You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

'If things are so successful, why are people still leaving the country?'

Richard Bruton has come under fire as he claims “substantial progress” on jobs.

TENS OF THOUSANDS more people may be in jobs now than at the peak of the recession but the government has failed to stop talented young Irish people abandoning the country.

Fianna Fáil jobs spokesman Dara Calleary has accused the government of failing to stem the tide of emigration – particularly among those under 35 - despite the administration claiming success with its job-creation plans.

“If things are so successful, why are people still leaving the country and why is the talent still leaving?,” he said.

He made the comments at an Oireachtas Jobs Committee meeting today after Jobs Minister Richard Bruton claimed “substantial progress” had been made on goals set under the 2012 “action plan for jobs”.

Calleary Fianna Fáil's Dara Calleary at the Jobs Committee today Oireachtas.ie Oireachtas.ie

Bruton earlier said the government had set a target of getting 100,000 people back at work by 2016 and the the latest figures showed about 90,000 people had returned to work with the gains coming in full-time jobs.

He also said there had also been a 30% drop in the level of net migration – from 34,000 people leaving the country in 2013 to 21,000 last year.

Emigration is going in the right direction … and I believe it has come down since then as well,” he said.

Those figures were based on the most-recent figures from the CSO which cover the year ending in April 2014.

Migration CSO CSO

Irish still emigrating

However an analysis of the same data shows the emigration level among Irish people has barely changed over the same period after peaking in 2013.

Last year the net migration figure was still in negative territory with more than 30,000 more Irish nationals emigrating than those who were moving back. The total was last in positive figures in 2009, when 3,800 more locals returned than left the country.

Bruton said the “only response” to emigration was job creation and the government was on track for its goal of full employment by 2018, which in effect means a jobless rate of about 5%.

Bruton Jobs Minister Richard Bruton Oireachtas.ie Oireachtas.ie

The latest live register figures showed the unemployment rate stood at 10.1% in February.

Bruton said there was “no doubt” emigration had hit the under-35 age bracket the hardest, but many of the jobs now being created were well paid and in highly-skilled positions.

Essentially there is a war for talent in every country in the world. It will take time to get emigration down, but a drop of 30% in emigration over the last 12 months … is a good step.”

READ: These babies helped Enda Kenny declare 2015 ‘the year of rural recovery’ >

READ: Here’s a little help for anyone thinking of emigrating (and for anyone who already has) >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

102 Comments
    Mute Genius
    Favourite Genius
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:33 PM

Over taxed on everything.

Mute Angry Squirrel
    Favourite Angry Squirrel
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:50 PM

Bullsxxt spin from a bullsxxt government.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:53 PM

The tax in many countries is higher than Ireland!

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:55 PM

No, only Ireland has taxation.

Mute Barra
    Favourite Barra
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:56 PM

True, but at least they get adequate services such as healthcare, etc.!

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:15 PM

Ireland is terrible in very way.

All elected politicians have only malice and greed in their hearts working only to make things worse for as many people as possible. All observable improvements are illusory, only the bad things are real.

And something about Denis O’Brien.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:38 PM

Ireland is great if you are on social welfare, but people earning between 60 and 150k have a right to feel aggrieved as they are being taxed into oblivion! You would not blame them for leaving. Also, people like to see the great big world, regardless of their current state of affairs.

Mute Paul Raven
    Favourite Paul Raven
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:53 PM

Lets just hope that tech bubble doesn’t pop

Mute Derek O'Brien
    Favourite Derek O'Brien
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:05 PM

Yes but that tax take goes towards decent services or excellent childcare,

We pay back gamblers.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:48 PM

1. Zero hour contracts.
    2. Temporary, low hour contracts
    3. Minimum wage ( or less ) contracts.
    4. Shit t & c’s.
    5. No prospect dead end jobs.
    6. The USC theft from wages.
    7. Going to to rate of tax at lowest entry point in Europe.
    8. The PRSI tax.

After tax punishments

The highest cost of living in Europe for
    Childcare
    G.p. & medicine
    Transport private & public
    Food & beverages
    Utilities.
    Home tax.
    Water tax.
    Why wouldn’t continue to emigrate, even if they could get a job here they’d be working for nothing.

Mute Joe Price
    Favourite Joe Price
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:00 PM

You have my number one Denis Maher

Mute wilfried keulemans
    Favourite wilfried keulemans
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:10 PM

Dont forget Denis,if you manage to save you wil lose over 40 % due to dirt tax witch you wont see in any other country.Oh I forgot the PENSIONLEVY.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:39 PM

And don’t forget this new horseshit that being introduced whereby you’re financially penalised if you don’t acquire private health insurance before the age of 34…

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:18 PM

@DMaher

Ireland GDP €210 billion p.a. wealth created supports just 4.6 million people.
    Portugal GDP €213 billion p.a. wealth created supports 10.4 million people.
    Italy GDP €2014 billion p.a. wealth created supports 61 million people.
    So something very wrong with the Irish economy!
    Who is grabbing an unfair portion of the wealth created by the population into their pockets…?
    Why did 300,000 have to be “exported” after the 2008 crash?
    Who are the financial predators grabbing the wealth …… ?
    Some major reforms needed before Irish have a successful fair equitable society

PS: Will all of us 300,000 get out tax back please .. about $45 Billion (300,000 x 15 yrs x €10,000 tax p.a.) rather than using it to drive around in 151 cars …. not quite as much as ye gave to the Banks (€67 billion) ………

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:31 PM

Because some other countries don’t tax the bajeebus out of you! People have been absolutely pounded and they’ve had a gutful!

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:42 PM

Also, some people want to live in countries where it is actually a feasible prospect to buy a house… or rent one for that matter.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:45 PM

And some people want to live in a country that has at least one maternity hospital where women are not herded like cattle.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:46 PM

And some people want to live in a country where the government doesn’t wait until most of us have 2 hour long commutes before beginning to think about infrastructure.

Mute JTM
    Favourite JTM
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:53 PM

Our income tax system is the most progressive in the developed world!

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:03 PM

“Our income tax system is the most progressive in the developed world!”

This is the list of income tax bands in Australia (in A$):
    0 – $18,200 – 0%
    $18,201 – $37,000 – 19%
    $37,001 – $80,000 – 32.5%
    $80,001 – $180,000 – 37%
    $180,001 and over – 45%

https://www.ato.gov.au/Rates/Individual-income-tax-rates/

You don’t pay the top rate of tax until your income is €127,930.35

In Ireland you pay the top rate of tax when you are earning €33,800

Tell me again how progressive Ireland’s tax regime is..

The only additional charge in Australia is the 2% medicare levy. Ireland has PRSI and USC.

Australia’s GST is 10%; Ireland’s VAT is 23%. This is not a progressive tax.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:12 PM

When Ireland was regarded as the most progressive, it was in the middle of the housing bubble. Nearly everyone who owned a house was a millionaire then and everyone who bought a house had to pay ludicrous amounts of money in stamp duty each time. So on paper it looked like millionaires were paying loads of tax. Of course we know the property prices were bogus and the millionaires were not millionaires at all.

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:40 PM

Jtm. It’s very progressive, but not in a good way. It’s lopsided. If you think of a graph, the progression is not linear at all. The line towards the right tends towards infinity without ever touching the 100% effective tax rate…

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:42 PM

A good progressive example would be Australia, 4 or 5 distinct bands.

Mute Jake Race
    Favourite Jake Race
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:44 PM

I did give that example.

Mute Derek O'Brien
    Favourite Derek O'Brien
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:08 PM

You did,

On fire today Jake,

Fair play.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:18 PM

Yes Jake – there’s so much shit wrong with this government it makes it difficult to fit it onto a nice catchy placard.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:09 PM

“In Ireland you pay the top rate of tax when you are earning €33,800″

Yes, but you pay next to no direct tax if you earn less than €18k. VAT is of course regressive, but I’d rather they flattened out income tax. It is nuts that your income is ripped to pieces once you hit €35k, especially given the poor quality public services we are provided with in turn.

Mute Neuville-Kepler62F
    Favourite Neuville-Kepler62F
    Mar 12th 2015, 11:44 AM

Maybe this will help to explain the Irish tax system …

CSO figures for average public and private sector pay – 2013.
    €565 : UK average private sector weekly pay.
    €581 : UK average public sector weekly pay.
    Difference : 3%.

€623 : Irish average private sector weekly pay.
    €929 : Irish average public sector weekly pay.
    Difference : 49%. reduced to 43.24% in April 2014.
    - 300,000 Irish Private Sector workers overboard since 2008 … “can we please have our tax back?”

Looks like Irish still don’t know how to vote!

Mute Mark Meehan
    Favourite Mark Meehan
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:30 PM

The question needs to be asked now – what makes Ireland worth staying for?

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:44 PM

If I were thirty years younger I’d go too.

Mute Chris Ma
    Favourite Chris Ma
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:39 PM

We must stay because if we leave how will Enda & Joan live on 3500 per week, You really can’t expect them to live on less, we must pay our tax & everything else they can dump on us so we starve & they get richer.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:09 PM

What makes Ireland worth staying for? It’s one of the happiest and safest countries in the world to live in, as many global studies have shown.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:39 PM

Thats an interesting point of view that flys on the face of the loss of a generation of young people which continues unabated, nearly 200,000 of them in the last five years. A country that looses its younger generation because it offers them no future has no future.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:52 PM

Yeah, fair enough, just commenting on research done. I hope as many as possible come back and make it an even better place, and people vote with their heads for once. Never make a decision based on anger or greed.

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:35 PM

Government propaganda election rubbish. This country is riddled with cronyism and political corruption.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:40 PM

good news = propaganda
    bad news = truth

Repeat.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey

Evidence = Nil

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:31 PM

Who wants to stay for low paid jobs?

Mute Mickey finn
    Favourite Mickey finn
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:22 PM

Zero hour contracts are brilliant

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:35 PM

Up to 85,000 on job activation/CE schemes, minimum wage jobs, zero hour contracts, and the prospect of you, your kids and grandkids paying off debts that they had nothing got to do with.

If I were a younger man and out of work, I’d be heading to the airport myself.

Mute Dziadek Uncaged
    Favourite Dziadek Uncaged

See ya

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:54 PM

Give it a go! It would make many people who use this site very happy!

Mute Derek Daly
    Favourite Derek Daly
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:39 PM

Can you provide links to backup this number?

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman

Recovery? Pppffffttthhhhh…. Certainly not in the majority of tax payers cases anyway. Prices in this country for the majority or goods and services are extortionate. You get ZERO for your prsi. And don’t get me started on that fcuking USC. I don’t blame folk one bit for leaving. If you have no mortgage, no commitments (and yes I know of people who have both and emigrated) where’s the incentive to stay?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:29 PM

Simple truth versus spin (lies).

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:42 PM

Only party hacks and wilfully ignorant fools believe the government at this stage , I think the people on this forum that swarm anyone who argues against government spin should examine their consciences and question why they do it and why they support a system of government that forces a mass exodus of our young every 15 years .
    Shameful behaviour.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:59 PM

Deco – if SF /IRA get into power we will have many more people leaving the country. Any successful employee will leave and all foreign investment will stop’

Mute holden mcgroin
    Favourite holden mcgroin
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:14 PM

Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:23 PM

I don’t support SF or any of them they are all whipped , none of them ever got it right or anywhere near it , SF won’t either , I don’t want to be ruled by some parties ideology for their full term, without a hope of challenging
    I would like to have citizen initiated referendum and recall introduced into our constitution to put the brakes on government over reach and a put a check on Incompetent or corrupt politicians ,introducing this will also put a pause button on guillotining legislation that is not in the countries best interest.
    SF FF FG LAB etc would be looking over their shoulders at us watching them govern rather than just looking to get another term in office if this system was introduced.
    It’s simple enough do your job as you promised when canvassing or you will be recalled, govern the country for the people or we will challenge your legislation by initiating a challenge via referendum .

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:04 PM

And who will find these initiatives? How will they be overseen to make sure they’re not ‘gamed’? Sorry to break it to you but it’s not simple. If you vote for politicians based on their promises, you only have yourself to blame

Mute The Todd
    Favourite The Todd
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:20 PM

SF have enshrined the ability for the public to call a general election in their constitution just last weekend, via petition of course

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:03 PM

Can’t find that motion – only ‘This Ard Fheis calls for legislation whereby any citizen of voting age can, by obtaining a required amount of signatures, trigger a referendum within a specific time frame.’ ‘Required number’ is a little vague. Could be open to the trade union movement to do this as they might get required numbers most easily. Not necessarily a bad thing though!

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:28 PM

Overpriced & overtaxed. Work in Ireland only just pays…. If I was 10 years younger, I would be gone in a flash.

Mute Katie Does
    Favourite Katie Does
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:41 PM

Things are ;so successful’ (snort) in part at least BECAUSE people are leaving. Sure, some people will go in the best of times, but they are often people who’d get work anyway if they stayed. Now it’s people leaving cos they know there is no work here.

By leaving, in numbers, they are reducing unemployment, reducing social welfare costs etc etc etc. These people by leaving are making the economy look better, so there is really no way in hell the government want emigration rates to fall. The myriad of job schemes that are making the unemployment figures look better are also part of what makes it possible to trumpet about reduced unemployment.

Take both of those factors out and it would not be such a pretty picture.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Mar 10th 2015, 11:12 PM

Actually most people who leave are people who are already in employment.

Mute Caroline Murphy
    Favourite Caroline Murphy

As a recent emigrant who could probably eventually find work in Ireland, why would I stay in a country to pay for services that I don’t want, where treatment for my own condition is not recognized or provided and that the treatment abroad scheme has failed, where if I were to have an at risk pregnancy due to that condition and had to end that pregnancy I would have to go to England and come back only to pay for my own counseling, where if the pregnancy went well there still wouldn’t be specialist care for my child who could possibly inherit the same condition, and where I am still not allowed to marry. As a “privileged white person” in other countries, I fall into a lot of Ireland under served populations. Why the hell would I ever want to return to a country that doesn’t give a damn and can’t provide any of the things that I need for a decent quality of life? Elsewhere I contribute to the societies I live in, work in an executive professional role and pay as much taxes as they ask me to; because I feel looked after as an individual within their system.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:09 PM

I don’t think we need or expect everyone that emigrates to come back – lots of people are happier and have better lives in other countries and good for you/them. So you don’t ever (the hell) have to return.

Mar 10th 2015, 4:52 PM

Why are there 440,000 getting a dole payment when they are passed onto DSP schemes to play the CSO figures?

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:40 PM

FF should of paid such attention to the young people in September 2008 as they are now!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:46 PM

FG/Lab paid particular attention to under 25′s in pervious budgets, is that the type of attention you mean?

Mute Niall Mullane
    Favourite Niall Mullane
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:36 PM

They’re leaving because they think Sinn Fein will be running the country next year and then we’re all screwed. Get out while you can people!!!!

Mute Denise Sheehan
    Favourite Denise Sheehan
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:25 PM

As a parent I see it as giving them the best education we can afford that is often beyond our means .. But at the end of the day we are educating them to emigrate
    I agree with above comment it feels like it’s not our country anymore
    We feel like a minority here
    Work , pay tax , pay more tax one way or another through different bills etc
    We do not get any bonus for working our ass off … Sickens me to the core
    As for politicians ! Really
    What do they know
    Their heads are so far up their own asses and so thick – they actually believe their own babble

Mute gerard devany
    Favourite gerard devany
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:20 PM

Its not our country anymore.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:32 PM

In good times and bad, people will always leave Ireland. What needs to happen is that the environment improves further so many of those people come back with new their skills and experiences. They won’t all come back and hopefully not as many will leave in the future as things improve.

Mute Emerald Phoenix
    Favourite Emerald Phoenix
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:59 PM

People leave the country for a myriad of reasons. Some may actually have jobs and work hard but just want a better standard of living else where, that’s just one suggestion.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:36 PM

The government will have to triple their job creation to hit their full employment target………… or triple emigration.

Mute danielplainview
    Favourite danielplainview

I think a lot of people treat the recession as the perfect opportunity to travel and work abroad for a few years. Im sure a lot of them could get the same job in ireland but there is something tenacious in iroah people in that many of us want to try our hand at being succesful abroad.

Mute danielplainview
    Favourite danielplainview
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:33 PM

*irish

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey

Members of my family have decided to move abroad. Completely as a measure of seeing the world and of getting different experiences. This is now common for all countries. Looks like some of the commentators here would like to put a wall around Ireland to ensure that no-one can leave

Mute Business Cat
    Favourite Business Cat

It will be interesting to see the new CSO figures when the are released (April I think)

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:27 PM

For life experiences. Same reason people came here, and why I came here. That said, if there is a top rate of tax introduced or if my tax burden increases even more, I will be moving north or across the waters to the UK.

Mute MrsWoman
    Favourite MrsWoman
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:47 PM

And yes Niall…. The idea of SF in power in this country scares me rigid also.

Mute sinlacasa
    Favourite sinlacasa
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:44 PM

The place is a kip

Mute Mike Cantwell
    Favourite Mike Cantwell
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:11 PM

Make sure you tell all the Africans , Asians , Arabs etc who seem to be arriving in greater numbers , they don’t seem to think Ireland is a kip

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:52 PM

It’s so grand here we got the feck out.

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:41 PM

If Enda says it then it has to be right ,and if you dont think its true ask the banshee joan .

Mute Robert Lester
    Favourite Robert Lester
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:31 PM

Because the country is in ruins and if young people want a good secure future it won’t be found here thanks to previous and current governments, who’s only answer is tax and jobs bridge!

Mute RonanM
    Favourite RonanM
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:34 PM

Was beside a lady returning to Australia on a train yesterday and she put it as a good chance to explore the world -and gain experience. Being there for 2 years and said while she could come back and walk into a job now, she is happy where she is now but will returning in future!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

‘Returning to Australia on a train’ long journey by train hope she had a seat.

Mute James Conway
    Favourite James Conway
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:03 PM

Even during the “boom” years, thousands of young people emigrated to Australia and other countries, it’s nothing new.

Mute Ray Reilly
    Favourite Ray Reilly

People are fed up of people complaining….

Mute Ten Major
    Favourite Ten Major
    Mar 10th 2015, 8:54 PM

Stop whinging Ray.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99

Because we are in recovery – nobody has claimed that we have recovered.

Don’t these trends take time to reverse?

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Mar 10th 2015, 6:57 PM

Some recovery indeed. It’s all about how you tell/spin it.
    89,300 fulltime employees are now on the minimum wage according to CSO.
    80,000 taken off the live register and put into “activation” schemes at no cost to the employers.

300,000 emigrants over the past four years.

Mute Derek Daly
    Favourite Derek Daly
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:23 PM

Its strange how people quote only stats that suit their view and fail to provide any links to verify them while accrediting them to the CSO. Have a look at the link below with particular attention to the labour market section. Surprisingly the average wage is up at over 700 pw. Your stat of over 80000 on minimum wage means that less than 4.5% of the 1.94m workforce is on the minimum wage.

http://www.cso.ie/indicators/Maintable.aspx

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 10th 2015, 4:41 PM

Because we allow people to “leave” and still live here

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:30 PM

Can pay, – won’t pay. WHOPS , , ,Wrong thread.

Mute Shane Brady
    Favourite Shane Brady
    Mar 11th 2015, 4:00 AM

I choose to live overseas because If I live and work in Ireland my taxes will go into the pockets of our politicians and their cronies. I will never work in Ireland again, until the government repudiates the private banking debt and stops stealing from the working class to give to the rich.

Mute Search Eagle
    Favourite Search Eagle
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:59 PM

The vast majority of people leaving are already in employment. Why wouldn’t you want to leave? Especially if you have a skill or a profession. Why stay here and have your income over 35k cut to pieces in return for mediocre public services, when you can demand the same salary in other countries and receive much better services for same. Especially when one of the potential incoming governments has a vendetta against talented, skilled and educated people making money for themselves.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Mar 10th 2015, 5:18 PM

Emigration culture and a lack of patriotism from Irish people in general. It has nothing to do with jobs.

Mute gerard devany
    Favourite gerard devany
    Mar 11th 2015, 1:04 AM

Rochelle
    What a load of cock and bull, this country does not belong to the Irish people anymore.
    Patriotic ! When we have no say on what happens here ?

http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/ireland-population-forecast-1970782-Mar2015/

Your only here to make the wealthy richer. Patriotic Ha Ha Ha

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:15 PM

Just wait a while until more people leave, less skilled unemployed people will take their job and hey bingo the unemployment targets have been met.

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Mar 10th 2015, 10:39 PM

Can anyone tell me when Pensioners last had an increase in their pension??

Mute James O Carroll
    Favourite James O Carroll
    Mar 10th 2015, 9:43 PM

maybe the job and careers they want are not available in this country

Mute mcbab
    Favourite mcbab
    Mar 10th 2015, 7:52 PM

We live on a small island and there is a big world out there to be experienced. People have a natural sense of adventure and desire to explore. Always have and always will do.

Mute David Fox
    Favourite David Fox
    Mar 11th 2015, 10:28 AM

It’s home.. But some of is are the working poor..

Mute philobrien
    Favourite philobrien
    Mar 16th 2015, 12:55 PM

They are leaving to make room for the immigrants. Just look at the charts. The irish were always hospitable.

Mute stephen allen
    Favourite stephen allen
    Mar 11th 2015, 12:01 AM

While I acknowledge that it’s not a choice for a lot of people , for another large portion they simply want to leave and experience life abroad. I have immediate family abroad for both reasons. In my own case I plan on going to the US as soon as I graduate, not for a lack of jobs here, there is an increasingly large demand for engineering graduates but because that’s where a lot of the interesting work is taking place and if you want to be part of it you need to be in the middle of it. A large number of my friends are doing the same, it’s simply a side effect of globalisation

Mute patjoejoe123
    Favourite patjoejoe123
    Mar 11th 2015, 7:36 AM

lifestyle choice for lots of people