You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ireland administers record number of vaccines for second day in a row

A total of 27,427 doses were administered on Thursday.

file-photo-results-from-the-long-awaited-us-trial-of-the-oxford-astrazeneca-covid-vaccine-are-out-and-confirm-that-the-shot-is-both-safe-and-highly-effective-more-than-32000-volunteers-took-part-mo File photo of AstraZeneca vaccines. Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie Sasko Lazarov / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

BY THE END of today, it is expected that in total, 800,000 vaccines will have been administered in the country. 

Health Minister Stephen Donnelly said Wednesday and Thursday last week were the HSE’s biggest days in terms of vaccines being administered.

On average over one million vaccines a month will arrive in April, May and June and will be administered quickly, said the health minister today.

A total of 27,427 doses were administered on Thursday, 25 March, bringing the total number administered past 750,000.

This is an increase of more than 5,000 on Wednesday’s total of 21,971, which itself was a new record.

The day-on-day increases suggest there is currently enough capacity to keep pace with increased deliveries.
11.5% of Ireland’s population has received at least one dose of a Covid-19 vaccine, while 4.4% are fully vaccinated.

This is above the EU average of 10.6%, but behind countries with more advanced rollouts like the United States (27.4%) United Kingdom (43.8%), and Israel (60.3%).

PastedImage-28582 HSE HSE

Meanwhile, there has been an uptick in the number of people in hospital with Covid-19.

There are 322 confirmed cases in hospital, with 18 new admissions in the past 24 hours.

The number of people in ICUs with Covid-19 has remained static, at 66 people.

Two more deaths of people with the virus were confirmed last night, and 624 new cases notified to health authorities.

The HSE’s five walk-in testing centres for people with no symptoms continue to operate. A total of 5,791 people attended the facilities on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, with a positivity rate as of Saturday morning of 2.2%.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

97 Comments
    Mute WiseUp
    Favourite WiseUp
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:25 PM

Good news and hopefully some consistent progress being made

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:34 PM

@WiseUp: look at the previous week on the graph? With the exception of last Thursday and Friday the efforts are pathetic. No consistency there! Forecasting a supply of 250k a week will require over 35k doses per day..every day!!

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:45 PM

@Derdaly: agreed pathetic numbers still

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute WiseUp
    Favourite WiseUp
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:53 PM

@Derdaly: I can see you’re a glass half empty kinda guy! Onwards and upwards and progress being made is how I interpret the graph. Enjoy the rest of your Sunday

Mute Alan Byrne
    Favourite Alan Byrne

@Derdaly: They are starting to ramp up well, last weeks low figures were due to the hold on AZ.

Mute Jon Mackey
    Favourite Jon Mackey
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:24 PM

@WiseUp: amazing what a scandal can do

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:59 PM

@Nigel o’Neill: some people never happy it is ramping up so take a posative from that & be Thankful we are going in the right direction a lot better than most of Europe

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:12 PM

@Alan Byrne: AZ hold up lifted on the 19th!!!

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:31 PM

@Derdaly: you do realise its a supply issue not a deployment issue?

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:24 PM

@James Gorman: it actually isn’t since 18 March, read the article, do the maths. Over 200k doses on hand last week…

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:26 PM

@James Gorman: sorry number is on other article. 855k doses delivered to 18th March.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:28 PM

@Derdaly: Is that because AZ was suspended?

Mute Ken Byrne
    Favourite Ken Byrne
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:32 PM

@Derdaly: moan moan moan

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:30 PM

@Ken Byrne: He has to paint a negative picture of everything that’s happening. It’s his thing. Got to give him credit for consistency though, the guy’s relentless.

Mute Dobby Dooo Dooo
    Favourite Dobby Dooo Dooo
    Mar 29th 2021, 12:07 AM

@Nigel o’Neill: Thus time last year, we thought it would take 2yrs to develop a vaccine. We aren’t where we want to be but we’re getting there slowly (We all just desperately need to leave our counties again!!)

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 29th 2021, 4:35 PM

@Derdaly: They have used what they have gotten and they say ad we shall see is the system set up correctly.
    What more can they do.

Mute CAMILA REMONA
    Favourite CAMILA REMONA
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:33 PM

I love a good news story ! Also I found a fiver in an old pair of jeans and now I’m off too the shop anyone want any thing ?

Mute Conor Egan
    Favourite Conor Egan

@CAMILA REMONA: bag of Meanies please.

Mute CAMILA REMONA
    Favourite CAMILA REMONA
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:38 PM

@Conor Egan: no bother !!

Mute Baldy Boo Bolingoli
    Favourite Baldy Boo Bolingoli
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:50 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: 2 stingers&a dip dab.thanks man.

Mute Joe Kennedy
    Favourite Joe Kennedy
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:55 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: haha….can’t get any better for today I’d say. I’ll take ten penny jellies if you have any change left!

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:09 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: wouldn’t get us a dan bar would ye?

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:46 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: 400 penny colas, wham bar, black jacks, fruit salads , 1 packet burger bytes

Mute Daniel O'Connor
    Favourite Daniel O'Connor
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:56 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: I’ll take a cadet cola, a whoppa bar and a bag of banshee bones

Mute Darren Holohan
    Favourite Darren Holohan
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:30 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: get us a smiley bar, sound.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:33 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: ye ticket to a sun destination

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:35 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: hot lips or thai rings please

Mute ni_ni_s
    Favourite ni_ni_s
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:52 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: Camila luv, would you stand me a freddo bar? Thanks angel x

Mute Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Favourite Sorcha Ní Shúilleabháin
    Mar 28th 2021, 7:59 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: I’ll have a dip dab

Mute CAMILA REMONA
    Favourite CAMILA REMONA
    Mar 28th 2021, 8:46 PM

@CAMILA REMONA: #sozbabes ..got stopped on the way back from the shops at a check piont outside my 5k none of the above requests where deemed essential and now I’m down €105…. ;) Classic my luck !!! Even offered the guard a dip dab… #2fizzy4guards

Mute Football Value Trader
    Favourite Football Value Trader
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:28 PM

We managed to get 1million flu vaccines done in October and November by empowering and supplying GP’s to get the needles in arms! This system is way too slow

Mute LFCMAD_94
    Favourite LFCMAD_94
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:30 PM

@Football Value Trader: yes but they had the one million vaccines to administer, can’t give people vaccines that we don’t have

@LFCMAD_94: Ireland has 1.6 million doses of vaccine in total. Another 4.6 million are on order and the UK may share another 3.7 million. Your point is moot

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Hank Schrader
    Favourite Hank Schrader
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:36 PM

@Football Value Trader: The stability of the flu vaccine and how it can be distributed to GP practices and pharmacies is totally different to the Covid vaccines, and was far more of it too. As time goes on expect that Covid vaccines may well become the same in that they can be manufactured and distributed much easier and possibly in syringes ready to go.

Mute D. Memery
    Favourite D. Memery
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:37 PM

@Football Value Trader: their point is not really mute if the numbers you refer to predominantly refer to vacinnes not yet physically here

Mar 28th 2021, 12:39 PM

@Hank Schrader: Astra can be stored in a normal fridge just like flu shots. You’re referring to Moderna and Pfizer

Mar 28th 2021, 12:42 PM

@D. Memery: Reread my comment. There’s 1.6 million COVID vaccines in Ireland as we speak. They are being kept to administer to the different cohorts in Irelands vaccination roll-out. These vaccines need to be supplied immediately to GP’s who are better placed to get the job done

Mute AL
    Favourite AL
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:47 PM

@Football Value Trader: I don’t think that’s true bud? Think we’re hoping to receive 1.1 million by the end of March. Figure of 1.6 million is from December before any supply issues

Mar 28th 2021, 12:54 PM

@AL: Here’s the figures for you:

2.3 million doses of Pfizer received 29th December
    880,000 Moderna received 16th of January
    3.3 million Astra received 8th of February

Now if someone would be kind enough to do the maths I won’t have to spend all my Sunday answering replies

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:03 PM

@Football Value Trader: Fantasy Football figures.

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:06 PM

@Football Value Trader: there is a difference between orders and deliveries, ireland has received around 750,000 doses up to last week, some are held back for the 2nd dose, there is no surplus sitting somewhere.

A quick google search will show you the figures!

Mute Col de Gal
    Favourite Col de Gal
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:09 PM

@Football Value Trader: See the 3rd paragraph of this article from Friday. 855,360 doses delivered by 18th March. https://jrnl.ie/5388094

Mute AL
    Favourite AL
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:44 PM

@Football Value Trader: I wish they were true but you’ve whipped them out from your back side

Mute D. Memery
    Favourite D. Memery
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:29 PM

@AL: if they are getting the vacinnes from Football Value Trader’s back side, I may request another vacinne, as I’m not sure of the efficacy of anything coming from there.

Mar 28th 2021, 2:29 PM

@AL: OK Al, maybe add up all the vaccine deliveries made so far, including the deliveries Thursday, Friday and Saturday, which are in a refrigerated warehouse in Citywest by the way, then subtract the first and second dose figures and see what number you get. 100-120 thousand will be vaccinated every week according to the government and about 600 thousand are due their second dose in the next four to six weeks. So if I’m wrong why have the government made the claim they can do those sorts of numbers?

Mute ▪️
    Favourite ▪️
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:38 PM

@Football Value Trader: Your ‘delivered’ figures are just what we’ve ordered. Those targets are reached very slowly over a few months with various deliveries throughout Q1 and Q2.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/news/hse-vaccine-rollout-stepped-up-as-ireland-in-line-to-receive-33-million-more-doses-39946971.html

Mute Tadhg Reddan
    Favourite Tadhg Reddan
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:58 PM

@Football Value Trader: 340k or so have had 1st dose and not second dose, of those almost 160k are AZ which has a 12 week dosing interval so most not due in next 4-6 weeks so actually 180k plus however many pfizer/moderna first doses are given in the next 2 weeks are due 2nd doses in the next 4-6 weeks… https://twitter.com/COVID19DataIE/status/1376114850322059269?s=19

EU data here says we have received just over 800k doses up to the 21st, not sure how many were delivered this week but with holding doses back to ensure supply for 2nd doses seems a pretty high percentage of doses have been given (We’d given 680k doses by last Sunday, when about 310k were between 1st and second dose). https://covid19-vaccine-report.ecdc.europa.eu/

Mute Peadar Whelan
    Favourite Peadar Whelan
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:24 PM

@Football Value Trader: we can’t get the Vaccines out of the kitchen tap, we have to wait to receive them, or do you know something that the rest of us dont

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Mar 29th 2021, 8:14 AM

@Football Value Trader: ‘On order’ doesn’t mean here. The UK has not offered us anything yet. Every vaccine we have is in an arm by now.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:32 PM

750k vaccinated 250k already have had covid and hence a level of immunity that is 1m or 20% of the population and the daily numbers in many parts of the country consistently below 20 per day why are we still in level 5, well paid civil servants I suppose who don’t have to worry about bills food clothes . 500,000 forced out of work some for more than a year. When will we have positive leadership rather than scaremongering and fear.

Mar 28th 2021, 12:42 PM

@john s: apparently from what I heard in radio last week we need 3m vaccinated for herd immunity to be effective

Mute Neil Neart
    Favourite Neil Neart
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:01 PM

It’s when the risk of dying and hospitalisation from covid are above a certain % that lockdown is required. Sadly the Govt will not have a conversation with the people about these figures.

Mute Gerard Carthy
    Favourite Gerard Carthy
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:25 PM

@: the threshold for herd immunity from a virus like COVID is between 34 and 68%. This is from viral modelling. The 75% figure is what people have decided sounds about right.

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:09 PM

But why do you need heard immunity or 60-70% vaccinated for a disease that unfortunately effects over 70s and those with underlying health conditions ?

Mute john s
    Favourite john s
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:13 PM

@Gerard Carthy: wow between 34 and 68% that is a ludicrous spread i am not disputing it but that in Ireland is a spread from 1.6m too 3.2m people in Ireland.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 29th 2021, 4:40 PM

@john s:Your numbers are wrong all over the place.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:48 PM

And listen…..St Gerald’s staff and families can’t thank the government enough

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:40 PM

@Ciaran McCann: The amount of rubbish on journal.ie today is a record in itself.

Mute Derdaly
    Favourite Derdaly
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:11 PM

@Ciaran McCann: Interesting article in the Guardian regarding the extra dose dilemma experience in the UK. Seemingly a 10 shot vial of AZ can yield up to 13 doses. Vaccine administers have to get creative, against the rules. But so is throwing out vaccine!!
    https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/mar/28/key-uk-workers-given-secret-covid-jabs-to-avoid-wasting-vaccine

Mute Karen Kelleher
    Favourite Karen Kelleher
    Mar 29th 2021, 4:37 PM

@Derdaly: You can get 8 doses out of the 6 dose Pfizer vial too, it was well known you could get 7 at a pinch from the beginning but then some clever nurses realised that you can stretch to 8 if you use those tiny insulin needles so as not to waste a drop (and that was the first week of January they were talking about that so its nothing new) – so they defo are doing that! Never fear.

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:55 PM

The HSE made a balls of procuring the vaccine. One simple job and they couldn’t do it. Instead that mouthpiece Paul Reid comes in the radio with excuses. He’s not worth 42k never mind 420k.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:41 PM

@Random_paddy: Can’t procure what isn’t there. EU made a balls of that not the HSE, who have nothing to do with procuring vaccines anyway.

Mute Setanta Stylfox
    Favourite Setanta Stylfox
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:14 PM

@Random_paddy: You sound like an ill-informed bar room mouthpiece.

Mute Fergal Owens
    Favourite Fergal Owens
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:28 PM

Record based on what?

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:29 PM

@Fergal Owens: I would say based on the very low numbers administered thus far.

Mute Fergal Owens
    Favourite Fergal Owens
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:50 PM

@Keith Twamley: agreed but why just higher doses rather than record

Mute Charmaine ☘ Irish
    Favourite Charmaine ☘ Irish
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:10 PM

@Fergal Owens: back to school for you.. Billy Maddison

Mute Fergal Owens
    Favourite Fergal Owens
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:27 PM

@Charmaine ☘ Irish: sorry meant to say: why dont they say higher than record doses

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 29th 2021, 4:41 PM

@Keith Twamley: The numbers percentage wise are some of the highest in the EU.

Mute Paul Kiely
    Favourite Paul Kiely
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:25 PM

So what records my ass
    4.5 million in Ireland
    By the time we need our second vaccine we be behind on first year

Mute D. Memery
    Favourite D. Memery
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:33 PM

@Paul Kiely: only if this is a linear increase, the projected deliveries, and I accept they are just projected at present, would indicate an exponential increase over the next few weeks is more likely.

Mute Corinne Wilson Muller
    Favourite Corinne Wilson Muller

Not good enough at all. Shocking service!

Mute Setanta Stylfox
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:16 PM

@Corinne Wilson Muller: You have our permission to go out and do better.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:38 PM

We should praise them for doing the job their paid to do in the first place, I suppose they had to get it right EVENTUALLY

Mute Craig Loughman
    Favourite Craig Loughman
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:20 PM

I ran a mile in four hours yesterday and today it only took me 3 hours and 55 minutes. By the governments standard I should actually be telling everyone I set my personal best today and not bother with the times because they are abysmal. Easy to set records when you’re coming from such a pitiful starting point

Mute Setanta Stylfox
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:17 PM

@Craig Loughman: aren’t you a great man all together.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 29th 2021, 4:43 PM

@Craig Loughman: What do you want them to pretend they vaccinated loads of people they did not to make the you happy, they have used what they had, now they must keep a reserve for the second shot. That is the way it works.

Mute Ainm
    Favourite Ainm
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:22 PM

I’m aware of someone who got the AZ vaccine last week, is now in hospital with a blood clot. They have no history of clotting. Hospital staff very unwilling to consider that it could be vaccine related. I have no problem with vaccination but it seems like a very dangerous situation where medical staff are not willing to report side effects. Do we want the vaccine so badly that we’re prepared to overlook safety issues?

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:45 PM

@Ainm: great story, bro

Mute Pat
    Favourite Pat
    Mar 30th 2021, 10:04 AM

@Ainm:
    There are similar issues with Pfizer and Moderna identified in USA but not reported in the EU.

https://www.ashclinicalnews.org/online-exclusives/rare-cases-immune-thrombocytopenia-linked-covid-vaccine/

Mute Pat
    Favourite Pat
    Mar 30th 2021, 10:06 AM

@Pseud O’Nym:

Same issues with Pfizer and Modena but not in the news here.

https://www.ashclinicalnews.org/online-exclusives/rare-cases-immune-thrombocytopenia-linked-covid-vaccine/

Mute Dragutin Cvetković
    Favourite Dragutin Cvetković
    Mar 28th 2021, 12:32 PM

Any chance of a tabular report, across groups, similar to what is floating around the Internet?

Mute Brían Ó Tuathail
    Favourite Brían Ó Tuathail
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:32 PM

What do they want? A chocolate watch.

Mute William Bryan
    Favourite William Bryan
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:47 PM

Record number by their own measure

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 29th 2021, 4:44 PM

@William Bryan: If you measure them against the rest of the EU they are doing very well and our logistics are harder again.

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Mar 28th 2021, 1:52 PM

Great. Things can only get better.

Mute Joed
    Favourite Joed
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:40 PM

Lots of people i know couldn’t get the flu jab this year despite getting it previous years

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 29th 2021, 4:45 PM

@Joed: The flu did not happen this year due to people taking covid-19 precaustions, same the world over.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Mar 28th 2021, 2:53 PM

That’s great and hopefully we will set a lot more good news facts like this

Mute Airwave81
    Favourite Airwave81
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:13 PM

Have the know shame pimping up a derisory increase in inoculations as if it was groundbreaking nearly as bad as the time after bust when a Gov minster came on national Tv to announce 8 new jobs .

Mute Shane Cormican
    Favourite Shane Cormican
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:23 PM

So it’s beating it’s own poor performance?

Mute Martin Laird
    Favourite Martin Laird
    Mar 28th 2021, 6:28 PM

It’s OK the Beacon can give you as much as ye need feck everone else

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Mar 28th 2021, 3:14 PM

Any idea what the number of positive cases were from the walk in tests this week?

Mute Alan Byrne
    Favourite Alan Byrne
    Mar 28th 2021, 5:49 PM

@Emer Caffrey: Heard it was as low as 2% positive for the walk in tests so far, so that’s good news.

Mute Cez Miname
    Favourite Cez Miname
    Mar 29th 2021, 12:21 AM

Jeez these ‘records’ ain’t hard to achieve.

Mute Michelle Flood
    Favourite Michelle Flood
    Mar 29th 2021, 9:49 AM

Omg stop giving yourselves pats on the back and just get those vaccines ASAP!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Mar 29th 2021, 4:47 PM

@Michelle Flood: What do you think they are doing holding them back for fun. The EU numbers show we are doing very well.
    You can only use what you have and now you have to keep a second shot supply too.
    So it means we have to have more vaccines in hand.