You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'I'm no expert in the cultivation of cannabis': Taoiseach supports idea of Irish farmers growing cannabis in the future

In a wide-ranging interview with TheJournal.ie, Varadkar discussed John Delaney, Brexit, Peter Casey and the European elections.

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

Video by Nicky Ryan

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR has said he has no objection to the prospect of Irish farmers diversifying and growing cannabis in the future. 

In a wide-ranging interview with TheJournal.ie, where Varadkar discussed John Delaney, Brexit, Peter Casey and the European elections, the Taoiseach said in light of Brexit, supports for the exposed beef sector are needed, in order to reorientate them towards new markets and new businesses. 

Health Minister Simon Harris acknowledged that the “lack of availability of cannabis products in Ireland remains the most critical barrier to full implementation” of the medicinal access scheme

The health minister supported the idea of Irish farmers growing the drug, stating that it ”could be an opportunity for Irish farmers in due course”.

In December, the Irish Farmer’s Association told TheJournal.ie that it is open to meeting the health minister to discuss the possibility of farmers growing cannabis for medicinal use.

Medicinal cannabis market 

Today, beef farmers and those in the sector will attend the Oireachtas Agriculture Committee. Could cannabis be that market? 

“I am not an expert in the cultivation of cannabis – medicinal or otherwise – so I am not sure how well it would grow in Ireland,” said the Taoiseach. 

“It is the case in Ireland that medicinal cannabis is legal. Now getting a licence from the minister is complicated and we are trying to improve that, but at the moment it is not possible to grow it so it has to be imported. Many have to go to the Netherlands to pharmacies to get it there,” he added.

After two years of delays, the Department of Health has identified a supplier in Denmark, confirmed Varadkar. 

“From a whole common sense point of view if something is legal in Ireland – and it is, with a prescription – why import from the Netherlands or Denmark when we could grow it here? So it is nothing that I have an objection to, but I am not sure if it is a viable alternative for many farmers. I am not sure how much would actually be needed because there is only a relatively small number of patients who currently have a licence or would benefit from it,” he added. 

Everyone has a bit of a breather from Brexit, with the exit date being kicked out six months.

A second Brexit referendum?

But talk of a second Brexit referendum has resurfaced. 

A second referendum is needed, according to former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern and former British Prime Minister Tony Blair, who both made a case for it in a joint op-ed at the weekend

Would Taoiseach support such a move? 

He told TheJournal.ie that it would be most “unhelpful” for him to talk about such a move, stating that it would only spur on the “extreme Brexiteer elements” into saying that Ireland was just another European country trying to tell the British people what to do. 

“‘Isn’t this why we’re leaving?’” – that’s what they would say, according to Varadkar. 

However, in the same breath he said, if Westminster wanted to, it could hold another referendum, stating that parliament is “supreme”. 

“They do have the authority to have a second referendum if they so wish,” he said. 

“I’m pro-European, I would love to see the United Kingdom stay in the European Union. Europe is their home, and Europe is stronger with Britain in it, and if they made the decision to stay then I’d welcome them with open arms, it would be the prodigal son returning.” 

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

While Bertie and Blair felt“duty-bound” to write the op-ed on their thoughts on the current Brexit situation, Varadkar is careful not to rock the boat, but he is a bit more optimistic. 

“I suppose I am more optimistic – you go through different periods of optimism and pessimism – one thing I am optimistic about is I think is no-deal, even though I do think it is a possibility and could happen by accident, is increasingly unlikely,” he said. 

Some form of a customs union could be the answer to everyone’s problems, he added. 

When asked if it is a realistic proposition, he said: 

I do. But I think it is something the British government have to want and ask for. If you reduce it to some very simple terms. What is a customs union? It means that the UK will still have free trade with all of the European Union including Ireland without any tariffs, without any quotas, without the need for any rules or regulations around rules of origin, that would be very good for us, because it helps solve some of the border issues, makes sections of the backstop unnecessary and then you would have something that is very valuable for our farmers, who would continue to have access to the British market.

So I think it would be a good thing if they were to stay in the EU customs union or negotiate a new customs union with the EU, but again that is something they would have to want. 

‘If only the House of Commons could do the same’

Despite France’s Emmanuel Macron’s objections to a long extension, one was granted to the UK. Did Varadkar help convince him to change his mind. 

“No, quite frankly there was a difference of opinion. Macron favouring a shorter extension, us favouring a longer one and we came up with a compromise, that is how the EU works, it is also why it works. It is interesting that 27 countries can come to a compromise in a few hours. If only the House of Commons could do the same in a few months,” he said with a smile on his face. 

Before German Chancellor Angela Merkel paid a visit to Ireland, there was rumours the time-limited backstop was back on the table. The Taoiseach said it is not.  

It is something that is off the table – it is not something that has come up with meetings I have had with Chancellor Merkel or President Macron. It didn’t come up in Brussels last week, it didn’t come up with my phone conversation with Theresa May so I am not sure where that is coming from but our position on that has been steady. A backstop with a time limit is not a backstop.

While Varadkar is careful to be sensitive to matters across the water when it comes for calls for a second referendum, he also doesn’t think now is the time for discussions about a united Ireland. 

He believes it would come down to sectarian lines of “Catholics versus Protestants, nationalists versus unionists”, and in his opinion, a border poll would be lost if held now. 

“To do something that would be divisive and then have it defeated I don’t see what would be achieved by it,” he said. He denied that Fine Gael was distancing itself from its slogan: “the united Ireland party”. 

“We do believe in a united Ireland, but we want that to be done by consent.”

A vote for Mick and Clare?

TheJournal.ie / YouTube

One vote that will be taking place this year is the European elections. The candidates submitted their papers today, and it is an interesting bunch. It includes former presidential candidate, Peter Casey, who had strong words for the Taoiseach during the campaign, and vice versa. 

What does the Taoiseach make of Casey’s bid for Europe?

I see Peter Casey is interested in joining the EPP group, which is Fine Gael’s group in the European Parliament, and it is the biggest most influential group, so it does make sense to be in it, although I had thought he wanted to be the leader of Fianna Fáil a few weeks ago…

Would Casey be welcome in the EPP? Varadkar had reservations: 

He would have to sign up to the values of the EPP which I am not sure he would be able to. But like I say,having wanted to be leader of Fianna Fáil a few months ago, I am not sure, he might change his mind in a few months time.

There are a couple who might get a vote from Leo, and they are not in his own party – Independents 4 Change Mick Wallace and Clare Daly. 

“They are serious politicians. I don’t agree with them on everything but I agree with them on more things than people may believe,” said Varadkar, adding: 

“We don’t necessarily agree, but both he [Mick Wallace] and Clare [Daly] have well-considered and well-informed views and I have always found them to be respectful. They are not the type of people to score points. They are serious people. Needless to say, while I am sure I would be giving them a preference, they will be well down the list after the Fine Gael candidates.”

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute Mark Mccormack
    Favourite Mark Mccormack
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:13 AM

You’re not an expert on a lot of things. Homelessness, health, poverty, working poor, banking, broadband, public transport, children’s hospital etc etc etc

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:54 AM

@Mark Mccormack: ^^^^When you type the most common, unoriginal, and boring comment on The Journal, and don’t even know you’ve done it^^^^

Mute tooler doogan
    Favourite tooler doogan
    Apr 16th 2019, 1:27 AM

@Orla Smith: you like your own comments from your different accounts, funny as feck!

Mute Mark Mccormack
    Favourite Mark Mccormack
    Apr 16th 2019, 6:48 AM

@Orla Smith: “” “defend the undefendible, trying to sound as intelligent and articulate as possible but unfortunately your level of stupidity and ignorance, is to much of a burden and handicap for your level of intellect, to be able to communicate an effective response” “

Apr 16th 2019, 7:40 AM

@Orla Smith: FG troll

Mute David Washington
    Favourite David Washington
    Apr 16th 2019, 9:05 AM

@Gus Sheridan: Its not a troll, this is it’s hobbie. Creating several different accounts and spending it’s whole day in them. Liam, Tariq, Hugh, Paddington, Orla and many many more. That’s sad ( smiley face) .

Mute The 'Notorious' Fanboy
    Favourite The 'Notorious' Fanboy
    Apr 16th 2019, 1:50 PM

@Mark Mccormack: welcome edgy White Night, right on time.

Mute Carla Killeen
    Favourite Carla Killeen
    Apr 16th 2019, 1:57 PM

@tooler doogan: blah blah bla

Mute Carla Killeen
    Favourite Carla Killeen
    Apr 16th 2019, 1:57 PM

@Mark Mccormack: blah blah bla

Mute Lobert Rester
    Favourite Lobert Rester
    Apr 16th 2019, 3:33 PM

@Mark Mccormack: @Mark Mccormack: I for one fully endorse Marks sentiments, Leo and his merry bunch of failures are no experts at their jobs but excel in excellence in lining their pockets for that failure.

Mute Michael Courtney
    Favourite Michael Courtney
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:13 AM

He isn’t an expert at anything full stop.

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:56 AM

@Michael Courtney: Stick to the fracking Michael.

Mute Chaos_Ape
    Favourite Chaos_Ape
    Apr 16th 2019, 5:29 AM

@Orla Smith: …says the man posing as a woman online… Lol!

Mute Michael Courtney
    Favourite Michael Courtney
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:22 PM

@Orla Smith: what has fracking got to to with cannabis?. Have you looked up the definition of fracking?

Mute Tony Gordon
    Favourite Tony Gordon
    Apr 16th 2019, 6:09 PM

@Michael Courtney: But he’s some dope.

Mute Brian Judge
    Favourite Brian Judge
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:39 AM

Maybe start with not jailing people who are just growing a few plants and who are taking business away from the real gangsters.

Mute TechBuzz Ireland
    Favourite TechBuzz Ireland
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:12 AM

You’d know there was an election coming up spin alert

Mute Orla Smith
    Favourite Orla Smith
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:55 AM

@TechBuzz Ireland: *Slow hand-clap*

Mute Chaos_Ape
    Favourite Chaos_Ape
    Apr 16th 2019, 5:33 AM

@Orla Smith: …obviously not as slow as yerself”Orla”. This is, of course, spin. In due course meaning this conversation will go away after the election. I dont doubt he knows nothing on the subject, though. If he did he’d know that hemp grew plentyful in Ireland for many years.

Mute Shane Smith
    Favourite Shane Smith
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:17 AM

So no difficult questions then. All is fine in Ireland.

Mute Sean Murphy
    Favourite Sean Murphy
    Apr 16th 2019, 8:05 AM

@Shane Smith: why didn’t thejournal ask him about the new UN report condemning his tax loopholes which infringe on tenants human rights? Ffs, what a spineless interviewer.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Apr 16th 2019, 8:19 AM

@Sean Murphy: The purpose of modern media is not to uncover the truth, its to keep the system as is by and large, the media is controlled by FF and FG in this country, do not expect any of the real issues to be tackled with any purpose, just spin and deflect……look at SF, look at Ross bla bla bla etc etc

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:11 AM

All drugs need to be legalised unfortunately..

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:44 AM

@ben: Cannabis needs to be legalised and regulated. All other drugs need to be decriminalised and people with dependencies on those drugs need to be treated as patients and not as criminals.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Apr 16th 2019, 1:23 AM

@Ian Breathnach: Won’t be happening ,enough useless junkies wandering about when it’s illegal, imagine how bad it will be with heroin and crap like that legalised.

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Favourite Jeremiah A Craic
    Apr 16th 2019, 4:14 AM

@Cathal: it’s been proved that the opposite happens and that taxes raised from the sales of the legalised drugs cant be used to rehabilitate those “junkies”.

Apr 16th 2019, 7:42 AM

@Ian Breathnach: same as it’s done in Portugal

Apr 16th 2019, 7:43 AM

@Cathal: it’s been done in Portugal already!

Mute Clare McAfee
    Favourite Clare McAfee
    Apr 16th 2019, 7:41 AM

I’m pretty sure growing cannabis here isn’t a problem, illegal raids all the time…! visit Colorado and see how they do it. Medical cannabis has been legal there for 19 years, for a far wider usage than is being suggested here – chronic pain patients have access. It works far better than any prescription drug I tried (in CO I smoked it, used transdermal patch, ate some edibles – just pitched up at a dispensary with my passport, that’s it). Just legalise for full medical use as per the US and hurry up about it!

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Apr 16th 2019, 5:16 AM

Simon Harris saying there is lack of availability of cannabis in Ireland … then how many recent Journal reports have been about Gards seizing millions of euros worth of cannabis? Where does that go? Lack of joined up thinking there lads. Dope dealers should head straight to Harris’s house and get a good price, if the children’s hospital is anything to go by.

Apr 16th 2019, 7:45 AM

@WoodlandBard: is Harris still in the job? Only in Ireland we put up with failure on this scale.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:14 AM

I’m going back to education and going to learn how to grow this s!!t…

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Apr 16th 2019, 4:14 AM

@Dan: save urself the hassle and learn it on YouTube

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Apr 16th 2019, 6:48 AM

@Jeremiah A Craic: *can

Mute David Kangley
    Favourite David Kangley
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:47 AM

Ask ming

Mute Matthew Gorman
    Favourite Matthew Gorman
    Apr 16th 2019, 9:31 AM

Oh good we can replace plastic with hemp based products.

Mute John kane
    Favourite John kane
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:56 AM

All the lads jumping in and saying he’s not an expert on anything!! Rofl lads. I don’t like oul Leo the lion myself but Jesus that’s top notch lol !!

Apr 16th 2019, 12:41 AM

On peter casey, i think a lot of people who want to join a political party and have no prior family connections to any party, its a toss up type decision most of them make on whether to join FF or FG.

Mute Norman Cameron
    Favourite Norman Cameron
    Apr 16th 2019, 10:07 AM

The Portuguese model is as good a place to begin as any. Re the number of people who are eligible, the problem is the major drug companies and the medical profession who are deeply in cohoots. Educate the legislature and the rest is easy.

Mute El_Monikerinho
    Favourite El_Monikerinho
    Apr 16th 2019, 4:46 AM

Doobie Doobie Do!

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:45 PM

A true sign of General elections.

Mute The 'Notorious' Fanboy
    Favourite The 'Notorious' Fanboy
    Apr 16th 2019, 1:49 PM

Refreshing to see Leo has an open mind about the idea!

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Apr 16th 2019, 10:59 AM

Varadkar, you’re no expert on anything! Like your ministers, you’re a useless, incompetent and morally corrupt politician! This country deserves a leader and you’re certainly not it! Why don’t you just stick to your pop star chasing antics, this country needs to be transformed for the better for all its citizen’s and not the few!

Mute Brian Tracy
    Favourite Brian Tracy
    Apr 16th 2019, 3:32 PM

We’ll be the last country on the planet to legalise weed even for medicinal purposes.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:57 AM

You spout like you are smoking good sh:t though ..

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Apr 16th 2019, 12:55 AM

You spout like you are smoking good sh!t though ..