You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IRELAND COULD HAVE an ‘air bridge’ with France, Portugal, Germany, and perhaps Greece, according to senior sources.
An “air bridge” is an agreement between two countries which have coronavirus under control or at the same level as one another. Such an agreement opens up travel between the two countries.
The EU has encouraged member states to seek out ‘air bridge’ agreements in order to allow for some travel for citizens during the summer months and beyond.
While none-essential travel is still not recommended by government, Health Minister Simon Harris has said it is not illegal to travel abroad.
Air bridges are being discussed across Europe, with the Taoiseach speaking this week about the possibility of Ireland striking such deals.
According to senior government sources, a list of possible countries has been drawn up.
Top of the list are countries such as Germany and France, but it is believed that Portugal, Greece, and Eastern European countries such as Croatia are also being considered.
Sources state that Irish tourists could be allowed fly to these countries, due to them having similar coronavirus numbers as in Ireland.
However, officials have stated that it is difficult to judge what countries Ireland can be matched with due to the disparity in how European countries count and record Covid-19 cases.
This week, Varadkar quoted Greece and Portugal as two countries that could welcome Irish tourists – but places like Spain and Italy with much worse Covid-19 records are unlikely to be included.
“The position we would like to get to, later in the year, hopefully later in the summer, is being able to travel point to point between Ireland and other countries where the virus is successfully suppressed like Portugal as you mentioned and maybe Greece.
“That’s now being coordinated on a European wide level which I think is the best way forward.”
Health Minister Simon Harris said air bridges or “travel bubbles” could be an option in the future.
“We may decide there is no greater chance of you getting the virus in one country than it is going to Kerry… we are not saying that now and we are not at that point now but it is a point we could end up at over the course of the next while,” he said.
There is another problem facing the government if and when it announces an air bridge with other countries: The problem is Britain.
Senior sources state there is a “sensitivity issue” in how to handle any air bridge list that might exclude Britain.
Much criticism has been leveled at Britain and how it handled the coronavirus outbreak.
Due to the high number of cases across the Irish sea, “the last thing we need is British tourists flocking here or for our own citizens to travel over there”, as one minister stated.
However, there are concerns about how the government would handle the matter, whereby Ireland could have air bridge deals with countries outside the Common Travel Area, and not with Britain.
Speaking about air travel in an interview with Pat Kenny on Virgin Media One on Friday, Varadkar said “that’s a bit away yet”.
However, when announcing the government’s revised roadmap for Phase 2 of the easing of the lockdown, he gave some hope to holidaymakers that the “summer is not yet lost”.
The Taoiseach said people being asked to self-quarantine when they arrive in Ireland remains in place.
However, while there had been some speculation about the government putting such guidance on a legal footing, making it mandatory, that seems to be off the cards now.
There had been concerns among some Cabinet ministers that making it mandatory for Irish citizens or visitors into the country to self isolate would be a “step too far”.
The Chief Medical Officer Tony Holohan had also recommended designated facilities might be used for the 14-day period, something that if given the green light would have possibly caused a major split around the Cabinet table.
In what could be seen as a u-turn on the issue, Harris has said that “at the moment, I am satisfied with where we are” with the guidance on the 14-day quarantine period.
The government has put the passenger locator form on a statutory footing, meaning it is now an offence for someone to refuse to give their name and address of where they are staying. Gardaí can do “spot-checks” as a result, said the minister,stating he is satisfied that is enough for now.
“I have said I would finalise my position on it this month and if there is a need to do more,” said Harris.
“As of now there is is very little travel… I am keeping an open mind as to whether further measures are needed,” the minister said.
When asked about some airlines sending marketing emails to customers stating that flights to places like Portugal would soon be available to book, Harris said it was inappropriate.
“I take my travel advice from public health experts. Now is not the appropriate time to take non-essential trips abroad.
“We all love our summer holidays but now is not the right time to go,” he said.
He said he would like to see airlines who send marketing emails to include advice to customers that there is a 14-day quarantine period in Ireland once you arrive home, but he didn’t think airlines would ever include that on their advertising.
Harris said he could not predict when the foreign travel restrictions would be lifted but said the government would not keep them in place for any longer than is necessary.
Staycations in Ireland could be allowed in Phase 3, said Harris, stating:
“This is the summer where the staycation is much more likely than trips abroad.”
The minister did clarify that it is not against the law currently to travel abroad and said people travelling to the airport would not be stopped by gardaí and ordered not to travel.
“There is no law against travelling aboard… it is public health advice,” he said.
However, under Phase 2, government advice is for members of the public to travel within their own county, or around their homes to a distance of up to 20km within a neighbouring county.
When asked about people flying off to stay in their holiday homes abroad, people who might be happy to adhere to the the 14-day self isolation rule upon their arrival back in Ireland, Harris said: “We are asking people not to do that.”
“We have gotten through this with people working together,” he said.
So far, he said, people had used their heads and listened to the public health advice from doctors.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
52 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
My God the media doing it’s job for once, take a look at the story in the Washington Post, it quite rightly says FF and FG only got involved in the campaign actively when they saw it was definitely popular.
You’d swear by the way fine Gael and labour are celebrating they have won the general election. I didn’t vote yes for Enda or Joan I voted for the gay people of ireland. So Joan and Enda fxxk off this is not a victory for you or your parties,it’s a victory for the ordinary citizens of this country.
Hugh ‘I love Fine Gael’ O’Connell wrote this. Of course he is going to leave out the people actually responsible for this monumental achievement and substitute Enda Kenny, the man who nearly clatered himself over a flower pot while trying to run away from this question. Also don’t forget back before Rabbitte made his exit Enda said this was not even something he cared at all about! Enda should not even be mentioned in this article, and he would not have been if his own personal cheerleader wasn’t writing this muck!
At least 80% of which were heterosexual. Think about that, over a million people coming out to vote for something where they’ve personally nothing at all to gain.
Ryan Anth, I gained by the fact that at 35 years married, my marriage is no longer a discriminatory institution, I can look my gay brothers and sisters in the eye and say you were always equall but at long last we have given legal recognition to equality.
We love in a better Ireland and it is a better Ireland because of the magnificent and invaluable contribution of gay people to Ireland and to Irish society.
Yesterday we United and left the homophobes subdued.
He was already associated with a group calling for that:
“…documents in the Irish Queer Archive detail correspondence between the International Gay Association and its support for a controversial paedophile group.
The association was based at the Hirschfeld Centre, Dublin, which was founded, funded and run by Mr Norris, who claimed in the Seanad that he wrote ‘one of three
papers which led… to the foundation of the association’.
It was an umbrella group for organisations around the world, including the National Gay Federation in Ireland, with which Mr Norris was also involved. Documents show that Mr Norris attended its workshops on behalf of the National Gay Front.
“He released the safest letters to be published. The ones that made people angry included stuff that wasn’t appropriate. It was stuff similar to what had been in the Helen Lucy Burke interview – more controversial views on underage sex.”
The Mail on Sunday uncovered the minutes of the first meeting of the Union for Sexual Freedom in the National Library of Ireland on May 10, 1975. The minutes stated “David said as a child it had been his greatest desire to be molested so he, more than most people, knows the rarity of the homosexual child molester.”
The newspaper also mentions Norris’ support for a pro-pedophile organization in the 1980s called the Paedophile Information Exchange. Norris was a founding member of the International Gay Association in the 1980s and passed two motions.
Show where the “hate” is, so far you and the “YES” voters are the only ones to spew hate. You are sick of people showing the truth because it disrupts your cosy vision of life. How tolerant of you.
I can’t remember seeing him during campaign? If he decided to keep a low profile to minimise risk to yes vote, then fair play to him. No offense intended, by the way.
I nominate all the normal Mammies and Daddies of Ireland I met on the campaign who despite being deeply religious were voting Yes because they felt it was the right thing to do. I know for a lot of them it wasn’t easy so I salute them.
Ailbhe o’ Nolan, deserves to be on that list she put in a relentless super human effort in helping to bring about equality for the LGBT community in ireland.
I am also nominating and giving out a HUGE shout out to #TeamAwesome, the canvassing team in Dublin South-West. We were formed by Katherine Zappone and went on our first canvass in a snowstorm in February. Directed by Darragh Gennocky, we knocked on 25,000 doors and had 11,000 conversations. We were still canvassing in Tallaght on Friday from 7am until 9.30pm.
To Sean, Shane, Steph, Jo, Neil, Niall, Caroline, Ruth, Adam, Ann, Martin, Geraldine, Brendan, Phil, Derek, Ailbhe, my lovely wife Philippa, our daughter Jenny and many many more – WE WON!!!!!!!
I had the pleasure of getting to meet Ailbhe this evening, was glad to finally get to give her a hug! I shall take this opportunity to add to this outpouring of appreciation for her – she deserves it!
Eh, what?!?!?!?! Martin look what you started. I won’t be able to fit through doors cos my head has swelled so much.
Thank you all but it is undeserved. I was just stubborn, that’s all.
The person I would add to this list is Max Krzyzanowski for his work with LGBT Noise over the years. His unfailing determination and untold eloquence. What a man.
Yes Ailbhe!! Max Krzyzanowski has been on Vincent Browne, Newstalk 102, BBC Radio 2, and countless out her outlets passionately, informedly and articulately campaigning for the Yes side! For me he should be first on this list!!
I second all the shout-outs for Ailbhe, but would like to add Anthony Lang to that as well. He appeared as a new commenter on the journal and has tirelessly, calmly and reasonably argued the cause for equality. Anthony, I wouldn’t be surprised if you influenced quite a few men in your age-group to see things differently :)
Eamonn Farrell should be on that list. My drama teacher for 10 years and a kinder or friendlier guy you won’t find. Shaped thousands of kids’ positive outlook from their time in NPAS, instilled confidence in the people he taught and was advocating for this long before it become popular to. Delighted for him, his husband, and every other Irish person who were finally placed on an even footing!
Maynooths Welfare Officer Síona Cahill and the rest of the staff at Maynooth SU. Outstanding work all year getting students registered & more importantly actually getting them to use their vote & Síona was the one who came up with #MakeGraTheLaw which ended up being the USI’s main campaign slogan!!
I was just about to comment about Síona! She did an amazing job in Maynooth! She got over 3,000 students registered to vote and the #MakeGráTheLaw was genius
Getting out the youth vote was critical to this. Nice to see a union engaging in politics that has a real effect on peoples lives instead of farting around banning softdrinks from their newsagents as they used to in years past.
Síona definitely deserved a mention not only was she behind #MakeGraTheLaw and but also #PollingBoothPickUpLines which provided some lighthearted humour on a very stressful day for all involved in the campaign. She was named welfare officer of the year and registered thousands of students in Maynooth to vote and encouraged them to use their votes not only did she do that but she also helped sort out lifts to leixlip for postal voters who couldn’t make it home due to exams. She’s inspired many people in Maynooth university that the student body passed our own referendum about what stance the SU would take on supporting the referendum which passed at 91% . She tirelessly campaigned through out the term putting up posters around Maynooth town and supported a lot of other campaigns in Maynooth doing all this as well as being on hand to students almost 24/7 with any other questions or problems they had. She’s truly inspirational.
Veteran (she’ll hate me calling her that) equality campaiger @IzzyKamikaze who campaigned tirelessly and with unending civility in face of adversity. She definitely deserves a spot on ur list.
Interesting observations about Fianna Fail and their useless fence sitting. Can we not just consign Fianna Fail to the dust bin of history. Surely the few decent ones would be welcomed by another party of their choice.
Averil Power went up hugely in my estimation during the SSM Referendum campaign. Have no idea what she is doing in Fianna Fail.
Fianna Fail’s fence sitting is just so typical of them. Opportunistic to the core, they want to be on the SSM Yes bandwagon, but don’t want to piss off their core rural voters, who are more likely to vote No.
And you’ve clearly no idea what you are talking about. In any case it doesn’t matter a jot now. ‘Yes’ won the day. Sorry a drag queen made you so uncomfortable. Go Panti!
Uncomfortable no. Just think he’s not a great representative to have. Don’t forget who voted yes. And it is a great day for equality and with the world watching.
Homosexuality is the rare condition in nature which proves the rule that in fact it is not the norm, meaning therefore it is not the natural condition, furthermore it has been shown that an increase in certain pollutant chemicals in the ecosystem has led to increase in abnormal special sexualities, again unnatural and a result from human detrimental effects on our natural environment.
Having trouble finding the published article, can you provide a link? It would be interesting to look at the methodology and control that was used and also peer reviews.
What does indicate some element of prejudgment is Richard Ryan’s liberal use of the term “homophobia.” Scientifically a phobia is a medical condition, homophobia is a political term.
Hypocritical how more often than not the “YES” voters don’t have provide citations or sources for their comments but always insist on others doing so, and I will:
two major reviews have revealed that the chemicals are having a much greater impact on animal behaviour than anyone suspected. Low concentrations of these pollutants are changing both the social and mating behaviours of a raft of species. This potentially poses a far greater threat to survival than, for example, falling sperm counts caused by higher chemical concentrations.
Researchers have also shown that increasing numbers of male western gulls hatched from eggs exposed to DDT attempt to mate with each other. In recent years, scientists have also found that lead affects the balance of gulls, while atrazine makes goldfish hyperactive and the chemical TCDD makes the play behaviour in macaques rougher. http://www.newscientist.com/article/dn6343-pollution-triggers-bizarre-behaviour-in-animals.html#.VWHrZag1jGg
The omnipresence of these chemicals and their engineered potency make them prime suspects in a global epidemic of gender-bending aberrations observed in wildlife as well as people.
In Florida, as many as 40 per cent of “male” cane toads in agricultural counties were found to be hermaphrodites. So, in Canada, were a smaller number of polar bears. … Lyons’s summary, for a British foundation, reported observations of abnormal testes in fish, frogs, turtles, birds, bears, mink, sea lions, whales and panthers; other physical deformities in the genitalia of alligators, otters and polar bears; and precursor proteins to egg-laying in otherwise male fish, amphibians and birds. http://thetyee.ca/News/2013/06/17/Gender-Bending-Chemicals/
YEARS FROM NOW MANY HERE CELEBRATING WILL DENY THEY EVER VOTED “YES”
A shameful day for all “YES” voters who in years to come will be pleading how they voted “NO” when the scandals of a new humans-to-order industry unfold. A shameful day for Ireland going from one child abuse scandal to investing in a future child abuse scandal which will be far larger. Children bought and sold on the desires of adults, people in foreign countries used as baby factories and their psychological needs trampled on, Ireland has given the green light to the objectification of humanity, a leader it would seem today, in the degeneracy of what is precious and humane, the green light for big business and paedophile rings to serve up their human cargo and lay waste to little children who have nobody to speak for them. Disgusted with the LGBT lobby, their Huxleyite tyranny and the unthinking masses who bought their lies and emotional manipulative “equality” buzzword lie. Extremely sad at the future children who are going to have a world inside their heads of complete darkness and misery leading to abuse or murder of them. Just horrible and all the triumphalist “YES” voters here are responsible, enjoy your false and adult-centric selfish celebration, in years to come these words will haunt those of you who still have an independent brain and conscience. There will be many of the “YES” voters, denying they ever bought the deception of the word “equality” and who voted “YES”.
Lasair , I think you need to let it go now , the people have voted , all you can do now is accept it . really it doesn’t affect you so don’t worry about it .
I never accept anything that is wrong, whether 1 or 1million vote for it. This is clearly wrong, the battle has only begun and this merely a campaign in a wider war. Anything that affects and enables the exploitation and harm to children concerns all people of conscience. This doesn’t end here.
@ Lasair “Anything that affects and enables the exploitation and harm to children concerns all people of conscience” Says the man who campaigned for a no vote in other to facilitate hateful organisations such as Iona, mothers and fathers matter / the catholic church who have openly admitted that they believe it show be written in to our constitution that a child should be raised by a mother and father. In order so that they can pursue their true agenda and go back to the days where babies were snatched from their single mothers arms and sold of to the highest bider in the name of giving them a mother and father. While completely engorging the notorious track record of abusing and facilitating the abuse of children by the church. The Irish People have seen through your lies and have spoken. You have lost your war against single parents, gay parents and their children. Never again will the catholic church get their hands on the vulnerable children of Ireland. Shame on you sir sham on you.
How bitter are you hugh not to mention gerry adams who has been calling for the rights of the lgbt commuinity for the last 40 years and the work he has done up north for this cause ,as it stands gerry is pushing for the same rights that lgbt got today for the whole island of ireland ,but dont let your bitterness and twisted fine gael logic get in the way of endas agenda
Labour asses are been wipped in carlow and kilkenny while fine gael have had so far at least 18% of their vote taken back by the people ,
If i could be gay for a day it would be today
Thank god im nursing a hangover and wont be out of the house tonight
How many days was Enda out canvassing? Did he canvass across the country? How many debates, televised or not did he take part in? you are taking the piss, journal
Darragh Genockey worked his socks off along side Katherine Zappone, organising the Yes Equality campaign in Dublin South West. You only have to look at the numbers of people who came out to vote in areas such as Jobstown and Killinarden to see the hard work paid off.
People are celebrating, and for what? Down the line here there will be children that are going suffer as a result of this awful decision. God help this country.
I know, I know… Those homosexuals all have an agenda that involves brainwashing or converting children to their ways! Oh wait….that’s religion I was thinking of. Sorry.
A child needs a mother and a father. If you put a child with two men or two women the child will not have a balanced upbringing. It’s not natural in my opinion.
And same sex parenting had nothing to do with the referendum Rambotious. Nobody was being asked for their opinion on same sex parenting, only on civil marriage equality. A no vote would never have had any impact on same sex parenting, and regardless, the research shows children raised by same sex parents do just as well as kids raised by heterosexual parents… So your opinion is misguided, not based in fact at all. A yes vote was the right vote. It offers more protection for families, and sends a great message to young lgbt people that their love and relationships are just as worthy of protection and recognition as their peers.
Indirectly this referendum had everything to do with same sex parenting and you know it. you can argue all you want but im entitled to my opinion. As mammals we were built a particular way, physically and mentally to look after children. Allowing equal rights to allow children to be placed in imbalanced relationships is wrong
A child needs unconditional love…It doesn’t matter where they are getting it from – a mum and a dad, two mums, two dads, one mum or one dad. Ps… Jesus had two dads. Just saying
Your right Annette they do need love but they also need lots of other things provided by both a male and female influence (ie as nature intended) . Again I must state that this is only my opinion.
“Allowing equal rights to allow children to be placed in imbalanced relationships is wrong”
That is not what this referendum granted. It granted civil marriage rights to same sex couples. Marriage is not a requirement for raising children Rambotious. I know you are entitled to your opinion, however I am entitled to mine also and I believe yours is misguided. The evidence shows children raised by same sex couples are raised just as well as their peers with heterosexual parents.
You have said “the evidence shows” on more than one occasion now. There is no evidence that you could show me nor the many hundreds of thousands of other people that voted no on Friday that gay people could do the same job as straight people in raising children. It’s just not possible. I’m sorry to disappoint but there will be consequences to this mess down the line.
I read your posts on the other thread and you are actually revolting, the stuff you said in reply to that animal. Your equally as bad as him. I’m not interested in continuing our discussion, and for fear of what I might read or see, I won’t be opening your link. Good night.
Good night! I’m equally as bad because I mentioned cunnilingus and blowjobs is it? And the fact that 40% of heterosexual couples engage in anal sex? Do you have a problem with discussing sex or something? We are quite a sexually repressed nation, it causes a lot of damage, people find sexuality a difficult thing to come to terms with and feel it is dirty because of sexual repression. There’s no harm in discussing it as long as it’s in a civil manner. I take offense to being likened to Joey though, he clearly was looking for a reaction, the way he discussed it was revolting. Your refusal to continue the discussion though, your refusal to look at the link I posted, very convenient for you. Very convenient way of holding onto your misguided opinion. They are simply studies done which show that same sex parenting is no worse than heterosexual parenting. In response to your comment that ” There is no evidence that you could show me nor the many hundreds of thousands of other people that voted no on Friday that gay people could do the same job as straight people in raising children. It’s just not possible”
The “no difference” theory is dead
It will be impossible for critics to ignore it, as it is based on more data than any previous study — 512 children with same-sex parents drawn from the US National Health Interview Survey. The emotional problems included misbehaviour, worrying, depression, poor relationships with peers and inability to concentrate.
After crunching the numbers, Sullins found opposite-sex parents provided a better environment. “Biological parentage uniquely and powerfully distinguishes child outcomes between children with opposite-sex parents and those with same-sex parents,” http://www.mercatornet.com/articles/view/the_no_difference_theory_is_dead
Also:
Same-Sex Marriage Is Harmful to Children
Fathers reduce behavioral problems in boys and psychological problems in girls.
According to decades of research, the ideal family structure for children is a two-parent, mother-father family. That research consistently shows that children raised in such families are more likely to thrive—psychologically, mentally, and physically—than children reared in any other kind of family configuration.
Extensive research also reveals that not only mothers, but also fathers, are critical to the healthy development of children. Swedish researchers reviewed the best longitudinal studies from around the world that assessed the effects of fathers on children’s development. Their review spanned 20 years of studies and included over 22,000 children, and found that fathers reduce behavioral problems in boys and psychological problems in girls, enhance cognitive development, and decrease delinquency.
Trayce Hansen is a licensed psychologist
The family law does need sorting. But less face it arguing some thing isn’t natural is longer a good reason to argue against it in a technologically capable society. So now we really do have to think abouts what’s best for the children. Heterosexual men have been far more wronged in the family law act than gays. Children born out of marriage still don’t have the same protections as those that are. Equality for everyone. Marriage is a contract nothing natural about it. Love is.
That sullins guy is a Catholic university proffessor….not biased at all I’m sure!
Anti-gay Conservatives Latching On To Regnerus-esque Flawed Study About Same-Sex Parenting
CHRISTIAN WALTERS 02/12/2015
Because who cares about scientific rigor in the search for facts when you can just mimic a famously flawed study to produce the results you want? Not Donald Paul Sullins, a Catholic priest and sociology professor at Catholic University of America. Sullins is a fellow of the Marriage and Religion Research Institute, a project of the Family Research Council, and a Fourth Degree member of the Knights of Columbus, so objectivity in his research is already on extremely unstable ground.
Sullins pulled data from the National Health Interview Survey from 1997-2013 to determine whether or not gay couples make good parents. Unsurprisingly, Sullins’ results drew him to the conclusion that same-sex parents are unfit, despite the fact that Mark Regnerus – who oversaw Sullins’ study - created a study that was flawed to the point of uselessness and a separate, more reliable study in Australiafound the opposite.
Think Progress dismantles Sullins’ studypiece by piece, pointing out the myriad of flaws present, including the oh-so-small detail that Sullins has no information about whether or not the couples in the data he pulled were actually married, or that somehow according to Sullins’ study gay couples are significantly worse for the upbringing of a child than a single parent.
I think Maire Geoghegan-Quinn should be there too, Ireland was so different 20 years ago and she had the courage to decriminalise homosexual acts. Wonder how things would have panned out if she was FF leader rather than Bertie
It wasn’t the biggest “yes” the country saw, but the work of Declan Donohoe and Donal MacAodh in YesEquality Longford was astounding, and saw the Longford campaign punch well above its weight. Well done lads!
Young Declan Burke and his team done some great work here in Dublin South West. He also made a great case for the rights of young people to be treated equally within the democratic process
You left out psi president Dr Paul dalton who dispelled the disgusting misuse of psychological research by some whom had tried to wrongfully argue against same sex parenting . He spoke passionately about the Shame that society made him feel as a young gay man and how regardless of the outcome today that such shame had been lifted and his country supported him #proudtobeirish #proudofpsi #hometovotearmy
I would like to nominate the thousands of #hometovote returning emigrants who went to a lot of trouble to get home to cast their vote. I am sure that their example prompted a lot of younger people living here to actually get out and vote for the first time.
Ucc Su need to be mentioned here. They alone registered 4000 students to vote for this referendum and canvassed like there was no tomorrow. They deserved a mention. Did the same, if not more than TCD.
Is that a fact? That Ireland is first to have same sex marriage right written into constitution? I know we’re first to hold referendum, but it’s the first time I hear the constitution bit?
Síona Cahill!! Welfare Officer in Maynooth SU and #Hashtag queen! She came up with #makegrathelaw and even #PollingStationPickUpLines she did unreal work and has done for months!!! Definitely deserves a spot above!!!
Having just now watched the John Lyons campaign video for the first time, If I’d had a vote, I’d have voted yes based on the simple sentence questioning “why not” said almost at the end the video.
Unfortunately I didn’t follow any of the campaign for Yes or No, as it doesn’t come on my radar therefore doesn’t matter to me and I hadn’t paid any attention. Well done to those that managed to ensure enough people did pay attention and voted for their choice.
Roderic O’Gorman and everyone else in the Green Party who were the first to put Marriage Equality on the political agenda, fought an uphill struggle to bring in Civil Partnerships without which we would have never had such a result, and who have been knocking on doors for months.
Enda Kenny? Last time they asked him about gay marriage he almost got taken out by a potted plant while trying to run away from the question! David Norris deserves more credit than the coward Kenny!
The US Commerce Secretary says Ireland runs a 'tax scam'. Does he have a point?
Paul O'Donoghue
3 hrs ago
Quiz
Quiz: How many of these Dáil rules do you know?
6 hrs ago
Áras An Uachtaráin
134 members of the Oireachtas say they will not nominate McGregor for the presidency
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say