You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jamie Osborne's second-half try drew Ireland level in Cardiff. Ben Brady/INPHO

Ireland make it three wins from three with comeback victory against Wales

Simon Easterby’s side won 27-18 in Cardiff.

Wales 18

Ireland 27

IRELAND SURVIVED A nervy, chaotic battle in Cardiff as they came from behind to beat Wales and secure the Triple Crown.

In their first game under interim head coach Matt Sherratt, a much-improved Wales led 13-10 at half time.

But a second-half try from Jamie Osborne on his Six Nations debut, along with four penalties from the boot of Sam Prendergast, kept Ireland’s Championship defence and Grand Slam dream alive.

View 52 comments
52 Comments
    Mute Stephen Fitzgerald
    Favourite Stephen Fitzgerald
    Feb 22nd 2025, 4:39 PM

Jaysus we made hard work of that, great to get over the line. Bundi and Belham to the rescue. Really have to beat France now, hopefully Ringrose not banned and deemed to have been punished accordingly. Nervy going.

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:07 PM

@Stephen Fitzgerald: lucky lucky boys. Will not beat the French no way.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:11 PM

@Basildon Joe: this is one to remind you of after the France match

Mute Alan d
    Favourite Alan d
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:25 PM

@Basildon Joe: England did !

Mute Sean Ahearne
    Favourite Sean Ahearne
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:57 PM

@Basildon Joe: But shit England beat them

Mute Basildon Joe
    Favourite Basildon Joe
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:27 PM

@Sean Ahearne: yeah but England better than Ireland

Mute Stephen Fitzgerald
    Favourite Stephen Fitzgerald
    Feb 22nd 2025, 7:11 PM

@Basildon Joe: I think we have it in us to beat the French. Especially at home. We need to cut out the errors and need everyone on their A game, hopefully today was a wake-up call. It’ll be interesting to see how France go against Italy.

Mute John Bathe
    Favourite John Bathe
    Feb 22nd 2025, 7:14 PM

@Basildon Joe: england who we beat a couple of weeks ago?

Mute James T.Kirk
    Favourite James T.Kirk
    Feb 22nd 2025, 7:28 PM

@Basildon Joe: Nonsense, any team can be beaten on the day.

Mute William McSweeney
    Favourite William McSweeney
    Feb 22nd 2025, 8:34 PM

@Basildon Joe: never in a month of Sundays are England better than Ireland. We put them well away with time to spare in the first match. Plus, England are strong but quite brainless

Mute Shane O Mac
    Favourite Shane O Mac
    Feb 22nd 2025, 9:42 PM

@Basildon Joe: calm down every game is different.

Mute Stiles
    Favourite Stiles
    Feb 22nd 2025, 10:28 PM

@Shane O Mac: I’d be more worried amount the french game if the Welsh game was a walk over.. today’s games was a good test that we progressed in imo.. we can beat the French..

Mute Frank Foley
    Favourite Frank Foley
    Feb 22nd 2025, 4:45 PM

I think Ireland deserved to win but fair play to Wales they played well.

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Feb 22nd 2025, 9:38 PM

@Frank Foley: it was the best game that Wales played in the whole tournament so far, it was nip and tuck for a while

Mute R kelly
    Favourite R kelly
    Feb 22nd 2025, 4:54 PM

Hopefully the 7 players who didn’t feature today for Ireland’s starting 15 will be fit and rested for France next week.
    With half of the 1st 15 not starting today it had to have an impact…. not our best performance, but they got the job done…. credit to Wales today….

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:37 PM

@R kelly: it’s not next week. It’s 2 weeks time

Mute Hibernicus
    Favourite Hibernicus
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:21 PM

@R kelly: out of jail already?

Mute joey toomey
    Favourite joey toomey
    Feb 22nd 2025, 7:57 PM

Triple crown ! So proud of team , we need a reality check here with all the criticism, this is a generational team , great times to be an Irish fan , stop moaning and Enjoy!

Mute Michele Milne
    Favourite Michele Milne
    Feb 22nd 2025, 4:35 PM

And why wouldn’t they!! Well done ireland

Mute William Jennings
    Favourite William Jennings
    Feb 22nd 2025, 4:40 PM

That was some performance from Wales. They looked so much more cohesive and free-flowing in attack, and their backs put in some really nice offloads. Nicky Smith was particularly brilliant in the scrum. So much to work on for Ireland. The amount of handling errors and penalties that we gave away was simply unacceptable. France will be licking their lips at that result because if we are that sloppy and lethargic again, they will beat us next week in the Six Nations decider and another Grand Slam will go begging. We got the win, but it still feels like a loss considering the fact that Wales haven’t won a match since the Rugby World Cup in 2023. Ireland still haven’t hit fifth gear since they beat South Africa in Durban last July in my opinion.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:13 PM

@William Jennings: does not feel like a loss, silly statement

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:20 PM

@William Jennings: The usual longwinded post. You’re an authority on everything. Know all, yet know nothing.

Mute Sinead Cosgrave
    Favourite Sinead Cosgrave
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:39 PM

@William Jennings: Feels like a loss !! How can a win feel like a loss, silly statement tbh

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:44 PM

@William Jennings: ridiculous nonsense from the septic tank of the journal trolls

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:45 PM

@Sinead Cosgrave: we won but we lost:)

Mute William Jennings
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:05 PM

@Michael Burke: We barely beat a team that hasn’t won since October 2023 and are on a 15 match losing streak. Ireland were extremely inaccurate and made so many mistakes throughout the match. That felt like a loss to me considering we couldn’t even get the bonus point.

Mute William Jennings
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:10 PM

@Philip Kennedy: I never claimed to be the authority on anything. I’ve just given my opinion on what I thought was a very poor performance from Ireland. It’s not my problem if you’re offended by what I wrote. You’re pretty delusional if you seriously think that Ireland performed well today.

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:10 PM

@William Jennings: we made 7 changes from our last match, some because of injury, and played quarter of the match with 14 players and at the end of it we had 9 more points than our opposition, it was a tough match, but feel like a loss, no way, that’s a win!

Mute William Jennings
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:20 PM

@Sinead Cosgrave: It’s pretty simple. Ireland were not at the races today and we were nearly beaten by a team that’s currently on a 15 match losing streak. The reason I said that it felt like a loss because it did. Nothing about Ireland’s performance stood out today and we are not going to beat France if we turn out and play like that. I’m trying to find some positives but there aren’t any.

Mute William Jennings
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:30 PM

@Jb Walshe: Stop your whining and get over yourself. I’ve just been honest in my observations about the match against Wales today. We were well off the pace and it’s frustrating as a fan to see Ireland underperform again in a match that we should have won comfortably. The only troll here seems to be you since you’ve offered no coherent rebuttal to the points I made and immediately resorted to petty insults.

Mute Kevin Dillon
    Favourite Kevin Dillon
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:50 PM

@William Jennings: if we win the Slam there’ll still be fools like you on here saying we played poorly and need to rebuild. Never get the negativity from some Irish fans. How the F does a win feel like a loss?

Mute Bri Lye
    Favourite Bri Lye
    Feb 23rd 2025, 3:38 AM

@William Jennings: nothing stood out? Other than winning a Triple Crown… Loss me ball ox

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:19 PM

Kearney and Hogan would give you the green scour with the red rim…

Mute Donal Hickey
    Favourite Donal Hickey
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:58 PM

@Gerry Campbell: what about williams

Mute Michael Burke
    Favourite Michael Burke
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:17 PM

@Gerry Campbell: Horgan has a knack of looking miserable

Mute Jofus Soap
    Favourite Jofus Soap
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:27 PM

@Gerry Campbell:
    Jaysus.
    I hope I never Google again.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:58 PM

@Donal Hickey: Like him ,but he’s stuck in the middle of two flutes trying to be polite .

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Feb 22nd 2025, 4:52 PM

Goes to show how important a player Doris is for us..he plays 80 mins every game…Conan is a fine player but he doesn’t have the presence or make the contributions Doris does

Mute Damien Leahy
    Favourite Damien Leahy
    Feb 22nd 2025, 8:29 PM

@Sean: he was probably our best player before he got injured, I don’t know what game you were watching

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:48 PM

Scotland robbed. England try should not have been awarded. Clearly held up

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:02 PM

No bonus point today could be costly.

Mute Jofus Soap
    Favourite Jofus Soap
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:21 PM

@brian o’leary:
    I think the costly bit was dropping 21 points in the last few minutes of the other 2 games.
    France therefore will win overall if they beat us. Cos of the massive points diff they already have over us. IMHO.
    But beat the French and we’re away.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:32 PM

@Jofus Soap: I think it’s slam or nothing at this stage.

Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Feb 22nd 2025, 5:46 PM

@brian o’leary: it’s always been about the slam Brian

Mute Jofus Soap
    Favourite Jofus Soap
    Feb 22nd 2025, 6:15 PM

@brian o’leary:
    Yep.
    SLAM.
    Or bust

Mute Patrick O'Leary
    Favourite Patrick O'Leary
    Feb 23rd 2025, 4:33 AM

Only got to watch game back there 12 hours later. Fair play to Irish lads for grinding it out – incredible performance from the Welsh given where they were coming from.

Mute reg morrisey
    Favourite reg morrisey
    Feb 23rd 2025, 6:43 AM

Crowley would do a much better job. Put him on for a full game please

Mute Paul H
    Favourite Paul H
    Feb 22nd 2025, 7:10 PM

Made it ten times harder on ourselves penalties galore

Mute Ciaran Dunne
    Favourite Ciaran Dunne
    Feb 22nd 2025, 8:22 PM

Squeaky bum time for most of the game for

Mute Brendan Ryan
    Favourite Brendan Ryan
    Feb 22nd 2025, 7:25 PM

I’m sure The 42 is great. But as a voluntary subscriber to The Journal I’m not paying twice when many others don’t pay at all. Course I could stop my sub and pay for The 42!!!!!!

Mute Trevor Beacom
    Favourite Trevor Beacom
    Feb 23rd 2025, 5:28 AM

Wrong choice of captain. The referee had a red jersey on as Sheehan didn’t know how to communicate with him.

Mute kor kor
    Favourite kor kor
    Feb 22nd 2025, 8:56 PM

Bread and Circus. Your Country has been invaded.