You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Pearse Doherty: 'Despite my passion to be part of Sinn Féin, being a TD is something I may regret'

The Sinn Féin deputy says: Is it right that your children expect to see you for one day a week?

GOING UP IN the elevator to Sinn Fein’s new offices in Leinster House, I am told the party now occupies the Labour party’s old hallways.

How times have changed.

The Labour party has been resigned to the basement, an area which some Sinn Feiners used to call “the dungeon” due to its lack of space and natural light.

Sinn Féin finance spokesperson Pearse Doherty now enjoys a room with a view. He’s not sure who has inherited his old digs, but thinks there is someone’s name “on the cupboard door”.

Sinn Féin saw a major boost in their support in the last general election, landing 23 seats and putting them in a strong opposition position.

Doherty said the party did not have an easy ride during the election, criticising a number of media organisations for what he described as a targeted campaign against them.

Calling out The Irish Independent, The Irish Times and RTÉ, the Donegal TD said they were “very, very hostile towards Sinn Féin”.

“That impacted the campaign,” he said.

Despite media criticisms, Doherty points out the party performed well and is something they plan to build on in the next general election, if and when that might be.

13/4/2013. Sinn Fein Ard Fheis Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

The 38-year-old TD came to this politics game young. A founding member of Ógra Shinn Féin he served on its National Executive between 1998 and 2001. He was the party’s first senator, before being elected as a TD in the 2010 Donegal South West by-election. 

However, he says being a TD is not necessarily something he ever wanted.

Being a TD is not necessarily something I want to do… and that is no offence to the people in Donegal that elected me. If there is another election I will be out there asking people and begging them to support me, but in a way it is something you fall into in terms of your beliefs and motivations and all the rest.

He said he never had the thought: ‘I want to be a TD’.

I would be happy to be an activist in my own area and still be involved in Sinn Féin, but I don’t think I have some special ability that marks me above anyone else as a TD.

Family life

The father of four, says becoming a TD is a choice he has made. He said it is a choice that has impacted on his family life, and one he thinks he might one day regret.

I try and carve out time to see them. But is it right that your children expect to see you for one day a week?

There are a lot of fathers and a lot of mothers that are living away from home who have to go to work. But for me it is a choice.

I have decided to put myself up as a candidate for Sinn Féin and that’s hard for them. I find it hard myself, as well. That is a battle I have internally all the time, to strike that balance.

I genuinely think, despite my passion to be part of Sinn Féin and do what I can, I think it is something I may regret in the future. The kids are growing up and you know, you are never going to get that back.

27/8/2015 Anti Water Charges Campaigns Sam Boal Sam Boal

Speaking about Dáil reforms and making Leinster House more ‘family friendly’, Doherty said not everyone is going to be happy.

It is impossible. What is family-friendly for Mary Lou (McDonald), is unfamily-friendly for me… if the Dáil finishes at 8 o’clock and doesn’t start again until 12pm, that is good for someone that lives up here in Dublin or is commuting, because they can get home and see the children before they are asleep or they can be there in the morning for breakfast and get their children off to school.

For us coming up from the country, we are up here a minimum of three days in the week. We want to start early and finish as late as possible because you want to cram as much in as possible, because we are away from the family…

That is the big challenge, you are not there in the morning, you are not there at night, you can go a long spell without seeing them.

However, despite the personal challenges, Doherty said he is determined to see Sinn Féin in government one day – though he concedes that it’s a long-term project.

8/2/2014. Sinn Fein Ard Fheis Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland Laura Hutton / Photocall Ireland / Photocall Ireland

Sinn Féin secured more votes on this island of Ireland than it has ever done before. We increased our votes significantly… There are certain forces in society that don’t want to see the change that Sinn Féin want to bring about, there are certain elites that don’t want to see it, but there are enough people out there who are yearning for change.

From our point of view this is a long-term project – this is about increasing our support incrementally – holding that support, where you have solid place from where you are working from, so you are not doing what the Labour party did, where you’re at 10% [in the polls] one day and 27% the other day, then you’re in government and then it’s gone again.

5/2/2016 General Election Campaigns Starts Sam Boal Sam Boal

‘Shinnernomics’

Other political parties often criticise Sinn Féin’s economic policies, something that irks Doherty. Clearly a sore point for the finance spokesperson, he said it was time for “a bit of honesty”.

Who is it that peddles that sort of thing about ‘Shinnernomics’? Who says that and then can back it up, because it is easy to throw out a soundbite. I would argue we have the best economic analysis of any of the political parties.

People might have the impression that Fine Gael are sensible and care about the economy, yet they introduced a budget last year that was €540 million out… We are the ones that pointed out they were under providing for health – yet we are the ones that don’t have clue about economics?

Ireland in Europe Niall Carson Niall Carson

Doherty said his party is told their ideas are “nonsense” and are “mad economic policies”.

We are the first party that got our budget costed by the Department of Finance. I adopted a position when I took over as finance spokesperson that I wouldn’t put forward any policies that weren’t costed by the Department of Finance, so that nobody could say that we were making up our figures.

The Donegal TD came in for criticism this week when he said abolishing the Universal Social Charge (USC) for middle-income earners is reckless.

Middle-income earners, to those in government, are people who earn up to €70,000, said Doherty, who claims that middle-income earners are more likely to make €28,500, not the top-end figure of €70,000.

People who are earning up to €70k might think they are not particularly wealthy or rich because of other prices of things in Ireland, and that may be the case, but they are not middle-income earners.

He said government tax cuts benefit high income earners - and that is the problem, it is an abuse of statistics.

“If Sinn Féin did this, we would be crucified”

He said Fianna Fáil continue to put forward uncosted economic policies that don’t add up.

If Sinn Féin did this, we would be crucified. There would probably be a front page story on the Irish Independent and other radio stations would be asking us about it.

Fianna Fáil’s proposal in terms USC is out by about €100 million. This is undisputable. I can show anybody, a ten-year-old can actually point it out. I can show you the figures. They just get away with it. A €100 million hole in one policy and they just get away with it – if it was Sinn Féin, we would be torn asunder.

The complaint underlines a sentiment within the party that they get a harder time of it than other parties in general.

Of course we do, listen it is not even on economics. Listen to what Enda Kenny said in the chamber yesterday, where he was talking about inner city.
He talked passionately about how community representatives in that area, how they are opposed to people labelling their community as gangland. Gerry Adams said there was no such thing as gangland in these communities during the election campaign and he was hammered, torn asunder.
Now people are starting to realise, Sheriff Street is not gangland – inner city is not a gangland – this is what Gerry Adams was actually saying, yet there are no articles about Enda Kenny denying the existence of gangland and the rest, because there are certain rules for those that challenge the elite and there are certain rules for the establishment.

The Donegal TD said his party leader is also scrutinised more than any other party leader. Gerry Adams was slammed for his poor election performances and for fudging the facts and figures during key live debates.

Irish general election Niall Carson Niall Carson

So, does Doherty think Adams cost the party seats?

I don’t think it cost seats… I think there is a focus on Gerry Adams that isn’t the same on other political leaders.
Gerry Adams brings a huge amount to this party… his direction and focus to where we are going and we have been a party that has been advancing, north and south, in every election.

He said everyone in the party has different strengths and weaknesses.

Gerry’s isn’t rhyming off numbers off the top of his head, but some of the stuff is ridiculous – it is a game with the media. ‘Catch him out with a number’. We have 100 costed policies in our manifesto. There is no way any of us knows the cost of every single one of them, no one would expect us to.

“I personally don’t want to lead Sinn Féin”

Doherty has long said that he has no aspirations to lead Sinn Féin, but with speculation the party might be entering a new era with a need for fresh faces and new blood, it must be something that has crossed his mind?

It is not something I want. I personally don’t want it. Of course it would be an honour to represent your party at that level… I am not going to be out there orchestrating to have me in a position to challenge for the leadership in the future.

28/7/2015. Irish Water Fails Eurostat Tests

He said there were plenty of people in the party that would be capable of leading after Adams, but he claimed there have been no internal discussions within the party as to who it might be.

“I haven’t had those discussions with Gerry, but Gerry will know himself when he has to go – or when he sees someone else’s name down at an Ard Fheis challenging him,” he said, jokingly.

But I wouldn’t hold my breath on that one. Gerry is focused on the job and there is work to be done.

With the shock of a Brexit this week, Sinn Féin will have their sights on a border poll.

Doherty said one of the reasons he got involved in Sinn Féin was republicanism and the vision of a united Ireland.

“That demand for a united Ireland, it is something that is just raw in me, I believe in a united Ireland.”

He said a Brexit vote is a “catalyst” for a border poll.

“It’s fair to say that if there is a Brexit then the demand for a border poll would be enhanced and it would be something we are looking for straight away.”

Read: Here’s what Ireland’s business leaders make of the Brexit hurricane>

Watch: Protester throws Nazi-themed golf balls at Trump in Scotland>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

106 Comments
    Mute Bo bo
    Favourite Bo bo
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:16 AM

I have NO time for SF but the work life balance has got way out of control in this Country.
    We who are expected to work long hrs and also always on the work phone (email and voice) are paying a big price with kids. It’s out of control. Question it and your company loyalty is questioned.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:56 AM

People should only work four days a week, but the cost of living is so high and more taxes to pay. The people have to work six days at least, thanks to politics and the money wasted by politicians. We need new politics, new politicians and stop voting for FF/FG/SF/L.

Mute Mark Jones
    Favourite Mark Jones
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:18 AM

There are TD’s that shouldn’t be left within an asses roar of Kildare St don’t mind dail eireann such as all shinners,anti austerity alliance,people before profit, Mich Wallace. These are only populists talking nonsense,never answering a question in a realistic manner only just waffle that people want to hear.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Favourite Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:23 AM

Very democratic of you Mark.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:34 AM

Mark prefers Parish pump politics, keep voting in FG/FF/L and get looked after by your relative TD.

Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:43 AM

Lets hope we Irish take a leaf out of the people of the UK’s book and learn to see through the agenda driven media in this country. They tried every trick in the book over there regarding a Brexit. Every scare tactic was employed, every poll was biased ,the bookies, the celebrity EU pimps were trotted out but none of it worked thank God. It’s clear that the establishment has a lot to hide in this country and they believe SF would be the party to expose all their sordid shenanigans over the years.

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:50 AM

SF has its own sordid shenanigans to sort out first

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:53 AM

Perhaps with a united Ireland we could move parliament into the centre of the country. Would Cavan suit you better Mr Doherty.

Mute Markonline
    Favourite Markonline
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:29 AM

Where does he be for the sizeable portion of the year that hes on holidays? Has he a secret family hidden somewhere that he hasnt enough time for?

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:30 AM

count yourself lucky, pearse. half of donegal have to work abroad, and only get to see their families once every couple of months. you are privileged beyond belief, and could easily move your family to the place where you work and see them every day, again like a lot of donegal men and women. and if you don’t understand the hostility towards sinn fein, then pull off your blinkers and ask your leader what went on at party meetings in the seventies and eighties.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:49 AM

Ziggy hopefully we learn from U.K. mistakes listening to populism there the last few weeks and populist policies by UKIP are not always right for a country. When I looked up populism in Ireland the dictionary mentions : Sinn Fein. I then looked up bandwagon and guess what, it said mentions Sinn Fein also.

Mute Mark Jones
    Favourite Mark Jones
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:58 AM

Look at the sh#t democracy put the UK into and knock on to Ireland. Pulling us all back into recession.

Mute Malachi
    Favourite Malachi
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:13 AM

Ahhh yes. Democracy put us in a bad place, so Mark thinks… f*ck it, abolish our parliament and have an absolute hereditary monarchy headed by him and his lineage.

When Mark’s family rule Ireland, we won’t have to deal with those stupid democratically elected populists. Pah, who needs them when you already know all the solutions!

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:27 AM

“Calling out The Irish Independent, The Irish Times and RTÉ, the Donegal TD said they were “very, very hostile towards Sinn Féin”.

“That impacted the campaign,” he said.”

That’s like saying “The dog ate my homework. It’s not my fault. Blame someone else.”

SF got 23 seats. Fair play to them. The reason they didn’t get more seats is because voters didn’t agree with their policies or didn’t like the candidates.

Labour and Fine Gael had a disastrous election, but they don’t blame it on media bias.

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:25 AM

Everything he said is honest and accurate. The Media and the sleeveen see open transparent honesty in Politics as threat to their comfort.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:48 AM

I dont find him honest at all – didnt he misrepresent his qualifications.

I do agree however that the Independent is a pro FF rag

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Jun 27th 2016, 12:21 PM

yes you are right he misrepresented his qualifications on his personal bio on the Donegal Sinn Fein website, he stated his profession as civil engineer when he should have said civil engineering technician. I didn’t know this until today and it doesn’t change my opinion of the man at all although you’re misleading soundbite might have its desired affect on somebody else.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Favourite tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 7:50 AM

the brits would hand over the north in an instance if they thought for a second we were stupid enough to take it :D

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:16 AM

Tommy aka Dane. When you you say we,to whom are you referring to?

Mute Gary Bissett
    Favourite Gary Bissett
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:22 AM

Everyone knows Tommy isn’t a real person he’s a number of people just look at his comments he clearly never sleeps, it’s literally the same comments recycled again and again. The people behind it have a serious chubby for SF

Mute Gone Feisin
    Favourite Gone Feisin
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:51 AM

Tommy the tape recorder, playing the same tune over and over again. Look at the poll on here the other day, 65+% want a united Ireland. :):):)

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:37 AM

The future of Ireland should be decided by journal poll; representing the warped cross section of society that it does.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:39 AM

someone really should play a violin or something for poor pearse and his self pity

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Favourite Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:17 AM

Idiots like Tommy need to be told regularly It’s not up to the Brits to hand it back, it’s up to the people of the north and south of Ireland to decide that.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 12:01 PM

meanwhile SF are busy administering the queens rule, what loyal little subject they are, they just love the queens shilling :D

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Jun 26th 2016, 7:49 AM

It’s ok. We regret you being a SF TD too.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 7:50 AM

in political terms the poor lad is harmless :D

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jun 26th 2016, 2:20 PM

I have great time for Pearce this country needs a united Ireland so we can move on remember a Ireland unfree will never be at peace.

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:48 AM

Wow the trolls are out in force on this lovely Sunday morning!! Good article Pearse, when I read all the comments here this morning I see you’ve been proven right!

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Favourite Brendan O'Brien
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:27 AM

Some people’s children never get to see them at all, thanks to the ‘Republican Movement’.

The media are right to be hostile to what SF stands for.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:48 AM

Brendan. You forgot to mention the, British Army/UDA/UFF/UDR/RUC/RHC/UVF. Or was there only one side in the conflict.

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:58 AM

The media should look at all sides of the conflict not just the one that suits their personal interests, they won’t push for a truth commission because their role would have to be scrutinised as well, they have no interest in finding the truth about collusion and it’s victims even though collusion was the root cause of the troubles. It’s time we had an impartial media who don’t turn a blind eye to victims of state terrorism.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Orla
    Favourite Orla
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:41 AM

There were obviously 2 sides in the ‘conflict’, revisionist speak for terrorism, but unlike SF those groups are not seeking to govern our country. What ‘decent republicans’ can’t fathom is decent people abhor all violence and don’t justify one act of terrorism in terms of another.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:45 AM

Ive yet to see those names on a ballot in this country Ray, so why o earth would we concern ourselves with such foreign matters?

Mute Mr Phil Officer

Orla, FG/Lab/FF were involved at one stage or another in violence.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:04 AM

Tommy aka Dane. Do you condem violence from all sides.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:21 AM

Ray deflect much?

I despise all the loyalist Sk*m groups also BUT Orla has hit the nail on the head. I don’t see criminals like UVF men trying to get elected here, but I see criminal IRA men trying to get in as SF.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Favourite Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:27 AM

Orla – how did you get your freedom in the 26 Counties?

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:34 AM

Orla, ever hear of Charles Haughey and Neil Blaney? How many members of the Dáil in the 1920s were involved in the War of Independence and Civil War? Careful with your answer, wouldn’t like you to be seen as a hypocrite Orla.

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:43 AM

Greg would you you care to name those criminals?

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:51 AM

Thats right Andrew cause those people are going for election or are sitting tds now !!

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:55 AM

Greg- I met one Cllr from that background only last week on a delegation from the north in DUBLIN! Shock horror & very welcome he was also.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:57 AM

That would be of a loyalist paramilitary background !

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:11 AM

SF logic: ‘If some violence by Irish Republicans is justified, then all violence by Irish Republicans is justified (except when we say it isn’t).’

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:50 AM

“Orla – how did you get your freedom in the 26 Counties?”

Nothing to do with you, Councillor Quinn.

That was an entirely different Sinn Fein , and you know it!

Stop peddling that bull$hit.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:54 AM

What the ‘Republican Movement’ stood for during the Troubles was ‘If you disagree with us, we can always put a bullet in your head or a bomb under your car.’

There has never been a change of heart on its part: only a change of tactics.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:59 AM

Martin Ferris is one convicted criminal in Sinn Fein . Arrested for armed robbery, convicted of ira membership and was also convicted of importing arms and explosives into Ireland.

Want more?

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 3:19 PM

Armed struggle is how the 26 Counties got its freedom – terrorism in another mans words.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:25 AM

This piece is dripping with self pity. There are many men and women, men in particular, who don’t get to see their kids nearly enough because of work but Pearse seems to think he has it worse because he chose to be a TD. Utter nonsense.
    As for the usual poor picked on SF, get over yourself. SF know well the changes that need to be made to be seen as a more main stream party but they refuse or are not allowed to do it. They’ve made ground in recent years no doubt but while they have certain people in high profile positions within the party a huge portion of the population won’t vote for them.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:24 AM

Jane, everything he has said here is true. Perhaps you could just park your prejudice for once?

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:11 AM

The only way for sinn fein to move on is let Gerry Adams and all the rest of the old guard step down,they are the ones that are holding the party back from people maybe voting for them

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:05 AM

I agree with half that. I like Pearse and a few others of the new generation. I think he is good. The old terrorists and murderers need to go first as it’s not just Adams and the well known TDs like Ferris also. A lot of people in SF behind the scenes have criminal and terrorist convictions also.

The other issue is their crazy Marxist type economic policies a la Syriza in Greece and look how that worked out for the Greeks.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:10 AM

He does come across as a nice guy.

Pity about the Stolkholm syndrome. He’d make an excellent member of a new young party in Northern Ireland that is truly cross-community and represents what Republicanism should be – all inclusive, not partisan.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:58 AM

He should join the SD’s, he seems promising and SF are only holding him back.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:40 AM

He’s from Donegal, why would he make a young NI party.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:20 AM

Exactly Peter, though there are many people in the republic who do actually think Donegal is part of the north and many in Leinster House who wish it was. It would be even more easily forgotten then.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:59 AM

Andrew there are many of us who would like the north to be part of us also beleive it or not and as one island united and its going to take some very talented and centrist politicians to bring mainstream unionists into our nation and many republicans have too much hatred for them which will make it harder. I think his point is somebody like Pearse eithout much baggage could perhaps do that up north

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:28 AM

The vitriol evident in the comments section here is absolutely disgusting.

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:50 AM

Self loathing Irish men. It’s their “inner brit” trying to get out.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 12:04 PM

Shinnerbots insulting their way to a united ireland, and they wonder why everyone just laughs at them

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Jun 26th 2016, 1:54 PM

Such a sad little man Tommy…..

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:00 AM

Poor uninteresting child.
    Some people are born to be uninteresting.
    I am weeping into my porridge right now.

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:28 AM

Pearse “If you can’t stand the heat – get out of the kitchen” You are suffering from a dose of “POOR ME SYNDROME” My prescription for you is to realise that by no means are you and the rest of the TD’s in the Dail POOR financially with large salaries and expenses. How many weeks vacation ahead for ye,? 10 is it? What’s good for the goose is good for the gander.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:32 AM

Just beside Gunner Robert Curtis killed 06/02/71 can you add Vol James Saunders – Baker, aged 24, died defending the Old Park, North Belfast from loyalists burning out my family & many others – you see there are two sides to a conflict.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:59 AM

Sad to see that someone would red thumb a post highlighting two young lives lost in the conflict.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:27 AM

Malachy sorry to hear of your loss also. I’m sure if I was there I would be defending my home also and always understood why McGuinness took up a gun in Derry . I never doubt the struggle up north was hard and I am no lover of loyalist gangs or British army ……..

BUT it didn’t give SF and the IRA right to kill our people , our gardai and army, our prison officers , our nationalists and our children. Remember your organisation killed more republicans and nationalists than the Brit army did.

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Jun 26th 2016, 2:54 PM

@ Greg .. Of course it gave them the right! The right to defend themselves from being murdered.. unless you are from the 6 counties Greg you have no right to judge anyone from either side of the conflict…

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 3:25 PM

As it didn’t give the Irish security services the right to kill Hugh Hehir in Feakle, Co Clare – we all have suffered, but the opportunity exists for sometime now to bring about a new agreed Ireland. I hope I can play a part in that

Mute Denis Silver
    Favourite Denis Silver
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:16 AM

Imagine that a SF TD complains that he only gets to see his kids one day a week and that he misses seeing them growing up. Jean mcConville never got to see her kids grow up either

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:40 AM

Why is the media here only interested in certain deaths, there should be no hierarchy of victims, the Dublin/Monaghan atrocities and coverup aren’t used by the media to bash FG/Lab in fact officially the IRA are still being blamed for these bombings and other atrocities even though evidence states otherwise.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:43 AM

so you want the provos good name cleared is that it Phil? jesus wept…

Mute Mr Phil Officer
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:04 AM

Tommy all sides should be looked at.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:10 AM

Guvera, Gandhi, Doherty :D

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:17 AM

Ding!! Jean McConville namechecked. Just mention Jerry McCabe and you will have named absolutely every victim of the entire conflict (in the mind of the average free stater that is)

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:31 AM

Poor Pearse,bring out the violins for him- Big bad media,he calls for a bit of honesty,he is so funny!! SF don’t so honesty,if they did maybe more people would vote for them.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter

Hmm another Tommy talking about violins, hardly another mcdonagh alter ego. Fool.

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:57 AM

What you rambling about Jacass! Must of spoken the truth to warrant such a response-

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:59 AM

Nationalism for the sake of nationalism, empty rhetoric challenging ‘elites’, groundless populism, euro skepticism and us against them mentality.

We will wake up to realise that SF and the even more radical left are our Trump, our UKIP, our LePen – but how far will we have flown off the cliff by then? The U.K. is quickly realising that the politics of protest is all fine and well until you do yourself irreparable damage. What will it be for Ireland?

Mute ray.farrelly
    Favourite ray.farrelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:11 AM

Hopefully unification.

Mute Eel Knack Mole
    Favourite Eel Knack Mole
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:21 AM

Exactly. Unification as an end in itself.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:38 AM

Dail sits for 3 days a week, you are on 11 weeks summer holidays right now and you can claim unreceipted expenses. You have no specific qualifications for your job, you got it because you are ‘popular’. You are one of the privileged few. If you don’t like it resign.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:34 AM

He is a perfect fit for Leinster house though. Self absorbed, antenna finely tuned for any hint of criticism so he can roll out that highly polished shoulder chip of victimhood.

SF have done more to introduce the class system in this country than anyone else. Wonder where they learned that one from.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:43 AM

Pearse – why did you organise a homecoming disco for suspected Hyde Park bomber John Downey.?

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:51 AM

“Suspected Hyde Park Bomber” is this the same man that travelled in & out of the UK for years but was supposed to a wanted man – come off it – guilty by association to my party.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jun 26th 2016, 12:39 PM

But the Hyde Park bombers (Downey and/or others) *were* associated with your party. You’re all part of the same organization: the self-styled ‘Republican Movement’.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jun 26th 2016, 12:41 PM

On July 20, 1982, a car bomb left in South Carriage Drive killed the soldiers as they rode through Hyde Park in central London to the changing of the guard.

The explosion killed Roy Bright, Dennis Daly, Simon Tipper and Jeffrey Young and injured other members of the Royal Household Cavalry. Seven horses were also killed as the soldiers travelled from their barracks to Buckingham Palace. Another horse, Sefton, survived terrible injuries and became a national hero.

The investigation into the bombing led police to Downey, through fingerprints on parking tickets and a description given by witnesses of two men carrying out reconnaissance in the area before the attack.

Pearse was having a party to celebrate Downey avoiding court based on a technicality.

Mute Brendan O'Brien
    Jun 26th 2016, 12:46 PM

SF seems to expend a lot of energy on claiming that individual ‘Republicans’ were not associated with specific crimes. Clearly if they were not, other ‘Republicans’ were. It’s of little import to the victims.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Jun 26th 2016, 8:59 AM

FG O’Reilly, how’s Enda doing and the party too?

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:26 AM

That’s why Pierce you get an expense account. Mary Lou doesn’t need one. She lives less than two mile from work and should get the bus like the rest of us middle income earners!!!! USC was tempoary but your just like the rest. Now you have more of our money to spend which is ours by right to spend or save as we would like you don’t want to give it back to us. You remind me of Alan Kelly. Maybe you’ve got his office now you seem to have his attitude

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:16 AM

Ding Tir, here are a few more names of people murdered by the subversive SF/IRA organisation. NOTE: too many names to fit on this post.

Jeffery Agate
    Charles Bennett
    Anthony Berry
    John Bingham (loyalist)
    Robert Bradford (politician)
    Joe Bratty
    Andrew Burns
    Matthew Burns
    Martin Cahill
    Michael Clerkin
    Eamon Collins
    Ian Corden-Lloyd
    Corporals killings
    Murder of James Curran
    Robert Curtis
    Samuel Donegan
    Catherine Dunne
    Raymond Elder
    Gerard Evans
    Christopher Ewart-Biggs
    Gordon Hamilton Fairley
    Joseph Fenton
    Billy Fox (politician)
    Maurice Gibson
    Roger Goad
    Tony Golden
    Glenn Goodman
    Ian Gow
    Edgar Graham
    Sydney Agnew
    Frank Hand
    Alwyn Harris
    Heidi Hazell
    David Howes
    Kenneth Howorth
    Gillian Johnston
    Donald Kaberry, Baron Kaberry of Adel
    Murder of Andrew Kearney
    Doreen Knatchbull,
    Nicholas Knatchbull
    Catherine and Gerard Mahon
    William Marchant (loyalist)
    John McAnulty
    Martin McBirney
    Garda Jerry McCabe
    Robert McConnell (loyalist)
    Jean McConville
    Columba McVeigh
    Ross McWhirter
    Eoin Morley
    Louis Mountbatten
    Lenny Murphy
    Robert Nairac
    Thomas Niedermaye
    Gareth O’Connor
    Thomas Oliver
    Seamus Quaid
    Paul Quinn
    Murder of Eamon Ryan
    Kenneth Salvesen
    Robert Seymour (loyalist)
    Gary Sheehan
    Ian Shinner
    Alistair Slater
    Ray Smallwoods
    Sammy Smyth (loyalist)
    Nick Spanos and Stephen Melrose
    William J. Staunton
    James Stronge (Mid-Armagh MP)
    Norman Stronge
    Richard Sykes (diplomat)
    Stephen Tibble
    Mary Travers
    Sammy Ward
    Herbert Westmacott
    Michael Willetts
    Peter Wilson
    Derek Wood

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:44 AM

Lenny Murphy? Good man Greg. 10/10 for copy paste effort. Forgive me if I don’t shed a tear for Lenny Murphy though.

Mute Greg Kelly
    Favourite Greg Kelly
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:37 AM

I just copied and pasted the list of IRA victims of course. I hardly have all the names off hand!

But yeah I am with you on Lenny Murphy. Hardly a loss to society.

Mute tommy macdonagh
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:41 AM

will you be able to see the border from your house in the UK tyrone? isnt it befitting that in 2016 of all years the border is going back up ;)

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jun 26th 2016, 4:07 PM

What about the innocent kids who wanted to see their parents and never got a chance? What about the kids that died from SF/IRA terrorists bombings ? Piss off.

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:47 AM

Maybe if they were honest on these issues then more people would would vote for them, these issues won’t go away ,dodging and blaming everyone else won’t make them go away. Unlucky yesterday Tir in the Euros Ye were so close to getting to the quarter finals

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:33 AM

Here’s another one for you, Joseph Rafferty.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Jun 26th 2016, 9:23 AM

Pearse is the person who should replace gerry adams as leader.Theres no one to touch him in the party.Its now he should step down.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jun 26th 2016, 12:38 PM

The party would far prefer to see Martin Ferris take over from Adams, a man with true SF credentials.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Jun 26th 2016, 4:35 PM

Pearse will never be leader of SF. Big skeleton in his cupboard.

Mary Lou will never be leader of SF. The old men of the Army Council would not allow “some wee girl” to be leader. And she has no “armed struggle” credentials.

Looks like it’s got to be Gerry for the foreseeable future.

Mute Cllr Malachy Quinn
    Jun 26th 2016, 10:52 AM

Greg – Lenny Murphy ?
    Who was Lenny Murphy?
    Can you please tell that?

Mute Andrew Corcoran
    Jun 26th 2016, 11:04 AM

He wouldn’t know Malachy. Google is your friend Greg.

Mute Ban Bloodsports
    Favourite Ban Bloodsports
    Jun 26th 2016, 5:12 PM

Sinn Fein, shamefully, is opposing Deputy Maureen O’Sullivan’s Bill to ban hare coursing, and it’s all down to Martin Ferris, a hare coursing fan. He seems to have huge influence in the party on this issue. In 2009, Sinn Fein actually had a policy of opposing hare coursing, but in 2010, Martin Ferris made sure to have this policy overturned. According to Margaret Pearse, both her brothers, Padraic and Willie, would have wanted hare coursing, a barbaric tradition brought here by the Brits, outlawed. Martin Ferris & Co. should take that on board, if they have any kind of true and genuine respect for our 1916 patriots and martyrs. And of course, Fianna Fail and Fine Gael are no better, supporting this backwoods barbarism. The whole lot of them are a disgrace. Of course, hares are only animals and the majority of our politicians have zilch compassion for abused animals. Hare coursing and foxhunting are specially exempted from prosecution in the Animal Health & Welfare Act – that speaks volumes!!

Mute Tríona Ní Cearbhaill
    Favourite Tríona Ní Cearbhaill
    Jun 26th 2016, 1:45 PM

If northern Ireland votes to join the republic we are going to need Sinn Féin. They are the only all Ireland party in the country. They are the best and only party who will know how to integrate 2 very different systems as efficiently as possible. If northern Ireland joins the republic, FG, FF and the unionists will have no clue what to do and they will be stubborn about their own self interests!

We are lucky to have one party who stood by both sides of Ireland all this time!

Mute Tommy Doran
    Favourite Tommy Doran
    Jun 26th 2016, 3:46 PM

Jesus I hope you are messing,imagine that lot running the country,we would be back in the dark ages. NI needs to stand on its 2 feet, we have enough layabouts down here without getting involved with them. There a separate country now and hopefully for our sake it stays that way

Mute Conall Mac Loingsigh
    Favourite Conall Mac Loingsigh
    Jun 27th 2016, 12:10 PM

Anyone else read this in his voice?