You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Take our survey • Win a prize
Harry Tector. HMD PERERA/SLC

Ireland's cricket team suffer worst Test defeat to date as Sri Lanka show their class

Visitors lose by an innings and 280 runs.

TEN WICKETS FROM Prabath Jayasuriya helped Sri Lanka thrash Ireland by an innings and 280 runs, in one of the biggest winning margins in Test history.

In Sri Lanka’s biggest win as well as Ireland’s worst defeat to date, the visitors were bundled out for 168 on day three in a humid seaside Galle stadium after being made to follow-on.

“(Ireland) are new to this format and they are still learning about this format. But I think they were really good and in future they will be a good team as well,” Sri Lanka skipper Dimuth Karunaratne said afterwards.

It was the 12th-largest innings victory in Test history, behind England’s win over the West Indies in 2007 by an innings and 283 runs.

Sri Lanka’s previous biggest win was when they hammered Zimbabwe by an innings and 254 runs in 2004 in Bulawayo.

Ireland have now lost all five of their matches since securing Test status in 2017. Their previous biggest defeat was to England by 143 runs in 2019.

In the first Test between the two sides, Sri Lanka made Ireland’s fielders toil from the start, racking up 591 for 6 in their first innings before declaring on day two.

Karunaratne top scored with a masterful 179 while Kusal Mendis posted 140. Dinesh Chandimal and Sadeera Samarawickrama then hit unbeaten hundreds.

Sri Lanka then had Ireland on the ropes on 4-2 before bowling them out for 143 with Jayasuriya taking a career-best 7-52 and Lorcan Tucker top-scoring with 45.

With a first-innings lead of 448, Sri Lanka enforced the follow on, reducing them to 40-5 before lunch but Harry Tector and Curtis Campher resisted with a 60-run stand.

The partnership was broken when Nishan Madushka pulled off a good reflex catch at short leg to dismiss Campher for 30 and give Ramesh Mendis his second wicket in the innings.

Mendis finished with four wickets, becoming after his 11th appearance the joint-fastest Sri Lankan to get 50 Test wickets alongside off-spinner Dilruwan Perera.

Tector, a tall 23-year-old right-handed batter, looked impressive with solid defence despite copping a nasty blow on the ribs from a Asitha Fernando delivery.

But his promising innings was cut short when he pushed one to mid-off and hurried for a single but there was no response from the non-striker.

Midway down the pitch, he turned back, slipped and despite a dive couldn’t save himself, departing for 42.

Jayasuriya bagged another three scalps, including the final one to fall, trapping Ben White leg-before for one.

Sri Lanka 591-4 (131 overs; Dimuth Karunaratne 179, Kusal Mendis 140, Curtis Campher 2-84)

Ireland 143 (52.3 overs; Lorcan Tucker 45, James McCollum 35, Harry Tector 34, Prabath Jayasuriya 7-52)

Ireland 168 (54.1 overs; Harry Tector 42, George Dockrell 32; W Mendis 4-76)

Sri Lanka won by an innings and 280 runs

– © AFP 2023

Written by AFP and posted on the42.ie

The Journal publishes the biggest breaking news in Irish and international sport but for all of The 42′s insightful analysis and sharp sportswriting, subscribe here.

View 3 comments
3 Comments
    Mute Kerril Lindsay
    Favourite Kerril Lindsay
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:25 PM

Judge wanted to send out a strong message by handing out 3 years, he then went and suspended it, the mind boggles

Mute Homer's imp son
    Favourite Homer's imp son
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:44 PM

The mind would boggle in a normal country. Not here, unfortunately

Oct 5th 2016, 11:35 PM

People get beaten up in Ireland every day. Karma works in mysterious ways. What you put out you will get back. Beware.

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Oct 6th 2016, 3:07 AM

Money talks. Justice walks.

Mute cormac o connell
    Favourite cormac o connell
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:26 PM

And he just let them buy themselves out of doing jail time

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:26 PM

A suspended sentence is a strong message for a violent and unprovoked attack? What role are these judges living in?

Mute Peter fechter
    Favourite Peter fechter
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:27 PM

A most generous judge…..3 vicious thugs…

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 5th 2016, 10:22 PM

@Peter fechter: Probably from “good families”, pillars of the community, GAA etc

Mute Keith D'Arcy
    Favourite Keith D'Arcy
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:33 PM

Suspended sentences, a strong message to continue the thuggery with impunity.

Mute LITTLEONE
    Favourite LITTLEONE
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:37 PM

A strong message these days is pay €3000 to the victim after you viciously attacked him and the nice judge will give you s suspended sentence. Ridiculous.

Mute Micheal OLainn
    Favourite Micheal OLainn
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:30 PM

Interesting that you can severely beat a victim, risk killing the victim, but you can buy your way our of a custodial sentence.

The moral is that you can hammer people providing you have the money barely to compensate them for their injuries.

Mute Bingobango
    Favourite Bingobango
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:45 PM

Seriously? The final kick in the teeth was delivered by Judge O’Donnell himself. Farce.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:47 PM

I hope the judge wagged his finger at them as he was suspending the sentence, you know, to make a really strong statement!

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:45 PM

Tom O’Donnell needs to be investigated. He must have the worst sentence record ever

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:55 PM

“I don’t want to be (seen) as allowing these three young men to buy their way out of these matters”
    Wtf? That’s exactly what you’ve done judge, how else are people meant to look at it? What a horrible sentence.

Mute €uromancer
    Favourite €uromancer
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:38 PM

Maybe the ‘judge’ should give attempted murderers a chance to throw doubles to avoid jail.
    Utterly farcical.

Mute Ricky McCabe
    Favourite Ricky McCabe
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:50 PM

Legal system is a joke

Mute Marek Klimczuk
    Favourite Marek Klimczuk

I was assaulted about 2 years ago, and taken to hospital for the night all in blood.
    I got no compensation whatsoever.

The attacker committed suicide roughly 1 year after that.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Oct 5th 2016, 8:16 PM

It would seem you’d have to kill someone before you’re jailed in this country

Oct 5th 2016, 8:40 PM

For five years with the last two suspended.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:54 PM

In a situation like that the favour should be returned to each one of them individually. Make sure they don’t lay a finger on anyone else again. Brave boys.

Mute Termaz Fx
    Favourite Termaz Fx
    Oct 5th 2016, 8:35 PM

I wonder if these three would get the same sentence if they attacked a judge?

Mute Ossi Fritsche
    Favourite Ossi Fritsche

Wonder if these posh thugs came from different part of Limerick, would the judge be so lenient. Class system always wins.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:44 PM

Based on previous sentences handed down by Irish courts, yes.

Mute Peter fechter
    Favourite Peter fechter
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:47 PM

There are certain types of employment that would dismiss these gentlemen immediately if they were in any such employment…they would also be refused by many employers on the basis of their convictions.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Oct 5th 2016, 7:57 PM

Peter, are you trying to say that the sentences were justified??

Mute Peter fechter
    Favourite Peter fechter
    Oct 5th 2016, 10:33 PM

Of course not Dave…too much of a believer in personal responsibility for that….my post was simply to point out the long term implications for these 3 buckos if they were of the type to possess a work ethic each.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Oct 5th 2016, 8:17 PM

Sure the legal system is counting on these guys re-offending…more $$$. A major investigation of why we have a legal system and not a justice system needs to take place.

Mute The Mooooose
    Favourite The Mooooose
    Oct 5th 2016, 8:52 PM

Weak weak judges and no consequences to such cowardly actions is no deterrent. A quick credit union loan and Bob’s your uncle. Just another nail in the Irish coffin. No justice.

Mute Cian Omahony Snr
    Favourite Cian Omahony Snr
    Oct 5th 2016, 9:49 PM

Send out a strong message my ass ……no suspended sentence. ..send them to jail for 5 years full term. That would send a stronger message

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Oct 5th 2016, 10:01 PM

Why are cases like this never appealed by the DPP as too lenient
    Just once DPP appeal a far too lenient sentence

Mute aboutallthethings
    Favourite aboutallthethings
    Oct 5th 2016, 10:52 PM

I think someone should explain to this judge how this is as far from a “strong message” as you can get. No wonder the country is going to shite socially with idiots like this as judges.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Oct 5th 2016, 8:43 PM

Let’s them out to do it all again and then get another suspended sentence for them to do it again and then get……….

Mute Shane Fleming
    Favourite Shane Fleming
    Oct 5th 2016, 9:51 PM

Deep remorse my hole. FFS the system is beyond a joke.

Mute Joe Dobias
    Favourite Joe Dobias
    Oct 5th 2016, 11:39 PM

Well. Judge. You actually let them buy out of it.

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Oct 5th 2016, 8:34 PM

I wonder what a weak message would look like, the Judges words and actions don’t match up.
    That poor lad deserves justice, he hasn’t got it. 9 grand would probably buy some though, just a thought.

Oct 5th 2016, 8:43 PM

9 grand is not enough. He should have gotten all their worldly possessions that would teach them.

Mute Mrs parrott
    Favourite Mrs parrott
    Oct 6th 2016, 12:48 AM

“I don’t want to be seen to be allowing these 3 men to buy their way out of these matters”… so if you could just cough up 9000 euro there now you can go off home. Good man judge.

Mute Dave McCrea
    Favourite Dave McCrea
    Oct 6th 2016, 4:27 AM

3 on 1… real tough guys. should all do time, see how they do inside

Mute dominic
    Favourite dominic
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:56 AM

At least the public know who the assailants are.But this type of verdict does not deter violent thugs or make the law abiding feel secure

Mute Ian Phillip Creaner
    Favourite Ian Phillip Creaner
    Oct 6th 2016, 6:13 AM

A strong message?!!! What a d!psh!te of a judge.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Oct 5th 2016, 8:54 PM

Obviously, the boyfriend of the woman who the victim was talking to doesn’t know what love is.

Mute Ivan Costelloe
    Favourite Ivan Costelloe
    Oct 6th 2016, 7:13 AM

Three thousand each!?? Probably not even a month’s wage for each of their parents. Ridiculous.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Oct 6th 2016, 2:11 AM

Talk about insecurity? What w….rs.

Mute Ian O Connell
    Favourite Ian O Connell
    Oct 6th 2016, 8:54 AM

These judges are a disgrace in this kip, wanted to send out a strong message, and then suspends their sentence, disgusting

Mute Nasir Saeed
    Favourite Nasir Saeed
    Oct 6th 2016, 12:10 PM

Thick judge

Mute June Rose-Sommer
    Favourite June Rose-Sommer
    Oct 18th 2016, 6:30 PM

Another idiot Judge!! These guys who beat the poor guy are savages!! “They showed great remorse” said their Counsel!!That’s easily said!! The idiot judge bought it!!!!! No real ramifactions for savage perpetrators!! Our Judicial system STINKS TO HIGH HEAVEN!!!

Mute @Anthonyweim
    Favourite @Anthonyweim
    Oct 7th 2016, 12:21 AM

The judge noted “their deep remorse”, yeah right once they were caught! I wonder how many others they beat up before that?
    The big problem here is that judges simply don’t have the prison places to stick these ba$tards into and for some mad reason it’s now become the norm that judges think that a cash fine or payout solves everything.