospitality in the weeks ahead.  

Final details to be worked on over the weekend with a focus on how the system will work for families, and under 18s accompanied by adults dining indoors.

The Vintners Federation of Ireland (VFI) said in a statement that six options were presented to Government, most of the discussions focused on devising a system that allows only vaccinated people and those recovered from Covid indoors. 

Padraig Cribben, VFI Chief Executive said:

“Our primary goal is to get our members reopened in a safe manner both for publicans, their staff and customers. If a so-called vaccine pass is what’s required then the onus is now on Government to get the legislation passed next week before the Oireachtas takes its summer break.

“There remains legal issues to be resolved but we remain insistent that pubs need to reopen on 19 July. If the political will is there to make it happen then it will happen.”

Speaking to reporters this afternoon, the Taoiseach said there will be further engagement over the weekend and the “short” piece of legislation will be “fine tuned”.

The new legislation will ensure there is “solid legal grounding” for the new legislation, which will have to be approved by Cabinet on Tuesday.

A number of Fianna Fáil TDs indicated to the Taoiseach at a recent parliamentary party meeting that they would not support legislation that creates a two-tier society. When asked if he thought he could bring some of his party members on side, Martin said he believed he could. 

He said the government is working with the industry to get them reopened, which he believed most people supported.

The policy options that the government sign off on will outline what will happen with indoor hospitality in the short-term, but also what will take place over a phased basis.

“This is a short window we are talking about,” he said in the context of the pass being in operation and with the progress of the vaccine programme.

“We don’t see this as a long-term measure,” he added.

“This is a very challenging position,” he said, one that the government didn’t want to find itself in, added Martin.

The National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET) will not be consulted again regarding indoor hospitality,with Marin stating that they have already given their public health advice on how to reopen hospitality.

The new system will reflect that public health advice, he said.

In terms of the legality of such a vaccine pass, the Taoiseach said the government received very strong advice from NPHET in relation to the Delta variant. 

“The issue for us is, it is about protecting people. It is not about discriminating, I think that is a very unfortunate perspective that’s been put out there over the last week or so,” he said.

“People can take court cases, that’s their option, that’s their legal right, their entitlement, I can’t pre-empt people from that perspective. But we will have legislation underpinning this specific initiative  to facilitate the policy decisions.

Earlier today Tánaiste Leo Varadkar said while antigen testing was an option, any such system would not be ready in time for reopening on 19 July.

“It may have a role, but it may not have an immediate role in reopening hospitality or dining,” said the Taoiseach.

He added that the HSE is also “actively considering” rolling out antigen testing on a population wide basis, as a mechanism to supplement PCR testing.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

129 Comments
    Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:39 PM

The government & NPHT have lost the run of themselves. All people want is to sit in a cafe/restaurant/pub & have a bit of relaxation after the year & a half that we have all been through. They cannot even allow us that much.

Mute Darren Lambe
    Favourite Darren Lambe
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:41 PM

@Gere: People will die

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:45 PM

@Darren Lambe: We are all going to die at some stage. Come out from under the bed. You have been watching too much rte.

See 27 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:52 PM

@Gere: We have seriously moved from protecting the vulnerable (good) to protecting the fearful.

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:53 PM

@Gere: Pretty disrespectful to anyone who has lost someone over this.

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:56 PM

@Alan Wright: Exactly. There are people dying each day from other causes & the government couldnt care less. Covid is like a safety blanket to people at this stage. This government have become a danger to peoples health in this country. Maybe they should be closed down.

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:57 PM

@Darren Lambe: so far anyone likely to die or be seriously ill from covid have been vaccinated. So yes they could die on their way to the pub by being hit by a bus.

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:00 PM

@Tony Gordon: Tell that to the families of people that have died who could not access proper health care because it is all about covid. Family relation a nurse & says it is all totally exaggerated, that there is no need for all the palava.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:08 PM

@Gere: Unlike the moaners in chief on here, I am not obsessed with in door dining.

Mute Heisen berg1
    Favourite Heisen berg1
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:11 PM

@Darren Lambe: if spent over 5 hours quing for both my vaccine and im Safe, no problems standing in a packed bar drinking, your more than welcome to stay in your home and look at the world go by if you feel that’s the safe thing to for you good luck!

Mute Robert Clifford
    Favourite Robert Clifford
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:16 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: No but you appear to be obsessed with letting everyone know about it.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:20 PM

@Robert Clifford: Good man Robert, always ready with the witty reply.

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:25 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: I dont think anyone has an obsession with indoor dining or drinking. They just want to be able to make their own decision on it. Plus these people that you say are obsessed with it are the same people that can see that all this makes no sense. Plus you have to think of the business owners who have been unable to make a living under the guise of keeping everyone safe. But the people they are keeping safe are still able to continue working, go on holidays, drink & eat in a hotel etc while they cannot make a living.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:29 PM

@Tony Gordon: stop with the disrespectful gibberish, are we all supposed to live our lives in full sensitivity mode or full apology mode and alter our lives forever because some strangers have died from a virus that will probably be here forever, the sooner people just accept this is just another new way people can now die and add it to the hundreds of other ways of dying we already have then the sooner life can go back to normal, how many thousands of people will get home from work, read a news article about a high spoed car crash where lives were lost, say that’s so sad but still get up late for work the next day and speed off in their car to get to work on time, we can’t all live in 100% protection mode of 100% of the population forever, just get on with life

Mute Robert Clifford
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:41 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: We really should stop all this petty sniping and meet up for a pint. Indoors or out. Your choice.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:51 PM

@Robert Clifford: Outdoors.The Halfway House seems appropriate.

Mute Paul Hedderman
    Favourite Paul Hedderman
    Jul 8th 2021, 6:03 PM

@Darren Lambe: People die of the flu every year but there was never any issues with indoor dining. …… At risk are by and large vaccinated. This isn’t the killer it once was.

Mute John McCann
    Favourite John McCann
    Jul 8th 2021, 6:13 PM

@Tony Gordon: No it’s not disrespectful, it’s just stating a fact, don’t be so sensitive. We have a economy to think about too.

Mute ChronicAnxiety
    Favourite ChronicAnxiety
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:41 PM

@Gere: the Healy rea argument to allow drink driving.

Mute Joan Moran
    Favourite Joan Moran
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:50 PM

@Gere: well said

Mute Dawid Grzybowski
    Favourite Dawid Grzybowski
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:14 PM

@Gere: can we end this not able to make a living charade. I enjoyed a nice outdoor meal today. Plus since last year I have ordered countless times from small and local takeaways for home delivery. People are acting as if the restaurants have no revenue while many other business had even less opportunities. The majority can smartly adapt

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:56 PM

@ChronicAnxiety: One would wonder where they are now.

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:07 PM

@Dawid Grzybowski: Believe me there is no charade here in my messages. I am speaking as a Publican who has not been able to make a living for myself & my family for the past year and a half. All in the name of keeping people safe. I adapted my pub at my own expense & now all I see is those that us Publicans were suppose to be keeping safe out and about, so called risking their life with a so called virus enjoying holidays in hotels while there is no way I could afford to bring my family out for a meal. That is what I am talking about.

Mute Ruth Brady
    Favourite Ruth Brady
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:16 PM

@Paul Hedderman: absolutely. And if the media had reported daily flu deaths the same way they report Covid, we’d all be terrified of this killer flu…

Mute Ruth Brady
    Favourite Ruth Brady
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:19 PM

@Paul Hedderman: Absolutely. And if the media had reported daily flu deaths the same way they do Covid deaths, we’d all be terrified of this killer flu.

Mute Robert Clifford
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:40 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: Deal.

Mute James Cronin
    Favourite James Cronin
    Jul 8th 2021, 11:54 PM

@Gere: Absolutely dead right, and, its madness to think that l cant go into a hotel in my town as a local, yet if l pay to stay in the hotel l am able to dine and have drinks to suit myself. No mention of vaccination by hotel staff, and work away. How can those thicks in NEPHT justify that call. Open up our restaurants and allow us to live our lives. It will be after Aug bank holiday at earliest before they consider any opening, and we probably deserve this as we are too quiet a people to rebel

Mute Gere
    Favourite Gere
    Jul 9th 2021, 12:13 AM

@James Cronin: Holohan will stop at nothing to keep restaurants & pubs closed. With Martin as his side kick there is no stopping these two bullies.

Mute Locutus Of Borg
    Favourite Locutus Of Borg
    Jul 9th 2021, 1:37 AM

@Sean O’Doherty: Why can’t people just ate the spuds at home. Problem solved

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile
    Jul 9th 2021, 2:07 PM

@Darren Lambe: unless your dining in a hotel or getting served by unvaccinated staff ?

Mute Sean Oige
    Favourite Sean Oige
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:44 PM

How can this be constitutional?

Mute Tomo
    Favourite Tomo
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:48 PM

@Sean Oige: It probably isn’t. It’s creating a two tier society.

Mute AnnaAnna.
    Favourite AnnaAnna.
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:50 PM

@Sean Oige: it’s not. But they’ll rush it through as the article says and deal with the mess later. It’ll definitely bring more business to the restaurants up the North though and the hotels. Tony wanted only vaccinated people to travel but the Covid cert blocked that for him. So he’s moved the focus to indoor dining now.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:58 PM

@Tomo: no it isn’t. it is trying to curb the spread of the virus. As more people get vaccinated or recover they things will even out. This 2 teir society is another conspiracy theory from the ignorant!

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:03 PM

@Joe_X: Pubs and restaurants being for the vaccinated only was also a conspiracy theory last year but yet here we are.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:05 PM

@AnnaAnna.: the President cannot sign it if it’s not Constitutional.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:11 PM

@JedBartlett: you forget that all going well, there will be more and more people vaccinated as time passes. It is only a 2 teir society if there is difficulty moving between the two due to actions of one of those “tiers”. I’m vaccinated and have no problem with anybody joining me. No one is standing in the way of anybody being vaccinated except time. Another month or 2 and every body who wants it will have it. Those that don’t want it will have probably caught it and still qualify!

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:12 PM

@AnnaAnna.: Do you work in NPHET, Anna? You seem to have great insight into how Holohan’s mind works.

Mute James Murphy
    Favourite James Murphy
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:15 PM

@Paul Clancy: not sure that’s true Paul. If I understand it properly, if the president thinks it’s unconstitutional he can send it to the council of state for review and legal advice but can’t unilaterally refuse to sign it.

Mute Carolyn Byrne
    Favourite Carolyn Byrne
    Jul 8th 2021, 6:40 PM

!@Sean Oige: I don’t think it is

Mute Dublin days
    Favourite Dublin days
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:29 PM

@AnnaAnna.: no need to go up north. If you stay in a hotel in the south you can eat and drink indoors which makes the government decisions around this even more baffling

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:45 PM

@James Murphy: you are correct but he can refer it to the Supreme Court who would strike it down..

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:05 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: It’s AnnaAnna she’s been here a looong time giving out about NPHET and spreading conspiracy theories with different pretences. I mean suggesting that opening up indoor dining would send more people to the North than not opening at all which is the other option… not well thought through and says a lot about the amount of time and logic that went into the comment.

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:13 PM

@Joe_X: Ah Joe …. One of the last of the fragile-minded to wake up and take in the big picture …. How do younger staff who haven’t been vaccinated ‘work safely’ according to these farcical restrictions…..? They can work, but can’t dine in the same restaurants …. For Jaysus sake, wake up….

Mute Francis Devenney
    Favourite Francis Devenney
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:23 PM

@Sean Oige: What article of the constitution would this contradict?

Mute LaoisWeather
    Favourite LaoisWeather
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:58 PM

@Francis Devenney: ARTICLE 40

1 All citizens shall, as human persons, be held equal before the law.

This shall not be held to mean that the State shall not in its enactments have due regard to differences of capacity, physical and moral, and of social function.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 9th 2021, 12:56 AM

@Martin Galvin: You don’t think that by the time that they do open that most of them, who by the way are in the 18 to 34 age group will not have at least registered for the J&J vaccine? Don’t you worry, a lot of them will be able to eat in those same restaurants before some of the 60-69 age group will who are only now getting their 2nd AZ jab. As for fragile minded….I was out to work most days since this kicked of due to the fact I work in a transport industry (aircraft mechanic) I was deemed essntial services so I’ve already learned to live with this virus and what it entails. May do you good to do the same. Finally there are plenty others that think as I do, advocating caution and such. But maybe they are tired of the constant insults being thrown at them here from the likes of you….

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 9th 2021, 12:58 AM

@Martin Galvin: ………….A lot of the commenters on this site who think my way probably cannot be ar$ed debating with the like of you because all ye tend to do is throw insult after insult with no facts to support your claims. I’m stubborn and don’t bend to bullies. As it happens, I think it is either this way or just shut the whole lot, indoor and outdoor. At least this way, the indoor hospitality sector has a chance of the summer not going to total waste for them. Also I reckon that most of those staff will be happier making a wage again rather than dining themselves. Don’t get me wrong, I have my own issues with the government. EG going on summer recess as the country opens, or that vote yesterday allowing the cuckoo funds buy houses our people need.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:47 PM

I accused a man of being a conspiracy theorist last when when he said this would happen. I was wrong.

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:34 PM

@JedBartlett: its hardly a conspiracy theory. From a public health perspective it makes perfect sense.

Mute AnnaAnna.
    Favourite AnnaAnna.
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:38 PM

@Steve: if that were true every country in the world would have implemented the same. Most European countries have indoor dining open for everyone. Austria and Hungary are two of the exceptions to this. Even the UK had to back down on the domestic vaccine passes after huge public outcry.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:09 PM

When are the first round of boosters due? Can see it already, “delayed further reopening/reinstating lockdown” due to booster shortage or omega variant (that’s more, more, more transmissible) or whatever else is used. Jeez it’s July and you can’t sit inside a coffee shop with over 50% of the population vaccinated. You’d be pretty gullible to think we’ll be more open in the start/middle of winter

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:16 PM

@John Egan: Only 50% of Adult population vaccinated.

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:36 PM

@Sean O’Doherty: how many of the most vulnerable

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:31 PM

@John Egan: They do not know how many will need boosters yet John. From what I have read, it is possible that thise who got one of the mRNA vaccines may not need them. AZ and J&J may need them but too soon to tell

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:16 PM

@Joe_X: Ah, Mr. Anonymous X, be brave and post under your own name. If not, reserve your comments to other anonymous accounts.

Mute Kevin Thompson
    Favourite Kevin Thompson
    Jul 9th 2021, 8:43 AM

@John Egan: still about 10% for 50-60 years old and 37% of 60-70 year olds waiting for 2nd vaccine and need 15 days for AZ vaccine to kick in ,

Mute William Tallon
    Favourite William Tallon
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:43 PM

Sounds like each table will have a designated Garda to observe indoor dining and/or drinking proceedings. Could get messy…

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:27 PM

@William Tallon: Enda and the ATM’s.

Mute Terry Tibbs
    Favourite Terry Tibbs
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:54 PM

@Mary Nugent: Beside the man with 2 pints

Mute Alan Lynch
    Favourite Alan Lynch
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:54 PM

Madness. Surely theres enough opposition to stop this getting passed?

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:00 PM

@Alan Lynch: you cant have it so no one can is it?

Mute Alan Lynch
    Favourite Alan Lynch
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:53 PM

@Joe_X: I’ve had both my vaccinations actually

Mute Huigi
    Favourite Huigi
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:11 PM

@Alan Lynch: no serious opposition in the Dáil unfortunately. Just a bunch of lefties who offer nothing substantial to challenge the totalitarian ff/fg regime

Mute Alan Wright
    Favourite Alan Wright
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:13 PM

@Joe_X: ah, Mr Joe anonymous. If you want to blast other people that are brave enough to post with their own profile, you be brave enough too, I dare ya.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 9th 2021, 12:28 AM

@Alan Wright: If I choose to post anonymously it does not negate my points does it. I have my reasons. If you are comfortable putting your name to your account, so be it. The last time I put my full name on it, some one copped who I was and I started getting derisive emails to my personal account from guess what, an anonymous email. So no thanks. I make my points and that is it.

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:46 PM

I remember a time a year ago had you suggested you would require proof of vaccination to access such services as hospitality you would have been accused by the majority of wearing a tin foil hat and being a conspiracy nut. How sad it is that times have changed.

Im all for getting indoor dining and hospitality up and running, the sooner the better in my eyes. This will invariably need to come with some restrictions. However, the proposal of a two-tier society is frankly absolutely sickening. I never thought I’d be alive to see the day where discrimination was legalised in Ireland.

And to anyone saying vaccines are available for whoever wants them, no they are not! “But pharmacies are doing the 18+s now” and whatever other tired argument is trotted out, please just stop! Pharmacies have enough vaccines for 11% of that cohort. And thats before even starting on the 34-39s who are probably 4-6 weeks from being fully vaccinated at a minimum. So on average 8 of every 9 hospitality staff (assuming all under 34) will not have been offered a vaccine. They can serve you but cant get served themselves. Personally find it sickening.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:35 PM

@Eoin Jackson: It is only a “2 tier” society if the actions of 1 “teir” prevent access to the other. No one is stopping anyone from being vaccinated except time. Another month or 2 every one who wants the vaccine will have it. That is far from a 2 teir society.

Mute Cosmic
    Favourite Cosmic
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:48 PM

@Joe_X: What about the people who don’t want the vaccine or can’t have the vaccine?

Mute Eoin Jackson
    Favourite Eoin Jackson
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:55 PM

@Joe_X: when anything, including time or availability of resources, prevents a person from moving between two tiers established in a society then yes it is a two-tiered society. It does not have to be a malicious or intentional act to prevent one moving between the tiers, there just needs to be a condition in place preventing someone from doing so – time and availability of vaccines satisfies this. If there was a vaccine available for everyone in society at short notice then you may be right i.e. i want a vaccine and can get one tomorrow or Monday or a similar period of time with little to no barriers. This is not the case. It is a two-tiered society and will continue to be so until every member of society has been offered a vaccine. No matter how you want to rationalise it to yourself to make yourself feel better about supporting discrimination.

For the record i would fully support this measure if it was introduced to include a negative antigen test (preferably due to the cost to individual and / or state) allowing you avail of these services with a time limitation on a negative test. As this would be freely available to everyone it removes the discriminatory element. Also is the practice in many European countries implementing this policy. But not here, for some reason.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:08 PM

@Cosmic: Those who can’t will be exempt. Those who don’t want it can live with the consequences of their decision. If you want to work in healthcare but don’t want a hepatitis vaccine well guess what you don’t get to work in healthcare. Choices have consequences.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:20 PM

@Cosmic: then they will probably end up catching the virus and still qualify

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:58 PM

@Diarmuid Hunt: you’re making things up here. Those who can’t won’t be except. A lot of under 40s can’t get it and aren’t exempt and a medically vulnerable person how would they go about that then in a restaurant. Oh are you going to suggest that they disclose private information to a restaurant in order to get served? An authoritarian streak runs rife through you

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 9th 2021, 12:14 AM

@Eoin Jackson: Sorry Eoin but I have to disagrre with you on that one. To me, a 2-teir system is very intentional, with the higher “teir” not wanting to change the status quo, which is not the problem here. No one is standing in anybodies way of being vaccinated if they wish. Those that don’t want the vaccine will eventully contract SARS-COV-2 as we all will, and will still qualify. At the moment for them it is 9 months, but that will probably increase as time passes and they can see how long the antibody response lasts. If you want a perfect example of a 2-teir system, the health system in the united states is one. Those who control it do not want to change it, while here we want everybody to get the vaccine.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jul 9th 2021, 7:34 AM

@Brian Murphy: Where are you pulling the people who can’t get it won’t be exempt from? I’ll go back to the nurse/doctor/dentist/porter etc analogy. Do they apply for the job and say oh no my Hep vaccine status is personal information I won’t disclose it? Can people who give blood say the same about their HIV status? These are instances where public health is given priority over privacy, you can choose to not work in a profession or not donate blood if you don’t want to disclose that information same thing here. You have the choice to not disclose your vaccine status but your right to privacy does not supercede other people’s right to health. No authoritarian streak here.

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:47 PM

This is something else, you don’t need legislation to open dining utter nonsense just open it.

Mute AnnaAnna.
    Favourite AnnaAnna.
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:51 PM

@Brian Murphy: they need legislation to prevent unvaccinated people from dining indoors

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:51 PM

@Brian Murphy: ask the other EU states about that with curfews, proof of vaccine/ recovery/ negative testing etc. Reduced capacity…. legislation was needed by all in order to enforce those restrictions

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:59 PM

@Joe_X: which is a disgrace, the framing of the headline is ridiculous in it’s presentation. What are vaccinated people fearful of honestly, this is crazy stuff. PS I’m one of them

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:12 PM

@Brian Murphy: it is not the vaccinated they are protecting… it is the unvaccinated from us.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:14 PM

@AnnaAnna.: I’m glad they are preventing unvaccinated people free range status.

Mute David Van-Standen
    Favourite David Van-Standen
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:23 PM

@Brian Murphy: it is unconstitutional, therefore the legislation is being pushed through, to use the except in accordance with law execption of Article 40.

It’s also about misusing the law and circumventing constitutional protections and using coercion to force people to get vaccinations that they are otherwise entitled to refuse.

As you say, vaccinated people clearly have nothing to fear from unvaccinated people or what would be the point of getting vaccinated?
    So what is the reason is there to circumvent the constitution to achieve it?

I don’t know, but it seems a very high price to pay, when the constitutional rights and freedoms we hold in such high regard can so easily be set aside by government and if so, do those rights and freedoms really exist in practice?

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Jul 8th 2021, 6:16 PM

@Joe_X: who’s “us” Joe? We need to move on how did we cope with life up until now, even last summer when there wasn’t anyone vaccinated

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:16 PM

@Brian Murphy: Us is you, me and everyone else that is vaccinated and/or recovered from contracting SARS-COV-2. I thought that’s what you meant your PS.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:23 PM

@Brian Murphy: well there was absolutly nothing open last summer Brian. BTW when pubs did open last year, except for Dublin, the increase in the number of cases rose all around the country, except Dublin. In fact, at one stage, it only accounted for a quarter of the cases new cases daily.

Mute AnnaAnna.
    Favourite AnnaAnna.
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:36 PM

@Joe_X: indoor dining reopened in every county last summer on July 20th for restaurants and pubs that serve food

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Jul 8th 2021, 7:47 PM

@Joe_X: science will tell you Joe that they don’t need protection from vaccinated people. Now move on with your life and stop holding other back. It’s weird if we’re being honest

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:59 PM

@AnnaAnna.: except Dublin

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:03 PM

@Brian Murphy: Vaccinated people can still contract the virus, and you can still spread it if you have contracted it. And just so you know, my life never stopped.

Mute AnnaAnna.
    Favourite AnnaAnna.
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:17 PM

@Joe_X: no, the dublin wet pubs (as they were referred to) never opened. But pubs that served food did open in Dublin eg The Duke. And all the restaurants. PrimeTime had one episode last year where they had a guy going around undercover trying to catch out the Dublin pubs that were not requiring customers to spend the full 9 euro on food. The article from July last year mentions 20 dublin pubs within a 2k radius of Government buildings. And indoor dining in dublin actually opened on 5th July last year, not the 20th as I said above https://www.thesun.ie/news/5725865/pubs-prime-time-breach-regulation-meal-pint/

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:35 PM

@Joe_X: I dined in a pub in Dublin last summer.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 9th 2021, 2:08 AM

@AnnaAnna and Franny Ando: Sorry I stand corrected. But the “wet pubs” outside Dublin did open in September, or is my memory incorrect there also? It is why I believe pubs led to the christmas wave. Either way coming up to Christmas, Dublin normally having around half the daily case numbers, which was understandable as there is such a large population fell to quarter of the daily cases in the lead up to Christmas.

Mute Eadaoin Pollard
    Favourite Eadaoin Pollard
    Jul 8th 2021, 6:20 PM

So you can fly wherever you want on the 19th but you can’t have a meal inside a restaurant or a coffee in a cafe ..absolute nonsense! Remember this at election time people!

Mute JustMeHere
    Favourite JustMeHere
    Jul 8th 2021, 11:59 PM

@Eadaoin Pollard: No you can’t fly wherever you want on the 19th July.

Mute whitewater
    Favourite whitewater
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:02 PM

The fact that this is being rushed through the Dail before summer recess doesn’t exactly fill me with confidence. This is a discriminatory law. Mehole has it set up that any TD who votes against it will be seen to be “not in favour of indoor dining reopening”. People sounded the alarm on these types of measures last year and were labelled nutjobs. We’re entering a very dark place for our democracy when we start limiting basic rights.

Mute SquintEastwood
    Favourite SquintEastwood
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:52 PM

Cancel summer break..we are in an emergency..all in this together and all

Mute Pat McGinley
    Favourite Pat McGinley
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:45 PM

A Government break in the middle of a pandemic – Get real!!!!

Mute Willie Bill Bryan
    Favourite Willie Bill Bryan
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:47 PM

So because the TDs are heading off for the summer legalisation needs to be rushed through only in Ireland

Mute Paul Dolan
    Favourite Paul Dolan
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:44 PM

How in the name of god is this allowed under GDPR. A person’s medical status is private. Now they want a person to share that with a bar person or waiter. This puts a huge responsibility on the bar person or waiter.

Mute Maria Quinn
    Favourite Maria Quinn
    Jul 9th 2021, 6:26 AM

@Paul Dolan: Our financial status is also private except when the person need financial assistance to pay the rent, then the culture is it must be disclosed to the landlord and involved the landlord in the paper work.
    So I guess the next step is the private medical insurance demanding the green card to work out the premiums and if the person is permitted or not access to certain of their facilities

Mute Kevin Thompson
    Favourite Kevin Thompson
    Jul 9th 2021, 8:58 AM

@Paul Dolan: don’t bother telling them about any food allergies you have then. You don’t have to share any information with them, just don’t go yo a restaurant or pub or dine / drink outside until every adult gets a chance of getting a vaccination, which should be end of August /early September.

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:07 PM

This article was obviously rushed through judging by the spelling

Mute lorcmulv
    Favourite lorcmulv
    Jul 8th 2021, 6:19 PM

Is the PUP going to be extended to help all the staff not allowed back to work?

Mute Richard Ahern
    Favourite Richard Ahern
    Jul 8th 2021, 4:36 PM

Roll on the 19th of July. At loooong last. Fantastic

Mute Mgt
    Favourite Mgt
    Jul 8th 2021, 11:53 PM

Shocking young told they are low risk from COVID Asked to stay home and protect the elderly and vulnerable. Rose to that challenge. Now being told to accept a trial vaccine or stay away again. I am a fully vaccinated health care worker. I took it to protect my patients .I will not cross the treshold of any establishment looking for private medical information before granting access. It’s time we stood up & stop listening to propaganda from RTE fed by our government and NPHET. They cycle PCR testing at 45 ct. WHO request 35. Therefore we inflated numbers by picking up fragments of DNA some even from old corona viruses. Hospital and ICU numbers low. We need to hold on to some of our basic human rights. What we put in the bodies of our healthy young and our right to freedom of movement.

Mute David O'Rourke
    Favourite David O'Rourke
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:29 PM

So irresponsible people at xmas, who didn’t follow the public health advice and got Covid and recovered can dine indoors, while responsible people who followed the public health advice and didn’t get Covid can’t dine indoors. What a disgrace

ed w
    Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jul 8th 2021, 6:00 PM

good to see how well thought through the opening up process was

Mute Jeff Rudd
    Favourite Jeff Rudd
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:12 PM

You can have all the Irish legislation you want but it will STILL conflict with already passed EU discrimination law that the government not only agreed to but also voted for, previously. Creating further Irish legislation will NOT help to overrule the EU created legislation.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:40 PM

@Jeff Rudd: It doesn’t contravene EU discrimination law, EU discrimination law protects: “Any discrimination based on any ground such as sex, race, colour, ethnic or social origin, genetic features, language, religion or belief, political or any other opinion, membership of a national minority, property, birth, disability, age or sexual orientation shall be prohibited.” You aren’t being discriminated against based on any of those, you are being” discriminated against” your propensity to infect other people and put their health at risk, different ball game.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:44 PM

Is making a dogs dinner the first item on the menu

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Jul 8th 2021, 5:32 PM

It’s quite simple plague enthusiasts. Get a vaccine or catch and recover from covid. Or you could wait until herd immunity is achieved. The hospitality sector needs to reopen and these measures are the safest way for all. I would hate to be fully vaccinated and infect a science averse person who may be in close proximity to me in an indoor setting.

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Jul 8th 2021, 6:34 PM

@Steve: you’re quite science adverse yourself on the transmissibility of those with vaccines, and you willing to exclude people from accessing something on that basis says more about you I’m afraid

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:16 PM

@Steve: sorry what?

Mute Steve
    Favourite Steve
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:38 PM

@Brian Murphy: vaccinated people can still spread it albeit at a much lower level. It’s called science. What’s wrong with vaccinated people trying to protect vaccine averse peoples health until everything can open up safely? https://health.clevelandclinic.org/can-vaccinated-people-transmit-covid-19-to-others/

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Jul 8th 2021, 10:50 PM

@Steve: it says a lot about you this, would segregate society on the minimal basis something could happen. People make their own decisions if vaccinated people (i.e. you) don’t want to risk passing anything on then they should do what’s best and not go out to a restaurant. Win win then as nobody gets left behind and you get to prevent yourself feeling guilty of infecting someone.

Mute Johannes Baader
    Favourite Johannes Baader
    Jul 8th 2021, 8:45 PM

Indoor dining… indoor dining…. what about indoor drinking??

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:32 PM

@Johannes Baader: I reckon underground drinking will be the next big thing ….. Oh wait …

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 9th 2021, 2:18 AM

@Johannes Baader: Its the indoor hospitality sector as a whole.

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Jul 8th 2021, 11:58 PM

You can be sure that there will be a clause in the lawto allow employers to DEMAND your health status, WELCOME TO THE FUTURE
    any politician that vote to pass this should hang their heads in shame

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 9th 2021, 2:17 AM

@Michael Byrne: most employers will send you for a medical anyway these days, and have done so for years, to assess your general health. My employers already know my medical history which in itself is not a bad thing should some thing happen to me. If a person has something to hide from their employers, it must disqualify them from working there in the first place.

Mute Maria Quinn
    Favourite Maria Quinn
    Jul 9th 2021, 6:36 AM

@Michael Byrne: this piece of legislation already exists, the health safety and welfare in the workplace act.
    If the employer demand their customers the vaccination cert to protect others in their premises. This will include their own staff, employees. In hospitality the staff is from the youngest group age, therefore awaiting for being vaccinated.
    They can’t travel but must serve … their PUPs will be stopped … Lords and Servants culture is behind all of this

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Jul 9th 2021, 9:31 AM

@Maria Quinn: that is incorrect , employers cannot tenant proof of that, you are misinformed

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Jul 9th 2021, 9:32 AM

@Joe_X: an employer can request you attend a medical, he cannot Demand it, moreover if you went for one he should have no access to the information

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Jul 9th 2021, 10:45 AM

@Michael Byrne: Unless the Doctor performing the medical finds something that makes you unfit for work.

Mute Nickwhick
    Favourite Nickwhick
    Jul 8th 2021, 9:03 PM

If I’m vaccinated in another country how can I get this digital certificate.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Jul 8th 2021, 11:55 PM

@Nickwhick: that country should issue it

Mute Maria Quinn
    Favourite Maria Quinn
    Jul 9th 2021, 6:45 AM

And again the Irish government doing exactly what the EU Parliament voted by ample majority to not do it.
    It seems the civil liberties and fundamental human rights is forgotten when they have to pay the tests to travel within the EU and private and very personal medical status must be disclosed to have chicken wing and fries with friends in a pub …. because dinning is with family and friends … not a solo thing

Mute Chris Mackey
    Favourite Chris Mackey
    Jul 9th 2021, 9:14 AM

We can go to the gym, church, swimming pool but we can’t reopen indoor play centres like bowling alleys because they might sell a cup of coffee or choc bar. We cant sit inside with a coffee. Why are these centres & other play centres not being allowed open.?