You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Archive/Press Association Images

Beauty, food and parenting: the top themes of Irish blogs

A new survey of Irish bloggers has found that a quarter earn money from their blog, while all say they write from personal experience.

Beauty, food and parenting are the top themes for Irish bloggers, according to a new survey carried out in Ireland by Walsh PR.

According to the survey, the majority of Irish bloggers are women and the average age of an Irish blogger, 34, is slightly lower than the European average of 37.

Almost three-quarters of the 90 Irish bloggers surveyed have been blogging for over a year, while a fifth have been doing it for five years. All the survey respondents said they wrote based on their personal experiences.

While 27% say they earn money from their blog (compared to the European average of 45%), almost all of the bloggers (91%) have been contacted regularly by companies for PR and marketing. Ninety-six per cent say they are happy to be contacted by companies.

The main reasons for having a blog, according to those surveyed, are to share information and experiences (73%) and for professional development (48%).

Twitter and Facebook are the leading social networks used by the bloggers surveyed, with 94% and 87% signed up respectively. Fifty-nine per cent use Instagram, 56% Pinterest, 28% YouTube and 23% LinkedIn.

Over 1,200 bloggers from Ireland, Northern Ireland, Germany, Finland, Italy, Great Britain, Spain, Slovenia and the Czech Republic were interviewed for the inaugural IPREX European Blogbarometer poll. Walsh PR is the Republic of Ireland partner of IPREX.

Caroline Heywood, Managing Director of Walsh PR, said the survey was “designed to provide companies and brands engaging with these authors a deeper insight into what inspires and motivates them.”

“With some small exceptions, we’ve seen Irish blogger trends and nuances, such as age profile, gender and themes, generally replicated in other European countries,” she said.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:50 PM

71 convictions why the f**k is this vermin not in a ceil? What’s the solicitors defence? He needs a 72nd chance? If the likes of this lowlife broke into your house and you done him in good and proper, the Judge would throw the book at you. Would you get a 2nd chance? We need more Garda and new legislation with tougher laws.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Apr 15th 2015, 8:27 PM

Justice system is a f@&€gbg disgrace in this country. Building a new prison and introducing much tougher sentences should be high on the list.

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Apr 15th 2015, 9:42 PM

Time to completely separate the driver from his fare. It’s the same in the UK and the US. It should be law to have a screen between the front and back of the vehicle

Mute Julia85
    Favourite Julia85
    Apr 16th 2015, 12:02 AM

Only a matter of time before he takes someone’s life. Should be 15 years with no parole for any crime involving a weapon. Particularly knives. We need to stamp out knife crime now before it becomes commonplace and we see and hear about fatalities more and more often

Mute PingoPaw
    Favourite PingoPaw
    Apr 16th 2015, 12:27 AM

Ireland is a banana republic. Nothing works as it should, yet the people seem to care more about the pub and the x factor. You should be ashamed of yourselves for allowing your country and society to be destroyed

Mute Eóin Bishopski
    Favourite Eóin Bishopski
    Apr 16th 2015, 2:00 AM

You are a banana republic. Leave Ireland alone. Look at the state of the rest of the world while you are at it.

Legal system is in a pretty bad way and so too is the political sphere but someone, anyone, point out a country (besides them Nordic perfectionists ) that is perfect. None.

Ireland has its flaws but we are a unique nation. I’m sure there’s a few Syrian lads somewhere drinking pints saying ‘lads, isn’t the Syrian political system a f**kin’ joke at this stage’.

Mute sonny black
    Favourite sonny black
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:48 PM

71 previous offences and he gets 3 years for for that horrible act?.Anyone with more than 30 convictions should just be put to sleep, permanently.

Mute fact&ionlydealinfact
    Favourite fact&ionlydealinfact
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:58 PM

Sickens me when I see the usual nonsense about the guilty are waiting on a list to get treatment. The first thing these vermin do when they get caught is sign up for treatment knowing full well that judges look favourably upon it even though they have no intention of doing it.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:55 PM

71 previous convictions. Sentences to 3 years. Im on drugs your honour waiting to go to rehab your honour. Sorry about the knife your honour. Ah you’re alright young man sure the unfortunate taxi driver will be ok just do your time. Sure with good behaviour and all the other easy shite you will probably be home before me and you should have no bother getting your drugs in prison.

Mute Julian Hough
    Favourite Julian Hough
    Apr 15th 2015, 8:10 PM

3 years is far too lenient for that abhorrent crime alone. 71 previous convictions just proves that he is completely remorseless and a continuous threat to society, what a ridiculous sentence.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:48 PM

71 previous convictions.

Well done justice system. You once again have displayed your flaws

A complete overhaul is required.

3 strikes and your in for 5 years and not a day shorter,

4 strikes and you get ten.

5 strikes gets you sterilised and life.

Mute Dave J
    Favourite Dave J
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:56 PM

6 – 15 strikes lose a finger per strike.

Mute Buckwheat MacMillan
    Favourite Buckwheat MacMillan
    Apr 15th 2015, 8:08 PM

For a supposedly right wing country we have have a very lenient sentencing policy.

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Apr 16th 2015, 7:38 AM

Think about it Buckwheat, we have murderers and people who helped cover up rape running for Taoiseach. It just doesn’t suit any of those gombeens (or any of the complicit existing politicians) to properly punish crimes as the scrotes don’t want to be punished and bleeding heart liberals don’t condone harsh punishment.

Mute Dingleberrycity
    Favourite Dingleberrycity
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:46 PM

Society is descending into hell and we as a people seem powerless to stop it.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:51 PM

With that previous he’d get 20 years in most US states. Sentencing here is a joke.

Mute Pat Mustard
    Favourite Pat Mustard
    Apr 15th 2015, 8:22 PM

Dublin is like a scene from the Walking Dead these days. Junkies are everywhere pestering tourists. I think judges are told to give very light sentences to these rodents with 50 charges. There isn’t enough space in our prisons for all these “petty” criminals so they are given a free reign to carry on thieving and harrassing people. Build some prisons and lock up the 50 charge offenders with proper sentences, fat chance of that happening though!

Mute Fred Coloe
    Favourite Fred Coloe
    Apr 15th 2015, 9:40 PM

A former district court judge actually said the same during a Newstalk interview today.

Mute Byyys
    Favourite Byyys
    Apr 15th 2015, 11:12 PM

All banks, post offices, credit unions, and other store’s have panic buttons in-case of robbery’s… maybe Taxi’s/Cab’s should have some kind of panic button that is connect via Bluetooth or 3G/4G, it would auto call or send a text message in an emergency, if say someone pulls a knife or something.

Mute Kitty Prendergast
    Favourite Kitty Prendergast
    Apr 16th 2015, 7:32 AM

Byyys – it seems they do as this man pressed a distress call button. Junkies are a plague and I for one am tired of hearing that we should pity them. Lock them up.

Mute R M
    Favourite R M
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:49 PM

Punks. Hopefully the pendulum will begin to swing back the other way soon and anyone with 7 previous convictions will be digging and filling holes every day for a few years. That won’t be long sorting out their ‘problems’ and ‘issues’.

Mute R M
    Favourite R M
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:50 PM

Sorry. That’s 70 convictions, not 7

Mute little jim
    Favourite little jim
    Apr 15th 2015, 9:34 PM

Let’s go with 7 anyway, it’s still too much.

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Apr 15th 2015, 8:02 PM

3 years?

3 decades would be more appropriate

Mute Mick lennon
    Favourite Mick lennon
    Apr 15th 2015, 10:20 PM

3 years,?while that poor fella trying to earn a crust suffers a lifetime of fear and watching his back?scandalous justice,when bus drivers were being robbed with syringes they removed easy cash access and put proper security screening for them, that stopped the robberys overnight, taxi drivers deserve to be safe in the workplace the same as any other worker

Mute Brian Gormley
    Favourite Brian Gormley
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:53 PM

I not so sure about being put to sleep permanently but 3yrs is not near enough

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Apr 16th 2015, 12:39 AM

My thought are with Mr McEoin.
    For the s***bag to be given only 3 yrs is an insult to Taxi drivers & anybody held up like this. Taxi driving as a profession holds the highest suicide rate categort in Ireland.

The S/Bag had 71 previous conviction inc. ASSAULT – decent people would expect him to be put away for life at this stage. He is not capable of living a civilised life & should be put away for life.

SO WHATS HIS 72ND OFFENCE GOING TO BE – MURDER ???

Mute davemck
    Favourite davemck
    Apr 16th 2015, 2:11 AM

PUT HIM DOWN

Mute Andrew Weir
    Favourite Andrew Weir
    Apr 15th 2015, 7:52 PM

Just waiting for the taxi haters to start posting.

Mute fact&ionlydealinfact
    Favourite fact&ionlydealinfact
    Apr 15th 2015, 10:27 PM

Looks like you could be in for a long night chief.

Mute Mick lennon
    Favourite Mick lennon
    Apr 15th 2015, 11:51 PM

Someone call Andrew a taxi

Mute benji balbriggan
    Favourite benji balbriggan
    Apr 16th 2015, 10:19 AM

Cut their dole or enforce a weekly deduction from their wages for every conviction after the first 3 convictions on an increasing basis,