Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar at a Covid-19 community hub earlier this week. RollingNews.ie

Ireland commits €18 million as part of global effort to tackle Covid-19

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar announced the funding today.

IRELAND WILL PROVIDE €18 million towards a global effort to find a vaccine and effective treatments for Covid-19. 

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar announced today that Ireland would provide €18 million as part of a worldwide fund made up of the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and the World Bank and a host of other organisations. 

The funding is committed for use between 2021 and 2025.

“The only way we can defeat a global threat is by working together on a multilateral basis. Ireland and the European Union are committed to doing exactly that,” Varadkar said in a statement. 

“Working together we can develop an effective vaccine, effective treatments, testing systems that work, diagnostics and therapeutics. Ireland wants to play its part in this effort.

“Sooner or later we will defeat this virus. We will develop the vaccine that prevents it and the medicines that treat the disease. It is really important that nobody in the world is left out when that happens,” he said. 

Ireland has now committed €78 million to tackling Covid-19. 

The global effort, with vaccines and treatments being worked on in labs around the world, is expensive. Ireland’s funding will go towards supporting multi-lateral organisations such as the World Health Organizaton, the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), and the UN Central Emergency Response Fund. 

World leaders are seeking to raise €7.5 billion for research into a vaccine and treatments for coronavirus.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton
    May 4th 2020, 6:09 PM

Am not educated on this matter but can Irish labs not do this work , ??? I do want a vaccine found can we not do it here and even crate more lab jobs in the process ?? And if we did find one in Ireland , knowing our people we would give it to the whole world for free , cuz we’re Irish that’s why

Mute Sylvia O'Regan
    Favourite Sylvia O'Regan
    May 4th 2020, 6:12 PM

@Karllye kripton:
    I’m not looking forward to the final bill at the end of all this!

Mute JC
    Favourite JC
    May 4th 2020, 6:17 PM

@Karllye kripton: Your misuse of punctuation makes it difficult to respond to what you’re trying to ask. Is the first section three questions? (, ???)

Mute Karllye kripton
    May 4th 2020, 6:27 PM

@Sylvia O’Regan: we be grand sure long as we’re still alive , mite have to cut back on a few luxuries but we’ll work through it

Mute Robert
    Favourite Robert
    May 4th 2020, 6:41 PM

@JC: take a nap JC

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    May 4th 2020, 6:49 PM

@Karllye kripton: the development, production and distribution of a vaccine will cost billions, way beyond the capabilities of a small or medium sized nation.

Mute Karllye kripton
    May 4th 2020, 7:20 PM

@Derdaly: the production would cost that but I mean give the ingredients to other countries so they could make it themselves

Mute Damian Moylan
    Favourite Damian Moylan
    May 4th 2020, 7:24 PM

@Karllye kripton: Everyone is doing all they can mate, ireland too

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    May 4th 2020, 7:32 PM

@Karllye kripton: whatever vaccine emerges will be produced in the billions of doses. Traditional vaccines are grown in a lab. Wherever production is based it will be producing large volumes, setting up an environment just for little old Ireland is unlikely to be economical. However as Trump pointed out last night, this is as good a place to manufacture as anywhere else given the large amount of Bio Pharma already here.

Mute Damien Hawe
    Favourite Damien Hawe
    May 4th 2020, 10:25 PM

@Karllye kripton: better for countries to pool their resources and have a better chance of finding the vaccine.

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    May 5th 2020, 6:02 AM

@Karllye kripton: no one in this country should be dealing with classist access to life saving and life prolonging medication treatments at the whim of some legislation or an ongoing game of pass the parcel mr kripton.. Especially since a lot are owned by US pharmaceutical corporations and pay near to no tax on the funnelled profits perhaps.. Ask Donald duck

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    May 4th 2020, 6:31 PM

Why are we paying for this

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    May 4th 2020, 6:54 PM

@Maurice O Neill: you think we shouldn’t pay our share?? Your hero is putting hundreds of millions of US taxpayer dollars into a company that has never developed a vaccine. Any views on that?

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    May 4th 2020, 6:58 PM

@Maurice O Neill: makes leo look good on the world stage which is of the ulimate importance….

Mute KilkennyProud
    Favourite KilkennyProud
    May 4th 2020, 7:02 PM

@Peter donnelly: Will you refuse the resulting vaccine to stop Leo getting credit?

Mute Seriousnojoke
    Favourite Seriousnojoke
    May 4th 2020, 7:58 PM

@Maurice O Neill: Because your precious president trump is a selfish clueless a$$.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    May 4th 2020, 6:38 PM

€78million so far.. What are other countries contributing? For such a small country will we be once again paying way over our fair share? Don’t get me wrong we need a cure/vaccine but proportion must be considered here.

Mute ℝ
    Favourite ℝ
    May 4th 2020, 7:29 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: small but wealthy country, by comparison with most of the worlds nations.
    Top ten GDP per capita globally for last decade at roughly $85k per man, woman and child……

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    May 4th 2020, 9:20 PM

@ℝ: sadly 85k though not true. Wealth over a few but debt spread over many to save the few

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    May 4th 2020, 9:22 PM

@ℝ: I’ll be interested to know how much Germany are giving as last I heard they didn’t want to take on debt and burden their people.. Unlike the Irish govt who are more than willing to throw us under the bus very quickly

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    May 5th 2020, 12:38 AM

@Lydia McLoughlin: 78m is a pittance.

Mute Power Hitters
    Favourite Power Hitters
    May 5th 2020, 7:36 AM

@Lydia McLoughlin: Looking at this lockdown (a word from the American prison system, I might add), the word “proportion” isn’t in the government’s vocabulary.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    May 5th 2020, 2:49 PM

@Paul Whitehead: perhaps but we’re not exactly in the black!!

Mute Bernard Cantillon
    Favourite Bernard Cantillon
    May 5th 2020, 6:39 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: Germany has contributed €525 million to the fight for a vaccine. The EU Commission also committed a further €1 billion on behalf of the European Union in its entirety.

Mute Bernard Cantillon
    May 5th 2020, 6:43 PM

@Bernard Cantillon: Norway, which is about the same size as us population wise, has also contributed €1 billion to the vaccine fight. Ireland is a very wealthy country, even if you exclude the US corporations monies channelled through here. We can probably afford much more.

Mute Simon Power
    Favourite Simon Power
    May 4th 2020, 6:11 PM

I am genuinely surprised at the amount of anti science, anti-vaxxer, extreme conspiracists on line. There is a reason flat Earther’s are in league with them all. Your Luddite ways will cause deaths as we struggle to gain herd immunity through a vaccination program when it arrives.

Mute Sylvia O'Regan
    Favourite Sylvia O'Regan
    May 4th 2020, 6:13 PM

@Simon Power: I’m surprised you’re surprised. The internet is where they live!

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    May 4th 2020, 6:34 PM

@Simon Power: They’re numbers are alot less than it seems thankfully. The multiple account and bot phenomenon makes em look more numerous than they actually are.

Mute there's a slow train coming
    Favourite there's a slow train coming
    May 4th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Bilbo Baggins: says Bilbo Baggins with a fake photo and fake Twitter account. Good point

Mute there's a slow train coming
    Favourite there's a slow train coming
    May 4th 2020, 6:39 PM

@Sylvia O’Regan: did you have use of the internet to make that comment?

Mute Dave Nomates
    Favourite Dave Nomates
    May 4th 2020, 6:53 PM

@Simon Power:
    anti science, anti-vaxxer, extreme conspiracists, So that’s a large group of people that you think you know more than they do.By the way i’m none of the above, but would advocate safety.

Mute Sylvia O'Regan
    Favourite Sylvia O'Regan
    May 4th 2020, 7:19 PM

@there’s a slow train coming: Of course. How else would I comment online?

Mute Bleurgh
    Favourite Bleurgh
    May 4th 2020, 7:20 PM

@Simon Power: I think most are attention seekers….!

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche
    May 4th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Simon Power: You forgot the idiots that storm government buildings waving confederate flags and brandishing high powered weapons.

Mute mar
    Favourite mar
    May 4th 2020, 7:44 PM

@Simon Power: What about medical experts that are not interested in conspiracy theories, support vaccination in general but don’t think that a vaccination for covid19 make any sense? What label are going to put on those people to discredit them?

Mute Jo Joyce
    Favourite Jo Joyce
    May 4th 2020, 7:54 PM

@Simon Power: how can you compare flat earthers to anti-vaxxers?

Mute Anthony Doyle
    Favourite Anthony Doyle
    May 4th 2020, 9:12 PM

@Sylvia O’Regan: they don’t live
    They barely exist

Mute Anthony Doyle
    Favourite Anthony Doyle
    May 4th 2020, 9:16 PM

@mar: trumpets

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    May 5th 2020, 1:36 AM

@mar: how many do you know

Mute John Errity
    Favourite John Errity
    May 4th 2020, 6:44 PM

He grate at giving away other people’s money

Mute Morning Gus
    Favourite Morning Gus
    May 4th 2020, 11:06 PM

@John Errity: I grate at bad spelling and grammar.

Mute Karen 'Polly' Johnson
    Favourite Karen 'Polly' Johnson
    May 5th 2020, 12:09 AM

@Morning Gus: Seriously have u nothing else to say like ‘be kind’
    Have u heard of dyslexia, sometimes just sometimes some people actually have no common sense nevermind good grammer

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    May 4th 2020, 6:13 PM

We need to start gearing towards domestic production of a vaccine if it comes through. It’ll be up to every country to look after themselves.

Mute KilkennyProud
    Favourite KilkennyProud
    May 4th 2020, 7:00 PM

@Watchful Axe: Did you type that out on a Guaranteed Irish phone?

Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne
    May 4th 2020, 7:03 PM

@Watchful Axe: What if it takes a considerable amount of time for a vaccine to be found? What about the multinational corporations that have the capacity to test but don’t because it’s not profitable? Which country should they chose “to look after themselves”?

Mute Watchful Axe
    Favourite Watchful Axe
    May 4th 2020, 11:42 PM

@KilkennyProud: I’d say sufficiently high quality vaccines can be created here just as well as any other country. Mind you they’ll probably prioritise who gets the vaccine based on risk and then the vast majority will just have to suck it up and take the full virus.

Mute Karl Mc Cauley
    Favourite Karl Mc Cauley
    May 4th 2020, 6:17 PM

I’d say part of that 18m will go to help poorer countries fight the virus, only way to get rid of it is to eliminate it world wide, and I know people will argue, but we are one of the richer countries in the world, and the onus is on us to h ere lo the poorer nations.

Mute Power Hitters
    Favourite Power Hitters
    May 5th 2020, 7:46 AM

@Karl Mc Cauley: Are we one of the richer countries? The national debt was €215billion at the start of this year, and the economy has been plunged in recession. I can’t find the info for how this has changed the debt figure, but this €18million is borrowed from the future.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    May 4th 2020, 6:23 PM

The sooner people realise there will be no vaccine with an effectiveness of greater than 30% the better. Should be plowing money into repurposing anti viral treatments

Mute Nathan Henry
    Favourite Nathan Henry
    May 4th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Mark: Do you have any actual evidence to back a percentage like that up or did it just come to you in a dream? Dr Holohan should be watching his seat, it seems we have a new Chief Medical Officer who also boasts the ability to see into the future.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    May 4th 2020, 6:58 PM

@Mark: thanks for that doctor Mark.
    Let me guess you got your training from YouTube conspiracy compilations

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    May 4th 2020, 7:02 PM

@Nathan Henry: go and do a bit of research on flu vaccine effectiveness, 1st generation new vaccines effectiveness, plus the likes of dengue fever, HIV and SARS which have no vaccine. If there is a vaccine and it’s a big if, the first generation will be approx 30% effective. I think Gemma O Doherty should be watching her seat with you around.

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    May 4th 2020, 7:03 PM

@John Ward: no, from studying vaccine development actually.

Mute Tiktok
    Favourite Tiktok
    May 4th 2020, 8:29 PM

@Nathan Henry: the who said this tho. So whats the point of a vaccine then??? https://www.rte.ie/amp/1132298/

Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    May 4th 2020, 8:43 PM

@John Ward:
    Better than youtube, he read it on whatsapp!

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    May 5th 2020, 12:40 AM

@Mark: thanks Dr Mark. Your work in virology is a textbook masterpiece.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    May 4th 2020, 8:28 PM

It’s nice to see a caretaker gov spending Millions with no Authority

Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    May 4th 2020, 8:46 PM

@pat seery:
    Yeah its great because its the right and best thing to do. Only a buffoon thinks we shouldn’t be spending money to support the country in this difficult time.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    May 4th 2020, 9:34 PM

@Doug: we don’t have money to spend. We’ve shut down the economy. I’d love to know where he’s getting €18m, he hasn’t money to house people last year.

Mute Damien Hawe
    Favourite Damien Hawe
    May 4th 2020, 10:26 PM

@Kath Noonan: 18 million is nothing in the grand scheme of things.

Mute Derek Norris
    Favourite Derek Norris
    May 4th 2020, 7:00 PM

Did we not give 10 million a couple of weeks ago?

Mute Richie Cosgrove
    Favourite Richie Cosgrove
    May 4th 2020, 6:33 PM

Shutup, Maurice.

Mute Maurice O Neill
    Favourite Maurice O Neill
    May 4th 2020, 6:48 PM

@Richie Cosgrove: Only asking

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    May 4th 2020, 9:29 PM

Another €18m down the tubes. He’s a great lad Leo, throwing millions like cents, while our economy is on the floor. €18m gone to some lads bank account in the Caymans for all we know.

Mute Bernard Cantillon
    May 5th 2020, 6:46 PM

@Kath Noonan: would you rather we didn’t develop a vaccine?

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    May 4th 2020, 9:41 PM

I’m not being funny here I understand that he is the caretaker Taoiseach but does he really have a right or authority to promise those funds when he is not part of our formed a new government? I think in crisis he should make executive action fine it’s a crisis and that’s acceptable. However, making long-term commitments when he may not be Taoiseach seems out of order. Funding anything is the purview of the next government.

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael
    May 4th 2020, 7:29 PM

Couldn’t this be put into our own research and development rather than a big American pharma giant .
    Pfizer are gonna make billions…..

Mute Doug
    Favourite Doug
    May 4th 2020, 9:11 PM

@Eddie Michael:
    You haven’t a clue really have you, lol!

Mute Padraic
    Favourite Padraic
    May 4th 2020, 6:57 PM

So when do they announce the austerity measures to fund their generosity? Sure as fcuk they’re not taking a paycut/freeze or anything like it!!!

Mute @PodMusiccast
    Favourite @PodMusiccast
    May 4th 2020, 11:26 PM

How much does Bill Gates make in a day?
    $4 billion in a single year. That averages out to approximately $10,959,000 a day, which is also about $456,625 per hour, $7,610 per minute, and $127 per second. We all want a cure but the imbalance of wealth in this world where some people not just Bill Gates have a higher GDP then some countries in the World

Mute @PodMusiccast
    Favourite @PodMusiccast
    May 4th 2020, 11:20 PM

Bill Gates is worth 104.3 billion USD today 4.5.2020 and we give 15 Million…Sorry but I are we always the soft touch here in current and past Governments to give away money to everyone else and how has he the power Varakar to do so?

Mute Emmet Lynch
    Favourite Emmet Lynch
    May 4th 2020, 6:43 PM

My Taoiseach

Mute flamrock
    Favourite flamrock
    May 5th 2020, 3:55 AM

It could be like the last virus, a big pharma company poured billions into a vaccine,that was not needed.viruses have a way of mutating making the vaccines worthless.hope it don’t happen

Mute flamrock
    Favourite flamrock
    May 5th 2020, 3:57 AM

Ah great.i can say anything I want .there all asleep in Ireland.