You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sssshh! Apple are being very secretive about a 9 September product launch

‘*cough* iPhone 6 *cough*’.

10592660_664436813654645_775243740622244928_n Facebook / Apple Inc. Facebook / Apple Inc. / Apple Inc.

APPLE HAS SENT out invitations to the press for a product launch event on 9 September.

The event will be held at the Flint Center in Cupertino, California at 10am local-time.

The famously secretive company offered scant clues in emailed invites that showed the date in large numbers over the words: “Wish we could say more.”

It doesn’t take a genius to guess that it’ll be for the new iPhone. But Apple might surprise us by debuting its new wearable computer, the so-called iWatch, as Re/code’s John Paczkowski reported yesterday.

What can you expect from the new iPhone? By now,the reports and rumors are too numerous and consistent to consider them to be anything but the truth. Apple will very likely introduce two new iPhones — one with a 12cm screen and one with a 14cm screen.

These are both larger than the current iPhone 5S which has screen just larger than 10cm. A new iOS8 system is also expected to be debuted along with the new phones.

The new design has leaked out several times. It’ll probably look something like this:

PastedImage-77725 Youtube / ConceptsiPhone Youtube / ConceptsiPhone / ConceptsiPhone

Last year, Apple also unveiled the iPhone 5S and the lower-priced iPhone 5C in a September launch, setting sales records in the process.

- Steve Kovach

- Additional reporting from © – AFP 2014

Read: Apps taking up too much space? Here’s how you can create a web shortcut instead >

Read: 12 deadly things you didn’t know your phone could do >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Published with permission from
View 83 comments
83 Comments
    Mute Conor McK
    Favourite Conor McK
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:53 PM

The winner of the smartest smart phone will go to whoever makes a battery that can last longer than a day.

Remember the blockias? You’d find one in the pocket of your debs jacket from 10 years ago – going strong with two bars of charge on it.

Mute Tara
    Favourite Tara
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:50 PM

Oneplus one phones have the best batteries I’ve seen yet. 3100mAh battery, and not too expensive compared to other smartphones. Hard to source though!

Mute James Lyons
    Favourite James Lyons
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:58 PM

I’ve a HTC one M8 and the battery is unbelievable. I’m 40 hours since my last charge and still have 16%

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:04 PM

Tara check out the THL 5000 smartphone. Has a 5000 mAh battery.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:52 AM

Just buy one you can swap a battery into.

Mute Daddy De La Noche
    Favourite Daddy De La Noche
    Aug 29th 2014, 9:38 AM

I think you’ll find that BlackBerry has achieved this with their BB10 devices because my Q10 lasts an entire day with heavy used and is at around 30-40% at around 1am, they deserve a lot of credit for making a phone last so long with such use

Mute Shirley
    Favourite Shirley
    Aug 29th 2014, 11:57 AM

The Z2 has the same battery as one plus one, and with the Z3 out in September, could be a better one !!!

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Aug 28th 2014, 8:40 PM

It going to have some serious 6 appeal by all accounts. ….

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Aug 28th 2014, 8:50 PM

And issues with battery life, power and headphone cables that will fall apart after 6 months

Mute potatoman
    Favourite potatoman
    Aug 28th 2014, 8:53 PM

In other words… You want one.

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:54 PM

We allll want one! I’m salivating with a hideous dose of first world consumerism! I waaaaaannnnt it!!!!

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:54 PM

Kitty, it has a super strong vibrate function.

Mute Daddy De La Noche
    Favourite Daddy De La Noche
    Aug 29th 2014, 9:42 AM

I don’t know why apple get away with the cables and batteries breaking after 6 months, my earphones are fine though thankfully, but my USB cable broke a few weeks back, I got a really durable one on eBay and not only does it feel more durable but it has stopped my iPhone from overheating when charging it, there were days I couldn’t touch my iPhone while it was charging because it was so hot but couldn’t leave it’s side in case my bed caught fire because it was that hot, but since I got the new cable from a different manufacturer in Dublin my phone hasn’t overheated, the same with my sisters 5s, it used to worry her too

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:05 PM

iPhones are like the Porsche of phones.. They all look the feckin same!!

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:11 PM

They’re more like the Alfa Romeo of mobile phones. They look great but they’re really a bit sh!t.

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:20 PM

That’s what some people think but I’ve had mine the past 7 months with very little problems. There’s a good few things you can do to make you’re battery last longer but most people couldn’t be bothered or don’t know how to do them..

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:56 PM

Porsche you say paperboy? All look the same… but drive like a dream??!! ;-)))

Mute Stephen Earle
    Favourite Stephen Earle
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:58 PM

I agree with the paperboy, i have had iphones from the first and none have ever let me down. Look after them and they will last for years

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:00 PM

I had the 4s for a couple of years. Never had a problem with it.

Have had the Sony Z1 this past year or so. Again, I’ve had no problems with it.

To be honest, they’re all pretty much the same.

Mute paperboy
    Favourite paperboy
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:09 PM

You could be right Doc I wouldn’t really know as I’ve only had budget smart phones up until I got the 4s and they were all sh*t.. I paid good money for the 4s so I’m looking after properly and having basically no problems, only problem is that it closed apps by itself but only sometimes. It’s honestly people that don’t know how to use them that give them a bad name…

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:21 PM

They all shut down apps every now and again. No big worries there.

And yeah, the budget androids are pretty crap. The 4s is a good phone though. The only thing I didn’t like about iPhones was the small screen but it appears they have remedied that now with the iPhone 6. Might be tempted back next year.

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:59 PM

The budget androids are not crap. Sent from my Chinese Cubot x6. Check its reviews out. Had a Samsung s3 before and the phone is just as good if not better. Changed as screen smashed on old phone and 140 euro to fix. Cubot was 150 delivered so couldn’t go wrong. Well happy. Won’t be a sucker for overpriced phones again. Chinese phones from now on.

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:21 PM

Tbh I’ve never seen one of the Chinese phones. I’ll check them out. I meant the cheap 80 euro Samsung and Sony type phones when I said budget phones. The ones with the horrible screens.

Mute stephen connolly
    Favourite stephen connolly
    Aug 29th 2014, 7:22 AM

Their battery lasts about as long as a Lada

Mute Gooney
    Favourite Gooney
    Aug 28th 2014, 8:54 PM

I went from the iPhone to the S3 and found it to be very buggy and also the build quality to terrible.After 3 months the phone took on a lot of wear and looked much older than it was. With that said I will be going back to the iPhone despite the heavy price tag!

Mute Cpm
    Favourite Cpm
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:38 PM

Pssst… there are other phone manufacturers, Sparky

Mute Eánna Ó Corra
    Favourite Eánna Ó Corra
    Aug 28th 2014, 8:39 PM

Will never be as good as Samsung!!!!

Mute Michael
    Favourite Michael
    Aug 28th 2014, 8:49 PM

Try the htc m8

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:39 PM

Looks very like a Samsung galaxy s5 with a round home button.

Mute Paul O Mahony
    Favourite Paul O Mahony
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:49 PM

More like it looks like an iPhone 5 and 5s. Which must mean the new Galaxy looks like them ?

Mute Stephen Earle
    Favourite Stephen Earle
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:56 PM

Samsung did steal many of apples patents, so i suppose it did help samsung make a better phone than they could have done by themselves.

Mute neeneee
    Favourite neeneee
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:47 PM

Stepehen you’re a man that talks some sense

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:09 PM

Ah yes Samdung, the cheap, plastic copy of the iPhone !

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:13 PM

I’d take Samsung over apple any day of the week. Hate my wifes iPhone 4s

Mute Darren Doheny
    Favourite Darren Doheny
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:11 AM

I love this debate because it’s not actually opinion. The iPhone beats all it’s rivals for reliability and it’s backed up by facts. So you can like an android but you can’t say it’s better.

Mute potatoman
    Favourite potatoman
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:21 AM

Samsung? Samdung more like! (Although their TVs kick ass in fairness)

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Aug 29th 2014, 8:18 AM

What a stupid comment. Loads of people can and do say android is better. It’s called opinion. IPhone is catching up though with every need release of IOS. In a couple of more releases it’ll be a functional as android.

Mute Darren Doheny
    Favourite Darren Doheny
    Aug 29th 2014, 8:45 AM

But it’s still built on Android and it’s not going to be as reliable because Android biggest strength is it’s open source and unrestricted nature but it’s the biggest weakness too.

Mute Loop De Loop
    Favourite Loop De Loop
    Aug 29th 2014, 10:19 AM

iPhone is catching up ?? LOL.

Mute thefunnyman
    Favourite thefunnyman
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:19 PM

Dear apple please make it child proof… The man who repairs my phone every other week will be able to retire early because of my wee mans phone bashing abilities..

Mute ohmadge85
    Favourite ohmadge85
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:30 PM

Invest in an Otterbox defender, makes the phone virtually indestructible. My antique iphone 4 (not even a 4s!) is still perfect after 2+ years, despite having been dropped on tiles, thrown at walls by smallies and generally abused. They are a little pricey but totally worth it!

Mute thefunnyman
    Favourite thefunnyman
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:51 PM

Good work … Had a gum drop but he’s well able for it I’ll take a look at the otter, cheers

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:35 AM

I’ve been using defenders for years. I’m like a walking advert for them–constantly dropping my phone just to demonstrate the virtues of otter box.

Mute mamaise
    Favourite mamaise
    Aug 29th 2014, 1:07 AM

Cheap enough on amazon

Mute That's a paddlin'
    Favourite That's a paddlin'
    Aug 29th 2014, 1:23 AM

The Otterbox Commuter is actually a nicer case imo. Its much more streamline but will still take a serious bashing. There are videos on youtube of a lad chucking a phone with it off a 3 storey building on to concrete and it just bounced without a scratch to the phone.

Mute Gary Brandon
    Favourite Gary Brandon
    Aug 29th 2014, 2:38 AM

Control your children

Mute STEVE
    Favourite STEVE
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:07 PM

I swapped my iPhone 5 for a htc one mini 2. Swapped back after a week. Any one wanna buy a htc one mini 2 going cheeeeeap

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:14 PM

If its a htc one M8, defo take u up .. details please :)

Mute STEVE
    Favourite STEVE
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:54 PM

It’s the mini version if the m8

Mute Niall Waters
    Favourite Niall Waters
    Aug 28th 2014, 8:51 PM

There are few people on this earth more boring than those who get excited about technology.

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:17 PM

What about people who don’t get excited about anything ? They’d be fairly boring I’d say.

Mute Ivan
    Favourite Ivan
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:54 PM

Or people that don’t get excited at all?

Mute Trevor Weafer
    Favourite Trevor Weafer
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:16 PM

Each to their own. I’m sure you have excitements others find boring.

Mute Darren Doheny
    Favourite Darren Doheny
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:13 AM

People in fields looking off into the distance while photos are taken of them.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:53 PM

Can you make and receive phone calls with this forthcoming iPhone 6?

Mute Damien Treacy
    Favourite Damien Treacy
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:45 PM

Had an iPhone and switched over to Galaxy S2. Never looked back. Now own Note 3.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:03 PM

Samsung and HTC make superior phones. But that isn’t relevant to iSheep because they don’t have an apple on the back. That symbol is more important than any screen, or flash player, or quad-core processor, or day long battery life, or price advantage, or customisation capability. The iPhone will always win out to them.

Mute Mick Wall
    Favourite Mick Wall
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:35 PM

Flash player has not been supported on the last number of android releases, where it is it destroys battery life. Quad core is great, but having 4 cores does not always equal performance. The 64bit processor in the 5s out performs many quad ore processors. Plus, any device is only as powerful as the tasks it performs that a particular user needs. ios support for musical equipment integration for instance is something that android users are still waiting for and may never come. Current software updates is another area that apple leaves android in the dust, I bought an android tablet in January, it’s on 4.2 and will never see 4.4. ios 7 supported back as far as the iphone 4. Android is fine. But unless you but a nexus device there is no guarantee of future software support.

Mute Colin Quinn
    Favourite Colin Quinn
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:15 AM

Well JJ i’ve an iPhone 5S and on average charge it maybe once every 2 days and maybe every day an a half if i use it heavily. Processor on it is absolutely top notch.Have never had an issue with apps crashing, freezing or causing glitches on the phone. The syncing services on iOS devices are a helluva alot better than what android has to offer. Can take a photo on the phone and it’ll pop up on my ipad in seconds.Messages will pop up on both devices etc. Could go on but think there’s no need to :-) iPhone 5S is my first iPhone after moving from a Samsung which twice wiped my entire phone clean on its own and had an issue with the USB port where it wouldnt charge and if it did manage to charge the battery would last 4 hours. HTC and the new Nokia’s do look like they are pretty good but for now i’m happy with my iPhone ;-)

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:07 PM

Ok I’m just gonna say it, I’m an android user. Currently have a HTC One M8 and it’s by miles the best phone I’ve ever had. That said, I always used to look forward to the new iPhone launch because there was always something innovative and new in each model. Sadly not since the 4s has there been an update or new feature worth getting excited about. The 5c and 5s are both dreadfully disappointing I honestly hope there’s something in the 6 to make it worth the hype. Innovate here guys find a USP and work it. Somebody said it earlier, at Apple its litigate not innovate.

Mute Mick Wall
    Favourite Mick Wall
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:40 PM

What about the first 64bit chip and os to market? Something a year later android still hasn’t matched. Where’s the innovation in the galaxy line? A bigger screen and a poorer implementation of a finger print reader? That’d hardly innovation.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:50 PM

Fair point mick but look what android can do I watched inbetweeners 2 streamed from my brothers samsung last night we watch bt sports sky sports showbox download movies music all for free . My I phone 5s makes calls e mails and talk to other apple sheep like u. My I phone feels nicer looks nicer moves nicer but really does fu:; all else more

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:59 PM

iPhone is over priced and your too tied in to apple who think style and marketing is all that needed to flog old technology

So they are copying android screen size wow just wow. About 5 years behind other phone makers and user demand

Mute Mick Wall
    Favourite Mick Wall
    Aug 29th 2014, 7:36 AM

The sky services are available on the iphone also. Streamed to what? I can stream to an Apple TV. Download torrents? Along with the 95% of mobile malware that attacks android. Apple sheep. Give me a break. Apple makes high quality products, some people like them some don’t. Neither group are sheep.

Mute Mick Wall
    Favourite Mick Wall
    Aug 29th 2014, 7:39 AM

Tom. All top tier phones are priced around the same off contract. Old tech, bollix, they’re ahead on everything but screen size, and the need for larger screens is subjective. Android was a blackberry knockoff until Google saw the iphone, then it became an iphone knockoff.

Mute richard fennessy
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:29 PM

It’s scary and wrong how the cult of Apple is so strong (wrote on my I phone)

Mute Gabrielle
    Favourite Gabrielle
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:00 PM

Motorola moto g ,is worth a punt, I got one after my last I phone 4 bit the dust and I think it’s the best phone I have ever had, it has replaced my iPad for casual browsing since I got it and the android OS is impressive.

Mute Jangles
    Favourite Jangles
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:39 AM

And theres a new model out now with SD card slot and 4G ready. Original was/is a great phone anyway.

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:06 PM

When can we expect it to go on sale here, though?

Mute Diarmuid Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Lenihan
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:18 PM

Mid October they’re saying, usually about a month after the states.

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:21 PM

Grand. My antique iPhone 4 can hold out that long.

Mute John Judd
    Favourite John Judd
    Aug 28th 2014, 10:36 PM

OMG it’s only a phone !

Mute Elaine daly
    Favourite Elaine daly
    Aug 28th 2014, 9:47 PM

My guess is 9.9.14 turn it upside down and it will something like apple 6.6 new iphone with some sort of reference id say but I may be wrong .

Mute Barry Bruen
    Favourite Barry Bruen
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:29 AM

It’s been speculated that it’s referring to the two iPhone 6 models, 4.7″ & 5.5″. Also the Apple logo looks like a sundial which could point to the rumoured iWatch.

Mute jimmy collins
    Favourite jimmy collins
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:33 AM

For battery life u can’t beat the galaxy s5 in ultra power saving mode,

Mute Michael O'Neill
    Favourite Michael O'Neill
    Aug 29th 2014, 8:56 AM

All these comments with people posting love or hate for a particular platform. We’d all be worse off if there was only IOS or only android.

The manufacturers constantly have to work to improve their devices. That’s only good for the consumer.

I prefer one device too. But I’m glad the competition exists. It means each new model of my device has to be better.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:13 AM

Advertorial…

Churnalism…

Seriously Journal! Tell them to buy some advertising like everyone else. At least get some money from Apple, cos they’re going to make a fortune from the iDrones.

Mute potatoman
    Favourite potatoman
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:20 AM

Ironically enough, do you know what’s becoming a bit clichéd? Expressions like iDrones, iSheep etc.

Mute Brian Griffin
    Favourite Brian Griffin
    Aug 29th 2014, 12:13 PM

I’m more excited about OSX Yosemite. It looks beautiful! & It’s free :D

Mute Philip Nicholls
    Favourite Philip Nicholls
    Aug 29th 2014, 11:06 AM

can’t wait to get an IPhone 6, I’ll be one of the first in line to upgrade from my 5

Mute richard fennessy
    Aug 28th 2014, 11:55 PM

Have my I pad jail broken. It is such a contradiction buy apple and change it against there wishes to make it better we r being treated like mugs by Apple . Fashion accessories. Fuc;() 2 year contracts (not apples fault) can’t wait to get out of it

Mute Jonathan O' Connor
    Favourite Jonathan O' Connor
    Aug 29th 2014, 8:13 AM

*September 9th

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Aug 29th 2014, 9:28 AM

Omg. I want one