You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IT’S SUNDAY MORNING. You’re lying in bed, flicking through your Instagram feed, when you stumble upon a photo of a café that looks particularly inviting.
Intrigued, you click into the geotag and soon find yourself down an Instagram rabbit hole, admiring perfectly assembled avocado-and-egg concoctions and impossibly hip light fixtures. You make a mental note to go there so you, too, can get your own photo for the ‘gram.
In the era of social media, cafés, restaurants and bars are increasingly reliant on the likes of Facebook and Instagram for spreading the word. As a result, such establishments are making more considered decisions about their interiors in an effort to distinguish themselves from the pack and make themselves more photogenic.
It’s no longer enough to serve up good food. You now also have to be a customer’s selfie background. Welcome to the age of the Instagram restaurant.
Pot Bellied Pig opened in Rathmines earlier this year. It’s a quaint little café that lives up to its name by serving up a variety of porcine products, including delectable rasher sandwiches. It also happens to have the sorts of interiors that wouldn’t look out of place in a high fashion shoot. We’re talking candy floss-pink couches, turquoise tiles and floors just begging to be captioned #floorgoals.
Owner Lema Murphy didn’t have a clear idea what she wanted at first. “I don’t think I per se had a plan to have a pink cafe, to be honest,” she explains. “I initially thought I’d throw a few chairs and tables in and it would all be grand.”
She then enlisted the services of Roisin Lafferty of Kingston Lafferty Design, a renowned interior architecture and design agency, who executed a vision that was “a perfect mix of tropical, marshmallow and monochrome”.
Since opening, Murphy says that Instagram has become the café’s “best friend” and helped turn it into a destination of sorts.
I think Pot Bellied Pig has become a place to visit firstly because people have shared the interior and secondly, once there, they’ve realised that we really do have the coffee and food to back it up.The place photographs beautifully. And the diversity of shots I’ve seen with some of the shoots that have taken place there means that a even a slight change of angle can mean a totally different picture.
The interior is a big reason why people love it and share it.
Tribeton in Galway
Tribeton in Galway is a restaurant and bar situated in an old warehouse with a distinctly industrial feel. With neon signs, giant murals behind the bar and light fixtures dangling from the ceiling, it can be reasonably characterised as Instagram catnip.
“The bar and restaurant area on the upper floor has warm lighting, soft furnishings, beautifully tiled floors and expansive art pieces decorating the walls,” the owners say. “It’s eclectic and we love it.”
Like Pot Bellied Pig, Tribeton has benefitted from being pleasing to the eye. “Social media is an integral part of our marketing strategy and it doesn’t hurt that Tribeton is very camera friendly. Instagram arguably plays the most important role of all the social platforms for us as the apps core demographic is very similar to ours.”
They say it’s important for cafés, bars and restaurants to make a statement with their look if they want to compete in an increasingly competitive hospitality industry.
First, as well as lasting, impressions matter hugely so the aesthetic needs to match the top service and premium food and drink offering guests experience at each visit.
The Alex Hotel in Dublin
So what do the people who design such spaces reckon? John-Henry Boyle works with 21 Spaces, an interior design and architecture firm based in Dublin.
The firm most recently worked on The Alex Hotel’s refurbishment, a makeover that has rendered the hotel barely recognisable from what it has before and seems to have been conceived with a social media-friendly generation in mind.
Boyle says that the big trend at the moment is crafted interiors. “By that we mean really well-designed and crafted interiors with fine detailing that are environmentally conscious,” he explains. “This has many Scandinavian influences. Not ostentatious or too glam.”
Since the recession, Boyle says he has noticed that “a more well-designed and confident interior” is prevailing in Ireland and cites Bunsen and Bear Market as examples of establishment that are pulling this off with aplomb.
Bear Market Coffee in Blackrock
For Boyle, the importance of striking design can’t be overstated. “A strong interior is a pivotal extension of the brand,” he says. “It’s the experiential aspect of the brand which helps people make an emotionally connection with the business.”
While he may not be explicitly designing with social media in mind, Boyle concedes that it’s an aspect that appeals to the brands he works with. “As a trend it’s definitely an aspect which excites clients because it helps customers engage before they have even tried the food,” he says of Instagrammable decor. “Detail is vitally important to this end thus we focus a lot on quality and material.”
So, take a seat and take a selfie because this trend isn’t going anywhere anytime soon.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
5 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Unless it’s self published, and even if it is self published, it would have gone through several sets of hands before going on sale. No way everyone who saw it thought it was current usage. My guess is publicly stunt. Some people genuinely believe any attention is good attention.
@Carol Oates: If she hadn’t recalled all 20,000 books for reprint I might agree with you but the cost involved would be pretty substantial for that type of publicity.
@Carol Oates: Perhaps but someone that is claiming to have in-depth knowledge on a subject and making such an egregious error is hardly going to increase her standing. There are so many OTHER less reputation ruining errors that she could have done.
@Gerry Ivie: it was indeed . It went away as other terms were introduced but still in certain countries and publications is there . People has to stop being so touchy and offended about everything.
@WilhelminaMCallaghan: As the mother of a sixteen year old boy born with Down Syndrome, both he and I would be very touchy indeed by any derogatory term for Down syndrome. My son is a PERSON FIRST and should not be defined by such a label as “mongolism”, these terms went into the history books in the 50′s. It’s hard enough trying to explain to your child that he was born with down syndrome when he want to know why he is treated different than other “normal” children
@Charliegrl80: well said i have a sister the same loves music and to dance ,most loving person u would ever meet , i allso think its a horrible name as you said they are people just like the rest of us ,
@Charliegrl80: Thanks Charliegrl!! People need to understand that the choice of language is important. Negative outdated terminology actually feeds into the negative stsreotypes associated with Down Syndrome . This just completely undermines all the work we are parents and advocates do in showing the world that our kids are just kids or teenagers doing all the typical stuff. My teenager is into Good Charlotte and Blink 182. So yeah it’s loud music t shirts of the band’s phones and everything his sibs did. I’m sure this person had good intentions in her book and folic acid dies have a part of play but she does have a responsibility to get things right and the first and most basic thing is to get the correct name of the syndrome .
@Charliegrl80: Out of interest, the term “mongoloid” was introduced as a less derogatory term by readers of John Langdon Down’s “Observations on an Ethnic Classification of Idiots”, which was his attempt to classify genetic abnormalities that affect growth without the benefit of genetics so he pideonholed these people into mongoloid, ethiopian, caucasian, malay, or basically any race that bore a similarity.
It may be worthwhile for Australians (and, let’s face it, it’s still a term used in a derogatory manner here) to read up on http://www.neonatology.org/classics/down.html and understand that 19th century terms belong only in history books, not diet books.
@Gerry Ivie: Same here. I know it was very commonly used and it was never a derogatory term, just a reference. I’m sure the lady didn’t mean any offence by using the term. I’m really getting a pain in my face with the offended brigade and their attitude of “it’s not what is intended that matters, it’s how it is felt.” You can mis-interpret but you can’t mis-intend.
Who decides what words are offensive these days? Random busybodies? She obviously didn’t mean to offend anyone so why are people getting offended? People seriously need to get a life and stop policing words that THEY DON’T LIKE.
Don’t call people by terms they find offensive! Honestly it’s not that difficult.
If you’re more interested in your own right to insult people than the affect your insults have on others that’s your choice but don’t be surprised when people just think you’re an ass.
@Unpersoned: to be fair if you look up the origin of this word its not great – Langdon Down attributed the condition to a “reversion” to the “mongoloid race.” He held that evolution had been reversed and there had been a sort of backslide from the superior Caucasian to the inferior Oriental race. – I think it was wise to stop using the term in relation to people with downs syndrome. Also as a parent of a child with special needs, I think the language we use is pretty important. Yes I realise people can be a bit too touchy about things but when it comes to those who are more vulnerable, it’s probably best to be that bit more careful. Having said that, she has apologised and is changing it so really, is this news?
@Unpersoned: I’m saying that when someone tells you that using the term “mongoloid” is offensive to people with down syndrome you LISTEN AND CHANGE YOUR BEHAVIOUR. You don’t whinge about intent, you say “Om sorry, I didn’t know, I’ll not do it again”.
It’s the second part you have a problem with. You have zero interest in listening to people that try to inform you that they would like you not to use certain words when describing them. Like shortening Pakistani, or the N word, or a multitude of others that we’ve recognised people don’t like to be described as.
YOU don’t get to decide, they do. All you have to do is respect their right to tell you that the term you so desperately want to use isn’t appropriate .
@Tricia Golden: We just have a different outlook Tricia. I think it is up to each individual to take offence. I don’t think you can ever be justified in saying “Word A is offensive to group B”. In any “group” there will be people who don’t agree that a word is offensive. I don’t like to collectivise people in that way and claim that every individual in a certain group, shares a certain opinion. This is demonstrably false.
@Unpersoned: You’re entirely entitled to your opinion on the matter however, bear in mind that whilst the State should never have any way to “punish” someone for saying “offensive” things (excluding incitement to violence) other members of society WILL judge you as is their right.
@Tricia Golden: I don’t care if people judge me. I am none of their business. And I don’t use words like this, particularly because as my daughter is disabled. I am just saying, there is no need to have an inquisition every time someone says a word that the masses deem to be offensive. ESPECIALLY when the masses completely ignore the context in which the word was used and the intent of the user. This lady obviously did set out to offend disabled people but that doesn’t seem to matter. She must be castigated and re-educated. I hate this fuking authoritarian word policing. I think it’s sick.
@Unpersoned: Then you should know why people will be offended when a derogatory term is used against people with disabilities. I speak as someone with cerebral palsy who had to deal with this as a kid.
@Unpersoned: do you think she should have left the word in the book once she did find out it’s origins and that it is considered pretty offensive to most people?
@Unpersoned: Not intentionally, perhaps but she should have done research beforehand. A simple Google search would have set her straight. She appears to be ignorant at best.
@Dell: Yes. I think she can use whatever words she wants. Do you think if she used a different word, say, disabled, everyone would think that’s fine? Well you’d be wrong because some people object to that word, see it as derogatory, and would demand she say differently-abled or handicapable. It’s all a matter of opinion. A commenter down below, who has a child with downs, does not object to the word. Whose opinion should be more valued this case? The answer is NOBODIES. Everyone’s opinion, on matters of opinion, is equally valid.
@Unpersoned: well then, by leaving it and knowing that most people find it pretty offensive, especially those who have the syndrome, would she not then be deliberately deciding to disrespect them? Also do you not think it’s pretty important that someone who is supposedly helping someone with a disability at least know the proper name for the disability? The truth is someone pointed out to her that there was little chance of her selling her book with a term in it that most people find horribly offensive and it made better business sense to change it.
@Dell: I presume you also think that “nigģer” is offensive to black people, do you think the word cracker is offensive to white people? If I called you a cracker would you be offended?
@Unpersoned: well I couldn’t blame you for calling me a cracker.. As in.. She’s a cracker of a girl. Do a quick Google search there and almost all references to the word say it is considered offensive. I understand that we can carry the I’m offended thing too far but seriously unpersoned, calling downs syndrome Mongolism though it stopped being used because of its origins and its obvious racist implications is showing a lack of basic respect and decency, ní matter how you try to twist it or turn it. Ask yourself would you actually use the term to the parents of a person with downs syndrome or the person themselves, if you wouldn’t, why?
@Unpersoned: by the way, you jump to a lot of conclusions about me and others and put a lot of words in peoples mouths and are quite quick to get outraged and are quite judgmental yourself while you sit in judgment of others outrage. In the discussion about quotas lastnight, I never said that it was my solution, or that I was happy with that solution but you decided I did.
@Dell: I’m sure you are a cracker but that’s not what I meant :-) Look it’s a simple as this, it is my opinion that words are, by themselves, meaningless. The meaning is derived from the context in which they are used and the intent of the user. You have just used the word Mongolism, it was not offensive in this context because you were using it illustratively, not as an insult. In the context which the author used it, it was not offensive because her intent was not to offend. Fair enough, it’s an archaic word, I totally get that.. but that doesn’t mean that every use of it is offensive. The meaning of words is entirely context dependant. That’s my opinion. We can agree to disagree of course. I’m just giving my two cents on the matter.
@Ken Loughman: I’m not having a go at you mate, don’t know why you’re being hostile. No need for it really. I’m trying to be polite, you could extend the same courtesy.
@Unpersoned: Sorry! It’s because of my past history of being bullied because of my disability. Whenever I read of insulting terms being used, intentionally or not, or if I believe that their use is not being taken seriously then this would be something that I would take very personally.
The term nutritionist is unprotected, here, and in many countries. It means anyone can call themselves a nutritionist and an “expert” without training, skills or accurate knowledge. It explains why so many wannabe-stars & ex models turn to the nutritionist area as a money-maker and then proceed to take us all for a ride. This problem isn’t as far away as Australia, it’s in the woo-woo and pseudo-science peddled to us all that no one calls out as rubbish. Time we all got more sense than to trust quacks.
@Caroline Collins: Yeah, first thing I noticed too. I looked her up, she has a Doctorate in Biochemistry though it’s not something she really mentions, just uses the term “Doctor” and let’s others make their own conclusions.
So, if they’re not aware of the difference between Nutritionist and Dietitian they could assume they’re dealing with a medical professional.
@Tricia Golden: If she has a PHD in biochemistry then she has a right to use the title Dr though. Also she certainly would have Insight into the bio chemistry of Individuals with Down Syndrome. She’s actually right in her statement about folic acid. It certainly found to play a part in the latest research. She is certainly knowledgable but that just makes this error unforgivable. She forgot the basics ,she forgot she was talking about human beings.
@Catherine Sims: to call herself a doctor in relation to a book on nutrition is misleading. She is aware of that I’m sore.
There is no evidence folic acid plays a part in downs syndrome. Dr simms
Good auld Aussies. Never forget they used be collecting for the spastic foundation over there. I’m not some looney leftie but I found that shocking. It was 12 years ago so could have changed the name by now.
@Let free speech live: Ian Dury (who had polio as a child) wrote a song called Spasticus Autisticus. It was performed by a punk group with disabilities at the London 2012 Paralympics. Great choon!
@Let free speech live: I once read a book by a nurse who was saying that when wards were busy, among themselves they didn’t say Joe, Peter or Fred but “Check on the liver and the fracture and the pneumonia case first.” I think it’s more that people don’t appreciate being known as a walking medical condition. But to the person’s face they certainly did use their names or surnames – they never said “Oh, you must be the arm amputation, how are you today?.”
This is just correctness gone bonkers. I have a Down’s syndrome child and I would not take offence at the term mongoloid or mongolism. It was a description created after it was noticed that the eyes of Down syndrome children resembled ethnic people of Mongolia. I’m more offended by “Down” syndrome. Why not “Up” syndrome?
@Ian Oh: You hear that Ian? Your opinion is irrelevant unless it is the “correct” opinion. You must be offended, just because someone else told you that you should be. Shame on you!!!
@Unpersoned: It’s not about whether it offends him though is it? He doesn’t have Down Syndrome. If people with down syndrome find it offensive that should be enough.
@Ian Oh: You have a down syndrome child ? Surely you have a child with Down Syndrome. Look at the origins if the word. It’s very offensive. It also perpetrates all the negative stsreotypes associated with Down Syndrome from the past. It’s very important this word is consigned to the past.
@Unpersoned: It’s about changing perceptions and using those words sets us back decades. If you understood the true origins of the word you would be very offended. It’s a parents job to advocate for their child and not to accept degoratory language and the negative stsreotypes they perpetrate. This isn’t political correctness this is giving out kids a chance to be seen for the wonderful human beings they are . With all the emotions and needs and goals that everyone else has. I hope your child wouldn’t mind having that term shouted at them. Or doesn’t the childs feelings count ? Is it all about the adult ?
@Laura Connolly: How many people with down syndrome find it offensive. If you cite a single study that shows that every person with down syndrome finds it offensive, I will completely, 100% change my opinion and agree that yes, it is offensive to people with down syndrome. Failing that, I will continue to assume that SOME are offended and some are not. Just like everyone else who may find certain words offensive. For example, I don’t think the word “fucķ” is offensive, but some people certainly do. In fact, I had to adjust it to be even able to post it on here. I don’t like people preaching matters of opinion as if they are matters of fact, without any data to back up their point. My mind remains open to be changed by actual stats.
@Catherine Sims: You think words have the power to radically alter someone’s life like that? You think changing crippled to disabled makes a difference to someone’s quality of life? Bullshit. These words only have negative connotations because people like you attach the connotations. Give it 5 years and you’ll be giving out about the word disabled and you’ll be demanding that people say differently-abled because DISabled is derogatory as it implies they are lesser people.
@Catherine Sims: “You have a down syndrome child? Surely you have a child with down syndrome” There you go again. Preaching. You just can’t help yourself. It’s none of your bloody business how Ian refers to his own child. Nobody appointed you to police language Catherine.
@Ian Oh: because a real doctor called Dr Down first described the condition…. That’s why it’s Down’s syndrome and not down or up it’s a name.
The other words are offensive to me and most people I know..
And ignorance generally of disability is offensive
@WJH: That deserves to be an offensive term! Do an online course for €9.99 and get a diploma! Any old drongo or dag can call themselves a “nutritionist”!
Not a great word to use any more but you have to know where it came from and eventually, a bit like many other words to describe people with disabilities it became a derogatory term over time. People need to lighten up a bit.
Celebrity nutritionist though? Enough said
@@UK: Langdon Down attributed the condition to a “reversion” to the “mongoloid race.” He held that evolution had been reversed and there had been a sort of backslide from the superior Caucasian to the inferior Oriental race… Its origin is pretty offensive, even to those not easily offended, to be fair. People do need to lighten up, I agree, but this word truly is best left to history.
@Deirdre D’Arcy Murphy: Exactly. Idiots like this person loves throwing the “lack of folic acid” at everything. They’ll be saying next that there are different races of people because of the lack of folic acid and we should all be one race. It has been proven time and time again that lack of folic acid has zero to do with DS.
@Gary: That’s not true at all . It has been found to play a part. Have you looked at the research that can’t out of places like Stanford ??? I could go into it in more detail but this isn’t the place to do so.
The term was in everyday use in Ireland in the ’50′s, ’60′s and ’70′s and it was not liked then either.
I prefer the term to use the term Chromosome 21
Didn’t our own celebrity nutritionist Rosanna Davison make some points in her book that causes one or two raised eyebrows and create a short lived storm of Twitter outrage?
@WilhelminaMCallaghan: Your point is not very clear “it when away” “is there”.Are you sure you haven’t got some syndrome yourself.And as for the 130 people who think you’ve made an intelligent point maybe they have some intellectual deficiency too.Maybe it’s contagious. I hope your not “touchy and offended” by anything I wrote .
O lord , theyll be pulling our tongues out next, just because the WHO stopped using it dont mean it never existed, people are going to have to stop being so sensitive, I understand its not a nice word but its part of the history of discovering more about Downs Syndrome, just like racism this PC term is being thrown about like confetti, its all nonsense and it hasnt at all made the world a safer place, free speech is slowly being taken away, it wasnt like this 10yrs ago, just imagine what itll be like in 10yrs time. I wudnt have any liking for the term she used but its a word, thats all .
Man arrested following Stoneybatter knife attack to appear in court this morning
1 hr ago
Dublin City
Dublin City Council propose policy to ‘remove and destroy’ Airbnb lock boxes from public spaces
26 mins ago
gotta tell you
'Completely unprofessional': Donal Skehan pushes back on Samantha Mumba 'insulting' Eurosong panellists
Updated
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 143 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 98 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 128 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 98 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 73 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 72 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 36 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 32 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 119 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 70 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 77 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 42 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 24 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 79 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 89 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 65 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 47 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 77 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 57 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say