You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Clare Keogh

Getting to Know: Irish Dairy Farmers share their stories of sustainability

We meet dairy farmer Caroline Hanrahan who speaks to us about sustainability and water quality in the dairy industry.

“THE BETTER THE cow you have the more sustainable it is, you’re producing more milk and having to feed them less meal. It all plays a part in it.”

Caroline Hanrahan and her husband Ger own and operate one of the 17,500 family-run farms in Ireland, producing milk and other milk products with their 350 strong dairy cows. We spoke with Caroline to learn more about their sustainable farming practices and the efforts they make to improve water quality through responsible and sustainable farming.

Caroline is well-used to farming, having grown up on her own family farm, before getting a science degree in University College Dublin. A few years later, she married Ger and the pair have been working together, along with their five children, in the dairy business ever since.

The Hanrahan farm located near Ballyhooly in north Cork has been in their family’s hands for six generations and across that time they’ve seen a lot of changes throughout the dairy industry in Ireland.

dairy-farmer-caroline-hanrahan-rahard-ballyholly-co-cork Clare Keogh Clare Keogh

Ireland’s Climate Action Plan has set a target of a 25% reduction in emissions for the agriculture sector by the end of this decade. In addition, the quality of our rivers, lakes and waterways is expected to be ‘good’ or above by 2027 which will require continuing focus, effort and action by everyone involved in Irish agriculture.

Dairy farmers across Ireland have been combining their dual role as food producers and ensuring the sustainability of the land for years, and the Hanrahan farm is a prime example of a farm doing their bit to prioritise sustainability.

“In the past few years clover has come on a lot more,” Caroline said.

By the end of the year we’re going to have 30% of the farm sown with clover. There’s a couple of different methods of doing it, you can oversow or you can sow in the clover when you’re reseeding your paddocks.

“We’ve taken out one or two paddocks to reseed this year and we’ve put a clover mix into it as well. This is helping to reduce our nitrogen use, basically the clover fixes the nitrogen from the air and means we don’t have to spread as much nitrogen on the land. It’s a win-win for both the farmer and the environment as well, which is a big thing.”

Introducing different plants like clover into pastures reduces the reliance on nitrogen fertilisers — the less fertiliser a farm uses, the less potential for eutrophication in nearby water waterways. It also contributes to targets set under EU Green Deal strategies as well as the government’s climate action plan for 2023.

cowfacelookingstraighton Shutterstock / J R Patterson Shutterstock / J R Patterson / J R Patterson

Slurry spreading is another area which Caroline and her family have focused on in order to reduce emissions and ensure water quality on their farm. The Hanrahans have adopted low emission slurry spreading on their farm, with nearly 90% of dairy farmers across Ireland following suit in recent years.

“With the old slurry system you used to just blow it out the back of the tanker,” Caroline said.

“But the newer one we’ve adopted, which we got a grant for, is an attachment to the back of our spreader. So now, rather than blowing it up into the air it will put it down into the ground in a trailing system.”

Although there are state imposed windows on slurry spreading in Ireland, farmers also take responsibility themselves by only spreading when the weather is suitable, therefore mitigating the risk of runoff into waterways and maintaining the ecosystems surrounding farms.

Across the Hanrahan farm, you’ll see native hedgerows and trees which play a key role in sustainability as well creating a habitat for multitudes of animals and insects. Hedgerows sequester carbon, provide wildlife habitat, control flooding, improve water quality, and improve the scenic appearance of the landscape.

Like many others in the sector, the Hanrahans are aware that farm efficiency and herd health are better economically for a farm, as well as having the knock-on effect of reducing the carbon footprint – or hoofprint – of a litre of milk. Caroline’s farm uses artificial insemination and can therefore select specific traits and sex in the breeding process, allowing them to weed out inefficient breeders.

To quote Caroline Hanrahan once again, “it all plays a part in it.”

Reducing emissions by 25% before 2030 as well as improving water quality are the targets placed on Irish dairy farmers. Undoubtedly the challenge will be a test of the dairy industry as a whole, but it’s clear the future of dairy farming in Ireland, as well as the agri-food sector, is in good hands when farmers like the Hanrahans are involved.

Interested in learning more about sustainable practices in dairy farming and farmers like the Hanrahans? Visit the National Dairy Council’s site for more information around dairy in Ireland, as well as recipes and helpful blogs.

The National Dairy Council is an Irish organisation telling the story of nutritious, responsibly-produced Irish dairy.

Comments
    Mute Neil Neart
    Favourite Neil Neart
    Aug 28th 2021, 2:36 PM

It is literally mind boggling that we have high vaccine take up with one of the longest and most severe lockdown yet such high case numbers and no one in the Press or Opposition or even in Govt is demanding to know why? The bad news never stops!

Mute Tomás Barrett
    Favourite Tomás Barrett
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:10 PM

@Neil Neart: lockdown ended months ago.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:28 PM

@Neil Neart: not only are we not currently in lockdown, we never had a severe lockdown, eg no curfews, no home checks for isolation compliance. Just compare out cases and hospitalisations per capita with Northern Ireland, where they have the worst death rate in the developed world

Mute Des Doherty
    Favourite Des Doherty
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:43 PM

@Neil Neart: what are you on about, restaurants and bars opened months ago, there was 50k in Croke park last week , also the vaccine only stops you getting sick with covid, it’s doesn’t stop you getting it so i don’t know why you think the numbers are mind boggling?

Mute Paul Hedderman
    Favourite Paul Hedderman
    Aug 28th 2021, 4:32 PM

@Stephen Kearon: Do you not consider Level 5 for around 7 months excluding christmas a severe lockdown? No curfews or home checks doesnt mean it wasnt severe.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Aug 28th 2021, 5:42 PM

@Neil Neart: hard luck! Massive fail there.

Mute Gerry from the Block
    Favourite Gerry from the Block
    Aug 28th 2021, 1:53 PM

Tis a mighty drying day out there.

Mute murt de murty
    Favourite murt de murty
    Aug 28th 2021, 4:05 PM

@Gerry from the Block: not much wind out though. Plenty of hot air in the comments below all the same.

Mute Victoria Victoria
    Favourite Victoria Victoria
    Aug 28th 2021, 1:56 PM

Flatten the curve. Next 2 weeks are critical. #ItsInOurHands

Mute Larsen Cib
    Favourite Larsen Cib
    Aug 28th 2021, 2:24 PM

@Victoria Victoria: same old nonsense for the past 2 years

Mute aperally
    Favourite aperally
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:19 PM

@Larsen Cib: last 2 years have been critical

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:57 PM

@Larsen Cib: nonsense? Well done you. Imagine how bad it would have been the last 17 months if we followed your advice.

Mute Crypto S. Crazii
    Favourite Crypto S. Crazii
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:15 PM

@Alan Peters: Madness is trying to understand how 326 covid patients can overwhelm the entire health service of Ireland. Fact is, this only highlights further, the complete shambles of system that existed long before this virus sprung up.
    Vaccinated nurses dropping like flies? Surely not? That must mean that Holohan does not understand the literal definition of “Fully Protected” as he likes to say so often?
    Next they’ll ban Agency Nurses from working unless they’re vaccinated! Oh wait….

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Aug 28th 2021, 4:00 PM

@Crypto S. Crazii: where did you see that vaccinated nurse are dropping like flies?

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Aug 28th 2021, 4:05 PM

@Crypto S. Crazii: 326 covid patients in addition to all of the other people who need hospital treatment, its not like the hospitals are just treating people with covid. My friend works in ICU and they have had to open a second unit so that they can separate the non covid patient from the covid patients bit still have the same amount of staff because it’s a specialised area so can’t just have any nurse come and work there. That means a part of the hospital usually used for something else has to be taken away. After Christmas it was the coronary care unit that had to be turned into another ICU.

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Aug 28th 2021, 4:36 PM

@Crypto S. Crazii: Do you know the amount of resources a covid sufferer takes up in a hospital.
    How many ICU beds are available, of course not.
    The HSE is a mess and we have known that since well before Covid-19.
    Considering the mess it is, the country has done well to have the numbers we do have.
    Vaccination does not mean you cant catch the virus, it means you should not have the severity that catching it unvaccinated has.

Mute Crypto S. Crazii
    Favourite Crypto S. Crazii
    Aug 28th 2021, 5:18 PM

@Paul Furey: The Journal removed loads of comments and that has the the effect of making my comment look bonkers without the context of the the other messages I was replying to.. Happens to me more often than I’m comfortable with tbh..

Mute Paul Hedderman
    Favourite Paul Hedderman
    Aug 28th 2021, 6:47 PM

@Gary Kearney: we are far from where we were in jan/feb at the peak of that wave. 221 in icu and 2,020 hospitalisations then…….. The national adult critical care capacity baseline is being increased from 280 to 321 by year end this year.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 28th 2021, 7:59 PM

That’s good news. I see there were 247 people in Irish hospitals yesterday being treated on trolleys – or chairs – in corridors.

Still, it could be worse.

People in hospitals in New Orleans are not being evacuated because all hospitals in neighbouring states are overwhelmed by Covid cases and can’t take any more patients.

Mute Man incognito
    Favourite Man incognito
    Aug 28th 2021, 1:56 PM

Early in the day they must be off to croker

Mute Victoria Victoria
    Favourite Victoria Victoria
    Aug 28th 2021, 1:58 PM

Allow the communions and confirmations.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Aug 28th 2021, 6:50 PM

@Victoria Victoria: Not a hope, major indoor pissup’s for the dressed up hugging yummy mummy’s.

Mute Craig Ferguson
    Favourite Craig Ferguson
    Aug 28th 2021, 1:53 PM

Ahhh sure, be grand lads.

Mute Mick Dunne
    Favourite Mick Dunne
    Aug 28th 2021, 2:33 PM

@Craig Ferguson: that’s easy for you to say unless you’re an anti vaxcer.Try saying that to the front line staff in the hospitals

Mute SquintEastwood
    Favourite SquintEastwood
    Aug 28th 2021, 2:46 PM

Should we not have a lot more cases if transmission is so high..keeps staying around the same for few weeks now..or do we as most vaccinated people don’t get tested because of hse illogical guidelines of no need for test if vaccinated

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Aug 28th 2021, 4:35 PM

@SquintEastwood: it’s per day, not cumulative

Mute SquintEastwood
    Favourite SquintEastwood
    Aug 28th 2021, 8:41 PM

@Elaine Phelan: obviously its per day…but why is it always around the same amount per day if it’s so much more contagious..i read that delta is multiple times more contagious and would double every few days..where is the doubling…if everyone including vaccinated people were being tested if they were close contacts the true numbers might show….same on article on here about back to school,if someone tests possitive when back to school or college for covid only unvaccinated close contacts need to be tested and then isolate for 10 days after test,but if the kids are vaccinated they just carry on as normal with no test or isolation needed..how is that going to stop people getting infected by vaccinated pupils if they don’t know if they are infected

Mute Noel Martin
    Favourite Noel Martin
    Aug 28th 2021, 2:03 PM

They must be all knocking off early to watch the match.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:06 PM

@Noel Martin: yea u got to love the half days at the weekends or the early scaremongering attempt before people start to enjoy their weekends and the midweek announcements timed for 6pm ish when people are just home from work, always method to it, 92% of adults vaccinated, probably way above any early expectations and still the warnings, give it a rest, don’t think anyone is listening anymore, people in my circle don’t even want to hear about it anymore

Mute Pseud O'Nym
    Favourite Pseud O'Nym
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:26 PM

@Hugo Bugo: do *you* work weekends, Shugs?

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:59 PM

@Hugo Bugo: don’t be scared. There’s only the few of you so you all need to get together for a group hug.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Aug 28th 2021, 5:44 PM

@Paul Furey: yawn, little snipy man, let’s look back on both our comments over the last 15 months and see who was scared, embarrassing some of ye, snowflakes, l

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Aug 28th 2021, 2:09 PM

That’s not two grand.

Mute Fiona Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fiona Fitzgerald
    Aug 28th 2021, 3:26 PM

It’s close enough. Was hoping it would drop down a bit.

Mute Anna Carr
    Favourite Anna Carr
    Aug 28th 2021, 4:29 PM

If you’ve nothing good to say, say nothing. Lip zipped!!!

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Aug 28th 2021, 6:21 PM

How much Covid was importated from the 4th green field.today?

Mute Michael Creagh
    Favourite Michael Creagh
    Aug 29th 2021, 8:30 AM

What’s all this talk about severe lockdowns? Don’t remember any such thing,I don’t remember a curfew,I don’t remember not being able to leave my house, but I do remember that the so called restrictions we did have were routinely ignored, maybe if they hadn’t we might have been in a better place sooner.