You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Actor Jimmy Nesbitt at home in south London PA

Political leaders and actors among those set to take part in United Ireland rally

Cold Feet star Jimmy Nesbitt will deliver the keynote address at the Ireland’s Future event in Dublin.

LAST UPDATE | 1 Oct 2022

POLITICAL LEADERS AND high-profile actors will be among those addressing a rally on Irish unification in Dublin later.

Pro-unity group Ireland’s Future, which has organised the event in the 3Arena, has said thousands of people are expected to attend.

Actors Jimmy Nesbitt and Colm Meaney will be among those participating.

Cold Feet star Nesbitt, who is from a unionist background in Northern Ireland, will deliver the keynote address at the close of the afternoon-long rally.

Ahead of the event, he insisted he was not jumping on any “bandwagon”.

“I think people are imagining that I’m jumping or joining some bandwagon, and I’m certainly not,” he told the Belfast Telegraph.

“I come from a particular background, of which I am particularly proud of, and I don’t refute or shy away from that.”

Nesbitt said there was a need for a public debate on the issue.

“I’m going down to give my perspective because there needs to be change and there needs to be public debate,” he said.

“Things like this can only increase that public debate. For too long this has all been left in the hands of politicians.”

Leaders of five political parties will also take part in the rally.

Tánaiste and leader of the Fine Gael party Leo Varadkar will give an address, as will Sinn Fein President Mary Lou McDonald.

However, Taoiseach Micheál Martin will not attending and is instead at the Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis.

Speaking to reporters earlier today, Martin said that he didn’t regret not attending the event.

“I’ve been involved in Northern Ireland all my political life. This shouldn’t be a browbeating exercise to say ‘you must be there’,” said Martin.

“I wish everybody the best of luck, I have no issue with discussing these issues.”

fianna fail 283 Taoiseach Micheál Martin speaking to reporters at the RDS today Sam Boal Sam Boal

Martin said that people can speculate on the constitutional question and how a united Ireland might be implemented but he believed the three sets of relationships underpinned by the Good Friday Agreement need to be part of a new state.

“What I’ve always said is that whatever happens in the future on this island, the underpinning relationships, the three sets of relationships that underpin the Good Friday Agreement would still have to be part of any new dispensation on the island.

“What do I mean by that? The British Irish relationship will still have to be there. The North-South relationship, but crucially, the relationship between the two traditions, but also new traditions.”

The stated aim of Ireland’s Future is to promote debate and discussion about what a united Ireland would look like. It is campaigning for a referendum on reunification.

The group contends that Brexit has created a fresh impetus for constitutional change, with more people looking at unification as a way to mitigate the consequences of the UK’s departure from the EU.

Unionist parties in Northern Ireland are not involved in Saturday’s event.

The cross-community Alliance Party is also not participating.

The party, which does not take a position on the constitutional question, said while it was prepared to take part in discussions on the issue, it said it would not be appropriate to attend what it described as a “rally to endorse a united Ireland”.

The event is being held days after census figures showed that Catholics now outnumber Protestants in Northern Ireland for the first time since the partition of the island.

The Census 2021 figures, published last Thursday, show that 45.7% of the region’s population said they were either Catholic or brought up as a Catholic.

The figures for Protestants (and other Christian faiths) was 43.5% while 1.5% were from non-Christian religions.

Northern Ireland had a significant Protestant majority when it was established in 1921 as part of the partition of Ireland. Its founders believed this Protestant majority would secure the future of the newly-created political entity.

Some nationalists hailed the census results as a seminal moment in the history of the region, drawing a direct link between the religious breakdown and public opinion on the potential reunification of Ireland.

However, unionists criticised this interpretation, insisting religious affiliation is a crude metric to measure sentiment on the constitutional question.

The census figures also included data on national identity.

Census 2021 showed that 31.9% said they were “British-only” and 8% deemed themselves “British and Northern Irish”.

The proportion of the population that said they were “Irish-only” was 29.1% while those identifying as “Northern Irish-only” was 19.8%.

Additional reporting by Christina Finn

74 Comments
    Mute Colm Molloy
    Favourite Colm Molloy
    Oct 1st 2022, 9:47 AM

A United Ireland for all , regardless of how you vote or political background.
    A United Ireland for all people on the island to make it a better place to live, north and south, and west and east, should be beneficial for everyone

Mute Nicholas McMurry
    Favourite Nicholas McMurry
    Oct 1st 2022, 9:52 AM

@Colm Molloy: Yes. Maybe we can get the NHS from Northern Ireland and roll it out to the whole country!

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 9:55 AM

@Colm Molloy: Seems true but we need to appeal to the moderate Unionists. Historically joining a Catholic Ireland isn’t appealing. Joining a Gerry Adams ‘Armalite and ballot box’ led government in two years isn’t appealing either. Also, a debt ridden country may not be appealing but that might be offset by the disaster that is Brexit UK. My point is that we shouldn’t try to force moderate unionists to become Irish, we should appeal to them. They may feel as lost as most Irish and British with the current situations, most are just regular people with families and jobs. A lot even prefer to just identify as ‘Northern Irish’ if forced to identify in this modern age.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:04 AM

@Jim Smith: tell us how having debate, building support for a democratic poll is going to ‘ force’ anyone?

Mute fintan doyle
    Favourite fintan doyle
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:25 AM

@Nicholas McMurry: maybe have a look at the NHS up North first

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:27 AM

@John Mulligan: what old scores are you talking about ?
    Could you list them ?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:39 AM

@John Mcmahon: there are certain elements of unionism/loyalism who need to keep that community firmly embedded in ‘ siege mentality’. To do this they promote the threat of violence and/or state and church domination of one community over another.

Mute Thomas Claffey
    Favourite Thomas Claffey
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:03 AM

@John Mulligan: just as FG and FF have done since the Republic was put in place its time for change.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:17 AM

@M Bowe: I meant that people may feel ‘forced to identify’ as a social element/construct in this day and age when people seemingly must identify as a cohort or group. I would have thought that this was clear in the context. “if forced to identify in this modern age.” I hadn’t meant by gun in hand. Perhaps ‘forced’ wasn’t the correct word tbf. Do you care to deconstruct the rest of my argument?

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:20 AM

@M Bowe: ‘Elements’ are true in all groups. It can be unfairly used in any argument. There are elements of Irish teenagers that attack old people, there are elements of SF that are involved in planned killings in boxing clubs for example. It’s disingenuous.

Mute Rúraíocht
    Favourite Rúraíocht
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:38 AM

@Jim Smith: completely agree. Consent provisions enable that. This debate was never going to start with unionism included. The crux of the issue is getting unionism involved in a discussion so they have a voice that is heard. Most only hear intransigence. Am sure the unionist middle ground is capable of problem solving also.

Jumping forward .. joint sovereignty with access to both markets seems feasible. The north has been an impoverished waste ground for too long, they deserve access to the same global markets as Dublin etc.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:54 AM

@Jim Smith: Yes, I have already deconstructed the ‘ armature and ballot box’ reference as being historical rather that current. As for ‘Catholic Ireland’ that no longer exists either as has been evidenced by changes in law over past 20 years and more. We now have a secular society with contraception, divorce, same sex marriage, terminations. We have held the Catholic Church to account for past horrors inflicted by them on mothers and babies, albeit not strongly enough, but that is an ongoing situation. So that argument is also more historical than current.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:57 AM

@Jim Smith: there are elements of British forces who have been involved in acts of murder and loyalist organisations . Do you also now class all British Forces, RUC UDR primarily in same light as those elements??

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 1:01 PM

@Jim Smith: that would be dependent on the strength of those elements within any community. The strength of that element who use‘ perceived’ threats within unionism can be seen by the use of this by the DUP to keep their vote base firmly within that doctrine.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 1:01 PM

@M Bowe: I did intentionally say ‘historically’ when referring to ‘Catholic Ireland’, in my comment. “Historically joining a Catholic Ireland isn’t appealing (for Unionists)”. The comment still seems fair, perhaps ‘wasn’t’ if any correction is due. Your counterpoint backs this up. Unionists, traditionally, didn’t want to join an Ireland where power was effectively shared with an oppressive Catholic Church – ‘Home rule is Rome rule’ was a slogan over 100 years ago. This barrier has been largely removed, thankfully for most.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Oct 1st 2022, 1:41 PM

@Jim Smith: You really havent thought this trough have you Jim? If someone from a traditional unionist background, but who now votes for Alliance, decided to vote Yes in a boarder poll for unity, because they wish their children to have a better future after the Brexit F…up, how exactly is that forcing them out to be seen taking sides — And what exactly do you mean by taking sides?

it’s a simply question on the ballot paper – do you favour a united Ireland or a continuation of the union with Britain – or in simpler terms – vote for the option which you feel will best deliver you and your family a better economic future!

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Oct 1st 2022, 2:02 PM

@Nicholas McMurry: you having a laugh Nicholas. Have you looked at key indicators such as life expectancy??

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Oct 1st 2022, 2:40 PM

@Nicholas McMurry: You need to get out more.

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Oct 1st 2022, 7:31 PM

@Jim Smith: ex member and not in their name

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 9:06 PM

@Rúraíocht: Cheers. I’m not sure if it’s possible but a Northern Ireland with special access to the UK market and the Irish/EU market would be pretty sweet for all people there after decades of torment if the majority agreed. If sole EU access leads to a better way of life, it shouldn’t be seen as SF dominance over a people.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 2nd 2022, 9:29 AM

@Angela McCarthy: I did say ‘if’ forced to do so. ‘if’ forced to choose between milk and yogurt, I’d choose milk. ‘If’ forced to choose between socks and shoes, I’d choose shoes. I didn’t imply that guns were at people heads and that people up North were forced to choose. If my point isn’t made, let me know…

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 2nd 2022, 1:34 PM

@Mona Murphy: Hi Mona, I don’t get the context. Explain please in the interest of free discussion/debate. Thanks. Jim.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 2nd 2022, 1:41 PM

@M Bowe: Partly true but we need to see that some people who vote ‘unionist’ have valid concerns. If these people are to be our fellow countrymen (country people?) soon or in a few decades they shouldn’t be subjugated, we should treat them with kindness and understanding. It should be more of a welcome on board than a ‘we beat you finally’.

Mute Dylan Cotter
    Favourite Dylan Cotter

So maybe this is Pedantic Pat territory, but the Journal’s choice to refer to this as a “rally” seems worth a look. The organisers don’t use that word, they call it an event. It’s an important distinction because at a rally everyone is marching behind one opinion, whereas this event seems to be much more anout fostering discussion. I mean, it’s got Mary Lou and Leo sharing a stage. For sure the “Ireland’s Future” group does openly say it ultimately wants a united Ireland, but it seems to want to get there in an inclusive way. Some other media are also referring to it as a rally. From a bit of googling (not very scientific I know) it looks like the Alliance Party were the first to refer to it with that word, when they were dismissing it a few days ago. #Biscuit #Bar

Mute Dylan Cotter
    Favourite Dylan Cotter

@Dylan Cotter: *about

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:43 AM

@Dylan Cotter: well said. One man’s rally is another man’s ‘event’
    We know well the power of words in Ireland.

Mute Darren Callaghan
    Favourite Darren Callaghan

Keep it, I for one hope that it never happens in my lifetime, our politicians are bad enough without all the dregs of Northern politics to listen to as well, no thanks

Mute Anne Busher Collins
    Favourite Anne Busher Collins
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:05 AM

@Darren Callaghan: They can’t agree even to sit in the same chamber in Northern Ireland and govern, God help us in an united Irelnd.

Mute Mick McGuinness
    Favourite Mick McGuinness
    Oct 1st 2022, 9:45 AM

While you still have bigotry and Dinosaurs in North it won’t happen.

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Oct 1st 2022, 9:49 AM

@Mick McGuinness: on both sides.
    And since the unionists are the ones who need to be convinced they’re not bring asked to join a Republic run by the IRA, the Mary-Lounatics are the biggest obstacle to unity.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 9:56 AM

@John Mulligan: so hence your almost continuous harking on about an organisation which stood down 15 years ago and had been on ceasefire 10 years prior to that. You don’t want to give peace a chance because you need that fear tactic in promoting your political outlook while avoiding honest political debate.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:03 AM

@John Mulligan: I’m not a fan of Mary Lou but she is making efforts. Gerry refuses to actually retire and seems to want to insert himself. I’m not sure if he is or was a necessary evil but he represents the old armalite/ballot box strategy of old and is seen (rightly or wrongly) to have links to the PIRA council. The less PIRA or perceived PIRA, the better for everyone. Sinn Fein (Irish Hamas as I cynically call them) have a chance to be involved in local matters and people. ‘Killing’ Unionism with kindness, certainty and opportunity would be a more tenable strategy for modern Republican.

Mute Leadóg
    Favourite Leadóg
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:05 AM

@John Mulligan: Anyone who uses names like Mary Lunatics, mehole or lieo lose the argument straight away.

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:07 AM

@M Bowe: whatever about the past, S/f in my opinion have not presented anything that would make me vote for them. Every time they announce a big plan it lacks substance and is almost always just about grabbing headlines. This was grand when they were a small nothing but as the official opposition they need to present genuine ideas that they can show will work and then can the state can afford.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:18 AM

@Jim Smith: you are going back to 1981 with that armature and ballot box strategy. There has been amazing changes since those dark days, when republican political representation was actually banned. It took until 1998 and the GFA to lay the foundation which Republicans could legitimately and democratically promote their views without suppression. Those days are thankfully long gone and never coming back for Republicans in North or unionist in a UI.

Mute Gavin Courtney
    Favourite Gavin Courtney
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:19 AM

@John Mulligan:

You still have lůnatics with the attitude that ” All animals are equal, but some animals are more equal than others”

Until you end The days of parading dominace in a battle 350 years ago, there is no chance of gaining equality

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:22 AM

@Peter: That’s true. They are the opposition though. When a politician knocks on your door and he is genuinely talking about community, childcare, local matters, it is very appealing. I still can’t vote for them but they could be an option to the current Gov with a few logical changes (despite their past which I will get over). If people care about local matters and people in a small country, we can’t blame them.That seems to be the strategy of the current SF (With the old guard lurking in the background sadly).

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:23 AM

@Peter: which plan have SF announced which you feel lacks substance? While generalisation sounds great it lacks detail which can be debated or substantiated.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:31 AM

@M Bowe: That’s why I mentioned ‘perceived’, to be moderate. People that lost loved ones or innocent people that were left permanently disabled don’t forget so easily and I certainly can’t blame them. IMO the PIRA were monsters occasional bombing pubs of mostly innocent people having a pint. SF needs a clean break from them if they are to be a legitimate alternative. GFA or not, they need to be a Sinn Fein 3.0 rather than a continuation of PIRA Sinn Fein to be the legitimate opposition that the country craves. If we vote Sinn Fein, it shouldn’t mean that we were okay the actions of the 70s and 80s PIRA. It’s possibly the path to a United Ireland if SF are elected.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:36 AM

@M Bowe: Fair point. Provide the link and we can either tear apart the policy or agree that it was misjudged. I vaguely remember that it seemed untenable at the time tbf but the country has record ‘profits’ at present. hindsight is 20/20.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Oct 1st 2022, 1:49 PM

@John Mulligan: Get with John man, ‘Both Sides’ there are three voting blocs there now. Four if you dont forget the string pullers in London.

Mute Damien Leen
    Favourite Damien Leen
    Oct 1st 2022, 2:34 PM

@John Mulligan: Empty vessels make the most noise…whist!

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Oct 1st 2022, 9:12 PM

@John Mulligan: are you being paid by FG to troll! Same nonsense out of you again. Your leaders have failed, now jog on!!

Mute Liz O'Neill
    Favourite Liz O'Neill

So James Nesbitt wants a United Ireland,but lives in South London…..

Mute David Burns
    Favourite David Burns
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:40 AM

@Liz O’Neill: I think he might have a gaff in dublin 8 also

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:56 AM

@Liz O’Neill: Only true if he taking part in a ‘Rally’. This event seems like a rorschach drawing. Is it for peace, unity, tolerance, dominance? It depends on who is viewing it.

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:58 AM

@Liz O’Neill: and NI. Why shouldn’t he have a say? He’s proud of his Irish roots.

Mute Aidy McBride
    Favourite Aidy McBride
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:06 AM

@Liz O’Neill: he’s only there because there’s free wine

Mute blue exile
    Favourite blue exile
    Oct 1st 2022, 1:26 PM

@Liz O’Neill: He might get cold feet.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Oct 1st 2022, 1:52 PM

@Liz O’Neill: If you lived abroad Liz, would you not want to have a say in the future of your own country? Fair play to him for showing an interest, considering his own cultural background, and at least hes not like others who feel by not facing it, it might just go away. It aint!

Mute Aidy McBride
    Favourite Aidy McBride
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:01 AM

A United Ireland in Sinn Feins eyes is the uniting not or orange and green but of green and green, they just want what they see as the big prize and they aren’t bothered if the unionists are on board or not, as long as they beat them in a referendum.

Mute Brax Braxton
    Favourite Brax Braxton
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:30 AM

Great actor and yes a United Ireland for all.

Mute Terry Brophy
    Favourite Terry Brophy
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:28 AM

If the SDLP were in the position SF are in now we would actually be within touching distance of a united Ireland, alas

Mute Mona Murphy
    Favourite Mona Murphy
    Oct 1st 2022, 7:34 PM

@Terry Brophy: don’t think so they let the nationalist people down that’s why the are known by majority of nationalists in 6 counties as the stoop down low party. They didn’t back catholics when they needed them

Mute A$AP Ragnick
    Favourite A$AP Ragnick
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:07 AM

Thought James Nesbitt would be too busy doing his 547th bbc four parter in which he plays a tough uncompromising detective that plays by his own rules.

Mute Mick Tobin
    Favourite Mick Tobin
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:28 AM

Apparently “Northern Irish-only” is the identity that’s been gaining most ground. The question is to what extent people who identify as such support a united Ireland. If they don’t, or consider themselves neutral on the topic, then that boils down to supporting the status quo. Quite possibly it could be this group that will prevent the emergence of a majority in favour for the foreseeable future, and hence block the NI secretary’s mandate to then call a border poll.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:47 AM

@Mick Tobin: let’s hope so. The Northern Ireland only option looks good to me. This along with the emerging alliance party offer a genuine alternative to both north and south. I can see the appeal of this opportunity.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:59 AM

@Mick Tobin: It seems like a good thing to see some people happy with being ‘Northern Irish’. It’s a unique are where you don’t need to hate people from the town over. Brexit has changed the parameters though. The option of just being ‘Northern Irish’ is getting eroded away again.

Mute A Well Known Comical Stereotype
    Favourite A Well Known Comical Stereotype
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:18 AM

@Mick Tobin: Wrong. “The number of ‘Northern Irish only’ is broadly stable, marginally reducing from 379,300 in 2011 to 376,400 in 2021.” Things are very dynamic. The longer Truss stays in power, the better re-unification looks. It is the best thing for all Irish people.

Mute Terry McClatchey
    Favourite Terry McClatchey
    Oct 1st 2022, 12:01 PM

@Mick Tobin: Those who identify as NI only are indeed the large and critical section of swing voters who will determine the outcome of a border poll if/when it happens. The key thing however is that they are not a homogenous group or block. They are individuals who will be persuaded to jump one way or other in a binary poll depending on the specific offer that is on the table at the time of the vote.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Oct 1st 2022, 1:59 PM

@Jim Smith: Funny, but the only people I can see expressing hate, are the ones who seem to use that word with their narrow stereo type description of others whom they disagree with. For example, Jim, perhaps hate is too strong a word, but I bet you dont love the idea of thousands of people gathering in Dublin today to plan for Ireland future.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 2nd 2022, 1:55 PM

@Mick Tobin: @Angela McCarthy A legit example of regular life would be if one had a job with Royal Mail and had a young family. Nationalist/Unionist, Catholic/Protestant. If you have a young kid and a woman who just gave birth, it’s okay to want to keep your job or to be given an equivalent job if there is a United Ireland. People forget that the ‘troubles’ were started by a human rights issue, not because or religion or ‘identity’. Look after people and their families.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 5th 2022, 9:41 PM

@Angela McCarthy: They are planning for Ireland’s future? Is this how a group plans? Is this how thousands of people get together and ‘plan’…? huh? If so, is it a good method of ‘planning’? Should governments do this method of planning? How about businesses, is this the future for Apple and Tesla? World and business leaders can stand to be enlightened.

Mute François Pignon
    Favourite François Pignon
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:30 AM

Probably the handiest thing would be have a common currency and more seamless trade. Time to bury the hachet.

Mute Jason Walsh
    Favourite Jason Walsh
    Oct 3rd 2022, 8:24 AM

@François Pignon: it would be a big impact on the political parties of NI, in a united Ireland parties like DUP wouldn’t stand a chance at power or even power sharing and they know that

Mute J Flood
    Favourite J Flood
    Oct 1st 2022, 2:29 PM

West Germany was an economic powerhouse when it absorbed East Germany – can the Republic match it to absorb the North?

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Oct 1st 2022, 6:04 PM

What kind on nonsense is going on here ??. A United Ireland ??. How in God’s name could that happen. We cannot even get the Bigots in Northern Ireland back into the Assembly, they are now using the Protocol as an excuse when everyone with a brain knows that kthey will NOT go in under aSF First Minister . Well if that is the case what chance would we have of getting them into Leinster House ??. There will never be a United Ireland .

Mute Tony Mc Grath
    Favourite Tony Mc Grath
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:54 AM

It’s time for a game of whataboutary. And away we go.

Mute Laing
    Favourite Laing
    Oct 1st 2022, 11:03 AM

“with more people looking at unification as a way to mitigate the consequences of the UK’s departure from the EU”……. Hahahahahhahaah……….hahahahahaa

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Oct 1st 2022, 12:08 PM

@Laing: with the UK beef deal coming into effect shortly this will decimate the north beef farming community, which consists of large number of farmers who would classify as unionist. How will that play out against losing their livelihoods or regaining them via membership of EU markets?

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Oct 1st 2022, 10:59 AM

Lord of the Rings: Hobbit star Jimmy Nesbit ….

Mute bomber
    Favourite bomber
    Oct 1st 2022, 2:05 PM

They should ask Putin how to reunify the island of Ireland. It will be sorted in days.

Mute Jim Smith
    Favourite Jim Smith
    Oct 2nd 2022, 1:57 PM

@bomber: ?

Mute Anthony Hesketh
    Favourite Anthony Hesketh
    Oct 2nd 2022, 2:09 PM

Could Ireland afford to incorporate the north ? Is it prepared to offer the same welfare state including the NHS ? Does Ireland really want to incorporate the difficulties/ problems (including possible violence) that could well result from a small number of unionists being forced into a United Ireland? Ireland has it good at the moment but the reality of a United Ireland, for the first time in history, may be very different from the dewy eyed romantic visions.