You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ukip leader Nigel Farage PA WIRE

Ireland has been 'bullied' in its dealings with the EU: Farage

The Ukip leader’s comments come as Taoiseach Enda Kenny talks up the risks of a Brexit.

Updated 11.55

NIGEL FARAGE CLAIMS there would be “zero threat” to trade between the UK and Ireland if Britain voted to leave the EU.

The leader of the eurosceptic Ukip party’s comments came as Taoiseach Enda Kenny told a London conference of business leaders that the UK leaving the union was a “major strategic risk”.

Farage told RTÉ Radio 1′s Morning Ireland he expected a concerted push from European politicians, the heads of multinational corporations and “unelected commissioners” ahead of a possible UK referendum on a so-called Brexit.

“Indeed, just as Ireland had in the run-up to the Nice referendum, when of course we should remind ourselves that the Irish people said no, only to be told that really isn’t good enough Ireland – you’re a little country you must rethink this and vote again and you were bullied into submission the second time around,” he said.

Economic think-tank the ESRI last week said bilateral flows in goods and services could be cut more than 20%, putting the potential cost to the Irish economy at €3 billion a year.

Kenny today raised the spectre of job losses in both countries with the re-introduction of trade barriers between Ireland and the UK, adding that Northern Ireland would be the worst-affected region in the event of a Brexit.

CBI Annual Conference Taoiseach Enda Kenny speaking in London today Dominic Lipinski / PA Wire Dominic Lipinski / PA Wire / PA Wire

“Ireland’s commitment to the European Union is unqualified … I have no doubt that continued British membership of the European Union is good for Ireland and for relationships on these islands,” he said.

Moreover, I believe that continued British membership of the EU is in Britain’s own best interests. But that is for the British people to decide.”

An earlier report from the London-based Open Europe think-tank suggested the cost to the Irish economy would be anywhere between 1.1% and 3.1% of GDP by 2030.

Extra costs would also include securing a border between Northern Ireland and the Republic to stem the free flow of EU citizens and goods into the UK. A European Movement/Red C poll earlier this year found 77% of Irish people wanted to stay in the EU, even if the UK left the union.

Kenny Kenny and British Prime Minister David Cameron Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie Eamonn Farrell / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

‘Zero threat’

But today Farage claimed there would be “absolutely zero threat to Irish trade” in the case of a Brexit.

When asked if Ukip had worked out what would happen to the Irish border, he said the two governments had a deal that predated the EU by “nearly 7 decades” and there was “absolutely no desire” in the UK for that to change.

00128907 Farage in Dublin, 2012 Laura Hutton / RollingNews.ie Laura Hutton / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

“I think what’s really interesting is that there is hardly a eurosceptic voice in Ireland, in politics, or in the media and yet twice in the last 15 years the Irish people have voted no to European treaties,” he said.

Yes there are huge issues about the free movement of people from southern and eastern Europe, of course there are, and in many ways this might dominate the British debate in a referendum, but that has absolutely nothing to do with the relationship with Ireland that has been around for 70 years.”

Taking back control

Farage pointed to Switzerland as being a non-EU member which had more free-trade deals than member states and added there was nothing in international law to stop the UK striking its own agreements.

“What we are going to see in the United Kingdom, if it votes to leaves, it takes back control of its fisheries, whose Supreme Court once again becomes supreme,” he said.

Tomorrow British Prime Minister David Cameron is expected to set out in more detail what reforms he wants to keep the UK in the EU. They are broadly expected to cover areas including sovereignty issues in the face of an ever-closer union and access to benefits for migrants.

Ukip scored over 12% of the vote in the last UK election, but that was enough to deliver it only one MP in the 650-seat parliament. Farage lost his own bid for election in the Kent seat of South Thanet.

First published 10.20am

READ: My encounter with a shotgun-toting Enda Kenny >

READ: Almost as many migrants arrived in the EU last month as in all of 2014 >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

163 Comments
    Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:39 AM

As much as I dislike this guy and his ideas, he’s right about us. We’re one of the most apathetic countries in the world hence why we have horrendous leaders with the opposition even more horrendous!

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:50 AM

Before the EU we were dependent on Britain Sent them people and cattle and bought red brick from them EU has allowed us to bypass Britain to transform the economy However now EU is acting like a colonial power led by Germany

Nov 9th 2015, 11:09 AM

Now we send immigrants all over the world thanks to this and the last government, the E.U. brought in austerity, the Troika, Dragi and the ECB took over our budgets, brought in property tax, Irish Water and other taxes, made us pawn assets and debt in order to buy them back in the future at a greater cost for our grandchildren to pay and made banksters, bondholders richer? That is the E.U. now, a con job…

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:39 PM

@The Guru, I can see straight through that Pro FG comment.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Nov 9th 2015, 2:58 PM

“EU has allowed us to bypass Britain to transform the economy” , totally incorrect. Britain is our largest and will always remain the largest importer of Irish product and it still isn’t in the Eurozone. All our emerging markets are also outside the Eurozone, so apart from the debt “what has Europe ever done for us” as the monty python sketch goes.

Mute Daragh8008
    Favourite Daragh8008
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:32 AM

I wonder if the Brits get it wrong will they be sent back to the polls until they get the right answer? Or is that just an Irish thing?

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:43 AM

@Daragh. Its not just an Irish thing. The French and Dutch had to vote again until ‘they got it right’ in 2005. Its a euro bully thing

Mute Tim Outrage
    Favourite Tim Outrage
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:49 AM

That’s just an Irish thing. Britain still have sovereignty, unlike Ireland.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:44 PM

Britain do not still have sovereignty. They are subject to the exact same Brussels dictates as us.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:04 PM

The French and Dutch did not have second referendums in 2005, Saoirse.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:30 PM

No, Saoirse, they did not have second referenda. The EU needed us to vote the treaties in, over the heads of others who disagreed.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:26 AM

He is right. There are people in the EU making laws for us who have never set foot in this country. We are not a country anyway just a state in the United States of Europe where no president is elected by the people. If the UK leave then best of luck to them.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:35 AM

The taoiseach or President of the day or politicians in general probably has never been in most villages and townlands in Ireland – does that make him/her ineligible to pass laws?

In case you haven’t noticed considering we don’t have an independent currency or laws we are already just a state in larger state the raison d’etre of the whole project is to make a United States of Europe.

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:52 AM

Exclusive: I have found the man Enda Kenny was speaking to on the park bench..
    http://www.yelp.ie/biz/patrick-kavanagh-statue-dublin-2.

PS. would you look on the face/demeanor of Cameron on the picture above. Don’t tell me his thoughts on our great leader doesn’t comprise of the words Gombeen man or suchlike.

Explanation of Gombeen Man. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gombeen_man

Mute Fred Astare Astare
    Favourite Fred Astare Astare
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:34 AM
    Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:55 AM

There is trouble brewing in the EU. On the back of the migrant crisis, the lack of border enforcement and the pizz weak, capitulation of European leaders, a number of EU countries are turning to strong nationalistic leaders, orban in Hungary will return to power, Sweden democrats gone from 4% to 18%, Poland just elected right wing gov, geert wilders most popular dutch leader, Croatia just elected anti-immigration party, Slovenia is sealing its borders, Austria is tightening there’s and Germany has reduced Syrian refugee status to a 2 year stay. We head for interesting times.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:03 AM

*Austria is tightening theirs

Nov 9th 2015, 11:15 AM

Swedish banks are starting to charge bank accounts extra charges, Holland is getting rid of cash in shops, Jeroen Dijsselbloem said that what the banks did in Cyprus should be done throughout the E.U. MERKEL BROUGHT IN AUSTERITY AND MADE PRIVATE BUSINESS DEBT PUBLIC DEBT… What troubles in the E.U. lol.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:12 PM

Honestly the switch to paperless shops in the Netherlands is more down to convenience than anything else. The Dutch people hate dealing with cash (and I can see why) while the Dutch Central Bank doesn’t see the reason why they should pay to print money which could be digitalised for a much lower cost.

Mute James Darcy
    Favourite James Darcy
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:50 PM

You are embarrassing yourselves with your dooms day talk!.. Face facts the EU (not the monetary union) has had far more good on the region than bad. The standard of human rights elevated and a level of wealth delivered to this country that we could have never achieved.

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:15 PM

@scarr then we have Enda Kenny ffs…

Mute Blathnaid1986
    Favourite Blathnaid1986
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:49 PM

The European Commission has just announced an agreement whereby English will be the official language of the European Union rather than German, which was the other possibility.

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Favourite Protect Democracy!
    Nov 9th 2015, 5:40 PM

Farage, the man who could not pick up a MP’s seat as he was rejected by his own constituents now try’s to lecture us? No thanks Nige we have enough of our own looneys over here without you sticking your nose in chappy!

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:03 PM

Lecture us ?
    How so ?

Nov 9th 2015, 9:42 PM

But James the E.U. grants are just 90% of what we pay in each year to be part of the E.U. and then being in the Euro created the mess in the banks and the austerity. If we had our own punt we could have devalued it and not have to go into austerity or pawn and sell off debt and assets. There is no good in the E.U. and see my other comments on here…

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:47 AM

There is Eurosceptics in Irish media and in Irish politics they just aren’t being printed!

Mute Niallers
    Favourite Niallers
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:56 AM

Dobson moved him swiftly along this morning when he said there was no Euro sceptic voice in the Media even though Ireland rejected two Euro treaties.

I bet Dobbo didn’t want him highlighting RTE’s failure in this regard.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:00 AM

Be quiet now how dare you say anything against the masters in Germany who are helping us fat cats rake it in.

Mute Spammer
    Favourite Spammer
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:24 PM

Just like TTIP Karen, we haven’t heard any debate in the Dáil or elsewhere. EU totalitarianism in action.

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:22 AM

I’d rather we get FG out of power than worry about Europe at the moment.

Mute Ger Comings
    Favourite Ger Comings
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:24 AM

And SF in !?

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Favourite Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:34 AM

Didn’t take long for this to turn into an anti sf rant by the usual aholes. .cop on ..

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían

FF and FG do massive damage but apparently they are better than allowing ANYONE else to prove themselves??

Mute Le Tigre
    Favourite Le Tigre
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:37 AM

SF have the most euro-sceptic of any of the parties

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:42 AM

SF themselves aren’t eurosceptic though? I can’t think of any comment or position that they have that would class them as such

Mute Frank Garrett
    Favourite Frank Garrett
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:55 AM

Sinn Fein will flood the country with unskilled/uneducated migrants and we’d end up with the same social problems as Sweden.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:59 AM

look around the country now you moron……the country is full of them to the point irish have to leave

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:05 AM

Scarr – SF have voted againist 99% of all EU referenda including actual membership of the EEC.

Which part of the UK are you from yourself ‘scarr’?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson

@Derek – them?

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:11 AM

Economies should be ran counter-cyclical. Governments’ should save in the good times (booms) so they can spend in the bad (recessions). We oppose moves from Europe to constitutionally limit national budgets, as this is a fiscal determinant that should be available to sovereign decision-makers.
    SF comment.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr

‘Old gabby’ – SF vote against pretty much everything, so I wouldn’t put much stock in that making them eurosceptic. If they were to vocalize an opposition to the EU on a regular basis, then that would be different? Where am I from? Why?

Mute Scarce 9 Jutro
    Favourite Scarce 9 Jutro

Good lad Derek, name call when you came make a coherent argument. And are you saying that the reason Irish people emigrate is because the country is full if immigrants? Can you show is some facts to back that up?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:14 AM

Scarr – i have a hunch you’re from the UK. Not that it matters a jot.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:19 AM

No. I was born in Dublin.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:20 AM

scarse youre the biggest moron of them all ..why dont you stop using multi accounts and make your own argument

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:22 AM

@scarr You need to educate yourself about actual racism is.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:24 AM

Can someone tell the nurse on whatever ward Derek is on, that he is on the internet again?

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:27 AM

Gabby – I’m not sure what your point is there. How have we gone from sf being a protest party to education about racism?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:28 AM

@scarr farage is a good speaker and has duped many a young person by making ‘reasoned’ arguments – behind his reasonable demeanor have a look at the people who have been expelled from UKIP.. why is it that party attracts such individuals?

What worries me and what is the problem with people of a certain age they have no folk memory of racism and racists and take refuge in ‘nationalist’ parties in order to channel a misplaced view of patriotism and or a sense of belonging. UKIP are looking at the easy answers to hard questions – ‘it’s the foreigners what done it’.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:38 AM

Gabby – I wouldn’t entirely disagree re: members of ukip. I think that ‘racists and loonies’ are attracted to the non-establishment aura of ukip, but I don’t think those fringe elements influence or dictate the party. People are disenfranchised with politics. The main parties represent big business and not the squeezer middle, people also see towns changing quickly, integration issues etc being ignored, and local values and customs suppressed for those of the minority. When that happens, whether real or just perceived, ppl will turn to whoever is sticking up for them (or seeming to) – in this case ukip.

Mute Frank Garrett
    Favourite Frank Garrett
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:56 AM

@Old Gabby Johnson

“why is it that party attracts such individuals”

It’s because UKIP has a better chance of running the UK than the BNP. The racists in the UK desperately want a party to take control over the UK’s boarders and UKIP are the best alternative.

Also, why would a so-called racist party expel racists from their party?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:45 PM

Because they said it where the media found out – you think those in the party around them did not know they were racist before being caught on camera or social media?

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:57 PM

Just local facts..I live in a small town in the country ..population 4000 ..15 years ago all the young school leavers got jobs here in local business. ..agriculture…bakery…milling…even a coffin factory..now all gone to immigrants on low wage..they even work from their houses they rent from the local business owners hence no jobs for indigenous youth that’s just one small town..ok?

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 9th 2015, 7:00 PM

That’s in reply to scarce who always looks for people to provide evidence but refuses to use its real identity on any of its accounts

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:38 AM

Don’t agree with Farage much, but he’s spot on. Most of the clips I’ve seen from Eurosceptics have been via social media, they’re rarely given a voice on the issue on mainstream media.

Here’s one of those rare occasions, featuring Luke Ming Flanagan at his brilliant best…..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8d3BL_kQX0g

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:06 AM

Everyone laughed at Flanagan when he was here. His proposals to reform the drug laws made him the butt of manys a joke… by idiots. That lad is easily one of the best politicians we’ve ever been lucky enough to have working for us.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:08 AM

You’re an idiot. You prove it everyday… ‘Most of the clips I’ve seen from Eurosceptics have been via social media, they’re rarely given a voice on the issue on mainstream media’ – lol.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips

Another non-point poorly made, Gabby. Keep up the good work

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:21 AM

Thanks Joe.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:07 PM

Guy-who-thinks-he’s-James-Connolly….So you are eurosceptic, just like you party Sinn Fein?

Surprising that you would endorse an ideology which would reinforce the border and further distance ourselves from NI…

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 9th 2015, 2:26 PM

Diarmuid, can I ask you something? How do your nearest and dearest cope with your obsession with SF? Do you start arbitrary rants about them at inappropriate times and places or do you manage to keep it all bottled up until next time you’re on this site?

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Nov 9th 2015, 2:32 PM

Does it sometimes make you sling faeces?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:42 PM

Nah I call out lots of jokers on this site… xenophobes, pro-Israeli trolls and yes the numerous shinnerbots like FC above.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:00 PM

Essentially and one that disagrees with Diarmuids clappy view of the world is simply wrong.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:00 PM

*Any*

Mute John Joe Collins
    Favourite John Joe Collins
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:25 AM

Ireland and the UK should leave together and form a new union of sort we should start using our punts again but float it on the stock markets as sterling……….

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:31 AM

Ireland has been bullied in its dealings with the EU, If we had someone leading the Country, that had a pair we wouldn’t.

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:36 AM

A new union?? Would we be allowed Home Rule?

Mute John Burke
    Favourite John Burke
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:59 AM

Other countries would join an EEC with Ireland and Britain.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:42 AM

Yeah like Greece.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:22 PM

yws lets leave the eu and join the uk, what could possibly go wrong????

oh wait http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/exhibition/dublin/poverty_health.html and thats when the uk was the wealthiest country in the world.

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:30 AM

We need a Farange ,we need a UKIP.

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:30 AM

Farage rather

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:33 AM

If its one thing Ireland needs, it’s far right wing racist party.

Whats a Farange>?

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr

Racist party? How so?

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:44 AM

I wouldn’t consider UKIP a racist party.They are the only party coming out and speaking up for the masses on the migrant issue .Its very simplified to label them a racist party. I dont know what a farange is.Sorry

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:36 AM

Fred – When genocide was perpetrated on this nation our people emigrated across the globe and were welcomed – but for that many more would have died. Irish people can be found across the globe.. Ireland still has never recovered its population from the famine. We have to accept migrants and its a complete myth to say that Ireland has welcomed its fair share – we haven’t done enough.

UKIP are a racist party most people across the water recognise that fact – have a look at their supporters to tell you if they are racist. The irony of ‘republicans’ on this site expressing support for a party they should be despising as they are more loyalist/unionist/english nationalist than the tories… thatcherites all.

Mute Frank Garrett
    Favourite Frank Garrett
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:50 AM

@Old Gabby Johnson

“UKIP are a racist party most people across the water recognise that fact – have a look at their supporters to tell you if they are racist”

Going by that logic, if a group of communists vote for Labour UK, then Labour are, by your logic, communist party, which, of course, is just silly-talk.

UKIP have NO racist policies whatsoever in their manifesto and the reason why racists support UKIP is because they know the BNP will never be a major party in the UK.

Furthermore, if the UKIP were a racist party, they why did they expel members who made racist remarks? http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2015/feb/23/former-ukip-councillor-expelled-over-racism-row-claims-hidden-agenda

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:01 PM

A good unromanticized account of Irish in america: http://www.kinsella.org/history/histira.htm

Mute Fred west
    Favourite Fred west
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:06 PM

We were welcomed as we were willing to conform to the ways of the country our peoples emigrated to,will thousands of muslims that you propose come here do the same ?Simply no.You may not be aware of the fact that there is currently a housing crisis going on at the minute .So where exactly would you consider housing these migrants ? Will they have any skills to work and contribute to our country and economy ?No again. Your ideals are for fairy-tale books.

Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:18 PM

We weren’t welcomed, in many places we were seen as nothing more than cheap labour in a time when most critical tasks in an economy were manual. Farms had little machinery, construction had very little safety measures and factories required a lot of dangerous hands-on work. Irish were willing to do this for little money as well as labourers from other poor European countries or lower classes from wealthier nations.

We were brought in, rejected if we couldn’t work and despised even if we contributed. In fairness the Irish criminal families abroad didn’t help our public image much either.

This revisionist view of Irish emigration by pro-illegals is laughable.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:53 PM

@jason – welcomed as in not deported for being immigrants – and if you want to compare the 19th century with the 21st century to make a flawed argument then go right ahead.

Of course the Irish were treated abysmally but does that give an excuse to treat others the same? The irish were also among the largest slave traders from europe to america – so the Irish were not all rosy either as you would have us believe.

And i’m not pro-illegal immigration BTW – i’m absolutely for documented immigration – you will find that most people commenting that support or are in UKIP for example feel there should be no immigration whatsoever. And the people you are talking about in their treatment of immigrants are those very same people who would find a home in UKIP. Their descendants are the ones that put up the ‘no dogs no irish’ signs.

This revisionist view of Irish emigration by idiots is laughable.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:57 PM

@frank – you not think in that link that you shared that Ms Duncans political outlook was not known by her party colleagues prior to her getting the nomination for the party and getting elected. Happens alot in UKIP candidates only get racist once they’re elected.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:59 PM

Its actually hard to believe that the people who support Sinn Féin on these pages would support Farage – Even Gerry Adams would find Farage reprehensible.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:59 PM

You’re full of sh*t Gabby Johnson. UKIP are not a racist party. The establishment media and political parties just paint them that way to discredit them because they are scared of common sense opposition.

They do this because they know there is plenty of morons that will buy into it. People like you Gabby!

Just shout racist rather than listen to what they have to say. Over 4 million Brits voted for them recently. Is that 4 million racists in your opinion?

Britain cannot sustain the current levels of illegal immigration. It’s not racist to say that, it is common sense.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:07 PM

Yeah that’s four million racists… in a population of about 58 million that makes that 6% of the population which is probably about right.

They are a party of racists supported by racists.. does that make it clear for you?

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:35 PM

No Gabby, no it doesn’t. Like i said, you’re full of sh*t

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:48 PM

It does. Considering that in any population 20% of the people are idiots 6% isn’t bad eh? So to be clear UKIP are racists and if you support them you are giving tacit support to a party that has a regard for racism.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:57 PM

@Jynxeffect do you know that there’s a common theme among racists in Ireland too.. let me give a brief outlay – they are usually anti-feminist, anti-immigration, anti-immigrants in general, anti-anything different, – they are also homophobic (but of course don’t recognise that they are but comments in private to people are homophobic) and probably voted no in the recent referendum. They strangely are very nationalist and anti-british not because they have a proper understanding of either but because they think they should be- it fits the angry narrative – yet oddly they like the sound of UKIP and thing Farage is the greatest thing since Goebbels.

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:58 PM

All this drinking, violence and destruction of property, is this that the irish are known for?

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:05 PM

@Jynx – oh and it probably means they are fighting repressed issues surrounding their sexuality.

You’re welcome.

Mute Derek Mcdermott
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:52 PM

gabby youre one seriously fu…d up individual

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 9th 2015, 5:55 PM

Racist …. Lol

Nov 9th 2015, 11:02 AM

ESRI talks bull, there was trade before the E.E.C. was set up and there will be trade after the E.U. is gone…
    http://www.sanders.senate.gov/download/the-trans-pacific-trade-tpp-agreement-must-be-defeated?inline=file

Nov 9th 2015, 11:03 AM

TPP is the same as the TTIP but why no talk about the TiSA Agreement???

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:15 PM

We were dirt poor poor before the EU.

We will be subjesct to TTIP, Tisa and every other world trade agreement if we want to have a trading economy wheter we are in the eu or not

Nigel farage represents a faction of england that remembers its empire and missesit, he wants things to go back to Boer war days and ireland to put up.

Mute Spammer
    Favourite Spammer
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:30 PM

How can the ESRI estimate anything without knowing the outcome of the negotiations that will take place over the next few years??? They are making it up as they go, complete biased BS.

Nov 9th 2015, 9:44 PM

No Matty TTIP is compusary with being in the E.U. so we have no say over TTIP.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:31 AM

I hope Indah doesn’t forget to warn them that they’ll have to put the Army around the ATMs, oh, and that the First born in every family will be slaughtered. Good oul’ Indah, ye can’t bate him for unquestioning obedience.

Mute The Dublin Cynic
    Favourite The Dublin Cynic
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:43 AM

We should form a union with the Brits and leave the EU

How did that work out, the famine, 1916 etc etc

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:53 AM

Yeah Michael – good one.

Lets base everything on something that happened 100+ years ago.

If everyone had your attitude, the world would get nowhere ever.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:36 PM

Uup reject,assistant grand wizard in the order David McNarry is Farages main man in the 6 counties.

A dangerous buffoon is McNarry.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:08 PM

Ironic then that the Shinners share UKIP’s euroscepticism isn’t it Francó?

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:18 PM

Dangerous yes, bufoon, well, no!
    Remember, UKIP cost to he DUP seats last time out.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:43 PM

Diarmuid,with unionist parties increasingly forming pacts to block SF the last thing they need is people like you blindly jumping ship to latch on to ukip.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:43 PM

I find UKIP repulsive Francó…. just pointing out the irony of SF sharing their euroscepticism.

Nov 9th 2015, 9:48 PM

SHAKKA1244, SO YOU RATHER HAVE IRELAND IN THE U.K. but why?

Mute Spammer
    Favourite Spammer
    Nov 9th 2015, 9:53 PM

It’s a scare tactic Micheal – “but we’d never survive on our own”. Just like the theory that if the EU were to be abandoned Europe would revert back to medieval warfare.

https://www.rt.com/shows/sophieco/320457-eu-currency-economy-crises/
    Professor Sinn says that what the E.U. needs now is a Political Union where the E.U. is like the U.S. with 1 government set up in Germany to rule the whole of the E.U. to fix the Euro crisis, take a look at the video yourself as he works for Merkel.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:20 AM

He’s correct there will be no impact on trade, either between Ireland and UK or between UK and continental Europe. There’s no incentive on either side to start slapping tariffs on goods. The UK will most definitely sign a free trade agreement with the EU if it leaves.

What he’s not telling you is that if the UK wants a free trade agreement, it suddenly finds itself as the submissive, junior partner to the EU. It will have to accept all the rules of the market without having any say in forming those rules. What he also doesnt tell you is that Norway and Switzerland pay billions every year to access the single market. Britain will have to make a similar hefty contribution. So net, net…not much changes, except UK doesn’t have any say or influence over the rules.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:31 AM

I think the point farage might counter that with would be, the EU need the UK more than vice versa (Audi and merc sales to uk etc) The independent trade deals the UK would make would bridge any shortfall and the UK already pay millions (billions) in membership fees as well as subsidiary costs like welfare etc.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:53 AM

Not true, UK needs EU market more. You mention Audi and Merc, what proportion of their worldwide sales go to the UK? I’d be surprised if its more than 5%. UK is barely on the radar of German companies, Russia, China India far more important.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:06 PM

I believe garage mentioned a 50bn trade figure, though I’d have to verify. Telegraph article states anglo- German trade in goods and services was 153 bn for first 9 months of 2012. Not small money.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:12 PM

Germany does trade of over €2 trillion per year, (€1 trillion of exports, €1 trillion of imports), so in that context, yes it is small money.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:50 PM

But how does that play alongside German automotive wanting to sell expensive cars to London? London simply pays more? Its not like they freeze London out. #noaudisforyou

Mute Spammer
    Favourite Spammer
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:37 PM

Cal: we have a framework for free trade let’s use that as a template to move forward and dump the rest of the totalitarianism and the bureaucracy that goes with it.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:50 PM

Democracy flown sold out for a Loan
    Austerity here in its place
    300K gone to find a day’s pay
    It’s a total thundering disgrace.

Nov 9th 2015, 12:49 PM

The anti austerity party was democratically elected in greece, they had to succumb to the euro institutions. The antu austerity groupings won the democratic election in portugal, the president refused to allow them to form a gov in other to allow the pro euro institution gov back into gov. Will the same happen in ireland, followed by spain, italy, france? There’s no democracy in europe any more. If the euro needs to break up in order for democracy to rule again, then so be it.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:20 PM

and how are they going to pay for anti austerity?

It was spending money they didnt have that ficked dem in the first place. If you lose your Job do you celebrate with a holiday, new car and dinner or the ritz or do you start shopping in Lidl.

Mute Frankie Harrison
    Favourite Frankie Harrison
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:50 PM

Can’t wait to get out of that money wasting joke.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer

The Government of this country should be elected representatives from each county/ suburb in Ireland. Trusted local people with a successful experience in dealing with issues regarding their local area. Not ex teachers/spawn of former politicians in suits looking to line their pockets at our expense. There are many local TD’s in the country that do great work for their constituency,imagine what a group of them could do if they were running the country.

Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían

They are, and the local communities elect teachers and such.

You get the government and politicians you vote for

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:45 AM

It is well known that all teachers are a useless waste of time. They should be banned from running for government. All schools should also be closed. If people started working at 10 years of age we would have increased workforce that would be world beaters. Our leaders would then be people of experience who would not be held back by such distractions as education.

Mute Juan Franc
    Favourite Juan Franc
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:13 AM

Tap sadly a lot of your fellow unionists believe in your theory,no need for education that their address ,funny handshakes,religious background will be good enough to secure employment.

Nov 9th 2015, 11:26 AM
    Mute Ían
    Favourite Ían
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:37 PM

@An Observer
    You do realise that a TD should NOT be looking after their constituency…

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:20 PM

Tap, you forget, those who can, do, those who cànt teach, those who can’t teach go into politics, look at our Taoiseach and opposition leaders.

Mute Chuck Eastwood
    Favourite Chuck Eastwood
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:33 AM

He has no understanding of the trade links or the possible affects on Irish business should the UK leave and why would he know or care. He is also very wrong in saying we pander to Europe, we align with Europe simply because the alternative would mean Ireland being cast aside as we are simply to small a nation to matter in the grander scheme of things.

Mute Derek Mcdermott

And chuxk.. your vast experience is what exactly?….

Mute Tap Solny
    Favourite Tap Solny
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:46 AM

To, too, two.

Merkel says jump and we say how high, is that democratic… NO way is it, it is imperialistic really.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:55 AM

Yes Check, that’s why we are saddled with 42% of Europes banking debt.

Euro lapdogs with Euro lapdog leaders is what we are

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:36 PM

Have you a source for that figure.

Everybody wants to blame everybody else, but the fact is we wrecked our own economy, we nationalised angloirish’s debts and then had to be bailed out by Europe? Do you not think its fair they ensure our accounts are in order so they don’t have to bail us out every leap year?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

How about a britsceptic voice that isn’t instantly associated with terrorism? Don’t suppose that’d be allowed.

Mute Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Favourite Myk_Oval_Balls_nRyt
    Nov 9th 2015, 2:36 PM

Just a wee thought lads. Do you think if the Germans were successful in WW2, would they hold as much power as they do today on this continent ? granted times are polar opposites but i think not.

Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:06 AM

No, no, no. Whether or no he’s making any salient points is moot. Of course he’s going to make some points that people may agree with, however, he is the leader of a party with vile views. This is how over the centuries evil leaders pull people in. We don’t need his and his Party’s views here.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:13 AM

His vile views are controlling immigration and giving British people housing before non nationals No politician in Ireland would ever say anything like that Thank God we are protected from such vile views

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr

Jeanette – vile views? Can you elaborate on that? Ukip, want the same system of immigration that Australia, Canada, and america have. Which is an easier system than Japan and China have. So what’s vile about that?

Mute gerard sheehan
    Favourite gerard sheehan
    Nov 9th 2015, 11:32 AM

Stick your fingers in your ears, close your eyes, say no a lot and hope the bad man goes away

Nov 9th 2015, 11:54 AM

Have you been bad Nigel lol.

Nov 9th 2015, 11:57 AM
    Mute Jeanette McDonald
    Favourite Jeanette McDonald
    Nov 9th 2015, 12:17 PM

Nope, I don’t stick my fingers in my ears at all. This party is an ultra right wing party. Farage is a very good speaker who is quite capable of hoodwinking via pseudo “reasonableness”. I do not believe we need narrow minded bigots lecturing us.

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:40 PM

Jeanette

Can you please point me in the direction of one single statement that Nigel Farage has made that makes you think he’s a bigot?

I’ve followed everything he has said in the last 4 or 5 years and i haven’t heard a thing.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 3:59 PM

“I’ve followed everything he has said in the last 4 or 5 years …”

Of course you have.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:01 PM
    Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:04 PM
    Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:08 PM
    Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:41 PM

What farage advocates is essentially national socialism. Dress it up all you like, passing laws that treat people based on Ethinicity is exactly that.

Mute Maurice Bourke
    Favourite Maurice Bourke
    Nov 9th 2015, 5:55 PM

@Matty Resse

Please only comment on topics you understand. Socialism is a left wing ideal and UKIP are right wing party. They are almost total opposites

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:08 PM

You are very wrong about UKIP policies and I suspect it is because you are listening to the hysterical types on here who live to be offended at anything other the utopian liberal policies for happy-clappy land.

Mute Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Favourite Oleksandr Savitskyy
    Nov 9th 2015, 10:47 AM

Commodity broker who wish poor people do well? This fake smile and a gangster suit. He is missing a hat.

Mute Milo Delenne
    Favourite Milo Delenne

What’s that bigott Farage doing here again?
    Roll on the exit and make it necessary for fools like him to need a visa to come here.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper

Bore off

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Nov 9th 2015, 9:41 PM

The US Federal Reserve and Treasury stood squarely with the ECB’s position towards Ireland. No Irish bank could be allowed to fail, bondholders needed to be repaid. If anyone thinks it’s just the EU and its institutions, it’s not. While it is true that Ireland would have to consider the full consequences of any attempt to default to any degree, no one should be under any illusions as to the realities of how the world’s political, economic systems and institutions work. Besides, Ireland got off pretty lightly compared to the devastation that’s been condoned and often facilitated in economies around the world since the 1970′s. Blaming anyone for any of this when it is only the unwillingness of the world’s peoples themselves to seek out change, to endure what is necessary to bring about that change and most importantly to have the awareness first to look at ourselves and realise what needs to change about ourselves and how to change it. There is no worse fate than to live a life and fail to be a conscious being.

Mute Seamus Grant
    Favourite Seamus Grant
    Nov 9th 2015, 5:21 PM

3 absolute pr1cks who cares

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Nov 9th 2015, 1:28 PM

Frankly, Farages message in 2011 was most unwelcome, I spoke to several former ‘no’ voters who voted ‘yes’ second time out because of his plummy interventions.
    But, the key thing is, listen to the message, not the accent!
    There would be difficulties in all Ireland trade if the brits leave, a big if, there would be return of ‘border’ checks, albeit these do exist now for non nationals, so would be simply more formalised.
    Trade would suffer, for a short time permitting the extension of CTA to goods as well as nationals.
    The key thing for the brits would be, free trade, outside of, and without the strictures imposed of, EU!
    It could benefit our Republic of to do similar, EEA is a good compromise for all parties, provided their states resist the Federalist push of Brussels.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 9th 2015, 4:47 PM

yes we could live apart from the rest of the world in splendid isolation. Have you ever left your cave joey? can you name one tangible benefit for the average person leaving the eu would bring?

We still would have to comply with most legeslation. Yes the Eu is not perfect but nothing is, change it from the inside by all means but to leaving just to copyn the little englanders is plain childish. Do you advocate we try and park near another continent and join a trading block there? The British empire is gone, it relys on trade and ease of movement as much as every other european country.

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:26 PM

Well, you partly answer your own question, the rest of the world.
    1972 we sought equal european trade within an European Economic Community, almost fifty years later the community is the union and its not just about spuds, we live in a nation our parents and grandparents fought to free from the yoke of oppression, the fact is, trade today, and forever after, is not about shipping scallions and spiuds form Dublin to England, rather its about shipping soft and hardware from and to the Americas, the far and middle East and removing barriers to trade so making life easier, soon as you get electricity in your she’d let us know.
    On tying to another continent, why not, I’m closer to the Americas than to east Europe, have much more in common and they’re easier to get along with.

Mute James Kelly
    Favourite James Kelly
    Nov 9th 2015, 6:47 PM

GB is Ireland’s largest trading partner-FACT!
    Ireland would need to grapple with a UK out with the EU and how would the other 26 member states react to any special arrangements by Ireland?
    The previous obsequiousness and compliant behaviour by Ireland over many years will count for little or nothing I suspect as Ireland will be implored to adhere totally to the rules of thinner all market no matter the devastation that will inevitably follow. Kenny is just not up to the job of repressed ting the nation’s interests in the event that the UK elects for a “Brexit”
    Ireland should be working closely with those pro-EU parties now and not wait till it’s too late and to hell with the notion it’s “Britain’s business” as its not itsIreland’s business now, during the referendum and beyond !